Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
254 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Jackie chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
I am actually very interested in this story. I like where it is going and how you slowly made Draco and Hermione friends and kept them both in character.

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for this review. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story and think that I'm doing a good job of keeping them in character. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #52, by TNT  chapter six

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So chapter 5, you said it yourself it was a little filler, but still interesting enough.
I liked how you made Hermione follow Draco, even if it was a little sudden and unexpected and Draco was on character. This also really steared my interest in perspective as to this becoming a Dramione.

Other than that I liked the train ride and the little thing about the vacation, even though it was very casual and nothing much happened. It's actually harder to write these paragraphs, than the action packed ones. At least in my opinion.
Well, so much for that =)
I also think that you really gotten into writing this story now, found your style/pace for it, I don't know how to describe this, but it just shows in your flow that it just works really well for you and that always draws readers to a story. Maybe its also because we are finally starting to get into the story, making some progress.
Looking forward to the next chapters, but now I'm gonna be busy myself ^^
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for this chapter! Yeah it is a bit of a filler and I'm really hoping some day to come back to this chapter and fix it up a bit! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #53, by TNT  chapter five

20th April 2013:
Hey,
back for chapter 4.
As you might noticed, I'm really into this by now ^^

I really liked that Hermione had to wait for Cormac. It was a head-start into the chapter and you already had me thinking "that's so him"
He stayed very well to canon for the rest of the chapter as well.
I especially liked the flow of this chapter, I don't exactly know why, but it just worked really well.
Also Hermione and her attempts to "escape" =)
When you let her bump into someone at the beginning I thought it would be Malfoy, but I am actually glad that you are only subtly working him in so far.

I also wonder how Cormac could leave from under the mistletoe. I wouldn't put it beyond him to kiss another girl and chase Hermione again.
So far it was really true to canon and realistic.
My favorite chapter so far! And I am really excited where you're going to take this, to make Hermione and Draco meet.
Well, that it =)
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad that you liked this chapter a lot! It was a lot of fun to write. I actually really liked writing Cormac and all his attempts to catch Hermione. And you thought the flow was really well... aw that just makes me so happy! Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you are enjoying it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #54, by TNT  chapter three

20th April 2013:
On to chapter three =)

As for your characters, you really did well.
Ron was as clueless as ever and also the little bit of Harry that we've seen.

Also how Hermione handles her heart-brokenness comes along well. It just wouldn't be her to completely loose it over a boy.
Her thoughts flow really well, so far, so that's that.
I didn't think its all too surprising that Malfoy didn't spill the beans, since hes worried Hermione might do the same in return.

So far, you're true to canon (I'm glad you kept Cormac as her date, on the other hand I would doubt a true-to-character Malfoy would agree to date her. Yet.) and absolutly realistic.
So, now I'm out of things to say =).
Great job.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: the fact that you think I'm doing a good job with characterization is wonderful! I'm really glad that you like that I've kept Cormac as her date! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #55, by TNT  chapter two

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So back for the second chapter.
As for your characters, I think they are doing great so far. Draco? You definitely hit the nail on its head.
And Hermione also sounds very true to character.

Seeing that Malfoy cried puts a really interesting twist to it and as i said, how he reacts to it, is very real for him.
So far it really steers my interest.

I actually really like that your chapters aren't 6000 words long. Because sometimes there just isn't enough plot for 6000 words and it gets boring quickly, but so far this is just on the point and flowing quite well =)

Keep it up! I'm off to the next one.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the chapter and that you felt that the characters are spot on!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #56, by TNT  chapter one

18th April 2013:
Hey =)

So, this was a rather short chapter, but still I think it set a good start, right on the point what this story will be about.
It also triggers my interest, as for what will happen now, how they'll react to each other.

Since this was rather short, I actually don't have much to critize. I like your writing style so far and now I really dont have anything else to say =)
Great start!

Love,
T.

Author's Response: Yay it catches your interest! That makes me so happy! Thats of course something that every writer wants their first chapter to do so I'm really happy you felt mine did that for you! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #57, by Mad4Gred chapter thirteen

25th February 2013:
She should concoct a plan to help him

Author's Response: She's got something up her sleeve thats for sure! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! It really makes my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #58, by da_potterhead chapter thirteen

22nd February 2013:
can you pleeease update soon? :3

Author's Response: I've got the beginning of the next chapter already started so hopefully I will be able to work on it some more today and hopefully soon have another chapter out! I'm so glad that you have taken the time to read and review and that you are liking my story so far!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #59, by patronus_charm chapter thirteen

21st February 2013:
Hello!

I was so glad that you updated this story, as I really like it, and I was beginning to miss it :(

I really loved how you showed how Hermione was torn between Draco and Harry. You can really feel for her, as she doesnít really know where her loyalties should lie.

It was also nice to see that despite the fact that Ron was dating Lavender, they could sort of work together through a time of crisis and not fight, and that was really touching to see.

I also loved the brief mention of Ginny and Harry managing to reveal their true feelings to one another. Though I donít like them as the main pairing, I love them as the sub pairing, so this was really nice to read.

A great chapter, and I hope to see more soon!

-Kiana :)

Author's Response: Aw you were missing my story?! That just makes me so happy and makes me want to crank out another chapter as soon as I can just for you! Aw your review has just left me with feels! I wanted to show that it would be hard for hermione as she is devloping feelings for Draco and yet her friends have no idea so she doesn't really have anyone to confide in about it so she has to keep to herself. I myself am one who isn't really a big supporter of people making Hermione and Ron's relationship become one of pure hatred just because of him wanting to be with someone else or her getting together with Draco. Yes its true Ron has a temper and things might get rocky with him but he is a true friend, he showed that in DH by coming back and knowing he made a mistake the moment he left. Thanks so much for the review its really made my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #60, by shinichi chapter thirteen

21st February 2013:
OMG! yess...atlast a chapter of this story has come.this was d first story i read when i came to hpff.i wiated waited nd waited but no updates at aall.. :( well ah atlast this chapter came :) luv u nd ur storyy plz update soon :)
dramione rockz,
shinichi

Author's Response: Omg! this review! I'm just so full of feels that I can't even begin to describe right now! First of all to say this was the first story you read coming on here and how much you waited for another chapter and I was just stuck with a block and that you came back just speaks volumes to me! I promise you that this story will never be abandoned and will some day be finished! I have the beginning of chapter 13 started so hopefully i can have it finished and to my beta soon! Thank you so much for this awesome review and for taking the time to read and review my story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #61, by dracos lover chapter thirteen

20th February 2013:
Im loving your book so much, so far. please update soon i really want to know what happens next.

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for the awesome review! I'm hoping to have the next chapter up sometime soon. I have big plans to work on it today! So keep your eyes out for it! Thanks for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #62, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter twelve

30th January 2013:
OMG! I kept thinking back to HBP, wondering why Draco would disappear, just in case there was a clue, then Harry came in all pale and shaky and I knew - I can't believe I forgot about Sectumsempra!

I felt so sad for Hermione, thinking she'd been stood up by someone she'd come to depend on, even if that person did turn out to be Draco Malfoy. And know she's gonna know that he's hurt. I wonder if she'll go see him publicly, wait till she knows they'll be alone or wait till he comes to her, in the library or something.

I can't wait for the next chapter. And I have no more 'next's to press!!!

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Chapter twelve has already been posted so I do hope that you will come back and check it out! I'm so glad that you are enjoying this story. Yeah I'm trying to keep this story pretty close in line with HBP though at the same time making it seperate! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #63, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter eleven

30th January 2013:
Hey again. I'm back. :)

Ah! Big Dramione moment - first names and smiles and honest words. I feel so sad for Draco, I want to hug him. I want Hermione to hug him. I want someone to hug him.

Enjoying this story so much. Great job.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad that you like this and are enjoying the interactions between the two. I know the feeling as well, I wish I could hop in there and give Draco a hug! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #64, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter ten

27th January 2013:
It's nice that Hermione is able to try and help Malfoy, despite their past - she just doesn't seem the type to ignore when a person needs it, no matter what or who. Well, within reason, I think. Maybe not Bellatrix or Voldemort. I like that about her character.

I wonder when Draco will finally accept help, or anything, from Hermione. I imagine something will happen, noodles what, though.

I loved the end that, that real friendship is being able to not fill the silence every time. I believe that.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hermione is the type of person that I feel would try to help anyone no matter who that person might be, if she thinks for even a small moment that there might be some good in them. Draco however is the opposite, he doesn't want to receive help from anyone because he's a Malfoy and they don't need help, but he will soon realize that as a human even a Malfoy needs help some times. Thanks again for another review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #65, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter nine

27th January 2013:
I loved Spy-like Hermione, it was funny to read and definitely something I would do, something everyone in a situation like that should do. :P Even the Pink Panther song, which is now kinda stuck in my head.

I'm enjoying the slow interaction between Draco and Hermione. It's changing ever so slightly each time, a small step forward and there are still plenty of moments when they're still the same, but still changing. I like that it's slow.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Ah yes, spy Hermione. As a muggle I can see her knowing the tune to Pink Panther and humming as she goes along. Honestly this review has made my day! I'm really glad that you are liking how slow I'm taking things but yet still developing them as I go. I was hoping that people wouldn't think that I was taking things too slowly. Thanks for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #66, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter eight

27th January 2013:
Oooh, I was wondering what parts of canon would stick, I was so curious as to what would happen between Hermione, Lavender and a knocked out Ron. I was still thinking he'd say Hermione's name, but no, it was Lavender's. Big whoa moment.

I'm glad, though. I like that, as it says Draco/Hermione, that Ron will more likely be the protective best friend that I'd love to read about him, rather than a jealous wannabe boyfriend. That would be just one big set up for heartbreak.

Really enjoying this story. Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks for another wonderful review! There are a few things from canon that I'm keeping and others that I'm tweaking a bit to fit the story better. And this is one of those points that I felt it would be best to tweak a bit. It helps to bring things to the dramione point in my story and continue to get Hermione over Ron. I'm glad that you liked my changing it a bit. Thanks so much for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #67, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter seven

26th January 2013:
I think I'd feel the same as Hermione about Valentines if the guy I liked was with someone else. I've never cared about the holiday in general, but getting Hermione's POV and her anger for the holiday made me kind of want to hate it with her.

And Malfoy, so stubborn. Given it's a Dramione pairing, I am really trying onto guess how they could get to that point, but he just doesn't make it easy. :P I like that.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Draco definitely doesn't make things easy thats for sure! But some how, some way they do get to that point. Only time will really tell just how they get there and what happens to them. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #68, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter six

21st January 2013:
Hey again. :)

Even in the books/movies Ron and Lavender's relationship. Not in a really bad way, but she was so clingy and possessive, that it was a little scary and weird. Now, reading it in Hermione's PoV rather than Harry's, it's more so, you know. Because she's the one who likes Ron, so it's going to be worse reading the relationship. You hate it because Hermione does. And Lavender's just scary now.

I really enjoyed this chapter. I liked that Hermione was able to get away from everything with that trip to Ireland. And Draco's little cameo made sure we didn't forget about him. Wel, who can forget Draco? :P

Loved it.

Sam.

Author's Response: I think that I'm missing a bit of the review as it begins with saying something about ron/lavenders relationship but I don't know what exactly. I'm glad that you felt this chapter was still good even though nothing really happened. Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #69, by academica chapter twelve

19th January 2013:
Oh my gosh, I didn't even notice that we were at the end of sixth year, but it definitely makes sense, wow!

Okay, I know I just said that the relationship was moving too fast, but that scene in the library was too cute. I think those are the kind of little moments that I want to see more of, especially since they're so different from the usual scenes of kissing and heavy physical activity that I often see in romance stories. It actually made me really want to skip ahead in the chapter to their next meeting!

I really like how you tied this into canon with Draco "standing up" Hermione because he was injured. I can only imagine how she will react when Harry tells her exactly what happened.

This is shaping up to be really good. I'm glad I came by to read more. Thanks again for the swap :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Yes the end of sixth year is upon us and now things really start getting interesting. I really like adding in small really cute awe type moments. Honestly I would rather not focus on the heavy stuff at all though we shall honestly see where this story will take me in the future. I don't have any plans for anything too major to happen but the characters have a way of making things happen themselves. Draco standing her up was something that had to be done for multiple reasons. One being that I'm trying to keep this canon so I still want to add in those major canon events such as Harry coming close to actually killing Draco. Another was more for Hermione to sort of see just how much she was enjoying the sort of friendship that they have and starting to understand that maybe she wants more. I'm glad that you are really enjoying this and I hope that you come back for more! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #70, by academica chapter eleven

19th January 2013:
I have to comment that it seems like the speed of the relationship took off a little too fast for my liking in this chapter. I sort wish it was done from Draco's perspective instead of Hermione's, just so I could understand why he wanted to share a table with her and why he was so nice to her in Hogsmeade.

I also felt like Draco's behavior was a little back-and-forth in this chapter. He seems to shift a lot between teasing her cruelly or trying to get her to leave him alone and being nice to her or revealing his feelings. It was weird that he told her that he couldn't divulge his secret there at the end and then basically told her everything in the next breath. I really loved how you were taking this story slow before, and I'd love to see you continue with allowing little moments between Draco and Hermione to build up to a real connection.

I did like how Hermione thought about everyone else pairing up and wanted a boyfriend of her own. It helps set up the upcoming ship and adds a sympathetic layer to her, based on all that has been going on. I also think it was good to include just to remind people that Hermione isn't just a star student, she's a real girl with real feelings!

I'm on to the most recent chapter :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: The whole point of this story is to take their relationship slowly and I think at sometimes I may have just gotten really excited to get to their relationship that I might have added in some stuff that really should have been saved for future chapters. When I do a massive edit of the story I will look into this review more and see where exactly I can slow things down and work on building them up more. I've also tossed around the idea of writing this story from Draco's pov so my readers can get a better understanding of him and all of his actions but at the moment it is only an idea. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #71, by academica chapter ten

19th January 2013:
I think this review is going to be a little more critique-heavy, just because I noticed a few things that were a bit "off" in this chapter. Hope that's okay :)

Some of your phrasing feels a little bit awkward. For instance, try to limit the amount of times that you use "as" to join two clauses, like when you're describing what creeps Hermione out about the Restricted Section. That might be better if it was broken up into two separate sentences. I'd also try to limit how often you start sentences with "being," like you did when talking about the sunny day. It almost makes it sound like Hermione is the day in that sentence, which could be a little confusing. I used to only use really long, complex sentences in my writing, and a reviewer or two pointed out to me that sometimes short, succinct sentences are better. I think a lot of the time, that can be true.

I think this chapter would benefit from a little more of a build-up as to why Hermione would feel sympathy for Draco. He's hurt her more than most other people, and though she's naturally kind, I would think that she would be a little hesitant to offer him advice or a chance to talk about his problems.

Finally, the ending seemed a little rushed here. The conversation where Hermione claimed to have something, but actually had next to nothing, seemed a little like there wasn't a point there. I also felt like it was odd for her to talk about the three of them being such close friends when they'd just had a disagreement, even just a mild one.

This is still very interesting, and I'll look forward to seeing your thoughts in your review responses.

On to chapter ten :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Critique is always a good thing! It will only help me improve on the story so I appreciate all of your help with your reviews! I'm hoping someday to actually come back to the beginning parts of this story and look at the reviews I was given over the time and work on the areas suggested to help make this story even better. So I will be coming back to this one to get some help! Thank you so much for all of your suggestions and like I said, I shall keep them in mind when I come back and do some editing. Thanks for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #72, by academica chapter nine

19th January 2013:
Back again!

I do think it's interesting that it seems to be Hermione, instead of Harry, who is following Draco around in this story. I think it fits well because she needs something to occupy her mind and her time so she doesn't just sit and worry about Ron and avoid Cormac. It also seems to fit with her personality and need to find answers to things.

It's neat to watch Draco and Hermione interact. He's clearly uncomfortable being around her, especially when he thinks that she might be onto him. I like how you described her looking at the apple and trying to figure it out, and alluding to the idea of Bellatrix carving out a piece with her knife (if that's what you were actually alluding to, haha).

This is getting really good. I'm on to chapter nine!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Ah I love getting reviews from you! They just make my day! In my mind, Harry is still attempting to follow Draco around as well though it just happens to be at different times from Hermione. She always tries to slip away when the other two are busy. But yes she does need something to occupy her mind and trying to figure out what Draco is up to is a great task for her. The fact that you think I'm doing the interactions between Draco and Hermione rather well makes me very happy. Its a rather tricky balance to keep and still continue forging them forward. Thanks so much for another wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #73, by academica chapter eight

19th January 2013:
Hey, sorry for the slight break in reviews. I had to take a phone call and it wound up being kind of a long conversation. Anyway, I'm back to review more!

Things just keep getting harder and harder for poor Hermione! I did really like the little fight between Lavender and Romilda; that was too funny! I also think it was great for showing Lavender's characterization and how Hermione is different from most of the other girls at school. I felt bad for her for having yet another argument with Draco, especially given that it interrupted her schoolwork. I liked how you changed the hospital wing scene so that Hermione left when Ron started to say Lavender's name. I hope that he actually asked for Hermione more clearly after she had already left, so that maybe there will still be hope for them.

Great chapter! Moving on to the next :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks so much for coming back and reviewing more! Yes things are not going to be easy for Hermione thats for sure! But as we know, that wont stop Hermione from trying. I'm really glad you liked the snippet with Lavender and Romilda, I knew that I would have to change the events of this scene slightly to continue to tilt the story in the dramione direction so I'm very glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #74, by Arithmancy_Wiz chapter five

19th January 2013:
Hello again. Stopping back in for another chapter.

You had some really great details in this one. The bit about the flames dancing across the logs was nice way to draw in the reader right from the start. And you're continuing to do a great job with the characters. Of course Slughorn would have had the house elves decorate for him, and of course Hermione wouldn't approve. Cormac was really well done here too. I like how you mentioned him sort of parading her around the party, like she was some sort of trophy. That does seem the sort of thing he would do.

The bit with the mistletoe was great. I love the idea that it traps people in place until they kiss. And the thought of Cormac just sort of stuck there on his own was too funny. I wonder who had to kiss him to set him free.

And it was good to see Malfoy again at the end, knowing this will eventually be a Dramione. It will be interesting to see how you eventually bring them together.

Author's Response: A Wiz I absolutely love and miss your reviews for this story! Your review has really made my day! I really love this story and it's been a huge surprise to me just how many people are actually enjoying it and think that I'm doing a great job with characterization. It really means a lot to me. I'm glad you liked the bit with the mistletoe, I wanted to do something a little bit more with it other than it just being there. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #75, by academica chapter seven

19th January 2013:
I noticed that your chapter titles aren't all even; some of them are capitalized and some aren't. It's no big deal, but you may want to fix it just so it looks good.

Poor Hermione! I'm really happy for Ginny, getting asked out by Harry, but I can imagine that it must have hurt to hear that when Ron is still with Lavender. I also felt really bad for Hermione in the scene with Draco, because she was just trying to help and he was really mean to her (as expected). I definitely don't see a romance happening between them at this point, so it'll be interesting to see how that develops in the later chapters.

One thing I did notice is that it seems like Draco calls Hermione "Granger" and Hermione calls Draco "Malfoy" in most of the dialogue. I think you could probably reduce that a little; try to think of it like two regular people talking. If we were having a conversation, I wouldn't say "Erika" at the end of every sentence, and you wouldn't say "Amanda" at the end of every sentence, right? That's all :)

Moving on to chapter seven!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey Amanda! Wonderful to have one of your reviews again! I'm sorry that its taken this long to respond to this review! I fell so far behind on responding but I'm finally here! Anyways, I do appreciate this review very much! There isn't going to be much for a dramione romance happening any time soon though they will friendlier as the chapters go on. I will make sure to take a look at the dialogue and replace or take out completely all the times that I refer to them by last name while they are talking. Thanks again for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>