Reading Reviews for Late Nights
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Penelope Inkwell Fifth Year: 1976

8th July 2013:
Aw, they’re cute! Nice to see James managing to talk to Lily without being a prat *before* Seventh year.

Author's Response: haha they are cute. If you reread Snape's Worst Memory, you'll see that there is a HINT of a smile on Lily's face and because of that half-sentence, it makes me believe that they didn't always hate each other haha.

Anyway, thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by PhoenixPulse February: 1981

8th July 2013:
Awwh, it was so cute at first, and then you stomped all over my inflated heart. Thanks Kayla. Thanks. -_-

But despite my sadness, this was beautiful Kayla. I loved baby Harry, and when he threw up all over Sirius, that just made me smile so much.

And Dumbledore...I feel as if he was buying them time to see if they truly wanted Sirius as Secret Keeper. Although choosing Peter in the end was obviously a poor choice.

I love James and Lily here. They make brilliant parents, and my hearts truly does break for them and their son's fate.

Lovely as always Kayla!

Author's Response: ehehehehehehehehehe

You're welcome. ;)

haha I love baby Harry as well! It makes me sad though because JAMES AND LILY ARE DEAD.

/falls to the floor sobbing.

Yeah, I feel like Dumbledore would have been extremely suspicious of everyone in the first war, and so he did kind of want to buy time.

(Even though I just found out that the Secret Keeper thing was like a week before Halloween, I feel like such a failure/duffer for not knowing that! D: (I need to reread the series omg))

They do make great parents, don't they? :') I kind of imagine James and Harry to be like John and Henry Green from vlogbrothers so I may or may not base some things off them. :p

Anyway, thank you for the lovely review! You're far too kind to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #28, by Courtney Dark Fifth Year: 1976

4th July 2013:
Hey there!

I'm actually quite glad you won the challenge (and yes, I realize it was me who judged the entries) because I have read several of your stories and have loved each and every one of them! And I am going through a bit of a Jily phase at the moment, so I'm definitely looking forward to reading more of this!

There was a LOT I loved about this chapter. I think my favourite thing was that you managed to link it both to Snape's memories and also to the little canon bits and pieces that we know, such as the fact that the Potter's had a cat and that Sirius escapes from the dementors on Buckbeak the hippogriff.

I also loved the way you portrayed James and Lily in this chapter. In many fanfictions you get a James who is an idiotic prankster all the time and actually gets quite annoying, and a Lily who is so bossy and uptight that she's unlikeable. Then you get the James's that don't have a sense of humour at all and the Lily's that are far too nice - wow, I sound really picky, don't I? Anyway, I think your James and Lily have just the right balance! They seemed very believable in this chapter and made it much more enjoyable to read.

I also liked that you included more minor canon characters such as Dorcas and Mary - I know they are in the next chapter, so I'm wondering now whether or not we will found out more about them?

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: oh wow, thank you so much! ♥

Yes, I do love linking tiny bits to canon. It makes me happy and usually everyone picks it up, so it's always good. :)

No, I completely understand. I'm so picky the James and Lily's to be written well and when they aren't I'm just so disappointed! I'm glad to hear that mine are very believable! :'D

Dorcas and Mary pop up occasionally but this fic is purely meant for James and Lily. :p If I'd been writing a novel, I would have put more information about them. :p

Anyway, thank you so much for the lovely review and the first place! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by lovethepotters February: 1981

1st July 2013:
Argh I just finished exams and I've been meaning to read your story for ages! I'm so glad I did, it was well worth it :) My internet is being dodgy so I'll just say everything I want to say in this review, hope you don't mind!

I think it's interesting how you've portrayed Lily and James as being friends at Hogwarts. It's quite a different take on their relationship and it's exciting to read about! I absolutely ADORE their interactions, they're both so cute and they work so well together!

I just have a few questions:

1. What motivated you to write the chapters out of chronological order? And why do you jump in between the different years (if that makes sense)? For example, you jump from fifth to fourth to seventh etc. Don't get me wrong - it's not a bad thing. I just think it's an interesting way of setting up the story, I haven't read anything like it before :)

2. (I have a feeling that someone else might have brought this up) but why did Dumbledore ask Lily and James to have a secret-keeper in February? I'm pretty sure they chose Sirius first in October, then they switched to Peter about a week later (although I haven't read the books in a while so I probably should double check it before saying anything). Just thought I'd mention it because you wanted to keep in line with canon :P

I think that's all I have to say for now, sorry for rambling! You have a wonderful story, it'll be interesting to see where it goes :)

Author's Response: aw thank you so much! Sorry for the delay in replying, I had a packed two days! :p

haha I love James and Lily, and I really hate seeing them hate each other. And it actually hurts me to write them disliking each other haha. :p

Anyway, I'll answer your questions!

1) Well, I originally wrote the first chapter as a one-shot, but then I kept thinking of other ideas and so I couldn't possibly do it in chronological order.

However, now as I'm typing this I realised I hadn't posted it so I could have rearranged it to be in normal order but oh well!

Although, you might have noticed that I put things in one chapter, and then the next chapter I use that same thing. I kind of wanted to show that they're still the same people throughout all their - sniff - very short lives. :)

2) Ack, someone did bring it up! I was actually unaware that it was October when they decided Peter to be their secret keeper. Or I completely forgot. I will change it though - because I'm a canon-nut - but the queue is currently closed so I can't do that right now. :)

Anyway, thank you for the lovely review! I have three chapters left, so hopefully you'll enjoy it! :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by marauderfan February: 1981

1st July 2013:
Ok so I just read this whole thing in one sitting even though it's past my bed time and I have work early tomorrow, lol. I adored it. I lovelovelove James and Lily and the way you've portrayed them in this fic. It's so nice to see them in such cute and happy scenes throughout their time at Hogwarts - despite that they snapped at each other in the SWM scene, in general they got on well. It shows that they had a long standing friendship despite the row in SWM. And I love how Lily is constantly trying to best James in card games/gobstones. They are too cute. :D

The only thing I'm wondering now is on this last chapter... shouldn't it be in October? I mean I know this isn't when they actually did the Fidelius charm, but I assume they wouldn't have waited 8 months to do it. And we know that only a week after the charm, Wormtail betrayed them, so I'm a bit confused as to the timeline.

Otherwise, I loved this story (I think I sound like a broken record now)! You've done such a great job with it! I'm really glad to see that it's not completed yet, I want more of this story ;)

Author's Response: haha hope work wasn't too harsh on you!

I'm so glad you loved my characterisations! I absolutely adore James and Lily, so I put a lot of pressure on myself to get them right! :p

In SWM, there's a tiny little hint of a smile on Lily's face and from that tiny little sentence, I promptly decided that they were always friends and that minor row was just a blip in their friendship! :p

I didn't know that they performed the Fidelius Charm then! That completely slipped my mind! I might change it to Dumbeldore warning them to take precautions. Thanks for telling me that! I can't believe I forgot! I haven't read the books in a long time. :'(

Anyway, thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review! I've got three more chapters to go! I've already written chapter 7 and about 2,000 words of chapter 9. :p

Thanks again for this amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by Dahlia Bailey February: 1981

29th June 2013:
This is amazing! Great Job! It was very heartfelt which is important for this particular event.

Dahlia XD

Author's Response: aw thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #32, by Corinna Fifth Year: 1976

22nd June 2013:
This is great!!! Keep up the good work I like how you used part of snape's memory! :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! :D

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Marauder_Weasley Sixth Year: 1976

22nd June 2013:
they're so falling in love

Author's Response: hahaha of course! ;)

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by PhoenixPulse Sixth Year: 1976

22nd June 2013:
Oh, this was perfect, Kayla. But of course, you should know by now that anything you come up with, I think is perfect.

Remus, oh Remus. He's always the gentleman isn't he? And Peter. I love how you make him an actual part of the Marauders, not some Marauder wanna-be.

James and Lily snuggling! I don't know how many times I have to say this throughout this story, but gawd, they're so cute together. I'll never get over their pairing.

I just don't know what else to say, Kayla. I feel bad for never being able to add in constructive criticism, but I feel as if its not in my place to critique. Besides, I can never find any flaws in your work. Your work is always wonderful and I look up to you as a writer. :)

Author's Response: Pearl, I'm nearly crying right now, you're far too sweet! ♥

Yes, Remus is a gentleman. I love him. :p ad Peter, he WAS a good friend (in my head canon) so I had to make him a part of the Marauders. :p

hehehehehehehe when I was writing that I was so tempted to make it go further but I restrained myself haha. :p

You are FAR too kind! difhisdifeu you're so sweet, I just want to hug you! :D

Thank you for this AMAZING review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by PhoenixPulse Second Year: 1972

22nd June 2013:
Oh, how cute! They're second years and already show signs of being a charming couple in the future. This was adorable!

I loved when James and Lily were talking about Voldemort. Lily's admiration for James and thinking of his bravery was such an innocently sweet moment. I can't really put a finger on how I should word how I felt for that scene. And when they played exploding snap... :)

Their Defense Against The Dark Arts teacher really needs to mend that chip off his shoulder though. He's rather mean. Especially to Lily. Lily doesn't deserve his hostility.

And Dumbledore! He's being his odd, quirky self as usual. One of the many reasons I love that old man. He's just awesome.

Author's Response: Hello!! :D

hehehe it was originally meant to be "omg I hate you so much ew ew ew" but it PHYSICALLY PAINS me to write them like that haha. :p

I feel like James is extremely brave ("Lily, take Harry and go! It's him! Go! Run! I'll hold him off!" /sobbing) and I think it's been with him with his whole life, so I wanted to reflect that. :p

haha "Iratus" is actually Latin for "angry" (thank you, Google translate!) so that's why I made him a grump haha. :p

I was SO nervous writing him. I nearly had a panic attack hahaha. :p

Thanks for the lovely review, dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by dobby88 Fifth Year: 1976

22nd June 2013:
Aww this was so cute :) I think I'm going through a jily phase and this sums up their cuteness. I think the characterisation is great and really accurate because sometimes it's really off in some stories on here (where James is an idiot the whole time and Lily has anger issues the whole time) It's really great ! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

haha I'm always going through a Jily phase, they're just so perfect! :p

Aw I'm glad you find their characterisation good! I'm always so nervous in writing it because I want them to be perfect. :p

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by PhoenixPulse Seventh Year: 1977

8th June 2013:
KAYLA!

Okay, so I read this a while back, but I guess I never got around to reviewing it? Anyway, I re-read this story because it's just too cute! Especially this chapter! Oh their bonding is so wonderful!

You honestly write them perfectly as a couple! I'm so jealous. I honestly fail at writing romance, probably because I've never had a boyfriend, so whenever I do try, it sounds cheesy and childish. You on the other hand--your romance scenes are amazingly done!

I love cranky Sirius. So temperamental, of course, I'd probably feel the same if I had to share a room with a couple who did nothing but canoodle three-four in the morning. It must've been so awkward for him having to hear them doing their business.

And I love how James stayed up all night for Lily, helping her do her assignment. Such a sweet gesture.

Anywho, lovely chapter Kayla. I really am looking forward to another one :)

Author's Response: PEARL!!!

hahaha don't worry about it! :D

I'll let you in on a secret: I've never had a boyfriend either! hahahahaha!

I'm literally the biggest virgin/prude out there. I've only ever been asked out once (and that was to the formal) and only one guy has ever been interested in me. :p Literally the furthest I've ever gone is hugging! I've never even kissed a guy on the cheek HAHA.

So yeah, experience has nothing to do with this. :p

But then again, you're amazing at description! Teach me ur wayz pls

I love Sirius, he's adorable! Even when cranky. :'D

The next one is actually written! I'm going to post it after the last chapter of Unplanned is up so yay!

Also, Naive's edits are up and ready to go after I've completed Unplanned! It's going to be off of hiatus soon! :D

James and Lily are adorable I jsuydigfgidhbkvfdk dvjkkn

/cries because of all the emotions.

Anyway, thanks for the lovely review! It just reminded me to review your new one-shot! :D

- Kayla. ♥


 Report Review

Review #38, by PhoenixPulse Fourth Year: 1975

12th May 2013:
Oh, Kayla, this was really heartwarming.

Little Lily and James, so grown up yet so young. But then again, I understand the circumstances of why. I love this matured James. I wish people saw more of this James than his usual happy-go-lucky side.

And I love Remus' little speech. Big props to Remmy there. And Peter, such the innocent sweetheart and gentleman. I hate that I know he's going to end up being a traitor, but for now, I'll just savour his innocence.

Lovely one-shot dearie. It was beautiful! :D

Author's Response: Awh, you're too kind! ♥

I've always thought that James and Lily never really had much of a childhood because of the war. So I wanted to put that in there.

(It may or may not have been influenced by My Big Fat Greek Wedding when Toula's mum tells Toula that they suffered so Toula and her siblings could have a better life :p)

Remus was always the most mature out of the little four. :p So he had to make the speech haha. I also hated to write Peter so innocently but uiggjhbkjdjfgsjls

I guess that I feel like the Marauders wouldn't have laid down their life for a crappy friend. And Lily would have had to trust him as well to be their secret keeper. So yeah... :p

I'm glad you liked it, you're always too kind to me! ♥

Thanks for another beautiful review! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by Courtney Dark Fourth Year: 1975

3rd May 2013:
Hey there! So, I finally got around to reading your magnificent entry for my challenge! Sorry about the delay!

This was a really cute piece of writing! I loved your characterizations of all the characters, especially Sirius. I loved how dramatic he was, and I think you used the quote you were given perfectly - it seemed like such a Sirius thing to say! I think my favourite line had to be: “Ah, MacDonald, so little faith. But no, we aren’t,” Sirius replied, throwing an arm around her shoulders. That was just perfect!

I also liked how you added the discussion of the war, and how Peter seemed to be uncertain of whether he wanted to fight. It was sort of chilling, hearing all these characters who become a part of the Order of the Phoenix discussing the war, especially when they all end up dead (sob!)

Another little bit that made me laugh was this bit: “My parents told me—” The three boys snorted and he rolled his eyes and conceded, “Okay. I overheard my parents talking about how they wanted to start an organisation, like Voldemort’s—” Not only did we get a small glimpse into the beginnings of the order, but that such a James thing to say, and made me laugh.

I loved the Jily feels at the end of the chapter, and their discussion was so perfect! It definitely made me a little sad, hearing their hopes that the world would be a better place for their kids but I loved the way you ended this chapter.

Nice job!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Don't worry about the delay, there was never any rush. :)

I'm so glad you liked it! As soon as I read the quote, I actually screamed: "SIRIUS!" :p

I felt like our poor Marauders didn't really have a very fun childhood, so I wanted to throw that in there. :'(

ahaha James was a mischievous little bugger, we all know that. And I could imagine him eavesdropping on his parents ahaha. :p

hehe what's a Jily fanfic without sad Jily feels? :p

Thank you for this lovely review, and thanks for putting out the challenge! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by Marauder_Weasley Seventh Year: 1977

28th April 2013:
love it such a good story

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by iatevoldysnose Seventh Year: 1977

28th April 2013:
Oh My God! I love how you write James and Lily! Its so wonderful.
Sirius is just hilarious and awesome! The small foil item hehe
Oh what I would give to go to Hogwarts. *sigh*

This chapter was really great! All your chapters just amaze me so much. They are so well written and the characters are just so amazing.

I love how James waited for Lily and helped her out, even though he hated the subjects. That was just so sweet.

And when James started tickling her, I just couldn't help but smile and even chuckle a bit. I could totally relate to her not being able to breath (although can't everyone?)

I love this story:) Can't wait for the next chapter...

Love,
iatevoldysnose

P.S. Love your username :)

Author's Response: ahh thank you!!! :D

hehehehe Sirius is sneaky. ;) And I checked, they were wrapped in foil in the 70s. :p

All your reviews are lovely, you're very flattering. *blushes* :p

I'm so glad you like this chapter/story! It really means a lot to me! ♥

ahaha thanks, I quite like it too! I LOVE yours though! Every time I see it, I start giggling to myself ehehe :p

Thank you for this amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by GrangerDanger76 Fifth Year: 1976

27th April 2013:
This was like... super cute. I love Lily.

Also, just for the record, I totally knew Lily's favourite animal would be a cat when the conversation started. :)

I really liked how they talked but James wasn't as awkward as he usually is portrayed. Like he was obnoxious but not in the way that makes me strongly dislike him.

I also really like how Lily was portrayed. It was spot on for how I always think of her :)

This was adorable and fluffy and really made my day a whole lot better.

10 meow / 10

Lots of love,
Camille and Astro :)

Author's Response: I didn't see your penname so I was reading this thinking, "This person is just adorable - they're so sweet!"

And then you said "meow" and I was like, "Huh?" and then I saw it was you! :p

I'm glad you liked it! And I couldn't NOT make Lily not like cats. :p It is proved in canon that they have a cat and I cant imagine James liking cats because Sirius is a dog. :p

You're too sweet, Camille! ♥

Thank you for this lovely review! :)

Love, Kayla and Myles. :D

P.S. I don't know if I clarified, but in my review to you when I said meow/10, I meant 10. :p I just wanted to let you know that. ;)


 Report Review

Review #43, by house elf Seventh Year: 1977

26th April 2013:
This was so sweeet! So sweet it burns! (jokes; fluff has no limits ;))

You write Lily and James incredibly well. I love how they seem to be kissing at every other moment aha :P Sirius is also awesome. The 'small foil item' he threw at them... hahaha :D

Keep it up with these fabulous chapters :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like my Lily and James! I love them so much, I'm always scared I'm not doing them justice! :p

hehehe, I checked that in the 70s they were wrapped in foil. ;)

Thank you for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by PhoenixPulse Fifth Year: 1976

23rd April 2013:
Kayla!

First off, I want to apologize for not responding to your last message at TDA, and for not reading/reviewing any of your stuff lately. Just 6 more weeks until summer, but until then it's cram, cram, cram for exams and I've been so desperate to pick up my chemistry grade to avoid summer school.

But I've been able to cram some time, and this...this was beautiful!

I love the James and Lily bonding right here. I find it thoughtful how you used Transfiguration and Animagi to make it work, and I like how mature James is for once (apart from his little innuendo). And it's refreshing to see them both get along so nicely.

And Snape. I just...I want to feel sorry for him, but I can't. I never liked him at all.

Lovely writing as always! :D

Author's Response: Pearl!

Don't worry about it! I understand! In October-November I doubt I'll be around either! I just have a break for the first time in ages! And chemistry is evil, I absolutely hated it. (I dropped it) So I completely support you in trying to get your grade up! ♥

Aw, I'm so glad you liked it! :'D

I really love James and Lily, and I hate seeing fanfictions where Lily absolutely hates James with a burning passion and James is a stupid-head. :p

Yeah, I don't like Snape. I tried making it as unbiased as possible but... :p

Thanks for your lovely review! Good luck with your exams! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by iatevoldysnose Fourth Year: 1975

20th April 2013:
Oh my god! That was so good!
This chapter sounded so much like the actual books. Your writing style is so good and you portray the characters so well! It made me feel like I was actually there! It was nice to see Lily and James having that sirius (pun intended) conversation.
I love this story so much! It's so beautiful! And your writing is just so epic.

Thanks for writing this for us, and I hope you write more for this story in the future:)

-iatevoldysnose

p.s. when I said I hope you write a Jily fanfic, I meant like a novel or something, not a short story collection. I would love to read something like that from you:) this story is awesome though!!!

Author's Response: aw thank you!

You're FAR too kind! I'm just sitting here with the biggest grin on my face. Thank you!

I've got chapter three written, and I'm planning to do about nine chapters in total. There's going to be a minimum of nine, I can tell you that. :)

OHH! I get it now! ahaha sorry, I completely missed that. :p Maybe I will write a Jily novel one day. :) I just don't have an idea at the moment.

Thank you for your amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by Moaning Myrtle 7 Fifth Year: 1976

20th April 2013:
I really enjoyed this, it was so well written and exactly how I imagined them as characters. I'm so glad I found this and I hope there'll be more additions soon! :)

Author's Response: aw thank you so much!

The next chapter just got validated if you want to take a peek! :D

Thanks for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #47, by iatevoldysnose Fifth Year: 1976

7th April 2013:
OMG I LOVED THIS!
IT WAS SO GOOD!
I REALLY ENDOYED IT:)
You should write a jily fanfic :) I really liked this one and I hope to read others from you:)
They are so adorable! But I think she was a bit harsh on Sev...idk though...its your story:)
Loved it though:)
Keep writing!

iatevoldysnose

Author's Response: ahhh thank you! :D

I'm glad you liked it!

... This is a Jily fanfic... It's going to be a short story collection so it's going to have glimpses of their lives. :)

If you reread the scene where Snape calls her a Mudblood and when he tries to apologise to her (I would have put it in but then it would have broken HPFF's 3-line rule), she is quite harsh to him.

And he deserves it in my opinion. :p

Thanks for the review! The update will be soon, hopefully! :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by nightingale14 Fifth Year: 1976

6th April 2013:
I loved it :)
I honestly don't know how else to put it! A good Jily is hard to find and so I was rather happy to come across this one. Nice job!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I'm so glad you liked it! :D

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Humph Fifth Year: 1976

5th April 2013:
Quite a good story in the making, keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I've got two other chapters written. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>