Reading Reviews for The Art of Small Talk
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #26, by merlins beard An Exit with Oliver

2nd April 2015:
Very interesting. Oliver could be good for her, boosting her self conficence. I really like the chapter. Sorry the review is so short, i'm writing it on my phone

~Anja (merlins beard)

Author's Response: Yes, I think Oliver definitely could create some positive changes, and don't worry about it, it was really lovely and thanks for the review!

♥ Kiana


 Report Review

Review #27, by merlins beard Introductory Measures

31st March 2015:
Hi. I'm here for the Ravenclaw Easter Gift Tag.

I loved the chapter. I can almost hear Audrey being a little out of breath all the time because she is rushing through her thoughts so much. I always imagined Audrey to be the polar opposite of percy, but i also love how she is a little insecure. It will be interesting to see how percy copes with her chaos.
I'd love to meet you just to see if you talk as much and as fast as i imagine audrey does.
I'm glad i found this story through tje easter gift talk, because i really like it and i'll definitely keep reading.

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so glad that you liked it, as Audrey has a very special place in my heart. Bahaha, yes, her and Percy are very, very, very different but then I feel that sometimes that helps relationships as you can learn from one another. I do talk quite a lot and quickly too, but I would like to Audrey is more extreme than me. :P I'm so glad that you did like and thanks for reading on! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #28, by UnluckyStar57 Introductory Measures

30th March 2015:
Hi Kiana! I wanted to leave this review for you for the Gift Tag because you posted the thread and all. So Happy Easter, and here we go!

I noticed that this story is really close to getting 100 reviews, so I wanted to help you get there. :)

Okay, review time:

This story is awesome. I will now defend this thesis with a series of points:

Point One: The humor in here is so clever and strange. I lol'd several times because of something one of the characters did or said. Audrey is such a vibrant and interesting narrator, and I can already tell that she's going to be an Unreliable Narrator, so that's going to be a lot of fun. The characters who feature in this chapter have such varied personalities and they definitely aren't throwaways, which adds a lot of color and general amazingness to your story. From the beginning to the end, I was very much reminded of Bridget Jones's Diary/Pride and Prejudice, which are two things that I can never, ever resist.

Whoops, did I consolidate my points into one big point? Hopefully Verity won't come after me...

Seriously, I think of all the side characters in this chapter, my favorite one was Eileen. This line was an absolute gem: "Then again, over-enthusiastic Eileen is also Eileen who is in charge of overseeing the personnel of the Potions department and unless I want her to be over-enthusiastic in cuts I have to be nice." There were so many good lines, but this one really did it for me. It summed up Eileen's whole entire personality in one humorous swoop, and I was really impressed by that.

How do you keep the humorous tone so present in your story? Like, I've read some of your serious stuff, but this is so funny--I can still tell that you've written it, but I applaud you for having the versatility to write in such diverse styles. :D

Ooh, forgot to mention that I really love how the acronym for this story, TAoST, looks like "toast." Toast is always good.

The Bridget Jones vibe was especially strong in Audrey's first meeting with Percy. I got really excited, because the "ooh, you're such a prat" scene is always what gets the ball rolling for P&P-inspired stories. The romance train is leaving the station, all aboard! And Audrey herself is a brilliant character--she does have that stereotypical awkwardness that a lot of fanfic characters have, but she subverts it in interesting ways. I love the presentation of a stereotype and then its subversion, so reading her narration of events was really fantastic. And I mean, I definitely identify with her, so that's a major plus. :)

Draco is such an awkward baby, I just want to squish him in a hug. :P

Well, anyway, you did such an amazing job setting up your story and characters in this chapter that I'll have to be back for more in due time! I look forward to seeing where Audrey's story goes.

♥Mallory

Author's Response: Hey Mallory! Aw, thank you, that was so sweet of you! ♥

Oooh, yay, thank you for that! I'd forgotten how close it was :P

Bahaha, I'm so glad that you liked them and whoo for Bridget Dairyness/Pride and Prejudiceness as I love those two things too and they definitely did help inspire (a lot I should say :P). I'm sometimes worried about how crazy the characters appear as though because this writing this is quite relaxing for me, so sometimes I release too much tension and I'm like people will think I'm insane if that person says/does that, but so far the results haven't been too bad. :P

Aw, thank you so much! I love Eileen too, even though she isn't really a character you're meant to love but go ew at as she is kind of ew worthy but she's just so much fun to write too as she's just so crazy and I love her for that! ♥ (okay, I did not know I liked her so much until I started replying to this review :P)

Aw, thank you so much! I'm not really sure, I wish I could write more humour as I enjoy it a lot but at the moment life isn't all that fun for me with exams and stuff so I tend to write more angst. :P

Bahahah, toast is good!!! ♥ ♥

I know, the romance train is definitely ready to rock and roll though I'm not if Audrey's ready to join it. I'm so glad that you didn't find it too stereotypey because I was worried Audrey might be the typical clutzy girl falling for the serious guy, so everytime I write her it's like please, please, please be okay. :P (if that makes sense) and whoo for identifying with her, as I do too, probably too much as I'm prone to have at least 10 awkward moments a day.

I know, he does need a hug!

Thanks for this fab review, it definitely made my day and gave me a kick to go post the next chapter! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore The Singleton State

8th January 2015:
Hey Kiana! ♥ Ah, I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to get to review this chapter but things have been really hectic recently - I was kind of hoping that I'd still get the first review when I got round to it, but it looks like Benedrick got there before me :P

*parties with you for this passing 50K and becoming a novel*

I loved this chapter! I know you've been really hectic and busy but I've missed this story and I was so happy to see it updated again!

After seeing Audrey's mum come back I was wondering how she would react when they finally had to talk about some of the bigger issues that lie in their past, because obviously she doesn't like confronting issues that could be awkward and this one - her mother's abandonment of her - is bound to be difficult to talk about.

I thought you approached it really well, though, and wrote her reactions and feelings brilliantly for the scene that was taking place. I liked the way that she kind of tried to make small talk and divert the attention away from the issue and then suddenly she comes blurting it out and can't help it - and then that leads to a reunion of sorts between her and her mum.

What her mum said, about having loved her too much, is really sweet, and I can understand why Audrey would be able to forgive her after hearing something like that and knowing that it's true, although I'm glad that you didn't instantly make everything okay between them and give them the perfect relationship straight away.

I also adored the detail about her mum reappearing in all the family pictures again, so that she'd actually been there all along - I think it's such a clever idea that someone might go missing from pictures when they abandon their family or something similar. And the little detail about her mum's scent of lavender was great, too - I think that's the sort of thing she'd always remember even if she tried to forget her mum.

The conversation between the girls is always fun to read; the characters are so likeable and vibrant. The line about Audrey's cat being a secret alcoholic was hilarious - it had me cracking up! But I really liked her friends' assessment of the situation between her and Oliver and her and Percy, and that - of course - Audrey doesn't want them to talk about the chance of her and Percy because she's not ready to believe it herself. The little story about Jemima and Charlie fit in well, too!

Ah, a little glimpse of Percy and Audrey together and finally they manage to get through a scene without arguing! I was so proud of them! I'm hoping things can start to develop here between them now ♥

Ooh, that twist about Penelope was really interesting! I didn't like her from the outset because she was so annoying and mean to Audrey but I didn't really expect her to end up tied up in something like this, and I didn't really expect something like this to turn up in the story either - I love all the layers and dimensions to this novel! I'm really intrigued about what they were doing and what they wanted from Audrey's office - is it the potion that she made for Draco?

This was a great chapter, and I'm looking forward to seeing how things develop from here - I'm sorry that this was only a short review, though!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian, it's fine I've been terrible at responding to all your lovely reviews recently, so don't worry about it at all! Bahaha, yes, Benedrick was quick speedy at reviewing this!

Aw, I'm glad you liked the think with Audrey's mother, because I think though Audrey does appear to be very confident a lot of the time, she does some have some issues with her mother and getting closer to people because even though it may seem as if it's just awkwardness, I have a feeling it might be something more deep-rooted and linked back to her mother.

No, Audrey and her mother's relationship is definitely a WIP, as there is a lot of trust which needs to be re-built, and I think the fact that they've been apart for so long means they actually need to get to know one another again and understand what they've been up to in the past few months. Plus, even though Audrey is more lenient when it comes to giving second chances compared to other people, she does want to be sure it really is the right thing to do first.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the thing with the family pictures because I can't remember who it was with but J. K. Rowling did something similar and it really is true. These magical pictures are like mini versions of their lives so it makes sense that if there has been some sort of rift between people it's echoed in that too.

Aw, I'm glad you liked that as it's a lot of fun to write as it's just nice and easy banter. Bahaha, yes, Jemima and Charlie was a random one to throw in but I did want Charlie to have a romance of his own even if J. K. said he didn't end up with anyone in the end.

Yes, things really do start developing from here! You'll just have to watch and wait really! :D

Hmm, hmm, hmm, well, sort of linking to the above, things do start changing from this point onwards in regards to Percy and Audrey and Penelope and the potion. I guess you could say that they're all linked but how you'll have to wait and see.

Aw, this was a really long review so don't worry about it, and thank you for it as it was so lovely! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #30, by Blunderbus Crampingsquash The Singleton State

7th January 2015:
Interesting.

I am the sole reviewer for this latest chapter of yours, it would seem. Well, someone has to be first.

And at last. Plot twist. Penelope Clearwater, affiliated with the dark side? Trespassing and leading a band of rogues into Tinley's office? The Dark Mark Removal Potion secret has been uncovered? I shall be on the scene at once. I always knew Clearwater was cancerous.

Oh, you wrote a make-up scene with Tinley and her mother. That was really quite adorable, though I must admit I can't relate. Who knows, maybe Mycroft can. But that was a good exchange, and I did enjoy reading that.

Also, good to see Je-mi-ma and Verity and Tinley having one of their gossip get-togethers again. And Weasley. That was a far more pleasant appearance of him, compared to the earlier chapters. I suppose things will start to develop between Weasley and Tinley? And Clearwater will be stark raving mad, I'm sure. She has serial killer stamped all over her frownlines.

Well, patronus_charm, this is the last published chapter of your story so far. I have truly enjoyed reading this, and getting to know Tinley and all the chaotic elements of her life. I am...grateful that you've been so tolerant of my presence. Thank you, I think? I have also enjoyed reading your other stories, and I do indeed think you're a very talented author. I hope to see more of your work soon. (You promised me a murder.)

John and Mrs Hudson send their love. Anderson sends what little IQ he has left.


Blunderbus Crampingsquash

Author's Response: Indeed, many congratulations on winning that race and I must say it is quite a sad occasion for me as this is the last review of yours to answer!

Whoohoo, a plot twist - such fun! Indeed she is, the Dark Mark Removal Potion (I really must come up with a simpler name for it!) most definitely has something to do with it, your deduction skills are most apt!

Why thank you, maybe if you hold a make up scene with Mycroft you'll be able to relate to them and it will probably do you some good too.

Yayayay for gossip, it really is great! I do ♥ Weasley and perhaps some of that ♥ will grow between Weasly and Tinley, though it could do with infecting Clearwater too as it might calm her down a little.

Why thank you, I do hope that when future chapters are posted you do continue reading as your comments were most enchanting! I shall give you murder in the future, I'm just working on it for now.

I send my love back to them! ♥

Thank you for being the best ever secret santa, I could not have asked or dreamt up something better than this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by Buttondown Clownberry A Multitude of Stilted Sentences

7th January 2015:
*slams fist on table*

Hah. I knew it. Pewter was indeed a love rival for Tinley. Their names pretty much spelled it out. Although, who did I pair him up with in my initial prediction? Anyway, I revised that, the moment I read about Tinley coming across Pewter and Wood howling like hyenas in St Mungo's.

I enjoyed this chapter, patronus_charm. The talk between Wood and Tinley, and how the stiltedness gradually gave way to some measure of honesty, and then to laughter and forgiveness and then excessive sentimentality.

Greengrass was an interesting character to read about, and I suppose it was mildly hilarious seeing Tinley sitting in some hippie cafe sipping green tea. Nice play on Greengrass's name, making her such a hippie. Rather original portrayal of her, as well. Maybe Malfoy can loosen up a little with her; he's definitely showing a decrease in the constipatedness of his demeanour. Well, I suppose I ought to be nicer to him, because the whole wizarding world is still hurling verbal stones at him and his family. But, being nice is boring. Let Greengrass and Tinley be nice.

I'll just sit here and read on, meanwhile.


Buttondown Clownberry

Author's Response: Hi there Buttondown Clownberry!

Indeed he was, I'm quite sad that I did not intend for their names to match and that was a pure coincidence but I'm glad you appreciated it!

Aw, thank you so much, I was quite proud of the two of them for finally getting it out at in the open as they do quite dilly dallying around and aren't known for being prompto.

I know, she is rather odd and strange compared to Draco too! I'm glad that you liked her too, and Draco should definitely lighten up in her presence as you put it so nicely.

Thank you for this wonderful review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #32, by Bangbongbing Crosbyish Mother, Mother, Mother, etc. etc. etc.

7th January 2015:
No, no, no, no, everything is not okay, Tinley. This is what they call 'on the rocks', and I don't mean the shots you gulp down so frequently. The increasing frequency of the blow-ups, the refusal to talk about important matters, the lack of affection - this 'ship' as it is called, is surely disintegrating mid-ocean. It's doomed. It's sinking to a watery grave.

Oh, well.

And oh, yes. Most important thing of the chapter: the maternal plot twist! Pop! Mummy comes back into the scene. I don't blame Tinley or fault her reaction one bit. Every time my parents come to visit, I pretty much shout, 'yes, yes, tea tomorrow' and shove them outside and slam the door on them. John knows all too well. So Mummy has spent her the last fourteen years recuperating in a pub, has she? Interesting.

I'm keen to read more about her, and how she'll fit herself back into the mayhem of Tinley's present life. Truly, I'm invested in your story. I suppose this is how Mrs Hudson and John feel, watching the telly every night for their favourite soap.


Bangbongbing Crosbyish

Author's Response: Whohoo for shots, they're so much fun Bangbongbing Crosbyish you should really try them out. I know that she lacks understanding at times, but as I said, let's just pity her for now because when she realises what's really been going on, she's going to be in for a not so pleasant surprise.

Bahaha, yes, last time it was Audrey thinking she might be a mummy but this time it's her own one returning. Yes, maybe you should swap mothers because then you'll never have to see yours and Audrey will get all the attention she so dearly craves and all will be happy.

Aw, that comment touches the cockles of my heart and truly made me smile so thank you for that. Yes, I imagine it certainly is how they feel!

Thanks again for this fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #33, by Buxomblonde Crozzlesputch Awkwardness Abound

7th January 2015:
Small talk. Small talk. Small talk is the utter bane of my existence. The senseless, incessant chatter!

That lunch date between Tinley and Wood was as awkward as the neck of a man who's just tumbled down two flights of steps. Clearly, small talk is indeed a very difficult (but worthless) art, and I'd advice Tinley not to bother with it any longer. Except she seems bent on it.

Wood's outburst was amusing. Still raging over the past, I see. Well, I suppose Malfoy did poison a couple of Wood's house-mates, though sometimes you have to wonder, how some people even have the capacity to get so angry, to contain so much sentiment. Sentiment, bah! It takes up space, which can otherwise be allotted to reasoning, deduction, logic. Wood and Tinley's relationship appears to be deteriorating.

I like that you inserted Tinley into a Weasley scene. I like the banter between George and Percy Weasley, and things definitely felt less tense between Tinley and Percy for a moment. Until the arrival of that letter.

Ah, the mysterious letter. A plot twist at last.


Buxomblonde Crozzlesputch

Author's Response: I am ever so sorry, but Audrey, on the other hand, wishes to master it so we must support her in that wish.

Therefore, if it is like that, it must have been very awkward as I do not even want to imagine the amount of breaks and rips he caused within his body. Bahaha, I agree as it seems like she'll never master it.

He is, and I suppose he will continue to do so as he doesn't seem like one of those people who are very receptive to change but prefers to cling to the past instead. I suppose Malfoy did do that, but it should not cause the deterioration of Wood and Tinley's relationship.

#banter #bantz #banterbrigade ooh everyone loves a bit of bant-ta-ta especially those guy.

Whoohoo for a plot twist, sadly it does not result in a murder, I apologise. ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by Benzedrine Cockerel Bleak and Bleaker

6th January 2015:
Missed me, patronus_charm? I was away on a short excursion to tear apart the vast subterranean spider-network of yet another criminal mastermind. That, and I was writing a blog on the tensile strengths of a range of natural fibres.

Tinley has been busy as well, I see. Busy making all sorts of incorrect deductions, that is. First, about pregnancy, which thankfully doesn't apply to her. Because if she were indeed pregnant, she would be hyperventilating and half-throttling Je-mi-ma, and they would both end up accidentally Apparating, Splinching themselves in several places along the way to their unknown, unplanned destination, which will turn out to be the bathtub of a guestroom in the Leaky Cauldron. Which, naturally, will be occupied by a guest, who will turn out to be a very cramped Hagrid. Right.

Aha! The dirt has been dished on Wood. Can't say that I didn't expect this; he always has been a shady character, and I'm not referring to a tree. Clearly, high school grudges just never die, and instead carry over to inflict their torment on adult life. I do hope Tinley picks herself up and gets on with her life. I imagine she doesn't have a lot of options at the moment; her relationships are so unpredictable and drama-infested.

Grey feathers are found it upon it though donít bother even asking me what species it is as I have no clue.

^ That, Tinley, is a Great Grey Owl, also known as Strix nebulosa. And the mysterious letter? Obviously, it was sent by her great-grandstepson from the future. That, or it was Percy Weasley.

I shall read on.


Benzedrine Cockerel

Author's Response: I did indeed as I was growing quite used to your presence and was unsure what to do without it!

Indeed she has, bahaha, her deductions are never the best ones especially so when she is in a hungover state and running around. We must pity her is all I can say. I do think you are quite correct in that assertion about the splinching and throttling Jemima as Je-mi-ma is far too happy in serious situations.

I think his name leads to a natural inclination to have dirt following him around in both senses. High school grudges will never fade, John can surely support that statement as he must have plenty.

Neither she nor I had any idea about that so thank you, I suspect her great-grandstepson from the future, it is the much more obvious choice!

Thank you for this fab review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by Bahhumbug Christmascrank April Fool's

25th December 2014:
To sum up: yes, this chapter was pleasing.

I see you've been juggling ships in this chapter: Draco/Astoria, George/Angelina, Weasley/Tinley/Wood. I know how this is going to turn out: some buffoon is going to get his hands on a timeturner and muck up the space-time continuum and the end result will be happily ever after for the following ships: Draco/George, Percy/Astoria, Oliver/the whole of the Holyhead Harpies, and Tinley/Firewhiskey.

I think I enjoyed the George/Angelina here. I paid particularly close attention to Angelina's way of banishing the grating presence of her one-eared, idiot boyfriend by shoving him into the fireplace and Floo-ing him off. I must try this tactic the next time Mycroft pays me a visit, except of course I'd send Mycroft to some barren alpine wasteland in Nepal where he can enchant water and be a gluten free vegan. I've never seen the point of gluten-free vegans.

So Tinley has made off with Wood now, has she. RE-VENGE. Interesting motive.

As for me, I'm currently shipping myself with my nicotine patches. Less drama.

Excellent read, patronus_charm!


Bahhumbug Christmascrank

Author's Response: Hello Bahhumbug Christmasscrank!

Yes, there were an awful lot of ships and romance going on in this chapter and I hope you could handle all these outward displays of love and emotion. Bahahaha, if someone did do that I would love it so much and I especially love the fact that you paired Audrey with firewhiskey, as I'm sure she'll probably be just as happy with as with a man.

I think you should definitely copy that tactic as it is very clever and could get rid of multiple enemies for you as you could simply vanish them off to any area of the world and they would be gone for aeons and what could be better than that?

She has, and she really should stop doing things for revenge as it never turns out.

I will support that ship as it does sound very cute! ♥

Thanks for another awesome review, Bahhumbug! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #36, by Bandicoot Corncobus One Bombshell, Two Bombshell, Three Bombshell, Four

23rd December 2014:
Hello again, patronus_charm! Pewter is gay. My surprise is enormous. Now Tinley can have a gay best friend, and they can both exchange fantasies about Wood. Pewter and Tinley. Has a nice - ring - to it, don't you think? I suspect the hospital will be thrown into uproar, as everyone there of the female, heterosexual persuasion will be voicing their dismay at St Mungo's Former Most Eligible Bachelor.

And Tinley is going the extra length to scrub a mark of a skull vomiting out a live snake from Malfoy's arm. She has a sense of empathy that I'll never have or want. In fact, I was thinking, if I were Tinley, I'd just solve Malfoy's tattoo troubles by amputating his arm. Malfoy is rather docile in this chapter, hmm? I'd like to see just what sort of character this Greengrass is.

Clearwater has a habit of cropping up everywhere in a rather unwelcome manner, not unlike a cluster of cancerous cells. There she goes, spewing her venom again. And Weasley's appearance was rather interesting. Tiinley seems surprised to see this new side of Weasley - or at least a slippage of his bossy, turgid facade.

As always, any scene with your scheming triumvirate of matchmakers are amusing to read. Out of the three of them, I like Je-mi-ma's approach the best: no need for all this taking it slow business, rush them into it.

Great chapter; see you in the next instalment of Tinley's distracted, bumbling inner world.


Bandicoor Corncobus

Author's Response: Hello Bandicoor Corncobus!

Bahaha, yes, they can! I never thought about them being gay best friends but I feel as if I should write that into the story as it would be so great and funny. There will definitely be uproar, but then I think they'll all be clamouring to claim him as their gay best friend too.

I know, she is a great friend, though I'm sure you have other qualities which are just as great as having empathy. I think amputating them is rather extreme, especially given that as he is a potioneer it would mean he wouldn't be able to do much work. Greengrass is an interesting character shall we say!

She does, but don't worry like cancerous cells she will see an end though how soon the end will come is another thing. Weasley is just a very interesting character indeed, who does not love him for that.

Bahahah, yes, Jemima's approach is perhaps the most effective as one does get to the point a lot more quickly her way!

Thank you for another wonderful review, Bandicoor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #37, by Buffalo Custardbath Papa-Paparazzi

22nd December 2014:
Clearwater is up to murder, that's what. I propose that you rename her Murkywater in the chapters to come. And Wood is most certainly not what he seems. One would imagine Wood to be solid and impassive and fairly thick; I think Sneak is a more appropriate name for him. He's manipulating the press, feeding the paparazzi in a very specific way. All the kissing manoeuvres between Wood and Tinley were very well-engineered: allow me to quote my favourite line.

I feel his lips smash against my own, and Iím not too ashamed to say that I respond accordingly.

Lip-mashing, is there? Mash and blend a little longer, Tinley, and you'll have cooked up sticky lip jam and you and and Wood will be attached at the jaw for all eternity while the paparazzi blind you with their cameras.

Ah, Clearwater and Weasley are having a moment of drama now, are they? Clearly (pun inevitable, really), Clearwater is pregnant with triplets and Wood is the biological father, except Wood is a crappy prospective father, so she's trying to uh, reconnect with Weasley. And live happily ever after, I expect. My deductions are never wrong, by the way. I am becoming more and more invested with your depiction of Weasley. There's something enigmatic about him; the others dismiss him as a boring old fart, which he is, but there's also something unknown about him. He never stays long in any scene. I look forward to Tinley and Weasley's next confrontation. I can imagine it will be far from pleasant, given that Weasley just walked in on Wood and her lipjamming.

Malfoy going to tea with three older ladies is an amusing scene to imagine. Think of it: three of them gossiping over his head, absently straightening his robes and treating him like a baby as they matchmake him. Not such a fearsome Death Eater anymore. It was very interesting that Verity stood up for him and sparked a bit of a political moment.

The first victim has yet to be murdered, but I'm waiting and keeping a hawk-eye on these characters.


Buffalo Custardbath

Author's Response: Hello Buffalo Custardbath!

I think the new name you suggested is very apt, and I may certainly go ahead with it as she does need something which relates to her sneaky nature! Bahaha, I would think back to the original nature of wood when it comes to Oliver Wood, as though he does seem quite cunning here, he's more naive and does what he pleases rather than out for malicious intent.

Yes, yes, not the best description but Tinley does lack poetic qualities in her descriptions! Plus, what you describe does not sound pleasant in the slightest so I shall warn her to heed caution when it comes to Wood.

Yes, they are, they are all about the drama after all! Bahahaha, I am loving the pun and your humour is faultess as usual. Oooh, I never thought you would be one to dabble in theories and ideas such as that as I would have thought they would be too infantile for your liking, but I'm glad to see that you are changing, Buffalo! Bahahaha, lipjamming *dies of laughter* I don't think I can ever recover from that description as it's far too funny. :P

Yes, it's all about what sort of publicity you get, though it would damage his street cred and the others might be presumed to be coogars, it would help with his rehabilitation significantly so they should be applauded for their efforts.

As for the murder you might have to wait a while for that! Thanks for a marvellous review though! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #38, by Butlerdidit Cluedocrap Quidditch Confrotations

22nd December 2014:
Publicity stunt. What did I tell you? I told you so, that's what!

Oh hello, patronus_charm, in case you've forgotten who I am, I'm supposed to be -- some sort of gift-bearing ho-ho-ho-ing cookie-devouring chimney-crawling yokelish Yuletide figure.

I rather enjoyed the little gossiping hen segment with Verity, Je-mi-ma and Tinley. And so Tinley plans to do some matchmaking herself, does she? Meddlesome girl. Of course, I already know who Je-mi-ma will set Malfoy up with. It's Eileen, or I'll eat my overcoat.

I'm almost feeling sorry for Malfoy, which is a feeling that is very, very wrong, given that I'm a high-functioning sociopath and humanity is beneath me. But I do enjoy the developing relationship between Tinley and Malfoy. Tinley is a mentor figure to him, a very meddlesome matchmaking mentor figure.

Clearwater showed up at the Quidditch match. My calculations were accurate, naturally. Naturally there was a bit of a catfight, though I think it was rather humorous and a little refreshing to have this squabble take place in front of George and Angelina. George's restraint on taking sides during the match is funny. Puerile but funny. Well, if I were in his position and I did not wish to damage the delicate dispositions of either his mate or his sister, I'd cheer for the Bludgers.

And there we have it: The Kiss. The Publicity Stunt. Tinley's going to be big in the news. Tinley's going to be possibly vilified because she recently appeared in a Daily Owl photograph, leeching on to one Percy Weasle. Ooh, the mess, the drama! Let it stew! Let it fester!

Excellent chapter, patronus_charm! I'm pleased.


Butlerdidit Cluedocrap

Author's Response: Bahaha, I'm not too sure about that! I could never forget you either Butlerdidit Cluedocrap as you're too awesome for that!

Yayyaya for gossiping, as everyone loves a bit of that as it does reveal the true nature of a lot of people which is cool. She does indeed, though I'm not too sure about Malfoy being set up with Eileen as she's trying to make him a nicer person and I don't think being with Eileen will help wiht that.

You should feel sorry for him, reach into the depths of your heart and pull out that emotion as he deserves it. I'm glad you are enjoying Tinley and Malfoy's relationship even though she perhaps isn't the best mentor given how cray cray she is!

She did, she did, indeed, as your calculations are always without fault. I'm very glad you enjoyed the squabble as it was a lot of fun to write as it reminded me of my sister and myself, so it was fun to evoke those memories. Cheering for the bludges does actually sound like an excellent plan and I must mention it to him next time I see him.

Okay, I can see why you would think it was a publicity stunt, but I'm not too sure if that was what Wood intended it to be as I personally believe he was so excited by the match this was his way of expressing his emotions. The drama will certainly fester on and create even more of it!

Thanks for another amazingly awesome review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #39, by Bandersnatch Calloohcallay An Interlude of Fame

22nd December 2014:
Ah, something unsavoury about Wood, is there. I knew it. I knew it the instant he popped into the story. And now let me deduce: Wood is up to some publicity stunt. Either that or he's secretly an alien from the planet Tralfamador and he's on a mission to kidnap humans to fill out their human enclosure in the Tralfamadorian zoo, a la Vonnegut style.

Further deduction: Tinley is going to assist Malfoy in scrubbing that silly mark off his arm using some home-made, possibly illegal concoction. The amount of fuss that the wizarding world puts into a silly tattoo is laughable. But I must say I enjoy reading your Malfoy. Very fresh, quite a change from the usual smirking git, or the haunted ex-Death Eater seeing dead people all the time. Honestly, Malfoy's catchphrase should be 'I see dead people', and he should have a starring role in M. Night Shyamalan's The Sixth Sense.

What am I talking about?

Ah, Tinley. Weasley is halfway decent, I must say, taking the trouble to visit her residence to hand-deliver a warning to her. A rather ineffectual one, though. Why does Weasley care so much? Clearly, he harbours repressed desires for her. Perhaps her intoxicated side made him realise what a turgid, pompous buffoon he is, and now he's being socially awkward and trying to gain her favour in his buffoonish ways.

I do not think I've ever complimented you on Tinley's voice. Well, I'm honest. I shan't hold back this compliment any longer: I do enjoy Tinley's voice very much, her sense of humous, all the clutter of her thoughts. It makes brilliant accompaniment with this violin concerto I'm playing. And Tinley's family relationships are positively endearing.

I suppose I should thank you for such an entertaining chapter. Well, thank you. There you go.


Bandersnatch Callohcallay

Author's Response: Hello Bandersnatch Callohcallay!

Yes, there is something a little suspicious but I wouldn't hate on him just yet as there is a lot more to be revealed which may change your perception of him so just hold out for a bit. (also, I'm not sure Wood is an alien, I know he is a bit strange but you may need to re-think this idea :P).

The further deduction is certainly correct as Audrey is all for things illegal as that's her jam! I know, tattoos are just marks so they do need to calm down on the hype about them just a wee bit! Yay for Malfoy, I am liking the catchphrase though as it is very catchy (lol, terrible pun/joke/thing!) and I am sure he would love to be an actor too!

I do not know as I cannot read your mind sadly!

Yes, Weasley is a peculiar being but a very caring one too so we must applaud him for that characteristic as it is a very charming one to have. As for repressed desires, they certainly are as I'm not even sure if his mind is aware of the feelings he holds for her just yet.

I do not think you have either but I am glad that you do like as I thought it would be a little too messy and incomprehensible for you but that means great things for me, but you would make a fine duo I must say.

Thank you for a positively enchanting review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #40, by Bentobox Carrotmash An Exit with Oliver

21st December 2014:
Yes, yes, yes. Merry Christmas. Happy New Year. I personally prefer, 'Bah, humbug.'

You doubted my return, didn't you, patronus_charm?

Hello again, Tinley. This is my updated deduction of her character: orange hair on her robes - probably owns a cat, is probably one of those 'crazy cat ladies' as they so love to dub themselves on social media websites. And her cat's name probably begins with an A, in a sentimental gesture of solidarity with Tinley's own first name ('Audrey'). Long, messy hair? Tinley is probably trying to emulate a Greek goddess, so I'm going to guess she named her cat 'Athena'. Though I am fairly certain that the Greek goddess Athena was never portrayed with...orange cat hair. Tinley likes to sleep? That's because she's secretly an addict to Sleeping Potions. Takes one to know one, Tinley.

This James Pewter. Aha. He is gay, isn't he? Yes, he is. He is going to be a potential love rival for Tinley, as I'm fairly sure he'll be hitting on Percy Weasley the second he sets eyes on him. That will happen in precisely one and a half chapters. I sense some ugly rivalry between Pewter and Tinley.

After all, Pewter? And Tinley? I saw through that right away. And of course, you added Wood to this...interesting mixture of elements/compounds/metals. Wood and Tin and Pewter? I know exactly what you're doing, patronus_charm. This is a plot. A dastardly and evil plot.

OK, Oliver Wood and Percy Weasley aren't the best of friends, eh? Tinley and Wood - I like the sound of this. I suspect Weasley stomped off in a downright jealous and unbelievably trivial sulk.

Excellent plotting! Life is such a soap opera. And soap operas have the most murderous plots of all.


Bentobox Carrotmash

Author's Response: Hello Bentobox Carrotmash, I never did doubt your return as you are always omnipresent so it would be impossible to do so!

Tinley says hello back! And she always says she is a crazy cat lady but one who is very proud of being one so you should shut your face (she also says sorry for her rudeness but she loves her cat a lot and cannot help it). You are certainly true that her cat is called Athena, but the orange cat haired Athena is Audrey's own invention and I'm not sure to what extent I support it. She certainly does but sleep is perhaps the most wonderful creation in the entire world so I do not blame him!

Ooh ooh ooh, perhaps he is, perhaps he isn't you shall have to say. But a potential love rival is another question because I am inclined to support this line of argument but I shall not give any hints out in regards to the conclusion.

Yes, it may be a plot indeed but an accidental I should state as this correlation in the names was something I had not yet noticed until you pointed it out, so thank you very much for telling me about it.

Of course not, this is another love rival and they shall have to fight it out in a battle of logic!

Thanks for another fantabulous review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by Brandyduck Cankersore The Morning After the Night Before

20th December 2014:
Well, hello again. I gave you my word I'd be back, didn't I?

So. Tinley, Tinley, Tinley. Just what have you got yourself into? Well, from the evidence of Tinley's feelings and how 'unanchored' she feels, her sudden unappeasable appetite for grease, also known as the melted and cooked lipids of animals, along with her general sense of being pushed on a child's swing...I have come to the conclusion that she has ingested the sap of a rare and poisonous plant of the genus Intoxicus.

Ah, I adore Jemima and Verity. Jemima more, though, just because I can throw up my window and holler down at Baker Street, "JE-MI-MA, COOOEEE!" Je-mi-ma Je-mi-ma. Has a lovely ring to it. Verity and her sound rather lovely as well, being completely unread in the fine art of sarcasm.

Ah, Penelope Clearwater. That woman is venomous. Tinley should be wary, though I have this nagging suspicion that Tinley can hold her own and that these two will inevitably meet again. Their fates are crossed, you might say. I am rather keen to find out just what Tinley was doing with Percy last night after imbibing one too many.

I find Tinley's living arrangements most interesting. Granny Lucy and her inherent madness reminds me of Mrs Hudson. And her shy retiring dad reminds me...why, Watson himself. I love this little madcap family. These days, families are too normal, too sane, too busy celebrating...Christmas or whatever festive occasion that happens to be passing outside my window right now. Bah, humbug.

Draco is no longer the despicable Death Eater? I still am watching him with narrowed eyes. Perhaps his obliging exterior conceals a dark secret? A murderous intention? A motive? Well, well, Mr Malfoy, mark my words, I'll break you open.

In conclusion: a brilliant chapter. Consider this story my daily nicotine fix. Every chapter is like a nicotine patch to me. It goes without saying that I will be returning soon.


Brandyduck Cankersore

Author's Response: Hey Brandyduck Cankersore, thanks for another fantabulous review!

I know, she really does need to put me effort into avoiding trouble as it would make her life a lot easier and a lot more pleasant too, but alas we cannot all be perfect. Though I do have to say the amount of grease she consumed is giving her even more troubles, though this time health related one.

Thank you so much for expressing warm emotions towards those two as I am a great fan of them too. Oooh, that would be rather fun to see and to listen too, so I do think you should do it as I'm sure Jemima would appreciate it a lot too.

I know, she is the vilest of the vile, almost as bad as Mycroft which is saying something! These two will definitely meet again though not in the star crossed lovers sense but more in the enemies drawn wands!

Most interesting is perhaps a very apt description of them but I expect no less from a great mastermind such as yourself. There little mannerisms and quirks is what makes them all the more interesting I do dare say.

No, definitely not a Death Eater but he is working on the despicable aspects of his character so I would continue to watch him with narrowed eyes.

Thank you again for an awesomesauce review which made my Christmas all the more festive! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by Bend-a-leg Cocklescratch Introductory Measures

19th December 2014:
Seasons greetings, patronus_charm! It is I, your Secret Santa, also known as the greatest detective the world has ever seen, here to unravel a plot or two and I'm willing to wager Mrs Hudson's prized teapot that you'll have the murderer behind bars by the end of the day.

A nice murder or two is the ideal way to wind down for Christmas, I daresay.

Ah, this Audrey Tinley. Female, twenty-four years old, Caucasian, single, Potioneer, is she? Probably eats the periodic table of elements for breakfast, and by this, I mean the chart. Ah, clever. Very clever, patronus_charm. I did not miss the clue at all; it was pretty obvious. I'm referring to the story summary where you surreptitiously snuck in the cryptic phrase, 'Percy/Audrey'. You used italics! Clever. Italics indicate secrecy and trickery, but I am on your trail, of course. So Tinley is going to be the perpetrator of this forbidden romance, which will inevitably end up in a gruesome murder.

I do find your Audrey Tinley...amusing. Her mannerisms, her figures of speech, her musings that occasionally hammer on the fourth wall. I find this Potioneer job of hers utterly mundane, but all jobs apart from mind-palacing and solving murders fall into the category of mundane and soul-destroying, anyway.

This Eileen is suspicious. Who on earth even utters phrases such as, 'We've got to pip pop poppety rock'. Very fishy, indeed. I know a psychopath when I hear one speak, and Eileen is certainly one. Now all we need to do is catch her red-handed.

Verity is a little firebrand, isn't she? Though if I were her, I wouldn't curse the German Minister of International Co-operation and his ancestors back to the eighteenth generation. What a sheer waste of energy. I'd prefer to curse the hapless man's eighteen generations to come. There's a particular curse known as scabious loinpox, which I must recommend to Miss Tinley if I ever do get the chance to fall into the same story as her.

Ah, the party at Weasley Wizard Wheezes. I never understood parties other than them being socially-awkward gatherings of pathetic excuses of human beings hoping to achieve various stages of intoxication in order to muster enough courage to ask someone out. Trivial.

And I approve of Audrey's predisposition for the truth rather than beating about the push with all that niceties and small talk. Small talk is an art? Indeed. Small talk is glorified. Small talk has become the pinnacle of western civilization. And what Audrey did to this Percy Weasley is something I would have done as well. Keep all these tampering cupids away from me and allow me to remain a friendless high-functioning sociopathic canker. With a clear mind.

I must admit, grudgingly, that I did enjoy reading this first chapter of a story full of insignificant people. Who knew that insignificance could be so interesting?

I shall be back!


Bend-a-leg Cocklescratch

Author's Response: Ahahah, thank you so much for all these wonderful presents, Benedrick, they have made my Christmas perfect and I can't thank you enough for them!

Bahaha, you are onto Audrey then and it's quite cunning how much you've already deducted about her so go you! As for her eating the periodic table, that may be a secret guilty pleasure of hers but I have heard it is very nutritious so it's quite a good thing that she does eat it! Hmm, hmm, hmmm, I suppose the grammar I use does play a part in unravelling the mystery...

I'm glad you find Audrey amusing though as she is rather fun to write. I wouldn't go as far as to say her job was mundane because the more you read on, you might find that your view has changed quite a bit.

Omg, you're onto Eileen! You're the only person to have suspected her so far and I do have to say it's probably a very good thing that you do suspect her of something as you shall see later on!

That is quite true, and quite a risk taker too as who knows what this could mean for the German Minister of International Co-operation but we shall have to see later on. Cursing future generations is probably a better idea but I believe the Chinese prefer attacking the former relatives.

Parties are great fun and I think you should try them out more often. The one time I saw you drunk it left me in hysterics, so maybe we should go out partying again together and I could make you like it.

Small talk is glorified, if only Audrey could realise that rather than saying whatever thought is passing through her mind at that moment in time. Yayayay for shouting out Percy Weasley as he certainly does deserve it.

Why thank you very much Bend-a-leg Cocklescratch that means a great deal to me! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #43, by BellaLestrange87 Awkwardness Abound

18th September 2014:
Oliver's back? Maybe he's explaining why he stormed out. He certainly didn't when he left.

*laughs at Audrey's explanation about how to lie*

Repeated sentence - "Phew, problem number one solved, I have gotten rid of Draco so I can proceed to deal with number two and three without interruption."

If she's still referring to Oliver as her boyfriend why is she trying to avoid him?

*laughs at her fantasy for what'll happen if she goes to see him*

Oliver doesn't seem to know that water is supposed to be swallowed. Or maybe Audrey should wait until he's swallowed it to pop surprising news on him.

Wow. Oliver really doesn't like Draco. Did he just break up with Audrey?

What could George possibly have done that he would need an alibi for? Wow he's blunt. Considering this is a Percy/Audrey fic maybe his mention of them doing... things is foreshadowing?

CLIFFHANGER. I now need to know what is in that letter.

Good chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again Olivia!

Oliver is back but as for the explanation that will come in a little while.

Haha, Audrey should write some how-to books as she's such a pro at teaching.

Thanks for pointing that out, I'll fix that!

Audrey is very confused emotionally hence the confusion in references so I wouldn't pay too much attention in what she calls others :P

Hahaha, Oliver is a little dim at times so don't worry too much. He really doesn't like him but then you can sort of understand given everything Draco put him and his friends it's naturally he'll have anti-Draco feelings. And no, it's not quite the break up for them yet.

George is up to all sorts of things so it's a matter of waiting and seeing really! Is it foreshadowing or isn't it? Hmmm, wait and see!

Thanks for the review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #44, by BellaLestrange87 The Morning After the Night Before

15th September 2014:
This is for the Blue vs. Bronze review battle!

I'm back, and I enjoyed this chapter just as much as I did the first one.

Poor Audrey. Although, considering how many parties she's says she's been to, she should probably know better. Why wouldn't she just Apparate straight home? It would make sense: she'd have avoided Penelope.

Speaking of Penelope, she appears to be a real snob. Surely she was nicer to Percy than she is to Audrey? I can't envision Percy as the type to go for somebody rude and prickly. (Is that the right word?)

The Daily Owl seems to be a more accepted version of the Quibbler. Percy Weasley is the most eligible bachelor in the country? I honestly wasn't expecting that.

"A mother's touch is always needed so you were practically an orphan, dear." That is one honest grandmother. Is that a demonstration of her respect for her son-in-law or was Audrey's dad a bad parent?

Audrey's description of her room made me laugh. A Christmas tree in July? It would make for a great tour.

I have only one bit of CC: Draco does seem slightly OOC, unless he has changed since DH or he has some respect for Audrey (which he appears to, given his agreeing to her comment about Eileen. In that case, you can ignore this paragraph. Pre-DH I don't think he would be asking anybody if they were alright (unless they were a Slytherin, I suppose.)

"Itís a difficult one to make and administer as the ratios of ingredients must be exact otherwise instead of stopping the rate of the heart beat which is what it is intended to do, it will instead stop the heart completely." Isn't stopping the rate of the heart beat the same as stopping the heart?

Overall, this was a great second chapter, and I can't wait to see how Audrey's friends get her and Percy together.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia, thanks for another fab review :D

Yes, she probably should have done so but I guess you can always have one too many drinks and end up in awkward situations like she was in. As for avoiding Penelope, I think Audrey must have been a little too hung-over to think about things like that.

Yes, she is a real snob and a horrible one at that so I can see what you mean about Percy, but those two will be explored more throughout the story, so don't worry.

Haha, Percy is hot stuff how could you not know that? If you live in the UK, I envisaged it to be like The Daily Mail if that helps you at all :P

Yes, she is very honest and blunt and perhaps a lover of the truth a little too much, it's a demonstration of respect as she is a fan of Audrey's dad.

Haha, everyone loves Christmas trees even if it is July! :P

Yes, I know what you mean about Draco and he does calm down in the later chapters I just had a few teething problems with him in the beginning ones, but hopefully it straightens out later on.

Yes, it is and I'll edit it asap, thanks for pointing it out!

Thanks for a great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #45, by BellaLestrange87 Introductory Measures

13th September 2014:
This is for the Blue vs. Bronze review battle!

Aaaand I'm hooked. I love the way you started the story. Not many people would have word #1 a swear word, but it worked. I wanted to find out why the first word was a swear word, and then you sucked me in.

Is that Draco Malfoy? Draco isn't exactly a common name, and this guy is blond. Dyed hair? I knew hair couldn't be that white without some form of modification.

Short person syndrome? That made me laugh. I'm five foot three (hopefully I get taller) and one of my male friends says I'm vertically challenged. Considering he's 6'2 at least, my consolation thought is that I'm only vertically challenged compared to him.

"A woman, or a man for that matter, does not need to have a partner to be content. Us singletons are united in our aim of enjoying being single without having people constantly meddle in it and have it messed up and make us tied into a relationship where we are forced to ponder what to buy our other half for Christmas, whether they love us and make an attempt at looking nice. We live in the twenty-first century, Verity; I do not need a man." Cough cough my friends cough. Can I use this against them next time they bring out the 'you need a boyfriend' line?

I love the way you use humour. The line about the scowl... hehehe. I see Percy is as pompous as usual. It will be interesting to see how he and Audrey get along after she left him for being rude.

Great chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia!

Yya thank you so much, bahaha, yes I know it was a bit risque doing it but I thought it would definitely capture your attention so I'm glad that it did work for you.

Yes, it is and perhaps with dyed hair because I always imagined him being a person who went grey early on :P

Hahaha, yes, I couldn't help but include it because even though I'm 5'5 my family are all over 5'9 so I'm the midget so I made sure that Audrey would suffer the same fate :P Haha, being vertically challenged is secretly great, right?

Yes, you definitely can, and I'm so glad that you like it! :D

Hahaha, Percy is very pompous right now and prone to scowling too, so I hope you like how those two end up together because I can see why it would seem unlikely right now.

Thanks for a great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #46, by nott theodore A Multitude of Stilted Sentences

13th September 2014:
Hey Kiana!

Ah, so I missed your status about this being updated so it's a good thing I was going through the recently added pages and got to see this! I've missed reading from Audrey's point of view and it was great to get back into reading this story!

Oh dear, Audrey's language when she's stressed gets rather bad :P I can just imagine her Granny telling her off if she ever heard what Audrey's internal monologue is like! Although I can understand why she was so nervous as the situation with Oliver has been rather awkward recently, even if they parted the last chapter on good terms. Still, 'we need to talk' is never really a good thing to hear, although I was kind of glad to read it because I'm excited for the prospect of Audrey and Percy getting together and that can't happen while Oliver and Audrey are together (although I guess it kind of could but it shouldn't and yes I'm rambling...)

I thought you did a great job of writing their initial meeting (also the comments about the Londoners and the sun in April made me laugh so much, because it's so true for everywhere in Britain :P) and how awkward they were and Audrey makes me laugh a lot. And then ooh, plot twist! I thought James and Oliver did get on unexpectedly well but hadn't made the connection that Oliver was bisexual and falling for James, which is kind of cute in a way! (Like Audrey said, haha.) Now I see why you said that Oliver and James would both have mroe of a role in the story and I can actually picture them both together even though it'll be a bit weird for Audrey to see them together as Oliver's her ex and she used to fancy James quite a bit. I am glad that Oliver told Audrey though instead of leading her on and stuff, and that he trusts her enough to be able to do that.

Oliver being bisexual is also something I've never seen in any fanfiction story before so that was really original! And the fact that he was in love with Percy! That's just brilliant, you have no idea how much that idea made me smile because so many people don't even seem to pick up on the fact they're in the same year at school. But that was a really stupid plan to get Percy to like and notice him, by cheating on him with his girlfriend! Silly Oliver!

I really loved reading about Audrey telling Draco about the potion that she'd made for him, because it was such a touching scene. It was cute to see how much he paid attention to her and her ridiculously elaborate cover story, but then to find out what she'd actually made it for as well as it's a really sweet thing to do. I like the idea of Audrey being someone who's into social change and equality a lot, and I'm glad that Draco accepted it! Although you've also got me a little bit worried that the potion's not going to work and it's going to harm Draco really badly, especially as Audrey's not even sure if it's actually legal... I feel like if something goes wrong, there could be some extremely serious consequences! (And then maybe Percy will ride to the rescue and help her out? :P)

The final section with Astoria was brilliant, as I've never seen Astoria written like this before and it's so different to how I normally imagine her. I loved all of her talk about Audrey's aura being clouded and the idea for hypnosis and the Green Boot cafe, as they were all so fun to read about and made Astoria seem very real in this story. Plus it was hilarious to read about Audrey being threatened with hypnosis - I think my reactions would have been similar to hers!

Even though Astoria's methods did seem a little strange, they did work and it was good for Audrey to have someone outside of her family and everything else that's going on in her life to talk to about what's happening with her mum. I think it was great that she was able to think about what she felt towards her and why she felt those things as well, because a lot of people wouldn't do that and it's got to help, so well done to Astoria for making her think more! And then I'm optimistic for Audrey too as far as her mum's concerned as now she realises how she feels and why, she might be able to forgive her and get some sort of relationship with her, which I think would really help.

This was another great chapter, Kiana - I'm really loving this story! ♥

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian! Don't worry about missing it, I've only just got round to answering all my reviews so I know what it's like :P

Yes, her granny would definitely have quite a lot to say about the amount of expletives she uses, but I guess that's just Audrey's character to get all shouty and use a lot of swear words :P Haha, it's fine as I really wanted Oliver and Audrey to end when I was writing this as we really need some Audrey and Percy time. I think whilst Oliver and Audrey did have fun together, he just wasn't as interested in saving people and making lives better as Audrey and Percy are hence why they never really worked.

Yay for the London sun, we really are so keen when it comes to summer but I guess as it never tends to appear for more than a week we just have to grab when it comes! Yes, a plot twist :P *cackles in the corner* This was a rather random one I have to admit compared some which will come later on but I think the NaNo madness did help a lot when it came to coming up with how on earth could I break Audrey and Percy up! I think Audrey's one of the few people who could just accept that her boyfriend is bi and loves her colleague, but again, that's just Audrey, and those two will definitely feature a lot more in the story!

I'm glad that you liked it because I think I've seen a few gay Olivers from time to time and of course there's always straight Oliver, so I thought why not mix it up and have a bi Oliver too :p Yes, Oliver was a bit stupid and, again, this whole Oliver plotline is one of the crazier ones of the story but it was quite funny to imagine that someone could like Percy enough to do that :P

I'm so glad that you liked that because even though this is an Audrey/Percy story, I think Audrey and Draco's relationship has been one of my favourites of the entire story. Of course she had to have an elaborate cover story, nothing with her is ever simple! Erm, what was that about it going wrong... Hmmm, the potion will be explored in the next few chapters and you are right about it not being plain sailing and Percy will have something to do with it but more than that is saying too much :P

Hahaha, yeah, I went a bit crazy with Astoria in this story but I guess as all the characters are a bit mad, I thought let's make Astoria crazy too! Astoria is very strange and crazy I have to say, but you are right that she did need someone like Astoria to talk to about her mum because then there would be less judging. Audrey and her mum still have a lot of issues to deal with and lot of things to go through before they can ever be normal, but this is definitely one of the first steps to getting there!

Thanks for an amazing review, Sian and sorry for taking ages to get to it! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #47, by nott theodore Mother, Mother, Mother, etc. etc. etc.

6th August 2014:
HI KIANA!

Okay, I'm excited that I'm actually finally all caught up which means for the first time in like forever I can read your stories as you post, and guess what? FIRST REVIEW! :D

Ooh, I definitely wasn't expecting that Audrey's mum would turn up completely out of the blue (I probably should have read the chapter titles before I started going through all of the chapters and then I might have been able to guess... then again, the cliffhanger wouldn't have had such a big impact) and it was quite dramatic!

I thought that you wrote Audrey's reactions to the news really well. There were so many different emotions layered in there and it was really difficult for her to suddenly confront her mum who almost seems like a ghost from her past because she's taken so long to get back in touch again. There was anger there because Audrey felt like her Granny had just forgiven her, but then a lot of hurt as well and I think in a way she was lashing out because she didn't want to get hurt again and she was trying to protect herself from it. I thought her mum's explanation for why she left was interesting though, and even though for the damage it's done to Audrey it can't really be acceptable to leave, I think it helps to explain it a bit because she went through a really traumatic experience.

The scene with Draco was probably my favourite one in this chapter. I felt so sorry for Audrey because really she has loads to deal with right now and I can understand that she'd want to try and work through all of her problems and she doesn't really want distractions when she's doing that. Draco was really cute when he was asking her if he'd done something wrong, though! He must have thought that Audrey had changed her mind and was going to start treating him like other people did and that would have been awful. But I'm so glad that she did actually talk one of her problems through with him and it was really interesting to see his views on forgiveness, because I think you actually got them spot on and so in character. It makes a lot of sense and I wonder if Oliver heard the conversation whether he'd have a different view on him. I hope that Audrey will be able to spend some time with her mum though and maybe they can create some kind of relationship and she can maybe forgive her eventually.

The scene with Oliver was really interesting too, and even though Audrey's been a bit more subdued in this chapter with her humourous inner monologue (with the exception of the annoyance that her cat hasn't decided her life for her) and I liked seeing something a bit lighter-hearted - the tale of the crazy stalker made me laugh a lot! With everything that is going wrong in her life right now I suppose it might be easier if at the moment she patches things up with Oliver, but to be honest I kind of feel like they need to do a lot more talking. Maybe it's just because I know that they're wrong together and that eventually she'll be with Percy, so I'm rooting for him :P But it is good for her to have stopped arguing with Oliver for now, even if she's already being pessimistic about their future together!

This was a lovely chapter and I really enjoyed getting to learn more about Audrey's life and some of the more serious parts of it, because there are lots of difficult decisions for her to make right now. But I've loved seeing the way that Audrey's character develops up to this point and I'm looking forward to the next chapter too! (I'm far too excited to say that now that I've actually caught up!)

I love this story! ♥

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian, I'm so so sorry for taking aeons to get to this but here I am!

Bahaha, it's fine but I'm glad you liked the drama as it just makes the story so much more interesting when you include it!

I'm really glad that you liked how she reacted to her mum because fortunately for me I have never experienced anything like this so I was sort of making it up as I went along in a way but I can imagine it must have been horrible for her. I guess it's sort of why she's so out there as a character as she needs to be loud and funny and crazy so to block out all of those horrible things which have happened to her during her life. And sorry for sort of rambling away about this, I just really love writing this aspect of Audrey!

Aw, yay for Draco love as he is such a cutey a lot of the time! I feel quite sorry for him as he must be so unsure of everything that he even has to start questioning whether Audrey likes him or not which must suck a lot. Haha, they are like each other's therapists when you put it like that which is a rather strange thought because Draco Malfoy and caring don't really go together a lot of the time.

Bahahah, yay for crazy stalkers everyone's gotta love them! They definitely need to do a lot of talking as there are so many unresolved issues with the two of them they just need to get everything out and say it and then hopefully everything will be okay again. Or not, as I'm rooting for Percy too so it's fine if she breaks up with oliver!

I'm glad that you liked the serious parts too, as those will be explored more in the story as it does quite a serious turn from here on which is a fun change to write about.

Thanks for an amazing review, Sian!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #48, by nott theodore Awkwardness Abound

6th August 2014:
Hi again, Kiana!

Oh wow, this was a really great chapter because there really was a lot that started to happen here and I'm so excited now to read the next chapter, although I'm a little bit apprehensive too, to be honest!

Okay, so my opinion of Oliver in this story is steadily getting worse because it's just not okay for him to not see Audrey for a week after leaving her like he did. I don't really blame her for putting off going to see him in the staff room and doing all those other things instead because it definitely was really awkward between the two of them! Draco seems really sweet in that scene though, and I was happy when he said that his date with Astoria went well! At least somebody's love life seems to be working out, and the girls do seem like good matchmakers to be honest!

I did notice one line which I think you accidentally copied in this section, when Audrey's trying to work out if she can put off seeing Oliver any longer, it's nothing major though!

Hmm, I'm not sure what to make of Oliver and James laughing together in the staff room because you made it sound like something would be happening with James and the fact that he's gay so now I'm really curious. Oliver clearly didn't realise how annoyed Audrey was though and I feel like if he was better at picking up on her moods they might have more of a future.

That meal at the Crescent Moon was just so awkward and I was kind of cringing as I read that section and how awkward things were between the two of them. Then, just when it started to get a little bit less awkward, Oliver started getting really angry about the idea of Audrey working with Draco! To be honest, I can understand why Oliver reacted the way he did, especially with what he was saying about having all of those memories from the battle. But at the same time, if everyone refuses to forgive and try and move on from what happened, then it's going to be really hard to build a fairer society. I had no idea when I realised Draco was going to be part of this story how much of a role he'd have to play! I think that Audrey's right to support Draco to be honest, and if Oliver had tried to tell me what to do when it came to someone I worked with and opinions I held, I'd be getting very annoyed!

It was so sweet that Audrey could go to George as her second choice for someone to get comfort from. And I love the way that he considered her question about Draco and came to the conclusion that Draco could be forgiven, because it's so much more in character with George and I thought the parallels that he drew with Percy were really interesting too.

Ah, it was so nice to see Percy come along and him and Audrey actually stay in the same room because George is the sort of person who can make them feel more comfortable about it. It was so great to see that and some of the subtle, slow development between Audrey and Percy's relationship (can it be called that yet? Acquaintance, maybe?). That letter at the end has made me really nervous though, I don't know what it's about! I'm worried it's something to do with her family and that Granny Lucy has been taken ill or something like that! I have to read on now to find out!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian!

Yes, you should be apprehensive about the next chapter as a lot happens so be scared and prepared and just ready for Audrey related chaos is the best thing to say really!

Erm, yes, erm, yes, Oliver, more will be revealed in the next chapter as to why he avoided her and why he's been a jerk recently so do not fear (I swear that's my standard line in this story!) as it should all be explained in the next chapter. Yay for Draco, and I'm so glad that you like the glimpses of his love life as it definitely will be explored a lot more in the coming chapters!

Thanks for pointing that out to me, I have annoying habit of doing that and I'll fix it asap!

Yes, Oliver can be a little dense at times when it comes to Audrey's feelings but I suppose with James around he's going to be like that a lot ;) There's a lot more to come about Oliver's background in terms of Penelope, Audrey and Percy and that should clear up a lot of things!

Yup, it definitely is getting very, very awkward between the two of them, possibly even more awkward than Percy and Audrey which is saying something as they are like the King and Queen of Awkward :P I can understand Oliver too, don't worry, because something as horrible and dreadful as that battle will have show its effects for a very long time but then there's always that fine line between forgive and forget and holding grudges. Haha, I didn't realise Draco was going to play such a major role when I started this story either so it's been so much fun exploring his character and seeing how someone like him can effect so many things.

I'm glad you liked that as it was fun to make George all deep and reflective while still trying to keep him as George. It's just so much fun to explore this idea of Draco and do we forgive him with lots of different people as it's one I don't really see that much in FF which is sad as there are so many different takes on it so it's great you're liking it here!

Bahahaha, yep, George has this ability to say incredibly awkward lines which somehow put people at ease, I have to say it's quite a cool trait to have! Erm, I think it might be a bit more than acquaintance maybe bordering on friendship bordering on advisor of personal issues I'm not really sure as it's so strange!

Thanks for another amazing review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #49, by nott theodore Bleak and Bleaker

6th August 2014:
Hey Kiana!

Oh my goodness! Poor, poor Audrey in this chapter! I seriously feel so sorry for her here because there's a lot that's gone on and I can see why the chapter title fits because things definitely aren't looking good for her right now!

Okay, so the opening of the chapter I just felt so sorry for Audrey with all of the panic that's going on in her mind! I can definitely understand it and it's clear that she's not used to doing that sort of thing, and then to top it all there's all the worry that she might actually be pregnant too. After all that, I expected that Oliver would at least stay and be all nice like he was when she stayed over the first time, but then he got that mysterious letter and went rushing off! I didn't expect him to do that because I was still hoping he was a nice guy, even though I suspected that he wasn't always. He could have at least told her where he went, and for a second I thought maybe someone had strange photos of him and Audrey or something - like the Daily Owl - but now I'm thinking that maybe it was Penelope or someone else. I'm not really sure...

I am really glad that Audrey wasn't pregnant! For a second I was reading and got really worried that you were going to do a massive plot twist like Audrey had a third child who wasn't Percy's, so I'm glad that she got Jemima to help her and do the test to make sure that she wasn't. The revelation about Jemima was quite surprising too although I suppose she has the sort of lifestyle that could lead to that, but it was nice of Audrey not to question it too.

The revelation about Oliver and Penelope was something I was kind of expecting because I guessed at it a couple of chapters ago, but I was still shocked because I didn't think that it would have been something that went on for so long. I felt so, so sorry for Audrey though because now she knows that Oliver has a history of cheating and things could be more difficult. I kind of hope that they break up now, because even though it will be hard for Audrey, I think it'll be better in the long run. And of course, she has to get together with Percy too!

Aw, that letter at the end was just so sweet! I love the fact that Percy did something like that and that you're showing a nicer side to Percy too! Audrey was a bit dense not to realise that it was Percy writing to apologise but aw, at least someone is being really nice to her!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian!

Aw, yes, Audrey does need a lot of hugs in this chapter and definitely in the ones to come too, as she isn't going through a time of her life right now.

Yeah, her panicking definitely didn't help in this chapter as it just meant she had a lot of unnecessary fears about life and the future and stuff, and probably made her and Oliver's relationship even worse. Oliver is a bit strange in these few chapters but don't worry too much about him! I actually feel kinda bad I made him look like such a villain in these few chapters because while he is mean I didn't intend to make him that mean but oh well, he dated Penelope he does some hate :P

Bahahaha, yeah, it could have been quite entertaining to see what would have happened if she was pregnant because seeing her manage a child would be funny, but no that would have bit too big a plot twist! Haha, Jemima's life is a little too crazy for all of us but I guess it's a good thing so Audrey now has someone to go for all that sort of stuff.

Yes, that was a good guess but there is a lot more to their relationship than you first think so don't worry too much just yet! The same goes for the cheating too, because while it is bad it's not as bad in a way, I don't know but just wait and see is probably the best thing to say as I'm making no sense :P Yay for her and Percy, those two are getting a lot closer to beign together!

Bahahah, I think with Audrey her life is just far too cray cray right now to realise it was Percy which is kinda sad, but it will be revealed later on, don't worry!

Thanks for another amazing review, Sian! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #50, by nott theodore April Fool's

6th August 2014:
Hello again!

Aw, I absolutely loved the beginning of this chapter with Draco and Astoria on their date! I think that Audrey's idea for it was really cute and fit with the two of them really well, especially since we know that Astoria likes Muggle things and Draco's trying to expose himself to them more so that he can eradicate some of his prejudices. Although you've suddenly made Draco seem even cooler and normally I'm a bit on the fence when it comes to him, because if he can go on a date to a museum with a girl he doesn't know that well then he's pretty cool!

I think that my favourite part of that section was his complete bewilderment at travelling through Muggle London though, and all the different amazing descriptions that you got to include of the city. Audrey was so funny as she was taking him along, although there was still that caring side of her evident, and it made me laugh when she and Jemima just casually slipped away from Draco and Astoria as they were going into the museum before they realised they'd actually been set up on a date!

I was really interested to see what would happen at this second party of George's and it's kind of equally dramatic! I loved reading all the preparations for it and the way that Angelina just took control and wouldn't let George mess around with her and try and find out what the surprises are. Haha, the gluten-free vegan guest and the one from Nepal comments made me laugh!

Okay, Oliver in this chapter was really cute with stopping her to kiss her and stuff before the ending. It seems like he really does like her, but I'm worried and have a feeling that he might turn out to be a bad guy or something, especially since Percy keeps warning Audrey away from him!

Verity's really funny when she comes along and tries to be really impressive with all of her gossip and doesn't expect Audrey to know that's why she's coming; it shows the strength of their friendship really well. Her news was definitely interesting! It's so cute that George and Angelina are going to move in together, and the idea of Jemima and Charlie too! Although I'm not sure how I - or Audrey - feel about the idea of Percy with another girl, although since she's technically with Oliver so I guess it's kind of her own fault.

Oh no, that conversation between Percy and Audrey - I had so many feels! Even though there was some tension and stuff in their conversation they were still actually talking and I was so hopeful for them, but then it went wrong with all the talk about forgiveness! I think that Audrey did start to change his opinion about it and I wanted to see what Percy would say, but we didn't get the chance and I was kind of annoyed that Oliver came crashing in.

And no, I can't believe that Percy said that to Audrey, I feel so sad now! And I kind of want to shout at her for what she's doing at the end of this chapter even though I can kind of understand why she's doing it. Eep, reading on!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian! :D

Bahaha, I'm so glad that you liked it and didn't think it was weird how Muggle crazy Audrey made the date. But then given how you already know her quite well by this stage I guess you can't be too surprised by how crazy she made the date :P DRACO IS COOL SIAN. DON'T DENY IT.

I'm so glad that you liked the transport bit because if this story is set in London, the tube has got to feature in it at least once as it's so iconic and a massive part of the city it would feel quite strange without it being there. They were quite sneaky there, I have to give you that!

Yup, George's party tend to be on the dramatic side of things most of the time as he's just so crazy like that. All hail Angelina though because I don't even want to imagine what it would be like without her stepping in.

Yes, he is quite cute I have to give him that but I shan't say too much on the subject. He isn't awful though, he is quite lovely still but yeah I shall remain quite as that is for the best.

Aw, I'm so glad that their friendship comes off strong to you as it's such a hard thing to replicate it means a lot to me that you can see it here. I should say don't get too excited about Jemima and Charlie yet... Oh no, Percy and Audrey are 5eva and nothing could ever break them apart, except maybe Oliver but don't worry too much yet.

Yes, the feels, way too many feels! I think Percy does have a fair point as he experienced so many horrible things in the war whereas Audrey didn't really and while that was great it does mean she does lack a certain level of depth about it.

Shout, shout, shout, as I will shout with you and at Oliver too!

Thanks for another amazing review!

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>