Reading Reviews for Trying not to love you
  
658 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Hufflepuff1997 Chapter two - The Other Side of the Coin

18th December 2013:
I can already tell this story is going to be amazing! Great characters and I love how you've portrayed James: most writers make him a bit of an a**hole to be honest:3 Love it!
HP97 X

 Report Review

Review #27, by ruby_slippers Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

18th December 2013:
FINALLY!!! Woman you were killing me!!! Oh sweet relief!! But NO not relief coz now i bloody have to wait for the next chapter!! That my friend is just plain cruel! Haha can't wait for the next chapter! Have a happy christmas!

 Report Review

Review #28, by LittleMissStoryteller Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

18th December 2013:
No! I need more!! I am be a wee bit addicted to this story... :) I love it!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Leannadrobisforever Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

18th December 2013:
I need more. NOW!.please?

 Report Review

Review #30, by BaconGreaseOnFries Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

17th December 2013:
YOU ARE A BRILLIANT WRITER! My goodness-I stayed up all night reading all 23 chapters. I would have left you more reviews, but I was literally glued to the screen and furiously clicking "next" whenever I hit the end of the chapter. Wow. You are really creative and I admire your imagination. Please don't kill me by waiting months to upload another chapter. You had me squealing like a little girl at the end of this one.
-Your new fan

 Report Review

Review #31, by Grace3 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

17th December 2013:
OMG giiirl they kissed! So exciting and nerve raking. Cant wait for the next Chapter. What about Joshua??? I really like him, his so nice but then again this is Jamieboy were talking about. OMG please update soon. Oh and Happy Birthday!

 Report Review

Review #32, by taps_017 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

17th December 2013:
Finally!!! That has been coming for the longest time and I am so glad about the setting - she can finally reclaim some of those teenage years ;) thanks for updating so quickly and please update soon! You can leave us hanging like this!!

 Report Review

Review #33, by CambAngst Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

16th December 2013:
Hello, again!

So is it heaven or... heck? That's the 12+ phrasing, right? As a reader, I'll admit that I'm feeling a bit of both after that explosive ending. Is this a breakthrough or just another big tease? Your track record as the author of this fine piece of literature strongly suggests the latter. ಠ_ಠ

Turn the page, Gwen. You need to turn the page. -- Quite the contrast between the start of this chapter and the end, wouldn't you agree?

First off, however, I felt really bad for Gwen when she sees her father's picture in the paper. At the same time, though, I think there's something here that she needs to deal with and every time she comes face to face with it, I feel like she comes a tiny bit closer to the resolve she needs to take that step. James, of course, doesn't help matters any by immediately taking the paper from her and burning it. His overprotective nature is sort of a recurring theme in this chapter, isn't it?

A quick image of me confronting dad in his prison cell flashed through my mind, but I shoved it right back where it had come from. I would never do that, I could never do that. I wasn’t strong enough. -- I really hope she surprises herself at some point, because I think she needs it.

James has turned the flirting up a notch or two in this chapter, making me more and more suspicious that he came to some sort of epiphany about his relationship with Gwen while hiding out at Freddy's apartment after everything with Kat went down. I wouldn't be completely surprised if Freddy knows something about it and he's just hiding it because James begged him to. The git. See what you're doing, Hanna? You're even turning me against Freddy!

I hated it and loved it at the same time. -- I can totally relate!

I narrowed my eyes at him. "You're up to something." -- Well, at least Gwen and I are on the same page here. He's definitely up to something. Something that I suspect is really awesome. But will she be able to put aside years and years of suppressing her feelings? Yikes. No wonder he's treading so cautiously.

I like that you remembered that Gwen would be able to see the thestrals. It's a sad thing, but a nice touch.

I loved the little Gryffindor girl who's getting her heroine worship on with Gwen. I feel like that was a much-needed little kick of confidence for Gwen. Also, maybe it will help remind her that not all fans are evil, as James reminds her later.

I don't remember being fond of Alex in his last appearance, but I don't think he was this much of a jerk, either. He and James obviously bring out the worst in each other.

I really loved the tour through Hogwarts. You made me feel nostalgic and totally at home, which doesn't always happen in post-graduation stories like this. There were a lot of nice little touches in this section. The Hospital wing was our next stop, a very familiar place to every single one of us, I was sure. -- Yep, those are Quidditch players for you. Completely mental. Too bad she didn't get to stop by Hagrid's hut. That would have been a fun conversation. Hagrid is a pain to write, though, so I understand why you chose the better part of valor on that one. ;)

Aww, Kreacher is still employed at Hogwarts? If you've read much of my stuff, you know that I've always had a soft spot for the old elf. I hope we get to see him at some point in the next chapter.

And then it happens. Well, it is sort of a rolling train collision culminating in the Capital IT that happens at the end. Is it weird that I could sort of feel James getting his courage up as they huddled in the closet? Like he was trying to talk himself into it as much as he was trying to flirt with Gwen? And she makes some very good points to him, as well. I'm sure that his and Freddy's constant over-protectiveness really has squelched Gwen's love life to a great extent over the years.

Answer is still you…

Urgh! Shut up, brain!

But what do you answer to a question like that when you can't tell the truth?
-- What, indeed. She's really in trouble by this point. There isn't much question what's about to happen. Either somebody's going to open the door of the closet and blow up yet another perfect moment or...

GAH! The big scaredy-cat finally kissed her! Yes! What a great moment. But...

But you're not just any romance writer. You're Hanna, the Destroyer of Dreams. Something bad is about to happen as a function of this. I know it. Somebody's going to open the closet door, camera in hand, and awkwardness is going to abound. It's going to cause a major tiff between Gwen and Joshua and she'll super-over-compensate by pushing James away and running off with Joshua. And then he'll probably spring his evil plan, whatever that is. Or maybe my imagination is just running away with me. Maybe.

This chapter was awesome. Awesome in that horrible way that you always torment us and keep us eagerly coming back. Bless you and curse you! Mostly bless, though. Until next time!

Author's Response: Actually, you could use the actual word here, I think. Because even though the story is rated Mature, the chapter tittles still have to be 12+ and I checked if it was okay to use it and it was. But maybe it's better to be sure, so this lovely review won't be deleted ^^

Haha, you know me so well d:

Yes, exactly! James is trying to do the right thing and protect Gwen from everything bad, but it is not necessarily the best thing he could do. But you're right, every little scene like that takes her closer to actually confronting the situation eventually. She definitely needs to.

Haha, you might be on the right tracks, that's all I'm saying d: But poor Freddy, don't hate him ^^

That is the question, isn't it? She has spent years making herself believe that James could never have more than platonic feelings towards her. So what will she do now? How will she react to this? I guess we'll have to wait for the next chapter to see d:

Yes, and I actually meant to expand that scene a little and describe the Thestrals more, but I might have forgotten. Bad writer...

That's because Gwen didn't give him a chance to be an ... towards James, she shooed him away and told him she'd handle it. But it is mentioned somewhere I think that he and James actually got into a fist fight, so that should suggest that they really do not get along d:

Aww, I'm glad you liked that! And there's still time to bring in Hagrid in the next chapter. I really want to do it, but I'm not sure if I can do him justice. We'll see.

Haha, you might be right again d:

Yes, he finally did it!

What, me? I don't know what you're talking about... I would never do such a thing (x

Thank you so much, dear!! I'll try to keep the tormenting as minimal as possible ^^ and write many, many chapters during the queue closure and keep you busy throughout the holidays (x


 Report Review

Review #34, by jilly_ Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

16th December 2013:
WHAT A CLIFFHANGER! no ):): hahahahaha great chapter as always! i love this story too much.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you ^^

 Report Review

Review #35, by ScarletEye158 Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

16th December 2013:
AH OMG YES! I'm literally crying with happiness right now! I love you so much, Hanna!

This was such an awesome chapter and I didn't think you could have made it any better until OMG HE JUST KISSED HER! Has he been trying to do that for while? His attitude sure made it seem like it but you also never know with James! And who even cares? HE JUST KISSED HER!

oh my gosh, I am so happy right now :) I do feel a little bad for Joshua, but he really probably should've seen this coming :p I'm sure everyone else did, so I'm surprised he let her hangout with him so much knowing that they'd eventually realize their feelings for each other. Gah, I can't wait for the next chapter though!

It's probably going to be full of drama because that's usually what happens after such a good chapter like this but I don't even care right now! Hopefully I'm wrong and the next chapter will be full of butterflies and rainbows and scenes of gwen and james walking down the beach at sunset, but I guess we'll just have to see! I hope you're able to get the next one up before the queue closure because I'm sure I'm not the only one dying to know what happens!

Can't wait to read the next one! Amazing job, girl!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Aww, thanks ^^

Haha, even I don't always know what James is thinking. That boy can be very secretive d: but it did seem like that, didn't it?

Well you know me, there's bound to be some drama ahead d: but it would be so cool if everything was just as you said ^^

Thank you so much for reviewing! I really wish I had time to finish the chapter before the queue closes, but the chances are very low /: but it will be the first thing I do once the queue opens up again (:


 Report Review

Review #36, by Shadowcat Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

15th December 2013:
Elena!! You have been missed. I am so glad you are back. I read the two chapters in a row and it just made my day. James was being so cute. I loved every bit of James/Gwen moments in these chapters. He kissed!! yayay. I am so happy. *sighs*

Author's Response: Hi, hun! Missed you too ^^

I'm glad you liked them! Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Leah Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

15th December 2013:
Finally!!! They better get together after this and not play the whole "we're friends" game. But whats gonna happen with Joshua's week? I like him but Gwen and James are much better!!!

Author's Response: Haha, we'll see what happens d: let's hope you're right ^^

 Report Review

Review #38, by LittleMissStoryteller Chapter twenty-two - Flying Again

14th December 2013:
Omfg!!! This is so good!! I love it!!! I can't wait till the nt update! xxx

Author's Response: Aww, thanks ^^ the next one is already in the queue (:

 Report Review

Review #39, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter twenty-two - Flying Again

13th December 2013:
So when's it gonna be out? The new chapter was amazing, and I can't wait for the next one. Please update quickly!

Author's Response: It's already in the queue ^^

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #40, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter twenty - A Warm Welcome

12th December 2013:
The story, as always, is amazing. Also, I have a very large suspicion as to what exactly he wanted to say to her: That he LURVES HER! Seriously, he should get better at hiding the fact that he's madly in love with her, it was painfully obvious.

 Report Review

Review #41, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter nineteen - Confessions

12th December 2013:
Nooo! Why does Joshua have to be so perfect? Why why why? You're going to have a harder time getting rid of him than you had with Katherine. I mean, you are planning to get rid of him, right? He's so perfect it's annoying.

 Report Review

Review #42, by CambAngst Chapter twenty-two - Flying Again

12th December 2013:
Woo-hoo! I can't tell you how happy I am to see your story back with an update! It made my day.

Gwen seems to be getting a bit calmer. She didn't even smash any cameras or punch any reporters. Good for her!

This break-in makes me really nervous. I have a bad feeling, as though it's all tied into James's paternity troubles and Gwen's father and... gah! Brain spinning too fast... You have conditioned me to expect everything to turn out bad! I did think it was funny that there first thing she thought about was her broom.

The coach came off as a pretty nice guy in this one. I guess everyone is taking it a little easier on Gwen until she's fully back.

A small frown appeared on James’s forehead at that. “You should take it easy, there’s no need to hurry the process.” -- OK, James is seriously going all weird on her in this chapter. I mean, not that he isn't protective of her, but not wanting her to be able to fly breakneck stunts with him... he's getting soft!

Fastening the Quidditch gear didn’t take much longer with a spell, but this time I was going to double checked everything just to be sure. -- I think that should read "double check". You should punish your beta reader. ;)

And then James really veers into weirdsville. Is he just messing with her? Is he floating a trial balloon to test her reaction? Is he actually flirting with her? Once again, too many possibilities! I like it, though. Ever since James came back from the post-pregnancy debacle, there's been something a little different about him.

“Are you mad at me now?”

No, not you. With myself.
-- Yep, that's my girl. Why on earth can't these two impossibly stubborn biscuit-heads stop playing games with one another and just admit their feelings? Why, why, WHY???

James is... cooking?!?!?! Seriously, what's gotten into the boy? OK, I'm making some connections here, possibly too many. Joshua cooks. Gwen thinks he's quite good at it. And Gwen's dating Joshua. Well, then. Another data point.

Samantha seemed like a nice foil to draw out some more of what James and Gwen are thinking. James seems to pass on a rather obvious opportunity to hit on her, which makes me all the more suspicious.

Well, this bachelor/bachelorette party is looking rather promising for some more awkward James/Gwen goodness! Can't wait to see how these "couples games" work out for the two of them. You have quite the knack for engineering uncomfortable situations to wedge the two of them into. It's been far too long, dear. Please don't make us wait like that again. :) Until next time...

Author's Response: I'm so glad to be back too ^^ I've missed writing this so much!

She is! She's learning!

Haha, it's no wonder my muse disappeared. I think Gwen hates me because of all the things I keep throwing at her d: So you're not completely wrong to expect bad things from stuff like that (x

Coach has his moments too. I think he's all confused because Gwen hugged her after his rant in the previous chapter, so now he thinks she has some mental problems. I bet that's why he's trying to take it easy on her d:

Naughty beta. I think I have to cross him off my Christmas list, that one little slip is so horrible compared to all the work he's done for me (x

That would make things so much easier if they could do just that, wouldn't it? Too bad the writer is just as stubborn and will not budge on this one d:

You, good sir, are making some very interesting and insightful points. But you'll have to wait and see if they are correct, just like every one else d:

I won'. Because the next chapter is in the queue already (:

Thank you so, so, so much once again, dear! My chapters would completely suck if it wasn't for you!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Rose Chapter twenty-two - Flying Again

12th December 2013:
Awesome! *squeals of joy* This totally made my day :D :D Please upload soon! Or at least mention the date when you're going to upload it! The wait keeps killing me! The story is so great, it just keeps making me want more and more chapters to read :P

Author's Response: Thank you ^^

The next chapter is already in the queue (:


 Report Review

Review #44, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter eighteen - Euphoria

12th December 2013:
Wow... all I can say is... w o w . . . That was a GENIUS PLAN! OH MY GOSH, YOU'RE A GENIUS! I COULD NOT HAVE COME UP WITH A BETTER WAY TO SPLIT THEM UP FOR GOOD THAN THAT. NO ONE COULD! YOU'RE AWESOME! WHY DOES THE RATING SYSTEM ONLY GO UP TO 10? YOU NEED MUCH HIGHER THAN THAT!!! Sorry I'm completely needing out over this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #45, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter eleven – The Tingling Feeling

12th December 2013:
10/10 as always, but there's something about Joshua that just rubs me the wrong way. I don't know, I've just never really liked the glorified god/goddess like characters. I've always really enjoyed the more realistic, sarcastic, humorous characters who you can easily relate to.

 Report Review

Review #46, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter ten - Just Fine

12th December 2013:
Please tell me that Gwenny's right and this is a plot to get James back. Please please pretty please?

 Report Review

Review #47, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter nine – Wrong in every single way

11th December 2013:
YOU DIDN'T! PLEASE TELL ME THIS IS A TRICK. THAT THING CAN'T BE PREGNANT. PLEASE NO. NONONONO! WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME?

 Report Review

Review #48, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter eight - Cue the awkward silence

11th December 2013:
NO! IT'S BACK! Why do you hate me? I've been good! I promise! I've left reviews! (Though I wouldn't object to a cookie.) Please get Gwenny and James together soon. I've rated the story 10/10 as always, so please get rid of the hellcat and get the oblivious main characters together

 Report Review

Review #49, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter Six - Erase Those Thoughts

11th December 2013:
Okay, could you please get rid of Katherine sometime soon? She's seriously annoying me. I think you're doing a bit too good of a job making her someone who we love to hate. I still love the story, and her role is to be someone who we hate to love and love to hate but that doesn't stop me from looking forward to the day she's gone.

 Report Review

Review #50, by JamesPotterReborn Chapter five - Great First Impression

11th December 2013:
Okay, at first I merely disliked and disrespected Katherine, but now I actually hate her. And Dylan! I was seriously looking for a way to teleport into the story and beat his sorry @$$ into oblivion. You once again did an excellent job of portraying your characters' personalities and keeping your readers entertained. You are truly an amazing writer.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>