Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
240 Reviews Found

Review #51, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter nine

27th January 2013:
I loved Spy-like Hermione, it was funny to read and definitely something I would do, something everyone in a situation like that should do. :P Even the Pink Panther song, which is now kinda stuck in my head.

I'm enjoying the slow interaction between Draco and Hermione. It's changing ever so slightly each time, a small step forward and there are still plenty of moments when they're still the same, but still changing. I like that it's slow.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Ah yes, spy Hermione. As a muggle I can see her knowing the tune to Pink Panther and humming as she goes along. Honestly this review has made my day! I'm really glad that you are liking how slow I'm taking things but yet still developing them as I go. I was hoping that people wouldn't think that I was taking things too slowly. Thanks for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #52, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter eight

27th January 2013:
Oooh, I was wondering what parts of canon would stick, I was so curious as to what would happen between Hermione, Lavender and a knocked out Ron. I was still thinking he'd say Hermione's name, but no, it was Lavender's. Big whoa moment.

I'm glad, though. I like that, as it says Draco/Hermione, that Ron will more likely be the protective best friend that I'd love to read about him, rather than a jealous wannabe boyfriend. That would be just one big set up for heartbreak.

Really enjoying this story. Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks for another wonderful review! There are a few things from canon that I'm keeping and others that I'm tweaking a bit to fit the story better. And this is one of those points that I felt it would be best to tweak a bit. It helps to bring things to the dramione point in my story and continue to get Hermione over Ron. I'm glad that you liked my changing it a bit. Thanks so much for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #53, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter seven

26th January 2013:
I think I'd feel the same as Hermione about Valentines if the guy I liked was with someone else. I've never cared about the holiday in general, but getting Hermione's POV and her anger for the holiday made me kind of want to hate it with her.

And Malfoy, so stubborn. Given it's a Dramione pairing, I am really trying onto guess how they could get to that point, but he just doesn't make it easy. :P I like that.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Draco definitely doesn't make things easy thats for sure! But some how, some way they do get to that point. Only time will really tell just how they get there and what happens to them. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #54, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter six

21st January 2013:
Hey again. :)

Even in the books/movies Ron and Lavender's relationship. Not in a really bad way, but she was so clingy and possessive, that it was a little scary and weird. Now, reading it in Hermione's PoV rather than Harry's, it's more so, you know. Because she's the one who likes Ron, so it's going to be worse reading the relationship. You hate it because Hermione does. And Lavender's just scary now.

I really enjoyed this chapter. I liked that Hermione was able to get away from everything with that trip to Ireland. And Draco's little cameo made sure we didn't forget about him. Wel, who can forget Draco? :P

Loved it.

Sam.

Author's Response: I think that I'm missing a bit of the review as it begins with saying something about ron/lavenders relationship but I don't know what exactly. I'm glad that you felt this chapter was still good even though nothing really happened. Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #55, by academica chapter twelve

19th January 2013:
Oh my gosh, I didn't even notice that we were at the end of sixth year, but it definitely makes sense, wow!

Okay, I know I just said that the relationship was moving too fast, but that scene in the library was too cute. I think those are the kind of little moments that I want to see more of, especially since they're so different from the usual scenes of kissing and heavy physical activity that I often see in romance stories. It actually made me really want to skip ahead in the chapter to their next meeting!

I really like how you tied this into canon with Draco "standing up" Hermione because he was injured. I can only imagine how she will react when Harry tells her exactly what happened.

This is shaping up to be really good. I'm glad I came by to read more. Thanks again for the swap :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Yes the end of sixth year is upon us and now things really start getting interesting. I really like adding in small really cute awe type moments. Honestly I would rather not focus on the heavy stuff at all though we shall honestly see where this story will take me in the future. I don't have any plans for anything too major to happen but the characters have a way of making things happen themselves. Draco standing her up was something that had to be done for multiple reasons. One being that I'm trying to keep this canon so I still want to add in those major canon events such as Harry coming close to actually killing Draco. Another was more for Hermione to sort of see just how much she was enjoying the sort of friendship that they have and starting to understand that maybe she wants more. I'm glad that you are really enjoying this and I hope that you come back for more! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #56, by academica chapter eleven

19th January 2013:
I have to comment that it seems like the speed of the relationship took off a little too fast for my liking in this chapter. I sort wish it was done from Draco's perspective instead of Hermione's, just so I could understand why he wanted to share a table with her and why he was so nice to her in Hogsmeade.

I also felt like Draco's behavior was a little back-and-forth in this chapter. He seems to shift a lot between teasing her cruelly or trying to get her to leave him alone and being nice to her or revealing his feelings. It was weird that he told her that he couldn't divulge his secret there at the end and then basically told her everything in the next breath. I really loved how you were taking this story slow before, and I'd love to see you continue with allowing little moments between Draco and Hermione to build up to a real connection.

I did like how Hermione thought about everyone else pairing up and wanted a boyfriend of her own. It helps set up the upcoming ship and adds a sympathetic layer to her, based on all that has been going on. I also think it was good to include just to remind people that Hermione isn't just a star student, she's a real girl with real feelings!

I'm on to the most recent chapter :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: The whole point of this story is to take their relationship slowly and I think at sometimes I may have just gotten really excited to get to their relationship that I might have added in some stuff that really should have been saved for future chapters. When I do a massive edit of the story I will look into this review more and see where exactly I can slow things down and work on building them up more. I've also tossed around the idea of writing this story from Draco's pov so my readers can get a better understanding of him and all of his actions but at the moment it is only an idea. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #57, by academica chapter ten

19th January 2013:
I think this review is going to be a little more critique-heavy, just because I noticed a few things that were a bit "off" in this chapter. Hope that's okay :)

Some of your phrasing feels a little bit awkward. For instance, try to limit the amount of times that you use "as" to join two clauses, like when you're describing what creeps Hermione out about the Restricted Section. That might be better if it was broken up into two separate sentences. I'd also try to limit how often you start sentences with "being," like you did when talking about the sunny day. It almost makes it sound like Hermione is the day in that sentence, which could be a little confusing. I used to only use really long, complex sentences in my writing, and a reviewer or two pointed out to me that sometimes short, succinct sentences are better. I think a lot of the time, that can be true.

I think this chapter would benefit from a little more of a build-up as to why Hermione would feel sympathy for Draco. He's hurt her more than most other people, and though she's naturally kind, I would think that she would be a little hesitant to offer him advice or a chance to talk about his problems.

Finally, the ending seemed a little rushed here. The conversation where Hermione claimed to have something, but actually had next to nothing, seemed a little like there wasn't a point there. I also felt like it was odd for her to talk about the three of them being such close friends when they'd just had a disagreement, even just a mild one.

This is still very interesting, and I'll look forward to seeing your thoughts in your review responses.

On to chapter ten :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Critique is always a good thing! It will only help me improve on the story so I appreciate all of your help with your reviews! I'm hoping someday to actually come back to the beginning parts of this story and look at the reviews I was given over the time and work on the areas suggested to help make this story even better. So I will be coming back to this one to get some help! Thank you so much for all of your suggestions and like I said, I shall keep them in mind when I come back and do some editing. Thanks for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #58, by academica chapter nine

19th January 2013:
Back again!

I do think it's interesting that it seems to be Hermione, instead of Harry, who is following Draco around in this story. I think it fits well because she needs something to occupy her mind and her time so she doesn't just sit and worry about Ron and avoid Cormac. It also seems to fit with her personality and need to find answers to things.

It's neat to watch Draco and Hermione interact. He's clearly uncomfortable being around her, especially when he thinks that she might be onto him. I like how you described her looking at the apple and trying to figure it out, and alluding to the idea of Bellatrix carving out a piece with her knife (if that's what you were actually alluding to, haha).

This is getting really good. I'm on to chapter nine!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Ah I love getting reviews from you! They just make my day! In my mind, Harry is still attempting to follow Draco around as well though it just happens to be at different times from Hermione. She always tries to slip away when the other two are busy. But yes she does need something to occupy her mind and trying to figure out what Draco is up to is a great task for her. The fact that you think I'm doing the interactions between Draco and Hermione rather well makes me very happy. Its a rather tricky balance to keep and still continue forging them forward. Thanks so much for another wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #59, by academica chapter eight

19th January 2013:
Hey, sorry for the slight break in reviews. I had to take a phone call and it wound up being kind of a long conversation. Anyway, I'm back to review more!

Things just keep getting harder and harder for poor Hermione! I did really like the little fight between Lavender and Romilda; that was too funny! I also think it was great for showing Lavender's characterization and how Hermione is different from most of the other girls at school. I felt bad for her for having yet another argument with Draco, especially given that it interrupted her schoolwork. I liked how you changed the hospital wing scene so that Hermione left when Ron started to say Lavender's name. I hope that he actually asked for Hermione more clearly after she had already left, so that maybe there will still be hope for them.

Great chapter! Moving on to the next :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks so much for coming back and reviewing more! Yes things are not going to be easy for Hermione thats for sure! But as we know, that wont stop Hermione from trying. I'm really glad you liked the snippet with Lavender and Romilda, I knew that I would have to change the events of this scene slightly to continue to tilt the story in the dramione direction so I'm very glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #60, by Arithmancy_Wiz chapter five

19th January 2013:
Hello again. Stopping back in for another chapter.

You had some really great details in this one. The bit about the flames dancing across the logs was nice way to draw in the reader right from the start. And you're continuing to do a great job with the characters. Of course Slughorn would have had the house elves decorate for him, and of course Hermione wouldn't approve. Cormac was really well done here too. I like how you mentioned him sort of parading her around the party, like she was some sort of trophy. That does seem the sort of thing he would do.

The bit with the mistletoe was great. I love the idea that it traps people in place until they kiss. And the thought of Cormac just sort of stuck there on his own was too funny. I wonder who had to kiss him to set him free.

And it was good to see Malfoy again at the end, knowing this will eventually be a Dramione. It will be interesting to see how you eventually bring them together.

Author's Response: A Wiz I absolutely love and miss your reviews for this story! Your review has really made my day! I really love this story and it's been a huge surprise to me just how many people are actually enjoying it and think that I'm doing a great job with characterization. It really means a lot to me. I'm glad you liked the bit with the mistletoe, I wanted to do something a little bit more with it other than it just being there. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #61, by academica chapter seven

19th January 2013:
I noticed that your chapter titles aren't all even; some of them are capitalized and some aren't. It's no big deal, but you may want to fix it just so it looks good.

Poor Hermione! I'm really happy for Ginny, getting asked out by Harry, but I can imagine that it must have hurt to hear that when Ron is still with Lavender. I also felt really bad for Hermione in the scene with Draco, because she was just trying to help and he was really mean to her (as expected). I definitely don't see a romance happening between them at this point, so it'll be interesting to see how that develops in the later chapters.

One thing I did notice is that it seems like Draco calls Hermione "Granger" and Hermione calls Draco "Malfoy" in most of the dialogue. I think you could probably reduce that a little; try to think of it like two regular people talking. If we were having a conversation, I wouldn't say "Erika" at the end of every sentence, and you wouldn't say "Amanda" at the end of every sentence, right? That's all :)

Moving on to chapter seven!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! Wonderful to have one of your reviews again! I'm sorry that its taken this long to respond to this review! I fell so far behind on responding but I'm finally here! Anyways, I do appreciate this review very much! There isn't going to be much for a dramione romance happening any time soon though they will friendlier as the chapters go on. I will make sure to take a look at the dialogue and replace or take out completely all the times that I refer to them by last name while they are talking. Thanks again for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #62, by academica chapter six

19th January 2013:
Okay, so this chapter wasn't action-packed, but I liked it pace-wise because I think it's good practice to follow through logically with events and not to just jump around between the more "juicy" events. I also liked getting a look at Hermione's relationship with her parents in this chapter; their surprise was really cute!

I noticed a few technical issues in this chapter that I just thought I'd mention, in case you want your beta to look over it again.

-"holiday's" should be holidays (without the possessive)
-"that had to of been" should be "that had to have been"

Next chapter!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this wonderful review. I know this chapter wasn't very interesting but I'm glad that you enjoyed it anyways. I'm also one to like when a story has chapters that are filler like but are needed. Thank you again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #63, by academica chapter five

19th January 2013:
Hi Erica! I'm having a really rough day and I felt like taking some time to relax and review would help calm me down. So I'm planning to review this story until I get through all the posted chapters. Thanks for agreeing to swap; I've been looking for more feedback on Post Scriptum, and I like having new reviews to answer now that I'm finally on top of my responses. Anyway, enough rambling!

I really liked your characterization of Cormac, and of Hermione, in this chapter. Cormac was really amusing and he seemed to fit perfectly in with his canon portrayal of being intrusive and always hanging around, trying to make a move on Hermione. I also liked Hermione a lot, in terms of her trying to avoid him. I especially liked her comments about the decorations; it was cool for you to bring in S.P.E.W. with that section.

I did notice a couple places where it seemed like you changed back and forth from present to past tense. For instance, in this sentence: "I sent Harry a pleading look to not tell Cormac anything, and then I slipped out one side of the curtain as Cormac slips in the other." -- you started out with past tense with "sent" and "slipped," and then it changed to present tense when Cormac "slips." You may just want to have your beta go back over this and double-check to make sure the tenses match.

On to the next chapter :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: I'm always so excited when someone comes to this story and reads (even more when they leave a review) but honestly your review makes me so happy. I'm so glad that you like my characterization of Cormac and Hermione in this chapter. It's always nice to hear when someone thinks that I've done a good job with her especially. Also I'm absolutely horrible at switching between tenses. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #64, by Arithmancy_Wiz chapter three

13th January 2013:
Hello, chica. I'm back again for chapter three. When I saw your name at the end of the review tag thread, I knew I couldn't pass up the chance to stop by with another quick review.

I loved your Ron in this chapter. He was spot on. A bit clueless, of course, but more than that, I loved the way he was over-compensating. Trying too hard to be casual with Hermione. It reminded me a bit of that part in DH 2 where Hermione suggests they go talk to Xenophilius, and Ron is immediately saying how wonderful an idea that is, just to try and make up for having left. Anyway, I thought there moment here was very true to form.

And it's nice to see you portraying Hermione as sad but still very much herself. Even heartbroken, she's still just as studious as ever. I wouldn't like Hermione near as much as a character if she totally fell apart over a boy -- Ron or anyone else. For a moment there, I thought you might have her ask Draco to Slughorn's party, but I'm really glad to see you're continuing to stick with canon, at least for the early stages of the story. And the line about Zacharias Smith was great. "He seemed to annoy everybody..." That totally made me giggle.

I'm curious to see where you'll take this next. I'm wondering if Draco will still crash the party, and how that might play out in terms of establishing any sort of the romance that will follow. So many questions!

Author's Response: To have you say that Ron is spot on in this chapter really makes my day! I want to try and keep each of the characters true to themselves and how they would act so its nice to know when people think I've got it right. As you know by now, with this story I'm trying to keep it pretty close to canon, adding in some of my own events here and there but for the most part, I want to build the dramione onto the canon events. I'm so glad that you've come on as my new beta! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #65, by Pixileanin chapter one

10th January 2013:
Tag!

Alright, this was an unexpected twist. I can honestly say that I am intrigued with where you are taking things. First off, I applaud your use of canon events to start the story off, and secondly, instead of having Ron stare blankly at Hermione in pity or some other staring-type encounter, you gave him an entirely new thing to stare at. Not only was Hermione so completely engrossed in her own pain and upset that Ron and Lavendar hadn't noticed that the room was occupied, but she had failed to notice that she had stumbled upon someone else's hiding spot as well.

Very interesting first chapter.

Author's Response: YAY for unexpected twists! This whole story should be for the most part, ground in canon events. I'm trying to stick to canon but yet adding in some dramione moments, and slightly changing events around a bit. Yes it was a bit interesting to add in that Draco had been hiding as well, but I would like to think that he was upset about not being able to figure things out yet. I'm so excited about your review! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #66, by patronus_charm chapter twelve

1st January 2013:
No you left it on a cliffhanger! Well I can guess what the cliffhanger is but, still! I'm really glad I found this as it's a really great Dramione story. I love how their friendship slowly developed which made it believable. I saw you hadn't updated this in a while but please update soon as it's really good and I really want to know how the story continues!

Author's Response: Yes I had to do that little cliffhanger! But like you said, I think everyone can pretty much guess what is going on. You think this is a great dramione? Ah, you have no idea how much that means to me! And don't worry the updates maybe be a bit slow coming but I am still working on this story! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #67, by patronus_charm chapter one

1st January 2013:
Hey this your review from the review tag!

I really liked this as I really sympathised with Hermione when I first read it in the book as I can understand how painful it is to see the person you love with someone else so I think you portrayed Hermione's pain really well :) I also really liked how you worked this scene in with her first encounter with Malfoy as I've never seen that done before and I think it's a really interesting twist to the usual Dramione's! I'm glad I found this as it's intrigued me and I'm going to carry on reading ;D

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you began reading this story as well! This is my baby so I'm so excited to see so many people enjoying it and finding Hermione's characterization to be spot on. With this dramione, I really want to make it realistic, slow burning, and following canon of course. Thank you so much for the compliments! And Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #68, by Arithmancy_Wiz chapter two

30th December 2012:
Hello, again. I'm back with your second holiday review. Sorry it's taken me so long to post it.

This was another solid chapter. I really like that you're taking you time developing the romance in this story. I think a lot of people may be turned off by Dramione because many times, the stories just jump right into the relationship, essentially asking readers to forget everything they know about the characters from the books. But so far, you're really staying true to the characters, even if the story is not canon.

I thought you did an exceptionally good job with the characterization of Draco. I love when he calls Hermione the "Mudblood wasn't even good enough for the blood traitor." Ouch! Now that is definitely something I could image Draco saying. It's cruel on so many levels.

I also liked how you had him thinking nearly the same thing as Hermione -- about being afraid she would blab to the rest of the school about catching him crying in a classroom. It was a nice way to introduce into the reader's mind that perhaps the two main characters arenít as polar opposite as we might think.

I did notice one grammar-related item. In some of your dialogue, you've got periods where there should be commas. It doesn't make the story hard to read or anything, but since I saw it in a few places, I thought I'd mention it.

Sorry again for the delay in posting your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to tag me twice for the review swap. Happy writing in the New Year :)

Author's Response: Aw A_Wiz this review just makes me so happy! First I'm so glad that you have come on as my new beta! But this review is just so sweet! The fact that you think that I've done a pretty good job with their characterizations is just amazing! Its really a huge compliment for me! I'll take a look at those periods and get them changed over to commas, so thanks for pointing that out! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #69, by LilyFire chapter one

27th December 2012:
I am here from the HRS at long last. Sorry for taking so long. Okay, review...

This sparked my imterest on your page, and while I don't seek this paring out, I thpught this could be interesting. The first thing I noticed was the tone: it is very relaxed, but I think that could work for this. I think you have a pretty good start here, but to me, I don't really feel the hurt. It seems kinda superficial, at least at this point.

I do like how you have written Hermione though. The little quip about what the empty class used to be was very nice. I think it has potential, and could even be one of the best Dramonies out there if taken in the right direction.

Author's Response: At this point in the story, Hermione is really heartbroken about Ron being with Lavender and I felt that this would be a good place to start a dramione story as the person she did want didn't choose her. I'm glad that you liked the beginnng and I'll look and see if I can add in more to make her hurt more real. I'm glad that you think Hermione is written well though and enjoyed my little quip about the empty classroom. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #70, by AC_rules chapter eleven

21st December 2012:
Wow, so this is like the first real bit of proper Dramione action that we've seen and I've got to say I really like it! I hadn't read any Dramione for a really long time before I'd read this one, and none quite like this set in Hogwarts (and not the sixth year) and I've got to say that I really enjoyed this chapter!

The growing friendship between the two of them is lovely. Although I think maybe you could build on the fact that part of the reason Hermione feels so lonely is because Harry and Ron are a bit dumb and dense about girls (particularly at this age) so they don't really understand all her conflicting feelings and what not? I think that would be another nice touch that gave this more grounding in canon.

But yes, this was another lovely chapter. My favourite bit was probably them running into each other in Hogsmeade and just walking back (and when Draco paid for her stuff) because that was lovveerrllly, but yes yes! Sorry this review swap took so long to get back to you - my life got a bit hectic :)

-AC

Author's Response: Helen this review has just blown me away! I'm so glad that you like how its coming along and that you liked the dramione moment that I finally threw in! Its taken a long time to get to this point of actually having something dramione like and i'm just so thrilled with the reaction that it has been getting! I'm hoping sometime to go back through and look at all my reviews and suggestions that have been given and (hopefully) go back in through my chapters and add in some of them. Thank you so much for the swap! Honestly your reviews are really huge for me because I do look up to you as an author so I know I can improve by having people like you reading my stuff! Thank you so much for this wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #71, by gingersnape chapter one

21st December 2012:
Oh my! Poor Hermione - not only having to deal with Ron's perpetual emotional capacity the size of a teaspoon, but not being able to be left alone in her despair! I think everyone has been in her shoes, but being the perfectionist who usually has control over her emotions and is able to keep herself together can't have made that interaction any easier.

I just wanted to give her a big hug, and then get the popcorn to see what on earth might happen when Malfoy stepped out of the shadows. She's in such an interesting place here - she knows and accepts that she has feelings for Ron, but from her point of view, he has made it pretty clear he can't even think about sharing those feelings. And then... a Malfoy walks in? We will have to see what happens with this!

This isn't my usual type of story, but I figured I may as well give it a go and I have to say, it certainly has my interest so far!

Happy Holidays and I'm so sorry this took so long for me to reply! :( This chapter was really well done and I always look forward to seeing you around. :D

Annie

Author's Response: Aw your review is just, AW! Dramiones are a bit of a hard spot for some people and I'm just so glad how many people have taken a chance on mine! I feel so bad for Hermione here too! It's so hard when the person you like has someone else and you are having to deal with those issues and then to have it public sort of is just hard! I thought that this is the perfect spot to start this story what with Hermione's feelings, Ron is taken, and then to just pop in Malfoy in the end would set up a bit of a dramione moment even though there really isn't enough. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I do hope you come back and read more!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #72, by Levana chapter two

19th December 2012:
Hello again ^_^

This chapter was just as good as the first! I love your character development so far and how true to the books it is. The writing and descriptions are fantastic. *goes to read chapter three*

Happy Holidays, from your slytherin Secret Santa!

~Levana :)

Author's Response: I'm really trying with this story to keep it close to canon while adding in my own events and the dramione bits so I'm always happy to hear people think that I'm doing a good job with both! I really do hope you keep reading! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #73, by Levana chapter one

18th December 2012:
Hello!

I really like this so far! I have admit that I was a bit skeptical at first since this is a dramione. I only rarely read dramiones, but I decided to give this one a shot. :D I'm glad I did because I really do like it so far. The writing is amazing. The descriptions really make me feel sad for hermione. I'm excited to see where you go with this! :)

Happy Holidays! From Your slytherin Secret Santa!

~Levana

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! I absolutely loved having you as my Secret Santa! I'm so glad you took a chance on this story, its my baby and I'm actually pretty proud of it! You just left me with so many compliments that I dont even know what to do right now but Squee a bit! Thanks so much for the awesome review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #74, by marinahill chapter one

16th December 2012:
Not a huge Dramione fan myself, but I definitely believe it can be done well if in the right hands. I think that we already have this set-up between Ron and Hermione and it would be untrue to the characters to completely forget about that. So it's good that you start straight away with how Hermione is feeling about Ron. She's hurt, heartbroken, humiliated and upset, a perfect premise to start the story on. Ron choosing Lavender is like the ultimate rejection, because Lavender is almost like a polar opposite of Hermione - she's girly, frivolous, not as intelligent, loves Divination, giggly... I could go on. Hermione has never been one of those girls, and I'm sure she thinks that Ron choosing Lavender is almost like a slap in the face for her.

So, what with a wounded Hermione and a surprise appearance from Draco, you have a lot of potential for a great plot from here on out. I think she's going to let her rejection and broken heart drive her into perhaps not the wisest choice of arms.

Great start :) Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Your review is awesome! I always love it when a person who isn't a huge dramione fan takes a chance on this story and thinks that i'm doing a good job of pulling it off. I always feel so bad for herminoe though at the beginning she's lonely and doesn't really seem to have anyone to turn to and then theres ron whom she loves but he's so blind he doesn't realize it! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #75, by Toujours Padfoot chapter five

13th December 2012:
Poor Hermione. All she wants to do is make Ron jealous, and punishing him turns out to be an even bigger punishment for herself. Even though Cormac didn't have many lines here, he still amused me and I've found myself sitting here wondering what happened to him. You've inspired me to write him in my next fan-fiction story!

The Hermione/Draco is a slow burn, which is good. That is always the thing that gets rushed in Dramiones, and is therefore the reason why most people don't find them believable. Authors with the patience to take it slowly but steadily are at a great advantage because they take the time to explain the hows and whys and whens. Draco's appearance here was brief but memorable.

I like that this seems to be brewing at a time in Hermione's life when she's feeling a little bit desperate, a little bit lonely. I'd imagine that Draco feels exactly the same way. Seeing as how Hermione has virtually no female friends to talk to about the Ron ordeal, and Harry wouldn't understand (or it would be too awkward to talk to him about it), it's only a matter of time before she does find someone who understands. The plausibility in this story that it started out with Hermione having feelings for Ron, and the hint that she will be conflicted about it when Draco begins to play a bigger role, makes it satisfying for readers on a believability level. Very enjoyable!

:)

Author's Response: Alright so getting a review from you is huge for me! I look at you as a really great author, because, well you are! So to have this extremely awesome review from you that is full of things that you think I have done right is great! I'm a huge dramione fan myself but I dont really care for the fact that most dramiones they get together on chapter one paragraph one. I think the slow burn makes the readers want it that much more and that much more excited when it finally comes! so for other people to think that as well makes me very happy! I just, I dont even know what else I can say about this review because it has just made me so happy! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>