Reading Reviews for These Dark and Hollow Nights
  
226 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Murishka21 The Sense Potion

8th December 2014:
Oo exciting!! Good chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Murishka21 The Halloween Ball

6th December 2014:
Oh so exciting!! Jealousy, romance, longing, and love all wrapped up in one chapter. Excellent chapter. I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you liked it!! Looking forward to your reactions to the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Murishka21 Here There Be Dragons

6th December 2014:
Oh my goodness!! She got it and so we got it! I love it!

Author's Response: Haha Yep!!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Murishka21 Chapter Fourteen: The Worst Nightmare

5th December 2014:
Oh so sweet! I was wondering when he was going to make his move. He's slowly wiggling his way into her heart and she into his! This is so exciting. You are good! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much :) you know I really prefer slow-burning romances. I despise instant love, so I really tried to avoid that in this story. I am so glad you think I'm good!! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Murishka21 Chapter Ten: The Sapphire Necklace

4th December 2014:
Escalating!! And not the stairs kind! I love it!!

Author's Response: Hahaha I'm so glad!! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Murishka21 Chapter Nine: The Slytherin Affair

4th December 2014:
I didn't think Hermionie would ever get on a broom. She did extremely well :) I'm happy she's getting out of the books so much. You do an excellent job.

Author's Response: Thanks... Funny thing is this doesn't even exist in the rewrite because I didn't like it... :( but I'm so glad you think I did an excellent job.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Murishka21 Chapter Eight: The Darknesses in Life

4th December 2014:
Aww so sweet. They are getting closer. Maybe she will leave that Theo guy alone lol.

Author's Response: Ahah just wait and see ;)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Mel Chapter Thirty-Two: Turmoil

4th December 2014:
This is amazing!! I've been up for hours reading !!

Author's Response: Oh dear!! I hope you get some sleep! But I am so glad that you like it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Murishka21 Chapter Seven: Hell Hath No Fury

4th December 2014:
Intriguing, a new villain, and a woman. This is going to be a very interesting story.

Author's Response: Aha the villain is usually the most interesting part. At least, I think so. :) Im so glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Murishka21 Chapter Six: The Room of Requirement

4th December 2014:
Oooo dangerous! Playing with Draco fire is like stepping on a dragons tail. How will the story go from here? I can't wait to find out.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoy it!!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Murishka21 Chapter Five: The Secret Admirer

4th December 2014:
Excellent story so far! I can't believe Ron would stoop so low, the sow lol. I am a Draco fan as well. I truly like your story. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! Yeah ron is a bit of a sow lol.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Kaitlin Epilogue: Always

2nd December 2014:
I've been reading this for probably less than a month now and I'm so sad that it's over! I hate that she ended up with Ron just because I like Draco so much more ;) but it was honestly such a good story and if you decide to change character's names and make it into a book, here's at least one person who'll buy it and I know a ton more will! Thanks for all the good entertainment and I hope to read more by you soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm not really sure how to react to knowing you'd buy this book if I changed things. Tbh I don't think I ever would attempt to publish it, even if I changed everything, because I would feel really bad doing so. But thank you so much for saying that :) I am so glad you like my book and I really hope you like my other works as well! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Tris  Epilogue: Always

18th November 2014:
God. Well I have to read the sequal now I guess. I am so torn up about this. You ripped my heart out, tore it into little pieces, burned it and then tried to use tape to put it back togather. Gosh wow really I am truly sad about this... The obliviate is not ok... She survived and I wanted a happily ever after (ok, to be fair my OTP is Dramione) but GAHHH so sad, I am glad that at least Draco know about his daughter... That. Is all I can hope for I guess. Wow I a sad, too many tears shed over this story.

Author's Response: Aww, don't cry!! I'm revamping the story right now so I think I might tweak the ending a bit. It made me sad, too. But I knew right away how the story would end, as soon as I started writing. The ending is how I actually got the idea for the story in the first place!!
I am so sorry for making you cry!! :(


 Report Review

Review #39, by Tris  Chapter Twenty-Nine: Family (PART ONE)

18th November 2014:
Hahahahahahah I'm dying--Drapple! I love it so funny (although I don't ship them) also your mention of twilight woods in the other chapter made me smile--I LOVE bath and a body a Works so obviously I got it! Love the subtlety, and adorableness along with the cute story line, love it!

Author's Response: Ahaha thanks!! I thought I had to throw some drapple in there. Draco wouldn't be Draco if he didn't love those green apples lol. And Bath And Body works is the best!! I love their stuff. Warm Vanilla Sugar is probably my fave, and I love the Apple Cider & Cinnamon scents that they have in the winter/fall season :)
Thanks so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Megan :c Epilogue: Always

26th October 2014:
what ThE HeLL No sHe hAs To gEt wItH HiM NOW OmG! What ArE yoU DOiNg TO ME ThIs maKeS ME sO SaD Oh mY LoRd

Author's Response: :( *hands you tissues* so sorry!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Megan :c Chapter Thirty-Six: Graduation

26th October 2014:
no omg she's meant to be with draco no they were so goo together she showed everyone the good in him you can't do this to me i feel like crying i was so happy when they got together what are you doing omg! ckjnvdu@*!&

Author's Response: Sorry it had to happen!! I really tried but there was no way the ending I wanted was going to work otherwise!! :( I'm sorry!!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Megan Chapter Thirty-Five: Memoria

26th October 2014:
omg what the heck no!! i hate you i hate you i hate you.oh my god

Author's Response: Sorry :( I know i hated me too lol

 Report Review

Review #43, by DemiTimeWizard Chapter Fourteen: The Worst Nightmare

15th October 2014:
OH SWEET BABY JESUS HE SAID

THE

THE WORD

*cries* THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL AHH I'M GETTING SO MANY FEELS RIGHT NOW 10 /10

Author's Response: lol yes, yes he did :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by DemiTimeWizard Chapter Four: Professor Quincey

13th October 2014:
Haha, the chapters get better as I read them, I love it

Author's Response: Aww thanks :) Im currently editing and the second chapter is in the queue at the moment so you might want to check back when it is because I made some
Major changes :) I'm so glad you are enjoying the story though!!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Isabelle Chapter Twenty-Seven: A Measure of Darkness

12th October 2014:
Man, I was wrong. Really wrong. So off.

Author's Response: Well that would've been funny if it HAD been Lavender... :p lol good guess though!!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Isabelle Chapter Twenty-Sx: The Horse and the Otter

12th October 2014:
Lavender Brown and the book with the potion that starts with an A is the Half Blood Prince

Author's Response: Good guess!! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by MargaretLane Chapter Three: House Unity

3rd October 2014:
I like the way you continue to show Hermione's upset as a result of the relationship breakdown and the way she is trying to move on and just be friends, but still doesn't want him to be the Head Boy. It's very realistic and gives a depth that either having her forgive him and have no further reaction or have her just hate him wouldn't give.

I think you portray Hermione very well, especially her feelings.

I'm not convinced McGonagall would tell her students why she makes the decisions she does. It's not really any of their business. And I think her comment about how people are probably wondering why she chose him a little inappropriate. Especially since she implies he only got it because of the house he was in. Dumbledore must have had more reason than that, as there are plenty of other Slytherins he could have chosen and he wouldn't even have known so many students would repeat the year.

Yikes, the seventh year will be pretty large if most of the previous years' seventh years are returning to repeat the year.

Aw, that comment abut not being Professor Dumbledore is kind of sad and something I can totally imagine McGonagall thinking. She looked up to him so much; despite her sternness and determination, she's bound to feel a bit apprehensive at the thought of stepping into his shoes.

Hmm, I am a little intrigued by Professor Quincy. Maybe because he is the title of the next chapter, which implies he has significance or maybe just because new teachers always interest me.

In a British boarding school, and certainly in Hogwarts, a dormitory refers to a bedroom, but while McGongall SAYS Hermione and Draco will be sharing a dormitory, she then directs them to different bedrooms, unsurprisingly, as I can't imagine any school requiring a boy and girl to share a bedroom. And it probably wouldn't count as a dormitory even if they did, since the point of a dormitory is that it is a bedroom shared by a number of people. This sounds like they are more sharing a suite or quarters. After all, the dormitories are separate from the common room in Gryffindor tower.

I like the name of the spell you created. It sounds like something the wizarding world would name a spell.

Author's Response: I think McGonagall knew a lot of people wouldn't take Draco seriously, so she told them her reasoning. Because a lot of people DONT trust the Slytherins but especially Malfoy and his gang, after they all were known for being on the "wrong" side of the war. And yes McGonagall would be a bit nervous about becoming Headmistress, even though she's always been the figure of authority for the students when there was no one they could trust- I.e Umbridge, and Snape.
And yes, Professor Quincey is a very intriguing character. He's different from a lot of the other teachers they've had. I think of him as someone of a mix between Lupin and Moody. He wants them to know everything they can about the Dark Arts- even though a lot of his students already know a lot about it- and he also wants to make sure they can protect and defend themselves against every kind of evil.
Anyways Quincey is an intriguing character. There is definitely a mystery about him, that's for sure, one that most people don't see coming.
About the dormitories- yeah I didn't realize that until I finished writing it. Calling it a suite or quarters does make more sense, now that you mention it. That's another mistake I'll be sure to fix when I go back and edit. Actually I really disliked this chapter in general... I don't know, it was just one of the ones I liked the least.
And as for the spell, like I mentioned it is actual latin. I just couldn't find one in the Potter-verse that suited what I needed it to do. Alohomora was close but I needed an actual opening spell, not an unlocking one, so I just Googled it and found one and used that instead. Since a lot of the Potter spells are Latin, I wanted it to sound as genuine as I could make it. I'm glad you think so!!
Thanks for another awesome review. I'm so thrilled that you took the time to read and review my story. As I mentioned before, you're one of my favorite authors on here. :) The Writing on the Wall and The Rise of the A.W.L are my amongst my favorite stories on this site. So thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #48, by MargaretLane Chapter Two: The Right Choice

3rd October 2014:
Hmm, I'm not sure Harry would be PLEASED to see Draco. He may have forgiven him, but I still doubt he's his favourite person.

I really like the way you address the trials after the war. It makes sense that the Malfoys would face some kind of legal process.

I really think "they threatened to kill my family if I didn't cooperate" is an understandable reason for what Draco did. After all, a bank manager isn't found legally guilty if somebody takes his family hostage and makes him open the safe of the bank and give them all the money there.

Not sure I like Draco's comment that he didn't do anything wrong. While I do think what he did was understandable and he can't really be blamed, he still did try to kill somebody. I can easily imagine Draco reacting the way he does here though. He's not exactly the most given to blaming himself.

Oh, four lines below Yolanda Malkin's letter, you have a "tri" before a sentence. I'd imagine it's something you forgot to delete when deleting a sentence.

I wonder how Harry will react to getting a letter with a horrific slur in it. And it's a REALLY stupid thing for Draco to put in writing when he is up in court for Death Eater involvement. Using a hate-term for Muggleborns could well be used for the prosecution to try and prove Draco did what he did willingly. Now, I really doubt Harry'd inform them of the letter, as I think he does realise what an awful position Draco was in, but I wouldn't have expected Draco to realise that.

Harry and Hermione reacted fairly calmly to the term actually. I guess they are used to Draco. But seriously, Hermione offers to support him and he responds by using a term that indicates he supports the Death Eaters' persecution of people like her. I think I'd be a bit creeped out if I were her, but I guess she was sort of outside society at the time of the war, so she might not associate that term with persecution as much as say one of the Muggleborns who'd been arrested during the war would.

I have so much sympathy for Hermione in this story. She's already dealing with war trauma and then the guy she loves cheats on her because he can't cope with that. I think the fact that she is being so Hermione about it and remaining outwardly strong despite feeling really crushed helps.

And I'm glad she's decided to forgive Ron. Yeah, what he did was awful, but they were friends for a long time before they were boyfriend and girlfriend and they are both still friends with Harry, so yeah, it's good to see they are going to remain friends. And I think it DOES make sense. Under other circumstances, I would consider it unrealistic for her to forgive him so quickly, but considering that they've just been through, I guess cheating doesn't seem like that big a deal. And of course, they've all seen so many people die that I guess they wouldn't want to be fighting with each other in case something happened and they never got a chance to make up. Even if they know logically they are far less likely to die now the war is over, I still think it's going to be there in their heads on a subconscious level. So I can easily imagine her thinking "well, he really hurt me, but I've lost enough people and I don't want to lose a good friend just because he's been a selfish, thoughtless idiot."

Oh gosh, how embarrassing! Being asked about your relationship by a teacher. Probably embarrassing for McGonagall too.

The conversation between McGonagall and Hermione sounded a bit stilted actually. People don't usually say stuff like "I am well" and "I am sure." I guess Hermione is trying to be extra polite in front of a teacher, but I'm still not sure she'd speak that cautiously.

Oooh, I like the way you have the court prejudiced against him because of his family.

And he's not telling the full truth. He DID attempt to kill Dumbledore both with the necklace and the poisoned drink and the latter could EASILY have reached Dumbledore, had Slughorn given it to him. And while Dumbledore doesn't lack caution, he might trust something Slughorn gave him and drink it.

Author's Response: I should mention that she meant pleased in a sort of sarcastic way. Meaning Harry would be much more pleased to see Draco than Ron at the time haha. Draco just didn't catch the sarcasm. And I really had a difficult time with this chapter. I'm currently editing and trying to fix it but it was so hard to write!
And using the term Mudblood was instinctive. He's been calling her that for so long that it's become a habit and it'll be difficult to break the habit, though he will (I can say that much. It's not a spoiler lol.)
Yes, that is exactly why Hermione decided to forgive Ron as quickly as she did. None of them want to loose each other after all they've been through. And Hermione has realized that life should be about more than fighting and arguing and jealousy and all those petty things. But yeah, that was kind of embarrassing to be asked about your relationship by a teacher. Though she cares about her student's wellbeing, emotionally and physically. And Hermione had difficulty telling a lie to McGonagall, so that's why their conversation was a bit stilted, because saying that she was fine was a lie. Physically she was, but emotionally she wasn't.
And yeah, Draco did lie. That will be fixed up in the edited chapter though. And yes, they would be prejudiced against him because of his family. Especially because of Lucius.
Thank you so much for another amazing review!! Have an awesome day!! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by MargaretLane Chapter One: The Daily Prophet

3rd October 2014:
OK, just to point out there are rather large spaces between the paragraphs in this. It might be easier to read if some of the breaks were deleted. Sorry to start with a negative, but it's more of a heads-up than anything else.

I really like the way you draw attention to the difficulties people are having even though the war is over, with the Weasleys struggling to cope with Fred's death and the Trio having nightmares over what they've experienced. All very realistic and makes way more sense than just moving on as if nothing has happened.

Hope they begin to heal and move on as the story progresses.

Oh, I think you've a "Weasley's" for Weasleys" when talking about their grief over Fred's death.

*laughs at Hermione's attitude towards the idea of a make-over* That is SO in-character. And hardly surprising. It's pretty downright insulting to suggest somebody get a make-over if they haven't expressed interest in one.

Yikes, what a way to find out. Poor Hermione.

I do think they are a little too inclined to take the Daily Prophet's word for it though. It's not like Rita Skeeter is the only journalist ever to fake a story. The picture does seem rather conclusive, but you never know with magic and so on. I think they should take a moment before jumping to conclusions. But then, despite everything they've been through, they ARE still only teenagers and Hermione and Ron always jump to conclusions when it comes to their relationship, don't they?

LOVE Hermione's reaction to Ron. Well, I mean, I don't approve of it, but it is exactly what she WOULD do.

And ugh, insensitive or what? "I was just trying to explain why I cheated on her." *laughs* Ron is just as thoughtless as always. Not the thing to say to pacify her.

LOVE the way Ron explains his reasons for cheating. It's really insensitive, but it really draws attention to the effect the war has had on Hermione in particular. It's perfectly understandable she'd be traumatised, considering how she was tortured among other things.

And I guess it's understandable Ron can't deal with it either, although cheating on her is NOT the way to deal with it, obviously. But he's been through a lot too, losing his brother and he is still barely out of school.

Yikes, George really did overreact. I guess he feels Ron is making little of Fred's death, so it's understandable.

And the war is still hurting them, despite being over. So sad.

I like the way you have Ron and Hermione having the exact opposite responses to the war. He just wants to move on and not waste a moment of life when so many people don't have the opportunity to go on with their lives, whereas she isn't ready to do that yet and I can understand that he feels her trauma is making it difficult for him to do that and that he can't comfort her, because that would mean being drawn back into what he's trying to avoid.

I wonder if his avoidance of it is entirely healthy. There's a part of his attitude that makes it seem like he's kind of in denial and that is backed up by Hermione's comment that "we're all hurting." I can see it coming back to haunt him yet and he'll have already cut himself off from much of his support system.

Hey is Lavender scarred from Greyback's attack in this? Because that could also be quite a reminder of what he's trying to avoid.

Author's Response: Thanks for the heads up about the paragraph thing. I will be sure to fix that when I go back and edit. And wow you're one of my favorite authors on here so I'm so thrilled to have received a review from you!!
I love your reactions!! and normally, in several post-Deathly Hallows fics that I've read, people tend to not show how they are coping after the war and would rather just brush it off and pretend it never happened. I didn't want to do that in my story. And I know that the whole "Ron cheated on Hermione" scenario is WAYY overused but I wanted to make my story as different from the usual cliches as I could without making it sound too unrealistic, so I tried to be careful when writing it. And yeah Ron can be a bit insensitive. And George probably did overreact but Ron was making little of Fred's death so that would piss him off haha.
Definitely Ron is still in denial at this point. And he would much rather just ignore the truth meanwhile the truth is staring him in the face all the time, with Hermione and Harry's nightmares and Hermione's scars and such. And yes, Lavender is scarred from Greyback's attack but she's Iike Ron that way. She just wants to move on and forget it ever happened and that's why it's not as much of a reminder for Ron.
Thank you so much for your review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by diversrock Epilogue: Always

26th September 2014:
I have really enjoyed this story. I love how you have made so many subplots that worked really well. The one thing I don't like is that why would she obliviate Draco? That achieves almost nothing except sadness for a few extra years... She is in no more danger than she has ever been,in fact she is probably in less danger that through DH.She would never give up the father of her child, no matter how she felt about him or anyone else.
This is the one thing that makes me disappointed in the story. If these comments are answered in a future work, then I am sorry. I guess I just disagree with how Hermione would have dealt with things...!

Author's Response: Yes, maybe Hermione didn't need to obliviate Draco but she thought she was protecting him. See, it wasn't Hermione that was in danger but Draco, because she didn't want him to get hurt because of who she is. If anyone was to find out that she is the last hair of Godric Gryffindor, it would be like when people thought Harry was the heir of Slytherin. People would be afraid, and she didn't want Draco to be hurt because of her. Idk if that makes sense, and hopefully it will make more sense when I write the sequel and go back and edit this one. :) thank you for reading and I am so glad you have enjoyed the story!! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>