Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
270 Reviews Found

Review #51, by lumos_knox chapter sixteen

3rd July 2014:
Hello! Here for the swap.

I realized that I had already read this story but didn't review.

I think it's just beautiful. The way Hermione and Draco came together was perfect. This last chapter was especially good. There's action, suspense and romance.

When Draco called Hermione a Mudblood, I was so shocked but so proud that Hermione didn't let it hurt her. The kiss was just beautiful too. I thought Draco would push Hermione away, but I'm really glad he didn't.

The era you've chosen works really well. It's a time period of darkness where love is difficult, and I think you've portrayed that perfectly.

Thanks for doing the swap with me!

- Lauren

Author's Response: Thank you so much for doing the swap with me! Your review is just so wonderful and I'm really glad that you liked the story! I'm currently going through and shaping up the chapters that are already posted and adding in some new ones. So i hope you come back to check those out! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm really glad that you liked the story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #52, by toomanycurls chapter one

3rd July 2014:
Hi Erica!

I don't read a lot of Dramione but I'm curious to see what you've been working so hard to edit away at.

Already I love that this is in Hermione's voice (you've captured it beautifully, btw) and that it's a Hogwarts Era dramione. I remember someone commenting on this line in our JulNo Cabin, but I cracked up at Hermione's line about Lavender's favorite class being Divination.

Gah, I just want to give Hermione a big hug and tell her she wont' be lonely forever. I think a lot of girls feel that when they're 16 or so and don't have the relationships they want. I know I did. It's such a young age to be super worried about romance though.

Ooh, Okay, I'm pretty sure that's Draco in the RoR but I like the mystery you have around it. :-o I'm not shocked she ran into R+L but okay, I kind of am. :( Nothing feels worse than the scene Hermione walked in on. :( The feels when she's just wanting the pain to go away.

Gah! Why did Draco have to watch that x-( Of course he's going to be horrible about it next chapter! This is a really good opener. I like your focus on Hermione and her core relationships instead of having her dwell on Draco right away.

I'll be reading more. Maybe we should swap through each other's stories.

-Rose

Author's Response: Oh your review just has me gushing! It really means a lot to me that you think that I have captured Hermione's voice beautifully. I don't know what it is about her but she is the character that appeals to me that most. I just love writing in her pov. That bit about Divination seems to be everyone's favorite, as it's mine as well. There was just a bit of snarkiness to her that just was wonderful. I can't wait until you read on and find out more! And YES I am so down with doing a review swap of each other's stories! Thank you so much for the swap and for coming by and giving my dramione a chance!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #53, by HogwartsAlum chapter sixteen

30th June 2014:
Hey, I just read this in only like 3 hours lol. And so far I like what you have done. It is basically going as the book went with slight changes with the relationships. I was never a fan with Draco/Hermione ships in fanfics but I like how you have made it happen. Hope to see more soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this fantastic review! It's made a somewhat crummy day better! I'm glad that you are enjoying it even though you don't normally like dramiones. I have chapter 16 pretty much done so by next Friday for sure I'll have the next chapter up. I'm also doing a bit of a rewrite, fixing up some old chapters, adding in some new stuff, and just smoothing the timeline and flow of the story. I do hope you will come back for more! Thanks for taking the time to read and review.

~slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #54, by ArtyGirl chapter sixteen

29th June 2014:
I like this story but there's a problem with pace. The chapters are so short but the reactions between Hermione and Draco are drawn out too much right up until this chapter where everything seems rushed. Do you really think Hermione would be in love after sitting in a library for a few weeks? She's much more logical than that and love is a big word with lots of meaning behind it to the characters and the readers. When that got tossed out there it felt like what happens to a balloon when you let it go and the air rushes out. I read 15 chapters in an hour an a half, and that's just so short. I think this could be awesome if it had more depth to it. I want to put this story on my 'currently reading' list, but there's so many pace issues I can't get past. I feel like this is a good first draft, and then that's about as far as it goes. I think you really need to evaluate your pace, and readdress the reactions between Draco and Hermione. Skipping from March/ April for the Hogsmade trip, all the way to the end of term is a lot of time to miss out on and a lot of time you could have used to build a relationship between characters.

However props to using references.

Author's Response: You know, I never really looked at it like that, so thank you so much for pointing that out. I'm glad that you came by and gave this story a chance and I hope that someday you will give it another chance and see if I can improve the pacing of things and make it more believable. That is the whole point of this story for me,is that I want to make it as believable as I can for both me and my readers. I will definitely go back and add more to these chapters and see if I can't make the pacing flow a lot better. Thank you again for taking the time to read and review this story. I do hope that you will give it another chance.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #55, by equuleus chapter sixteen

28th June 2014:
Please tell me they still find their way to each other!! Oh, and the story is amazing. ;)

Author's Response: Only time will tell if they will find their way back to each other. I'm really glad that you are enjoying the story. Keep your eye out for chapter 16, I already have it half written! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #56, by Danielle_x chapter fifteen

28th April 2014:
Such a great story and it's not the clique version everyone writes about Hermione/dravo , I hope you will update spon , once again fantastic

Author's Response: I have finally updated this story! Hopefully you will find your way back to this and enjoy the newest bit. I hope that it wont take me as long to get the next chapter up! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #57, by ohmymerlin chapter one

9th April 2014:
Ten years later, Kayla finally arrives to review.

I'm so sorry, Erica, for the HUGE delay! All of a sudden life was just like, 'LOL NO MORE HPFF FOR YOU' D':

Anyway, I'm here and I'm going to review!

First of all, your descriptions are absolutely phenomenal. I can't believe how amazing the descriptions were, the first paragraph was just beautiful. The way you wrote Hermione's feelings were just brilliant and the whole chapter along with it. It's written superbly and even though I don't tend to like Draco and Hermione as a pairing, I can't help but be drawn to this!

Okay, flow. So far, it's brilliant! This was a short first chapter so I can't really comment on it that much but it's written very well and I think you've done a great job of it so far!

You also asked about canon and characterisation. Again, this wasn't a long chapter but from what I've read you've written it perfectly. I can't believe how accurate you've written Hermione. So many authors tend to butcher her beautiful character and I admit I was a teeny bit worried but now all my doubts have disappeared!

Lavender and Ron seem quite accurate for characterisation/canon as well.

So this was a pretty short review, and not that helpful (sorry about that) but I'm assuring you that I really like this first chapter. It's a great introductory chapter and I think you're definitely on the right track!

Feel free to request again! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: The fact that you really like how I have portrayed Hermione and feel that I've done her character justice is amazing. Honestly I would say that she is my favorite character to write. She just comes really easily to me. And the fact that you don't normally like dramiones but like this one is fantastic! I really do hope that you will continue reading this! I'll probably end up requesting more reviews from you soon! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #58, by ReeBee chapter one

19th March 2014:
Hi there Erica! Long time no talk! I'm here with your requested review :)

Characterisation: pretty faithful to canon, so kudos to you! :D I think hermione especially is very powerfully portrayed! The emotion was so so sad! And i loved it because it was something that you don't see in the original books! And Ron and Lavender, also characterised very well!

Description: present at all the right places and used exceptionally well! Though, i do think that you could expand a bit on setting description to slow the flow down? I also think that emotions were described were so so beautiful!

Plot/Flow: great! like i said, a bit of description could help with the flow. and i loved that you provided another view from where JK left off. I'm a huge dramione fan and am definitely excited for this!

Grammar/Syntax: i would suggest another read through? the sentences were a bit too long and complicated. they made perfect sense, but i do think it would help us if they were a tiny bit shorter? even then, i don't think its that big of a problem :)

Great job on this and sorry for the short review! I really am excited to see where this goes! :D

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm really glad that you liked the beginning of this story! I will definitely take another look at this chapter sometime and see if I can mess around with it a bit and get the flow even better! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #59, by mrsbowenxx chapter fifteen

30th December 2013:
Really liking this story so far. Never really liked the idea of Hermione and Draco getting together, but now totally find myself shipping them!

Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: The fact that you have never been a big dramione fan but now you can see it happening because of this story is huge! This is a really amazing comment and really makes my day! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #60, by soufflegirl99 chapter one

17th July 2013:
I don't normally go for Dramione's, but I have to say, already from what I've seen this is brilliant! From the attention grabbing first line to the last tense line from Malfoy, I really enjoyed it, and I'm looking forward to reading the rest.

Firstly, the characterisation was spot on. You managed to capture Ron/Lavender's relationship realistically, and the way you show Ron's little bit of regret really tied in well with his character. I think this story works brilliantly in first person, and you really make the reader empathise with Hermione, right from the first sentence. It really showed her gryffindor side as she pulls herself together, and that really showed that strong side to Hermione that despite all the sadness wants to avoid humiliation.

The detailed description of her thoughts really adds to the pace of the story, helps balance it out, and I love the way she thinks back to her life with Ron, and kind of regrets and also yearns for those memories. The way the plot keeps you guessing already is awesome, and the structure and style in which you write in is so awesome and addictive.

Fantastic story so far, and I'm looking forward to ready the next chapter!

-Sophie :D

Author's Response: Ah this review has absolutely made my day! I'm so glad that while you don't normally read dramiones, this one has caught your attention and made you want to read more of my story. The fact that you feel the characters are spot on is amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #61, by Ashley Ayoub chapter fifteen

9th June 2013:
I BET IT'S DRACO! please let it be Draco and maybe even a firey kiss! please update asap

Author's Response: I'm hoping to break through my writers block soon and get a new chapter posted! Thanks for reading and reviewing

 Report Review

Review #62, by themadhatter chapter fifteen

1st May 2013:
A little confusing at times but I'm excited to see what's going to happen. I like your writing style and I can't wait to read more. Keep Writing!

Author's Response: I'm sorry that its confusing for you at times, I hope that things get cleared up for you! I'm glad you like my writing style and want to read more. I hope that my writers block will go away and that I can get the next chapter posted soon! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #63, by MadiMalfoy chapter fifteen

29th April 2013:
I think it's Draco, going to warn her about the upcoming events (which I hope play out like they do it the book!!), and she won't listen or something crazy will happen, like he'll kiss her!? Ooh, so many different things that can happen! Such a great chapter, honestly! Cliffhangers are a writer's best friend and a reader's worst enemy in my opinion, and it holds true in this chapter. Good job! :) xx

Author's Response: Aw thanks! Those are all possibilities of what could happen though only continuing on to chapter fifteen will actually tell you what is waiting for Hermione beyond the common room! I hope that writers block will disappear for a bit so that i can get chapter fifteen out soon! thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #64, by MadiMalfoy chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Hey there! So I'm just now getting into this story, but I love it anyway! :D This is, by far, the most true to the real story of any fanfiction I've ever read, and that's a great thing! I'm glad that you aren't trying to shove Dramione down the reader's throats, as it's just not quite plausible (even though it IS my main OTP) in this stage. But you write fantastically, so great job on all of these first chapters, I'm excited to see how you portray what comes next logically in the book. :) xx

Author's Response: Yes with this story I am trying to keep as close to canon as I can while adding in the dramione elements! I feel that the best way to read or write a dramione is when its realistic.. or as realistic as the pairing can be and not something that is considered a cliche though there is absolutely nothing wrong with cliches. I'm glad that you like the pace in which I've given for this pairing.. and I will be the first to admit that its still going to be slow going from here! There's still a lot of ground left to cover and book seven is going to be rather tricky to tackle! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I do hope that you will continue on when I finally get around to posting chapter 15.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #65, by patronus_charm chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Hey Erica!

I really enjoyed this chapter, I think it was that cameo from Dumbledore which really pulled it off. Your characterisation of him was great, and that little offer of sherbet lemons just made him, him really.

I really liked how Hermione's still pretending that her and Draco are just friends. Pff I know better, she really does like him deep down and she should really stop denying it!

I'm guessing this probably going to go quite canon, so I wonder what's going to happen when the death eaters come in and raid Hogwarts. I'm guessing Hermione's not going to approve, she's Hermione.

Another great chapter and I can't wait for the next!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Gah you have no idea how much that means to me that you think I did a good job with Dumbledore. Honestly writing his character freaks me out a bit since he's so different. Yes Hermione should just stop denying it but you know how it is with those strong willed ones, its going to take quite awhile for either of them to admit anything! Yes this is still going to go close to canon so the death eaters will be making an appearance here soon! I do hope that you continue reading! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #66, by Brown eyed beast chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Amazing ! Write chapter 14 soon ok?

Author's Response: Chater 14 is up and hopefully the story will start working with me so I can write chapter 15 and get it posted soon! Thank you for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #67, by Jackie chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
I am actually very interested in this story. I like where it is going and how you slowly made Draco and Hermione friends and kept them both in character.

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for this review. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story and think that I'm doing a good job of keeping them in character. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #68, by TNT  chapter six

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So chapter 5, you said it yourself it was a little filler, but still interesting enough.
I liked how you made Hermione follow Draco, even if it was a little sudden and unexpected and Draco was on character. This also really steared my interest in perspective as to this becoming a Dramione.

Other than that I liked the train ride and the little thing about the vacation, even though it was very casual and nothing much happened. It's actually harder to write these paragraphs, than the action packed ones. At least in my opinion.
Well, so much for that =)
I also think that you really gotten into writing this story now, found your style/pace for it, I don't know how to describe this, but it just shows in your flow that it just works really well for you and that always draws readers to a story. Maybe its also because we are finally starting to get into the story, making some progress.
Looking forward to the next chapters, but now I'm gonna be busy myself ^^
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for this chapter! Yeah it is a bit of a filler and I'm really hoping some day to come back to this chapter and fix it up a bit! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #69, by TNT  chapter five

20th April 2013:
Hey,
back for chapter 4.
As you might noticed, I'm really into this by now ^^

I really liked that Hermione had to wait for Cormac. It was a head-start into the chapter and you already had me thinking "that's so him"
He stayed very well to canon for the rest of the chapter as well.
I especially liked the flow of this chapter, I don't exactly know why, but it just worked really well.
Also Hermione and her attempts to "escape" =)
When you let her bump into someone at the beginning I thought it would be Malfoy, but I am actually glad that you are only subtly working him in so far.

I also wonder how Cormac could leave from under the mistletoe. I wouldn't put it beyond him to kiss another girl and chase Hermione again.
So far it was really true to canon and realistic.
My favorite chapter so far! And I am really excited where you're going to take this, to make Hermione and Draco meet.
Well, that it =)
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad that you liked this chapter a lot! It was a lot of fun to write. I actually really liked writing Cormac and all his attempts to catch Hermione. And you thought the flow was really well... aw that just makes me so happy! Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you are enjoying it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #70, by TNT  chapter three

20th April 2013:
On to chapter three =)

As for your characters, you really did well.
Ron was as clueless as ever and also the little bit of Harry that we've seen.

Also how Hermione handles her heart-brokenness comes along well. It just wouldn't be her to completely loose it over a boy.
Her thoughts flow really well, so far, so that's that.
I didn't think its all too surprising that Malfoy didn't spill the beans, since hes worried Hermione might do the same in return.

So far, you're true to canon (I'm glad you kept Cormac as her date, on the other hand I would doubt a true-to-character Malfoy would agree to date her. Yet.) and absolutly realistic.
So, now I'm out of things to say =).
Great job.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: the fact that you think I'm doing a good job with characterization is wonderful! I'm really glad that you like that I've kept Cormac as her date! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #71, by TNT  chapter two

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So back for the second chapter.
As for your characters, I think they are doing great so far. Draco? You definitely hit the nail on its head.
And Hermione also sounds very true to character.

Seeing that Malfoy cried puts a really interesting twist to it and as i said, how he reacts to it, is very real for him.
So far it really steers my interest.

I actually really like that your chapters aren't 6000 words long. Because sometimes there just isn't enough plot for 6000 words and it gets boring quickly, but so far this is just on the point and flowing quite well =)

Keep it up! I'm off to the next one.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the chapter and that you felt that the characters are spot on!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #72, by TNT  chapter one

18th April 2013:
Hey =)

So, this was a rather short chapter, but still I think it set a good start, right on the point what this story will be about.
It also triggers my interest, as for what will happen now, how they'll react to each other.

Since this was rather short, I actually don't have much to critize. I like your writing style so far and now I really dont have anything else to say =)
Great start!

Love,
T.

Author's Response: Yay it catches your interest! That makes me so happy! Thats of course something that every writer wants their first chapter to do so I'm really happy you felt mine did that for you! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #73, by Mad4Gred chapter thirteen

25th February 2013:
She should concoct a plan to help him

Author's Response: She's got something up her sleeve thats for sure! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! It really makes my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #74, by da_potterhead chapter thirteen

22nd February 2013:
can you pleeease update soon? :3

Author's Response: I've got the beginning of the next chapter already started so hopefully I will be able to work on it some more today and hopefully soon have another chapter out! I'm so glad that you have taken the time to read and review and that you are liking my story so far!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #75, by patronus_charm chapter thirteen

21st February 2013:
Hello!

I was so glad that you updated this story, as I really like it, and I was beginning to miss it :(

I really loved how you showed how Hermione was torn between Draco and Harry. You can really feel for her, as she doesnít really know where her loyalties should lie.

It was also nice to see that despite the fact that Ron was dating Lavender, they could sort of work together through a time of crisis and not fight, and that was really touching to see.

I also loved the brief mention of Ginny and Harry managing to reveal their true feelings to one another. Though I donít like them as the main pairing, I love them as the sub pairing, so this was really nice to read.

A great chapter, and I hope to see more soon!

-Kiana :)

Author's Response: Aw you were missing my story?! That just makes me so happy and makes me want to crank out another chapter as soon as I can just for you! Aw your review has just left me with feels! I wanted to show that it would be hard for hermione as she is devloping feelings for Draco and yet her friends have no idea so she doesn't really have anyone to confide in about it so she has to keep to herself. I myself am one who isn't really a big supporter of people making Hermione and Ron's relationship become one of pure hatred just because of him wanting to be with someone else or her getting together with Draco. Yes its true Ron has a temper and things might get rocky with him but he is a true friend, he showed that in DH by coming back and knowing he made a mistake the moment he left. Thanks so much for the review its really made my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>