Reading Reviews for As Darkness Descends
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MuggleMaybe Midnight Meetings

2nd September 2013:
I just got back from being out of town (and without my computer) for several weeks, and I was so hopeful when I realized today that you might have posted something from the new book... and you did! And it is AMAZING!!!

This is a very promising first chapter. It's definitely on the dark side, but considering the inevitable end of the story, I think it's absolutely perfect.

I think you might be my favorite... I can't wait to read chapter two!

 Report Review

Review #27, by CambAngst Midnight Meetings

27th August 2013:
New Jami story in the house! Yay!

There's something about the fact that we're jumping headfirst into this new adventure that admittedly feels a bit odd. I'm not over Belle's death yet. Not by a long shot. But the feelings are still so close to the surface that it was easy to reconnect and feel as though the continuity was never lost. It seems that poor Lily feels the same way, and it makes me want to hug her that much more. I love that she's pretty much decided to kick propriety to the curb and do what she needs to do in order to feel safe and soothed. She's taking care of herself, and in doing so I think she's going a long way toward taking care of the others, as well. As always, the strength and the depth of the friendship you've created between your characters is as heart-warming as it is amazing.

I really liked the way that you wrote Lily's awakening as well as the way that James's presence helps her to realize that everything is alright. That was clever. It sounds as though you've been there before. And then there was this: Now here she was again, lying awake in a pitch black room, trying to hold herself together as she imagined the face of her best friend. If she'd only known how little time she had left with Belle... -- I think we can all relate. :(

Another line that really jumped out at me: She and James kept their curtains closed tightly against the world, partly to stop the sun from assaulting them, partly to create a feeling of security that was probably far from real. -- It's awful to realize that almost any feeling of safety in the world these characters inhabit now is an illusion.

I loved Lily's little meditation on moonlight and the stars. It was really neat to have a small moment in this relatively heavy chapter where her mind manages to escape all of the fear and grief and dwell on something pleasant for a while.

Then Sirius comes along, and the mood of the chapter changes again. I can't stop feeling awful and empty for the poor guy. This story has cast a completely different light on the character for me, and that head canon now seeps into my perception in every story I read about him. I thought you did a great job of writing him. There are shades of the old Sirius trying to peek through, but it's still way too soon. The complete lack of concern for his own well-being and the way that he just shuts down as soon as Belle's name came up seemed perfectly natural for this stage of his grieving.

James came and sat beside them, he and Sirius still going on about something, and it brought a rare feeling of lightheartedness to Lily. She wished for a moment that she could slip out of the room and to the flat across the hall, wake up Peter and Remus then send a Patronus to Alice and Frank... they could all be gathered in the living room, joking and teasing the same way they had so many times in the Heads’ Quarters. -- Oh, lord, yes. This! How I long for those light-hearted moments from the first book. I'd almost be willing to go back to James and Lily doing the awkward, "should we or shouldn't we?" dance. Almost. ;)

James is such a good friend to Sirius! It added a bit to Lily's character that even as brilliant and perceptive as she is, she can't quite get her head around why Sirius would need to blow off steam in a completely dangerous and destructive sort of way. It's a total guy thing and there was no way on earth that she should have "got it".

On to dear Bella, making her inaugural appearance in the new story. As always, you've captured that madly intense devotion she feels to her master. One kind of wonders how she would have reacted if Molly had only incapacitated her and she lived to see Voldemort fall. What would she have made of it? Most likely she would have simply lost the rest of her mind and just shut down, but there's an outside chance that she would have gone out in a ridiculous blaze of glory. That's neither here not there, though. For the moment, you can tell that she is completely in her element.

I love the way that Snape's emotional control frustrates her! There's a pattern that will persist for many years to come. Such an awesome little touch!

The initiation ceremony, itself, was wickedly intense. The Dark Lord's words were pitch-perfect for such an occasion. He plays his followers like fiddles, telling them exactly what they want and expect to hear. And then he turns Bellatrix loose on Mulciber and Avery. This ain't like joining the Rotary Club...

Awesome start, my dear! I can't wait to kick this story into high gear. Actually, scratch that. I can wait. Because I know how it ends. Whimper...

 Report Review

Review #28, by miluv Midnight Meetings

27th August 2013:
yayayayayayayayy new book:D I;m so excited! It's gonna be so good! can't wait for next saturday;) love you jami!
xox, miluv

 Report Review

Review #29, by patronus_charm Midnight Meetings

21st August 2013:
Jami! Aw, this is so exciting!

I really loved how the story started as it was Lily dealing with a death again. Admittedly, it wasn't straight after but we still got the chance to see how much she had matured in the way of coping with it, and it was all due to your excellent characterization of her!

I really loved her thoughts at the beginning for another reason too. It brought us up to speed about what had been going on really quickly and nicely done so I didn't get bored at all. I can't believe that Remus and Peter could sleep in that flat though! I don't think I ever could, so I don't blame Lily for wanting to stay with James!

I'm really glad that we got to see Sirius as I'd been curious as to how he was coping. The fact that he had turned to alcohol didn't really surprise me and the way he wasn't really coping either was no shock. It sort of paved the way to the reckless character we know in the books and that was really nice.

That was such a weird when James arrived, I'm still trying to rid myself of it! I know I shouldn't haven't been laughing at his comment about Sirius, but I couldn't help it. I really liked it though as it helped me understand their situation as to how they couldn't really be happy because there was always this guilt hanging over them.

Aw, the wedding! See, I can't even aw without feeling sad Belle's not going to be there. I can see why you had to kill her, Jami, but it would have made all of our lives so much easier if you hadn't!

Yay a Bellatrix scene! I'm really excited for them in this book because we really get to see what the Death Eaters are up to, and it'll be with people like Snape who I know well.

This was a really great intro into it with the initiation for them about to start. I really hope we get to see what it is because the way you left it did not sound good in the slightest!

A fabulous first chapter, Jami! ♥

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #30, by VeronicaOlivia Midnight Meetings

21st August 2013:
Although I must admit that I was absolutely torn when Isabelle passed, this story is brilliant. I never thought I would actually fall in love with her character but I did. And now I feel like Sirius, just without the extreme mood swings and booze. Actually, maybe just without the booze. I hope you continue writing this story, I'm really interested in the future chapters. You are a lovely writer. When I first read Before They Fall, I was a bit wary admittedly because I don't LOVE sad beginnings but I ended up falling in love with the story. THANK YOU! =] x

Author's Response: Hahahaha I love what you said about feeling like Sirius! I know what you mean! I never thought I would have been so broken by killing a character, but I still have to stop myself from adding her name in there when I talk about Lily and Alice!!

I'll definitely continue this! I usually update every Saturday, but am on vacation with family so updates won't go back to normal until this coming Saturday :)!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review; you've absolutely made my day!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #31, by soufflegirl99 Midnight Meetings

20th August 2013:
This first installment was so perfect and amazing, it makes me want to explode in a pool of feels. The description, the detail, it was all just awesome, and I really enjoyed reading it!

The way Sirius was drunk doesn't really surprise me, and I agree with James about that being the safest way. It does sound just like Sirius to want to go and do something reckless and stupid, and I liked the way you portrayed his way of coping with Belle's death in contrast to Lily and James'.

I thought it was a really nice touch that you made Lily forget about what was happening on Friday, it made it her, Sirius and James much more believable somehow, and more realistic. I can't wait for their wedding, hahah! I loved how excited Lily got about it as well, and it'll be a nice change for them in quite a dark place, and add more of a light hearted tone to the story. It's so exciting anyway, however it does make me feel so sad. Especially because if Sirius reacted this way to Belle dying, how is he going to react when Lily and James die, the rocks he cling to, and then when Frank and Alice get tortured? It makes me feel so grateful I don't have to live with death eaters around me :)

I loved the way you described Lily here (I always love the way you describe Lily) but the way she gazed up at the moon and when you said "she became this girl who wanted to sit there and gaze, sit there and dream about all these things that she probably didn’t even want in the light of day" That was heartwarming to read, and I loved the way you put that in :)

The last line was truly terrifying, and it contrasts with the newly formed Order of the Phoenix, so in basic terms, there's a good gang and bad gang! The last bit was heart racing, and it was really tense. It kept me hanging on, and was really unpredictable, because I had no idea how the death eater meeting was going to pan out.

To conclude, this chapter was both very exciting and awesome, and I can't wait till the next chapters. Also, to see what stupid thing Sirius will do.

Sophie :D

Author's Response: Hi my lovely Sophie!!!

I'm so happy that you liked how I started Sirius off in this. We know he isn't good at handling his feelings, and with something like this that he's sort of forced to face, I really want to give him the chaotic kind of way of handling it that I think he deserves.

I'm super excited to write the wedding! We know from Canon that Lily and James's will be a small one, so Alice and Frank is a chance to go a little more traditional with it :P

I think Lily is going to deal with a lot of change in this story, both her external world and internal, and I'm so excited to see what you think about it as we go through!

Hahahah our Sirius, do stupid things?! Never :P!

THank you SO MUCH for the amazing compliments, and i can't even explain how excited I am that you're continuing on in my Marauders land with me! thank you for putting such a huge smile on my face!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #32, by Padfoot14 Midnight Meetings

20th August 2013:
SO GOOD. you're ability to write all these characters is perfect. I didn't realize you had made a new book so I had kept checking if you updated before they fall. But I loved this chapter, Sirius is my favourite character and he'll never get over Belle. I love how you describe Lily and James relationship together, and you even help understand Bellatrix's twisted character. It's wonderful, I've never had insight into her mind before. I also enjoy how you describe Snape as already on her bad side. It's perfect.

Author's Response: Aww, this review has put such a huge smile on my face! I'm so excited you like this chapter, and really hope you'll like the story! I'm on vacation so I wasn't able to post chapter 2 last Saturday, but it will be posted this coming and then posting will be back to normal after that :)!

Thank you again so much for your compliments, and I'm so excited that you like Sirius in this!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #33, by Hagridlover71 Midnight Meetings

19th August 2013:
I absolutely loved the first one, and, even one chapter in, the sequel proves just as intriguing. Cannot wait for the second chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hi darling! I'm SO excited you liked the first chapter! The second will be up Saturday, and I hope you enjoy it just as much!

Thank you!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #34, by Hagrid21 Midnight Meetings

19th August 2013:
I loved this first chapter! I think its a great idea to sort of show Snape and the other Slytherins initiation and parallel that with the Gryffindors first meeting with the Order. It really makes you think that this war was fought by a bunch of kids. The decisions may have been made by Voldemort and Dumbledore but the young people you highlighted in this chapter will be the ones doing the fighting.

I'm scared about what Sirius may do when he goes on his first mission. How far will he be willing to go for revenge? An angry Sirius can be detrimental to both sides so everyone should be on the lookout.

Great first chapter. I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so, so excited you liked this first chapter! And I'm really excited that you picked up on the parallels with our group and the Death Eaters and just as they'd had their first meeting, the prospects are getting their initiation.

I really hope to do justice to both sides of Sirius in this story. Both the funny, sweet, loving man and the one who really has very little control over his temper.

Thank you so much for this awesome review! I'm on vacation so I wasn't able to post chapter 2 last Saturday, but it will be posted this coming and then posting will be back to normal after that :)!

Thank you!!!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark Midnight Meetings

18th August 2013:
I AM SO, SO, SO, SO EXCITED! I'd add on about a thousand more so's, but that would probably be a waste of letters. And now I've got myself wondering how many so's you could actually fit in a review...

NEVER MIND THAT COURTNEY! ONTO THE CHAPTER!

This is not going to be a coherent, understandable, interesting or intellectual review because all I want to do is jump up and down, clap my hands and do this excited dance that I do when I run up the stairs, dance around the lounge with a big smile on my face and run back down. I CAN'T WAIT TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!

Okay, so I love the title and the summary and this first chapter - I can already tell that it is going to be a lot darker than the first book, which I am actually really excited about I just know that there are going to be so many warm, I WANT TO HUG ALL THE CHARACTERS moments as well. And also amazing moments from your amazing villain's point of view. I also can't wait to see how you write about all the upcoming events, non-canon and canon - I already know I will be impressed!

I loved Sirius in this chapter because I loved seeing this darker side of him, which we all know he has. It was really, really interesting and I am looking forward to seeing how his character, and all the others, continues to develop. I can definitely imagine him as the sort of person who turns to alcohol and becomes reckless as a way of dealing with grief.

Also, Bellatrix's POV was amazing, as usual - what I particularly liked about this section is the fact that we got to see a glimpse of Voldemort in action and we also got see a little of Bellatrix's perspective of Snape - while I was reading this chapter, I suddenly remembered how mistrustful Bellatrix was of him in HBP.

I have to admit, I very almost started crying every time Belle was mentioned - I'm definitely going to miss her in this story and obviously the characters will do - my heart is still breaking for Sirius and Lily, especially. Sirius is really not good at dealing with grief, though hopefully the wedding will be a bright spot on a very dim horizon.

I really loved the line: “Mummy, daddy, if you two are done fighting about me...” It was nice to have a bit of humour in amongst all the sadness.

Amazing, perfect first chapter! I cannot wait for more - I can't say that enough times! And sorry for all the gushing, haha - your writing just brings out the mushy side of me!

Wow, this was an extremely rambly, repetitive review!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney!!!

I am SO excited that you like how this started! I hope you saw my post on the forums about why I didn't update last Saturday, but I promise updates will go back to normal this coming Saturday!

This is definitely going to be darker than Before They Fall, but I also think there will be more intense emotional moments in a good way. If that makes sense :P! Ahh i hope you're impressed and that you end up liking this as much as Before They Fall!

Sirius was a lot of fun for me to write in this chapter! I think because, like you said, it was a chance to really show a glimpse into the more chaotic, darker side of him. Our poor Sirius :(

I get super sad when I realize I can't include Belle in any of these scenes :(. I mean, I realized that when she was gone, she'd be gone, but I didn't think about how bad it would feel to not be able to include her, you know? haha, I'm probably sounding like a crazy person.

Thank you for this amazing review, Courntey! I'm so happy that you're still enjoying my Marauders, and really hope you'll like this book as much as the first ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #36, by DracoGal Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
Love the start! I couldnt wait for the new book and now it's here! Eep! :)

Author's Response: I'm so excited that you like the start!! I'm sorry I wasn't able to update last Saturday, but this coming Saturday updates will go back to normal :)!

Thank you!!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by Owlpost68 Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
I am sooo excited. As much as this sequel is sure to be heart wrenching, and sad, or to be dark, evil and horrifying, it will most definitely prove to be heartwarming, full of love, and leave us in no doubt that love is so much more powerful.

The moments with Sirius and Lily reminds me so much of my own youth, and then the moment with James and her reminds me of my own feelings for my boyfriend, when she runs her fingers through his hair, and holding him. Even describing how picking out dresses with Alice (almost said belle and alice...:( ) reminds me of doing that with my own girlfriends when one got married, and it hasn't even happened yet!

The one typo that really stood out was just a wrong word again, and that was inhibit, when talking about the vacant apartment, the word would be inhabit.

Of course the last part with the Death Eaters definitely brought that sense of, this is just beginning, but like I said, the love for each other is so much stronger, even when there's sure to be disaster.

I love the title and the summary! I'm sure you've heard this already, but it always needs repeating. I can't wait to see what banner you'll find :D

Great job sweetie!

Author's Response: Hi darling!!! I'm so happy getting to respond to your lovely reviews!

I honestly had a few moments in this chapter where, when I was typing about Alice and Lily doing stuff together, I almost started typing Belle too :(. This is definitely going to take me time to get over/used to.

I'm so excited that the moments in this and the feelings between L and J could draw on recognition of your own! That's always a huge deal to me, because I love when I read stories and go, 'oh that's just like___' so it makes me so excited knowing I could do the same for you!

Ahh thank you for the typo!! I'll fix it asap!

YAY I'm so excited you like the title and summary! I stressed about them SO MUCH, haha!

THANK YOU ♥


 Report Review

Review #38, by Harrysavesme Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
This chapter was great, a perfect continuation of the last story! I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: I'm so excited you liked this chapter! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and review! I'm no vacation, so things have gotten a bit crazy, but I'll be back to posting every Saturday this coming weekend :)!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #39, by Morgana Tales Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
FINALLY! I have been waiting for this to happen. The first chapter was fantastic, and it wasn't happening too much further from everything that had happened in the last chapters of BTF. The characters are still the same as always, and I loved them all in this chapter. They are still amazing characters, and I feel that I miss Belle just as much as they do. I am excited to see what you have in store for us, so I will be patient and wait for every update. I love this story already, and I know it has great potential. I mean, it is written by you! So don't let me down Jamie. :P

SEE YOU ON SATURDAY, MORGAN.

Author's Response: Morgan!!! I'm so sorry I wasn't able to update last saturday! I posted a status about it on the forums, but I'm currently visiting family that I haven't seen in a few years so things are super crazy on my end! I'll be posting chapter two this coming saturday, though!

I'm SO excited you liked this first chapter, and that you still miss Belle. I don't want to just let her go, if that make sense. I don't think it'd be realistic for them to just be able to move on like it was nothing.

Thank you SO much for your sweet compliments, and I really am going to try so hard to give them what I think they deserve for this book!

Thank you again ♥


 Report Review

Review #40, by True Author Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
Yay! First!! :D

It's really a great start, Jami! I can't believe a year passed since BTF began (according to Lily, I mean) and things have changed so dramatically. Anyways, this seems a bit darker from the first chapter and my heart aches to know what's gonna happen. =[

I loved the title and the summary by the way! It suits perfectly to the situations and the characters.
Can't wait for more!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Ashwini!!! Sorry about the lateness of this response! I'm so much busier on vacation than I am at home, haha!!

Ahhh I'm so, so happy you liked the first chapter as well as the title and summary!!! I spent so long obsessing about everything being just right, haha!

Thank you SO MUCH for being my first review, and I can't even explain how much it means to me that you're sticking with me for book two!!

♥ Jami


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>