Reading Reviews for Like a House on Fire
  
347 Reviews Found

Review #26, by toomanycurls The Deeper Things in Life

6th February 2014:
so... I feel like a turd because I read half of this over the weekend (hey, in bed, HPFF on my phone, I got a groove going)... and I didn't leave a single review! so, as time and review tags and life permits, I'm going to leave a review on each chapter. I love the story so far. Even with the 'first fic' issues you talked about, the story is interesting to me even with the first fic-isms.

Millie's humor and bickering with Sirius in potions is extremely well done. Her trade off of handwriting for potions his awesome. it had to be a bit humbling for Sirius that his only value-add was nice handwriting. I laughed out loud (and woke my husband up) with the line "Dad was pretty weird - even for an Unspeakable." All dads are weird (sometimes unspeakably weird).

I love the perfunctory friend interrogation. Really, what are friends for?!?! I like the assumption (that someone, maybe Lily) that Sirius was making Millie do the work for him. I think their lecture on relationships and partnership is quite well done (though not as well received).

Ah, poor Sirius. Stuck writing an essay instead of brooding. :D I really love how Remus is trying to direct him towards academics rather than girls. I'm guessing he had to do that quite a bit.

Great chapter - I'll be back!

-Rose

ps - reposting without my HTML goof :)

Author's Response: YAYAYAYAYAY! Now I can finally respond to what was an unexpected and lovely review. Also, you win the award for being my longest unanswered review ;)

First of all, well done for reading a good chunk in one go! Solid effort! And I'm completely blushing from all your lovely compliments concerning this being my first fic (and all the other ones as well, of course) - and yes I'm still blushing all these months later.

I loved writing Sirius in that Potions scene. Since you've read a significant chunk of this, I can say this wihout fear of spoilers. Millie never expresses her thoughts on Sirius unless they involve his looks (or his idiocy). For her, especially at this stage in their relationship, he functions as no more than a pretty boy - even his handwriting is pretty. Credit to Sirius for being perceptinve enough to figure out that Millie might think more of him.

I swear Remus spent more time telling thr others to do their work rather than doing his own. Being the Responsible Marauder is a full-time job. But what are friends for? Other than perfunctory interrogations of course ;)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Pixileanin I Wanna Hold Your Hand

3rd February 2014:
Yeah, I thought this would happen. Sirius Black has to be insanely jealous before he decides to make a move on his fake girlfriend. And, oh dear, they don't talk about it for days. Awkward.

"Hey, Moony. Do you think Millie likes me?"

Bwahahaha! Does he have to even ask anymore? Of course he does, because he's an angst-filled, insecure teenaged boy. I am really enjoying the way you play on the doubts of these characters and that you're not at all making things easy for them. Things HAVE to be hard, I think it's a rule. And if they're too easy, the characters need to make things hard on themselves. Wait. I think you did that too. That is why I keep coming back to this story.

I loved how you fabricated an excuse for Millie to meet Sirius' animagus form. Everyone warms up to a wet dog... okay, I don't, but lots of people would, I imagine, including Millie. I also love how she carries on a one-sided conversation with him, and he's powerless to respond. Take that, Black!

So here you go again, surprising me. I thought that talk in the kitchen was going to be about RELATIONSHIPs, but it's not. It's about CHRISTMAS, which is even better, because it leaves things UNRESOLVED for many chapters to go. The tension is great here, the awkward meter is running so high, and these two are again wound up.

I think you completely broke the cute meter too. I mean, it couldn't have been any cuter for Millie to fall asleep on her crush, and then have Sirius all grins in front of Mrs. Potter. What's a poor girl to think about that?

As always, you have completely adorable characters and a plot that keeps moving along with the ups and downs of teen angst and shenanigans. I'm still enjoying this story, and I hope it won't be eons before I come back for another visit.

Happy Writing!

Author's Response: Sirius is a bit weird that way. But a catalyst was needed, and who better than his own estranged brother? I love a little bit of family drama!

Both of them are so insecure! I love writing them this way though because they're quite alike in all the worst ways, which makes for a relationship filled with doubt and awkwardness! So. Much. Fun. And I don't need to make things hard for them at all - they quite happily do it for themselves. It's like writing a soap opera!

I love my dog, but I definitely don't want to be near him when he's wet. He smells terribly! Obviously, Millie's sense of smell is not functioning properly! And I loved writing that conversation. She might actually talk to Sirius more as a dog than she does when he's human :P

Can you imagine these two EVER talking about their relationship? Definitely better to talk about Christmas! And unresolved is like the catchphrase for these two!

The reason why I love writing these two is because they're just so... adorkable. They have all the best things about being awkward as well as being adorable.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! It's always so lovely to hear from you again :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by ladyrae Not Now, Not Ever

19th January 2014:
Commenting on this chapter (even though I read it 2 months ago and reviewed ch. 35) just to say please update!! Really want to know what happens!

Author's Response: An update shall come soon, I promise! I know that what I always say, but I mean it :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #29, by toomanycurls Together

19th January 2014:
Operation get Lily and James back together!!

It's kind of hilarious that everyone still thinks of them as the cutesy couple when they've been faking it for a while. Especially Sarah thinking it's romantic that they planned this together. I mean, they did but Millie couldn't be more right when she said it wasn't romantic.

"Those 4 idiots" - so affectionate Lily. It's quite brilliant the way Millie feeds Lily the info about James being sick and how Lily's indifference slowly melts away. Oh Madame Pomfrey - perfectly timed information for Lily to hear about James.

Oh James is just so cute in his ailing state. So cute. I had squee overload when Lily said she doesn't hate him. SO MUCH CUTE!

Now Sirius and Millie need to have some couple development!! YES LIKE HIS LIPS DARNIT! Your writing gets me in a state - a shout-y state.

I need them to snog. *need!*

Awesome chapter!! I'm so happy James and Lily are doing better
-Rose

Author's Response: I have no idea how everyone thinks Millie and Sirius are cutesy, because all the scenes I think are cute are when they're both alone. But close friends have a way of picking up on that energy I suppose.

We all know that deep down Lily loves those four idiots, even when she's angry with her favourite one! And Madame Pomfrey takes all the awards for perfect time!

James is adorable all the time, but especially when he's "dying". I loved writing him like this because he's quite comfortable being openly vulnerable which neither Lily, Millie nor Sirius are comfortable with AT ALL.

I'm sort of pleased that my writing gets you all shouty - that caps lock key is severely underloved.

Thanks for reading! It's always so lovely hearing from you :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by toomanycurls Perfect for each Other

12th January 2014:
Review tag!!

I love their dialogue throughout this chapter. I also like (love but I need more words to use) how Millie notices Sirius in ways that make it quite clear she's having the likes for him.

Sirius getting kicked out of the library - somehow I'm surprised he doesn't have a lifetime ban by now.

I do like seeing their problem solving together in action. But they could problem solve while snogging, am I right?!?!

Lovely chapter!

Author's Response: Millie's beginning to develop a little crush on Sirius finally, because Sirius has had one on her since practically the first chapter, even if he didn't realise it. They're a little weird in that way, because I always think that of the two of them, Millie is more mature, but it's almost always Sirius who takes the initiative in their relationship.

Sirius doesn't have a lifetime ban, because he doesn't often go in there in the first place. Also, Millie's very good at silencing spells by this point :P

If problem-solving is a left-brain activity and snogging is a right-brain activity, then... simultaneously problem-solving and snogging are not mutually exclusive. They just really need to get their act together!


 Report Review

Review #31, by toomanycurls It has to be Soon

12th January 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I really like how you use Severus and Lily's relationship as a burden for her and James. I mean, I guess it's arguable if she's mad about James being a jerk or if she's upset because it was towards Severus. I can't blame Millie for being a bit weirded out by Lily's friendship with Severus - but, wait, did she love him? For real love or just like she loves potions love? Also, I cracked up at the interpretations of Lily's answer to "what did you do."

Comfortable silence is a good thing. Making progress?!?!

I guess I could see James as having the manic "must train harder" mentality. I feel bad that Millie has to put up with it.

Wait - that's it? they're just making a plan? no hints about what it is?!?! fine. I'll read on.

-Rose

Author's Response: Lily would probably carry around her baggage concerning Snape, at least until she left Hogwarts. Their relationship is so new as well, so it was bound to cause some strain sooner or later.

I thought Lily loved Snape, perhaps in just a platonic way, but sometimes, that bond is deeper than that of romantic love. The wounds take time to heal, and they leave scars that twinge on occasion.

Comfortable silence is definitely progress! Maybe they'll soon be comfortably silent whilst snogging (just in case you get your hopes up, this does not actually happen in the next few chapters)!

And their plan is ridiculous. I have no idea how they come up with it.


 Report Review

Review #32, by greenbirds A First Time for Everything

11th January 2014:
hey! so i really enjoyed this- sirius/oc stories are my weakness so this automatically intrigued me. i like how only four characters were introduced this chapter; it defined who were the key players and what they were like. it was also a lot easier to follow! millie sounds great and james sounds like a babe. it's quite short, granted, but what needs to be said has been said. the opening description was really intense and i'm really interested to see how you develop that!
the only critism i have is the lack of scenery. to slow down the chapter and to pace it out- because at times it was a bit snappy from dialogue to dialogue- maybe introduce descriptions of her surroundings, scents, what lily/sirius/james look like, background stories, etc. i'm more than happy to help you with that on the archives! bea x

Author's Response: Hello! I have a bit of a soft spot for Sirius/OC as well, so I couldn't help but write this.

Thank you so much for your wonderful words of praise as well as your criticisms. I know this isn't really an excuse, but this was the first fanfiction I'd ever written, so much of this makes me cringe. I still struggle with description, and I really like your suggestions about where I might be able to add things - especially the scents! What a fabulous idea! Thank you so much for your help! Once I finally finish this, major editing shall occur!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Lululuna Claustrophobia and Confusion

10th January 2014:
Hello! :D Guess what... it's me, your Secret Santa!!! (now revealed). I had a lot of fun being semi-mysterious this holiday season and reading your awesome stories. So what better way than to announce myself than with another review?!

Anyway, onto actually reviewing!

Gah, Sirius and Millie are so adorable! I'm actually really glad they became friends and have this flirty banter going before anything real happens, it makes their connection seem more genuine in my opinion. They have this awesome silly relationship and I feel like both can tell that the other one does like them. It's great to see how... stable, they are, in a way, in comparison to Lily and James' more tumultuous relationship at the moment.

I'm really dying to find out about Millie's family and who in the name of Merlin they are/were and what has happened to them. I thought at the beginning they were sort of pureblood elitists but then Lily stayed at Millie's for a month learning to raise an eyebrow, so they must have some toleration of muggleborns?! Or else they didn't know she was one? Anyway, I'm excited to find out more!

I love how suspicious Lily is about Millie asking her questions - and rightly so! I'm looking forward to when the secrets come out and they discover the dating was a hoax, and possibly about the poisoning James scheme. I'm sure Lily will have plenty to say about it...

"Well, it's not what they've done to me personally, but it's more like their mere existence is a malignant growth on the otherwise wonderful wider school population." Snorted at this in a very ladylike and graceful manner. Oh, Sirius. I feel so sorry for the first year victim too- first years always seem to end up with the short end of the stick no matter what happens.

Oh goodness, Sirius, you get a girl into a broom cupboard and don't make a move other than making comments about her eyes that are just dripping with cheese? How silly. But I love Millie's fluttery confusion at the end, it's just adorable. :)

Great chapter, as always! :D And you have to let me know if you guessed I was your SS or whether I need to work on my secrecy tactics! :P Thanks for being an awesome SS recipient!

Author's Response: I KNOW WHO YOU ARE NOW AND THEREFORE I CAN SHOW PROPER APPRECIATION FOR MY AWESOME SECRET SANTA!

I haven't scared you off with my enthusiasm, have I?

I don't even think they realise that they're friends. They're always so ready to fight with each other that they haven't quite figured out that they actually enjoy spending time in each other's company. Their silliness is just so inherently part of them. They'd be a little boring without it! And it's great that you picked up on that! I think James and Lily's relationship is almost always the opposite of Sirius and Millie's at any given point...

I do explain a little bit more about Millie's family in one of the later chapters! It's like this huge information dump! And they were purebloods... but they were always really weird about it. I think it makes sense later on... maybe. There's no guarantee that ANYTHING makes sense with this story!

I have no idea how no one's figured out the truth about their relationship! I think everyone is just really wrapped up in their own lives to really pay attention to them. They probably think they act more like an old married couple rather than two people who aren't actually together!

I congratulate you on your graceful and ladylike snorting ;) And first years are always collateral damage, the poor dears!

Sirius Black is losing his touch, I think! I've always wanted to write a broom cupboard scene, but there are so many ways that they can go wrong! I used it as a chance for some emotional bonding instead!

And obviously I am terrible at guessing or you're an absolute ninja at hiding - probably both! Thanks so much for all the loveliness!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Pixileanin Snogging in the Middle of the Corridor

10th January 2014:
Hi there. It's almost criminal, how long I've been away from this story. Sorry for that! On the other hand, it means that I can read a bunch of chapters at a time, and I love that I don't have to wait for what's next!

I had to go back and re-read a few chapters, just to get back into the story, but believe me, it was all pleasurable. This story flows so well. You make it an easy read. :) Not sure where I started with this review, but I ended here, so here's where I'm posting. Hope that's okay with you.

You know, I think my favorite part of a ship is when the two people realize that there might be an "us" in the foreseeable future. I think you got your characters to that point, even though there's probably still a bit of drama in store for them in the immediate future. The fact that they're warming up to each other is enough. They should figure it out from there, and if they don't, well, it wasn't meant to be, right?

Millie's questions to Lily about Sirius really cracked me up.

"these were the kind of things you asked before you decided to date a guy, not after it."

Oh goodness, she's definitely fallen at this point.

Here's where I really get into your story. Millie and Sirius are in a broom cupboard, trying to heal a pranked student. Very nice use of a broom cupboard, and not what I expected.

Can I tell you that I really loved the title to chapter 16? "Recognizing Forks" was a great tie-in to that whole chapter. I didn't really read the chapter title until I was done with the last scene, and then I was like, "Woah! That's a GREAT title!"

There has to be trouble before they get together, there just has to. I think that's a literary rule or something in romance. The struggle makes the eventual ship all the more rewarding, or something like that. That said, I like where you placed the revelation of Millie's prior relationship to Sirius. And I doubly liked that you put it in his POV. It gives him the right amount of doubt, I think. But you're winding up these characters pretty tightly that they're bound to pop sooner or later.

Very enjoyable, as always!

Author's Response: Ahh! You're back! I'm so impressed that you've read this far already!

I'm surprised that you think it flows well! When I read over it, I always find so many things wrong with it!

My favourite part of a ship is the "I think there might be an us" part. I think Sirius is there ready to break down that door but Millie is still a little clueless as to her own feelings, and more importantly, Sirius' feelings for her.

Millie really has fallen, hasn't she? She just hasn't realised it yet, and it's so frustrating, even as the writer!

I've always wanted to write a broom cupboard scene, but there's only one way you can write a cliche well, and I just couldn't do it with these two - they weren't ready for it yet. So I gave them a little more bonding time instead! And first years are ALWAYS collateral damage, the poor things!

That title... was weird for me to pick. I have no idea why I picked it, but it just somehow works.

Well, there's 35 published chapters and the story isn't finished yet, so yes, there's trouble in paradise ahead! And all relationships are hard. I think the romance genre is a little more accepting of that... if only they branched out into more places where relationships can be difficult...

And the pop is soon - like next chapter soon, I think!

Thanks so much for this fantabulous review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark Together

5th January 2014:
Tag!

Wow, I am very impressed with Millie and Sirius' plan! So many things could have gone wrong, but somehow everything ended up going completely right. And I was even more impressed with Millie's awesome ninja skills, sticking the antidote in that goblet - go Millie!

And oh my god, there were so many great Sirius/Millie and James/Lily moments! James was pretty adorable when he was sick and Lily was just so stubborn. And Millie! Can't you see that you have feelings for Sirius? Sigh.

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Somehow they pull it off! As I was writing this I was thinking of all the ways it could go wrong... so obviously, it HAS to go right for them! And this is the one and only time Millie has ninja skills, like ever. It's quite the achievement. If I ever managed something like that, I'd get a plaque made.

James and Lily are always adorable. I love writing them together. They have this great thing going because they're so obviously in love, and their best friends are just on the sidelines like "what are emotions? I don't have any"

Thanks so much for this wonderful review! It's always so nice to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Courtney Dark Perfect for each Other

4th January 2014:
Tag!

I actually really enjoyed this chapter! It was so fun, light and entertaining to read, and I loved the way you wrote it, with Sirius and Millie plotting in several different locations.

Can I just say, I love the way Sirius and Millie plot together - they are so alike and they don't even realize it! My favourite scene was probably the first one, in potions, where the just kept watching their two best friends in silence, completely ignoring their own work.

Uh-oh, I'm not sure Millie's plan sounds like a good one. It sounds like about a hundred things could go wrong! Let's just hope the plan actually works, and doesn't turn into a disaster!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I really wanted to highlight just how alike they can be if they don't really think about it with the whole plotting thing. They could work so well together if they just got over themselves! I'm getting frustrated with them and I WROTE them!

Millie's plan is a disaster just waiting to happen, isn't it? Things are bound to be interesting...


 Report Review

Review #37, by Courtney Dark It has to be Soon

30th December 2013:
Tag!

Yay, I am so glad you touched on James and Lily's relationship in this chapter, because it such an essential part of the marauders (especially James') life! And I always enjoy Millie's inner commentary when it comes to her best friend!

I wonder what James and Severus were arguing about? And I wonder if we'll ever find out? Whatever it was, it must have been pretty serious to get James so mad - mad enough that he'd risk causing a fight with Lily.

These tough training sessions Millie is complaining about are exactly the reason I don't play sport anymore! James definitely is taking out his frustration on the Quidditch pitch!

Oh Remus, always the mediator. I'm looking forward to seeing what plan they come up with, to make Lily and James see that they are perfect for each other.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Initially, James and Lily were going to be a bigger part of this, but as a first-time writer, I just didn't plan this through, so they just sort of cameo every now and again. They are so adorable together - you really can't mess with perfection!

James and Snape were almost definitely arguing about Lily, even if they didn't think they were arguing about Lily. What else do the two really have in common? I can't imagine them arguing over the top team in the British Quidditch League!

Sport is hard. There are no two ways about it. And I just feel really sorry for the entire team! It's not their fault that their captain's girlfriend is angry with him!

Remus' true calling is like as a school counsellor, I swear. He's just so good at mediation ALL THE TIME. And their plan is ridiculous, I can tell you that right now!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Secret Santa Together

27th December 2013:
Hi again! :) Happy two-days-after-Christmas!

As adorable as Lily and James were here, I think I liked Millie's scepticism and disgust about the cuteness even better. I giggled a little whenever she made these little snide comments about James being lovesick, like when she said James looked as if Lily had just declared every day to be Christmas, and when he wanted to stay sick so that Lily would keep liking him- it was so funny.

Lily is just such a goody-two-shoes in comparison, it's quite amusing. I could really feel Millie's desperation when she was too busy with picking up James' slack to be concerned about him at first and then afterwards she was so ready to leave the hospital when Pomfrey said so. And then in comparison Millie and Sirius are so devious.

I still almost can't believe Millie and Sirius got away with the plan of essentially poisoning their friend and it worked! It's quite impressive, and I loved the ending where they were so gleeful and then had this little moment of lurve and denial.

Great chapter as usual, and I'm glad Lily and James are on the road to recovery in their relationship (and literal recovery in James' case). :D

Author's Response: Happy I'm-so-late-with-this-response-please-forgive-me?

I thought James and Lily were adorable - maybe Millie was subconsciously jealous? I don't know! I'm glad you thought it was funny, though!

I never thought about it that way, but yeah, I guess Lily really is a bit of a goody-two-shoes. Your boyfriend is dying, and you're worried about the increased work load? Like, seriously?

I just loved writing Millie and Sirius being devious together. There was no way that this plan was going to work, so obviously, it does because nothing brings people closer to each other than deviousness!

Thanks so much for the review! It's been such a pleasure receiving these!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Secret Santa!! Perfect for each Other

25th December 2013:
Oh hey, it's just me again! :) Ah I'm so curious to find out how they'll execute this trick (no pun intended...) and kill/injure James to gain Lily's sympathy. Like I said last chapter it seems like she likes to take care of the underdog so this just might be the way to regain her forgiveness for him. :P

I'm so proud of Sirius and Millie working well together and discovering how they have things in common. This bit: I looked around to notice that our cauldron was merrily bubbling away, turning a hideous shade of poo. “Nah. Give it another minute or two,” I said, then went back to my musings. made me giggle so much, not only because Millie identifies colour with poo (sorry, it's been a long day :P) and secondly because she is so laid back about class and Sirius just accepts it. Too silly. :)

The ending made me happy about how they're going through with it but broke my heart a little since we know what happens to Sirius and how James and Lily won't have loads of kids and how Sirius will never really be called Uncle Sirius. Also this is making me curious about what will happen to Millie since in some Marauders stories the love interests of Sirius/best friends of Lily seem to die. :( Please promise me that fate won't await my darling Millie?! Time for a Christmas miracle?!

I'm quite curious to see how they will pull this scheme off and something tells me it won't go as smoothly as hoped. :P Lily is a little sharper than that! :) Great chapter as usual which makes me excited to find out more! :D

Author's Response: I have no idea how they come up with ideas like this. They've literally just poisoned their friend for the "greater good".

Millie's identification of colour with poo gets even more giggle-worthy since she specified that it was a disgusting shade - there must be grades such as "mildly gross" and "death on sight".

I was almost in tears writing those lines about Uncle Sirius. My heart just broke. I haven't decided what will exactly happen with Millie, but killing her off would not only be really painful, but also way out of the league of this story. Character death is not something to be trifled with.

Thanks so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Secret Santa!! It has to be Soon

25th December 2013:
Hello my dear 800 words of heaven, MERRY CHRISTMAS!! :) I've been super busy all day but wanted to leave you something on the actual date!

(PS I glanced at the other reviews and laughing now at your super sassy response to a certain rather unnecessary one, hehe).

Ooh, so Lily was first of all once in love with Snape and may still have feelings for him?! That actually fits well with my Lily head canon, I see her as someone who wants to take care of the weaker types and protect them, and in comparison to James, Snape would be weaker. That's an interesting dynamic, I love little mentions of Snily. Lily is such a firecracker in this story too, I feel a little sorry for James! Clearly Harry in his OoP moody teenager phase secretly takes after his mum. :P

Ah I wonder what their plan is?! These guys are so devious, it's really funny. While I think the Millie and Sirius development is my favourite part of the story so far I love hearing about the other characters and their troubles and dramas. :)

This: there was many a rumour flying around the Changing Rooms that his ability to father children may now be grievously diminished really made me laugh. It's these little witty lines which just make me so giggly when I read this story and well, all of your stories pretty much. :)

Great job as usual! :D

Author's Response: Hello oh wonderful Secret Santa! I am sorry for this rather late reply. I have been in a place with rather limited internet access, so I haven't been able to reply to your lovely reviews or MTA questions!

That review... was my first mean-spirited review and I just didn't know how to answer it. I thought about leaving it, but I didn't want to keep looking at it. I doubt that person came back to read what I wrote, but it's amazing they got to the end of all the published chapters at the time to leave such a review!

I don't think Lily has feeling for Snape anymore, but she's just a nice person. I think she wanted to believe that James had changed and wasn't the type to go around hexing people anymore. I wrote Lily really differently to my headcanon of her in this story. She's just so much fun to write this way!

Their plan is as ridiculous as them, to be honest. Somehow, everything seems to always work in their favour despite the odds.

You have seriously been the best Secret Santa ever!


 Report Review

Review #41, by WumpsQuill Gone, Gone, Gone

23rd December 2013:
Gah, please continue! Love this story and how Sirius has changed over the course of it.

Author's Response: I'm still continuing this story! I've invested too much into Sirius' character growth not to see how it ends for myself!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Courtney Dark Love the Smell of Blueberries

22nd December 2013:
Tag!

I am always so happy when I get to tag you on the review thread, because it means I get to come back to this!

Okay, this is going to be a short review, sorry about that, because I was meant to leave five minutes ago, but got caught up in this awesome chapter!

My favourite part of the chapter was definitely in the common room. I loved how Millie and Sirius were totally acting like a couple, even though they're only fake dating.

I also wonder if Remus will be the first to uncover their secret? He does seem to be the most intuitive.

Of course, I also loved the scene just between Millie and Sirius - I think they are finally starting to understand and get to know each other. And aw, Sirius, opening up and putting that blanket over Millie. He's so adorable and I want him to be mine!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: It's so lovely of you to keep reading this little project of mine. As this was my first fanfic, I look back on it, especially some of the earlier chapters, and wonder what on earth I was thinking. I love keeping this up though because the feedback that I get on this story is just so wonderful!

Millie and Sirius really need to get their act together. Unfortunately, it takes them an incredibly long time to do so.

I think this is the chapter where Sirius starts his streak of adorableness. I don't think there's not at least one moment per chapter from here on where he isn't adorable - I just want to give him a big hug!

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Courtney Dark Things You Really Don't Want to Know

19th December 2013:
Tag!

Aw, this chapter so was so short and sweet - I loved it!

I really love Millie's character. She's so funny, yet pretty down to earth at the same time! But she's also not very subtle about the fact that she and Sirius are fake-dating - I can't believe Lily hasn't figured it out already!

Comfortable silence, did I hear? That's definitely a step in the right direction! But then, of course, they have to go and ruin it by getting into a fight about how many girlfriends/boyfriends they've had - not impressed!

And I think Millie was definitely right when she said that she and Sirius were alike in more ways than she cared to admit. They're almost like the same person!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Millie is the strangest character I've written to date. She's just full of contradictions and weird ways of thinking of things. Lily probably hasn't figured anything out because she's so wrapped up in her own blossoming love life!

Yes! Comfortable silence = progress, right? For those two, probably not, but it's one step closer!

They really are quite similar aren't they - maybe in all the wrong ways...

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Secret Santa!! Love the Smell of Blueberries

17th December 2013:
Hello again! I'm back, and reviewing this chapter for, well, no particular reason. ;) 11 just seemed like a great number for a review!!

So much cutesy goodness and dramatic irony here!! I was just squirming from how silly and cute Sirius and Millie are together. I mean one minute they're having a tickling war without realizing that everyone else is watching, and then Sirius covers her up with a blanket- it's very sweet and I'm looking forward to see what shenanigans they might get up to as a real couple... I mean, if they do get to that point. :P It was nice to see James and Lily so happy together as well and how James thinks that he has real love this time around!

I really liked the nod to how difficult Arithmancy is because it's related to math, right? And math is just so difficult so I can't imagine adding magic into the equation would be any easier. Sirius' story of why he started in the class was so sweet, and shows how he's not just a lady's man but used to resorting to slightly desperate measures to get the attention of the girls he likes. Such as, hmm, fake dating them, that seems like a good way to get a girl's attention, wonder where I heard of that before? :P

Sirius' section at the end was my favourite of the whole chapter I think. I just loved the last line and how he was so curious about the ways of women and the idea of shampoo which smells like blueberries, and how he beats himself up about how to talk to her casually in a way that doesn't make him seem ridiculous. :P He's just a bloke and I love it! I'm so excited for when it sinks in to MIllie that he honestly really likes her and she should like him back because they would be so adorable and have tickle fights all the time. :D

Author's Response: Woohoo! Secret Santa back in the house!

... I won't do that again, I promise.

And 11 is a fantastic number for a review - such a wonderful prime number.

Sirius is so ridiculously adorable in this chapter. Reading over it again, and even I'm sitting there going aww! They'd be such a fun and adorable couple if they just got together already, I know! And poor James and Lily are going to be in for quite a shock in the next chapter, so it's nice while it lasted :P

Maths is difficult. Magic is difficult. A subject that combines the two must be doubly difficult. I can excuse poor Sirius is lack of understanding of Arithmancy. And I really did want to show Sirius as a normal sort of bloke under all that legend stuff - he may be good-looking, but he's only eighteen. He's just not as comfortable with girls as he likes to think. They remain a mystery to him.

Sirius' POV is always fun to write - this was especially so. It's the first time I write about his emerging feelings. And to be frank, he handles it a lot better than Millie does! Goodness knows how long it'll take those two to figure things out between them.

Thank you once again for this wonderful review, Oh gracious Secret Santa!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Mayonnaise Gone, Gone, Gone

12th December 2013:
If they don't end up together,I'll kill you. PLEASE update now:)

Author's Response: I hope this means you liked the chapter... ;)

 Report Review

Review #46, by toomanycurls Love the Smell of Blueberries

8th December 2013:
Review tag!!!

I love the girl talk about James and Lily's date! Millie does a great job deflecting about her non-date with Sirius. :D

haha, the boy talk is almost as ridiculous as the girl talk (in terms of silliness and teasing). I do really like seeing James' glee at his date. Ah, I wish they had pushed the subject with Sirius!!

I kind of feel like you could say "I sense an imbalance in the snogging" when Lily and Millie are arguing over Millie being tired. :P

Now, tell me that isn't realy flirting over the couch and all of that. I mean, it was just too flirty and cute to not have them have the relationship feels right then. haha! Remus was quite hilarious with his "is that a euphemism" comment. :D Ah, Remus is such a good mediator. then Millie realized she was being flirty and had to end it. *sigh*

Aw, Sirius make sure she was warm. :D so sweet. Can't they just snog over the homework? I'll be asking you this every chapter or so. (FYI)

Maybe Sirius did need reminding that he's wrong sometimes. :D Millie is funny! I love that about her. Of course he took the course to impress a girl. I do like that he didn't give it up because it's hard. :-o Millie is a good for nothing tease! Leaning in like that, hrm. Awkward pleas for help with homework is so suave. lol, not really but it was hilarious seeing him kind of flip out over it.

Okay, next chapter - Sirius + Millie => snogging

-Rose

Author's Response: Millie is a master of deflection when it comes to Sirius. It is a skill to be envied. And I wish the guys had been more pushy, too! I really wanted Sirius to examine his feelings a little closer, but it's just too early for either of them.

I just loved the irony of writing that little scene with Lily and Millie and snogging. Lily and James are probably snogging every opportunity they can get, whilst Millie and poor Sirius are all "must I REALLY hold your hand?" And Remus is such a mediator between Millie and Sirius, it's actually quite adorable. Wish he'd have more interest in his own love life, though!

The first time they snog isn't over homework, sadly. But when the snogging begins in earnest, it really is quite cute and fluffy. There's just this section of a few chapters where it's all the fluff, all the time, which is something to look forward to, I suppose.

Haha, Sirius can be quite the pighead when it comes to obstacles - which is the only reason I can think why he ends up spending so much effort to "get the girl" by the end of it. I thought he did okay with asking for help, but apparently it wasn't smooth enough for Sirius Black, king of suave!

Thanks for the review - and no snogging, but definite drama in the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Courtney Dark Quidditch Alliances

8th December 2013:
Tag!

I really enjoyed this chapter! I think you wrote the Quidditch game really well - I often find reading Quidditch games boring or over-descriptive, and I think you did a really good job - I especially enjoyed Millie's comparisons between Regulus and Sirius. And her catch was quite spectacular!

Hehe, you characterized Madam Pomfrey perfectly! And I love how concerned Lily (and Sirius, hehe) were for Millie.

Oooh, a double date next chapter! I am definitely looking forward to that. I wonder how disastrously it will go? Or maybe it will go perfectly, and it will all be fluffy clouds and rainbows and unicorns! I also wonder whether anyone will find out that Sirius and Millie are fake dating? And if so, who it will be. I guess I'll have to wait to find out!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: That Quidditch game was the first and last time I've ever attempted to write an action sequence, so thank you very much! I do feel that a Quidditch match is not the best place to reminisce over guys, even if they are the very awesome Black brothers!

That hospital wing scene was weirdly fun to write. Lily was just the best in that!

The date is... not my best piece of writing, ever, but things are definitely... interesting. And it's amazing how those two manage to keep a lid on the reality of their relationship, even now!

Thanks for the review. It's lovely to hear from you, as always :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by toomanycurls Things You Really Don't Want to Know

7th December 2013:
It's the date chapter!!!

I love Lily's apprehension about wearing the right clothes for her date. So, the jump to a few hours later was choppy but I kind of liked having the mushy date stuff being cut out. It's just kind of perfect as I could see Millie being bored to tears on the date. I do kind of want to know how Black got out. I'll sit here patiently and wait for you to tell me. :P

Gosh, Sirius had to practically beg Millie to admit he's good looking. I don't know if it's funnier that he wanted to hear it so bad or that she was so stubborn in saying it.

They really get into it here. Um, can they just snog now? No? fine...

They need to drop their emotional barriers!! arg

-Rose

p.s. REVIEW TAG!

Author's Response: It is the date chapter indeed!

I have a lot of work to do still with time jumps. I'm terrible at them, so I just have to practise, practise, practise! I don't like writing mushy date stuff, so I didn't write it. And a lot of people are curious as to how Sirius got out... I might keep it a secret just to keep from disappointing people...

Millie was a little reluctant to say anything nice to poor Sirius, wasn't she? She can be downright mean to him sometimes, but I think he handles it well.

The snog is still a few chapters away, and since it was my first ever kissing scene, it wasn't done very well at all - another thing to work on!

And I agree that they need to drop their emotional barriers, but they're young and oh so naive...

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by toomanycurls Quidditch Alliances

5th December 2013:
300, baby!!

...I get excited over weird things. :D

Quidditch!!! There's quidditch this time?!?! yes!

haha, Lily is very concerned about other people's eating habits.

I'm kind of really into the quidditch tension and action. Millie won't get much quidditch-ing done if she's oggling Regulus. My eyes were like this O.O while Regulus and Millie raced for the snitch. People get hurt all the time in quidditch, it's not bfd. :P

Oh good, Millie got to go to party!

Surely a party will convince Remus to do some snogging!! Poor, poor Sarah.

Burn! Millie can be a little cold. I can see while it will take Sirius a while to be all open with his feelings for her.

I love Lily shock that she might actually like James. I felt like that when I discovered I like green beans.

I do like that they're going on a double date. :D That should be a lot of fun to read!!

-Rose

Author's Response: WOOHOO 300 OH YEAH!

... I too, get excited over weird things.

QUIDDITCH JUST RULES BUT I'M TERRIBLE AT WRITING IT. I think this is literally my one and only attempt at writing an action scene, ever. I need to work on them A LOT.

Regulus makes strange cameos throughout the story in weird and not-really-related-to-the-plot-but-I-like-him ways. I just have a thing for writing him, I guess.

Millie is painfully closed towards Sirius. She's very strange about the way she shares things with him, but eventually, there's a lot of opening up. I don't think it helps her that Sirius' personality is very out there - whatever she discovers about him isn't because he's been hiding it, it's just that they haven't had that sort of relationship before.

... And I must admit, the date chapter needs a lot of work. I think it's one of the worse chapters in terms of random POV switches. Or is that the other date chapter?


 Report Review

Review #50, by toomanycurls Sleeping After Lunch

4th December 2013:
Oh dear, the friends found out. they have a point about the commitment thing - except they forgot to add perceptive and something else to the list (where the something else is about them being stubborn).

ha, I love that James turned Sirius getting a girlfriend into using his charm to get Lily. :D

I wish I had those napping skillz. I can do that in the car (not while driving - usually) but it's less useful as I don't sit in my car all day.

no, wait, is that all? I mean, I just started reading and now that's the end.

fine... at least there are a million more chapters. :D

-Rose

Author's Response: Yes, the friends found out. The Marauders always seem to take things better than the girls, though... And Millie and Sirius are incredibly alike, that's for sure!

I want those napping skills so bad! However, when I sleep, I am dead to the world.

A million more chapters is... a lot of chapters though!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>