Reading Reviews for The Firework-Maker's Daughter
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #26, by anythingcouldhappen Songbird

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Hello!

This was wonderfully written! Every description is so vivid, and I could picture the menagerie and Roxanne and the fwooper so clearly. Writing in second person was such an interesting choice, and I think it worked so well here. It made the story a little more personal, but also kept the fwooper from sounding human either. So awesome job on that!

Roxanne is so sweet and so cool for breaking in and freeing the bird. I love her righteous indignation and the shopkeeper floundering for an explanation. One but I was a little confused about: You mention that he doesn't use a wand. After I read that, I expected it to play some part in the story, but then it didn't It feels a little unnecessary.

Anyway, loved it!

Sam

 Report Review

Review #27, by monstrosity Songbird

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Aah, I think it's rare that we see a story from the perspective of a bird, a magical one no less. While the plot itself was rather simple, I think by you filling it with lovely description and characterization it formed a really awesome story.

I like how you took a bird that is actually canon and incorporated it into your story. I had to look up what a fwooper was and I had no idea it was part of the Harry Potter World. The way you coupled it's longing to go back to Africa to see its children and the bird's keen observation skills, you've developed an animal better than some people develop human characters!

Roxanne is a darling, and probably the savior of humanity, being one of the few who care about the plight of birds. I like how you portrayed her childlike innocence and showed that despite her lack of experience, she can still do the right thing. You don't have to be a trained professional to be concerned about the way animals are begin treated. A child can prove to be equally, if not more, impactful.

I think she showed a bit of her father's spirit by breaking into the store. And while you call her the Fire-work Maker's daughter (at least I suspect that's who you were referring to) Roxanne is more of a fire cracker herself. I think both the fwooper and her make an interesting team- one matured by the advent of motherhood and now with the ability to drive people insane, and the other a plucky girl who doesn't let anything stop her from getting what she wants. It'll be really interesting to see where this story leads!

Overall, I'm astounded by the way you've so easily managed to weave an entire chapter from a bird's view. It flowed really well and was utterly enjoyable to read.

-Sathya
HouseCup 2014 Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #28, by Leonore Songbird

8th July 2014:
Poor, mischievous Fwooper. Stuck in the cage. Although it's hardly the best behaved of birds. It's understandable, wanting to be free, and horrible to think of the poor thing stuck in a cage with a silencing charm on. Good Roxanne! It might not be legal, and she'd certainly get in trouble of she was caught, but she sees that the treatment of it is wrong. And she even has the sense to cover her ears after removing the silencing charm, not underestimating it!

Aww, so sweet.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore Bonfire

8th July 2014:
How on earth did you manage to come up with such a beautiful story, and tell it so well, in the short amount of time that we had for this task? I've been wondering what the title referred to in this story and I thought the tie in with that here was brilliant, because suddenly it seemed to make sense.

Again, I loved the use of second person and also reading it from George's perspective. I thought you did a great job of writing him, and at the same time conveying all the complex emotions he has concerning Roxanne, particularly how proud of her he is. The journey through the different stages was quite emotional to read, from Roxanne playing with fireworks to being injured and scarred by them - it was a relief to know that it wasn't her fault, and I'm glad Harry helped investigate that. It's definitely the sort of thing he'd do.

The ending was brilliant. I loved the father-daughter moment and how proud George was of Roxanne for being so brave, and I thought you wrote it really well. Another lovely chapter!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #30, by nott theodore Songbird

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was such a beautifully told story! I love second person narratives so for a little while you had me guessing who the narrator was in this story, before I realised that it was actually being narrated by the creature in the story. I thought that was a clever twist on the theme and prompt and really enjoyed reading it.

I've never heard of Fwoopers before, so it was really interesting to learn about them through your story, and I thought it was an original creature to choose out of all the different ones that there are. I thought you incorporated the prompt really well, too, since Roxanne could see past the usual fear that people have of a Fwooper's song and allowed it to be set free and sing again, which is a pretty incredible thing for a girl to do. It was really well written and sweet!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #31, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Legacy

8th July 2014:
I really like how you've written this story from 3 different points of view, with none of them Roxanne's. You beautifully captured what Roxanne means to each of these people (and bird), and what makes her so special.

I liked Hugo's input in this chapter. I can totally see Hermiones fury at Ron suggestion to copy George and have fireworks at the birth of their children. Only Hermione could pay full attention to the service and notice Hugo setting off the fireworks!

The caring little girl we met in the first chapter is still there, taking care of Hugo, despite everything she's been through. You showed her strength at this difficult time; I think you handled her thoughts and feelings at this difficult time beautifully.

George's send off was perfect, I definitely think he'd approve!

House Cup 2014 Reveiw!

 Report Review

Review #32, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Bonfire

8th July 2014:
George and Roxanne's interaction is exactly as I imagined. She definitely takes after him! I can understand why she was sorted into Ravenclaw, she knew exactly what she was doing, coming up with the clever little trick of using Peruvian Instant Darkness Powder!

I'm not surprised that she takes after the twins and is a rule breaker at Hogwarts. The little girl meeting the Fwooper showed that. I can really picture her causing havoc and breaking the rules for what she thinks is right.

I feel Georges worry and concern for Roxanne. His action of taking his fireworks off the shelves is touching. Giving up his beloved fireworks so that no one suffers like his daughter shows just how much he loves her, and how she's changed him.

As for Roxanne, i'm glad that she's found her spark again, and that she's wearing a skirt again. I think George is right she shouldn't have to change!

House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Songbird

8th July 2014:
Choosing to write from the Fwooper's perspective was a really creative idea. I enjoyed reading about how meeting Roxanne showed the Fwooper that not all humans want it to be silenced and caged. The final line is powerful and has all sorts of meanings. It made me understand why wizards feel the need to Silence the bird, the emotions the caged birds song holds must be too heartbreaking to hear.

House Cup Review!

Hufflepuff for House Cup!

TBBAYMBWHAPABYHDBWNOHPWHT!

 Report Review

Review #34, by SkyEcho Songbird

8th July 2014:
This was such a unique and refreshing read! The beginning really drew me in and the line about the fwooper being a mother once really tugged at my heart! It was so interesting to read about a magical creature that I had never heard of. I loved the interaction between Roxanne and the bird. The way you portrayed their connection was lovely to read and I instantly liked Roxanne. When Roxanne came back at night, I let out a little cheer. The ending was brilliant. Your writing has a nice flow and this story left me feeling so happy.

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #35, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Legacy

7th July 2014:
That's okay. I'm already dead inside, I don't need a heart... *TEARS*

Okay, so it did kill me a little. I never want George to die. Ever. Fred was hard enough... So I'll focus on the good. The fireworks; it was a brilliant idea. George definitely would have been proud of Roxanne and his funeral, I think.

And Hugo! I loves Hugo. You don't want a funeral when you die. - I won't lie, my first thought when I read that was he won't ever have a funeral, because Vampire!Hugo. :D He's such an awesome cousin in this. So sweet and willing to help, even when he doesn't fully understand what people are going through. I love him so much more the more I read!

The way Roxanne talked about him, it was the sweetest thing ever. I'm so glad she considers him a best friend.

These were awesome!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #36, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Bonfire

7th July 2014:
Back!

I can totally see Roxanne being the one helping and learning from her dad. I can't say for sure why and I know that there are people who write him differently, but in my head Fred is the more responsible one, despite his name. But Roxanne is the adventurous prankster, not afraid to break the rules to get or do what she wants, but is careful with the things she does. It's like you went inside my headcanon and wrote something about her that I see. It was so cool to read.

Sad, getting to the middle. That she'd try to keep her friends safe was the only thing that made me smile a little. I hate the person who sold the fireworks, whoever they are. Just for being dangerous with their fireworks. Now a kid is hurt. It sucks.

George and Angie being divorced. :O I think the same thing!

I love the end, that even though she has her doubts because of the scars, Roxanne is willing and able to put on a skirt and go out on a date. That sense of acceptance, learning to be okay with her scars, it's such a small thing but it has so much impact and it was awesome to read. I feel as proud of Roxanne as George is. :D

I loved reading this!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #37, by alicia and anne Legacy

7th July 2014:
Okay, you seriously want me to cry. Why did George have to die? *dies inside*

I love that you've continued with your theme of writing in second person.

You've captured the esscence of Hermione and Ron fantastically, especially with Hermione reprimanded Ron for his use of foul language, I can imagine that they bicker for most of their life together.

George set of fireworks in the hospital? I can totally imagine him doing that, it seems so much like George, also to read that Ron wanted to do the same thing but Hermione threatening to divorce him was a goood contrast to all of their characteristics.

That was such a fantastic send off for George, the only one that would ever seem fitting for him, also a lovely reflection of what you said happened at Freds as well. I loved Roxanne's speech and Hugo helping her get through it, helping her to set up the fireworks.

This was so amazingly written, Isobel. You made me feel so many emotions whilst I was reading it and I just need to take a few moments to stop feeling so sad and deal with my feelings of overwhelming sadness that George has died. :P


House Cup 2014 review - Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #38, by alicia and anne Bonfire

7th July 2014:
I love how sure of herself Roxanne is and how smug, especially how she says that her calculations should be right because she's top of her class in arithmancy.

Once again you're doing an amazing job using second person, I am insanely jealous. Especially because you've done another amazing job, this time with George Weasley. It's great to see how proud he is of his daughter, how he thinks that she's special (which she totally is) and his great advice that she must never kneel otherwise she won't be able to run away quick enough, that is sound advice for just about everything, not only for fireworks.

The way that you described George's fear and terror at receiving a howler so late at night, was so well written, it gave me goosebumps and then the heartbreak set in at hearing that George and Angelina divorced.
And when George told Fred to remove all of the fireworks from the shop almost brought a tear to my eye.

This was my favourite chapter, as sad as I was that Roxanne was so hurt by the fireworks, you wrote the relationship between her and George and the love that they both have for each other, beautifully.

You're so amazingly talented.

House Cup 2014 review - Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #39, by alicia and anne Songbird

7th July 2014:
Isobel! I am finally here to give a review :D

I must admit that I am very impressed that you are writing in second person, I have never tried it, I'm too worried about it haha. But you've achieved it very well. Especially that you're doing it from the view point of an animal, that is absolutely brilliant. I love the fact that the Fwooper has a voice, and how she feels about Roxanne. As well as being quite a humble Fwooper. :P

I love how you wrote Roxanne, she's so much like how I imagine Angelina, in being argumentative and it's great that she was standing up for the rights of the Fwooper.

And she is so much like her father and Fred, especially with her sneaking into the shop to free the Fwooper.

This was such a sweet and beautiful chapter, I love how much Roxanne loved the Fwooper and felt sorry for her enough to want to come back and help. I like to imagine that the Fwooper is out there, enjoying being able to sing and possibly finding her babies.
A Brilliant chapter!



House Cup 2014 review - Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #40, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Songbird

7th July 2014:
Hey!!! :D

I love reading your stories in second person. I do. They're just so brilliant. And this being in the PoV of a Fwooper rather than a human just makes it even more awesome. It does.

Aww, the poor Fwooper. Taken from her home and put in a Silenced cage in a shop. That's just mean. Thank goodness Roxanne comes along to set her free. She's right, it's not the Fwooper's fault her song drives people insane. I'd set her free, too, just for hearing about her chicks. The evil people.

I love Roxanne. She's just so... innocent and good and does what's right because she just knows it's right rather than thinking of her actions and the consequences. I'm sure there'll be something for sneaking out, breaking into a shop and setting free one of the animals. But to not do it would have been worse somehow. I can just imagine her not accepting the very idea of not going through with her plan. Did she even wonder?

I loved this!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #41, by HeyMrsPotter Legacy

7th July 2014:
Hello :)

I'm sad that I'm finished your entries now, they were all so good!

Like I said in my first review, your comedic timing is one of my favourite things about your writing. Even in this story which is really sad (still not over Fred's death and you go ahead and kill George?!) you still managed to make me laugh with this line here:
he nearest you've gotten to death is when Crookshanks died and you hated him anyway Ultimately though, this story did break my heart a little. Especially when Roxanne corrected her use of present tense in the shop.

Roxanne and Hugo's friendship was so lovely. I love that they're so close despite their being a bit of an age gap, and that he was the one supporting her even though he is the younger of the two. She's obviously been a role model in his life so it was great that he had a chance to offer her some guidance and give her the idea for the fireworks at the funeral. You've given Hugo a great character, he's so sweet and kind, and I love that he seems to have a total fear of Hermione (the line about her hissing in his ear at the funeral was one of my favourites!)

There's a sentence here that doesn't sound right:
They being in Uncle George's coffin and hymns are sung before Roxanne is first to the podium. I'm not sure what that first part should have been?

This story was just the icing on top of the beautiful cake that was your set of entries for the House Cup. I thoroughly enjoyed them all :)

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

 Report Review

Review #42, by HeyMrsPotter Bonfire

7th July 2014:
Me again!

If possible, I loved this story even more than the last one! Fred was absolutely perfect in this, you write him so well. He's still obviously the joker, and has that rebellious side to him (loved this line- , even congratulating Dominique on receiving detention for punching one of them) but at the same time he's matured enough to be an amazing dad to Roxanne.

I really like that you chose to write the story from Fred's point of view but essentially it's Roxanne who overcomes the adversity here. There's also a great flow too, starting with her inventing the fireworks and being so careful to make sure they're safe and then having fireworks being the cause of her adversity. I'm so amazed at how much information you got in here but still sticking to the word limit-how do you do it?! And that ending, I actually cried. I was fully expecting George to start telling her she wasn't allowed to go on the date as Angelina obviously thought he would, the fact that he looked apst all that and saw what was really important just shows what an amazing dad he is.

I spotted a little typo here:
You're got one hand against the wall to support yourself should be You've :) (it's a really minor thing but I always like if people point them out in my stories)

Anyway, in case you hadn't realised, I love love LOVED this!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

 Report Review

Review #43, by HeyMrsPotter Songbird

7th July 2014:
Hi, Isobel!

This story was such an excellent idea for promt 1! It's so cleverly written from the POV of a magical creature rather than about one.

One of the things I love most about your writing is the subtle bits of comedy that you include. Like this line here:
While George looks confused and Freddie walks away from his family -- presumably towards those infernal cats is just hilarious.

I really adore Roxanne's character in this story. I think she's a really under written character in fanfiction, most people tend to focus on the trio's children and the cousins are a side note, so I'm glad you chose her. I can definitely see aspects of both parents in her personality, George's rebellious side and Angelina's stubborness. I'm so glad she ended up freeing the bird, rather than insisting her parents bought it for her. It made a much happier ending for both of them :)

I'm looking forward to reading your other two entries now :)

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

 Report Review

Review #44, by UnluckyStar57 Legacy

7th July 2014:
Okay, this is the last chapter, and now I'm sad/happy at the same time. :/ :)

If I could go on all day about how great this whole story collection is, I would. But I don't have time for that, and you don't have time to read a whole bunch of blubbering about "the feels," so I'll try to be concise while attempting to express how brilliant this is. :)

Okay, so you never told the story from Roxy's point of view, which is how I thought things would go. And yet, even through a Fwooper and George and now Hugo, her character keeps getting stronger. She's sad in this chapter--heartbroken, even, but that doesn't mean that she's weak. It doesn't mean that somebody else is taking over the story. I love that. It makes me really, really happy, and I am so glad that you're so good at it. Roxy's characterization throughout the chapters started strong and stayed strong.

Her friendship with Hugo is priceless. It's awesome that they're pretty far apart in age, but they get along so well. I'm glad that there was someone to help her see that George wouldn't have wanted her to be sad.

The fireworks display at the end really tied everything together. Roxy is a firecracker character--daring to be different and setting the Fwooper free; learning to embrace her scars as symbols of the wrong that she tried to right; making everyone's day brighter by conducting the funeral as George would have wanted it. It is just so incredible that you managed to weave all of those things in through three different prompts. I am still in awe.

The only CC that I have is, of course, that I would like there to be more of the story. But perhaps three chapters is just the perfect amount. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #45, by UnluckyStar57 Bonfire

7th July 2014:
Argggh, just when I thought it couldn't get any better...

Oh wow. It's interesting to me that you still haven't given us any of Roxy's perspective (then again, it's only been two chapters), and yet, you still manage to keep developing her character. I am incredibly in awe of your powers of characterization!

Oh, George. It's so awesome that he and Roxy have this father-daughter love for fireworks, and that she's so good at making them. He loves her a lot, I can tell, and their relationship is only made better by the fact that they share a penchant for trouble-making. :)

But this took a turn for the worse very quickly. George's entrance into the hospital was perfectly done--really emotional and distressed without being overly dramatic and histrionic. That's a fine balance to get right, and you've done it!

I feel so very bad for Roxy. She tried to diffuse a bad situation and all she got was an injury. That's pretty awful, but I'm glad that Harry was able to clear up what happened. And Roxy figuring out that she deserved to be accepted for who she was made me very happy. The fact that she's wearing a skirt to go on a date after being bullied for so long... That is awesome.

And although it makes me sad that George and Angelina divorced, it makes a lot of sense.

The only constructive criticism that I have for you is that I would've liked to see some more evidence of bullying. I think that might've illustrated the situation more, especially if you would've shown how Roxy handled the bullies. However, I understand that word counts for Event Three were a hindrance to further elucidation of the situation. :)

Another great chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #46, by UnluckyStar57 Songbird

7th July 2014:
Hi, Isobel! :D

Oh my goodness, this was perfect. I've never heard of a Fwooper before, but by reading your story, I know that the worst thing you could do to a Fwooper is to hold it hostage in a cage. Argggh, that shopkeeper guy made me really mad. A Silencing Charm?! No. That is /not/ okay.

The second person PoV really worked for this story. You managed to get the Fwooper's thoughts and perspective without having to narrate in first person--which is always difficult to do if the narrator is not normally a speaking beast. I feel like you captured every bit of the Fwooper's emotions, and I love the Fwooper's view of Roxanne.

Roxanne is awesome. The end. No, really. I love that she saw the Fwooper in this terrible situation and, where most people would just walk away, she came back and did something about it. She's already a really strong character, and I'm interested to see what will happen in the next chapter!

Yup, so I'm going to go read the next chapter now. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #47, by evil little devil Legacy

7th July 2014:
I'm not going to lie, there are tears in my eyes right now.
This was beautiful! And so, so sad. Poor Roxanne. And the Weasleys! Especially Molly.
As soon as she began discussing what to do for the funeral I knew there would be fireworks involved! I absolutely adore that you wrote George setting off fireworks and Fred's funeral, and his daughter's birth, I can definitely imagine that happening.
I feel like there should have been an award for best collection for the House Cup. This definitely would have won it! You've managed to link them all together so perfectly, and yet also make them coherent individual stories, and perfect responses to the prompts. I don't know how you did it!
These have all been an absolute delight to read! They're all beautifully written and beautiful stories.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #48, by evil little devil Bonfire

7th July 2014:
Your writing has a way of really getting into my mind, you've made me feel so invested in Roxanne and her well-being and happiness.
That idea of putting Peruvian Instant Darkness powder in fireworks is pure genius! That is fantastic!
I love the idea of her and Dom wreaking havoc all over Hogwarts! I would love to read a story all about that!
George's fear and worry for her was so well written, I could really feel it coming off the page. I imagine he's even more scared than most of losing someone so close to him, because he's been through it before, and that made it even more painful to read.
You've developed Roxanne really well from being a child to being a teenager. Her spirit really remains the same, she's still very caring and helpful and insightful.
I really loved this! It's a beautiful story.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #49, by evil little devil Songbird

7th July 2014:
This was really touching, I really liked it!
Your writing is gorgeous, it's very velvety to read. It immediately immersed me in the story, and it was a dream to read.
Roxanne seems like a lovely person. I'm super excited to read the rest of this collection (I'm assuming they're all about her), because I'm really interested to see how she grows and develops from this adorable, insightful little girl.
This was simply beautiful to read, it's definitely up there with my favourites from the House Cup stories that I've read so far.

- House Cup Review 2014.

 Report Review

Review #50, by ohmymerlin Legacy

6th July 2014:
GOOD WORK, ISOBEL. YOU MADE ME CRY.

I AM SO GLAD MY DAD LEFT JUST BEFORE I STARTED READING THIS BECAUSE I DON'T WANT HIM TO SEE ME CRY.

Just oh my god. You're so talented and I loved the relationship between Roxy and Hugo was so interesting. I would have never picked it but you wrote it so well!

But one question that's niggling at me is how did George die?

Oh god, the last few paragraphs really made me cry. I'm not making much sense, I'm sure but just hopefully this makes sense: you're an amazing writer and you have such a glorious talent! ♥

10/10 for all three chapters! If I could, I would give it more, it's that amazing!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>