Reading Reviews for Against All Odds
  
120 Reviews Found

Review #26, by vanityfair One Year Later

29th November 2013:
I am sitting here crying. I don't know what to do. Poor Remus and Tonks it's so sad. I thought you wrote it beautifully. It couldn't have been better. The way you just left it was really nice as it shows how we followed her throughout and we died with her. I will always remember her. Thank you for the shout out and I hope this story gets to 100 reviews as it deserves it. Thank you for this. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Maia! I am too, even if I posted a couple of hours ago, I just can't deal with it! Thank you for saying all what you did, it really cheered me up which is what I need right now. Gah, I just can't let them go but I have to and oh the feels! Thank you for being such an amazing reviewer on this story and all the others, you really made me want to update this! Kiana xx

 Report Review

Review #27, by toomanycurls Fact Rather Than Fiction

27th November 2013:
I can't believe how far behind I am in this story. -.-

Signing a letter with "love" is significant. duh, Tonks. :) Maybe she should blurt out how much she's been thinking about him. *sigh*

Tonks cracks me up. Making an entrance was just hysterical for me to read and McGonagall's dubious reaction to her presence there were incredible. They seem like just the things that would happen to Tonks.

I quite love that Tonks still carries her school years fear of Dumbledore and McGonagall. Of course Dumbledore knows/suspects their feelings for one another. That's like saying that water is wet. :D Why is Tonks still in denial?

Oh yes, just slightly in love. *facedesk*

Kiana, this chapter has me going through all sorts of feels. I just want to reach through the screen and push those two together.

Remus' reaction is less than desirable.

I didn't think it was possible, given how much time I've spent sifting through version of Remus and Tonks' love life but you've made me cry. For real tears, my face is wet. My heart is breaking for Tonks and I'm furious with Remus. gah

I'm almost scared to read on considering what your writing does to me.

-Rose

Author's Response: Rose! Don't worry about it, it just means a lot to me that you still like it.

*Sigh* poor old those two! I'm surprised they actually get it together in the end given how much bumbling they do in the end.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the school related scenes they were so much fun to do because she just seems so different there :P Tonks just doesn't want to deal with awkward romantic scenes probably :P

Gah, Remus, *facedesk and lots of cursing* he really is an idiot. Aw, hearing that from you really has made me cry too because I know how much Ronks means to you too, so yeah, a fellow Ronks fangirl understands too! ♥

Thank you for such a wonderful review, and please don't be scared it's not all bad. Well, maybe the last chapter is. ;)

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #28, by Fonzzx The Penultimate Confession

24th November 2013:
Omg I would love for you to have a kitten. I love this story so much, even though I knew it was eventually going to happen I still was on the edge of my seat the entire time!

Author's Response: Aw thank you!! It means so much to me to hear you say and has left me smiling like an idiot! I hope you like the next chapter :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by vanityfair The Penultimate Confession

23rd November 2013:
This chapter was perfect. Very sad with Bill/Dumbledore thoughts but very fitting with them too. Remus finally came to his senses and I liked how Tonks confronted him and got all angry. It was very funny. I liked the proposal too. I'm very sad though as I can guess what the next chapter is about and I don't want to think about it. I'm also sad to see the end of this story. It was very good. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Hey Maia! Perfect? Thanks a lot! Remus did finally come to his senses and about time too as it's been aeons that they've been in this blip. I'm glad you liked the proposal as I wasn't too sure about it. I'm sorry about the next chapter but it does have to happen! Thank you for being such an amazing reviewer!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #30, by vanityfair Reaction and Resolution

14th November 2013:
Very good chapter. I liked that Tonks and Remus finally made it up, it needed to happen long ago. The action scene was very good too, it was scary at times and I felt confused too with all the spells, injuries and deaths. It was good confusion though. I can't wait for the next chapter when Tonks tells Remus she loves him and that there are only two more to go. Very exciting. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Hey Maia! I'm glad that you liked that they made it up, and totally agree about it needing to have happened a lot longer ago. I can't give any hints about the next chapter but I just hope you enjoy it and the one after that. Thank you for being an awesome reviewer! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #31, by vanityfair Girl Power

3rd November 2013:
Team Tonks all the way! I just want them to be together, though I can see why they need to argue. It is so sad especially with only a few chapters left. I hope you right more about them as I don't want to say goodbye and for them to die. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Yay! I'm on Team Tonks too! I want the same too, but they're just so awkward it takes a while. I am thinking about writing more, but we'll have to see. Thanks for the great review -- you're amazing Maia!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Darian Fact Rather Than Fiction

3rd November 2013:
You should do a sequel.

Author's Response: We still have a while to go yet, five chapters, but I have been thinking of a short story/short story collection, so maybe!

 Report Review

Review #33, by SofiJane The First Meeting

24th October 2013:
Aw this is really cute! I love Tonks' clumsiness and Lupin is just as lovely as he should be :D Will definitely keep reading!
Sofi xxx

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so glad that you liked them and I hope you continue to do so! Thanks for this lovely review, and I hope to hear more from you :D

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #34, by Celestialbattlefield Fact Rather Than Fiction

20th October 2013:
Yh i kinda understand the ending ..
But i guess its annoyin ppl cus its gettin too depressin
but only 2 more chapters
so the end better ROCK

Author's Response: I'm glad that you understand it, but it sort of needs to be depressing :P Oops, I should have made it clearer, there are 2 more chapters until things are ok for Tonks again and then 3 more after that. I hope the ending does rock! Thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by vanityfair Fact Rather Than Fiction

19th October 2013:
This made me cry at the end. I feel as broken as Tonks. I am not angry at you just sad that you had to make it happy when they Remus and Tonks were so close to falling in love. If only it had happened then everything would be ok. I just hope they make it up soon so they can get married and have Teddy. Don't let them die, that would be too horrible. It was a very good chapter though even if I am crying ten minutes later. Maia xxx

Author's Response: MAIA! I'm so, so, so sorry that I made you feel like it, but yay you're not angry! In chapter 17 it should be ok again (from what I remember), so don't worry too much! Again, I'm so sorry but this is going the canon way. I really wanted to go all AU and do what you said but I had to keep it try to JK. Thank you for being a wonderful reviewer!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #36, by toomanycurls Constant Questioning

13th October 2013:
Hi Kiana!!!

I'm finally reviewing this chapter (review tags tend to kick me into action).

I really like the relationship you show between Bill and Tonks (having them as friends makes me think there should be a Bill and Tonks' Excellent Adventure). I've always imagined Tonks having a few connection points to the Weasley family and Bill is a perfect friend for her right now.

Your insertion of new magical places is awesome. It's kind of blah to hear about the same 4 places people went in the HP books so I love that you add new places and that they sound completely believable.

Bill and Fleur's relationship cuteness is really funny. I mean, they are *that* sickenly cute couple that everyone gets annoyed by and yet still loves. ^_^ (Okay, I've been that couple before but it's just a phase.)

Tonks' annoyance at people asking her how she's doing is really well done. I'm sure she got sick of it fast. I do like that she can't hide her meloncholy at missing Remus. I LOVE Tonks' independent woman mini-speech. ^_^ Makes me want to high-five her.

So, I was on the fence about Tonks being able to change her hair during this period but I do love that you specificed that she can't do her trademark pink. Nice twist.

Molly to the rescue!!! In my mind's eye she's wearing a red cape when she comes by Tonks' place to comfort her. Molly is kind of incredible. I really love the advice she gives and how she relates it to Fabian and Gideon dying.

I'm excited to see what Tonks gets up to next and where in the story you'll go.

-Rose

Author's Response: Rose! Haha, it's the same for me too :D

There should be an adventure! Or maybe just a spin-off TV programme, ah, I must repels the plunnies! Yes, at first it was meant to be Charlie but him being in Romania meant it was a lot harder, so Bill's a good alternative.

I'm glad that you liked their relationship! I think it's just the epitome of sickeningly cuteness, but everyone still loves them despite it.

Of course Tonks is an independent woman! It made me want to high-five her too! With the hair thing though, that's actually canon as I remember Harry remarking in the sixth book that she couldn't change it and then at Dumbledore's funeral when she and Remus were together he noted it was back to pink.

Bahaha, that is such a great image! Thanks for another brilliant review, Rose!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #37, by CambAngst The First Meeting

11th October 2013:
Hi, Kiana! Tagging you from Review Tag!

I liked the way you started off your story. You got some of the basic information out there without really dwelling on it or making it feel like a big plot dump. Based on a few details (Sirius being at Grimmauld Place, Voldemort's return confirmed, the "muggle gangstas" and their hoodies on a June day -- it was easy to place the story during the summer between GoF and OotP. The cast of characters you introduced were perfect for the timing and it really did feel like we were bearing witness to the rebirth of the Order.

You struck a great balance with Tonks's character. You made her seem young, eager and more than a bit naive without making her seem foolish. She obviously doesn't understand the horrors that she's signing up for because she's too young to remember much about the first war. Her enthusiasm to get involved is rooted mostly in her relationships with Kingsley and Mad-Eye, although meeting Bill and Sirius quickly adds to the impetus. The only thing I might have suggested you do differently would be to make her a bit less modern and "hip" and perhaps downplay the clumsiness a little. She's a witch, and a very good one judging by the fact that she was accepted into the Auror Department. I felt like the way you played up her hopelessness at pulling pranks and her difficulty remaining upright minimized that a bit.

Her first meeting with Remus was pretty perfect, though. You didn't make it love at first sight or anything over the top like that, which I thought was a really good choice. She notices certain things about him, enough that it's obvious that she's intrigued but not unnaturally so. Then Sirius comes along and relieves the awkward tension and the story moves along. I thought it was a great start.

Dumbledore's dialog sounded really good, which is a very tricky thing to pull off. Kudos for writing him well!

I loved what you did with Sirius's character. You gave him a lot of depth in a relatively short appearance, exploring his feelings of isolation and guilt.

I saw a few things while I was reading that you might want to take another look at:

Donít get me wrong, the Order did interesting, but all Kingsley said we would be doing now was basic surveillance work. -- interesting things?

This part of the world seemed so normal; it was hard to think that an anti-Voldemort group hanged out here. -- hung out there?

When I said reflecting I meant deep reflecting not that the my shoelaces were undone. - not that my shoelaces...

I span round to see who it was and I could immediately tell. -- I spun round

Otherwise, I thought your writing was good. The chapter flowed well and you had a good mix of dialog, narrative and exposition. Nice job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

I'm so glad that you liked the opening description and backstory because first chapters are a big hate of mine for exactly those reasons! I really love this era of the Harry Potter time scale because it just feels like the calm before the storm of the sixth book so it was so much fun introducing it!

I'm glad that you liked Tonks's character because having finished writing this during JulNo I have to say I miss writing her a lot. I see what you mean about striking the balance even further in her characterisation, which I think I have done more so in the later chapters. I'll definitely go and review it here because Tonks if the first few chapters was a little too enthusiastic!

Hahaha, that first meeting was what inspired me to write the story as I just had this vision of her doing it in my head and it spun from there, so I'm glad you liked it. I think with Tonks she's not the type to go down the love at first sight route, so it was fun going down the more obscure one! Sirius is a relieving of tension a lot in this story, so I'm glad you picked up on that.

I'm so glad that you liked Sirius and Dumbledore because they're such big characters that there's always the sense of fear when approaching them.

Thanks for pointing those errors too, some always managed to slip past me no matter how many times I edit and re-edit chapters! Thanks for the great review, Dan, it was really helpful :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #38, by oddbob The Festive Feel

1st October 2013:
very cute! great first kiss.

Author's Response: Thanks! ♡

 Report Review

Review #39, by vanityfair Constant Questioning

1st October 2013:
I liked seeing Bill and Fleur as I had missed them a lot. I hope we get to see their wedding as they were very cute. Fleur's accent was good too. Molly was very sweet as poor Tonks needed that. It nearly made me cry seeing her like that as she's too nice for it. Thank you for the mention. I love your work so it's no problem. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know I missed them too! Unfortunately, you don't see their wedding but they do crop up more! I know, poor old Tonks, I really haven't been nice to her these past few chapters. *blushes* thanks a lot, Maia, you're the best!

 Report Review

Review #40, by PitchBlue The Department of Mysteries

27th September 2013:
Uuugh I wanted to review since forever but uni started again and it's draining all my energy! Either way, it was nice to read another lovely chapter :)

I really liked the beginning of this chapter - how everything's all normal and bright, and then suddenly all hell breaks loose! Personally, I would've liked more of a build-up and a more detailed description of the battle through Tonks' eyes, but what you did also worked so kudos for that! It always felt like a really long chapter in OotP but actually there isn't a lot of time between when the Order arrives and when Sirius dies, so I guess it's good you also showed that. But man you broke my heart! Poor Tonks, poor Sirius :(

- Laura

Author's Response: Don't worry! It's the exact same thing with me now being back at school!

I'm so glad that you liked the contrast with that it was a lot of fun. I had been toying with whether the level of description had been enough or not, but after reading your comment, it might be best to go back and add some more in. I'm sorry I broke your heart! I didn't mean to!

Thanks for a great review, Laura, I hope uni becomes better for you soon!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by toomanycurls Wonders and Wishing.

20th September 2013:
You did Tonks' transformation beautifully!! I liked her struggle with who to turn to for comfort and her talk with Remus. I am glad Remus said he'd miss Tonks. At least he's admitting his own feelings to himself. I nearly teared up at the "don't cry for me" part but then I started to think "don't cry for me Argentina" and I was stuck with giggling. Despite my smash cut to Evita, their goodbye was very touching and made me ache for them.

The hype at the Ministry is just how I imagined it. A zoo that's trying to catch up on being wrong for a year+.

Only 7 more chapters? Aaah. ^_^ Can't wait for your next update.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the transformation as I was really worried about it! I know, even though I made him do that I still feel so proud of him for doing that! I'm sorry I nearly made you cry but at least you were happy!

Haha, that's a great analogy for it which I never thought of!

Thank you for this amazing review, Rose, they really mean so much to me :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by vanityfair Wonders and Wishing.

20th September 2013:
This chapter was so sad. I had tears in my eyes over Remus and Tonks. I thought she would say I love you to him but now he's gone to the werewolves I don't know when it will ever happen. So sad that Kingsley has gone too. Poor Tonks. I hope things get better soon for her. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know it's not a nice thing to say, but I'm glad that I made you cry! I know she will say it soonish so don't worry! Tonks goes down a little bit more before being up again. Thanks for this awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by vanityfair Many Meetings

17th September 2013:
The date was funny but I'm glad she made it up with Remus as they are meant to be like James and Lily. When Sirius and Andromeda met I had tears in my eyes and that doesn't happen often when reading things. It was very sweet but a shame he dies so soon after. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I agree! They're meant to be even more than Jily (lol, it rhymes) in my opinion! I had tears in my eyes writing it too, and I'm sorry about the timing of it. Thank you so much for all these awesome reviews you've left me they've been so much fun to answer! :D

 Report Review

Review #44, by vanityfair January

17th September 2013:
This chapter was very sad. Mundungus gave good advice so I hope she listens to it. Her mum is great for wanting to see Sirius as it meant a lot to him, I like that you did. Remus was very cute at the end. Nice chapter. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know, it was sad for me too :( I hope she listens to it too, but knowing her she's forgotten! Thanks for another great review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #45, by vanityfair The Festive Feel

17th September 2013:
Remus and Tonks' reaction at beginning were very funny. I liked how she was ok with it. The party was funny too especially with drunk Sirius. The kiss was the best part and very like them. I hope for more of them soon. Maia xxx

Author's Response: The kiss was the best part for me as well too. You will get some slight action in chapter 11, after that I can't remember! Thanks for the amazing review :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by vanityfair Meeting Fleur

17th September 2013:
I really liked Fleur she was nice which was a surprise and Bill was really sweet too. I like the way Tonks figures out what was Remus is. It was very like her. Even though I know how she reacts I am still nervous. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Yay you liked Fleur, I love her too! Haha, Tonks won't figure out for a while yet :P Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by vanityfair Dinner Dates

17th September 2013:
the normalness was interesting to read. I liked learning more about her Auror work and her ramblings were fun to read. Sirius' jokes about the cats made me laugh, I agree with Tonks though they are awesome. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it interesting and not boring! Thanks for another great review :D

 Report Review

Review #48, by vanityfair A Turn of Events

17th September 2013:
I think I may have died from excitement in this chapter. There is definitely something going on between Remus and Tonks if only she knew though. I would have thought the hands touching would have been a sign. I hope Remus makes his feelings known soon, but he's too quiet for that I think. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I think I died while writing it! There definitely is, but things start to really happen in chapter 7. Remus won't get his guts up for ages. Thanks for the great review :D

 Report Review

Review #49, by vanityfair Morris Dancing, Moody and Mundungus

17th September 2013:
Her parents were really cute, especially Andromeda. I wanted to hug her when she was so sad. The Order meeting was interesting, I hope the mission goes well for both of them. Maia xx

Author's Response: I wanted to hug her too! I didn't cover the mission due to paraphasing but I hope you liked what I did. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by vanityfair Muggles and Magic

17th September 2013:
I liked Kingsley in this chapter he made me laugh. Bill was cool too and I can't wait to meet Fleur. Remus is already liking her I think. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked the characters as for Remus I can't say :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>