Reading Reviews for Portraits of Courage
  
184 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Toujours Padfoot Remus Lupin

23rd May 2012:
Oooh, I love that quote you used at the beginning.

Oh, Remus. I just want to hug him. I can tell that Minerva has a particular fondness for Remus, and it's not hard to understand why. He's like other boys his age in that he can be a bit impulsive, quick to please his friends, and appreciates a good laugh. But he's gone through so much more than his friends can imagine, and it's made him older. It's made him wiser. He processes information quickly and makes decisions slowly, and I admire him for it. I just freaking love your characterizations! It's not fair that you nail every single one of them right on the head! I'm so envious.

I don't think it's a mistake that Remus outlived every single one of his old friends. He's cautious and practiced. His judgment isn't always flawless, but he was a survivor. And when he was ultimately killed, he died a hero. He was such a quiet and unassuming man that I don't think he would ever consider himself a hero, but I think Minerva would. And now I'm wondering what was running through Minerva's mind when she saw generations of her students running through the Hogwarts corridors, dueling against Death Eaters. Fighting alongside Remus as well as students who'd freshly turned seventeen... *shudder* Talk about survivors. Minerva's a machine, man.

I just keep analyzing the characters, don't I.

ANYWAY~ Loved this chapter, as usual, and I hope you update soon! I very much enjoyed reading. :)

- Sarah

Author's Response: It's a good quote to live by. :)

I think we as readers have a lot of sympathy for Remus. The poor guy has gone through so much and lost a lot in his life. I want to hug him all the time! I love writing Minerva and Remus together. She definitely thinks of all of them fondly, but at least in my fics, she likes to sit down and drink tea with Remus all the time. ;)

Haha, well, thanks. I've heard fantastic things about your characterizations so it pleases me beyond belief that you like my characters so much. I'm actually really awed by all your comments on this story.

It's sad that he's outlived all of his friends, but you make great observations about his character and I see that too - the reservations, the cautiousness. It's kept him alive.

I don't even know how she did it. She's seen so many of her students die in both wars and yet she still remains steady, level-headed. Machine, indeed.

I'm glad you loved it. I hope to update soon too. Peter's next on my list. :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Toujours Padfoot Sirius Black

23rd May 2012:
Okay so when I first saw this story I thought that it was about literal portraits, just hanging up on a wall shooting the breeze or something, but this is so much better.

SIRIUS. ♥

If you couldn't tell from the penname "Toujours Padfoot", I hold Sirius in a very high regard. I've seen many, many, many interpretations of him and I am SO FREAKING PLEASED to see that you see the same Sirius that I see. Loyal. Impulsive. Boyish. Cracking jokes to cover up all of the darkness he's been exposed to. He's fierce and bold and he would lay down his life in a heartbeat for any one of his friends; his friends, who continue to prove to him every day that blood is unimportant because they, who aren't related to him at all, have been more of a family to him than his real family. I despise the snarky playboy version of Sirius with a fiery passion because I don't think he was that way. I think he was a troubled young man who made the most of a life he went out and grabbed with his own two hands, while Regulus made the best of the life he'd been given without trading it in for a new one. So this chapter, these characterizations, are so in tune with my own head canon that it's like a feast for the eyeballs. I just want to sit here and devour chapter after chapter because everyone is so perfect, it's like it's been ripped from the pages of something JKR wrote.

So to keep playing a broken record here, I love this story and this chapter is my personal favorite because I love, love, LOVE how you handled Sirius and Snape, and how they reacted to each other. And to blabber on some more, I loved how everyone scattered when McGonagall entered the fight scene and how Snape gave Sirius lacerations but Sirius inflicted wounds no one could see. It says a lot about both of them.

OKAY ENOUGH RAMBLING, I MUST KEEP READING~

Author's Response: Heh, I guess I can see where the confusion comes from with the title, but I'm glad you like this better! :D

Yes, Sirius. My favorite too. I can tell you're a huge fan and I am SO FREAKING PLEASED TOO that we share the same head canon. I love it! You describe my perfect Sirius.

Haha, every time someone compares me to JK, I'm just like...do you guys need your heads checked? But ah, thank you. That's the biggest and best compliment ever.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your lovely reviews on this story. Guess I need to update soon!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Toujours Padfoot Lily Evans

23rd May 2012:
OH MY GOD -ROLLS AROUND ON THE FLOOR IN A MESS-

McGonagall! She's so outstandingly canon. And I am such a mess right now. Everything about Minerva is so dead-on, and you managed to climb right inside of her head and just, gahhh. I FEEL EMOTIONALLY EXHAUSTED RIGHT NOW. I feel so horrible for Minerva, she must feel so evil. She has no choice but to think of the wider scope of things, to put personal relationships aside. There is sacrifice in war and it's like she's selling Lily the poison that will save a number of nameless, faceless others. But that's hard to think of when you've got a person sitting in front of you who is barely a woman, who you've seen grow up since she was eleven years old. That would be such a struggle. I admire Minerva so much that she's able to keep herself together while she's preparing her beloved students for a bleak future. And Lily and James's love, so innocent, could be compromised.

Oh my goodness, are we going to get to see Severus and Peter's inductions into the Order, as well? Severus's would be so emotional.

You are a wonderful writer. The characterizations, the diction...they are such poignant moments. I'm finding myself reflecting all of their emotions of pride and fear.

Author's Response: Shall I mop you up, my dear? :)

Eee, I am so glad you love my McGonagall. She is just such a fantastic character to write. I love her. I am feeling mighty accomplished by all the emotions you are currently feeling - that means I did a good job writing it. It's just so sad - everything about this era - the death and loss, and the fact that they were so YOUNG. I can't get over it. McGonagall must have a will of steel to get through that.

We WILL see Peter and Severus (though Sev will probably be written a little later on), so don't worry. :)

Thank you so much for the compliments. I am incredibly pleased that you are enjoying this story so much and my writing. Eeek. You are wonderful. Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Toujours Padfoot James Potter

23rd May 2012:
So I died when James said, "Always." Seriously, this is my ghost typing this review.

I am just in awe of your writing skills. These chapters are so brief but they pack such a powerful punch. Especially that last bit about McGonagall feeling responsible for them, knowing she should protect them, but it's impossible to do so because she's just invited him into a risky operation. I cannot imagine the torment she must have felt when the students she personally roped into the Order died. They knew what they were signing up for - or at least they thought they did - but still, that guilt. It would be hard to look at someone like James, writhing around from itching powder on his back, and seriously ask him to risk his life to save the wizarding world. Once again, it reiterates how understaffed Dumbledore's side is. They need all hands on deck, no matter how young and inexperienced. And at this point, they're placing the highest value on those who are brave, unwavering, and loyal. I think that the war must have made all of them grow up very fast. I think it's what turned James from that writhing boy in his chair into the man who told Lily to take Harry and run.

ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. :'(

I was supposed to take a break after this chapter and eat, but the next chapter is persuading me to click it. I'm so glad I decided to pop over to your page!

Author's Response: Well, hello, Sarah's ghost. Nice to meet you. :)

Oh, shush, you're making me blush! I can't get over how much I love writing McGonagall in this story and all the feelings of guilt she's enduring just to recruit her students into a war they'd probably wind up fighting in some way or another anyway.

It seriously makes me want to cry every time I think about James and Lily and how /young/ they were when they died. I just can't get over it when I think about all they had gone through, raising a family during a war, and fighting for their lives. It's so heartbreaking how fast they had to grow up. They were only 21, they should've been thinking about having fun and hanging out with their friends.

You should've taken a break! My chapters aren't going anywhere. Thanks for sticking around to read and review them all. :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Toujours Padfoot Molly Weasley

23rd May 2012:
Gahhh! I feel so horrible for Molly. She is forever trying to keep her family safe and her family is forever trying to rush off into battle. It's amazing that by the time Deathly Hallows rolls around, she's not a complete nervous wreck. I think you showed her protectiveness, her fears and her love so magnificently here. I also like the characterizations you've given to Fabian and Gideon, and it's really made me interested in them. I wonder why I haven't read many stories about them before? I like how Gideon is more blunt and direct and Fabian is the one who tries to settle Molly's fears, as if speaking in a quieter voice will make her see things the way he sees them. It would be so frustrating. No one ever tells Molly anything, and what she is told inevitably worries her. She just can't win. And now she's joining up with them, with five sons... :( So many feels.

Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: I know! I adore Molly and the strength that she has as a mother. She's fantastic. I haven't read many fics about Gideon or Fabian either, but I would certainly be interested to! See how other people characterize them - if they're anything like Molly, who is so fierce and protective of her family. I think they would be, as evidenced by my portrayal here.

Thanks for reviewing, Sarah! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Toujours Padfoot Alastor Moody, Gideon and Fabian Prewett

23rd May 2012:
!!! Oh my goodness, so much to chew over. You gave me goosebumps again, I'll have you know; the bit about Bill and Charlie running around upstairs really struck a nerve. And with Molly pregnant with Fred and George...it's just so insane to think that they're on the brink of a terrible, terrible war and they have no idea that the next generation is still going to have to deal with this. After the first war ends and everyone thinks they have peace, Voldemort and the Death Eaters come back and this time it's Bill and Charlie, the same kids who'd been running around upstairs, and Fred and George, who aren't even born yet, who will be the ones fighting. And Fred will join the ranks of those who gave their lives for the cause. I think that the only one who wouldn't be surprised about any of it is Moody.

This chapter really made me admire Moody. You showed that he's not some paranoid robot. His fears all have a foundation, and no amount of sugar-coating is going to make him forget that his fears are grounded in reality, in experience. He knows what he's up against. At this point, the younger Order members are more or less tools to be shaped into what the older ones need them for. It's all a part of a bigger picture, a greater design and defense. There's a sort of romantic light all around it because they're in a world where the rules are murky and your footsteps can be easily erased. Yes, the Order is good, but so is the enemy. Both have brilliant witches and wizards who are good at what they do, and that's why it takes two generations for one side to finally win.

I also appreciated how Molly was kicked out of the kitchen and wasn't told anything; it reminded me of OotP when Molly wouldn't let Harry or the others eavesdrop, wouldn't give them any information. If they'd all been honest with Harry from the start, he probably would have realized that Voldemort never really had Sirius. I know she did it out of love, but protecting Harry ultimately killed Sirius. It's just fascinating, all of these dynamics, all of this history repeating itself.

This is just amazing. Continuing on to chapter 3!

Author's Response: Goosebumps are good! At least it tells me I'm doing my job. ;)

Oh my gosh, I know how you feel. It's kind of surreal, isn't it? Imagining them as children, so oblivious to the war going on outside them, and then later on, it's them fighting in the war, risking their lives like those before them. I couldn't even imagine being Molly either. Burying her brothers and then later, having to bury a son too. :(

I really wanted to show Moody as a person, here, not as you said, like a robot. I know he comes across a bit crazy in the books, super paranoid, but you have to imagine all the things he's seen that we don't even know about that made him this way.

I think the most difficult thing about war is that both sides always think they're right, you know? People believe so wholeheartedly in their cause that they're willing to die for it.

You make a good point about Harry being left out of things. It makes me sad to think about all the what could have beens. You can't erase the past, but you'd think they could learn from it.

I'm so happy you've enjoyed this story. I suppose that means I should update it soon. ;) Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Toujours Padfoot The Phoenix Rises

23rd May 2012:
:O

I've been wanting to read something of yours for ages, and I'm so excited that I chose this story to start off with because I've already got goosebumps. And oh my, you've got my brain buzzing. For some reason, I never really dwelled that much on the fact that in OotP, Cornelius Fudge was so afraid Dumbledore would build an army. I chalked it up to Fudge just being paranoid and ridiculous, but now I can see why he thought that might happen because it's perfectly reasonable to suspect that history might repeat itself.

Back in the first war Dumbledore recruited, like, half of the Order through his own school. Frank, Alice, Sirius, James, Lily, Remus, Peter - taking people who'd just graduated and converting them into revolutionaries. It's dark and frightening, but also remarkable, and it says a lot about how short-staffed Dumbledore's side must be if he's reaching into his pockets for comrades.

I really like your take on how the Order of the Phoenix was formed - it's very realistic. Your characterizations of Dumbledore and Minerva were also right on-key. Well done! I'm off to chapter two!

Author's Response: I'm so excited to finally see you on my author page! :P

This story festered in my mind for ages before I finally got around to writing various pieces for it. I'm slowly working on getting more written for it, but Steep & Thorny is my priority right now. I'm glad you took a chance on it - it seems to be a fairly popular choice.

You make a really good point in your comments on Fudge's fears, and I'm glad my story made you stop and think about what the Order really stood for and how it came to be - how many students he actually recruited. Part of me thinks that Voldemort did a lot of recruiting kind of on the sly and by the time Dumbledore realized how outnumbered they were, he did the only thing he could think of - he recruited bright, young students to play soldiers in this war. I'm sure they all had their uses, they were all needed for their bravery, but at the same time, it's really sad thinking about how young they died, or lost their friends and families.

Thanks for your comments on my characterization. Dumbledore and McGonagall are notoriously difficult to get in-character so I'm always worried when I write them.

Thank you so much for the kind review. I look forward to reading your thoughts on the next chapter.


 Report Review

Review #33, by EvannaBlackthorn James Potter

2nd May 2012:
Wow.. Once again, I'm left awe-struck at the quality and sheer brilliance of your writing. I must ask, where are you finding these quotes? They're amazing and I really like how each one fits each chapter and each character so well. I know I have said this before but I am in forever in love with your characterisation and I adored the little bit at the end where Minerva feels like James and the others are her own children. I personally, always thought she was particularly found of them so its nice to see that here. I love the last line as well... It's almost heartbreaking. Once again, awesome work and I can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I actually just did a google search for quotes about courage and found some excellent ones that really just spoke to me about each of the characters. Eee, thanks. I'm so pleased that people are enjoying my take on these characters. McGonagall is definitely a difficult character but it's been a lot of fun playing with her. I imagine she was very fond of them as well, despite their penchant for mischief. I hope you come back to the next chapter soon. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #34, by AC_rules Sirius Black

8th April 2012:
Ah, this chapter was wonderful. I think Minerva's characterisation gets more potent and wonderful with every chapter that I read and then I can't help but start to think, well, how much it would have crushed me if JK had killed her - she's such a steadfast and strong character and, well, I don't think I could have stood it. I think I'm attached to her as I am to,say Hagrid.

OH NO. I JUST REMEMBER. I was too engrossed in my last review to peel myself away from talking about how great your story was to mention the word peel. Now I've ruined my Missy-reviewing traditions.

I'm so sorry. :(

AC

Author's Response: B'aww, you're so sweet. Minerva has been one of my favorite characters to write throughout this little collection so it makes me ridiculously happy how much you love her. I think I'd be crushed if she had died too.

I was actually going to say something to you about the lack of the word 'peel' in your last review - it's very sad. :( You said it twice in this review though, so that should make up for it!

Thanks for the review, dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by AC_rules Lily Evans

8th April 2012:
I probably could have skipped reading the chapter and just put PERFECT CHARACTERISATION in this box, given this is you we're talking about, but I'd be missing out in not reading it so that wouldn't have been any fun at all.

Oh, Lily. I love the whole simplistic and original concept of this story and it both warms my heart and makes me want to go hug something inanimate object to my chest and not thinking about the fact that, well, they're all going to die.

Owh. Lily and James are veryveryvery cute though, which I love and well... the whole thing was just fabulous as always. You know I loved it. I couldn't have not loved it :)

AC

Author's Response: Hehe, you and your characterization! I would've been sad if you didn't take the time to read this chapter too, so I'm glad you did.

Gah, I know, right? It's really hard to write them this way, all innocent, courageous, brave children because we do know their fate. I think that's the sad part about Marauder-era stories.

I love James and Lily so it made me very happy to include a little bit of them in this chapter. I'm so, so happy you loved it. That makes me happy too. :)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Cassius Alcinder James Potter

5th April 2012:
Review tag!

As usual, this story continues to be excellent, and maneged to pack a lot of emotion and a life changing event into a small amount of space.

The characterization was excellent. We could sense how conflicted McGonagall was knowing that she needed everybody she could get for the order, but being very reluctant to have to put the students at risk when she wants to protect them.

James was well done as well. We could see just how young the Marauders really were at the time, but how they were thrust into danger right away and forced to grow up before their time. We can also see how he's still a bit reckless, but he's willing to risk everything for his friends.

Another great addition!

Author's Response: Hey,

Thanks for continuing to check this story out when you catch me in the review tag - I really appreciate the fact that you want to keep coming back.

I really wanted this collection to be short pieces that really moved the reader and made them feel a connection to the characters that I was writing about. It's also giving me the chance to write about characters I don't often get a chance to (not counting the Marauders; though James, Lily, and Peter aren't my usual characters either).

I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed my characterizations. McGonagall has been really interesting to write, and sad, as well. It's difficult for her to walk that thin line between authoritarian and her motherly affections for those children.

I think we often forget how young the Marauders were during the war and I like to remind readers of that in my stories. He is a bit reckless, but he's fiercely loyal too, which makes him a great candidate for the Order.

Thank you so much for your kind review. :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Owlpost68 Remus Lupin

1st April 2012:
This story collection. I just don't know what to say. You've captured everyone so well, ESPECIALLY Minerva to see and feel what she's going through, and what she's been needing to do. It's heartbreaking. But all of them are so brave, this is the perfect story that describes the Resistance Perfectly. Thank you for such a wonderful story!
I've read some chapters before, they're wonderful too :)

Author's Response: Ahh, thanks so much for your kind words. I always worry about writing unfamiliar characters so tackling McGonagall was pretty nerve-wracking but it's easier to write her when she's integrated with characters that I'm so familiar with. I'm so glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for stopping by! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Cassius Alcinder Remus Lupin

25th March 2012:
Review tag!

This looks like another great addition to the series, and I can picture these events playing out exactly as they would have happened in canon.

The characterization was very well done. Despite his young age, Remus seems very similar to the tired man we see in the books, as if his condition has made him age prematurely. It makes us really feel bad for him, seeing his limited options and the danger he must face.

Minerva wa perfect as well, especially the inner conflict she feels at wanting to protect her students and look after their best interests, but at the same time being forced to ask them to do dangerous things.

This flowed very well, and was very insightful.

Author's Response: Hey there, glad you stopped by!

I'm glad that this seems canon to you. Even when I write AU things, I like to incorporate canon details so that's important to me.

Remus is definitely a lot more world-weary than his peers, given his condition. I do feel bad for him, and like you said, the lack of options he really has available to him. It's a tough life.

McGonagall is definitely conflicted between doing what she knows she needs to do and keeping her children safe. It's a very tough job that Dumbledore has given her.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #39, by AC_rules James Potter

20th March 2012:
Ah, hello characterisation queen. Is there anyone you can't do? I love the motherly side to Minerva that you're able to bring out without making it seem forced and, well, unatural. I really liked that.

Plus, the way you wrote James made me realise once again how young he really was. I guess it's making me think about some of the people I know who'd be that age and then... fighting a war. But his loyalty to Sirius and Peter, well you couldn't PEEL THEM AWAY (I appologise, I just thought that as I say peel a lot in your reviews I might as well make it into a thing. See if I can leave the world peel in every review I leave you? Yup.)

Oh, dear.

Anyway I love this story so much. It really is fabulous and wonderful and a little perfect :)

AC

Author's Response: Ah, stop it. I'm not that good. I'm actually terrified at trying a lot of characters, which is why I have yet to really stray from my comfort zone. I'm trying, though.

I really loved writing McGonagall's motherly side. She always seemed fond of the Marauders and I can't imagine her being cold and heartless as she basically sent these students off to death.

It really is sad when you realize how young they were when they joined the war, how young they were when they died. Hahaha, I'm going to hold you to that whole peel thing, just you watch!

I'm glad you like it - I love your reviews so much. Thank you for your kind words. :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Aderyn Lily Evans

19th March 2012:
Hi again :)

It seems I'm reading this story backwards. But, it still works, since most of these chapters can be read on their own.

I really like the Lily you've created here. She is, on the one hand, so brave and responsible for her age. But on the other hand, she's still very much seventeen. She worries about her clothing, and about James, and blushes often, showing that she's self conscious. Those conflicting sides of her personality really bring her to life in a way that's not often done in stories that I've read.

Again, you have some wonderful lines. This one, I love: Weíre not here to discuss the perfection of your uniform, Ms Evans. It is comical, on the one hand, but also signals a change in Lily's mentality. Minerva says it, and Lily becomes more mature and composed.

I'm starting to really pity Minerva. She has to do such a difficult task, in asking the students to fight, when she knows it will only be horrible for them. Her maternal feelings for Lily, especially add an extra layer of pain. Yet at the same time, Lily's desire to help and to fight against evil is what causes Minerva to be proud of her. It's an interesting paradoxical situation that seems fitting.

I'm really enjoying reading this story. And I wish I had some critique for you, but I really can't seem to come up with anything that doesn't seem overly subjective. Great job.

Author's Response: Hey there! Sorry about the delayed response - school is super busy, unfortunately, and I do what I can when I can.

I used to read a lot of Marauders stories and a lot of the times, Lily is often portrayed a little bit like a Mary Sue. I guess I was just trying to get the point across that she's still a normal, teenage girl despite her pivotal role in the war.

Yeah, that line you pulled out, I meant for it to signify a change in the direction of the conversation. That Lily wasn't there to be reprimanded for something as frivolous as her uniform being out of place or whatnot, so I'm glad you picked up on that in Lily's composure.

It is so easy to feel pity for McGonagall in this situation and that's kind of the point, you know, to see her in this sort of motherly role but at the same time, knowing what happens to these kids and the responsibility she must bear.

I'm really happy you're enjoying this story! It was sort of a little side thing that I had been planning for years that started when I visited some JFK museum or something and found that quote.

Thank you so much for the lovely reviews. They are much appreciated. :)



 Report Review

Review #41, by Aderyn Sirius Black

19th March 2012:
Hello, I've reviewed the next chapter of this story in the past, so I figured, when I saw you had posted on review tag, that I'd review this story again.

This fits well with what I remember of the next chapter, and this story in general. It all really begins with the same goal-Minerva must ask them to join- but it goes so many different places. You do a wonderful job with Sirius's character. He seems to be almost two people, or at least to have an interior and an exterior. On the one hand, he's charismatic and a Marauder, but on the other he's conflicted about his family and deeply loyal.

This line in particular I liked: Sirius is all dark shadows curled around too many childhood secrets.

It really sums up what I feel is a part of Sirius that most students don't see. Besides James, Remus and Peter, Minerva is probably one of the few to see it.

Great job with this chapter. I think the title definitely sums up what this story is about. It's a series of portraits and character studies that add up to a whole picture of the war.

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad you decided to come back!

Yeah, basically each chapter addresses McGonagall's relationship with each student, her thoughts and feelings as she asks them to join the Order. I think this is my favorite chapter. Sirius is one of my favorite characters and to be able to write him at this point in time, so vulnerable and unsure, it was great.

That's one of my favorite lines too and definitely something he tries to hide from most people.

Thank you so much. I'm so happy you're enjoying this collection of mine, and thank you for the lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by marinahill The Phoenix Rises

18th March 2012:
I've heard many many good things about this story so I'm glad to be able to finally read it :)

You have the measure of both Dumbledore and McGonagall very well. Their dialogue felt so easily in character, and I loved how this sets up a plot. Here is the birth of the order of the phoenix, aptly named as you've shown here. Though they both seem apprehensive, they're not afraid to fight and to stand up for what they believe in.

A lovely opening chapter. Your characters are wonderful :)

Marina

Author's Response: You have no idea how excited I am to hear that you've heard good things about this story. :)

Dumbledore and McGonagall are certainly difficult characters to write, so I'm always terrified to tackle them. It felt necessary to include them here, and I write more of McGonagall in later chapters as well.

They are both apprehensive, but they know what needs to be done and they're both strong-willed enough to be the ones to put it into action.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by ScorpiusRose17 Remus Lupin

6th March 2012:
This chapter flowed nicely as well. It was easy to read and to follow. Your characters stayed on point rather then jumping all around in the story.

You didn't falter in your depictions of Remus or Professor McGonagall.

I really liked how you stayed true to Remus and his insecurities. You made him well rounded, yet as astute as ever.

Professor McGonagall was a shining star in this Chapter. They way she wants to remember her "Gryffindor Boys" as they are was a wonderful insight to her character, which is mostly over looked in some stories.

Your doing a great job with flow and characterization. Continue the great work you're doing! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: I'm glad that you find that I'm staying consistent throughout my story. That's important for me and something that I strive to maintain.

Remus has always been one of my favorite characters and he's so complex. He's strong and resilient, he must be to deal with what his life has become..but at the same time, as you said, he's definitely insecure, especially about his place in the future. So it's nice that Dumbledore and McGonagall can offer him this, at least.

I loved writing McGonagall in this story, to see how she views these boys as her own and her heartbreak at sending them off to war.

Thanks so much for the kind words and the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #44, by ScorpiusRose17 Sirius Black

6th March 2012:
I really liked the way that this chapter flowed. It was easy to read and easy to like.

When it comes to Sirius and your portail of his Characterization is spot on. He's the angsty teen yet wise in his own way with his loyalty and determination.

Professor McGonagall was great as well. I like how you could feel her annoyance between both Sirius and Snape. She also showed her abilty to question everything and then question herself for why she even thought that way to begin with. The last paragraph was wonderful. I can simply see her thinking this.

You have a very nice story here. =)

Author's Response: These chapters are meant to be short and easy to read. I know how tedious long chapters can be so this is sort of an exercise in short, quick writing for me.

I love Sirius as much as I love Remus, and writing him as a teenager is just so angsty and ahh, I just love him. :)

McGonagall is definitely annoyed, not so much because they're fighting (but that too), but because it's hard to fight a war when you're fighting the war inside your school too.

I'm glad you've enjoyed this and thank you for such wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Aderyn Remus Lupin

11th February 2012:
Hello, I'm finally here for your review! Sorry that this took so long for me to get to. Between writing (both essays and fanfiction) and real life, I was pretty busy.

On to this: I really enjoyed reading it. I think that you picked a unique point in Remus's story that is absolutely vital to who he is, but often glossed over. I also liked that you told the story from Minerva's perspective. While it would have been interesting to read it from Remus's point of view too, I think letting her tell it allows the reader to view the danger and the gravity of the situation more clearly.

The mood of the whole piece was well crafted. You manage to contrast Minerva's love for her students and her sadness at asking them to help and her pride when they accept, with Remus's young eagerness and resigned anger over being a werewolf. I know that was a lot of contradictions, but there are so many emotions present in the piece, which I think you convey well.

There was one thing that seemed odd. Minerva calls him Remus. In the books, she normally calls students by their last names: Mr. Potter, Ms. Granger etc. I do remember though, that she calls Harry by his first name on several occasions though, so maybe her fondness for the Marauders makes her call him Remus. But then again, she tends to call students by their last names when they're in trouble, and as often as the Marauders were, wouldn't Remus think it odd if she suddenly stopped doing so. Just a suggestion, but maybe she could keep calling him 'Mr. Lupin' beyond the first bit and then shift somewhere in the middle of the story, when she feels more empathetic towards him?

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this. I think that the emotions present were really the most engaging part of the story. I particularly love one-shots that are more like snap-shots in that they describe a specific moment in time in great detail, but don't finish the action. These little insights work best with canon characters because you already know how the story ends for them, and are wonderful to read. Great job with this gorgeous, touching piece. If you want me to read any more of these, I'll be glad to!

Author's Response: I understand that life can get busy so don't worry about it. I've obviously taken a little while to respond.

I'm glad you liked it. It's definitely an interesting time in Remus's life to write about, but it fits with the theme of the story. All of the students are told from McGonagall's POV because I think she has a lot of say about her role in this story.

Thank you! Minerva brings a lot to each chapter and it's hard for her put these students in this position, but she knows that it's necessary. She thinks fondly of them but she knows that they're the best hope they have to win this war.

Hm, I guess I can see your point on Minerva calling him Remus. I guess I didn't think about that. I'll look at it again and change it if you think it's necessary.

Thank you so much for your kind words on this piece. I'll rerequest for another chapter soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by LittleWelshGirl99 Lily Evans

10th February 2012:
I'm really enjoying these stories. They all tie up so neatly, so perfectly. Each one has had this amazing stream of thoughts running through it, showing such depth of character and amazing writing.

Of course I never really thought about how joining the Order of the phoenix was sort of a death sentence. It must truly have been hard for Minerva, having seen so many people die in her time, to ask Lily and James to join.

This was so thoughtful and...beautiful. I'm in awe :D

Really enjoyed it.

LWG

Author's Response: I'm really glad you're enjoying this story! I have a lot of fun writing it.

Yeah, I didn't really think of it that way either until I started writing this and really thinking about how young they all were and how so many of them ended up dead. War is all about death and tragedy.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by charlottetrips Remus Lupin

10th February 2012:
Does it seem like weíre just stalking each other?

Ooh, another fantastic quote. Iím actually just taking a moment to savor it and really ponder the true meaning of it and how that can actually relate to me. And just so you know, Iím actually favoriting this story because itís classic to me. The fact that Iím favoriting a WIP is monumental, I must tell you, because I hate reading/watching anything thatís WIP. I obsess that the author might quit writing it and Iím left hanging forever. Or I fear Iíll end up writing fan fiction on a fan fiction work!

Now, back to the story at hand. Minerva and sugar in her tea kind of doesnít make sense to me, I must say. Well, maybe it does for this younger version.

Remus seems to be quite at easy with the daunting McGonnagall and considering that itís Remus, then it goes to show how much rapport the two have built up in his time at Hogwarts. I guess with her knowing his secret and not being put off of it, it helped a lot. Though, as Minerva points out here, Remus would constantly be second guessing it.

Now Iím close to tears, just really realizing what Minerva is asking of Remus, of all her children and how sad it makes her that she asks this of people she truly does love.

Author's Response: That's because we totally were. Or at least I jumped on the opportunity to keep reading Bend or Break. :P

The quotes I chose for this story are all excellent, and I'm really pleased with the selection. :)

Thank you for the favorite (and for opening up discussion on TGS!) I can't promise anything, but I will try my best to finish this story when I can. Steep & Thorny has my attention right now, and another WIP that I am starting to plan, but I'll try to add Peter's chapter over break!

Haha! Do you think sugar is too sweet for our stern McGonagall? I guess I kind of do picture her more of a black tea kind of girl, but it seemed fitting in this story for her to just sit there, stirring sugar into her tea. I don't know.

I think there's definitely a sort of familiarity between McGonagall and Remus, with all of the Marauders, really. She's not so scary when you've felt her wrath numerous times, I'm sure. I can just imagine Sirius joking around with her while she's trying to dole out punishments and Remus merely rolling his eyes.

But yeah, it also helps that she knows his secret and that she's so accepting of him. I think it helps to know that her and Dumbledore have faith in him too, to do something this dangerous but knowing that it's for the better good.

It really is sad. :( I think after Peter, I'll be done with McGonagall for a while, but it was really nice to be able to write from her POV as she basically sent her children off to war.

Thanks for stopping by and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by ariellem Molly Weasley

9th February 2012:
YES! I was so excited when I noticed this chapter was about Molly and I was not let down, you have captured the emotions of a worried sister, a worried mother and yet at the same time a fighter! And you rolled them all into one.

I take my hat off to you (if I had one that is).

Author's Response: Aw, yeah, Molly is one of my favorites and I'm so glad you loved her chapter. She is definitely a sister and a mother, and she's got this fierce protectiveness to her. She's like a momma bear.

Thank you so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by AC_rules Molly Weasley

9th February 2012:
Oh, Mollly :(

I want to hug her little cotton socks untill the wars over. I've never really thought that much about Molly during the first war, not properly, and thinking about having her two brothers fighting it just seems like an impossible situation. Because, her children were too young - she's too important for /them/ for her life to be sacrificed, you know?

Anyway, this was another lovely and wonderful chapter which I really enjoyed. I loved the whole thing about the pins too, it's really like... I just think its a really lovely orginal idea. In fact, this whole story just reeks of orginality and I love it :) :)

-AC

Author's Response: Aww, Molly. Heh, cotton socks. I want to hug her too, especially knowing she ended up losing her brothers to the war. She's definitely a mother first and foremost.

Thank you, and I'm glad you like the idea of the pins! :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by charlottetrips Sirius Black

9th February 2012:
Hee! I read the quote with the last part of the name blocked out so I was thinking ďOh, wow, Voldemort was actually quite wiseĒ and then I moved my mouse over and saw it was Voltaire. Lol

Ah Minerva, you are so wise. The overriding sense of fierce protectiveness she has for all kids, even Severus, and knowing that she needs to make sure theyíre prepared, without overriding prejudices and anger. She has Sirius completely nailed.

I love how she just tells him to stop sulking. I love that word and I really feel like that describes young (and quite often, old) Sirius well. :P

I, for some reason, got totally choked up when Sirius insisted that the Blacks wasnít his family and that the Marauders were. He is loyal isnít he? It took a lot for the Blacks to cut his ties to them.

Ha, even Minerva thinks Sirius is smexy.

Author's Response: Haha, I love that you thought it was Voldemort. That makes me giggle.

Minerva is definitely a wise, old woman. She is such a motherly figure and she wants to care for her students as much as she can without being overly affectionate. I love that she can read them and know them so well.

Sirius does like to sulk, doesn't he? Ah well, Minerva can get him to straighten up.

B'aww, that line. It's just so Sirius. He may have been born into the Black family but family isn't always related by blood and I love that he recognizes that in the Marauders.

Der, of course Minerva thinks Sirius is smexy...everyone does! ;)

Thanks for the review, love. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>