Reading Reviews for Exceptional Circumstances
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Mary A Rather Unusual Day

27th May 2014:
Yay new Addie/James scenes!! I have been waiting for this omg

I LOVED the scene with Coco, it was so funny specially the part where Coco slaps James and he's so shocked.

I love Gus!! And same, yes, even I want a gay bestfriend. Aw, I'm jealous of Addie haha

Harry's letter kind of irritated me, tho, honestly.

And nooo, no character irritates me, all of the characters are funny and just amazing and I love them all even though James can be very annoying sometimes.

And, ooh, I want to know about Addie's tattoo omg

Lovveddd the chapter! Excited for the next one :)

Author's Response: Trust me, I know. I've been itching to write new Addie/James scenes as well!

Everyone seems to like Coco. Perhaps I can consider another cameo by her ;)

Who doesn't want a gay best friend? Especially if it's someone like Gus?

Really? I'll admit, that was one thing I wasn't anticipating. Irritated you how? Please let me know.

Ah, thank you! I'm flattered you like all of them, even James in his least-likable moments.

Ooh, I was waiting for someone to pick up on that and ask me. The backstory is (if I say so myself) quite something ;)

Thank you so much for R&Ring.

Have a splendid day,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #27, by ruthdobble A Rather Unusual Day

25th May 2014:
I love Gus

Author's Response: Gus loves you too!
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #28, by dracoismyboyfriendguys A Rather Unusual Day

25th May 2014:
Hi- absolutely loved this update, it was hilarious and gripping (look at me getting fancy) ;)
-When Coco slapped James I was like ooh get it gurl but that was brilliant, let's just hope James never finds out why he got that slap :)
-Gus was perfect, I love that he ships them as much as me haha
-Your Harry is a great dad, which I love and so that totally seems like what he would write!:)
-Addie is literally me, I loved everything especially the 'black-as-my-heart coffee.' that was perfect.
-Addie's subtle hatred of the world is amazing, and James' nature in general (the fact that he called her Choco was amazing)
Update soon because I'm loving this 10/10 +favourite haha
-Alice x

Author's Response: There's something about this review that makes me want to smile till my cheeks ache. Thank you!
-Ah, now you've given me an idea...and a dilemma. Does James find out, or does he not? Hmm...
-Gus is the fangirl here. When I find a ship name for James/Addison, he's the one who's going to introduce it into the story :)
-Thanks so much! Writing the canon characters always makes me a bit paranoid, so it's nice to know i'm doing okay.
-Haha, I really love that quip as well :D
-Ooh, subtle hatred, huh? I couldn't have put it better myself. And James is just such a lovable cad.

I'm so flattered! I'll try to update as soon as possible, though I'm afraid it can't be before June. (Guest menace!)

Lots of love,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Cie I Don't Even Like Onions

15th May 2014:
"angst ridden teenager who can't confront his own inner demons" omfg not going to lie but this line made me cry. That probably sounds strange but there is a line very similar in The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare and I am having very bad TMI feels today and I just can't handle anything. Anyway, I was reading this story when you were originally uploading it and I loved it back then but I am really enjoying the sorry a lot more now. The changes you have made are really effective and I would just like to say congratulations for getting back into writing, it inspires me to write again too.

Author's Response: That doesn't sound strange /at all/. Infact, what would you say if I told you that that line is actually taken from TMI? :D And aww, why the bad feels? CoHF is just days away now, is it because of that?

Thank you so much for your kind words. There was a time when I just couldn't imagine a future for this story. But re-reading all the reviews helped me realise how much I could still do with it. I'm glad it worked as an inspiration to you!

Much love,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #30, by mary I Don't Even Like Onions

14th May 2014:
Yet another amazing chapter. I loved it :)

Bianca's letter was cute and had me smiling at the sweet sibling relationship.

I love Hugo and his and Addie's friendship is a good sort of difference, and I love it. Also because it reminds me of me and my friends aha :P

And um- about James, I don't knowww lol. I mean I love James, but then I kind of hate him, too because he's acting like a child, though I can understand his irritation at having a total stranger at his house, babysitting him. But, yeah, he needs to chill a bit haha.

P.s. I love your author notes. They're nice and cute.

Author's Response: My dear, thank you so much! You made my day :)

Bianca is sugar to Addie's spice. Truthfully, their relationship was based off of me and my sister's.

I'm flattered you think their friendship is comparable to your real life ones :)

Ah, James. I would he's not a bad sort, but then I'd be lying. He has issues, and you'll find Addie full of unflattering adjectives to describe his behaviour. He has to resolve them, of course. One day he will. Maybe.

Love you loads,
-Akansha.

PS. Thank you, kind soul. Your lovely review was as well.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Liv Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

14th May 2014:
Love this so much, such an interestinf character!

Author's Response: Thank you so much love :D
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #32, by loony_lovegood101 I Don't Even Like Onions

14th May 2014:
I SERIOUSLY LOVE ONIONS. LIKE TO THE POINT WHERE I EAT THEM RAW.
RAWRR.
AR GREAT INTERAACTION BETWEEN JAMES AND HER.
OH MY GOSH I CANT WAIT FOR MORE.
SORRY. SUGAR IS CAUSING ME TO SEE RAINBOWS.

Author's Response: FINALLY! A KINDERED SPIRIT! A SOUL SISTER! (AND RAW ONIONS HAPPEN TO BE THE BEST OF THE LOT!)

So sorry, it's just that I've never received an all-caps review before, so I got carried away. But thanks so much, for reading and reviewing, as well as being a fellow onion-lover :D

Love and fried onions,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #33, by sour_grapes_snape I Don't Even Like Onions

13th May 2014:
Hello love, I'm back once again!

I guess I'll start by answering your questions:

*Bianca's letter was cute :) She seems like she'd be a fun, upbeat person and it's obvious she is full of affection for Addie.

*I think I've mentioned before, but I love the friendship between Hugo and Addie. It's a very cute, back and forth relationship, and I love that their friendship started halfway through Hogwarts.

*I am most definitely not an onion fan. It's more the texture than the taste. If the onions are chopped up small enough and hidden in other food, I don't mind them. Other than that, I like most vegetables and I have yet to try a fruit I don't love.

*Poor little Jamesy needs an attitude adjustment. I love him, but he needs to grow up, you know? I think he did have a point in the argument - it /is/ his house, after all - but it would have been polite to at least let Addie know he was throwing a raging party. But he's too angsty for that. Don't think I didn't catch that Mortal Instruments reference! I wonder what Jace and James would think of each other...

Loved the chapter as always! Update when you can!

Much love,

-Laura

Author's Response: Eep, I absolutely love it when people answer my question! Thanks so much, Laura!

I guess I'll reply pointwise as well-

*Bianca and Addie are my psychological case study of two people who belong to the same family, but are as unlike each other as possible- a nature v/s nurture debate if I ever saw one (btw, Psychology is my elective-could you tell? :)

*Ah, that was the one part of this chapter I'd decided not to do any changes to even before I planned the rewrite. They are just too cute.

*I'll not say anything, except, to each her own. Btw, fruits are nature's desserts. You can't not like them.

*James, James, James *shakes head* What can I say? Politeness is only possible for him when he respects someone, and thus far, Addie hasn't gained his respect. But we shall see... As for James and Jace, they'd probably have a sarcasm competition (with you as the judge). I'd love to see who wins.

You're absolutely wonderful, as always.

Lots of love, and strawberry shortcakes,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Holly_Mist Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

13th May 2014:
For some unfathomable reason, I absolutely love and adore James. Really, he's just too awesome. Funny thing is, I don't even know why I like him :P

Wee bit of a filler chapter but Hugo and James, totally made up for it! Hugo is also one of my absolutely favourites!

I can't wait to see how the story progresses from here (i don't know if it will be the same as the previous chapters so) and please don't give up on this story because the plot is just too good to give up!

I'll see you soon xx

Author's Response: First, a question: do you mean James Potters in all hpff next gen stories, or this Janes in particular? And in either case, James Potter was born-that's reason enough to love him.

The next two chapters are pretty much the same as the first version. The actual fun begins in chapter 5 :)

Lots of love,
-Akansha


 Report Review

Review #35, by Holly_Mist Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

13th May 2014:
Wha. You reposted this.
Before I begin - greetings young one. I haven't seen you around for ages! How were boards? I hope they went well :) Results are coming out soon, I presume?

On to the chapter! I certainly noticed a change in Addie, that I can say. Although, I will admit that I preferred the old Addie better, simply because I have this thing for super angry, sarcastic characters but I don't mind you changing her because I completely agree with you on the fact that there is no point writing a character you can't relate to!

Onwards to the next chapter x

Author's Response: Hello, hello! Yes, I agree- I've been MIA for too long. Boards went pretty well- Sciences rocked, Hist/Geo sucked and the rest were "meh, I could've done better." Results come out on 17th (15th if you believe the rumours) but I can't care much-we're having the annual equivalent of the Quidditch Cup in school this week.

Any...way, moving on, Addison. She's changed plenty. Oh, she's still super angry-only, she chooses to internalize it now. And sarcastic? Around James, sure. Anyway, writing about the old Addie was like trying to swim through a swamp. This isn't a cakewalk either, and new!Addie ain't perfect but, ah well! :)

Thanks so much for reading (again) and reviewing.
Love,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #36, by newgenerationlover Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

4th May 2014:
I really like this story! As I read your authors notes about worrying if Addison is likable or not now that she is rewritten, I would like you to know that I really like her character. She is very different than so many other characters on this website- especially those in humor stories- so she is like a breath of fresh air. Her surliness just adds to her charm, I think! I can't wait to read more- especially because I think some awkward encounters with James are in store ;).

Author's Response: Thanks so much for saying that! All my reviews before I rewrote convinced me that Addison just had to change. I'm glad that's working. Btw, I never thought to describe Addison as surly, but it fits, now I think about it :) And of course, awkward encounters are in store. Can it be any other way? ;)

Thanks so much for reviewing,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #37, by Spyci Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

3rd May 2014:
I can feel it having more of a plot line then before, I can't wait for the next update! It's great so far!!

Author's Response: Quite honestly, a plot didn't exist earlier-it was basically a chapter-by-chapter improvisation that moved the story forward. But I'm glad you like it ! :D

-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #38, by mary Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

2nd May 2014:
the start of the chapter was so intense omg. And haha loved the part where she blurts out about James' jeans. I LOVED the chapter xx

Author's Response: Heehee, thanks so much! And I loved writing that part as well :D

-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #39, by loony_lovegood101 Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

2nd May 2014:
Hey!
This was an awesome chapter and I can't wait for more James!
Keep going and I love Jasper :)

Author's Response: Ah, thank you, love :D And can anyone?
Jasper was inspired by my own pet Labrador, so I'm so happy you love him :)

-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #40, by Han Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

1st May 2014:
I didn't get a chance to read the first copy but I am loving this rewritten version! Highly intrigued and can't wait to see how it turns out :)

Author's Response: I'm absolutely flattered to know that. Thank you, love. And I promise I won't make you wait too long :)

-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #41, by Sofia Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

1st May 2014:
Hello! I think this story has started out really well. However, you make a few spelling mistakes which are noticeable and it takes away the credibility of the story. So maybe look through it again and correct it?
Also, you change verb tenses a lot (present to past and past to present) so I think you should choose one of them because it's a bit confusing.
One last thing! You say Allison is wearing a skirt when she's in the elevator going up to James' house, and then when she arrives you say she's wearing skinny jeans. So I think you should correct that.
I think the corrected version is coming along well. I don't remember the other one but I do think Allison is pretty relatable.

That's all! I like it!
Please update soon!

Author's Response: Hi! First and foremost, thanks for pointing all that stuuf out. I'm kinda lazy, so I don't like going through the chapters too many times, but specific comments like that help me sort out the problems quickly :)
Second, I think you maybe misread- the chapter definitely said she tugged the hem of her 'shirt' not 'skirt'. Also, it's Addison :D

Thanks for reading and reviewing,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #42, by sour_grapes_snape Inexplicable Instant Dislikes

1st May 2014:
Hi lovely! Very happy to see the second chapter posted!

I'm sure I've mentioned this before, but I love that Addison is friends with Hugo. He is a seriously underused next gen character and I really hope we get to see more of him in your story!

Addison's dream is certainly very interesting. I can't wait to read more about her past and about why she's been unemployed for a while. Very exciting things!

Oh, James. Gotta love him, even though he doesn't always act lovable, am I right?

Lovely to read your work, as usual, and I eagerly anticipate the next installment of Addison's adventures!

Much love and cake,

-Laura

P.S. Choices 11 is currently in the queue - try not to have a heart attack from the shock. I think I might update Inventing Imperfection next, but no promises on when. But I'm starting to feel inspired again :)

Author's Response: Hi, Laura! :)

A lot of next-gen characters are seriously under-used. I sometimes daydream about writing a story where Hugo, Roxanne and Lucy share a flat and get into all kind of crazy shenanigans!

Ooh, Addison's dream.there's a lot more where that came from. And boys that are lovable even when they're not (Jace, Will, Alec, to name a few)...they're just such a treat, right? :p

Thanks so much for the lovely words and your enthusiasm, love.

Much love and sweet mangoes (because it's the season for them here) to you too,
-Akansha.

PS. Your warning was too late- i've already gasped hard enough to lose my lungs. I'm beyond excited. I must go and read Choices right now-God knows I've missed James and Selene beyond anything :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Spyci Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

28th April 2014:
I like it. Whilst I have reservations due to the sudden lack of chapters, I do have to say that the story feels more structured somewhat. Please update as soon as possible! I really loved this story!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I am doing everything I can to update quickly and bring back the chapter count. I'm glad you think so and hope you love it now, too.
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #44, by marieluz Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

24th April 2014:
I'm excited to see what happens! Great job so far!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! :)
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #45, by loony_lovegood101 Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

24th April 2014:
It's great !
Keep going

Author's Response: Thank you, love! And yes, I will :D
-Akansha


 Report Review

Review #46, by dadoune Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

22nd April 2014:
I'm really happy that you reposted it! =) I like this version better and can't wait for more! Can't wait for the update!! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really happy to have done so as well! And don't worry, I have the next few chapters all written-updates will come soon :)
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #47, by sour_grapes_snape Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

21st April 2014:
Hello, Akansha, dearest!

Let me tell you, I was surprised to find this at the top of my favorites, with only one chapter. But I read it and I have to tell you, I love your revised chapter! I like the start of your re-creation of Addie and I look forward to seeing how the story moves forward.

As usual, your descriptions and details are wonderful.

Just as a side note, please don't give up on this story. Even if you don't like it, or it frustrates you, just try to finish and then move on to something else. To quote one of my favorite authors, Neil Gaiman "You will learn more from a glorious failure than you will from something you never finish." Just something to think about :)

(And yes, I realize this is coming from the girl who hasn't updated in over a year. But I'm working on the next chapter of Choices and it's almost done, I promise.)

Goodbye for now, lovely!

-Laura

Author's Response: Hi, Laura! Lovely to hear from after /so/ long :)

I think one of the best decisions of my life thus far has been to rewrite this story, especially Addison's character. I'm much more at peace with it now-I used to spend sleepless nights fussing over moving the plot earlier. So, it's really encouraging to hear you guys like it as well.

That's a really nice quote-and inspiring too. And don't worry-I'm much more determined than earlier to give a befitting end to this story.

And yay! I missed James and Choices like you can't even imagine :D (the only reason I didn't flood your ask box with tearful requests to update is because that would probably have been counter-productive >p).

Lots of love,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #48, by MarieBlack Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

21st April 2014:
I knew this seemed awfully familiar! I do like this Addison a bit more, while I am a fan of fieriness, I like her curiosity I think it's well placed in an auror. I'm interested to see her interactions with James, I feel like she will kind of set him off balance. I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Also, I like how she's friends with Hugo. You don't see that in a lot of next Gen's. Hugo, sadly, is usually forgotten.

Happy writing! xx

Author's Response: Haha, I thought it would :) And you're not alone, love. But let me tell you, Addie has lost none of her fierceness when it comes to James ;p And if James is set 'off-balance' by her, I assure you he'll do his level-best not to show it.

Ah, Hugo is my absolute favourite. And thanks so much for reviewing-you made my day!

Much happiness to you too,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #49, by suzie Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

21st April 2014:
I'm so excited for the next chapter! The plot is great to be honest. Love the chapter! :) x

Author's Response: Thanks so much, love! I'm glad you think so. And I love your review :D
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Dirigible_Plums Curiosity Killed the Kneazle

21st April 2014:
So I've seen this quite a few times before I clicked on it today. I don't regret the decision; you've grabbed my attention. Yes, I am definitely interested

Author's Response: First and foremost, thanks so much for taking the time to review. Also, thanks so much for reading- I've managed to grab your attention, you say? I only hope I'll manage to keep it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>