Reading Reviews for Acanthus
  
234 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Ravenclaw333 Cartography

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I AM BACK ON MY MISSION AND THE ACANTHUS GANG ARE BACK ON THEIRS ITíS GO TIME

I love your description. Thereís nothing new in that and I always love it but the way you manage to evoke such perfect images from a few words is fantastic, and even the choice of words reflects the scene and the setting perfectly (like Ďpenmanship,í that just sticks out to me as being perfect for this old map in the 1920s and Iím not sure if itís deliberate or subconscious but there are subtle differences in your vocabulary outside the dialogue between the modern setting and the í20s and oh man IT IS SO COOL)

I am so fascinated by this map how did they get it whatís all the secrecy surrounding it I want to KNOW THINGS

I love Charlotte. Charlotte is so sweet and lovely and I want to keep her forever and Iím glad Rose sort of confided in her and I just want them to be BFFs.

HOLY MOTHER OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. THE WAR. WWI AND DAVID AND DESERTION AND THE STIGMA AGAINST IT OH THIS IS PERFECT THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

AND SCORPIUS AND THE OTHERS WITH THEIR ESCAPE IíM SO WORRIED ARE THEY GOING TO GET TO ROSE DID THEY MESS UP THEIR CHANCES BY NOT PLAYING ALONG WITH MYSTERY MANíS GAME OH NO

Author's Response: YES YOU ARE AND YOU GO GIRL.

Aw, thank you lovely! I'm so glad that you liked it as it was a lot of fun! You should definitely try and write a historical novel sort of thing because I think it makes you even more aware of those sorts of things so you really improve because of it which is always a good thing!

Aw, yay for Charlotte, but ahahaha as for Rose and her being BFFs just watch and wait would be my main piece of advice really and don't do too much wishful thinking.

YES YES YES I'M SO GLAD THAT YOU LIKED IT AS IT WAS SO MUCH FUN TO DO AND #HISTORICALNESS.

YES THEY ARE BUT IT MIGHT NOT BE AS BAD AS YOU THINK SO DON'T WORRY TOO MUCH FOR NOW. #EVILLAUGH.

Thanks for a fab review, Lisa!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #27, by zealousVisionary Spectrum

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I saw this story awhile ago and thought the premise was super interesting, but I never got around to reading it- I love most things Next Gen and all things mythology, so I knew that I'd like this fic. Well, now that I've read the first chapter, all I can say is that I wish I'd read it sooner!

From the beginning, this chapter grabbed my attention. Your writing is great- it just flowed so well, and the way you described the bustle of the office almost made me feel like I was there.

What I really loved about this chapter was the way you described the Weasleys. Honestly, it's unique from any other next gen fic I've ever read and I love it. Hermione up to be the Minister for Magic? Awesome. Hugo a child genius? Love it. And Rose, a fairly normal but ambitious girl who wants to prove herself as a journalist? I just love that more than I can say.

Anyways, I'm really excited to see where this one goes. The magical perfume industry is a great idea, and I can't wait to read more about Rose's relationship with Scorpius. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Ooh, I'm glad that I could drag you in as it means so much to me that you like it and I hope you continue to read it.

Wow, that means a lot to me as I wrote this ages ago it sort of makes me blush when reading it back. Haha, yes I did try and provide a different take on the Weasley clan to how we usually see them so it's great that you liked it as we continue to explore that later on.

Thanks for an amazing review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #28, by Sam Penultimate Farewells

11th July 2014:
Hey, I think you are an excellent writer! You really remind me of how JK wrote the original books but obviously with your own ideas :P I cant wait for the last chapter!!
I have read a different fanfic named "All Was Well" based around the Rose/Scorpius relationship. You remind me of the writers of that as well (namely JustSuperNMenuncle). Actually they never finished the fanfic and you from what I've read I think you would create a fantastic ending to that book. You should consider creating your own ending to that book and posting it up here! That would make my day. Let me know if you think of doing so by emailing me! sameaglemont @ gmail. com
Thanks and I really cant wait for the end of this book!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you that means so much to me and I hope the last chapter lived up to your expectations!

I deifnitely will check out that fanfic and read it but I'm not sure about writing it as I don't have much time for anything right now so I'll have to see about that but maybe one day.

Thanks for a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfan Penultimate Farewells

10th July 2014:
WHAT ARE THESE FOOLS DOING RUNNING AROUND BY THEMSELVES IN THE DESERT? They obviously never took wilderness survival classes. And if I weren't so concerned about them all getting lost in the desert, I'd yell at Scorpius for littering. Throwing a water bottle on the floor? For shame, Scorp.

Poor David - after the death of everyone in his original group, his three remaining friends plan to leave into the future again. Bless him, thinking they'll all stay in touch too. They won't, because how would they send letters through time? - and David will be all alone with the knowledge of what happened. :'(

Scorpius got left behind?!!? Why couldn't he have just put a smaller amount of potion divided among three phials? Do you need a certain amount in order for it to work - like if there wasn't enough would you get Splinched or something? (ok, too many questions, sorry) Aaaa I can't believe you left him in the past! I mean, at least David isn't alone in the desert at this point. That would actually have been worse if the three of them had just left him there to find his own way out. At least he has Scorpius with him for now.

So next chapter predictions... Scorpius returns to the future by any one of the following means: 1) Time turner. 2) He turns into a vampire and lives out the intervening years and is still 22 a hundred years later. 3) A man with a time-travelling yurt rescues him. Am I close? :P Anyway, superb chapter and I can't wait for the last one!! ♥

House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: I am so so so sorry for taking aeons to get to this life has been incredibly cruel to me! But yes yell away at them as they are rather idiotic in this chapter albeit it's rather funny to watch all of their failures.

I know, it's so sad and so horrible and I felt so cruel doing this to him. Just wait and see with Charlotte I'll say as I never was too cruel when it came to him.

Erm, yes, dun dun dun moment or waht! Bahaha in terms of your questions, you needed the whole phial because time travel does require a lot of work so without all of it it wouldn't have worked so yes, they couldn't share it out so one had to say. Erm, so don't worry too much as David and Scorpius can be together forever now!

Ooh I love the vampire idea, it's such a good one and I really wish I went with it now! :D

Thanks for a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #30, by AlexFan Penultimate Farewells

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm writing this as I read.

Rose is so strong to be able to deal with the horror of watching her friend kill someone and then die themselves. Not many people would be able to levitate a corpse while dealing with something like that so I applaud her for her strength.

I'm so relieved that she managed to make it back to Lorcan, I was so worried that she was actually going to get stuck in the desert at night and that really doesn't sound like somewhere that you would want to be, I've heard that desert nights are freezing.

And of course even when she's half-dead Rose manages to be stubborn about something that can wait when she's not falling asleep on her feet. I can see the Weasley in her.

They need to tell David, they've gone on keeping the secret for this long but he needs to know the truth now. He's probably just going to have a heart attack if Rose and Lorcan just disappear into thin air without any explanation.

I KNEW IT! I knew that when you said that Scorpius had given in that by the time that he spoke up, Rose would have already drunk the potion and it would be too late. It was just like something out of a movie. WHY ARE YOU LEAVING SCORPIUS BEHIND. My poor ScoRose heart is breaking.

I just can't even right now. I need to process that Scorpius is being left behind.

(But I mean, awesome chapter so two thumbs up)
~Grace

Author's Response: Yay those reviews are always a lot more fun!

I know, I think there she just had to carry on and push herself through because in that situation she just had no clue what was going to happen and that was the only way to survive. Yay for her getting back with Lorcan, I could never make them separated for too long as that would be cruel so never fear about that.

The Weasley gene is as evident is so strong that they can only have ginger hair! (again sorry I don't know where that came from, well my sleep deprived mind but just ignore me it's better)

They will, erm, sort of, more will be revealed in terms of David later on and yes don't worry about him.

I'M SORRY BUT IT HAD TO BE LIKE THIS BUT DON'T WORRY I'M NOT TOO CRUEL. My poor ScoRose heart was breaking too but hopefully the next chapter will make it better again.

Thanks for another fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #31, by AlexFan Plans and Preparations

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm going to write this before I go and read Chapter 20.

I'm so proud of Scorpius for not losing hope while being in a tough situation like his. You can definitely end up feeling weak when you're tied up and there's no way out so I'm just really happy with Scorpius for keeping his head clear and trying to turn the situation around so that it can benefit him.

First time I read this chapter I was so happy to find out that my prediction about Charlotte and the gang being wizards was right and I was getting really excited to read everyone else's reaction to finding out that Rose and Lorcan can also do magic but then you ended it with Rose about to tell them and I was just like, "WHHHY!!!"

But then I found out so it was okay.

I love how no one is even surprised at Hermione's reactions anymore, Hugo isn't even insulted by the fact that she's comparing him to his sister because he knows how she is when she worries about things and he understands where she's coming from.

Anyway, I'm onto read and review Chapter 20 now!
~Grace

Author's Response: Hey Grace!

Yay for Scorpius! He actually never lets anything get him down too much which is a really admirable quality of his and just makes me want to squish him even more because he's so cute about it.

Yay you got it right! Bahaha sorry for the cliff-hanger but you did get what you wanted in a way which was good and okay and whoo I'm not talking any sense so please excuse me.

Yes, Hermione is just so typically her at times it's a little sad that she can't be a bit more out there. Or Hugo's just a good body language reader maybe? Anyhow, I'm glad you liked it and thanks for another fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #32, by AlexFan Wicker Lines

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Frederic Russell sounds like an absolute creep. Like I get he's the villain and everything but damn is he creepy! I also get the impression that he's one of those people that really likes to hear themselves talk because that's the only conclusion that I can come to as to why he won't shut up and just get on with being evil. You'd think every antagonist would've figured this out by now but apparently not, the more talking you do the more time you give your enemy the chance to escape.

I'll give him props for one thing though, at least when he does get down to business, he doesn't screw around or anything, he just gets right down to the torture.

I loved how Hermione was worried, it just goes to show you that no matter how badly you may get along with your family, family is family (most of the time anyway) and they'll worry about you and try to protect you. But of course Hermione isn't going to sit around and do nothing while her daughter is missing. A mother just knows when something has happened to her child. GO WITH YOUR INSTINCTS HERMIONE!

Even though Rose is stuck in 1922, at least she's still going to be able to achieve what she set out to do in the first place, she's still going to get to see Acanthus and write that article of hers (if she ever manages to make it back to the present time that is).

Onto the next chapter that I haven't reviewed!
~Grace

Author's Response: Hey Grace!

Woah, he's a creep and creepy and a villain and just eew so yeah feel free to throw hate at him because he deserves it. I don't know, I think he likes talking and once you find out why he did it you realise he's been mulling over this for a while so we kinda have to let him do this for now.

Yes, that is definitely so true as they are the ones who stick by you no matter what's going on in the world and I really like that idea. Don't worry about Hermione not doing anything she goes a bit pow wow in a bit and shows off her butt kicking skills :P

Yes, you can never beat Rose down too much as she'll always just come back fighting!

Thanks for another great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #33, by AlexFan A Kaleidoscope

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Hola Kiana, coming back for more reviews! I can't imagine what it must've felt like to be Rose and to all of a sudden be dropped into this new place with no recollection of ever going there. If I was in her place, I would've probably lost my head for like half an hour before coming to the idea that I was supposed to get myself out of a desert. I loved your description as well because it really showed how confused Rose was feeling and how the world must've been turning around her at a time like this. She's stuck in this time period, just trying to straighten out the world around her so that it doesn't spin so much.

Next to being dropped somewhere that you don't know, imagine Charlotte and everyone else's reaction when they find Rose and Lorcan showing up in the middle of the Sahara desert with absolutely no explanation as to how they got there. But I mean, I guess when you're magical anything weird that happens doesn't really get questioned.

I can totally understand why Lorcan faded as well, he probably handled the news that he was stuck in 1922 in the best way that one can in a situation like that, by fainting. At least his mind can wrap it's head around the fact that he's stuck in the past without anymore stress being added to it.

Anyway, great chapter!
~Grace

Author's Response: Hey Grace!

Bahaha, I know what you mean because if that was me I would start screaming, screaming and probably just want to die so she's a lot more collected than I ever could be. I'm glad that you liked her reaction to the craziness though as it was a lot of fun to tune it down compared to my crazy wails.

I know, but that will be developed later. Plus travelling around looking for treasure and things like that was fairly common in those times so that's why they aren't too shocked in a way.

Lorcan is a bit more chilled but I guess with Luna as his mum that's almost natural for him.

Thanks for a great review and sorry for taking a while to respond to it! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #34, by marauderfan The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
Kiana! Congrats on 200 reviews :D I'm so happy I finally had a chance to catch up on this story.

I love how you worked out that mystery of how Scorpius was originally supposed to die, in a way that was believable. There are so many twists and turns in this story which has made it a fantastic read the whole way so far. I'm still sad that Anthony died, but hey, at least he got his revenge that he wanted, right? :P I am hoping that David survives as I think he's the only one of the original group of explorers who is still alive! Well, someone has to survive to tell the story, right? ;)

George's men are still all around though, and I am worried about what will happen to the four trying to escape Acanthus while surrounded by people who want them dead. Here's what I want to happen: Charlotte calls George's men off, on her way out of Acanthus. I mean she had to pass by them as she left, right? And I feel terrible for her despite how she kind of destroyed everything in her quest for power, so maybe this would be her way of trying to fix what she broke, so to speak. But I'm sure whatever you've written up in those last two chapters will be splendid. I can't believe there's only two more! I am so eager to find out how everything ties up though. Fantastic chapter! ♥

House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: Thank you and sorry I've only just got to these reviews, life has been so cray cray recently!

I'm so glad that you liked it because I was sitting there for so many months worrying everyone would be like what, did that just happen? So it means a lot to me. Yes, I think with Anthony he would rather die and have his revenge and save someone than be alive with none of that. Bahahaha, do not fear too much, I'm not too mean.

I know, I know, it sucks so much. Erm, Charlotte definitely does pop up again in the story in a way if that makes sense so that's a good thing, but as for that you know that it probably won't happen. ;) I hope they did live up to your expectations and sorry for taking so long to get to this!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #35, by AlexFan Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Hey Kiana, guess what, 200th reivew! WOOHOO!

Okay so I had to go back and skim through this chapter to refresh my memory and now I have something to talk about. This was the chapter that basically set the story in the direction that it's gone so far.

Sandstorms don't sound like a lot of fun, especially after reading this chapter and the amount of movies that I've seen have portrayed the same thing. I think if Rose and the rest of the gang had kept going and ignored the warning then they would've been in serious danger. They could've gotten buried in the sand.

When Scorpius saw the building I just knew that something bad was going to happen. I mean, it was in the middle of the desert in the middle of nowhere, of course that wasn't going to be safe! But I mean, I guess if I was in Rose or Scorpius's situation I would've picked the suspicious house that conveniently shows up when I need it over facing a sandstorm and risking my life.

Anyway, I'm excited to read the last two chapters of the story and GO RAVENCLAW!

Author's Response: YAYAYYA thank you so much for being my 200th review, as it means a lot to me!

Yes, this chapter was definitely the most pivotal one in the way it just changed everything and there really was no going back after this point.

No they aren't especially after talking to some people who have been one, they just sound like the worst thing ever. Yes, things in the middle of the desert never generally tend to be good things and just shriek danger, but I guess a sandstorm shrieks that too so you don't have much choice in where to go :P

Thanks for a fab review, Grace! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #36, by AlexFan The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review

Kiana, I'm returning the favour of reviewing Acanthus (and I'll be back to bombard you with even more reviews so prepare yourself) and wow, this was really action-packed. The thing that I really liked about this chapter was that it had fighting and action but it didn't drag out for an unnecessary amount of time. There was enough fighting to keep it interesting but not so much that the reader got bored halfway through the story (which I have been known to occasionally do while reading fanfiction).

I KNEW IT! The moment that Anthony suggested that he go as Scorpius, everything just fell into place for me and I realized that it wasn't really Scorpius that had died at all. I can't believe that he didn't realize it sooner though, you'd think Scorpius, smart as he was, would've figured that out by himself. I feel bad for Rose though having to witness her friend commit homicide and then suicide. At least she knows what happened instead of being left wondering for the rest of her life.

Looking forward to the last two chapters!

Author's Response: Wah thank you Grace, your reviews were really fab!

Yes it certainly did have a bam, bam, bam quality to it with the way everything happened all of a sudden but I'm glad it wasn't dragged out. It's probably mainly due to me hating action scenes so I tried and cut them off as soon as possible. That's probably the one thing I don't miss about Acanthus as action scenes are just blergh.

YES YOU DID!! Bahaha I just feel like yelling plot twist, because it was just so much fun knowing this for ages and ages and none of you knowing. Now I sound a little mean but you get the gist.

Thanks for a fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #37, by Veritaserum27 A Sign of Treachery

9th July 2014:
Holy Cow! This one was a doozie. I am stunned (haha - like Rose). Okay, enough with the jokes. Finally we see what Rashidi really knows about Acanthus. He knew a lot more than he let on! I'm wondering who the two were that betrayed them. I think it was David and Edmund, but I'm not sure. Maybe Hermione can brew the potion, she is really smart, but I think this one may be special enough that even she can't do it. I knew Scorpius shouldn't have taken all of them. I feel like Frederic Russell is still a threat - they should send him to the ministry so that he can't pull anything else on them... I was so glad to see that Scorpius was smart enough to investigate what he saw with David. Hmmm. Now I'm thinking that Charlotte may be in on it too - she was the one that came to "distract" the others. Maybe she stunned Rose and then ran off to make it seem like someone else did it. I have to read more - I can't wait to find out. Sorry this review is so rambling!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: But jokes are great! Also, don't be stunned as that wouldn't be too great! Yes, he did which sucks because he's been so quiet for so long. Erm, interesting theory which you will soon find out the answer too. I like the idea of Hermione making the potion but sadly it never happens and you'll just have to wait and see. Frederic Russell is a threat to them but pay close attention to all their actions and his own because it might reveal who else to trust and not trust... This review wasn't rambling at all but great, so thanks you for it :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #38, by Veritaserum27 A Guise

9th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

Ok. So some of my questions got answered with this chapter. I'm so glad that Rose and Scorpius are happy together. They totally deserve to be together after so much time apart. I knew Scorpius wouldn't tell her about him having to die. I'm not entirely convinced that is has to be him, but I don't know if they will figure that out in time. I'm starting to see the perfume connection, but I know there is still more to it. Thank goodness Ron, Hermione, Hassani and Hugo got to find Rashidi and Dalia. Hermione is so smart, I just love her. It is so sad about Rashidi, but it seems that if he is dying, then he will not be suffering anymore. Things are heating up! (see what I did there?)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yay questions were answered! I'm so glad that you like them being together as it just gave me so many feels and yes ♥ so, so, so cute and I'm going to stop here before I write an essay on why I love them! That is a very good point about it not being having to be Scorpius, you're actually the first to raise it so keep it in mind for later on! Yay for Hermione though she definitely is going to kick things into gear big time! Haha, yes I did, and thanks for another amazing review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #39, by Veritaserum27 Reunions

9th July 2014:
Ah! Ah!

Is it okay if I "Ah!" too? Scorpius did it - and he is okay. And they are together. I'm so, so excited. That kiss was entirely too sweet. Yikes. But I want to say "sheesh, Rose, it only took you one hundred years to figure it out!!" I do feel a bit bad for David, he seemed a nice bloke. I feel like there is some sort of connection between the perfume business that Rose was researching and the perfume stand in Acanthus. There must be something to that. There is no way that Rose will let Scorpius die. I just know it. She will do anything to prevent that. I'm also concerned for Ron, Hugo and Hermione. What is going on with them? I hope that Frederick doesn't harm them. I guess I'll just have to read on!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: It is as I say it far too much so I need to stop saying but you can carry on! Bahaha, you can say it and it is quite a good joke and made me laugh a little too much. Whoo for them getting back together this was my favourite chapter because of all those feelings but poor David :( You are definitely right about Rose wanting to protect Scorpius and never letting him go so just watch and wait on that front is all I'll say for now! Frederic, Frederic, Frederic, he is a tricky man but don't worry too much here I should say! Thanks for another great review, Beth!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #40, by Ravenclaw333 Plans and Preparations

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Kiana oh my God this line is incredible: ďIt was as if the room was waiting for them to decay so they could become a permanent fixture of it.Ē I have no words for how perfect this is so Iím just going to leave it here. And the line about how Scorpius didnít feel like a Ravenclaw, because all he wanted to do was give up and not solve the problem Ė oh man, I know that feeling. I know that feeling so well and Ravenclaw isnít as much a part of my identity as it is Scorpiusís Ė well, Iím assuming not. The juryís out on that one.

IíM SO WORRIED ABOUT RASHIDI

Roseís self-awareness in this chapter is fantastic. Not going to lie, I was waiting for her to stand back and go ďI done goofed guys,Ē and now it seems she has.

YOU DID THE THING AGAIN. THE THING DESCRIBING CHARACTERS THROUGH THE EYES OF ANOTHER AND I LOVE SEEING HERMIONE THROUGH HUGOíS EYES YES OKAY

HERMIONE GRANGER ON A MISSION. YES. GOOD.

Okay I need to stop throwing your own writing back at you but this line, ďPretending to be brave when it wasnít your natural inclination was a great downfall of many,Ē is just such a good one and I love it and itís perfect and contrasts Scorpius so brilliantly with Rose and Ravenclaw with Gryffindor, and I am ALL ABOUT how those two houses are natural opposites and you show that so well in that one line and Iím getting philosophical so itís time to MOVE ON

Author's Response: Hahaha, aw, I'm glad that you liked it! Yes, it's another we all need to hug Scorpius so he can feel somewhat ok again even though I'm not sure if that's possible. It must suck a lot when you reach that stage of despairing especially when lives depend on it, so poor Scorpius lets go and hug him!

YOU SHOULD BE.

Bahahaha, go Rose, she might do in a bit. :P

YAY I'M GLAD YOU LIKED IT BUT THIS IS HUGO'S ONLY CAMEO. BUT HERMIONE IS GOING TO KICK SOME BOOTY AND MAYBE SOME OF THE OTHERS MIGHT DO IT WITH HER.

Yay I'm glad you liked it because it is strange how much the house stereotypes can be applied to people later on in their lives and it still continues to haunt them. I do think Ravenclaws and Gryffindors are actual opposites too though which is why Scorose is so fab and philosophicalness is great as I study it so I welcome it with open arms!

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by Veritaserum27 Bones

9th July 2014:
KIANA!

Wow! - I finally got back to this story. Whew. I remember the last name Russell, but I don't remember which one had that last name. I think it was either Edmund or George. Ok. And I noticed something else. Fred and George. I don't think you did this by accident. I think there is some sort of Weasley connection here. I'm not sure what it is, but something is going on. Now, the bit about Hashidi's mother - that is also very interesting. I am wondering if she sought Acanthus as well and died in the process. That may be why Hashidi is so bitter all the time. The bones thing was definitely weird - and the scream as well. I'm so glad Scorpius thought to take all the extra potion with him - but if Ron and Hermione catch up to them, they will have no way of going back in time... Hmmm - much to consider.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: BETH!

You have been so lovely with all these reviews, I don't know how I can ever show how much they mean to me, but really, I loved every single one of them! Ooh good job for remembering Russell, it will crop up again and it should hopefully help you piece everything together. I'm glad that you liked the bit about Hasani, as it did reveal a bit about why he is like that and you will learn more about their family later on. The bones and the scream will be explored later on, but as for the potion, hmmm is all I can say to your thoughts :P

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by Ravenclaw333 To Anywhere

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, Iím so excited for more details on the 1920s crew! I love the amount of historical detail you throw into this story and how you manage to make them so real and believable and human Ė so often I see characters in historical settings who are written to be almost alien, their personalities buried or entirely dictated by their era Ė but thereís something timeless about a directionless young man wandering around abroad and jumping on expeditions in Egypt for funsies.

Also, I really like that line about Rose wondering if her Ďgoalí is Acanthus or home Ė it shows how the whole thing is taking a toll on her sense of adventure and determination, while making it clear sheís not panicking and eager to get back.

Iím honestly so curious about this whole situation and whether everything is as it seems (probably not, Iím guessing) and what the í20s Crew are keeping from them.

OH. OH ITíS MAGIC. OH THERE ARE WANDS. OH THIS IS AN EXCITING DEVELOPMENT

WAIT SCORPIUS KILLED SOMEONE? OR IS SCORPIUS GOING TO KILL SOMEONE? I GUESS THATíS LINEAR TIME THROWN WELL OUT THE WINDOW

Author's Response: Whoo hi Lisa!

Yay for more details! I'm so glad that you liked it as the 20th century is one of my favourite eras of history even if I was born in it (gah, it makes me feel so old :P) as there were so many discoveries like these in Egypt it really was a lot of fun to write because there's modernity in a way, but then something still classic about this era.

Yeah, it's around this point that Rose begins to feel more and more tied to the 1920s as well as home which is really interesting because it just shows how much you can change.

Yes they are magical which means the developments with the 1920s crew are even more interesting and fun and I hope you liked them! Ooooh, yes the revelation about Scorpius also ties in with the 1920s crew being magical so bear that in mind as it could mean something, something really big so yeah just keep thinking about that!

Thanks for another fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #43, by Ravenclaw333 Wicker Lines

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

There are SO MANY DIFFERENT GENRES AND ASPECTS TO THIS STORY IT'S A MARVEL YOU ARE MARVELLOUS

No, but really. You're intertwining two very different stories and moods in this chapter and they both fit seamlessly with the other and with the rest of the story. Scorpius's point of view is dark and frightening and suspenseful, and you still manage to include humanising details in the midst of all the action that give more insight into Scorpius's character, motivations and insecurities - it's incredibly well done.

Rose's story offers a much lighter tone by contrast (I'm a bit worried how long that will last though) and hers is the true tale of adventure - really, the way you've woven these genres together to make a multi-faceted and endlessly fascinating storyline is such a credit to you.

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you! I did try and include a bit of everything as it's more fun that way so I'm glad you liked it!

Whoo for darkness and suspense with Scorpius. I'm really glad that you liked it and exploring his psychological aspect too, as it's strange for a Malfoy to be in this position when you think about it as they're the ones usually doing the terrorising.

It will last for quite a few more chapters so don't worry I'm not that cruel! I'm really glad that you like the sense of adventure though as Rose does go off and do a lot more exploring so whoo for that :D

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #44, by Ravenclaw333 A Kaleidoscope

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

WHAT IS GOING ON IíM SO CONFUSED WHAT HAPPENED THIS STORY IS A ROLLERCOASTER AND I WAS NOT PREPARED

I DO NOT TRUST CHARLOTTE WRIGHT I DO NOT TRUST HER IN THE SLIGHTEST

Wait WHAT

WHAT IS GOING ON

I donít have this reaction to stories very often and thatís a massive credit to you, even if all Iím doing is capslock shouting about how confused I am and getting things WRONG at every turn but I suppose this is the most realistic way of portraying my reactions to this story I am so intrigued right now

A WWI veteran do you know what youíre doing to my inner history geek right now THIS IS SO EXCITING AND SO GREAT IíM SORRY ABOUT ALL THE CAPS

Author's Response: I AM SORRY. PLEASE DON'T BE TOO CONFUSED. BUT WHY CHARLOTTE SHE MIGHT BE YOUR POTENTIAL BFF LISA, DON'T JUDGE TOO SOON. OKAY.

Aw, thank you and the capslock is fine as it's just making me laugh a lot (in a good way!) if I'm honest, but all will make sense in the end, all of it will!

Yay for inner history geek, because geekiness is so much fun! And don't apologise about the caps, they were great as was this review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #45, by Ravenclaw333 Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

The adventure has started! I like how youíve already brought everything down to earth, with the opening and Scorpiusís observations about how the sense of adventure has worn off with the monotonous trek, and then the sandstorm and Roseís realisation that she may have brought them into far more danger than sheíd anticipated.

I love Scorpius and Lorcan. And their Clawness. And now Iím wondering if it would be possible for an innovative wizard with a thorough grounding in Muggle sciences to actually magically prevent things like sandstorms. I think I love that conversation a little too much.

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD KIANA WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WHAT JUST HAPPENED OH MY GOD

Author's Response: It has!! Though it's not as exciting as they all thought but I guess that's the thing with exciting stuff as it's never as great as it turns out to be. Bahaha Clawness, I think that's my new favourite word. I did too, until it started getting too sciency and my brain couldn't handle it but I'm glad you liked it.

DUN DUN DUN. #SORRYNOTSORRY #READON #ITWILLBEOKAGAIN #MAYBE

Thanks for a fab review, Lisa :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #46, by vanityfair The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
This was a very dramatic chapter! I don't think Scorpius is up to something good with the potion and I agree with Rose that he might be out to do something stupidly brave again. Please don't do that Scorpius as I love you as a character. I knew George would die but I didn't realise from Anthony and I liked the fact it was Anthony disguised as Scorpius so that way Scorpius can live because if he died it would be so sad. I am excited for the last two chapters now! Maia x

Author's Response: Yes it was! Erm, the potion, ernm is all I can say but if you're thinking along the same lines as Rose that's probably the best thing to do right now. Yay you figured it out as not everyone did straight away so it's great that you did! Thanks for another fab review, Maia! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #47, by Ravenclaw333 The Tale of Acanthus

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

So I have such a weakness for seeing characters through the eyes of others and I think it just gives them so much more depth and complexity and it's the best thing because I adore characterisation and so I love seeing Rose through Scorpius's eyes, it brings out these new aspects to her and I love the comments about how she's always so confident and sure of herself, and the line about how she 'charged into people's lives unexpectedly.'

So, yeah. I'm really excited about the change in perspective for this chapter - and the insights into Scorpius's character and career. Translating hieroglyphics sounds wicked awesome.

And the mythology makes an appearance! I'm so excited for this story, I really am, and the way you've already questioned the lines between history and myth is awesome and I can't wait okay this is my jam

ROSE IS SO IMPULSIVE OH MY GOD ROSE WHAT ARE YOU DOING I UNDERSTAND YOU WANT TO MAKE A NAME FOR YOURSELF BUT WOW

GRYFFINDORS AMIRITE

Dalila and her family are lovely and so well characterised and I kind of love them. And Rose is going! And she's taking Dalila! I'm so excited!

Onward!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm really glad you liked it too, as I'm a massive fan of it because then you just get a wider perspective and when writing if one character's being annoying you can always hope that the other one will be nicer so you cna switch to them :P

Yay for excitement and Scorpius, anything to do with him is pretty exciting if I am being honest :p (massive Scorpius fan sitting right here in case you didn't guess :P)

Yayyayayaya for it being your jam as it will come up again and again and again and pretty much again until you're annoyed with it.

DON'T WORRY IT'S JUST GRYFFIES BEING A BIT CRAY CRAY AS USUAL.

Yay it's turning into a group outing so whoo it should be fun! Thanks for another fab review though :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #48, by Ravenclaw333 Souks and Surprises

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm going to restrain myself from gushing about your imagery for the next eighteen chapters because that may get a bit repetitive, but you do such a fantastic job of bringing this story and its setting to life, and I couldn't let that pass without comment.

I love Rose. I love her overeagerness and the way she comes across as a bit too forward - whether that's inexperience or cultural difference or a mixture of both - and it's a really good detail to throw in. The scene with Dalila was well done, and you've captured the speech pattern of a non-native English speaker well. The contrast between Rose before and after the interview is excellent - the way a small success can change your whole outlook on where you are and what you're doing.

Scorpius is a Ravenclaw! I can't wait to meet him in this story

FEELING BAD FOR TURNING DOWN SHOPKEEPERS/PEOPLE TRYING TO SELL YOU STUFF I KNOW THAT FEELING SO WELL I AM EXACTLY LIKE ROSE

Ah yay! Scorpius! Do I detect a bit of attraction on Rose's part?

Onwards!

Author's Response: Bahaha, it's fine as it makes me smile a ton! I'm so glad that you like it though and that it gives the story setting because whoo everyone loves that!

Yay for Rose too! I'm glad you liked her forwardness, because I was sort of going for a mix there, because when I've been in Arabic countries I've always noticed westerners are a lot more forward than everyone else. I'm glad you liked the Dalila scene as it's the start of something big really.

Of course he's a Ravenclaw, all the best people are in that house so he had to be part of it too :P

I FEEL BAD FOR IT TOO. ESPECIALLY WHEN MY MUM'S LIKE ASK FOR A LOWER PRICE THEY EXPECT BUT I CAN'T AS I FEEL MEAN SO I END UP PAYING THE FULL OVERPRICED PRICE.

Ooh maybe you do ;)

Thanks for another great review, Lisa! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #49, by Ravenclaw333 Spectrum

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi Kiana!

I've been meaning to read this story for a while now - it's been on my list for ages and keeps catching my eye - ancient cities? Mythology? Rose Weasley? Yes please - and I figured itís time I sat down to R&R.

This chapter drew me in from the beginning. You have a gift for imagery, and I could picture the scene perfectly in my head - the bustle of the office, the "festival feel" and the frantic rush to get everything finished before the deadline. I loved your introduction of Rose - you've painted a very clear picture of her right from the beginning, as a serious and ambitious young woman wanting to escape her parents' shadow - and having her as less successful than her parents and Hugo as well is something I haven't seen many authors do with Rose before. And Molly a squib! I'm already fascinated by your interpretation of the Next Gen characters - and Ginny! This is beyond perfect.

I'm reviewing as I read for the first time, so I should probably cut this short and move on to the next chapter before you end up with an essay. Brilliant first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!

Haha, yes I love all sorts of things like that too, so now it's finished it's like give me more, give me more, I can't let it go now!

I'm so glad that you liked it because this was the first time I actually took care with my description and tried to make it work, so this chapter will always be very dear to my heart for that reason :P Yay for Rose! I already wrote the successful version of her where she's loved by all so I really wanted to write a different one because I figured it would be a lot more fun that way, so I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for this fab review, and I wouldn't have minded an essay at all! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #50, by Rose and Scorpius Death, the Spectre

8th July 2014:
George isn't that nice! Doesn't he realise that there are more people that have grown up like him?

Author's Response: Yes, he's horrible! I think he's just too selfish to think about others really which is what sucks so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>