Reading Reviews for The Art of Small Talk
  
61 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LightLeviosa5443 Quidditch Confrotations

25th March 2014:
Kiana this is so lovely!! I love this chapter!!!

I really liked how you started it with Audrey telling her friends, and then how she turned it from a story about her to getting Jemima to help her set up Draco with someone. Are you going to set him up with Astoria? Or is he already with her? Because you mentioned a Greengrass, I saw that!

I thought the way that the match went was so cute. I really loved the way that you had Audrey talking to Penelope, and then recovering from that with George and Angelina. BUILDING FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS I SEE WHAT YOU'RE DOING THERE!

OMG. That Olivrey kiss (audriver?) was so cute. I'm assuming the flash of white is the newspaper cameras. I mean, as much as I love some Oliver action, I'm totes anxious for Percy to step onto the scene as another romantic option.

Okay, onto the next chapter. Wee!!!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Sarah!! Sorry for taking ages, graphics and school have sucked up a thing called time and they've only just returned it :P

Haha, you are very good at predicting things which may happen and in this case I can give a little away which is Jemima may be friends with Astoria and there may be a little match making later on :P

I KNOW I COULDN'T HELP BUT BE SNEAKY BECAUSE FORESHADOWING AND STUFF. Haha, poor Audrey she's so innocent thinking she'll never marry percy :P I'm thinking more Olivrey as it flows better, but I'm glad you liked it. There will be moar Percy, don't worry :p

Thanks for such an amazing review, and sorry for taking ages to respond to it!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #27, by MissesWeasley123 Papa-Paparazzi

18th March 2014:
LOLOL.
"Is the world ending?"

I die dude. :P

Great chapter! I'm struggling because my mind says, "short review please Nadia" but I can't do that :(

ANYWAYS LOVED THE ENDING!

Okay sorry short review but wow you're good at writing lol Kiana. So good tbh. Your characters are so fabulous and unique and hilarious haha.

SO UPDATE SOON LOVELY ♥

Author's Response: Hehe, the world is ending because Benedict doesn't know of my existence :P Lol, I love short reviews (this is said in whispers not to hurt long reviewers) because they require less concentration for both people :P


Thank you for such a fab review and I'm so glad you like it because it means so much to me! I will update soonish!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #28, by LightLeviosa5443 An Interlude of Fame

14th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the BvB review battle!

Kiannna!!! Stop writing such lovely stories!! I love this story, I'm mad at myself for not keeping up with it, but I'm not too far behind, so. :)

Um, I love the voice you've given Audrey. She's so funny, and her thoughts are so real, and honest and just kind of blunt. I think it's fantastic. She's so fantastic. I literally love her. She's ridiculous, and hilarious, and ugh. Just perfect. Like the lol's and the way you didn't put I's in certain spots. It just all worked so well.

I really really loved the scene with Percy, because I was all THE PERCY AND AUDREY BEGINS. I SEE IT. And then she thought it, and I kind of squee'd. I love Oliver, but obviously he's going to marry me, so he can't focus on Audrey. Kidding, kind of. Though, since Percy warned her against him not I'm kind of worried that he's really a big meanie. (Wow, it's hard leaving reviews in 12+, I should work on that).

I really just love Audrey. She's so so so genuine. I think it's adorable the way that she panicked she did something with Oliver, the way she relishes in the attention she got, and how she has no idea how to talk to Harry and Ginny. I mean, I would probably break down in tears because that would kind of be a culture shock. But that's mean, obviously Audrey has a little more self control. I also love how she's kind-hearted enough to want to help Draco, and back him up. And the moment when she told her dad not to talk about her mom broke my heart.

You're just a really lovely writer.

Cute CI, btw, what font is that? Sorry, I can't help myself.

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Ah, I've taken an age to reply to this please accept my apologies I am so sorry!

I'm so glad that you like, haha, yeah she's kind of mad like that so I'm sort of channelling my weird side here and it's somewhat acceptable as it's fiction :P

I know, they're so cute and yay for squeeing I think I did this throughout. Haha, well we may have to fight over Oliver so I'll leave it to we'll see for now because you never know. I know about the 12+ issue, I generally say 15+ word here and leave it to the person' imagination on what it could be.

I guess the fact she went to the school with them and knows George helps a lot but I was so tempted to go for rolling on the floor crying with shock but I was worried people would think that was a little extreme :P Yay for Draco, I'm glad you liked that as he should appear a lot more now!

I think it's admiration pains, I'm not entirely sure though! Thanks for an amazing review, Sarah and sorry for this late response!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #29, by Valency Introductory Measures

14th March 2014:
Great story so far! Keep writing! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I have five more chapters up, so it should be ok :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by LilyLou Quidditch Confrotations

7th March 2014:
Hi here for our review swap!

Oh goshhh I can't imagine why I haven't gotten to this yet! It's one of my favorites but I didn't get to it. Oh well, I'm here now!

Great, once again, all around. Your characterization is marvelous, as well as your word choice, plot, and how you managed to incorporate, like, all of your characters in this one! You added on to each part of her life in this chapter, rather than focusing on one part, and I loved that!

George and staying neutral :'D I loved that, because it was so true that Ginny would throw a fit, and Oliver wouldn't be too pleased either! That was a great humorous add-on.

OH MY GOSH HE KISSED HER AND OH MY GOSH DID SHE FAINT?! No she didn't. I don't believe it. It was a camera! Wow that actually sounds like a convincing back up.. Yeah those are my two guesses. Are they right?;D

Lovely chapter!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle!

Haha, don't worry, I have a habit of doing that as updates can just slip past so easily! (Also, thank you for the SOTM nom, it made me smile so much :D). I'm so glad that you liked the characterisation because I've never had such a large cast before but it's surprisingly fun to see how I can make sure they all make somewhat regular appearances.

Haha, yeah, I thought it would be fun to throw in some Weasley family drama because who doesn't love that? Haha, the next chapter is now up so you can find out what the bright white light is, but yay for them kissing!

Thanks for such a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #31, by Pixileanin An Interlude of Fame

4th February 2014:
So, um, you asked for thoughts. I have those occasionally, and just your luck, I wish to share them with you. Right now.

Ahem.

"...because hanging out with a corpse wouldn't be that much fun..."

Only a Potioneer (and perhaps a medical examiner) would have lines as great as this one. Tell me, what were you eating when you did NaNo? Because I want some of that. Seriously. Audrey is perpetually high on funny lines. She is positively delightful!

Merlin's saggy pants, indeed! If he still wants to see her for lunch, then whatever it was couldn't have been that bad. Good for her. Er... I think. I don't know. Let's see if she survives work and then re-evaluate.

And she wants to save Draco. Who doesn't think he's worth saving. Who's practically given up on having a life and is resigned to failure. This could be an adventure.

So, I find it interesting that Audrey's all about rubbing shoulders with her friends in high places, but now that she's ACTUALLY rubbing shoulders with people in high places, she doesn't know how to deal. Frankly, I wouldn't be able to deal with it either. I love it when she realizes the connection between Ginny and Percy, and the fact that she's even still thinking about Percy when she's at lunch with Oliver... well, there's that.

Audrey's conversation with her dad was interesting. He brought up Percy again, not that it wouldn't come up, I mean, it's in the paper and all, so even though Audrey is doing a fine job of forgetting about it, no one else is. Which is kind of funny. And poor Percy has to show up with his irritatingly clean shoes (yes, I got a big kick out of his shoes!) and tell her to be careful about Oliver.

And she's still thinking about Percy. Oh dear!

Another entertaining chapter!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Pix, and sorry my thoughts on this review took a while to appear!

Haha, I know that's why it's rather fun to explore the scientific field of things because their darkish humour just makes writing them all the more fun. I don't really know what went on in NaNo, I don't think I really want to either because I just think of me going on sleep deprived writing sprees which isn't so good!

Hahah, waiting and seeing was probably the best approach!

Yes, I had to include a save Draco thing because I've always felt so sorry for him throughout the series I needed one person to just believe in him and possibly carry him through life rather than flounder around and do nothing.

Hahaha, I think it's because she's known Verity and Jemima since her Hogwarts days she almost doesn't realise that they're in high places so they're just normal people too. Yeah, Percy does have a habit of cropping up in every place she seems to go to, I almost wish I did more of her life before meeting him to see if he appeared there or not.

Yup, your definitely right about Audrey trying to forget but everyone else just getting in the way and refusing to let that happen. I know, I'm starting to feel rather sorry for Percy because all he's trying to do is be nice and then that happens.

Thanks for such a great review, Pix, it's always interesting to read your thoughts!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #32, by Pixileanin An Exit with Oliver

4th February 2014:
I love the little asides you are throwing in about Verity and her Chinese antics. Though I must say, after meeting Granny Lucy, I'm more than a little afraid of Verity's mother. And poor Draco hasn't learned a decent potion from all his years with Snape? Who's been cooking up his potions at Hogwarts, I wonder? Hmm...

The way you describe everyone doing their potions as Audrey walks down the hall was great. Of course it's exciting work! Explosions! Singed eyebrows! Who wouldn't want a field where you can come home smelling like something disgustingly different every night? Haha!

Oh, and the head turning with this James fellow, well, isn't that interesting? I suppose that Audrey hasn't completely sworn off the dating game. James Pewter! Excellent name!

"I smirk at him (Draco does it a lot, it's rubbing off on me)." Another brilliantly placed line! Audrey seems to allow a lot of things to rub off on her. She's just absorbing her environment. They way she carries on about her friends and their glamorous jobs, you'd think she wasn't content with her Potioneer job. Or maybe she's just in that "grass is greener" phase, where everyone else's positions look better than hers. Don't worry, Audrey, you're a great Potioneer. You know, she reminds me a bit of that girl in that movie... which one is it?? Ahh, I can't remember. Maybe by next review it will come to me.

Ah, and Audrey begins the countdown of getting ready. I mentioned it in the last chapter, I think, but I really enjoy this about her. There's something persnickety and orderly about it, and it reminds me of Percy a bit. I can see how you've crafted her to get on with him, as soon as he loses his big head, that is. Which is a long time coming, I assume, because he's stubborn, I suppose...

I think I've been to those kinds of parties, the kind where people come for the free stuff and all. :) It's not 'really' stealing, haha! But I understand where Audrey is coming from. You feel kind of bad for taking stuff, and you don't want everyone else to know how much you took, just it case it makes you look like you came only for the stuff, which you did... fun scene!

There he goes again, completely blowing her off like she's nothing. I hate it, until Oliver starts talking. Yes, keep talking, Oliver. You're turning this around quite nicely.

OK, I remember now. That girl, Bridget Jones. That's who she reminds me of. :)

Still having fun with your story!

Author's Response: Hi Pix, it's great to see you back again :D

Haha, I'm glad that you're interested in Verity as writing all the eccentricities in her life is so much fun! Yes, I think Draco probably learnt a bit from Snape in the first few years but after that he just got bogged down by everything and forgot to pay attention...

I know, it's making me wish that I had an aptitude for science because being able to work in such an exciting place as that would be so much fun and there would never be a boring moment around!

Hehe, yeah, I called him James and then remembered the other two James so why not put a spin on the surname and just roll with it?

I'm really glad that you picked up on that aspect of Audrey's character because I think you're the only person to have done so so far but that's why I love writing her because she just seems to notice everything. I think with Audrey she always secretly suffers with putting herself down without quite realising it so it's shown through that.

Haha, that section was a little too fun to write because the structure was just so different it was almost liberating to mix it up a little. Yes, it does take a while but one thing should be noted that with Audrey's stubbornness that may get in the way as well.

I know what you mean, I had to go to this conference thing for school and lots of the chocolates had disappeared by the end of it it! I'm glad you enjoyed the party scene even if Percy annoyed you, he does have a habit of doing that again and again! Haha, Oliver will certainly feature a lot more so don't worry about it!

Yes, Bridget Jones did act as inspiration for Audrey so that's probably why you can see the links ;)

Thanks for such a fabulous review, Pix, it really made my day!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #33, by Pixileanin The Morning After the Night Before

3rd February 2014:
You know what happens when you write a great first chapter? People come back for more.

Hi.

Poor Audrey. She's had a horrible wake up, and then an equally, if not more horrific run in with Penelope. Obviously, this woman thinks she still has dibs on Percy. Interesting... I can't wait to see what Percy says about that, if anything. The sad thing is, the way you showed him last chapter, who is mental enough to want dibs on Percy?? Clearly, I have more to read.

I love how Audrey is constantly worried over what Granny Lucy is going to say to her when she's faced with bad things. Haha! And her points and counting them are also rather endearing. You've given her quite a large personality. It's so fun to read about Audrey and what she's thinking.

The girls gossiping was another fun section to read. You gave us a ton of information about their relationships with each other, and the way they carry on their personal lives too in a relatively small space, and in a very entertaining fashion.

Granny Lucy is quite a character, indeed. She's just as large as your other characters, and she definitely surprised me. I thought she was going to give Audrey tons of "different" problems about the picture in the paper, but she went round the other way. I loved your description of her, with her green eye shadow and red lipstick. Rather overdramatic, which is where I assume Audrey gets a lot of her perspective from.

Everything reads real smoothly so far. I'm not coming up against any bumps in your narrative, and your prose is VERY entertaining. Have I said how entertaining I am finding this story? I think I mentioned it once or twice. :)

The whole heart swelling thing was really funny. Audrey is an inspiration! hehehe!

Author's Response: Hey Pix, thanks for coming back again it means so much to me!

Yes, Penelope will continue to be like that unfortunately, but then writing evil people is so much fun, more so than nice people at times so I can't complain :P Percy and Penelope have a LOT of history which will be explored a lot more in future chapters as it does relate to a lot of things.

I'm glad that you liked it because the older generation isn't really involved all that much in stories but writing them here was a lot of fun because they do need to be integrated a lot more!

I'm glad that you liked that as I've been working at how to include information in a fun way rather than a word bomb like I used to do, so that really means a lot to me given what you've seen of my writing *shivers at memories*!

Haha, she is indeed and large is probably a good way to describe her! I think Audrey just doesn't want to let her Granny Lucy down as she's done so much for her so it's more self-imposed fears rather than anything else, yes the make-up is certainly garish!

Gah, Pix that just means so much because like I've said before, you knew my writing at the beginning and really did help me reach this stage so thank you for that and the wonderful compliments in this review, it means so much to me!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #34, by Pixileanin Introductory Measures

3rd February 2014:
Hello! You have obviously been busy, so I popped over to see what's up.

First off, I love that Audrey can't remember the intern's name, and she frets over it. And then it's him!! That made me laugh so much! Someone who was so notorious in that "other world" is so unknown to her. Brilliant!

Your Audrey is really likeable here. She's witty and unsure of herself, and best of all, she "er"s like a pro! I also like this Verity person, from what I've seen of her. She's so colorful, and just as long as she doesn't curse my family back generations, I think I will continue to like her. And she's setting up Audrey! Perfect!

Drunk George was funny too, when he opened the door. I loved this:

"Circulating, running around in circles..."

I really like the first impression of Percy, now that you ask. He's just the right amount of suffering and insanely nose-in-the-air that I like to remember him by. And I really loved Audrey's come-back. She doesn't pull punches, that one.

You have some fantastically fascinating characters in this story of yours. The first chapter was a breeze to read, so entertaining and full of color. (I think I said that before, but it's true. So colorful. Like a rainbow of happy/not-so-happy personalities that have come together to clash and create problems for each other.) That's how great stories start, I think.

Such a fun opening!

Pix

Author's Response: Pix! Thanks so much for all of these reviews, they were such a wonderful surprise and meant so much to me :D

Haha, Audrey isn't always up to date on current events so it's almost natural she forgets Death Eaters names :P

I'm so glad that you liked Audrey and Verity, I always dread creating OCs (even if Audrey isn't really one) as there's so much fear of them becoming Mary-Sues, so hearing this was fantastic! It's probably a good idea to continue liking Verity just to prevent it from happening as you never know with her!

Haha, drunk George was surprisingly fun to write because I always imagined he would be rather different.

I'm glad you liked Percy because while I wanted him to be as he was in the books, I didn't want him to be the stereotypical boring person either. Though I guess Audrey is certainly a match for him...

I'm so glad that you liked the opening as we both know how much pressure and angst they can cause writers with all the anticipation they carry. Ooh, I love the rainbow analogy and I think it might be my favourite comment of the story so far!

Thanks for such a fantastic review, Pix, I hope to get to the other reviews asap too!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #35, by MissesWeasley123 Quidditch Confrotations

2nd February 2014:
Heeeyyy.

So, wow. yep, favouriting, favouriting now. I loved this so much.

I only just realized this was in present tense! LOL. That i so hard to write, but I like reading it. It keeps me up to chase and it's like living it but not really.

I have many bad words to use as adjectives for Penelope because she should go die in a whole. And is it just be or is Draco still a hottie? Yes yes he is. I think him and Audrey should get together yes yes yes.

Jemima and Verity are hilarious :P They are those classic friends not friends but y'know, you can't not live without them. Bestest had me cracking! You truly are going all out on this.

I swear, there better be zero angst in this!!!

And look, I am all caught up! Yeah!

AND JESUS THE ENDING, THE ENDING WHOA WHUT HOW WHOAA. So cute. Oliver is such a show off, but it's pretty hlarious and aw, I just squeed at that perfection of an ending, because you have to admit that guy who plays Oliver in the movies is also a hottie, like probs the biggest hottie out of all the guys yes.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hi.

Thank you, I love you, but awks as I can't favourite a person...

Hahaha, I always do that with the present. I've gotten into a habit of only writing it and now I can't write anything else, so it's like past for me now :P

I agree. She's just so ew, I mean how can your hair still be intact when outside? Hahaha, I can safely say he and Audrey aren't getting together!

I'm so glad you liked them, they're totes fun to right and totes not like my friends or anything...

Erm, yeah, about that there may just be smidgen though a very small barely noticeable amount.

YAY!

Bahaha, yeah, it was all a bit of a rush but a lot more fun to write! I'm so glad you thought Oliver was a hottie because he will feature a lot more, and yes Sean Biggerstaff was a hottie :wub: (I know it doesn't work here but it fits so well!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #36, by MissesWeasley123 An Interlude of Fame

1st February 2014:
OMG KIANA. I AM SO TIRED AND DON'T WANT TO USE CAPS BUT HOLY MOLY, THIS CHAPTER WAS THE BEST CHAPTER YET AND YES YES IT WAS AND ♥ ♥ ♥

The things I liked, ahem:
1. The use of "Lol." - genius. I am dying please help me, this story is hilarious.
2. That CI is yummy.
3. Audrey's reaction to Oliver Wood and his hotness in bed. YES YES YES. I DO approve!!!
4. Draco on his time of the month
5. Draco secretly a woman
6. Basically Draco in general.
7.Her dad, lol.
8. Pretty Percy.
9. And Audrey who is lololol.
10. PARENTHESIS FO DA WIN.

Now, to expand on these things.

I sometimes can't understand what it is I am reading! Is it comedy, is it romance -- but then it dawns onto me.. IT IS FLUFF!! NO. BUT THEN IT'S MAGNIFICENT SO YEAH. You are no longer a poop. In fact, c'est terrific ma cherie!

And your graphics are getting so good dude!

OMG, OMG. The beginning was the best, honestly. Her panic attack lol. You should make her swear more tbh, it's so funny when she does it.

Draco oh my god. Can I just quote that whole scene back to you so you realize how much of a genius you truly are bro?

Even if he does have these odd spouts of moodiness (current theory is that he's secretly a woman and on his ... (trying to keep it 12+ of course) but that. *bows down* hilarious. The image is amazing.

I love how she barely interacts with Percy, but when they meet, all hell breaks loose and it's the funniest thing ever! Percy is SO secretly in love with her! Gah, this is perfect.

Great work!

Author's Response: WAH, BREAK THROUGH THAT TIREDNESS. CAPS WILL POWER YOU ON.

1. er, yeah, I lol a lot
2. thank you!
3. I approve too ;)
4. hehe, he really is!
5. I agree, there's a picture of his girl version on tumblr
6. draco :')
7. dads are cool
8. personification!
9. I know and a bit crazy
10. yayayyaya

I don't know what I was writing, so I'll just blame nano because yeah it kinda makes your head all screwed up and not really aware of things.

Wah, thank you!

I will, it's just I don't want to go overboard and the staffers be lyk too much swearing even gangstas don't do it that much.

Bahaha, you can quote it back but I'm not sure about the genius thing, more sleep deprived during nano :P

I know, I can't wait for them to be together *squeals to self* ah all things like this are so exciting.

Thank you for such a great review, Nadia!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #37, by SilentConfession Introductory Measures

21st January 2014:
Hey!

I'm here for our review exchange! I hope I can get to the other chapters as well!

First, I like the introduction to the story, specifically the characters. I really like how I feel like Audrey is being shown. Her characteristics come off quite clearly in the beginning where we see her a little flustered, a bit kooky, but not massively over the top. I like how she seems natural. I liked her immediately. Also, it's lovely not reading a block of description of said characters. It's so much more vibrant to read how you've done it. I also like that you're exploring Draco as well. I'm really interested to see where that goes and how you tackle him. He's such a fascinating character. One I don't particularly like as a person, but i'm excited to see how he turns out here.

I like Percy. He is still Percy and that's so awesome because i've read so many where he seems to be a changed man and it doesn't make sense to me. He may have realized that family is important and standing up for a side in the war is important as well. That doesn't mean he isn't going to be still strict with rules and still a bit pretentious. It'll be interesting to see the two of them work together in some way as they do seem a bit different, but I think they could balance each other out well. The way you incorporate a bit of backstory and history to this story was also fabulous. It makes this story seem so much more canon as we are reminded that he dated Penelope. We also know who Penelope was to these girls. It gives an extra dynamic that i'm sure will be interesting later on in the story.

On that note, I think it's great that even though this is a romancey story, you've let us know that Audrey's work is important to her and we get to understand Audrey a little more before her love interest comes in. It lets me get more invested in who she is as person.

This is a really nice start to a story. The writing and flow is really easy to follow. It makes reading it loads easier and I can get a nice visual of everything that is going on in the story without having much pull me out of the story! Really lovely job!

Author's Response: Hey Zayne! I hope I can get more chapters done for you too, it's just a question of time!

I'm so glad that you liked Audrey because this is the first time in ages I've ever had to create a whole personality for someone so it did faze me a little because the dangers of Mary-Sue are known a little too well :P Haha, vibrant is probably a nicer term to describe the craziness in this story but it's great that you liked. Draco is an odd one for me, so I know what you mean about him, at times I think he's fascinating then at other times he just irritates me so exploring him here seemed like fun.

Haha, I know what you mean! He will obviously change towards the end, but he does have a lot of familiar characteristics that we saw in the books. I'm glad that you thought there was room for some change though because I didn't want him to come across as a complete sticker to the rules. :P Haha, yes, that was my idea for when I created Audrey because I thought that given how he went through so much during the war it would almost make sense for him to find the reverse of himself. Yes, those girls like Penelope are often known a little too well for my liking :P It's safe to say, writing those sorts of girls is a lot nicer than talking to them in real life.

I'm glad that you liked that as there are several different dynamics introduced to the story later on especially so when it comes to Draco and her family. Thanks for such a great review and I'm so glad that you're already feeling something for the story as it means so much to me to hear that!

Thanks again for such a fab review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #38, by LilyLou An Interlude of Fame

17th January 2014:
Another brilliant chapter! I'm in love with this story! I can't wait to read more. Update soon, please! Oliver is interesting. Audrey is hilarious. I love her character! And oh my gosh, I wonder what Percy is going on about 'Oliver isn't what he seems' he's not cheating is he? OH I HOPE NOT!!!

Can't wait for chapter five!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi Janelle!

Aw, thank you so much, that means so much to me! I'm trying to update every two weeks or so it's just school sometimes likes to get in the way :( Hahaha, I hope not too but we'll just have to wait and see!

Thank you for all of this fantastic comments, it means so much to me that you like the story so much! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #39, by Infinityx An Exit with Oliver

17th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the BvB review battle.

I'm so glad I got back to reading this story. The amount of humor throughout just kept me laughing the entire time! :D

I LOVE your Granny Lucy references, and I love how Audrey brings them up at such perfect moments. The part where you brought in Verity's cat was so unexpected and random, but it was so fitting with Audrey's life! She's such a jolly character and it's hard to imagine her with Percy. I'm really curious about how they'll get together now.

Wow. You've managed to bring a reference to Draco in this chapter even though he's not necessary to the plot in it. It's wonderful that his sexy smirk is rubbing off on her. More Draco in the coming chapters I hope!

Um..I found a small typo as I was reading this but I forgot exactly where it was and I couldn't find it when I read it again. Oh well! It's nothing major anyway!

Yes! Audrey and Oliver! Oliver seems great. Why does she have to end up with stuck-up Percy? HOW could she end up with stuck-up Percy when there's Oliver around? And the curiosity builds up.

Jemima is a very interesting character. I'm not completely sure what to make of her. She seems very influential and outgoing, flirty as well. I hope there's more interaction between her and Audrey as the story progresses. But it's so weird that she's trying to set Audrey up with Percy! It couldn't have missed her attention that he's incredibly boring.

Once again, I love how you've used parentheses at certain places. It definitely adds to the feel of the chapter and the humor is so astounding. You've got some real talent there. :)

Another wonderful chapter! I'll definitely keep reading.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so glad that you came back too because this review just made me squee so much and really made my day :D

Haha, I couldn't resist throwing them because Granny Lucy is quite a character and if Audrey goes on to name a daughter after her I imagined that she would have been quite a big part of her life. I'm glad that I've got your curiosity peeked because all I can say is that perhaps Percy isn't as boring as he seems to be :P

Yay for Draco! I love slipping in references about him, and he's been a very fun addition to this plot. He will have a bigger part later on so don't worry too much about it!

Ooh, thanks for saying! I'll read through and try and find it :D

Bahaha, I loved throwing in Oliver because it just seems to confuse the hell out of people because who would date Percy when there's Oliver lurking around, so just watch and wait!

I know what you mean, but I think a key part of Jemima's character it that a lot of the time she's just the influential party goer but Audrey realises later on it might just be part of an act so you get to see more of the real Jemima later on which should be good! Hmm, again, just watch and wait with Percy is all I can see ;)

*squees and squees due to your lovely comments* aw, all of that means so much to me and just made me insanely happy! Thank you so much for this amazing review, it was really great :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #40, by LightLeviosa5443 An Exit with Oliver

13th January 2014:
Review Swap!

I'm so happy you updated, I love this story! Can I just say this is the only Audrey story I've ever read? I've never found another one. But you've kind of made me fall in love with Audrey.

I love love loved when she got to her place and laid down on the couch which lead to removing cat hair. And her reasoning that her Robes would disguise cat hair was hilarious, too. I enjoyed Percy's little scene there at the party, is he jealous? Does he have a little crush on Audrey? Audrey certainly has a little crush on Oliver.

I can't wait to see what you do with the next chapter and how you get the Percy/Audrey aspect to start coming into play. I'm sure it'll be interesting and hilarious and just perfect!

I loved this chapter!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah!

I'm so glad that you love this story as it means so much to me as this is possibly my favourite one I've written! I haven't read or written anything about Audrey other than this, so it's a first for both of us but I'm so glad you liked her :P

Yes, the cat influences probably come from me and my obsession with them so expect a lot more of them to come. Hmm, I can't say anything about Percy but you aren't wrong about Audrey. I mean who wouldn't as he's a famous Quidditch star? :P

Ooh as for Percy/Audrey you'll have to watch and wait, but I'm so glad that you like it, even though I've already said it, it means so much to me! Thanks for such a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by Courtney Dark The Morning After the Night Before

12th January 2014:
Hello again!

I am still really enjoying this story! I am really loving Audrey's character. You've portrayed her so differently to all the other Audrey stories I've read. As a young adult she seems to be posh and/or uptight, and as an adult she is always really, really annoying. But your Audrey is so funny but seems so real at the same time! It's awesome.

Yay, we got to see Penelope in this chapter! As I (think) I said in my last review, I was hoping we would. And she is certainly a...nasty character. I wonder if she'll pop up more and cause problems for Audrey.

I enjoyed the conversation between Audrey and her friends. It felt very realistic, not to mention that article...oh dear, Audrey! I am now looking forward to her next encounter with Percy.

Oh my god, Granny Lucy is awesome! The most original character I have read for ages - I already love her. The bit where she mentioned Audrey's mother interested me, too, because we definitely got to see a bit of Audrey with her protective wall down. Does she want to know her mother? Will this play into the rest of the plot? I guess I'll have to wait to find out!

Woo, more Draco! He seems so different to the arrogant Slytherin/bully/Death Eater we knew, which makes me wonder why he has changed so much. Yes, because of the war, but I still reckon there must be something else!

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hey Courtney!

I'm so glad that you are it means a lot to me :D I just wanted her to be fun and the opposite of Percy really sense her madness which was so much fun to do, because I think someone deserves to cut poor old Audrey some slack :P

I think you did, and she certainly is who Audrey usually appears to be so reversing it was a lot of fun :P I'm glad that you found her natural and Audrey and her friends too because they were so much fun to write!

Bahaha I think I just picked the craziest traits both of my grandma possess and then piled it into Granny Lucy and bam she appeared, so that might be why you've seen nothing like her before. I can say that it definitely does play into the plot and Draco influences her a lot, but no more as it would give it away :P

Definitely because of the war then I think the whole no longer being able to be the whole arrogant Slytherin/bully/Death Eater has helped him with that and made him into a more thoughtful person.

Thanks for such an awesome review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by Courtney Dark Introductory Measures

8th January 2014:
Hey there!

So I randomly found this story and it looked cool, so I decided to give it a chance. And cool it was! I really enjoyed the first chapter, and I will definitely be back for more!

I love the way you introduced Audrey's character without info dumping all at once. We already know a lot about her - her age, her appearance, her job, some of her relationships and a bit of her backstory, and yet I still don't feel like you've just told me all this information and now my head is about to explode, if you know what I mean. I think you told us all this information at a very natural pace and I feel like I'm starting to ramble so I'm going to move on to the next paragraph.

So far, I really love Audrey's character. She looks as though she is going to very entertaining to read about. She has a great sense of humour, but is not waay larger than life, she is slightly absent minded and clearly not that observant and she is not good at small talk! I'm looking forward to seeing how her character develops.

Oooh, I love that you included Draco because I rarely read about him in settings like this. I'm eager to see how he comes into the story and if he reverts back to his 'old ways'.

I love that you made Verity Audrey's best friend! I also love her character and their relationship. And because Verity works for George, that gives Audrey a big window into their 'world' which I'm sure will make for a lot of interesting plot lines.

Haha, the conversation with Percy was great. I love the way you characterized Percy and I also love that they certainly didn't hit it off straight away. I also want to find out more about Penelope - will we ever get the chance to meet her?

Awesome first chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney!

I'm so glad that I didn't info dump, I remember the horrors of doing that when I started out writing so I've been doing anything to try and avoid it from now on because it's just so horrible and boring to read :P You weren't rambling at all, and I'm so glad that you learnt a lot about her because I was trying out a new way of doing that so I can use it again in the future hopefully!

I'm so glad that you liked Audrey as she is very dear to me and such fun to write! I'm actually sad that I finished this for NaNo because it means that I can't write her any more! I hope that you continue to like her throughout. :)

Hmm, I can't really say much about Draco without giving away spoilers but all I can say is that he is a very key character throughout!

Yes, Verity was that old shop assistant briefly seen in the Half Blood Prince so I thought it would be fun to bring her back but with a much more senior role this time round! I'm so glad that you liked her though.

Bahaha, yes they certainly did not hit off straight away! As for Penelope, if you check out the next chapter she should crop up in there!

Thanks for such an awesome review, it really made me smile! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #43, by LilyLou An Exit with Oliver

7th January 2014:
Hello, hello! Here for our review swap!

Another great chapter! I am in love with this story. It's so funny and it keeps you interested. Everything has a fun and jovial note to it, even just the simple explaining on what she's doing. It's fantastic. I can't wait to see what happens with Oliver! I love Oliver. He's always been my favorite character from Hogwarts era.

Can't wait for more!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hey Janelle!

I'm so glad that you like the story because it was such fun writing the whole thing. Haha, I wanted to make everything happy and fun for a while because though I love angst, there does need to be a few more light-hearted moments. I love Oliver too, so yay for that!

Thanks for such a great review, Janelle!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #44, by KatsClarinet An Exit with Oliver

6th January 2014:
It's a good story! And I've never heard of the Potioneer job, I like it!

Author's Response: I have to admit that was my creation, but I thought that they probably did have one given all the emergency potions they would need. Thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #45, by kenpo Introductory Measures

6th January 2014:
Hey, here for the 'Claw review battle!

Audrey gives me hope for Percy. She's often portrayed as female-Percy, and then their kids are mini-Percy's... but you've changed that up and I love it! I get the feeling that she can bring some needed chaos into Percy's life, while he'll bring her a little bit farther near the surface of the Earth.

Audrey's personality seems fantastic. She's a little... odd. But in a good way. She's awkward but I can relate to that. I'd be her friend.

I'm not sure about Verity. I'll leave it at that.

Percy! Hah! Percy! He's so conceited and pompous and pretentious! I love it! And Audrey doesn't take any of his criticism, because she's just that good.

George's brief appearance made me smile. How can you not love George? He's fantastic.

I almost forgot to talk about Draco! Draco is a thing! I like to see him in fanfics that show him getting out of his comfort-zone. He's obviously trying to avoid being the same person he was, and I think he's succeeding. I love that Audrey couldn't remember his name. He's so used to being Wizarding Royaly, and now he's an intern. I think it'll be good for good ol' Draco.

I'm gonna talk about Audrey some more.
I love how you portrayed her thought process. The swearing was perfect. Not too "oh, yeah, I'm swearing", but it just gave us a really good feel of what her character is like.

And she's a nerd, and she has a periodic table, and that makes me happy. The periodic table is one of my best friends.

Okay. I'm done. I don't think I actually said anything useful, but hopefully you're fine with that.

This was a really fun first chapter. I'll be reading more:)

Author's Response: Hey Kenpo!

Haha, I know what you mean about her being a Percy twin, but I think after the war, he would have wanted to find someone else and help him re-evaluate his life, and that person would be someone different to him hence Audrey being born :P

I know what you mean about Audrey being awkward, but then Percy was always perfect, so it was fun making her like that. Hahah, Verity is probably left alone.

I'm so glad that you liked Percy, he will obviously become a lot nicer but hearing your comments about him so far are making me laugh :P Yay for George too, I love him as he never seems to be anything and poor him.

I'm glad that you liked the new Draco, because being forced to deal with people who don't care about 'Malfoy' and that he's only just an intern must be a bit of a downer for him but it made me laugh a lot :P

Phew, the swearing was fine. I don't tend to swear too much in fan fiction, but with her it just seemed to be as if she needed to have that side to her.

Back in my chemistry days I loved it too, so I couldn't help but include it here! Don't worry about it not being a useful review, it was a fantastic one and I really do hope you continue reading!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #46, by celadon Introductory Measures

4th January 2014:
Team Bronze!

Aw, I can tell that this is going to be a lively, entertaining plot already! I love Audrey, with her foot in her mouth moments and standing up to Percy when he makes some foot in the mouth moments. While she comes across as ordinary, she has a certain security about herself which is very hard to find today. She's totally comfortable being Audrey.

Percy hasn't changed one bit. I've gotten quite annoyed with stories that completely revamp him into this chilled out person, practically eliminating any form of his past self. This makes him seem more realistic. I think, however, that he isn't as pompous as he is awkward around people. He isn't intentionally trying to show off, he's just unsure of how to strike up conversation. It makes him very much like Darcy from Pride and Prejudice, I think.

It's also nice to see George coping after Fred's death. Angelina and Verity all seem like cool character that I cannot wait to see more of. Draco, poor soul, seems to be so pitiful and meek at this point that I can't help feeling sorry for. Great chapter! I'm going to read more!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad that you're already excited about this as it means so much to me. Audrey certainly does have several foot in mouth moments but that's almost what makes her wonderful. I'm glad that you picked up on her being comfortable about herself because I really wanted to show that side to her because I've never really seen it in a story before so it was fun writing it here!

Haha, I know what you mean, but I think Audrey will make him a little more chilled out. I think hanging out with her will mean that being all tense and angry is impossible. I didn't mean to make the link between him and Darcy so obvious but admittedly that was my inspiration for him.

I'm so glad that you liked all the other characters because they all are very dear to me now! Thank you for such an amazing review, and I would love to know what you thought of the rest!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #47, by greenbirds An Exit with Oliver

3rd January 2014:
Oh my God wow, this is kind of like Bridget Jones! Audrey is starting to mirror her internal dialogue more and more - or maybe I'm just noticing it now - and then Percy Weasley is the perfect Mark Darcy! Of course I should be comparing it to Pride and Prejudice, which I did enjoy studying at school, but Keira Knightley just doesn't do it for me like Renee Zellweger does. So is Oliver, Daniel then? Or whats-his-face from the Austen novel? I sound disgustingly stupid right now, sorry, I'm just a big Bridget Jones enthusiast.
I'm super excited for Oliver and Audrey's date. Wait, is Oliver Daniel, or is James? Or is James gay? Or have I totally got the wrong end of the stick, I wouldn't be surprised, I might have this all totally wrong. Whatever the case is, I'm sure I'll love the outcome anyhow. Well, I already know the outcome, but nevertheless.
Eagerly awaiting the next chapter! Bea x

Author's Response: Hey Bea, it's great to see you back :D

Hahaha, I was waiting for someone to point out that likeness because I love Bridget Jones so some elements of her characterisation and the story may appear in here ;) I just couldn't resist, because it fits this ship really well in some strange way. It's Wickham in the Austen novel, and don't worry about not knowing! I can't really say other than watch and wait!

Hmm, all I'll say is that you have some really great predictions and it will be fun to see whether they change or not. You're not on the wrong end of the stick though!

Thank you for such a brilliant review, it made me laugh :D I hope to see more of you!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #48, by LightLeviosa5443 The Morning After the Night Before

31st December 2013:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review, I'm so so so sorry that it took me so long to get back to you on this.

So I think that you did a great job with Audrey's family. You said that that was one of your areas of concern, so I just wanted to address it right off the bat and say I personally don't think that you need to worry about it.

I actually think the scene with Penelope was one of my favourites in the entire chapter. I really loved the characterization of Penelope and Audrey's sheer dislike being unhideable in a hungover state. It was very well done!

I also think that you don't have to worry about having not enough description. I think you included the perfect amount of detail and desription throughout the chapter. I personally think that any more would have made the story too much.

I think that the pace of this chapter is a perfect change from the first. It gives us more of an insight into Audrey's more personal life, and the repercussions of her actions. You did a fantastic transition from the previous chapter.

Thanks for the request, great read!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Hi LL! Don't worry about it, Christmas is always really hectic so it was no problem.

I'm glad that you thought that her family was fine, because they play a key role later on so I wanted it to be good.

Haha, Penelope's a favourite of mine too, purely because I can just make her as evil as I want her to be and not have to worry too much about it :p

I'm glad that the description was fine, because the style is a little different to what I'm used to, so trying to measure out the right amount is a little hard.

Phew, everything is fine and there's enough background information.

Thanks for such a great review, I'm glad you liked it!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #49, by MissesWeasley123 An Exit with Oliver

31st December 2013:
Kiana! I might as well say this is for the 12 Days of Reviewing, if I'm first of course haha! But anyways, what a fabulous update!

I was literally grinning in the beginning. This had me in stitches!:

"Who is it? Are they hurt? Do they need a potion? Are they dying?" -- because, lol, "Are they dying?" Audrey never seizes to amaze me. She's hilariously dramatic and such a *girl* but not really. I dunno haha.

When James' character came, I was so confused because of timelines and I'm like, James Sirius? But then this was a whole other James (unless I am mistaken, and Audrey just called him a Pewter to make Mary or whoever buzz off) and he seems really, really dreamy. Your characters are so perf ahh. Who would you cast as James, by the way?

AND OLLIE AND AUDREY AHHH!!! ♥ Oliver is so nice and Percy's such a squib. SO CUTE, SO CUTE!!

THIS, THISSS.

Cue squealing on an insane level and failing on the floor. Ok, don't cue that as it would ruin the moment but if I could run around like a mad girl I would.

JUST AHHH. And Aurdrey says, "Gah." and so do I, so we should be friends.

And ANYWAYS, BRILLIANT CHAPTER!

Author's Response: You were the first, so it was/is fine to be used for that :P

Hahaha, I'm glad you liked that because it's what my grandma's always like when I ring her and it's just calm down all I want to say is hi :P

Bahaha, yes I only realised the whole name choice until a while later and the first chapter was up and I was just like oh. Haha, the Pewter name choice was a very bad pun on Potter. I'm glad that you liked James though, for me it might be a mixture of Eddie Redmayne and Andrew Garfield.

WAHWAHWAH! I was like that writing it because it I was so jealous of her :P

Haha, I say gah all the time too, so we can all be friends :P She's just living the fangirl dream right now :P

Thank you for such a brilliant review, Nadia :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #50, by KatsClarinet The Morning After the Night Before

28th December 2013:
I love seeing new Percy and Audrey fan fiction! This is also a new story line that I'm really enjoying. Keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying it! Updates should be fairly quick as its pre-written so just watch and wait!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>