Reading Reviews for The Time For Changing
  
67 Reviews Found

Review #26, by DracoFerret11 The helping hand.

21st June 2012:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you! :D So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: Okay. So...I noticed a lot of places where you had grammar errors or mild spelling mistakes. They broke the flow of the chapter up a bit. I would suggest going to the beta-offered section of the forums and seeing if somebody could do a read-through of your story. I personally think betas are a great help. They catch the mistakes that we accidentally overlook. ;]

Characterization: All right! Yeah! A Dramione! Woooh! So, we've got Hermione and Draco in this chapter. It was a bit uncharacteristic for Hermione to be running so late. I might suggest explaining why she wasn't on time. And then Draco...oh, Draco. He's such a handful. You'll want to watch out for making him too nice, too quickly. I was really surprised that he helped Hermione, but I sensed that maybe even he was surprised. I'll watch for really out-of-character actions from the two of them. It's a trap that we Dramione writers can fall into easily. :P

Descriptions: I love ranting about details. :D So, what I tell every writer that I review for is this--when you describe things, you have the chance to really bring readers into the story. So tell us what things look like, but not only that, what do the sound like, smell like, feel like, etc.? Those details can make a story wonderfully realistic.

Emotions: Here's a place you can add in descriptions! Was Hermione nervous about talking to a former Death Eater? Etc. I liked that you mentioned that Draco seemed miserable about his past. That's a great way to set up the rest of the story.

Plot: Well, this was a pretty straight-forward chapter. I'm interested to see what happens next. I'm really excited to be reading a Head Girl/Boy story. I haven't read one of those in years, it seems! (I have my own like that, actually, but it's my "Hermione-as-Head-Girl and Theodore-Nott-as-Head-Boy" Dramione that I love the most. :D ) ANYWAY. So...I like the beginning of this. We'll see if we keep away from some of the cliches in this story. Though, I honestly don't have many problems with cliches. They're done a lot because they work. So...Hermione's running late in this chapter and then Draco helps her get on the train. I'm really confused as to why he helped her at all, but I'm interested to see him explain it as I expect he'll do later. This is bound to be an interesting story. :D

Interactions: The conversation between Draco and Hermione was so beautifully awkward. I loved it. I might have liked to see more tension, though. They've both been through a lot in the war, I'd suggest that you remember to address that. :]

So far, so good! I'm interested to see what happens next. The story seems relatively believable for now. You haven't lost me yet. :] I'll review again soon!

--Emily

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for your feedback! I'll definitely get my story Beta'd :)

As you read on you will see that Hermione and Draco are both affected by the war, the reason she was a little late, as you will find out later is because of the nightmares she has at night.

And the first chapter, him being too nice, won't continue for long, it was sort of a instinct for him to save her, even he didn't know why he did, im going to get into more detail about that in later chapters, so that it makes sense :)

I'm so excited to hear what you have to say about the rest :)
I sort of think it's quite different from other Dramonie, as you will see later on ;)
The only thing that's fairly cliche' is the whole head boy/head girl thing! :)

Thank-you


 Report Review

Review #27, by Jchrissy The insufferable Pansy Parkinson.

19th June 2012:
Ahh you make me hate Pansy SO much!
I am so excited to see Lucius's reaction!
Loving the tension between the two girls, poor Hermione can't win today. I'm also excited to see if Pansy carries through with her 'hexing you later' threat. I'm excited to see how Ginny warms up to Draco... if she does ;)

Author's Response: I always really hated Pansy in the books, and i wanted her portrayed the way i always imagined her to be haha.
and you'll be the first to know where the story goes ;)
Thank-you lovely!


 Report Review

Review #28, by jesse abedeen The insufferable Pansy Parkinson.

15th June 2012:
this is so good! keep up with the fast uploads please? your story is an original storyline ive first come accrossed. absolutely brilliant. cant wait to read what happens next. thanks for the long chapter!!

Author's Response: Gosh, thank-you so much, the 7th chapter is already in the making! :)
Im so glad you like it :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by HarryPotterFanGirl The insufferable Pansy Parkinson.

15th June 2012:
OMG not Lucius! D:
If I were Hermione, I would totally be FREAKING OUT!!

Author's Response: Just wait and see, she might just ;)

 Report Review

Review #30, by HarryPotterFanGirl The constant grin.

15th June 2012:
Aww :') I always thought Malfoy would be an amazing person without the connections with the Death Eaters. They always said he was the boy to make all the worng choices, but i think he was the boy who never HAD a choice.

Author's Response: I love that so much, that is so true :)
Thank-you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #31, by HarryPotterFanGirl The slip of the tongue.

15th June 2012:
Wow! This is a really good fanfic!! I really like the way the houses blended! Good Job!

Author's Response: Thank-you so much

 Report Review

Review #32, by HuffGriffSlyRaven The sadness within.

11th June 2012:
A challenge to write a change of heart convincingly. I like how you describe the mix of emotions on Draco's face. You know that he is going through his own hell just as Hermione is. This seems like a great start to an involving story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
im so happy that you understood where i was going with my descriptions!
:)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Luzianne The constant grin.

6th June 2012:
Again you have held my interest and the flow of the story unfolding is realitci and could be written by JK herself. I find each action has it's own peg, a piece of a puzzel revealing more to the characteres involved. especially the fact Draco is not withh out the predjudices of past and gives hope to many who could do just that, erase their own predjudices. the fact ron tried his little scribble to appeease Hermione was a comic relief.. Please finish soon. I will wait a few months to check back to read. I do not like soap operas and must have a story from start to finish. yours I know will be worth it. I might sneak in an see if you finished occassionally. thanks you for the time spendt and for your excellent story telling. ps my last review did not take and knocked me off line. sorry you did not get it. I do not know wjy this happens..

Author's Response: Oh how you flatter me!
A review like yours always makes me feel so happy :)
I have almost finished chapter six and i promise it will be up really soon ! :)
thank-you so much!


 Report Review

Review #34, by luzianne The sadness within.

6th June 2012:
you brought action up fast and then emotions that where like quicksilver, then to being again at Hogwarts.. enjoyed the first 2 chapters, feel this is going to be a very enjoyable adventure. two main characters first..

 Report Review

Review #35, by Someone The sadness within.

6th June 2012:
This is a very great story.There are a few spelling mistakes though.I cant remember them but there were some.Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Yes, im aware of the mistakes :) I been reading it over and discovered them, but i promise to go over them and fix them when i have a chance :)

thank-you!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Luna Black The constant grin.

30th May 2012:
cheeky professor McGonagall Very cheeky and i love Draco Hes so lush :'D

Author's Response: haha he is :P
thank-you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by malfoy_lover_1998 The constant grin.

14th May 2012:
bloody brilliant! update soon

Author's Response: Thankyou so much, will do :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Hermione_Malfoy_1 The constant grin.

14th May 2012:
this is absolutely bloody brilliant. loving it so far... can't believe he lost all his memories :)

Author's Response: Yay, im really glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Jchrissy The constant grin.

9th May 2012:
I absolutely love the concept of completely cleansing Malfoy of his trained hatred. This is such a creative story! Can't wait to read te next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Jchrissy The slip of the tongue.

9th May 2012:
Very good chapter!!! I'm actually shocked that Malfoy Was going to
Use the cruciatus curse!! And I love being shocked!

Author's Response: Yay! shock was what I was going for ;)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Jchrissy The new regime.

9th May 2012:
This is a great chapter! I like that you are doing your own thing with it, and all the changes to Hogwarts. I hope you don't mind that I'm adding constructive critiscm in my reviews, I just know I would rather if someone noticed something to tell me :)! So here it is, try and use different descriptive words. Too many of the same one can give it a redundant feeling, I struggle with that also and combat it by reading what I write out loud. That makes a repeated word stand out to me so I can try and replace it :)!
Again I really love how many subplots you have created! It's keeping my attention completely captivated!

Author's Response: Yeah! ill definitely go through it soon with a thesaurus ;) haha
Im really glad you are liking it :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by Jchrissy The sadness within.

9th May 2012:
You are really setting yourself up for excellent plots! I love it! Draco is head boy, saved Hermione then angrily dismisses her, makes remarks to him being a different person, Ron ditches out without even a word to Hermione so not only is there relationship struggling but he's not attempting to fix it.. You have created so many subplots in just 2 chapters, it's great! It means you are going to keep us hooked :)! Again some grammar errors, whenever you have a lazy Sunday maybe just go through and edit your chapters :)!

Author's Response: Will do, yeah my idea was to excite the readers in the first few and then get right into it :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Jchrissy The helping hand.

9th May 2012:
This is a great start! When you have spare time I would go through and double check some spelling, nothing huge just some minor words :) I move how many possibilities you left open for your story with this chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, yeah spelling always gets me, its so hard to see mistakes that you have made!
Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Thepoenixfeather The helping hand.

7th December 2011:
I loved iit :) it was great and its cool and nooow im just trying to get more then 20 characters so i can post this thing.

 Report Review

Review #45, by foreverfleur The new regime.

17th November 2011:
There were several great moments in this chapter! I especially liked the bit with Snape's portrait--I always liked that part of JKR's story line, that past headmasters were 'preserved' or what not as a portrait; it always made parting with characters so much easier.

Also--the rooming situations, I feel like you are setting something up here! On to the next chapter to figure it out!

 Report Review

Review #46, by foreverfleur The sadness within.

17th November 2011:
Wow! So an absent Ron is going to really make things interesting! Personally... I've never been too much of a Ron fan, so the more absent he is the better :)

You work in subtle effects of the war nicely -- I liked the bit about the thestrals. It was a sad moment but one that I think really hit home the extent of the war's impact on Hermione.

Also 'H' as a nickname was cute--haven't really seen that one used before!

Author's Response: Thanks :)
I agree about Ron ! He'll still be in the story though, but ill be portraying him as more of the villain in this, i hope it works though :)
x


 Report Review

Review #47, by foreverfleur The helping hand.

17th November 2011:
Ohhh what an interesting start! I wonder what made Draco save her?! What has changed about him... This has a lot of potential! Looking forward to seeing where you take this!

-ffleur

Author's Response: Thankyou :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by cad The constant grin.

1st November 2011:
Awesome. I love it!
can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank-you!
I so badly wish i wasn't so busy, i hate that i still haven't finished the next chapter!
I promise i will though ! x


 Report Review

Review #49, by Dramionedrunadrinny The constant grin.

29th October 2011:
Woah. This story really blew me away. I wonder what is going to happen next and I think Draco is very sweet
10/10
~dramionedrunadrinny

Author's Response: Thankyou :) x

 Report Review

Review #50, by loz The constant grin.

15th October 2011:
I like how you allow Draco to become his pure self. please keep writing - I am very much intrigued

Author's Response: Thanks so much :-) the next chapter should be up tomorrow x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>