Reading Reviews for Acanthus
  
229 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlexFan Plans and Preparations

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm going to write this before I go and read Chapter 20.

I'm so proud of Scorpius for not losing hope while being in a tough situation like his. You can definitely end up feeling weak when you're tied up and there's no way out so I'm just really happy with Scorpius for keeping his head clear and trying to turn the situation around so that it can benefit him.

First time I read this chapter I was so happy to find out that my prediction about Charlotte and the gang being wizards was right and I was getting really excited to read everyone else's reaction to finding out that Rose and Lorcan can also do magic but then you ended it with Rose about to tell them and I was just like, "WHHHY!!!"

But then I found out so it was okay.

I love how no one is even surprised at Hermione's reactions anymore, Hugo isn't even insulted by the fact that she's comparing him to his sister because he knows how she is when she worries about things and he understands where she's coming from.

Anyway, I'm onto read and review Chapter 20 now!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #27, by AlexFan Wicker Lines

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Frederic Russell sounds like an absolute creep. Like I get he's the villain and everything but damn is he creepy! I also get the impression that he's one of those people that really likes to hear themselves talk because that's the only conclusion that I can come to as to why he won't shut up and just get on with being evil. You'd think every antagonist would've figured this out by now but apparently not, the more talking you do the more time you give your enemy the chance to escape.

I'll give him props for one thing though, at least when he does get down to business, he doesn't screw around or anything, he just gets right down to the torture.

I loved how Hermione was worried, it just goes to show you that no matter how badly you may get along with your family, family is family (most of the time anyway) and they'll worry about you and try to protect you. But of course Hermione isn't going to sit around and do nothing while her daughter is missing. A mother just knows when something has happened to her child. GO WITH YOUR INSTINCTS HERMIONE!

Even though Rose is stuck in 1922, at least she's still going to be able to achieve what she set out to do in the first place, she's still going to get to see Acanthus and write that article of hers (if she ever manages to make it back to the present time that is).

Onto the next chapter that I haven't reviewed!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #28, by AlexFan A Kaleidoscope

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Hola Kiana, coming back for more reviews! I can't imagine what it must've felt like to be Rose and to all of a sudden be dropped into this new place with no recollection of ever going there. If I was in her place, I would've probably lost my head for like half an hour before coming to the idea that I was supposed to get myself out of a desert. I loved your description as well because it really showed how confused Rose was feeling and how the world must've been turning around her at a time like this. She's stuck in this time period, just trying to straighten out the world around her so that it doesn't spin so much.

Next to being dropped somewhere that you don't know, imagine Charlotte and everyone else's reaction when they find Rose and Lorcan showing up in the middle of the Sahara desert with absolutely no explanation as to how they got there. But I mean, I guess when you're magical anything weird that happens doesn't really get questioned.

I can totally understand why Lorcan faded as well, he probably handled the news that he was stuck in 1922 in the best way that one can in a situation like that, by fainting. At least his mind can wrap it's head around the fact that he's stuck in the past without anymore stress being added to it.

Anyway, great chapter!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfan The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
Kiana! Congrats on 200 reviews :D I'm so happy I finally had a chance to catch up on this story.

I love how you worked out that mystery of how Scorpius was originally supposed to die, in a way that was believable. There are so many twists and turns in this story which has made it a fantastic read the whole way so far. I'm still sad that Anthony died, but hey, at least he got his revenge that he wanted, right? :P I am hoping that David survives as I think he's the only one of the original group of explorers who is still alive! Well, someone has to survive to tell the story, right? ;)

George's men are still all around though, and I am worried about what will happen to the four trying to escape Acanthus while surrounded by people who want them dead. Here's what I want to happen: Charlotte calls George's men off, on her way out of Acanthus. I mean she had to pass by them as she left, right? And I feel terrible for her despite how she kind of destroyed everything in her quest for power, so maybe this would be her way of trying to fix what she broke, so to speak. But I'm sure whatever you've written up in those last two chapters will be splendid. I can't believe there's only two more! I am so eager to find out how everything ties up though. Fantastic chapter! ♥

House Cup Review 2014

 Report Review

Review #30, by AlexFan Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Hey Kiana, guess what, 200th reivew! WOOHOO!

Okay so I had to go back and skim through this chapter to refresh my memory and now I have something to talk about. This was the chapter that basically set the story in the direction that it's gone so far.

Sandstorms don't sound like a lot of fun, especially after reading this chapter and the amount of movies that I've seen have portrayed the same thing. I think if Rose and the rest of the gang had kept going and ignored the warning then they would've been in serious danger. They could've gotten buried in the sand.

When Scorpius saw the building I just knew that something bad was going to happen. I mean, it was in the middle of the desert in the middle of nowhere, of course that wasn't going to be safe! But I mean, I guess if I was in Rose or Scorpius's situation I would've picked the suspicious house that conveniently shows up when I need it over facing a sandstorm and risking my life.

Anyway, I'm excited to read the last two chapters of the story and GO RAVENCLAW!

 Report Review

Review #31, by AlexFan The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review

Kiana, I'm returning the favour of reviewing Acanthus (and I'll be back to bombard you with even more reviews so prepare yourself) and wow, this was really action-packed. The thing that I really liked about this chapter was that it had fighting and action but it didn't drag out for an unnecessary amount of time. There was enough fighting to keep it interesting but not so much that the reader got bored halfway through the story (which I have been known to occasionally do while reading fanfiction).

I KNEW IT! The moment that Anthony suggested that he go as Scorpius, everything just fell into place for me and I realized that it wasn't really Scorpius that had died at all. I can't believe that he didn't realize it sooner though, you'd think Scorpius, smart as he was, would've figured that out by himself. I feel bad for Rose though having to witness her friend commit homicide and then suicide. At least she knows what happened instead of being left wondering for the rest of her life.

Looking forward to the last two chapters!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Veritaserum27 A Sign of Treachery

9th July 2014:
Holy Cow! This one was a doozie. I am stunned (haha - like Rose). Okay, enough with the jokes. Finally we see what Rashidi really knows about Acanthus. He knew a lot more than he let on! I'm wondering who the two were that betrayed them. I think it was David and Edmund, but I'm not sure. Maybe Hermione can brew the potion, she is really smart, but I think this one may be special enough that even she can't do it. I knew Scorpius shouldn't have taken all of them. I feel like Frederic Russell is still a threat - they should send him to the ministry so that he can't pull anything else on them... I was so glad to see that Scorpius was smart enough to investigate what he saw with David. Hmmm. Now I'm thinking that Charlotte may be in on it too - she was the one that came to "distract" the others. Maybe she stunned Rose and then ran off to make it seem like someone else did it. I have to read more - I can't wait to find out. Sorry this review is so rambling!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: But jokes are great! Also, don't be stunned as that wouldn't be too great! Yes, he did which sucks because he's been so quiet for so long. Erm, interesting theory which you will soon find out the answer too. I like the idea of Hermione making the potion but sadly it never happens and you'll just have to wait and see. Frederic Russell is a threat to them but pay close attention to all their actions and his own because it might reveal who else to trust and not trust... This review wasn't rambling at all but great, so thanks you for it :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #33, by Veritaserum27 A Guise

9th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

Ok. So some of my questions got answered with this chapter. I'm so glad that Rose and Scorpius are happy together. They totally deserve to be together after so much time apart. I knew Scorpius wouldn't tell her about him having to die. I'm not entirely convinced that is has to be him, but I don't know if they will figure that out in time. I'm starting to see the perfume connection, but I know there is still more to it. Thank goodness Ron, Hermione, Hassani and Hugo got to find Rashidi and Dalia. Hermione is so smart, I just love her. It is so sad about Rashidi, but it seems that if he is dying, then he will not be suffering anymore. Things are heating up! (see what I did there?)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yay questions were answered! I'm so glad that you like them being together as it just gave me so many feels and yes ♥ so, so, so cute and I'm going to stop here before I write an essay on why I love them! That is a very good point about it not being having to be Scorpius, you're actually the first to raise it so keep it in mind for later on! Yay for Hermione though she definitely is going to kick things into gear big time! Haha, yes I did, and thanks for another amazing review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #34, by Veritaserum27 Reunions

9th July 2014:
Ah! Ah!

Is it okay if I "Ah!" too? Scorpius did it - and he is okay. And they are together. I'm so, so excited. That kiss was entirely too sweet. Yikes. But I want to say "sheesh, Rose, it only took you one hundred years to figure it out!!" I do feel a bit bad for David, he seemed a nice bloke. I feel like there is some sort of connection between the perfume business that Rose was researching and the perfume stand in Acanthus. There must be something to that. There is no way that Rose will let Scorpius die. I just know it. She will do anything to prevent that. I'm also concerned for Ron, Hugo and Hermione. What is going on with them? I hope that Frederick doesn't harm them. I guess I'll just have to read on!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: It is as I say it far too much so I need to stop saying but you can carry on! Bahaha, you can say it and it is quite a good joke and made me laugh a little too much. Whoo for them getting back together this was my favourite chapter because of all those feelings but poor David :( You are definitely right about Rose wanting to protect Scorpius and never letting him go so just watch and wait on that front is all I'll say for now! Frederic, Frederic, Frederic, he is a tricky man but don't worry too much here I should say! Thanks for another great review, Beth!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #35, by Ravenclaw333 Plans and Preparations

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Kiana oh my God this line is incredible: ďIt was as if the room was waiting for them to decay so they could become a permanent fixture of it.Ē I have no words for how perfect this is so Iím just going to leave it here. And the line about how Scorpius didnít feel like a Ravenclaw, because all he wanted to do was give up and not solve the problem Ė oh man, I know that feeling. I know that feeling so well and Ravenclaw isnít as much a part of my identity as it is Scorpiusís Ė well, Iím assuming not. The juryís out on that one.

IíM SO WORRIED ABOUT RASHIDI

Roseís self-awareness in this chapter is fantastic. Not going to lie, I was waiting for her to stand back and go ďI done goofed guys,Ē and now it seems she has.

YOU DID THE THING AGAIN. THE THING DESCRIBING CHARACTERS THROUGH THE EYES OF ANOTHER AND I LOVE SEEING HERMIONE THROUGH HUGOíS EYES YES OKAY

HERMIONE GRANGER ON A MISSION. YES. GOOD.

Okay I need to stop throwing your own writing back at you but this line, ďPretending to be brave when it wasnít your natural inclination was a great downfall of many,Ē is just such a good one and I love it and itís perfect and contrasts Scorpius so brilliantly with Rose and Ravenclaw with Gryffindor, and I am ALL ABOUT how those two houses are natural opposites and you show that so well in that one line and Iím getting philosophical so itís time to MOVE ON

Author's Response: Hahaha, aw, I'm glad that you liked it! Yes, it's another we all need to hug Scorpius so he can feel somewhat ok again even though I'm not sure if that's possible. It must suck a lot when you reach that stage of despairing especially when lives depend on it, so poor Scorpius lets go and hug him!

YOU SHOULD BE.

Bahahaha, go Rose, she might do in a bit. :P

YAY I'M GLAD YOU LIKED IT BUT THIS IS HUGO'S ONLY CAMEO. BUT HERMIONE IS GOING TO KICK SOME BOOTY AND MAYBE SOME OF THE OTHERS MIGHT DO IT WITH HER.

Yay I'm glad you liked it because it is strange how much the house stereotypes can be applied to people later on in their lives and it still continues to haunt them. I do think Ravenclaws and Gryffindors are actual opposites too though which is why Scorose is so fab and philosophicalness is great as I study it so I welcome it with open arms!

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #36, by Veritaserum27 Bones

9th July 2014:
KIANA!

Wow! - I finally got back to this story. Whew. I remember the last name Russell, but I don't remember which one had that last name. I think it was either Edmund or George. Ok. And I noticed something else. Fred and George. I don't think you did this by accident. I think there is some sort of Weasley connection here. I'm not sure what it is, but something is going on. Now, the bit about Hashidi's mother - that is also very interesting. I am wondering if she sought Acanthus as well and died in the process. That may be why Hashidi is so bitter all the time. The bones thing was definitely weird - and the scream as well. I'm so glad Scorpius thought to take all the extra potion with him - but if Ron and Hermione catch up to them, they will have no way of going back in time... Hmmm - much to consider.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: BETH!

You have been so lovely with all these reviews, I don't know how I can ever show how much they mean to me, but really, I loved every single one of them! Ooh good job for remembering Russell, it will crop up again and it should hopefully help you piece everything together. I'm glad that you liked the bit about Hasani, as it did reveal a bit about why he is like that and you will learn more about their family later on. The bones and the scream will be explored later on, but as for the potion, hmmm is all I can say to your thoughts :P

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #37, by Ravenclaw333 To Anywhere

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, Iím so excited for more details on the 1920s crew! I love the amount of historical detail you throw into this story and how you manage to make them so real and believable and human Ė so often I see characters in historical settings who are written to be almost alien, their personalities buried or entirely dictated by their era Ė but thereís something timeless about a directionless young man wandering around abroad and jumping on expeditions in Egypt for funsies.

Also, I really like that line about Rose wondering if her Ďgoalí is Acanthus or home Ė it shows how the whole thing is taking a toll on her sense of adventure and determination, while making it clear sheís not panicking and eager to get back.

Iím honestly so curious about this whole situation and whether everything is as it seems (probably not, Iím guessing) and what the í20s Crew are keeping from them.

OH. OH ITíS MAGIC. OH THERE ARE WANDS. OH THIS IS AN EXCITING DEVELOPMENT

WAIT SCORPIUS KILLED SOMEONE? OR IS SCORPIUS GOING TO KILL SOMEONE? I GUESS THATíS LINEAR TIME THROWN WELL OUT THE WINDOW

Author's Response: Whoo hi Lisa!

Yay for more details! I'm so glad that you liked it as the 20th century is one of my favourite eras of history even if I was born in it (gah, it makes me feel so old :P) as there were so many discoveries like these in Egypt it really was a lot of fun to write because there's modernity in a way, but then something still classic about this era.

Yeah, it's around this point that Rose begins to feel more and more tied to the 1920s as well as home which is really interesting because it just shows how much you can change.

Yes they are magical which means the developments with the 1920s crew are even more interesting and fun and I hope you liked them! Ooooh, yes the revelation about Scorpius also ties in with the 1920s crew being magical so bear that in mind as it could mean something, something really big so yeah just keep thinking about that!

Thanks for another fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #38, by Ravenclaw333 Wicker Lines

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

There are SO MANY DIFFERENT GENRES AND ASPECTS TO THIS STORY IT'S A MARVEL YOU ARE MARVELLOUS

No, but really. You're intertwining two very different stories and moods in this chapter and they both fit seamlessly with the other and with the rest of the story. Scorpius's point of view is dark and frightening and suspenseful, and you still manage to include humanising details in the midst of all the action that give more insight into Scorpius's character, motivations and insecurities - it's incredibly well done.

Rose's story offers a much lighter tone by contrast (I'm a bit worried how long that will last though) and hers is the true tale of adventure - really, the way you've woven these genres together to make a multi-faceted and endlessly fascinating storyline is such a credit to you.

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you! I did try and include a bit of everything as it's more fun that way so I'm glad you liked it!

Whoo for darkness and suspense with Scorpius. I'm really glad that you liked it and exploring his psychological aspect too, as it's strange for a Malfoy to be in this position when you think about it as they're the ones usually doing the terrorising.

It will last for quite a few more chapters so don't worry I'm not that cruel! I'm really glad that you like the sense of adventure though as Rose does go off and do a lot more exploring so whoo for that :D

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #39, by Ravenclaw333 A Kaleidoscope

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

WHAT IS GOING ON IíM SO CONFUSED WHAT HAPPENED THIS STORY IS A ROLLERCOASTER AND I WAS NOT PREPARED

I DO NOT TRUST CHARLOTTE WRIGHT I DO NOT TRUST HER IN THE SLIGHTEST

Wait WHAT

WHAT IS GOING ON

I donít have this reaction to stories very often and thatís a massive credit to you, even if all Iím doing is capslock shouting about how confused I am and getting things WRONG at every turn but I suppose this is the most realistic way of portraying my reactions to this story I am so intrigued right now

A WWI veteran do you know what youíre doing to my inner history geek right now THIS IS SO EXCITING AND SO GREAT IíM SORRY ABOUT ALL THE CAPS

Author's Response: I AM SORRY. PLEASE DON'T BE TOO CONFUSED. BUT WHY CHARLOTTE SHE MIGHT BE YOUR POTENTIAL BFF LISA, DON'T JUDGE TOO SOON. OKAY.

Aw, thank you and the capslock is fine as it's just making me laugh a lot (in a good way!) if I'm honest, but all will make sense in the end, all of it will!

Yay for inner history geek, because geekiness is so much fun! And don't apologise about the caps, they were great as was this review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #40, by Ravenclaw333 Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

The adventure has started! I like how youíve already brought everything down to earth, with the opening and Scorpiusís observations about how the sense of adventure has worn off with the monotonous trek, and then the sandstorm and Roseís realisation that she may have brought them into far more danger than sheíd anticipated.

I love Scorpius and Lorcan. And their Clawness. And now Iím wondering if it would be possible for an innovative wizard with a thorough grounding in Muggle sciences to actually magically prevent things like sandstorms. I think I love that conversation a little too much.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD KIANA WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WHAT JUST HAPPENED OH MY GOD

Author's Response: It has!! Though it's not as exciting as they all thought but I guess that's the thing with exciting stuff as it's never as great as it turns out to be. Bahaha Clawness, I think that's my new favourite word. I did too, until it started getting too sciency and my brain couldn't handle it but I'm glad you liked it.

DUN DUN DUN. #SORRYNOTSORRY #READON #ITWILLBEOKAGAIN #MAYBE

Thanks for a fab review, Lisa :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by vanityfair The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
This was a very dramatic chapter! I don't think Scorpius is up to something good with the potion and I agree with Rose that he might be out to do something stupidly brave again. Please don't do that Scorpius as I love you as a character. I knew George would die but I didn't realise from Anthony and I liked the fact it was Anthony disguised as Scorpius so that way Scorpius can live because if he died it would be so sad. I am excited for the last two chapters now! Maia x

Author's Response: Yes it was! Erm, the potion, ernm is all I can say but if you're thinking along the same lines as Rose that's probably the best thing to do right now. Yay you figured it out as not everyone did straight away so it's great that you did! Thanks for another fab review, Maia! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by Ravenclaw333 The Tale of Acanthus

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So I have such a weakness for seeing characters through the eyes of others and I think it just gives them so much more depth and complexity and it's the best thing because I adore characterisation and so I love seeing Rose through Scorpius's eyes, it brings out these new aspects to her and I love the comments about how she's always so confident and sure of herself, and the line about how she 'charged into people's lives unexpectedly.'

So, yeah. I'm really excited about the change in perspective for this chapter - and the insights into Scorpius's character and career. Translating hieroglyphics sounds wicked awesome.

And the mythology makes an appearance! I'm so excited for this story, I really am, and the way you've already questioned the lines between history and myth is awesome and I can't wait okay this is my jam

ROSE IS SO IMPULSIVE OH MY GOD ROSE WHAT ARE YOU DOING I UNDERSTAND YOU WANT TO MAKE A NAME FOR YOURSELF BUT WOW

GRYFFINDORS AMIRITE

Dalila and her family are lovely and so well characterised and I kind of love them. And Rose is going! And she's taking Dalila! I'm so excited!

Onward!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm really glad you liked it too, as I'm a massive fan of it because then you just get a wider perspective and when writing if one character's being annoying you can always hope that the other one will be nicer so you cna switch to them :P

Yay for excitement and Scorpius, anything to do with him is pretty exciting if I am being honest :p (massive Scorpius fan sitting right here in case you didn't guess :P)

Yayyayayaya for it being your jam as it will come up again and again and again and pretty much again until you're annoyed with it.

DON'T WORRY IT'S JUST GRYFFIES BEING A BIT CRAY CRAY AS USUAL.

Yay it's turning into a group outing so whoo it should be fun! Thanks for another fab review though :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #43, by Ravenclaw333 Souks and Surprises

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm going to restrain myself from gushing about your imagery for the next eighteen chapters because that may get a bit repetitive, but you do such a fantastic job of bringing this story and its setting to life, and I couldn't let that pass without comment.

I love Rose. I love her overeagerness and the way she comes across as a bit too forward - whether that's inexperience or cultural difference or a mixture of both - and it's a really good detail to throw in. The scene with Dalila was well done, and you've captured the speech pattern of a non-native English speaker well. The contrast between Rose before and after the interview is excellent - the way a small success can change your whole outlook on where you are and what you're doing.

Scorpius is a Ravenclaw! I can't wait to meet him in this story

FEELING BAD FOR TURNING DOWN SHOPKEEPERS/PEOPLE TRYING TO SELL YOU STUFF I KNOW THAT FEELING SO WELL I AM EXACTLY LIKE ROSE

Ah yay! Scorpius! Do I detect a bit of attraction on Rose's part?

Onwards!

Author's Response: Bahaha, it's fine as it makes me smile a ton! I'm so glad that you like it though and that it gives the story setting because whoo everyone loves that!

Yay for Rose too! I'm glad you liked her forwardness, because I was sort of going for a mix there, because when I've been in Arabic countries I've always noticed westerners are a lot more forward than everyone else. I'm glad you liked the Dalila scene as it's the start of something big really.

Of course he's a Ravenclaw, all the best people are in that house so he had to be part of it too :P

I FEEL BAD FOR IT TOO. ESPECIALLY WHEN MY MUM'S LIKE ASK FOR A LOWER PRICE THEY EXPECT BUT I CAN'T AS I FEEL MEAN SO I END UP PAYING THE FULL OVERPRICED PRICE.

Ooh maybe you do ;)

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #44, by Ravenclaw333 Spectrum

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

I've been meaning to read this story for a while now - it's been on my list for ages and keeps catching my eye - ancient cities? Mythology? Rose Weasley? Yes please - and I figured itís time I sat down to R&R.

This chapter drew me in from the beginning. You have a gift for imagery, and I could picture the scene perfectly in my head - the bustle of the office, the "festival feel" and the frantic rush to get everything finished before the deadline. I loved your introduction of Rose - you've painted a very clear picture of her right from the beginning, as a serious and ambitious young woman wanting to escape her parents' shadow - and having her as less successful than her parents and Hugo as well is something I haven't seen many authors do with Rose before. And Molly a squib! I'm already fascinated by your interpretation of the Next Gen characters - and Ginny! This is beyond perfect.

I'm reviewing as I read for the first time, so I should probably cut this short and move on to the next chapter before you end up with an essay. Brilliant first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!

Haha, yes I love all sorts of things like that too, so now it's finished it's like give me more, give me more, I can't let it go now!

I'm so glad that you liked it because this was the first time I actually took care with my description and tried to make it work, so this chapter will always be very dear to my heart for that reason :P Yay for Rose! I already wrote the successful version of her where she's loved by all so I really wanted to write a different one because I figured it would be a lot more fun that way, so I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for this fab review, and I wouldn't have minded an essay at all! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #45, by Rose and Scorpius Death, the Spectre

8th July 2014:
George isn't that nice! Doesn't he realise that there are more people that have grown up like him?

Author's Response: Yes, he's horrible! I think he's just too selfish to think about others really which is what sucks so much!

 Report Review

Review #46, by ShadowRose Discoveries

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Well, this certainly was an eventful chapter. Despite all of my suspicions, they did actually find Acanthus without a hitch. And judging by Rose's reaction, it was definitely worth all the work. I'm so happy - finally something went right for them! Now let's hope it doesn't all blow up in the next few chapters, haha.

Awww, Ron and Hermione are cute together. Their bickering is great, and shows that they're still the same people they were at the end of the Deathly Hallows - I love that little detail. And, of course, their personalities are perfectly canon. Hermione's still a worrywart and Ron's around to calm her down. And Hugo... my gosh, he's such a little bugger and I love him all the more for that. " 'Also, what have I told you about my body being a contamination free zone?' he moaned. 'Working in science means that I need to be in a constant germ-free environment. While I realise this isnít always possible, I would like to refer you to the document you signed on my ninth birthday stating that contact would be limited at all times, so no hugs.' " I'm dying. I guess child genius status does come with its fair share of oddities. :P

And ok good, the spell hit the person it was supposed to. It's nice that, for a while, Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi have some relief from his creepiness. And yay! They've found (sort of) Rose and Lorcan! So at least now they know where to look for them! Of course, it's also 100 years away so that certainly complicates things, haha.

This was such an action-packed, fantastic chapter! Great job, as always!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Haha, yes, some things do have to go right in this story, and finding Acanthus was one of them here. I'm so glad that you liked it and don't worry the next few chapters are largely incident free, it's the ones after that you have to worry about ;)

Aw, thank you! I really love writing Romione as minor pairings, because while I can't ever focus on them, as background people they're so much fun to include. Bahaha, Hugo is certainly different shall we say. I just love writing child geniuses because they really are strange people when you think about it, and it means you can just write really strange things as a result.

They do have some relief and they found them (sort of...). For once, this shouldn't be too complicated for them either, and I'm not kidding, don't worry! :P

Thanks for another amazing review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #47, by ShadowRose Cartography

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So, I realized I misspelled my own name in my last review. That's awkward. :P

KIANNA how could you do this to me??? You're really testing my self control to review before going on to the next chapter here. Gah your cliffhangers will be the death of me.

Your details at the start of the chapter, particularly regarding the map and cartography, were just lovely. "The light of the candle flickered against the white canvas lining of the tent, causing spectres to dance and flicker across the screen." SUCH A PRETTY SENTENCE.

I'm starting to really, really like Charlotte - she seems like a genuinely nice person and she actually cares about Rose. I do feel bad for Rose though, because as sweet as Charlotte may be, it doesn't make up for the fact that she's 100 years away from the people she loves. I love the little detail about WWI you threw in - it definitely adds to the fact that they're in a different era with different issues right now. Although I do have my doubts about them reaching Acanthus in a timely manner... I get the feeling something's a little off - things are going too smoothly, and that doesn't usually ever happen... something's gotta go wrong.

Ugh, we were just about to find out more about the mysterious man, and then all the craziness happens! While I'm not too happy that we're still missing details about him, I do hope that Scorpius, Dalila, and Rashidi can get away from him. So let's hope that Stunning Spell hit its target!

Another awesome chapter, Kiana!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Bahahaha, I always do that too, so don't worry (plus I didn't even notice until you said :P). See it's sort of good then as you can improve your self-control which is always a good thing to do. But I'm sorry about the cliff-hangers!

Aw, thank you! ♥

Yay for Charlotte, as it's nice for Rose to have a BFF in this era because everyone wants one of those. It's just strange how you can get on with people even if you are a 100 years apart if that makes any sense? I'm really glad that you liked the WWI bit, because in my headcanon wizards took part in it too, so that's why it was thrown in there.

You will find out more about him as Scorpius gets all macho and starts being scary and asking questions, so more will be found out, don't worry!

Thanks for another awesome review, Taylor!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #48, by ShadowRose Plans and Preparations

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hey Kiana!

Aww, I hate that Rashidi's not well - he's such a sweetheart but I can tell he's definitely suffering. And just as they're planning a way to get out of there, the man's on the other side waiting to stop it all, which really stinks for Scorpius. And now someone else is going back in time? I'd say it's probably Scorpius, since he's destined to kill the ancestor, but hey, I've been wrong before.

Haha, I love how confused everyone is upon finding out that the people they assumed were Muggles are actually wizards. It's so funny that both groups immediately assumed that the people they'd met were Muggles, and both of them were wrong. I really like Charlotte - and I'm wondering if she's somehow related to Molly, since they're just so similar. Or maybe that's just a coincidence. And George seems a little sketchy to me. What was he doing just wandering around on his own in the desert paying no attention to anything? That seems just a little strange.

Oh gosh, I can't wait to get Hermione into the midst of all this craziness. Who knows where that will lead, haha. And I like the little detail about Rose always being the better-behaved one. She always feels like she's in Hugo's shadow, yet Hugo kind of feels the same way, for different reasons. It's pretty funny actually that both of them have the same insecurities but never see it in the other sibling.

This is building up so fast, and I can't wait to see where it goes from here!

-ShadowRose (Tayolor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

No, he's not, and it's so sad to make him like this as I do really love him and it just breaks my heart really. Ooh a very good theory is what I shall now for as you've probably guessed by now I don't give that much away, but you will find out what happens shortly, so don't worry.

Bahahah, yes, it was quite funny to write that! Ooh, I never had anyone guess that Charlotte is relation of Molly's before, so I like that idea. All I say is she has a link to someone. George is just a bit of an idiot really, he never really has a clue what's going on :P

Yay for more craziness and more characters! I think it's kinda natural with siblings to always think your parents love your sibling more than they love you, it's just with Rose that problem goes a lot deeper which is what's so sad.

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #49, by ShadowRose To Anywhere

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again Kiana!

Haha, I had a feeling that the group of people Rose and Lorcan were with were wizards - if they're at all related to the unidentifiable man Scorpius is currently dealing with, which you've already hinted at, then they'd pretty much have to be magical. But now I really have to know whether or not the map works! It's not even the end of the chapter and you've already left a cliffhanger... that takes talent.

Oh, and now we're back with Scorpius and the mysterious man. My gosh, this foreshadowing is killing me! So Scorpius kills someone, but we don't know who, the mysterious man is stripped of something he was supposedly destined to have, but we don't know what, and somehow Scorpius goes back in time, but once again, we don't know how! Ack, there's so much coming up in the future chapters!

I also couldn't help but feel sorry for Scorpius towards the end - "The monster trait seemed to be a genetic thing in his family. It was as if he knew that this would always be his fate, leading that life." My heart just broke for him here - he's spent all his life trying to avoid being like his dad and grandfather, but is now destined to become exactly like them both, despite having a personality and character totally opposite to either of them. Poor guy.

This was another really entertaining chapter, and as usual, I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happens next!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi again Taylor!

Yes, they were because if they were Muggles it would just be a little boring for them, and magic just makes everything even more exciting really! Aw, thank you! It also helps having POV changes, because then you could have a potential 3 cliff-hangers in one chapter, but that would have been a little too mean if I did that.

I'm sorry about the foreshadowing so please don't die! Yes, this is a very key thing, very, very, very, very key thing like remember this foreshadowing and then when a certain something happens you may be able to figure it out earlier than other people did. That's all I'll say on this subject for now...

I know, he really does need a hug, as he's so different from his family and just wants to love people and be nice and then he gets haunted by all their faults. Gah, it's so just so sad, I want to hug him so much right now!

Thanks for another great review, Taylor! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #50, by ShadowRose Wicker Lines

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

Okay, so I was hoping that finally having a chapter from Scorpius's POV would explain who the voice belonged to and what on earth has happened. It did, to an extent, but I think I'm actually a bit more confused now than I was before. My gosh, be gentle on poor Scorpius! I feel defensive of him and I really don't like him being in pain - especially when it hurts his self-confidence as well! Poor Scorpius, thinking he's not brave enough...

I have to admit, I thought Rose and Lorcan had it bad, being 100 years in the past, but hey, at least the people they're with don't torture them. I'm a bit nervous for their fate though, because I feel like something bad's going to happen to them based on what the man talking to Scorpius said. Ack.

I really love the part from Hermione's POV. It's different than any of the other characters, but you really spotlight her insecurities and her worries - it's something you do anytime you're inside a character's head, and I feel like it really helps bring them to life. I feel bad that she feels like she's been a bad mother, because she really does know Rose well and definitely cares for her. I sense a bit of tension towards Scorpius though... I wonder how that one will pan out.

Overall, another great chapter - with every chapter, the tension gets even higher and this story gets even more addicting!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor!

I'm sorry about the confusion, but things with the voice, and the man, and the person who will later have a name tend to remain a bit confusing until you find out his name and then it all starts to make a little sense. Scorpius will be out of pain eventually, so it will all be ok.

Ha, yes, for once they actually have it better as these people are nice to them for now. Hmm, that is a good point to remember, but don't worry too much right now as it's a couple of chapters until things do start to happen.

Aw, I'm glad you liked her, as she crops up now and then from this chapter onwards. Her difficulties with Rose and Scorpius are followed up throughout this story and eventually they will be cleared up so don't worry too much.

Aw, thank you so much, you're so lovely, Taylor, because each of these reviews really are making me smile :D

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>