Reading Reviews for Against All Odds
  
107 Reviews Found

Review #26, by vanityfair Constant Questioning

1st October 2013:
I liked seeing Bill and Fleur as I had missed them a lot. I hope we get to see their wedding as they were very cute. Fleur's accent was good too. Molly was very sweet as poor Tonks needed that. It nearly made me cry seeing her like that as she's too nice for it. Thank you for the mention. I love your work so it's no problem. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know I missed them too! Unfortunately, you don't see their wedding but they do crop up more! I know, poor old Tonks, I really haven't been nice to her these past few chapters. *blushes* thanks a lot, Maia, you're the best!

 Report Review

Review #27, by PitchBlue The Department of Mysteries

27th September 2013:
Uuugh I wanted to review since forever but uni started again and it's draining all my energy! Either way, it was nice to read another lovely chapter :)

I really liked the beginning of this chapter - how everything's all normal and bright, and then suddenly all hell breaks loose! Personally, I would've liked more of a build-up and a more detailed description of the battle through Tonks' eyes, but what you did also worked so kudos for that! It always felt like a really long chapter in OotP but actually there isn't a lot of time between when the Order arrives and when Sirius dies, so I guess it's good you also showed that. But man you broke my heart! Poor Tonks, poor Sirius :(

- Laura

Author's Response: Don't worry! It's the exact same thing with me now being back at school!

I'm so glad that you liked the contrast with that it was a lot of fun. I had been toying with whether the level of description had been enough or not, but after reading your comment, it might be best to go back and add some more in. I'm sorry I broke your heart! I didn't mean to!

Thanks for a great review, Laura, I hope uni becomes better for you soon!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #28, by toomanycurls Wonders and Wishing.

20th September 2013:
You did Tonks' transformation beautifully!! I liked her struggle with who to turn to for comfort and her talk with Remus. I am glad Remus said he'd miss Tonks. At least he's admitting his own feelings to himself. I nearly teared up at the "don't cry for me" part but then I started to think "don't cry for me Argentina" and I was stuck with giggling. Despite my smash cut to Evita, their goodbye was very touching and made me ache for them.

The hype at the Ministry is just how I imagined it. A zoo that's trying to catch up on being wrong for a year+.

Only 7 more chapters? Aaah. ^_^ Can't wait for your next update.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the transformation as I was really worried about it! I know, even though I made him do that I still feel so proud of him for doing that! I'm sorry I nearly made you cry but at least you were happy!

Haha, that's a great analogy for it which I never thought of!

Thank you for this amazing review, Rose, they really mean so much to me :D


 Report Review

Review #29, by vanityfair Wonders and Wishing.

20th September 2013:
This chapter was so sad. I had tears in my eyes over Remus and Tonks. I thought she would say I love you to him but now he's gone to the werewolves I don't know when it will ever happen. So sad that Kingsley has gone too. Poor Tonks. I hope things get better soon for her. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know it's not a nice thing to say, but I'm glad that I made you cry! I know she will say it soonish so don't worry! Tonks goes down a little bit more before being up again. Thanks for this awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by vanityfair Many Meetings

17th September 2013:
The date was funny but I'm glad she made it up with Remus as they are meant to be like James and Lily. When Sirius and Andromeda met I had tears in my eyes and that doesn't happen often when reading things. It was very sweet but a shame he dies so soon after. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I agree! They're meant to be even more than Jily (lol, it rhymes) in my opinion! I had tears in my eyes writing it too, and I'm sorry about the timing of it. Thank you so much for all these awesome reviews you've left me they've been so much fun to answer! :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by vanityfair January

17th September 2013:
This chapter was very sad. Mundungus gave good advice so I hope she listens to it. Her mum is great for wanting to see Sirius as it meant a lot to him, I like that you did. Remus was very cute at the end. Nice chapter. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I know, it was sad for me too :( I hope she listens to it too, but knowing her she's forgotten! Thanks for another great review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #32, by vanityfair The Festive Feel

17th September 2013:
Remus and Tonks' reaction at beginning were very funny. I liked how she was ok with it. The party was funny too especially with drunk Sirius. The kiss was the best part and very like them. I hope for more of them soon. Maia xxx

Author's Response: The kiss was the best part for me as well too. You will get some slight action in chapter 11, after that I can't remember! Thanks for the amazing review :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by vanityfair Meeting Fleur

17th September 2013:
I really liked Fleur she was nice which was a surprise and Bill was really sweet too. I like the way Tonks figures out what was Remus is. It was very like her. Even though I know how she reacts I am still nervous. Maia xxx

Author's Response: Yay you liked Fleur, I love her too! Haha, Tonks won't figure out for a while yet :P Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by vanityfair Dinner Dates

17th September 2013:
the normalness was interesting to read. I liked learning more about her Auror work and her ramblings were fun to read. Sirius' jokes about the cats made me laugh, I agree with Tonks though they are awesome. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it interesting and not boring! Thanks for another great review :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by vanityfair A Turn of Events

17th September 2013:
I think I may have died from excitement in this chapter. There is definitely something going on between Remus and Tonks if only she knew though. I would have thought the hands touching would have been a sign. I hope Remus makes his feelings known soon, but he's too quiet for that I think. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I think I died while writing it! There definitely is, but things start to really happen in chapter 7. Remus won't get his guts up for ages. Thanks for the great review :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by vanityfair Morris Dancing, Moody and Mundungus

17th September 2013:
Her parents were really cute, especially Andromeda. I wanted to hug her when she was so sad. The Order meeting was interesting, I hope the mission goes well for both of them. Maia xx

Author's Response: I wanted to hug her too! I didn't cover the mission due to paraphasing but I hope you liked what I did. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by vanityfair Muggles and Magic

17th September 2013:
I liked Kingsley in this chapter he made me laugh. Bill was cool too and I can't wait to meet Fleur. Remus is already liking her I think. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked the characters as for Remus I can't say :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by vanityfair The First Meeting

17th September 2013:
I am back again as I cannot sleep. Don't worry, I am not a stalker, I just love your work! I loved Tonks here she was lovely and bubbly. The way she fell was great. Maia xxx

Author's Response: I wasn't worrying, but thanks for these lovely reviews! I'm glad that you liked Tonks, and thanks for the great review :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by vanityfair The Department of Mysteries

17th September 2013:
I read this of yours too! Again, very good! I'm sad about Sirius but it was better that I knew it was coming. Hope for some more Remus/Tonks soonish! Maia xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back! You read AAO very quickly! You should like the next chapter then ;) Thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by nott theodore The Festive Feel

13th September 2013:
Thank goodness! I don't know why I was worried about how Tonks would react to Remus telling her that he's a werewolf (I'm going to say it's because you're a great writer rather than anything to do with my intelligence) because she marries him, but I was worried. And her reaction was perfect, because even though I didn't know what to expect it was so Tonks that I realised of course that's what she'd say. Really, I'm pretty envious of how you write her. She'd be fun to have in my head as well.

Remus's reaction when Tonks took the news really calmly was so cute. I could really tell how much it meant to him to be able to tell someone that he's a werewolf and not to watch them run away screaming. It should probably have been a warning to him that she's not the sort of person to give up when she realises that she does actually love him.

Ooh, this date is going to be interesting. Amina is such a fun character for Tonks to work with, and I'm intrigued to see what sort of person she'll set Tonks up with. And if it'll be anyone we know...

Aw, Sirius was so merry to have the Christmas party (and also because of some drinks, perhaps). I thought you portrayed his character really well in this, and it reminded me of his happiness to have Harry and the Weasleys in the house over the holidays. He's a sneaky one, though, playing matchmaker...

Pahaha poor Remus and Tonks! There's no way that their first kiss would have actually been romantic, or anything more than awkward because Tonks has got herself into another clumsy situation. And I loved how oblivious and confused she was afterwards, not understanding why she felt the way she did after the kiss. It suited her character so well.

And I can't end this review without a couple of my favourite bits:
"People didn't immediately run away screaming when they found out how weird I was. Well, actually there was this incident when I made myself look like a banshee for a laugh."
"I had one incident of being at a Christmas party, and the person I had been hugging had drunk several fire whiskey shots beforehand. That meant we were left hugging for a whole three minutes. Everyone was staring. It was horrible."
How on earth do you manage to come up with these things? They're hilarious!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Haha, I'll go with great writer too, because I'm sure you were intelligent enough to realise that ;) Aw, thank you! You should definitely try out writing her because it's so much fun and so easy to do (well, for me :P). I'm glad that you liked both of their reactions because it was rather nerve-wrecking wondering what everyone else will think of it, so hearing you say that calmed me down a lot!

Haha, it's not anyone you know and it doesn't all go to plan but that's all I'll say for now :P

I'm glad that you liked Sirius here as I'm worried I tend to be a little bipolar when I come to his character so he's always depressed or insanely happy! Of course he would try and play matchmaker.

I'm so glad that you liked the kiss because writing one for such an awkward couple as those two is really hard! I think (from what I remember) their next one goes considerably more smoothly.

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure how I came up with those lines either. I think it was just the JulNo related madness which made me want to write every single thing in my head to boost the word count.

Thanks again for another amazing review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by nott theodore Meeting Fleur

13th September 2013:
Ooh, that's a nasty cliffhanger! It's times like these when I'm glad that I'm still catching up with the story and can read on after this!

Tonks is absolutely hilarious and she never fails to make me laugh. I'm with her on so many things, especially the trick-or-treating being more fun than waiting around to hand out the sweets to kids. Growing up is no fun at all! Pahaha I can just see Tonks decking the Leaky Cauldron out with fairy lights, although I'm not sure everyone in the wizarding world would appreciate it...

It makes me laugh to see that Tonks is surprised at being able to manage a response that could be considered mature and appropriate for normal adult conversation! And the fact that she doesn't really read the papers (and might even start reading the economy section of the Prophet!) makes sense since she doesn't know that Remus is a werewolf, and you'd think she might after Rita's article the year before.

Things with Fleur and Tonks went a lot smoother than I expected them to, but I'm glad that Fleur might have a friend in England now. It's really sweet that Bill wants her to meet new people, and that her reception with Tonks was better than what it was with the Weasley women! I suppose that it might help that Tonks can change her appearance to be like Fleur's, if she wants to...

Haha, poor Tonks, as oblivious as ever. Everyone else is starting to read into the fact that she mentions Remus so often and she hasn't even noticed how much she talks about him. It fits in with her character really well.

The comments on the French restaurant and the waiter were so funny; I loved the way that you included some of the common stereotypes as well. My reaction over the bill would probably have been the same!

I'm proud of you for slipping in the bit about joint Christmas and birthday presents ;) I completely agree!

I really liked the way that you introduced Remus into the last scene and the topic of his lycanthropy, because I doubt it's something that would come up very often in normal conversation. I felt so sorry for him when Tonks started asking questions and he had to realise that he would have to tell this woman that he likes about it. As for how Tonks is going to react to it, I have absolutely no idea. I suspect something with mistletoe at the Christmas party, though!

Sian :)

Author's Response: SIAN! Bahaha, I always think the same thing when I catch up on stories with cliffies :P

I know what you mean! I almost wanted to let her go trick-or-treating just to see what craziness occurs because I'm sure it would have been great! Plus her decoration skills would have been awesome too!

I know, because half the stuff she comes out with is pretty weird so I guess it is something to be proud of. Yes, I guess she's too energetic to sit down and read something other than a romance novel, so it's left to Remus to go and deliver the news.

I thought it would be fun to make them friends as it was a lot of fun, and the whole everyone hating Fleur was a little mean so at least she has a friend in Tonks. The restaurant stereotypes were a lot of fun to include too.

I'm really glad you liked how it cropped up because deciding how to weave it into the story was surprisingly hard because it's not the most normal of topics. I know, but Tonks is very accepting so it's not all bad as you'll see. Merlin, I really did make it obvious as everyone guessed :P

Thanks again for another amazing review, Sian :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by nott theodore Dinner Dates

13th September 2013:
Oh dear. Only Tonks could start the day by opening the window and having the blind collapse on her head. Really, I'm not surprised that people despair over her clumsiness! Although I should probably apologise to her because I did think that she'd somehow caused the owl to fall unconscious too, whereas it was only Errol...

Oh, I'm really excited to meet Fleur! I can't wait to see what Tonks is going to think of her, and vice versa actually. Maybe it won't go as smoothly as Bill hopes - or it could surprise us all and they'll get on like a house on fire. I really like the way that Bill and Tonks are friends in this, because I just remembered that Molly keeps trying to set them up - or so the kids think - in the books. The fact they're friends means that idea makes a lot more sense.

It was interesting to see Tonks at work and doing more everyday sort of things in this chapter, compared to the last. It helps to give us a better idea of her normal life, and her internal monologue definitely helps to liven up something that could otherwise be quite ordinary. Dawlish is great to be mean about, and I have to say that I'm starting to hate him more than ever after reading this :P

The idea that Tonks might have glimpsed a bit more about the search for Sirius makes me laugh - it's quite lucky she wasn't involved in it, really, because I don't think she'd be as good at hiding her knowledge about him as Kingsley is! Haha I can definitely see her inviting herself to dinner at Grimmauld Place because she has nothing but mouldy cheese in her fridge - it fits so well with everything you've written about her character before!

I'm really happy you included that little comment about the emotions causing changes in appearance, because it's mentioned so often in stories with absolutely no explanation for it, and it can get frustrating at times!

I like the little hints that are included here about Remus's reactions when Tonks is around. She doesn't seem to pick up on them very much, but they're easy enough for the reader to see that he's beginning to like her. His disappointement when she said about the date was so cute!

Tonks is pretty oblivious, isn't she? I really liked the cat comment by Sirius and the fact that she has absolutely no idea what they mean by it, putting it down to a prank instead. I wonder if she'll find out soon what they mean? I'm curious about why Sirius was in a bad mood, too. It could be me being oblivious (clearly Tonks is rubbing off on me), but there didn't seem to be much cause for it, unless it was the fact that Sirius has picked up on how Remus feels about Tonks...

Great chapter, Kiana!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian!

Haha, I had to include a cameo from Errol as he's rather neglected in fan fiction, and what was better than making him appear alongside Tonks? I was really excited writing the Fleur scenes too as it was interesting to ponder how they would get along considering how different both of them are. I don't need to give any spoilers as you've already read on but I hope that you liked it!

I know, it was a little more boring to write the every day things but I thought it wouldn't be accurate if we didn't see her Auror life, I'm glad that you liked it though! Dawlish is just that one character you wish you could use Silenco on all the time :P I know, I couldn't resist adding that in because they probably did end up asking her that.

I'm glad that you liked the comment because I'm one of those people who often over-explain but at least it was beneficial this time round!

I know, it's so sad that she doesn't pick up on them because even though I make her not notice them it doesn't stop me wanting to scream at her to open her eyes. Things do start to happen in chapter 7 as you have seen though.

Bahaha I know the cat thing really did make me question her intelligence at times :P As for Sirius being in a bad mood it's sort of mixture of being pent up in the house all day, seeing Remus and Tonks have fun and the affects of Azkaban so I guess you are right!

Thanks for an amazing review, Sian!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #43, by toomanycurls The Department of Mysteries

8th September 2013:
Sirius' reaction to Moody is hilarious. I laughed when Tonks was wondering who spiked their pumpkin juice. I love that Snape's patronus was used to communicate with them. [Tangential thought] I wonder how many people knew what Snape's patronus was as it was his declaration of love for Lily. It could have been something too subtle for Remus and Sirius to connect to but they connected Harry's patronus to his dad. I'm really not going anywhere with this, it's just a thought/needless ramble.

Ninja hair?!? That killed me. ^_^ Really hilarious. I mean, my hubby asked me what I was laughing at hilarious.

I really liked their tracking spell. It does a really good job explaining how they managed to find the group of teenagers in such a dark maze.

The small signs of care from Remus are brilliant. It really speaks volumes to his feelings for her without being overt.

The duel scene with Tonks and Bellatrix was really good. I totally see her getting distracted during a duel. The last thoughts she has before conking out were amazing. I liked that Molly's cooking made it in with Sirius and Remus.

The curse from Bellatrix that you explain is amazing. I like how you've taken a known spell and made it worse in a way that seems like it could have happened.

Oh man, her reaction to Sirius' death is so sad. The guilt and remorse really got to me here. It felt like real grief (very spectacular and sad).

omg, I'm famous!! Thanks for the note in your a/n. ^_^

Author's Response: Hi Rose!

Haha, I really loved writing that scene with Moody mainly due to what happens later and it was nice to balance it out with that. I don't know, but it is something interesting to ponder over. I assume that Remus and Sirius knew, but I guess Tonks wouldn't have cared much about it to want to know.

Haha, I didn't expect it to be so funny but I'm glad you liked it! The hints about Remus in this chapter were far too much fun to include, so yay for you liking them too.

I'm so glad you liked the duel scene as I was little worried due to not having much practice writing them. I had to squeeze in the cooking to make it somewhat light-hearted.

That last scene was horrible to write, but I'm glad that you liked because it was worth going through the tears for it!

Thanks for the amazing review, and of course you deserve to be famous :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #44, by nott theodore A Turn of Events

4th September 2013:
Kiana! ♥

I've got to say I'm with Tonks on the people who manage to jog in such cold weather! :P

This was another great chapter - I'm jealous of your talent at writing humour and I think you capture Tonks' voice brilliantly. As always (I swear that you're going to get bored of me saying this in reviews) her internal monologue is really engaging and amusing, and it's probably my favourite thing about this story. She just comes across as such a real character and it's great to read from the POV of someone like that.

I really liked the way that Tonks was taunting Dawlish again, and it fits in with the fact she used to pull pranks and break school rules when she was younger. He's a character who annoys me a bit too, so I don't blame Tonks for wanting to get on his nerves! The ballerina idea made me laugh a lot!

There was great details in this chapter that weren't anything major or important for the plot (at least, they didn't seem to be - I could be proved wrong) like her opinion of Harry and the gossipy co-worker who wanted to talk to her about her latest conquest. They help to build up a vivid picture in my mind and add some real depth to this story which makes it even better.

Ah, the romance novel! Was this "Isabella ended up with Patrick not Edward" a bit of an allusion to a certain vampire series? :P It makes me laugh to think that Tonks reads romance novels; even though she can't understand why people are surprised, she definitely isn't the type I'd imagine to see reading romance. And then she goes and risks exposure by letting go of the book!

The panic and thought process as Tonks reacted to the 'intruder' was great - I felt like I was right there in her head trying to work out what to do. The moment when she realised she was actually an Auror and could take on this mysterious person was funny - isn't that one of the reasons she was recruited?

Pahaha you're right; only Tonks would stun her future husband! Poor Remus, having no idea what's happened but being stunned for being there. I may be wrong, but I think Remus might be starting to like Tonks. I'm pretty sure Tonks won't realise anything for a while since she's pretty oblivious generally. Aw, that talk about her perfect man, though! Has to like romance novels - Remus has just quoted part of the romance novel she's been reading at her. This is exciting!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian!

I find it amazing that people can jog in any weather :P

Aw, you keep on spoiling me with compliments :') Haha, I honestly don't get bored of hearing that as I love writing it so much it gives me some form of comfort that other people like it it too. I'm so glad that you find her real, because I agree, it's something I love to find in a story.

Dawlish is just a character I think everyone hates, so that's why writing Tonks is a perfect opportunity to vent my anger at him!

I'm glad you liked her opinion on things as she's a rather opinionated person so it's hard to escape it at times! Haha, how did you guess that? I really couldn't miss it out. I know, I didn't expect it too, but I knew she had to be reading so I thought it could be possible and know in my head she is an avid romance reader!

I'm really glad that you liked the thoughts at that moment as I'm never too great with panic moments! I think Tonks is one of the people who often forget things in a moment of panic, which is pretty bad given her job!

I couldn't resist that, it was just so much fun to make her do that to him! You're not wrong, but that's the only spoiler I'll give out in this response. I know, she would need Remus to be kissing her to realise that and even then she would probably still be confused.

Thanks for another amazing review, Sian! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #45, by toomanycurls Many Meetings

2nd September 2013:
This chapter kills me! I was hoping for more Remus and Tonks scenes or emotion revealing. Poor Tonks being cornered by Molly regarding her dating life. I can't imagine that conversation was very comfortable.

I like the idea of Andromeda and Sirius reuniting before his death. It gives me warm and fuzzy thoughts.

Author's Response: I'm sorry! But in 2 chapters time Tonks and Remus get a lot closer! I know, but it was so much fun to write as it wasn't happening to me! It gave me them too, and I really hope this happened in the books! Thanks again for another great review :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by toomanycurls The Festive Feel

1st September 2013:
I like Sirius' hand at playing matchmaker. I see him
having a lot of idle time on his hands being stuck
indoors.

Author's Response: Haha, me too! I think he should set up a service for it, because I'm sure he would be great! Thank you so much for these lovely reviews, they really made my day! I really hope you continue to read Against All Odds, and I would love to know your thoughts on it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #47, by toomanycurls Meeting Fleur

1st September 2013:
I see Tonks being a bit oblivious to her frequent mention of Remus without seeing what it means. I'm so sad she didn't know he was a werewolf. I thought she would have known after Rita Skeeter's article about Dumbledore hiring dangerous folks, including "werewolf Remus Lupin".

Author's Response: Tonks is oblivious to most things, so don't be surprised :P I'm sad too, but I don't have her down as a news reader so that's probably why. That's for another great review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by toomanycurls Dinner Dates

1st September 2013:
It's cute that Remus was disheartened by Tonks' date. I like to think of Tonks working on the Sirius manhunt. It seems like such a hilarious farce for her and Kingsley to be out searching for a guy they visit regularly.

Author's Response: Yeah, from this point on their relationship really begins to grow! She's not directly involved in the manhunt but Kingsley does provide some good one-liners about it! Thanks again for another brilliant review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #49, by toomanycurls A Turn of Events

1st September 2013:
I LOVED this chapter. How classic of Tonks to stun Remus on accident. There should be a Twitter hashtag for #TonksMoment. I know I'd have quite a few.

Author's Response: I loved this chapter too, yay! We need to make that hastag happen now, though I haven't yet stunned a person I like :P Thanks for another awesome review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #50, by toomanycurls Morris Dancing, Moody and Mundungus

1st September 2013:
I like how Tonks is unraveling Remus (or peeling back his layers). Mundungus is hilarious - very well written. Do you see Moody earning Tonks' respect later on? She really seemed to hold him in high regard by the time he died.

Author's Response: Yes, Remus' transformation was a lot of fun to write because I liked seeing him more at ease. I'm glad that you liked Mundungus, and don't worry, Tonks' respect does grow! Thanks for another great review :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>