Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
264 Reviews Found

Review #51, by ohmymerlin chapter one

9th April 2014:
Ten years later, Kayla finally arrives to review.

I'm so sorry, Erica, for the HUGE delay! All of a sudden life was just like, 'LOL NO MORE HPFF FOR YOU' D':

Anyway, I'm here and I'm going to review!

First of all, your descriptions are absolutely phenomenal. I can't believe how amazing the descriptions were, the first paragraph was just beautiful. The way you wrote Hermione's feelings were just brilliant and the whole chapter along with it. It's written superbly and even though I don't tend to like Draco and Hermione as a pairing, I can't help but be drawn to this!

Okay, flow. So far, it's brilliant! This was a short first chapter so I can't really comment on it that much but it's written very well and I think you've done a great job of it so far!

You also asked about canon and characterisation. Again, this wasn't a long chapter but from what I've read you've written it perfectly. I can't believe how accurate you've written Hermione. So many authors tend to butcher her beautiful character and I admit I was a teeny bit worried but now all my doubts have disappeared!

Lavender and Ron seem quite accurate for characterisation/canon as well.

So this was a pretty short review, and not that helpful (sorry about that) but I'm assuring you that I really like this first chapter. It's a great introductory chapter and I think you're definitely on the right track!

Feel free to request again! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: The fact that you really like how I have portrayed Hermione and feel that I've done her character justice is amazing. Honestly I would say that she is my favorite character to write. She just comes really easily to me. And the fact that you don't normally like dramiones but like this one is fantastic! I really do hope that you will continue reading this! I'll probably end up requesting more reviews from you soon! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #52, by ReeBee chapter one

19th March 2014:
Hi there Erica! Long time no talk! I'm here with your requested review :)

Characterisation: pretty faithful to canon, so kudos to you! :D I think hermione especially is very powerfully portrayed! The emotion was so so sad! And i loved it because it was something that you don't see in the original books! And Ron and Lavender, also characterised very well!

Description: present at all the right places and used exceptionally well! Though, i do think that you could expand a bit on setting description to slow the flow down? I also think that emotions were described were so so beautiful!

Plot/Flow: great! like i said, a bit of description could help with the flow. and i loved that you provided another view from where JK left off. I'm a huge dramione fan and am definitely excited for this!

Grammar/Syntax: i would suggest another read through? the sentences were a bit too long and complicated. they made perfect sense, but i do think it would help us if they were a tiny bit shorter? even then, i don't think its that big of a problem :)

Great job on this and sorry for the short review! I really am excited to see where this goes! :D

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm really glad that you liked the beginning of this story! I will definitely take another look at this chapter sometime and see if I can mess around with it a bit and get the flow even better! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #53, by mrsbowenxx chapter fifteen

30th December 2013:
Really liking this story so far. Never really liked the idea of Hermione and Draco getting together, but now totally find myself shipping them!

Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: The fact that you have never been a big dramione fan but now you can see it happening because of this story is huge! This is a really amazing comment and really makes my day! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #54, by soufflegirl99 chapter one

17th July 2013:
I don't normally go for Dramione's, but I have to say, already from what I've seen this is brilliant! From the attention grabbing first line to the last tense line from Malfoy, I really enjoyed it, and I'm looking forward to reading the rest.

Firstly, the characterisation was spot on. You managed to capture Ron/Lavender's relationship realistically, and the way you show Ron's little bit of regret really tied in well with his character. I think this story works brilliantly in first person, and you really make the reader empathise with Hermione, right from the first sentence. It really showed her gryffindor side as she pulls herself together, and that really showed that strong side to Hermione that despite all the sadness wants to avoid humiliation.

The detailed description of her thoughts really adds to the pace of the story, helps balance it out, and I love the way she thinks back to her life with Ron, and kind of regrets and also yearns for those memories. The way the plot keeps you guessing already is awesome, and the structure and style in which you write in is so awesome and addictive.

Fantastic story so far, and I'm looking forward to ready the next chapter!

-Sophie :D

Author's Response: Ah this review has absolutely made my day! I'm so glad that while you don't normally read dramiones, this one has caught your attention and made you want to read more of my story. The fact that you feel the characters are spot on is amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #55, by Ashley Ayoub chapter fifteen

9th June 2013:
I BET IT'S DRACO! please let it be Draco and maybe even a firey kiss! please update asap

Author's Response: I'm hoping to break through my writers block soon and get a new chapter posted! Thanks for reading and reviewing

 Report Review

Review #56, by themadhatter chapter fifteen

1st May 2013:
A little confusing at times but I'm excited to see what's going to happen. I like your writing style and I can't wait to read more. Keep Writing!

Author's Response: I'm sorry that its confusing for you at times, I hope that things get cleared up for you! I'm glad you like my writing style and want to read more. I hope that my writers block will go away and that I can get the next chapter posted soon! Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #57, by MadiMalfoy chapter fifteen

29th April 2013:
I think it's Draco, going to warn her about the upcoming events (which I hope play out like they do it the book!!), and she won't listen or something crazy will happen, like he'll kiss her!? Ooh, so many different things that can happen! Such a great chapter, honestly! Cliffhangers are a writer's best friend and a reader's worst enemy in my opinion, and it holds true in this chapter. Good job! :) xx

Author's Response: Aw thanks! Those are all possibilities of what could happen though only continuing on to chapter fifteen will actually tell you what is waiting for Hermione beyond the common room! I hope that writers block will disappear for a bit so that i can get chapter fifteen out soon! thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #58, by MadiMalfoy chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Hey there! So I'm just now getting into this story, but I love it anyway! :D This is, by far, the most true to the real story of any fanfiction I've ever read, and that's a great thing! I'm glad that you aren't trying to shove Dramione down the reader's throats, as it's just not quite plausible (even though it IS my main OTP) in this stage. But you write fantastically, so great job on all of these first chapters, I'm excited to see how you portray what comes next logically in the book. :) xx

Author's Response: Yes with this story I am trying to keep as close to canon as I can while adding in the dramione elements! I feel that the best way to read or write a dramione is when its realistic.. or as realistic as the pairing can be and not something that is considered a cliche though there is absolutely nothing wrong with cliches. I'm glad that you like the pace in which I've given for this pairing.. and I will be the first to admit that its still going to be slow going from here! There's still a lot of ground left to cover and book seven is going to be rather tricky to tackle! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I do hope that you will continue on when I finally get around to posting chapter 15.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #59, by patronus_charm chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Hey Erica!

I really enjoyed this chapter, I think it was that cameo from Dumbledore which really pulled it off. Your characterisation of him was great, and that little offer of sherbet lemons just made him, him really.

I really liked how Hermione's still pretending that her and Draco are just friends. Pff I know better, she really does like him deep down and she should really stop denying it!

I'm guessing this probably going to go quite canon, so I wonder what's going to happen when the death eaters come in and raid Hogwarts. I'm guessing Hermione's not going to approve, she's Hermione.

Another great chapter and I can't wait for the next!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Gah you have no idea how much that means to me that you think I did a good job with Dumbledore. Honestly writing his character freaks me out a bit since he's so different. Yes Hermione should just stop denying it but you know how it is with those strong willed ones, its going to take quite awhile for either of them to admit anything! Yes this is still going to go close to canon so the death eaters will be making an appearance here soon! I do hope that you continue reading! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #60, by Brown eyed beast chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
Amazing ! Write chapter 14 soon ok?

Author's Response: Chater 14 is up and hopefully the story will start working with me so I can write chapter 15 and get it posted soon! Thank you for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #61, by Jackie chapter fourteen

22nd April 2013:
I am actually very interested in this story. I like where it is going and how you slowly made Draco and Hermione friends and kept them both in character.

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for this review. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story and think that I'm doing a good job of keeping them in character. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #62, by TNT  chapter six

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So chapter 5, you said it yourself it was a little filler, but still interesting enough.
I liked how you made Hermione follow Draco, even if it was a little sudden and unexpected and Draco was on character. This also really steared my interest in perspective as to this becoming a Dramione.

Other than that I liked the train ride and the little thing about the vacation, even though it was very casual and nothing much happened. It's actually harder to write these paragraphs, than the action packed ones. At least in my opinion.
Well, so much for that =)
I also think that you really gotten into writing this story now, found your style/pace for it, I don't know how to describe this, but it just shows in your flow that it just works really well for you and that always draws readers to a story. Maybe its also because we are finally starting to get into the story, making some progress.
Looking forward to the next chapters, but now I'm gonna be busy myself ^^
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for this chapter! Yeah it is a bit of a filler and I'm really hoping some day to come back to this chapter and fix it up a bit! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #63, by TNT  chapter five

20th April 2013:
Hey,
back for chapter 4.
As you might noticed, I'm really into this by now ^^

I really liked that Hermione had to wait for Cormac. It was a head-start into the chapter and you already had me thinking "that's so him"
He stayed very well to canon for the rest of the chapter as well.
I especially liked the flow of this chapter, I don't exactly know why, but it just worked really well.
Also Hermione and her attempts to "escape" =)
When you let her bump into someone at the beginning I thought it would be Malfoy, but I am actually glad that you are only subtly working him in so far.

I also wonder how Cormac could leave from under the mistletoe. I wouldn't put it beyond him to kiss another girl and chase Hermione again.
So far it was really true to canon and realistic.
My favorite chapter so far! And I am really excited where you're going to take this, to make Hermione and Draco meet.
Well, that it =)
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad that you liked this chapter a lot! It was a lot of fun to write. I actually really liked writing Cormac and all his attempts to catch Hermione. And you thought the flow was really well... aw that just makes me so happy! Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you are enjoying it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #64, by TNT  chapter three

20th April 2013:
On to chapter three =)

As for your characters, you really did well.
Ron was as clueless as ever and also the little bit of Harry that we've seen.

Also how Hermione handles her heart-brokenness comes along well. It just wouldn't be her to completely loose it over a boy.
Her thoughts flow really well, so far, so that's that.
I didn't think its all too surprising that Malfoy didn't spill the beans, since hes worried Hermione might do the same in return.

So far, you're true to canon (I'm glad you kept Cormac as her date, on the other hand I would doubt a true-to-character Malfoy would agree to date her. Yet.) and absolutly realistic.
So, now I'm out of things to say =).
Great job.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: the fact that you think I'm doing a good job with characterization is wonderful! I'm really glad that you like that I've kept Cormac as her date! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #65, by TNT  chapter two

20th April 2013:
Hey =)

So back for the second chapter.
As for your characters, I think they are doing great so far. Draco? You definitely hit the nail on its head.
And Hermione also sounds very true to character.

Seeing that Malfoy cried puts a really interesting twist to it and as i said, how he reacts to it, is very real for him.
So far it really steers my interest.

I actually really like that your chapters aren't 6000 words long. Because sometimes there just isn't enough plot for 6000 words and it gets boring quickly, but so far this is just on the point and flowing quite well =)

Keep it up! I'm off to the next one.
Love,
T.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the chapter and that you felt that the characters are spot on!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #66, by TNT  chapter one

18th April 2013:
Hey =)

So, this was a rather short chapter, but still I think it set a good start, right on the point what this story will be about.
It also triggers my interest, as for what will happen now, how they'll react to each other.

Since this was rather short, I actually don't have much to critize. I like your writing style so far and now I really dont have anything else to say =)
Great start!

Love,
T.

Author's Response: Yay it catches your interest! That makes me so happy! Thats of course something that every writer wants their first chapter to do so I'm really happy you felt mine did that for you! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #67, by Mad4Gred chapter thirteen

25th February 2013:
She should concoct a plan to help him

Author's Response: She's got something up her sleeve thats for sure! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! It really makes my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #68, by da_potterhead chapter thirteen

22nd February 2013:
can you pleeease update soon? :3

Author's Response: I've got the beginning of the next chapter already started so hopefully I will be able to work on it some more today and hopefully soon have another chapter out! I'm so glad that you have taken the time to read and review and that you are liking my story so far!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #69, by patronus_charm chapter thirteen

21st February 2013:
Hello!

I was so glad that you updated this story, as I really like it, and I was beginning to miss it :(

I really loved how you showed how Hermione was torn between Draco and Harry. You can really feel for her, as she doesnít really know where her loyalties should lie.

It was also nice to see that despite the fact that Ron was dating Lavender, they could sort of work together through a time of crisis and not fight, and that was really touching to see.

I also loved the brief mention of Ginny and Harry managing to reveal their true feelings to one another. Though I donít like them as the main pairing, I love them as the sub pairing, so this was really nice to read.

A great chapter, and I hope to see more soon!

-Kiana :)

Author's Response: Aw you were missing my story?! That just makes me so happy and makes me want to crank out another chapter as soon as I can just for you! Aw your review has just left me with feels! I wanted to show that it would be hard for hermione as she is devloping feelings for Draco and yet her friends have no idea so she doesn't really have anyone to confide in about it so she has to keep to herself. I myself am one who isn't really a big supporter of people making Hermione and Ron's relationship become one of pure hatred just because of him wanting to be with someone else or her getting together with Draco. Yes its true Ron has a temper and things might get rocky with him but he is a true friend, he showed that in DH by coming back and knowing he made a mistake the moment he left. Thanks so much for the review its really made my day!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #70, by shinichi chapter thirteen

21st February 2013:
OMG! yess...atlast a chapter of this story has come.this was d first story i read when i came to hpff.i wiated waited nd waited but no updates at aall.. :( well ah atlast this chapter came :) luv u nd ur storyy plz update soon :)
dramione rockz,
shinichi

Author's Response: Omg! this review! I'm just so full of feels that I can't even begin to describe right now! First of all to say this was the first story you read coming on here and how much you waited for another chapter and I was just stuck with a block and that you came back just speaks volumes to me! I promise you that this story will never be abandoned and will some day be finished! I have the beginning of chapter 13 started so hopefully i can have it finished and to my beta soon! Thank you so much for this awesome review and for taking the time to read and review my story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #71, by dracos lover chapter thirteen

20th February 2013:
Im loving your book so much, so far. please update soon i really want to know what happens next.

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for the awesome review! I'm hoping to have the next chapter up sometime soon. I have big plans to work on it today! So keep your eyes out for it! Thanks for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #72, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter twelve

30th January 2013:
OMG! I kept thinking back to HBP, wondering why Draco would disappear, just in case there was a clue, then Harry came in all pale and shaky and I knew - I can't believe I forgot about Sectumsempra!

I felt so sad for Hermione, thinking she'd been stood up by someone she'd come to depend on, even if that person did turn out to be Draco Malfoy. And know she's gonna know that he's hurt. I wonder if she'll go see him publicly, wait till she knows they'll be alone or wait till he comes to her, in the library or something.

I can't wait for the next chapter. And I have no more 'next's to press!!!

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Chapter twelve has already been posted so I do hope that you will come back and check it out! I'm so glad that you are enjoying this story. Yeah I'm trying to keep this story pretty close in line with HBP though at the same time making it seperate! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #73, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter eleven

30th January 2013:
Hey again. I'm back. :)

Ah! Big Dramione moment - first names and smiles and honest words. I feel so sad for Draco, I want to hug him. I want Hermione to hug him. I want someone to hug him.

Enjoying this story so much. Great job.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad that you like this and are enjoying the interactions between the two. I know the feeling as well, I wish I could hop in there and give Draco a hug! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #74, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter ten

27th January 2013:
It's nice that Hermione is able to try and help Malfoy, despite their past - she just doesn't seem the type to ignore when a person needs it, no matter what or who. Well, within reason, I think. Maybe not Bellatrix or Voldemort. I like that about her character.

I wonder when Draco will finally accept help, or anything, from Hermione. I imagine something will happen, noodles what, though.

I loved the end that, that real friendship is being able to not fill the silence every time. I believe that.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hermione is the type of person that I feel would try to help anyone no matter who that person might be, if she thinks for even a small moment that there might be some good in them. Draco however is the opposite, he doesn't want to receive help from anyone because he's a Malfoy and they don't need help, but he will soon realize that as a human even a Malfoy needs help some times. Thanks again for another review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #75, by TheHeirOfSlytherin chapter nine

27th January 2013:
I loved Spy-like Hermione, it was funny to read and definitely something I would do, something everyone in a situation like that should do. :P Even the Pink Panther song, which is now kinda stuck in my head.

I'm enjoying the slow interaction between Draco and Hermione. It's changing ever so slightly each time, a small step forward and there are still plenty of moments when they're still the same, but still changing. I like that it's slow.

Great chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Ah yes, spy Hermione. As a muggle I can see her knowing the tune to Pink Panther and humming as she goes along. Honestly this review has made my day! I'm really glad that you are liking how slow I'm taking things but yet still developing them as I go. I was hoping that people wouldn't think that I was taking things too slowly. Thanks for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>