Reading Reviews for A Godlike Science
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #26, by academica A Man of Letters

24th June 2012:
Hi! I'm here from Review Tag :)

This is a great piece - I really love your descriptions, the way you make small events into the gigantic impacts that they are in canon. Your comment about the word 'dark' struck me as being particularly effective in its subtlety. I also thought you characterized both Regulus and Remus well, though I was admittedly slightly more impressed with Regulus's section. (Not entirely sure why.)

Overall, this was a little confusing for me, though. Usually I can appreciate very abstract and disjointed pieces like this, but I guess I just sort of missed the point on this one, like you were a little too subtle in the references that you were making. For example, I still can't figure out exactly what was meant by the title. Care to help me out?

Overall, though, this is nice, and I can see from even this small sampling that you've got talent. It's also nice to not pick out technical errors as I go along, because I don't see too many of them here. This is a great addition to the EWC Challenge :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you like the descriptions - I R&R'd your Neville/Hannah today, and your own descriptions blew me away, so that's very high praise coming from someone like you. I may have put a touch bit more thought into Regulus' character rather than Remus' in this case, so that might be why you preferred his part.

I've managed to confuse everyone with this fic. I think I just like subtle references and feeling better than everyone who doesn't get it. xD
"a godlike science" is in fact a Frankenstein quote about language in general, which I thought was fitting for this fic. I should probably put that in an author's note somewhere.

Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you liked it. :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Cassius Alcinder A Man of Letters

21st June 2012:
Review tag!

So I had to read this a few times for it to fully sink in, but I have to say you did an excellent job of managing to convey some very deep emotions into a very small amount of space, truly making every word count.

Lupin is a very layered character, and you did a great job of capturing that complexity here. You also had grat choices of words, and it seemed to flow effortlessly.

Author's Response: Hi, tag-person~

I'm glad the word count worked for you. I think the great thing about both Remus and Regulus is that you don't often need a lot of words to convey their thoughts, because they're not dramatic people.

Thank you for your review, and I'm very glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #28, by LunarLuna A Man of Letters

19th June 2012:
Woah... I've had the re-read the entire thing three times before I could fully grasp the story. Something about the flow, it's soft and lulling. The last line is particularly stricking. The unfinished letter is intriging, sad, almost disappointing and when you get to the end the line hits you like a bullet because it's... blunt? Different from the soft, sweet melodious voice from the rest of the text. Very.. powerful. :)

I've always found it difficult to write a complete story in a few words and you've managed to deliver that in such a beautiful way, it's stunning. Honestly, this is a great work, it's beautiful and we can tell you've spent a lot of time choosing your words. Very, very nice piece.

10/10 and this is something I don't give lightly, you should really be proud of this :)

xxx

-June

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much. Erm. I was worried that the end line was a bit too abrupt, actually, but I'm glad it worked for you; I'm also glad you liked the narrative voice in general (it could have turned out a bit pretentious).

You flatter me far too much. You've made my day. Thank you so much (again).


 Report Review

Review #29, by ariellem A Man of Letters

19th June 2012:
Wow, I love the way that you can fit an entire story into 500 words, I love your imagery and I love your writing style. Seriously, this whole thing is really, really great. :)

Author's Response: You flatter me far too much, but thank you anyway, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by ginerva_molly_weasley A Man of Letters

18th June 2012:
Oh this is completely fabulous!

The writing is so powerful. Although you do not mention the name of the person in the first piece this made it even more powerful and seemed to hit home the results of his actions. There is all an overwhelming amount of angst in here which makes it even more enticing to read!

I loved the bit about Lupin afterwards. It makes him seem to be powerful in his own way because he keeps the letter and even starts to write his own. In the short paragraph you also appear to make him seem humbling too when he's taking about his wife and son.

The last line is just wow! Well done

Author's Response: Heh, I love angst, it's all I can write. I'm glad it worked for you, it was in danger of sounding like some story about some guy who sits around writing letters and feeling sorry for himself. Which it is, really, but you know.

Remus is a strange one to write in relation to his family, because he seems to be utterly ambivalent towards them. I wanted to be able to capture that in a sentence, and I guess I didn't do too badly.

Thank you so much for your review. :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by LyrisLovegood A Man of Letters

18th June 2012:
You are one talented writer!

I always envied people who can write in 500 words and make every single words count. I can't do that...I need a lot to fill my story up. I love the style of your writing, it's poetic but also haunting at the same time. It's beautifully written and the ending is unforgeable...it still clings to me, making me want to know more.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I have the opposite problem to you - I can barely write 1000 words, let alone 2-3K, so this wasn't quite as difficult for me as it could have been. However, if it had been 5000 words, I wouldn't have been able to do it in the slightest.

Once again, thanks for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by TenthWeasley A Man of Letters

14th June 2012:
Hello! Popping by from the review tag with a little something for you. ;)

I actually ended up reading this twice through just to grasp the meaning of it -- the first time through it was still cloudy once I'd reached the ending -- but your writing style is so hauntingly poetic that it's easy to get lost in the rhythm of the words and lose focus of the story entirely. I confess to doing that when reading actual poetry, too, and it's meant to be a compliment. :) There's a sort of rollicking beat to the way you wrote this, and it's very lovely. (Apologies if all coherency has flown the coop!)

That last sentence is sticking with me, replaying in my head as I'm typing out this review. I love the sort of action you ended in -- putting a scene on pause, instead of letting the screen go black, as it were. The letter's always unfinished and there's something beautiful about that.

I understand this review might not have made too much sense, and I'm sorry for it! I did enjoy reading this, very much, and I look forward to reading other things of yours in the future. Well done!

Author's Response: Hello there taggy-person!

I seem to have confused everyone with this fic. I had a rhythm in mind when I was writing this, so I'm not surprised that it's infused itself into the words. Or something. I sound really pretentious, don't I? That's a lovely compliment, by the way, and it makes me really happy you've said that because I am actually in the process of writing a poem-fic at the moment. It's a motivator, I'll tell you that much. I seem to be becoming more incoherent than you. XD

I'm glad you liked the placement of the last sentence - I was wondering if it was a bit abrupt, to be honest.

This review was perfectly coherent, and thank you so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by forsakenphoenix A Man of Letters

11th June 2012:
I'm always impressed with those who can manage to write a story in five hundred words. You must choose your words carefully, make every word count. You do so here, and you do it wonderfully.

This is beautiful and haunting. I'm left feeling empty and melancholic, thoughtful. Much like Remus and Regulus. Men of words.

Regulus's part is beautifully written. The idea of him changing the world, of doing something out of necessity, and not necessarily the need for recognition. The line 'betrayal of his ancestry' really stood out to me. We often don't think about Regulus's sacrifices and you do so in so few words. Especially the bit where you write "it's as reckless as fighting." It's all quite poignant.

Then Remus's part when Sirius deals with the aftermath of Regulus's death - that was so beautiful, too. "Knife-sharp apathy" and "soul-destroying grief" perfectly describe Sirius's emotions and it evokes those emotions within me so that I'm feeling his anger and grief, too.

It's interesting, the contrast between Regulus and Remus, the two writers. That Remus should be the one to falter with words to write. The descriptions of their settings is a nice contrast too - Remus and his family being poor, whereas Regulus comes from a family of wealth and nobility.

But there are ties between them too, Remus's part, you write about rebellion and Regulus too - they're fighting the same fight, you know? You think they're so different, worlds apart, but they really aren't.

This was wonderful, and I love your writing. I love the slight hint of Remus/Sirius (my OTP!) and now I must read more of your work. You write so beautifully.

Author's Response: Oh my God, forsakenphoenix left me a review! Sorry, I am still not over how amazing Into the Darkness of the Grave was. Ahem. Anyway.

Regulus' part was something I'd been mulling over for a while. There is an apalling lack of Regulus fic, and he is a fascinating character, because he is basically non-existent in HP and yet he manages to do so much - more than most of the Order, more than Remus and Sirius even - with so few words. It makes him a perfect subject for a story of limited word count, really.

"Knife-sharp" was the only way I could describe Sirius' particular brand of apathy. In my opinion it's a little bit inelegant, especially compared to the rest of the adjectives I use in this fic, but I'm glad it works for you.

Part of my idea was that despite the luxuries/lack thereof in their respective social classes, Regulus is far more utilitarian than Remus, which is why he succeeds while Remus fails in the letter-writing. It's a bit of a contradiction, really.I'd been a bit worried I'd gone overboard with the description, especially the whole thing about Remus' desk being 'worn down by memory'. It seemed a bit flowery to me, but apparently it works, so yay.

R/S are my OTP, too! :D
Thank you so much for this review, you flatter me far too much but I like you anyway.


 Report Review

Review #34, by hetty A Man of Letters

10th June 2012:
(wingardiumleviosa from the review tag!)

Although this was short, I felt that every word did count and I did have to reread it just to understand it better but wow, it didn't take anything away from it. I can tell just by this one shot that you're a really good writer. I love the title. It was very deep too and I like that, I don't usually read things like this but I think I might start.

I really like the ending where he sits down to write to Teddy but couldn't find the words, also is the second person is Remus and the first Regulus?

Anyway, this was a really good read - good job!

Author's Response: Hello, wingardiumleviosa!

Wow. Thanks so much. I'm glad the word count worked for you. You should totally read more angsty stuff, there are some great angst authors - definitely better than me - on here.

The people are in fact Regulus and Remus, and it's great that you liked the ending - I was worried that it was a bit sudden, myself, but apparently not.

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Violet Gryfindor A Man of Letters

9th June 2012:
After reading the reviews for this story, I knew that it would be the perfect one to read - any story that evokes such responses is definitely a worthwhile read, and I was not at all disappointed. I very much like what you have done with this story, and the fact that you were able to do all of it within 500 words (less than, when one subtracts the epigram), demonstrates an excellent talent. Rather than simply writing a short one-shot, you actually do make each word count, creating images and meaning with less rather than more.

Much of the care you take with language appears within the contrast that you set between the two scenes - the empty wealth of the Blacks against the impoverished domesticity of the Lupins - then also between the success of the writers. Regulus finds the strength to sign his own death warrant, but Remus cannot explain himself to his son. I assume that latter scene takes place before Remus leaves to join the Battle of Hogwarts because that would give both acts of writing a powerful finality. Is Remus's story the more tragic because his letter goes unfinished? As a writer, I think so. This is very much a story about writing, how mere written words can bring about change, and how an absence of words can be the most tragic thing of all.

The connection you have drawn here between Regulus and Remus is very interesting. Not unexpected, yet at the same time, I wonder why I have not thought of it before - Remus is the type of person to act as a go between, a neutral party because of his quieter state of mind (as opposed to Sirius's more extreme displays of emotion). It is sad that he feels the need to remain silent about Regulus's letter, and I wonder what kind of difference it would have made for Sirius to know of his brother's act of sacrifice. But then again, Regulus did not do what he did for glory or recognition - then, as in this story, he is a silent figure, doing what he can because it must be done.

I will stop rambling now. Reading this story was a great experience because it poses a challenge for interpretation, requiring one to read between, behind, and around the lines, and even then, it cannot capture the meaning in its entirety. It's fantastic to find someone of this much talent posting on HPFF, and I am very much looking forward to reading your other story. :)

Author's Response: So, I somehow managed to respond to this review in responding to your other review, therefore I'll have to respond to your Carelessness review here. I'm an idiot. Sorry about that.

I'm glad someone else agrees with me on the strangeness of Remus/Tonks. I've no idea where it came from, and I secretly suspect Mrs Weasley has something to do with it. Poor Remus. Well, not really, but still. I don't think I could write his grief immediately after the battle, there is far too much emotion in that part for me.

Tonks falling for Remus is a riddle for the ages, it really is. I've no idea why anyone would fall for Remus post-OotP, actually, let alone someone like her. Then again, there are people who say things like, "I want a broken boy 'cause he'll love me and he'll NEED me!" as if that's something to aspire to. Maybe Tonks is one of those people. It'd go with her being a Hufflepuff, at least.
It often frustrated me that Harry never seemed to care, much, about the life of Remus, as if Sirius and James were the only two Marauders ever. The minor characters are all far more interesting than is explored in canon, in my opinion.
By the way, I'd wondered if I'd gone too over the top with the twistedness, but apparently it's realistic. Good.

Obsession, I think, is the only way these two would get together in the first place. If she really loved him healthily, she'd try and get him to a therapist or something, rather than enforcing her presence on him all the time. There is rather a lot of selfishness in her trying to fix him all by herself.
Your perspective on who comes off the worst is interesting - I was rooting for Tonks, myself, because she has to live with this mess while Sirius is dead and as such blissfully ignorant, though I suppose she does it to herself really. I don't know. Nobody is safe from the darkness, I guess, except Mrs Weasley.

People are very messed up, aren't they? I actually partly based Carelessness on some of the Pakistani men - my grandfather included - who'd come to the UK in the '50s/'60s/'70s and get into relationships with white women (often having a kid or two along the way) and then go to Pakistan, get a Pakistani wife and try to either separate the two relationships or expect both of them to be perfectly fine with it. So if it's realistic, it's because of that.

There are plenty of quality writers on HPFF already, and ones that can respond to reviews without mixing them up. :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Elenia A Man of Letters

9th June 2012:
(Tag!)

Decided to check this other story of yours too, since the first one was so captivating. And I wasn't disappointed. Your writing really is interesting and enchanting. It's amazing that you can deliver such a strong message in such a short story! Well done!
Ahh, Regulus. He's such a curious character, I always wish JKR would've given us more information about him. I never imagined him to be that close to Remus though that he would write him a letter, but I admit it could be possible.

Was the first letter about Sirius? I was a bit confused by that, but that's how I explained it to myself d:

'He will die as a result of these words. It is as reckless as fighting.'

That was my favourite part. Because Regulus knew that before he went there to get the Horcrux, he knew he wouldn't come back alive. What made him do it?

Then the part with Remus. Such an interesting perspective, that he finds himself in a similar situation that Regulus was so many years ago. Sure, his destiny wasn't written in the stone, but it was still a huge possibility and eventually the truth that he didn't make it alive.

I loved the ending. It was heartbreaking, and a perfect way to tie this all together. Amazing.

But now I'm sad, because I've read everything from you already and I'm yearning for more! So go and write, because youíre a really talented writer and I can't wait to read more from you!

Take care!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Hello again!

Enchanting? Wow. High praise from someone as good as you; I'll have to try to live up to it.

I like Regulus *because* we don't know much about him - he's not so much a character as an absence of one. All we have is a few lines and the contempt of his brother. And I just like the idea of Regulus and Remus having a mutual understanding.

The first letter was indeed about Sirius, well done for figuring that out.

I didn't quite want to delve into the motive and so on, because I'd have no idea how to write it - I couldn't possibly tell you why Regulus decided to betray Voldemort and destroy the Horcrux. He is a strange man, that one.

I will be writing more in the future! Though not a lot for a while as I'm taking part in a fic fest over at LJ. You are far too nice to me, but thank you anyway. :D


 Report Review

Review #37, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Man of Letters

8th June 2012:
I read this over a few times because at first I didn't understand it. It wasn't that the writing was confusing because your writing is really something else. I just literally did not understand it at first. I couldn't make the connection, you know? The word count for this story is low and sometimes it's harder for me to wrap my head around things because not everything is being explained.

I really actually liked that. So after my third read it clicked in my head. I don't know why Regulus would have written to Remus of all people but I suppose they would have been in the same 'boat' so to speak. Regulus would have died only a few years later. I thought it was interesting how you connected the letters and the locket in the end without mentioning the note 'RAB' left. Also the line "he changes the world' and "he keeps the note." I really liked the connection there and just how it sounded repetitive but it wasn't, not at all.

Regulus would have had everything Remus did not but if you really think about it there are similarities between the two. But anyway, the reason I liked the "he changes the world" part and the "reckless as fighting" oh and also "necessary rebellion" because it shows they were undergoing the same process. Both changed the world. Both were reckless, Remus left his son to go fight in the final battle and did die. Regulus defied his parents and master and died in the end too. But it was necessary for both of them, they had to be part of the fight. Really interesting. I never give Regulus's character any thought.

Author's Response: I seem to have managed to confuse everyone with this fic. XD

Regulus and Remus keeping in touch is a headcanon of mine that I've secretly loved forever, and I wish there was more of these two in fic. I decided not to mention explicitly the locket note because you all already knew it and I think it would have drawn the spotlight away from Regulus and onto the note itself, which is exactly what happens in canon, and what I wanted to avoid. Anyway - I'm glad the correspondence worked for you, because the lack of information tends to confuse people.

I think what's interesting about both Regulus and Remus is that, as you said, they are both very reckless, but I don't think either of them would acknowledge it because... well, they're not like Sirius. Sirius is pretty much the patron saint of recklessness.

Thank you for reviewing, and I'm glad you found it interesting (and btw, you should totally give some more Reguluscentric fic a try! He's a fascinating character, for someone who is pretty much an absence.)


 Report Review

Review #38, by LittleWelshGirl99 A Man of Letters

8th June 2012:
Wow, I can see you must have thought about this story so deeply. I sense there's a lot of meaning behind the words- a lot of power. It really drew me in and made me think. I could feel every emotion so well, and that's a hard thing to get across in so few words, so well done! I like the relationship between Remus and Regulus, it's a nice perspective on it. I wonder how they came to know each other?

Loved reading and reviewing this :)
-LWG

Author's Response: The relationship between Remus and Regulus is a thing I've picked up from Remus/Sirius fic; I might write a separate fic of a budding friendship between these two in the future, so I'm glad you liked that kind of perspective.

Thanks so much for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Jchrissy A Man of Letters

7th June 2012:
I am having such a hard time with this. Not because it isn't well written, it is. The idea that of Regulus writing to Remus (I'm assuming because Remus follows, it as to him) to help..something? Get what out? I want t know more about that letter and the driving force behind it.

Remus, yay. He's not as messed up in this! haha! So, he did something very good for Regulus, I'm assuming. But not good in the sense that it was bad, good for Regulus and for the wizarding world. What did he do?

That's why I'm having a hard time. I want to know more! I want to know everything that he said. I know this one is for the 500 word (500 amazing words, to be exact) but I would love you to turn it into a short story or one shot!

I think you are a very, very talented writer. I want you to do more, though. You get me so intoxicated, then it's over!! It is very sad ;)!

Author's Response: I think we all had a hard time with this one. I don't know. I had a theory about the first note (I'm surprised no-one's picked up on the fact that they're all still teenagers when that one's written, BTW), but I'm not sure if I'll use it. I like ambiguity far too much.

Yay for sane!Remus! Ahh, now that would be telling. (I think I already told someone else, but still...) Maybe I'll write a prequel to this about awesome!Remus saving the world or something.

On writing more: oh, don't worry. My Teddy story's going to be so long that you'll get sick of me. :P


 Report Review

Review #40, by Thepheonixpen A Man of Letters

7th June 2012:
You're a incredible writer,
The story is short, but it holds so much meaning.
Happy to have read! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, and I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Cherry Bear A Man of Letters

6th June 2012:
I'll start with first impressions. I really like the title of this story (when I saw it in your signature on the forums, it just sort of pulled me in) and the first couple lines are equally hooking. I love your perspective that Regulus changes the world with this letter. Somehow, such a simple idea raised some really complex questions in my mind, about how there are so many minor things that change the world and we so often overlook them in favor of the major things even though the minor things can be just as important. I think that's part of the charm of this piece; each word was carefully selected and thus evokes some deeper thought from the reader, and (as someone who tends to ramble) I found that really incredible and powerful.
I was a little confused by what exactly was going on, so I read through your responses to the other similarly-confused reviews for a little bit of explanation and...maybe I get it? I think it's really interesting that you drew this connection between Remus and Regulus - it's definitely something I've never seen done before - but I would've liked to see you elaborate on it more. Which would, understandably, be challenging, considering the word limit.
I'm especially intrigued by one of your review responses (apologies for my semi-creepiness!) where you focused on Remus and Regulus' failures. I've honestly never considered Regulus' character too much, so I was really struck by this idea that he would consider his inability to destroy the locket such a failure, when the fact that he gets the locket in the first place is pretty amazing. You really managed to flesh out his character incredibly well here, considering the amount of space you had. You've left me pondering his character in a way I never have before, so very good job with that.
I also really liked Remus' half-written note to Teddy. There's just something about the ending that I love - that last, chilling sentence, "But he does not have the words" and the way he stops in the middle of the note and leaves it unfinished and just...it was just very appropriate that he couldn't find the words, because what can you say, really. It's sad, but true.
I didn't see any typos and I thought this was very well-written. Overall, a good beginning, a good ending, and a generally good middle even though it's a little confusing. I'm definitely curious to see what you could've done with more than 500 words (:

Author's Response: I can't take credit for the title - 'a godlike science' is a Frankenstein quote about language. Despite its floweriness and melodramatic protagonist, it does have some really awesome quotes for angsty fic titles.

I like that my fic made you all philosophical. I was thinking along the same lines when I conceived the idea for this, 'cause if you think about it Regulus does more than most of the Order for the war effort through this fairly simple action which can't have taken him more than a few minutes. The major things are far more romantic, though, and they make great stories; I don't think even Harry would stop to think about what Regulus really did with this note, but he'd definitely remember, say, Molly Weasley's killing Bellatrix, even though the former is more important in the long run.

I was so tempted to ramble. I love Remus an extraordinary amount, and I'm fascinated by Regulus, so I totally could have just written tons of purple prose about them both.

The similarites between Regulus and Remus are only really explored in slash fic of those two, which is sad, because as much as I adore slash the romance/sex can sometimes - not often, but still - draw the spotlight away from their actual characteristics. Perhaps I will one day write a friendship fic or maybe even a slash fic of my own between these two, they seem like a great pair.

I'm glad you read review responses, I always read them before I review any story just so I don't say something the author's already addressed. It may be creepy but at least we can be creepy together, right? On Regulus' failure: he's a Slytherin. He sets goals for himself - ambitious goals - and expects to be able to achieve them, and it doesn't matter whether he's already done something amazing if he can't reach his goal, which is in this case to destroy the horcrux. He *has* to succeed at whatever he does, in his view, and he's been socialised like that by his family to make up for Sirius' failure to be the appropriate Black heir. At least, that's what I think. I'm not sure whether that's coherent or not, but you know.

I was worried that the last sentence might seem a bit abrupt and ruin the pace of the story, but apparently not. I think Remus has too much to say to be able to say it; Regulus, on the other hand, is very utilitarian with his note-writing, which is why he succeeds where Remus doesn't. He wouldn't see the point in writing about things like ideals and feelings, because how is that going to help anyone?

Yay, no typos! I'm pedantic about typos. Thank you so much for this review, it's made my day. And I might just write more than 500 words about Regulus and Remus, so watch this space.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Yoshi_Kitten A Man of Letters

1st June 2012:
Tagged ya in the "Review the Person Above You" thread in the Gryffie CR! ;)

Ok, wow. So this was... deep. Very deep, lol. Altho I didn't [i]quite[/i] get it at first, one quick re-read helped me to understand it better. The first man was Regulus and the second was... Remus?? What I don't get tho is why Regulus would be writing to Remus. I didn't think those 2 were ever on speaking terms, lol.

Also, I didn't get what he was talking about in his letter when he said: "get in, get him, get out." If he was talking to Remus, then where was Remus supposed to be going, and who was he supposed to get? I understand that you only had 500 words to work with, but that part, to me, was the most confusing thing of all.

The thing I liked most about this one-shot tho was that it really makes you think. The emotion within it was incredible, and the descriptiveness was amazing for so few words being used! Kudos to you for taking part in this 500 word challenge; you definitely nailed it! Can't wait to see you write more stuff in the future. :)

Author's Response: Bonjour fellow Gryffie~

I didn't actually realise how confusing the correspondence between Regulus and Remus would have been until I got reviews, which is extremely stupid of me. In my head it just seems perfectly natural. I promise to ask for a beta in the future so that I don't get wrapped up in IDEAS! and TONE! at the expense of confusing readers.

I was sort of trying to keep the first note ambiguous - succeeded, unfortunately - but my favourite version of the reason for it was relating to Sirius. I had this idea that Regulus was a good person even in '75 when they were all teenagers, and that he'd secretly help Sirius escape the madhouse that is Grimmauld Place; he'd tell Remus rather than any of the others because Remus is the quietest and least likely, in Regulus' view, to do something stupid. Sirius would never find out because he'd be too occupied by the conflict between him and his parents, and Remus would never tell him. I s'pose the note could relate to anything that Blacks don't do, really. (That is an unfortunate choice of words.) But anyway. You're absolutely right, I could have and should have done that better.

Thank you ever so much for this great review, you've brought to my attention a glaring error, which is the loveliest thing ever. I'm not a masochist, I swear. :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by xxstaindrosesxx A Man of Letters

31st May 2012:
Your writing with this one-shot is really good. Very descriptive, maybe only a couple of typos.

I'm still not quite sure I understand what is going on here, which is probably just my brain not working right at the moment.

I like the end with Remus sitting down to write Teddy though and he feels as if he cannot explain to his son anything in words.

Very well written, and sorry if this review is not too helpful.

Author's Response: It's probably my fault that you're confused, it seems to be affecting everyone who's reviewed so far I think. I seem to have a habit of assuming everyone assumes the same things that I do even if they don't have the information that I do. Oh well.

I'm glad you liked it, though, and to a new writer reviews are like crack, packed full of constructive criticism or not. So thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Man of Letters

31st May 2012:
Tag.

This was really sweet and rather sad, if I add in my assumptions - that the beginning is before Regulus dies and the end is before Remus leaves.

Really beautifully written, I loved it. :)

Author's Response: Your assumptions were correct, I did sort of want to get it in those time frames. :)

Thanks so much~


 Report Review

Review #45, by CambAngst A Man of Letters

30th May 2012:
Tagging you from the Review the Person Above You thread in the common room.

This was a really powerful piece, to be so short. Because of the necessary brevity, it was a little hard to follow. I read the whole thing twice and parts of it 3 or 4 times just to make sure that I understood. In the end, it was that much more amazing.

I'm not sure how Regulus would have come to know Remus or think of him as a confidant, but the idea is really compelling. As one of Sirius's trusted friends, Regulus could have been reasonably sure that Remus wouldn't betray him to the Dark Lord. Regardless, his first message was so short and to the point that it was relatively harmless. I can only assume that the final message refers to the note placed inside the fake horcrux. This was a compelling look at how "R.A.B." came to the decision to try to destroy Voldemort's immortality.

Switching to Remus's point of view, he must have found inspiration in Regulus's courage. Regulus was everything that Remus was not: wealthy, pure-blooded, respected and close to the Dark Lord's inner circle. I assume this is what you meant by "differentiate[d], but not different". For such a man to ultimately reject the Dark Lord's teachings and sacrifice himself to try to destroy his master must have made quite an impression.

The last paragraph was heart-breaking, and said something about Remus, I think. He aspires to be what Regulus was, in a sense. He also wants to be able to tell somebody (Teddy, in this case), how he decided to face almost certain death in defiance of the Dark Lord. But he isn't Regulus, and his words fail him even though his courage does not.

Like I said, very nicely done.

Author's Response: Confusion seems to be a major problem with this fic. That said, though, if it gets you reading the fic more than once, I'm not complaining too much. :D (I kid, I kid. I'll ask someone to beta read in the future.)

In my headcanon, Regulus and Remus have a mutual understanding, seeing as they're two quiet boys who have to put up with the endless bundle of energy that is Sirius Black. Remus is also the most trustworthy-seeming of the Marauders, because he's not as loud as James or as eager for recognition as Peter, and like Regulus himself, he's reserved and knowledgeable.
The final message is in fact the one he sends to Voldie. I'm glad you found it interesting, it was in danger of sounding like a story about this guy who just feels sorry for himself and writes a few letters. Like Emily Dickinson. Actually, Dickinson's poetry and Regulus might go well together. But I'm getting off-topic.

The sort of message I wanted to get across about Regulus and Remus is about how they're very different but also, in some small way, quite similar. It's why I chose the Angela Carter quote for the epigram, what I tried to acheive by not being explicit about the perspective change, and part of what I meant about Remus thinking of Regulus as being 'differentiate[d] but not different' (the other part being that he is not different from his family in the way Sirius is, but he has been differentiated through his actions).

I think all the Marauders fail to do something they truly believe in to affect the war. James doesn't want to die, Sirius doesn't want to distrust Remus, Peter doesn't want to give up his hand and Remus doesn't, in this case, choose to receive this note. Regulus fails differently - he wants to destroy the locket, but doesn't get a chance. I think that's what I was trying to document in this fic. And now I have started philosophising because of a compliment, oops. Erm. Thanks ever so much, you've been a great help and a great boost to my ego. :P


 Report Review

Review #46, by UnluckyStar57 A Man of Letters

30th May 2012:
Wow!
This was a really compelling sort of one-shot! I had to read it twice to understand it, and I'm still just a tad confused...
Is the first man Regulus Black, and the second one Harry Potter?
The story was great, and the tone is melancholy and just fantastic.
I liked the length of the story because it was concise and fitting for the type of plot you wrote. :)
Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, I was wondering whether I'd bitten off more than I could chew for my first fic.
The first man is indeed Regulus, but the second man's Remus Lupin - Harry wouldn't have been around to witness Sirius' reaction to Regulus' death, and I doubt he'd be poor after saving the world a million and one times - but after re-reading it, I can see where you'd get that impression. He does seem a bit like Harry on a quiet day, doesn't he?
I'm sorry it was so confusing, I tend to go more for atmosphere than plot (so I'm glad the melancholy got through, at least).
The 500-word limit was actually really helpful because it meant that I couldn't talk about Regulus being tragic and consumptive and such for ages like I wanted to. xD
Anyway, thank you ever so much for your review. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>