Reading Reviews for Trying not to love you
  
693 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Zqad Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

26th May 2014:
Lord!
GET TOGETHER ALREADY! GUH!!

 Report Review

Review #27, by apocalypse Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

26th May 2014:
Hey!
I have been waiting for months for you to update this! Even though I started reading this story back when I offered reviews, I've still followed it through despite deleting my review thread. I LOVE THIS STORY. I know you say that its your baby but for me too, its not anything less than that, trust me. I love Gwen and I love James too much to see something bad happen too him. You are an amazing writer and your words aren't just words, they are colours which paint the perfect picture on a canvas. Seriously, it is not easy for a writer to make their readers visualise everything they write but you do it so flawlessly, it's beautiful.

This chapter was one of the most well-written pieces of writing I've read in a long long time. The awkwardness, the hesitation, dude, it was absolute perfection. I've waited too long for this and you did it more than just justice. I hope you don't take as long as this one for the upcoming chapters because really, this was enough torture. :P

I think it's fair of you to make James go through somewhat the same feelings that Gwen went through. However, I do not know WHY he did it. I don't know why he kissed her and I think I'm just as confused as Gwen is. I don't think I saw it coming either. :P

Anyway. UPDATE SOON! :D I have missed this story more than I thought I had. I've written a review after SO long, I really hope I was of SOME help even when it wasn't really a critique but just random excited babbling. :P

-Cal

 Report Review

Review #28, by The Blunt Phoenix  Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

25th May 2014:
I was so excited when I saw this had updated! Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #29, by padfootspatronus Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

24th May 2014:
Wow, I wish I could give this 11/10! I have absolutely loved your story so far, it's amazing!!! I seriously want James and Gwen to get together, but at the same time I love Joshua! So much inner conflict :P I also loved Viola, so cute! Can't wait for the next chapter, keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Anya Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

24th May 2014:
FINNALY YAY thank you soo much. I have waited for monts to see what happens... soo greate.. please update soon again...
;)

 Report Review

Review #31, by ohmymerlin Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

23rd May 2014:
GAH.

I THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO FINALLY BE TOGETHER!

SO. CLOSE.

But you write it so amazingly! I just hope Gwen and James get their heads on straight and realise that they need to properly talk and I think Gwen is being a bit unfair to Joshua. I think the nicest thing to do for him (in Gwen's POV) would be to break up with him and not go on this holiday thingo.

But mostly James and Gwen need to talk!

Anyway, this was a wonderful chapter! I can't wait to read the next one!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by Taps_017 Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

22nd May 2014:
I have been waiting so long for this chapter and it didn't disappoint!! The kiss was perfect and the awkwardness was really well written. I hope that Gwen and James sort it out. Joshua is ok but he's certainly no James!!
Thanks for updating and please don't leave it so long again! Favourite story!! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Lydia Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

22nd May 2014:
Ah!!! I can't believe you'd do this to us!! I don't want the story to be over, but I really wish they'd just talk properly! I get that you're going somewhere with this, and I'm glad that you're doing it properly, rather than just giving into your readers, but I'm so darn impatient! Anyway, this is really well written, as always. I'm looking forward to the next one (hope it doesn't take 6 months!) :]

Author's Response: Thank you ^^

Haha, I know what you mean! I'm really impatient too when I read stories and wish stuff would just happen immediately (x

Next one will not take six months (x I can promise that, because it's already done, and I'm very happy with it. Although my readers might disagree... d:

But yeah, I'll update it probably after the weekend. I'm trying to get chapter 26 done before I put 25 in the queue, and hopefully avoid the long gaps between the chapters ^^


 Report Review

Review #34, by AIP Alexander Chapter twenty-four - The Broom Closet Incidence

21st May 2014:
Come on, you can't do this to us! You're tearing our hearts apart and dancing all over what's left of it! YOU MAKE VOLDEMORT LOOK LIKE A PUPPY LOVING SAINT ;O!!! We waited for 6 months :'( and you crushed our dreams about their relationship! Since I'm supposed to be paying attention to class I could only skim through the chapter but from what I could read i know things will get extremely awkward between them and that isn't right! James was finally admitting his feeling to her and she pretty much got him to think she was appalled of thinking him in a romantic way when she is head of heals in love with him! Joshua is such a nice guy and i can't help but hate him because he's unknowingly keeping them apart. Don't get me wrong, it's a brilliant chapter, but the long hiatus every other chapter is killing us with the cliffhangers you leave.
I once compared James and Gwen's relationship to Mistress's James and Avery's relationship in Breaking the Quidditch Code saying Gwen and James are as good, if not better than James and Avery, and i've had the firm belief Javery is the best James/OC relationship in this site. I reiterate my previous belief, but please don't keep killing us with the breaks! I can't help but cringe at the expected shouting match between them sometime in the future because we all know there will be some kind of argument because of the kiss. But i still want to kill them; their love for each other is just so obvious! Everyone else knows so, why can't they admit it to themselves!
I can't wait for the next chapter! Take care and KEEP. ON. WRITING!

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I knew the readers might not react to this twist in a positive way d: ((and they will hate me even more after the next chapter)) but sadly they are things that need to happen (: Gwen needs to grow up and realise that she needs to let other people in her life too and not just depend on James. Making this all rosy and cute now would quite certainly prevent that (x

I'm so, so sorry for the long wait though! Hopefully there won't be anymore delays as long as that. Can't promise that for certain though, I never know what my muse decides to concentrate on and I don't want to post anything I'm not completely happy with. But I CAN promise that the next update won't take five months! Because the next chapter is already done ^^ AND chapter 26 is shaping along quite well too!

That is such a huge compliment! I absolutely love Javery and adore Mistress's work! I hope I won't let you down ^^

Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by hp101 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

5th May 2014:
Ok you really need to update the waiting is killing me! I thought you would be updating regularly now.Please update! Can't believe what just happenend there!:)Can't wait what you planning next :D!

Author's Response: Thank you!! The next chapter is up (;

 Report Review

Review #36, by Taps_017 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

5th May 2014:
PLEASE UPDATE SOON!! I absolutely adore this story & just can't wait any longer!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Next chapter is up!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Me Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

30th March 2014:
I needz the morez please I need to know what happens next and what happens to josh and what happens to games please for the sake of the readers write more

Author's Response: Thank you ^^ I have! Next chapter is up, and the one after that is already done (:

 Report Review

Review #38, by MischiefManaged Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

23rd March 2014:
oh my effing god. WHEN IS THE NEXT UPDATE.
update soon or my life might just end. Yes, I'm dramatic, but frankly who cares.
I just love Gwen and James so so much :3

Author's Response: Haha, it's up already ^^ Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #39, by maraudette Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

22nd March 2014:
Hello,
you story is really addciting and I am really waiting for the next chapter. Please, do not abandon the story!

Author's Response: I never will ^^ sometimes updates might be slow, but I will finish it! That's a promise!

 Report Review

Review #40, by JSp0884 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

2nd March 2014:
You're leaving it THERE?! Seriously?! Nonono! Please update soon. PLEASE.

Author's Response: Haha, sorry d: just updated (:

 Report Review

Review #41, by HarryGinnyLove88 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

22nd February 2014:
please write another chapter..
wanna know what happens :)

Author's Response: I have ^^ Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Can't wait for the next one Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

15th February 2014:
Finally! I've been waiting for this to happen! The story will turn so dramatic from this point foreword. Can't wait for the next chapter, do you know by any chance by when you'll be able to have it open?

Author's Response: It will! The next chapter is 'already' up (:

 Report Review

Review #43, by CONTINUE CO NT IN UE PLEASE Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

14th February 2014:
CAN YOU PLEASE COMPLETE THIS STORY I HAVE WAITED A YEAR FOR YOU TO UPDATE OH MY FUDGE PLEASE

Author's Response: I will, I will ^^ sorry for being so slow /:

 Report Review

Review #44, by sunshine&daisies Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

13th February 2014:
Please update soon! I can't wait to read the next chapter! This story is one of my favorites :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #45, by honey68 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

24th January 2014:
I started reading this the other day and I end with this cliff-hanger! Ahhh please update!
Thanks X
ps I love the story!

Author's Response: I have ^^ sorry for the delay! And thanks!

 Report Review

Review #46, by maraudertimes Chapter one - Best Friends Forever

14th January 2014:
Hi! So sorry it took so long to get back to you!

Okay, so I was really intrigued by the summary of this story and needless to say, I was not disappointed.

The only thing that I would consider CC is there are a few typos - or I think there are. Should it be 'in the team' or 'on the team?' 'On' sounds better to me, although it could just be a matter of preference.

Other than that, this was actually quite sad. I really felt bad for Gwenny. The only people I ever fancy never actually talk to me, so I can only imagine how difficult it must be to be so completely in love with your best friend.

And although he seems to be saying that he loves her 'like a sister,' James isn't being very fair. Even if he doesn't know that Gwen loves him, all his flirty behaviours really shouldn't be appropriate. Although that might just be me talking since I know what's really happening 'behind the scenes.' Although, it does make me wonder whether anything is forced. Hmmm.

Anyways, I really loved the dynamic between Gwen and James. Even though they're out of Hogwarts, it's nice to see that their friendship hasn't been lost. Oh, that reminds me, how long have they known each other? Because (and this might be my fault for messing things up) you said they had known each other for eight years, yet James got her a present when she was 12. Seems fair, until the coach says that it's her sixth year on the team... Just something to consider.

But, all in all, I really liked this. It's a bittersweet story, and I really hope it has a happy ending, but I can't be sure. It's quite sad now, but in an interesting way.

Oh and I just saw your author's note about English not being your first language, and other than the 'on' 'in' situation, I honestly wouldn't have been able to tell!

So, to sum this up, this was excellent! I really like your style of writing!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Sorry it took so long to reply d:

Oh yes, I'm sure there are tons of typos and awkward sentences there. This is after all the very first chapter I've ever published!

Oh, I agree. James isn't being fair at all! And this is only the first chapter, he will only get worse d:

They've known each other for a little over fourteen years. I think I actually said that she's been in love with him for eight years - I need to check that to make sure - but I know that's what I meant. But thanks for pointing it out. I'll make it clearer.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #47, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

12th January 2014:
Did he seriously just song her? WHILE she has a boyfriend, might I add? ARGH! Why did you leave us on this cliffhanger? Whywhywhywhy? I'm dying to know what happens next! PLEASE UPDATE QUICKLY! I will love you forever if you do.

Author's Response: I know right? What was he thinking??

Sorry the update took so long, but it's up now!


 Report Review

Review #48, by xMsFiggx Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

5th January 2014:
Oh yay he kissed her! I am thrilled. I hope that next she will...kiss him back of course! Update soon :)

Author's Response: Haha, the next chapter is up so you can see for yourself if you were right ^^

 Report Review

Review #49, by kabab Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

3rd January 2014:
OH MY GOD! ep. Finally the moment I've been waiting for. Please let there not be a lot of conflict. Finally they are together like finally :)) :):)

Author's Response: Well, the next 15 or so chapters would be quite boring if there was no drama left, don't you think (x

 Report Review

Review #50, by nott theodore Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

1st January 2014:
*flails*

This is possibly my favourite chapter so far, and that's saying something because I really love this story! Okay, I'm going to attempt to review this in an actual order!

I really liked the return to the problem of Gwen's dad at the beginning of this chapter, even though I love Gwen and James time - it was kind of nice in a way to be reminded that there are lots of things in Gwen's life that are darker and more serious than others. James, while it's adorable that he's so protective of her, is probably not helping the matter - in fact, in this chapter his over-protective nature was definitely on display. But in a way I think that Gwen's going to have to face the issue of her dad at some point, before she can move on and past it - otherwise it'll constantly hang over her and there'll always be a niggle of doubt in her mind.

The James and Gwen time immediately after that was really cute, and I was smiling all the way through it. I'm not sure if he was trying to flirt with her or just take her mind off things, but he is quite adorable when he wants to be. But Gwen is finally noticing that he's changing towards her and not just in general since he came back from Freddy's, and that can only be a good thing. Please tell me that's a good thing...

I loved the return to Hogwarts in this chapter, because it made me almost nostalgic of the way I felt reading the books (it's been a while since I re-read them). You paid a lot of attention to detail as well, which I really appreciated - like the fact that Gwen would be able to see the Thestrals, and because of that she notices other people's behaviour. The tour round Hogwarts was great too, and the line about the hospital wing made me laugh, because it definitely would be true! Another aspect I really liked was the way that you described them all going off to look at their old common rooms, and most of them headed off to Hufflepuff - it's only something really small, but it's nice not to see the Hufflepuffs all assumed to be rubbish at things like Quidditch. The way the Fat Lady treated them made me smile as well.

I really loved the idea of the different Quidditch players going to Hogwarts and offering a flying workshop for the students there. It's definitely a good thing for Gwen, I think, when she's starting to realise that the fans are actually people who she can interact with, not just distant strangers. The little girl that she coached was so cute, and it was lovely that she reminded her of Gwen when she first met Ginny. I wonder if the little girl will appear again in the story? I hope she makes it onto the house team!

And of course... the ending! I had such a big grin on my face when I first read it, and I had to go and read it again to make sure it had actually happened, and it wasn't just something I'd imagined! I loved the contrast between the start of the chapter and this ending, and I loved the way that you built up towards the kiss at the end! As James was leading Gwen through the halls of Hogwarts to escape the girls, I could sense that something was going to happen, but I didn't know what. Then when they were in the broom cupboard, I could see that James was building up his courage as he was talking to Gwen, and I'm so glad he finally did something! I'm fangirling a bit now, but I'm so happy that they finally kissed!

Unfortunately, though, I think that you might torture us a bit more and this won't end in the happy way I'm hoping - at least, not at the moment. Is someone going to open the broom cupboard and see them kissing - a reporter, maybe? Or maybe Gwen will panic about Joshua and ruin things... I'm not sure I can trust that everything's going to work out alright!

Another great chapter, and I hope that the next update is soon!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey, hun! Sorry it took me so long to respond to your lovely review!

Yes, you're right. His behaviour isn't helping at all.She will have to face her problems at some point, and she will have to do it on her own. But she hasn't realised that quite yet.

Haha, well. We'll see... but after 23 chapters you should already know me. Nothing is that easy (x

Thank you! I tried ^^ in fact I need to go back and edit that bit, for I was going to explain it in more detail that she could actually see the Thestrals, but I kind of forgot d:

Oh, I love the puffs! I hate it when people categorize them as stupid and idiotic, so I always try to lift them up a little. It's definitely my second favourite house!

I loved her too ^^ I can give you a little spoiler - yes, she will appear later too (:

Yes, finally! That was actually one of the first scenes I ever wrote for this story! I can't believe it took me 23 chapters to get to (x

Haha, see, you do know me (;

Thank you so much again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>