35 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AC_rules green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
Aha, my favourite parts of this were definately the first two bits... not to say the rest wasn't up to your usual beautiful standard because it was, it's just that the first two bits seemed absolutely perfect.

The second bit, ahhh. You're actually JK and that's actually what Severus was thinking wasn't it? Thats your secret, yeah? You have some special key with which you PEEL all your wonderful ideas (I'm sorry, really I am... but it's developed into a thing now. Ican'tstoppeeling). Seriously though, that bit was just so perfect and wonderful and beautiful and... yeah. Other synonyms of that nature.

As a James/Lily writer and hardcore fan, I did really enjoy this... but then I didn't expect anything less.

It was lovely :D

AC

Author's Response: Helen! Thank you for all your reviews. Seriously, you are AWESOME. Perfection is hard - don't hold me to that high of standards. :P

Haha, I wish I was actually JK. That would be awesome. It was really, really interesting to write that death scene and I'm glad it seemed in characterization for you.

I'm still a James/Lily fan, don't worry! But I still can't get over how many people liked this fic despite not being Snily fans - SO HAPPY! :)

Thank youu, love!


 Report Review

Review #27, by slytherinchica08 green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
I loved your choice of wording in this oneshot as it really added to the picture that it was painting for me. I thought this was beautifully done and really was beautiful even though I ship more James/Lily this was a wonderful oneshot none the less and I love that in the afterlife she did decide to forgive him because he was her best friend and I really cant see her staying mad at him over that one word (hurtful yes but that's just not lily in my mind). I think you did a great job writing this piece and enjoyed it very much! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thanks! Choosing my words is very important to me. I'm somewhat of a perfectionist when it comes to my writing.

I'm a James/Lily fan too but I'm glad you took a chance to read this Snily. That word was definitely a breaking point in their relationship but I imagine Lily felt bad about the severance of their friendship, especially after spending all those years in the afterlife and having time to think about everything.

Thank you for such a lovely review - I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #28, by SexyDoorFrames green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
This was amazing, truly wonderful. You have such a poetic way of telling the story that it comes across so beautiful and perfect in whatever you write. Severus death was heartbreaking and so was the 'so are you.' It just broke my heart. And the ending. Wow. That was just amazing. The descriptions you write are breathtaking. The words just flowed together perfectly. This was just so sweet. I don't really read this ship a lot, but you've made it so wonderful here that I couldn't help but enjoy it.

Thanks so much for a wonderful swap :)

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much. I was actually a bit worried I was losing that poetic quality to my writing so I was hoping it would be good enough.

I actually felt very little sympathy for Severus, even while reading the book, but Alan Rickman's portrayal and that whole montage of memories really came across to me and fueled the idea for this fic a bit.

I don't read much of this ship either, but it was written for a friend who is a huge Snily shipper so I had to try my hand at it. I'm glad it's so well received by everyone.

Thanks for such a lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by SiriuslyPeeved green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
I am just about dying of happiness right now. (pardon my fangirling!)

Severus's death was written so beautifully and it was heartbreaking. The dialogue is just lovely and completely in character -- and I'm glad you gave James & Sirius a happy ending in the afterlife as well.

You've inspired me to get my own romantic Snily chapter done! Thanks so much for the review swap, I'm very glad I stumbled across your post when I did; it totally made my day to read this.

Author's Response: I am totally okay with fangirling!

This was my first attempt at writing a Snily, and it made me really nervous so happy reviews make me feel like I'm not a complete failure.

Severus's death was actually the first part of this that I had written, so everything else kind of fell into place around that. I knew that I wanted this to take place in the afterlife because it goes along with a storyline in my afterlife series (if you can even call it a series). In those fics, James and Sirius get together so I couldn't not include that in here. :)

Woo, I wish you the best of luck in getting your chapter done. I'm glad I could motivate you! Thank you! Your review made my day too.


 Report Review

Review #30, by Elenia green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
(Tag!)

Wow, this was so beautiful. I really enjoyed reading this, it was very different from the Snily's what I've read before, in a great way.

I really liked the idea, I can easily picture Snape's afterlife being something like this. Such a great idea.

I loved your descriptions and the images you managed to build here, they made this a very enchanting and gorgeous one-shot, it felt very complete and well-thought. Amazing work.

Glad I picked this one and can't wait to read more of your work!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Well, I am always up for shaking things up a bit so I'm glad this was a little different for you.

I really wish we all could have something like this when we die - the opportunity for forgiveness and absolution for things we did in the past, to get the chance to be the our soulmates. This is an outtake from two stories that I also wrote in the afterlife, so it really fit in well with what I had in mind when I wrote those.

Thank you for your kind words about the descriptions - I tend to get a bit flowery sometimes so it's nice to hear that it isn't necessarily over the top.

Thanks so much for the kind review! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by shadowcat2 green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
This was beautiful. I can't really describe how amazing this story. It was poetic and mesmerizing. Thank you for writing such a lovely story.

Author's Response: Aw, you're making me blush. Thank YOU for such a lovely review. :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by Tonks1247 green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
Awww! I don’t even know where to start with this review, other than the fact that I absolutely adored this story! The title was brilliant, along with the quote at the beginning. For some reason, I find it really cool when stories start with a quote that sets the stage for the story. It’s a really good way of introducing everything and the quote is really pretty. The banner was also amazing! It’s just so beautiful…really great!

Onto the story itself, I loved it. This was the first Snily story I have EVER read. I have read stories where there is a mention of it, but never where the main focus in on Snape and Lily. I think that’s mostly because I’m pretty strict with cannon pairing, but I think this could be a new up and coming exception! Especially with the way you portrayed their relationship! I love how you had Lily waiting for Snape on the other side, while still including some of the end of Snape’s life. It was just a really neat way of organizing things and it really gave me a good taste of Snape’s character. It melted in nicely of your portrayal of Lily, which was also fantastic!

The other descriptions and dialogue in the story were also fantastic! The words flowed together really nicely and made it easy to sink into the story. I really did enjoy the story! And as a last note, I’ll share two of my favorite quotes from the chapter:

“This is not possible. You’re dead.” Lily’s fingertips traced the sharp angle of his cheekbone, feather-light, like a lover’s caress. “So are you.”

“He thought perhaps things would be different here, that they could finally have in death what they never could have in life.”

No idea why they were my favorites, but they really caught my attention! Great job!
~Grimmerz

Author's Response: T.S. Eliot gets all the credit for the title and the quote. I LOVE using quotes to help me with inspiration to keep the story going. Yeats is my general favorite, but for some reason The Hollow Men really stood out to me for this fic.

I'm glad I could be your first Snily since this is the first Snily I've ever written! I'm usually a hardcore Lily/James shipper but I made mention of this ship in my afterlife fics and I thought I'd give it a try as an outtake.

I actually thought about including more scenes from Snape's childhood growing up, but I didn't want to make this too long and I thought little sentences here and there that would give us clues worked best.

You don't know how happy I am to hear how much you liked this story. :)

Those are great quotes you picked out. The second one was actually added somewhat last minute before I sent it off to TenthWeasley for editing, so it might not have ever been there!

Thank you so much for the kind review. You're the best!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Moonyxluna green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
This was so lovely! Snape/Lily is one of my favorite parings and you did such a beautiful job here reminding me why. The characters were so beautifully written and the idea of Lily waiting for Severus when he dies is just heartwarming. Brilliant work on this!

Author's Response: To be honest,I was freaking out that Snily readers who read this and ask me what on earth I did to their favorite pairing, so I'm actually really happy with the response so far.

I'm such a sap and Snape has been dealt a pretty unlucky hand of cards in life, so I figured he deserved some happiness in the afterlife. :)

Thank you for the review, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #34, by academica green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
NOPE, NOPE, writing a review RIGHT NOW because I can't not do it. Putting my thesis aside and doing it nowww. Ahhh.

You've written my Severus, and my Lily, and they're so perfect. I can trace the delicate way in which you've handled them, placing them gently here into the scene. The imagery really accentuates it, particularly the way in which you've dressed Lily in the lightness of spring and sunshine and surrounded her with the breath of life that her old friend so desperately craves. I can just imagine him, having struggled on his own for so many years, finding his rest in such a perfect way, here in the afterlife with Lily. There doesn't need to be heaven or hell, only peace.

Also, I love that you tied this to A Cold Heaven, because you know I love that, too, and because it means that I know you didn't make them perfect just to satisfy me. They fit together because of what happened in the other story, and I don't feel guilty or misled along any sort of primrose path. Yes, perhaps they belong together romantically here, but for me, the greater triumph is watching them return to the innocence of their childhood, when it was just Lily and Sev and no one else to complicate matters. Everyone is happy, and everyone is home, and God I hope my afterlife is so kind.

Perfection. I feel like you and Jane and Susan all worked together behind the scenes to wrap up this perfect, beautiful gift for me, and I'm eternally grateful to you all. Thank you!!

So much love for Snily, and for you ♥

-Amanda

Author's Response: Your self-restraint is astounding! But I'm glad you decided to read this; I was nervous for your reaction, that I ruined your favorite ship.

I don't even know how to respond without gushing about how thankful I am for your support of my writing, for giving me the chance to play with Snape and Lily and write this for you.

The setting was perfect for them, I think, and it really helped me set things up for this story.

You know, when I was planning ACH I'm not sure if I ever really thought about having Lily wind up with Severus, but it worked out well, and lent itself to this story. I don't feel guilty this way either. I really wanted to go back to that innocent childhood of theirs, so I'm so happy it works well here. I wish all of our afterlives can be this kind.

You deserve this present a lot, for being a good friend, and a reward for all your hard work this year. Thank YOU for such a fantastic review, and so much love for you too!


 Report Review

Review #35, by daliha green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
Wow... it's the sweetest Snily I've read. I loved the imagery throughout the story, I mean I wish I could write with such detail! This was amazing and when you referred to James and Sirius I just thought that the friends I didn't get the slash hint until the end :P

And I'm still aww-ing at the last line. (If I keep reading stories like this one I'll become a Snily lover)

(Ps: I loved the title)

Author's Response: It's so sappy my teeth hurt from how sweet it is. ;) I didn't want the imagery to be too over-bearing, so it's great to hear that it was well-done. I definitely tend to write in different styles depending on what I write, so this was a bit of an exercise in getting back to my older style where it was a tad bit more flowery and poetic.

I love that last line! I just imagine Snape and Lily walking hand-in-hand to go home for the rest of eternity.

I'm totally not a Snily lover, but this was certainly really interesting to write and I can sort of see the appeal.

Thanks! The title came from a couple of lines of T.S. Eliot's poem, and I thought they went so well together.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>