Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
264 Reviews Found

Review #26, by DracoFerret11 chapter four

8th July 2014:
Hi there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I said I'd get around to reading the new version of this story, so what better time than the House Cup? So, let's go over things:

Brief Comments on Chapter 1: This goes for all the chapters, but I spotted several spelling and grammar issues throughout. Maybe a read-through would help, or perhaps a beta reader. Other than that, though, I don't have much to say about chapter one. I think you fleshed it out quite nicely. I don't completely remember the first version ( XD ), but I like this one quite a bit!

Brief Comments on Chapter 2: Same thing on spelling & grammar, but I'll quit repeating that. I liked the interaction between Draco and Hermione. I thought that was nice and realistic. I didn't like all of Hermione's thoughts about him, though. For one, it seemed a bit odd that she would obsess over him so much -- maybe he just had allergies and wasn't crying at all! And her thoughts about him "not wanting to be a Death Eater" and secretly being a good guy, etc. etc., seemed a bit cliche. It just seemed too early for her to think about that. Which sort of connects to my other issue with this chapter: Hermione obsessing over guys in general. She thinks a lot about how it would feel to be in a relationship, etc., but that seemed a bit out of character to book-Hermione. It was just a bit over-the-top for me.

Brief Comments on Chapter 3: I don't have many thoughts on this chapter, other than that I really liked that you mentioned that Hermione was hoping that Ron had changed his mind about Lavender. That made a lot of sense and I really, really thought it fit with the story and Hermione's characterization. Great job. I wasn't too sure about her corning Draco yet again, but we'll see how things progress. :)


REVIEW FOR THIS CHAPTER:

Grammar/Spelling: Same issues as before!

Plot: Okay! So, this is a new chapter and I like it quite a bit. It was sweet and made sense, and I liked seeing Hermione on a relaxed day of her own. The story about the book shop owner's wife was a little extraneous, but I still liked it. I thought it was cute for him to give her his wife's books, but I almost feel like those books/that man/that scene have to MEAN something later to not just be filler. I also loved the gifts Hermione bought for her parents. Very nice.

Characterization: I think you captured Hermione very well in this chapter. When she's on her own, I can definitely see the canon-Hermione that I recognize. She was quiet and bookish, and I really loved that. Great job. I also, of course, think you pulled off writing Draco and Pansy well here. I haven't written about Pansy in so long that I've practically forgotten she exists.

Descriptions: I liked the details about the weather outside and the gifts Hermione bought for her parents. I could do with more details about the settings, though, and about more than just visual imagery. Remember: sight, sound, touch, taste, smell. Adding more of those in will help a reader to picture the scenes better.

Emotions: I would have liked to see more of Hermione's emotions in this chapter. We briefly get that she's disappointed that she can't be with her friends, but not much else. There's the scene where Mr. Bleakly tells about his wife, and I expected more of a reaction from Hermione, but I didn't really get it.

Interactions: I did, however, love the conversation between Mr. Bleakly and Hermione. It was very sweet and grandfatherly. Good job with your OC and good job with the scene in general. Pansy and Draco's conversation was also very good. I love whenever Draco loses his patience with Pansy though. ;)

Overall, good first few chapters. I'll ask you when five is revised and I'll read it ASAP. Well done and good luck to Hufflepuff in the House Cup!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Infinityx chapter four

8th July 2014:
HI. I AM HERE NOW.

Wow, this chapter is just a huge bomb of emotion. Why do you do this to my heart? The chapter starts on a happy note when Hermione is thinking about all the shopping she has to do, and then...dun dun dunnn...enters the evil lavender and the gullible Ron. (I was going to use stronger words but 12+) Poor Hermione. When I read the line I had already lost Ron to her, but did I really have to lose Harry too? I cried. I really did. That was such a simple but powerful way of conveying what she was feeling.

I love the way you've described Hogsmeade. The imagery used is just beautiful.

Aw, Mr Bleakly is the sweetest! I love the way he cares about Hermione to the extent that he's giving her his wife's books! And that story. :') SO MUCH FEELS ERICA. That was my favorite part of the story so far and Mr Bleakly is my favorite character now. You should write a story about him!

Yay, Draco and Pansy broke up! It would be cool if you could give a bit more detail on why she began suspecting him. Maybe someone else who had a grudge against Draco or someone who had a crush on Pansy found this to be an opening to break them both up and fed Pansy lies! Okay, my thoughts just ran away from me there.

BUT EXCELLENT WORK WITH THE CHAPTER AND I LOVE THE WAY YOUVE ENDED IT. UPDATE SOON SO THAT I CAN LEAVE ANOTHER GUSHING REVIEW.

~Erin

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #28, by Lostmyheart chapter seven

7th July 2014:
Hello :D

Hermione's first act of kindness towards Draco! It surprised me, perhaps as much as it surprised herself. But I think it mostly was because of her never-ending curiosity. She just can't help it.

I liked that you've jumped from Christmas to Valentine's Day, it gives this slow feeling to it - that this Draco/Hermione is something that isnt coming easy.

Also, I forgot to add this in my earlier review - the one for the previous chapter: I really liked that you mentioned who didn't like the topics discussed in the cabin, like when they talked about Herbology it wasn't something Ginny liked, etc. And when Hermione started reading her book, only to say something when correcting somebody (you're quite clever with this detail) it made me wonder if it annoyed all of them. Hehe.

I'll go on, chapter eight is waiting!

- Avi

For the HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW - EVENT 5

Author's Response: I believe that Hermione is really a good person and that she doesn't really have a bad bone in her body unless provoked. This huge gap between these two chapters time wise is actually something that I don't like I think that it makes the story feel a bit choppier than I would like and so this is one thing that I'm resolving this time around. I'm adding in at least 2 maybe 3 new chapters between chapter six and this chapter seven just to try and close the gap and really build up more to the dramione aspects of the story rather than just kinda kick them out the door. But I'm glad that you liked it!

thank you so much for yet another wonderful review! I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of the story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #29, by Lostmyheart chapter six

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

I've reached chapter six, and I still like how this story is progressing.
I laughed a bit, when Hermione followed Draco and when she bumped into him she just said 'oh' and turned around. I mean, what? Haha :D That was so adorable, here she is, the school's most clever girl and all she says is 'oh' and turns around, trying to pretend it wasn't that big of a deal.
I also liked that she didn't know where she was. It just showed that Hogwarts is a big castle, and even after so many years, it's still not easy to know where you are and that you haven't been able to see all of it yet. It may also stick to her character, as she's that kind of a person that likes routines and just goes to classes, the common room and the library - no need to go anywhere else.

I sense a Neville/Luna romance coming up. It was a sweet detail when you mentioned Neville looking at Luna, even when she wasn't talking. I liked that :)

Now I'm off to the seventh chapter! And I'm probbaly going to bombard you with several reviews during this event and after it :)

- Avi

For the HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW - EVENT 5

Author's Response: So the scene with Draco and Hermione has now changed in this update, trying to make it a bit more realistic so that its not just a random moment that she suddenly decides to follow him, but that there is more of a reason behind it. But I am glad that you liked the section that I had between the two and found it enjoyable. Yeah I'm definitely a sucker for Neville/Luna, I just think that they are so cute together and I don't care that Neville is supposed to be with Susan for me it will always be Luna, even though I have ideas for a Neville/Susan short story.

These reviews that you have left for this story are absolutely wonderful and have really made my day! The fact that you are taking the time to read and review each chapter is really amazing and its really cool see your responses to each chapter! Thank you so much for taking the time out to do that!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #30, by Lostmyheart chapter five

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

This was a shorter chapter then the previous ones, or at least it felt like it. I didn't read the word count before I clicked it.

I've always liked the detail about magic mistletoes, where you can't get away from it unless you get kissed. So I loved it when you put Cormac under it! It was a quite funny situation, and I wonder who would kiss him just to free him.

He did seem rather aggressive to Hermione, which always had me wondering why. Because she obviously wasn't very interested in him, even in the books.
Btw, I really like that you stick to certain scenes from the book, and play your own story from it.

I can't wait to read the rest! :)

- Avi

For the HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW - EVENT 5

Author's Response: Thanks for another wonderful review! I'm really glad that you are liking this story and the fact that I'm sticking pretty close to canon events but just spinning my own story around that! That's what a lot of this story is going to be like. A lot of events that are going to play out in this story will be based in canon but then branch off on its own to have different twists. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story and leaving all these wonderful reviews for me! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #31, by Lostmyheart chapter four

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

What an interesting development... I knew that it would end up being a rumor, when Ron said he thought she was seeing someone in the Room of Requirement. I have an idea that maybe Lavender has something to do with this.

I really like how true you stay to Hermione's character, I can imagine it so clearly how she feels about the whole situation, howshe felt that Lavender was the reason to why she was 'loosing' Harry and Ron. Harry of course is in the usual position as always, in between Ron and Hermione whenever they argue. Almost like Schwitzerland (not sure if I spelled that correctly) but yeah, you probably know what I mean.

And I like that even Pansy suddenly suspects that the rumors are true, it kind of shows that Draco has been so shady lately that she's so nervous that a rumor about Hermione seing someone has made her think it's him. Even though she knows he hates mudbloods.

I'll get on to the fifth chapter soon!
I really enjoy your story, I always like Dramione stories that develops over a period of time instead of a spur in the moment (which sometimes can be good too)

- Avi

For the HOUSE CUP 2014 - EVENT 5

Author's Response: I prefer dramiones that have a slow build up as well. I think that its much more realistic when done that way and I really want this story to be as realistic as possible! I'm glad that you liked the development with the rumor and thought that Pansy questioning Draco really showed that he had been acting really shady lately. I'm glad that you are enjoying Hermiones character so far. Thank you so much for another wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #32, by Lostmyheart chapter three

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

I really like where you're headed with this story. It's slowly building up to something, as Hermione is still questioning what Draco was doing that night.
I felt so bad for her in the beginning of this chapter, how she hoped Ron would apologize for last night, how she imagined he'd regret what he almost did with Lavender. And it almost infuriated me when the first thing he did, was to ask about how her night went. Like what? yes, Ron, just keep rubbing it in her face. Of course he probably did it without meaning it, he just isn't really clever sometimes.

I really enjoyed reading this chapter, and I'll head over to the fourth right now :)

- Avi

For the HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW - Event 5

Author's Response: Avi thank you so much for continuing to read and review this story! It really means a lot to me that you continue to come back and read this as well as reviewing each chapter as you go! I'm glad that you enjoyed this chapter, and yes you're right, Ron can be a bit dull sometimes. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #33, by HeyMrsPotter chapter four

7th July 2014:
This is most definitely my favourite chapter so far (though we're only 4 in and I think that about all of the chapters so it'll probably change :p)

You have some really beautiful descriptions of Hogsmeade in here, and I particularly loved the parts about the weather and could just picture Hermione pulling her coat up to protect herself from it. The fact that she had such a logical route planned in her head that would mean she would get back to the castle quicker whilst avoiding Ron and Lavender was something she would definitely do. Again, it shows just how well you know Hermione and how perfectly you write her.

Undoubtedly my favourite part of this chapter had to be Mr Bleakly's shop and his adorable story about his wife. For him to give Hermione those books was just so nice of him and it was obvious how much she appreciated that. But naturally the moment wasn't perfect because along came Draco and Pansy to ruin the moment and just be awful. Though it made me happy when he dumped her-muhahaha! (I really hate Pansy!)

Looking forward to see what the new chapter 5 has in store.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Dee this review absolutely has me gushing. As I've said previously I really enjoy writing Hermione and so for you to say that I have her character so well written and true to her is just absolutely amazing and one of the biggest compliments you could give me! To give this chapter a less filler feeling I knew I had to have something else come up while she was there. And to be honest, I wanted to give Hermione a little bit of a break from Ron and Lavender, besides neither of them would show up in the book store. I do have plans for these books to pop up later in the story just to continue making this scene not as much of a filler chapter. Thank you again for another wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #34, by HeyMrsPotter chapter three

7th July 2014:
Another excellent character, Erica!

What I love most about your story is how good your characterisation of everyone is. Like, in this chapter you've got Ron shovelling his food in, being oblivious to the fact that he might have hurt Hermione's feelings the night before and him then getting it totally wrong as to why she was in the Room of Requirement. Then there's Lavender who is just so obnoxious and annoying!

Hermione's run in with Draco and Pansy was a really great addition to this chapter from the original, poor Hermione walking in on them kissing, just more ammunition for Draco! I'm so pleased she stood her ground with him though. Super chapter, Erica!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you liked this chapter Dee! It's really huge to hear you say that you think that my characterizations are really strong especially since I have a rather large cast of characters rotating in and out of the scene. And I'm glad you enjoyed the bit that I added with Hermione walking in on Draco and Pansy. I just wanted to have something else for Draco and another element to the story. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #35, by HeyMrsPotter chapter two

7th July 2014:
Me again :)

Another amazing chapter! I really love the dialogue that you have between Hermione and Malfoy here. She's every bit as sharp tongued as him and it makes for a great first interaction in the story. I like that you still show the difference between them in the fact that Hermione is obviously frustrated with him where he remains cool and collected. I think it really comes across that she doesn't like that he matches her intellectually.

My favourite part in this chapter has to be the bit where Hermione sits with Harry. I love how they both understand how the other is feeling but Harry is unaware that Hermione had figured it out. He's so naive when it comes to romantic feelings and you really show that in that part. And their little nudging each other is just too adorable!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: And another fantastic review from you! I'm so glad that you liked this chapter and thought that the interaction between Draco and Hermione is up to par and shows just how different they are but yes you are right that its different for Hermione to have someone who is her match intellectually. That bit between Harry and Hermione is probably one of my favorites in this chapter as well. It just shows their type of friendship and how friends can be there for each other without really having to say anything. Thank you again for another great review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #36, by HeyMrsPotter chapter one

7th July 2014:
Hi, Erica! Can I just start by saying I'm so happy that I get to help you out with this amazing story :D

The first time I read this chapter, I really liked it, now I've read the updated version and I love it! It really shows how much you've worked on your writing and how far you've come with it.

One of the things I love most is how well you seem to know Hermione, not just her character but her thoughts too. You really make the reader get inside her head and connect with her. Particularly after she sees Ron and Lavender kissing, I really feel her pain.

Speaking of Lavender, I totally adore Hermione's complaints about her, especially the line about her favourite subject being Divination. It rally just enforces the idea that Lavender and Hermione are polar opposites.

The chapter ends in the perfect place and I'm so glad chapter two was already there to read because if not it would drive me crazy!

Brilliant opening chapter to a brilliant story, my dear.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Dee the fact that you are taking on this huge project with me is so amazing and I great appreciate it! I'm so glad that you can see just how far I've come with my writing as that's an amazing compliment. As well as the fact that you think that I know Hermione really well. To me, Hermione is my favorite to write about. I'm not exactly sure what it is about her that I love to write so much but I also feel that I can write her much better than some of the other characters. I'm really glad that you liked this chapter and I look forward to hearing more from you and continuing to work on this project together! Thank you so much!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #37, by Infinityx chapter one

6th July 2014:
Hi! I'm here to review your story. (I would bomb it but I'm waiting for the edits to get done)

I love how you've started the first chapter using a canon event. That held an element of surprise as the Dramiones which I've read, were Post Hogwarts, and had the cliched story of Ron cheating on Hermione, and Draco magically appearing into Hermione's life. Here, when I read about that common room scene, my first thought was 'whoa, not what I expected. How's she going to make this work?' Excellent beginning!

Poor Hermione. I never really understood what she saw in Ron, but it was obvious that she was smitten with him for a long time. I do think that if she'd done something to let him know, they could have gotten together much earlier. Anyway, I'm digressing.

I love the way you've described that steamy moment between Ron and Lavender in an indirect way, through Hermione's thoughts and feelings. The part where Ron extends his hand really touched me, for I thought there was going to be a twist and it would be a happy ending to the chapter. (even though I knew that wouldn't happen). And the final reveal was perfect!

Of course she would enjoy a class that didn't mean anything in life and fell for the sporadic words, or prophesies as she liked to call them, of Professor Trewlany.
It took me a couple of reads to figure out exactly what you were trying to say in this sentence. Maybe you could rephrase it? Like:
Of course she would enjoy a class that didn't mean anything in life and fell for Professor Trelawney's sporadic words, or prophesies as the teacher liked to call them.
There's a repetition of "she" in the way you've phrased the sentence originally, and that could refer to either the Professor or to Lavender, so if you could specify that, it would be clearer. :)

Lovely start hon! I am completely drawn in by this chapter, and really excited to read on, which is surprising because I don't like most Dramiones! Good luck! :)

~Erin

House Cup 2014, Event 5.

Author's Response: Gosh this review is just amazing! Its a huge compliment to hear that even as a non-Dramione lover, you were still able to enjoy this chapter and it made you want to read more of it! I really like the idea of having the dramione start in school, which is sort of how this idea came about. It was between that and the fact that I love dramiones but even to me it seems that most tend to follow the same plot line so I wanted to challenge myself to make a dramione that could happen in the books. So I'm glad that you agree and think that this makes my story interesting! I can see what you are saying about that sentence as well and will definitely take a look into getting that changed around so it will flow a lot better! Thank you so much for this wonderful review and I do hope that you will come back to this story some time.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #38, by Jackie chapter sixteen

5th July 2014:
I had to go and read the story over again to remember what it was about BUT it was worth it for this update. FINALLY a kiss!!! lol thank you for this update and for the future ones to come.

Author's Response: Well I'm really glad that you came back to this and read it in full again! I'm glad that you enjoyed this update and the kiss that they shared! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #39, by Lululuna chapter one

4th July 2014:
Hello! :)

This is quite interesting so far! I dabble a bit into reading Dramiones, tending to judge them on the quality of the story and not the ship, but I think that so far this seems to fit quite well into canon. I like how the scene is very similar to what happens in HBP, with Hermione's POV and Ron and Lavender, but just shows what could have happened if Hermione happened to go to the Room of requirement rather than an abandoned classroom.

Hermione's feelings of insecurity and loneliness at the beginning were really well written and relatable. The feeling of rejection that she had and her heartbreak over Ron felt realistic, and I could see how this hurt and anger could lead to her and Ron being in that fight for several months. It explains why their relationship was so catastrophic without just brushing it side to make room for Draco to swoop in, so I think you're definitely doing something right with showing why Hermione likes Ron, but also why they're perhaps not right for one another. But I have to say, there was a part of me that wanted Ron and Hermione to run off into the sunset together here, leaving Lavender and Draco behind! :P

Hermione's comments about not finding companionship and comfort in books and her insecurities about being teased felt very realistic as well and I'm glad you wrote it that way. She seems quite in character so far. I thought that Draco did as well: at this point in Hermione's life at least she only sees him as malicious and looking to embarrass her, so I'm glad that he's not rushing in to save her from her emotions, but is up to his old, rude tricks no matter what's going on with him.

I haven't read the pre-edited version of this chapter, but so far the writing feels quite mature and concentrating on Hermione's emotions in a strong and realistic way. If I could offer any constructive comments, it does feel like there is some repetition, especially when Hermione keeps thinking about how she wants to just be alone, so that section could perhaps be tightened up a bit to maximize the impact and the brief hopelessness of the moment. But overall, a very good start that I really enjoyed! :)

Author's Response: Wow this review has just really made my day! I really don't even know what to say to it so please don't mind my rambling. The fact that you aren't usually a big dramione fan but yet you still came around and read and reviewed it! I'm so glad that you felt my characterization of both Hermione and Draco played through really well. In the original edit, I had where Hermione had gone to a random empty classroom but when I did my edits, I really liked the idea of using the RoR being that its going to be a much more private area and Hermione is a girl of logic and all she wants is to be alone. Too bad there are other people who know about the RoR and have made it impossible for her to be alone. Gosh this review really has me gushing and I just don't know what else to say! Thank you so much for coming by and reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #40, by emmacweasley chapter sixteen

3rd July 2014:
i'm here for the review swap! And I'm so, so glad that I am. :) It's amazing to see a dramoine story that fits in with so few tweaks to the canon. It's entirely believable and, honestly, the way you've set things up as of right now things could go either way - either continue being AU or go right back into canon. It's great! I love it. The characterization is nearly spot-on, the attention to canon detail is amazing, and the romantic tension between draco and hermione had a great build-up. Nothing was too sudden or out of place, and I LOVED their first kiss. It was just so great. Good job! I can't wait for the rest. :)

Author's Response: This review has honestly made my day! I'm trying so hard with this story to stick pretty close to canon with only changing a few events as needed to add in the dramione aspects. So to hear that you think this story fits in well with canon events is a huge compliment! To be honest, I hadn't planned on them sharing their first kiss until the war came about, but then when I wrote this part of the story, it really seemed to just fit in to me so I'm really glad that I added it here! I'm so glad that you have enjoyed this story and I do hope that you will come back and read more of it! Thanks so much for this wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #41, by Lostmyheart chapter two

3rd July 2014:
Hi again :)

Just like the previous chapter, I loved reading this. I like the Hermione wonders about what going on with Malfoy, that she feels something is broken about him as well.
I especially liked that part where she thought that maybe Harry and Draco weren't so different after all. It kind of struck me, and it may be true in some ways. I liked that detail.

Anyway, I'm a little tired and ready to go to bed, so this review will be a little short. But don't worry, I'll read the next chapter when I get the time for it - hopefully tomorrow :)

- Avi

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back and leaving another wonderful review! I'm really glad that you are liking this story and that you thought the bit about Draco and Harry being opposite sides of the same coin being a good detail to add. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #42, by toomanycurls chapter two

3rd July 2014:
Hello!! Thanks for doing another swap.

I thought it was really fitting for Draco to turn the hurtful situation around on Hermione. If there was anyone who could make her feel worse about Ron and Lavender, it was him. You did a great job having him say the meanest thing possible at that moment.

Draco was rather intimidating when he confronted Hermione about not telling people he was there. I like that you show how perceptive Hermione is with his tiredness with the pink around his eyes. Ooh, it's interesting that she connects Draco's worries and stress with Harry's. They are like opposite sides of the same coin. I do think it'll be frustrating if she has insight to what Draco is up to (or just more about his detiorating condition) but doesn't heed Harry's thoughts about him in the RoR. I'll be curious how you play that out.

I liked seeing Parvati's interaction with Hermione. She seemed quite shallow and uninterested in Hermione apart from what gossip she would share. I can imagine that was a lonely dorm for her.

Your bit with Harry is gold. Hermione's advice is sound and just what Harry needed to hear that evening.

Hmm... it is intriguing that she focused on Malfoy as she drifted off. Just because they're not that close yet. It's just so sad to me how lonely Hermione feels. Sarah and Lisa seem to highlight that for her.

Awesome chapter!! I really like how you've explored Hermione's headspace in this story so far.

-Rose

Author's Response: Wow this review is really awesome! Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments and I'm really glad that you are enjoying this story so far! I really want to try and keep this close to canon and it really makes me happy to hear when people think that I'm handling this rather well. Draco and Harry really are the opposite side of the same coin which is really interesting to explore. I'm glad that you are enjoying this and I do hope that you will come back and read more! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #43, by Lostmyheart chapter one

3rd July 2014:
Hi!

I'm here for the reviewswap you offered :) I'm sorry it took me a few hours, I had to reveiw some entries for my challenge first :D
I seriously loved reading this chapter, you're incredibly talented. Which doesn't surprise me, for as far as I remember, I've read another story of yours.
I love Dramione as well, which you probably saw from my list of stories. And I LOVED this start of your story. It was so... ugh... I don't know what to say. I just love stories where Draco is this evil young man, yet so strangely attractive.
The way you write Hermione is perfect as well, and I like how you portrayed her feelings on Ron and Lavender, it fit her character so well.
To be honest, I think I'll read on. I really have to find out what happens between Draco and Hermione.
You may have gained a 'favorite story' from me ^_^

- Lostmyheart (Avi)

Author's Response: This review still makes me smile! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this first chapter and that it has caught your attention enough to want to continue reading. For me this story comes from a huge piece of my heart. Dramione is my OTP as well, but I feel that a lot of dramiones seem the same so I wanted to ground this one in canon events and try to make the romance between the two as realistic as possible while still trying to keep true to events that have happened. Obviously some of the events are going to change to add in the dramione events but the over all story line is going to be very much true to the books/movies. I'm so glad that you liked the way I portrayed Draco and Hermione in this story. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #44, by dramione_luv84 chapter sixteen

3rd July 2014:
Hi hi! I absolutely love your story. Not sure if I remember
reading it in the beginning but finished catching up all last night
:) lol i like how you took artsygirl or artygirl advice on adding more details. Its so perfect! I loved the kiss it was just the right moment and all her feelings are there & I cant wait to read what will happen after the war. Just keep adding more details of dramione love it! I will be checking up hehe at first i dont like reading one person storylines some but i do actually like reading some that are amazing. Yours is amazing! Update soon plz xoxo

Author's Response: My readers thoughts are very important to me, and now that I'm going back through, and doing an edit, I'm trying to look at the reviews that were previously left for the chapter and try to incorporate the ideas given. I'm glad you liked the story though and that you are looking forward to more! That makes me really happy! Also the fact that you are finding my first person to be amazing is great! Thank you so much for coming by and reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #45, by lumos_knox chapter sixteen

3rd July 2014:
Hello! Here for the swap.

I realized that I had already read this story but didn't review.

I think it's just beautiful. The way Hermione and Draco came together was perfect. This last chapter was especially good. There's action, suspense and romance.

When Draco called Hermione a Mudblood, I was so shocked but so proud that Hermione didn't let it hurt her. The kiss was just beautiful too. I thought Draco would push Hermione away, but I'm really glad he didn't.

The era you've chosen works really well. It's a time period of darkness where love is difficult, and I think you've portrayed that perfectly.

Thanks for doing the swap with me!

- Lauren

Author's Response: Thank you so much for doing the swap with me! Your review is just so wonderful and I'm really glad that you liked the story! I'm currently going through and shaping up the chapters that are already posted and adding in some new ones. So i hope you come back to check those out! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm really glad that you liked the story!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #46, by toomanycurls chapter one

3rd July 2014:
Hi Erica!

I don't read a lot of Dramione but I'm curious to see what you've been working so hard to edit away at.

Already I love that this is in Hermione's voice (you've captured it beautifully, btw) and that it's a Hogwarts Era dramione. I remember someone commenting on this line in our JulNo Cabin, but I cracked up at Hermione's line about Lavender's favorite class being Divination.

Gah, I just want to give Hermione a big hug and tell her she wont' be lonely forever. I think a lot of girls feel that when they're 16 or so and don't have the relationships they want. I know I did. It's such a young age to be super worried about romance though.

Ooh, Okay, I'm pretty sure that's Draco in the RoR but I like the mystery you have around it. :-o I'm not shocked she ran into R+L but okay, I kind of am. :( Nothing feels worse than the scene Hermione walked in on. :( The feels when she's just wanting the pain to go away.

Gah! Why did Draco have to watch that x-( Of course he's going to be horrible about it next chapter! This is a really good opener. I like your focus on Hermione and her core relationships instead of having her dwell on Draco right away.

I'll be reading more. Maybe we should swap through each other's stories.

-Rose

Author's Response: Oh your review just has me gushing! It really means a lot to me that you think that I have captured Hermione's voice beautifully. I don't know what it is about her but she is the character that appeals to me that most. I just love writing in her pov. That bit about Divination seems to be everyone's favorite, as it's mine as well. There was just a bit of snarkiness to her that just was wonderful. I can't wait until you read on and find out more! And YES I am so down with doing a review swap of each other's stories! Thank you so much for the swap and for coming by and giving my dramione a chance!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #47, by HogwartsAlum chapter sixteen

30th June 2014:
Hey, I just read this in only like 3 hours lol. And so far I like what you have done. It is basically going as the book went with slight changes with the relationships. I was never a fan with Draco/Hermione ships in fanfics but I like how you have made it happen. Hope to see more soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this fantastic review! It's made a somewhat crummy day better! I'm glad that you are enjoying it even though you don't normally like dramiones. I have chapter 16 pretty much done so by next Friday for sure I'll have the next chapter up. I'm also doing a bit of a rewrite, fixing up some old chapters, adding in some new stuff, and just smoothing the timeline and flow of the story. I do hope you will come back for more! Thanks for taking the time to read and review.

~slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #48, by ArtyGirl chapter sixteen

29th June 2014:
I like this story but there's a problem with pace. The chapters are so short but the reactions between Hermione and Draco are drawn out too much right up until this chapter where everything seems rushed. Do you really think Hermione would be in love after sitting in a library for a few weeks? She's much more logical than that and love is a big word with lots of meaning behind it to the characters and the readers. When that got tossed out there it felt like what happens to a balloon when you let it go and the air rushes out. I read 15 chapters in an hour an a half, and that's just so short. I think this could be awesome if it had more depth to it. I want to put this story on my 'currently reading' list, but there's so many pace issues I can't get past. I feel like this is a good first draft, and then that's about as far as it goes. I think you really need to evaluate your pace, and readdress the reactions between Draco and Hermione. Skipping from March/ April for the Hogsmade trip, all the way to the end of term is a lot of time to miss out on and a lot of time you could have used to build a relationship between characters.

However props to using references.

Author's Response: You know, I never really looked at it like that, so thank you so much for pointing that out. I'm glad that you came by and gave this story a chance and I hope that someday you will give it another chance and see if I can improve the pacing of things and make it more believable. That is the whole point of this story for me,is that I want to make it as believable as I can for both me and my readers. I will definitely go back and add more to these chapters and see if I can't make the pacing flow a lot better. Thank you again for taking the time to read and review this story. I do hope that you will give it another chance.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #49, by equuleus chapter sixteen

28th June 2014:
Please tell me they still find their way to each other!! Oh, and the story is amazing. ;)

Author's Response: Only time will tell if they will find their way back to each other. I'm really glad that you are enjoying the story. Keep your eye out for chapter 16, I already have it half written! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #50, by Danielle_x chapter fifteen

28th April 2014:
Such a great story and it's not the clique version everyone writes about Hermione/dravo , I hope you will update spon , once again fantastic

Author's Response: I have finally updated this story! Hopefully you will find your way back to this and enjoy the newest bit. I hope that it wont take me as long to get the next chapter up! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>