Reading Reviews for Reputations Expectations
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #26, by sour_grapes_snape Perfect

17th June 2012:
Yay for update! Believe me, I understand the computer issues, so all is forgiven!

I think you did perfectly fine with Harry. His part was so brief that it's difficult to get a grasp on his personality. Therefore, you didn't make him too different from the books. And even if you did, it's only natural that he would change a bit with age. So don't worry too much in the future :)

I'm really curious about Taylor's dad. Right now, I have no idea what to expect.

I really liked all the I interaction between her and James. I especially like how they didn't instantly like or dislike each other or have a big issue from the past. That's different from a lot of stories.

Great chapter and I am super excited for the next one!

-Laura

Author's Response: haha thanks :) I'm pretty sure my computer is bipolar but whatever.

I purposefully kept Harry's part brief because writing him freaks me out. JKR already develped him so much that I feel like it's nearly impossible to keep him completely in character. I'm still trying to figure out what I imagine the future Harry to be like since he will definitely have changed but I'm still not really sure how I'm going to do it. There will be more scenes with him in the future though.

All of Taylor's secrets shall be revealed ;)

I think Taylor and James lived in two completely different worlds at Hogwarts. James was the son of Harry Potter and loved the school while Taylor wasn't very well known during her first few years and wanted to be anywhere but Hogwarts. I will admit, however, that they do have a bit of a backstory.

I'm glad you liked the chapter and thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #27, by sillylion A Place In This World

2nd June 2012:
I love your James Perceptions and I think you should go on with this!
~SL

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I'm glad you liked James, there will definitely be more of him. I completely intend to go on with this and I'm actually a few chapters ahead of what I'm posting but unfortunately my computer is having issues so I'm trying to figure out how best to get it posted. I'm leaving for vacation but I will start updating weekly when I get back.

Thank you so much for your review, I hope you continue to enjoy it!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Elenia A Place In This World

18th May 2012:
Hi!

You have a really interesting story under development here! I very rarely start reading stories that have only few chapters, because I'm a really impatient person and I always hate to wait for the new chapter, but your summary made me want to take a look. And as I've promised myself I'm going to at least try to review everything I read, I'm here now ^^

I'm really glad I did, because I liked this! Your writing is very good and it got better with every chapter! Your descriptions are amazing and I can really imagine it all. I was going to comment about maybe adding some more to the dialogue tags, but it got better with this chapter (:

The Plot! Now that's the reason I decided to peak into your story. The whole idea of Auror training intrigues me and I've been searching for a good story about that. So your story seems to be just the one for me ^^

I'm eager to find out more about your characters. They all seem interesting and different from each other. I really liked the dynamics between the four friends! That was all done very well. The prologue was also a nice way to tell some of their background and introduce the characters to the readers.

Pacing is fine as well. I did feel it dragged slightly in few parts of the previous chapters, there was just so much new information that I felt that you could've maybe saved some of it for later. But then again it really wasn't that big of a problem for me and again, this third chapter was a huge improvement to that!

Flow was perfect thanks to the amazing details and description. Your grammar was really good too, but what bothered me a bit was that you spelled few JKR's names and words wrong. Scorpious should be Scorpius and Slytherine is just Slytherin (:

The ending of this chapter and the sudden change of POV threw me off a bit and interrupted the flow for a moment as I was trying to figure out what happened to Taylor suddenly. But that can be fixed with a simple 'James's POV' on top of that scene (:

Anyways, like I already said, this was a really good start and I'm eager to read more! I hope I haven't put you off with anything I said, because I really, really liked your story! I just wanted to give you some tips for the future.

Hopefully you'll update soon and keep up the good work!

~Elenia

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm always torn when it comes to reading new stories. On the one hand, reading a story that's already got twenty chapters is kind of annoying but waiting for an update always drives me crazy. I'm really flattered that you read mine.

I'm so glad you like it! It's nice to hear that you think my writing's gotten better within the last month, that's my goal so hopefully I'll keep improving!

I'm always worried about my descriptions because I can see it in my head but I never know if I'll be able to explain it. I have a hard time parring it down because I could write a whole page describing the carpet. Haha, I'm glad you think it helps the story, though, instead of weighing it down with too much.

Dialogue tags always give me trouble. I get bored saying says but I also hate it when people use words that mean the exact same thing just to change it up so it's something I'm still working on. Good to know it's getting better!

I love reading (and obviously writing) about Auror training because it seems like such an interesting career. Hopefully I'll do it justice.

I love the characters. I made them as different as I could without it being one of those times where people are like, "how the heck are they friends?" because they're too different. I gave the backstory as an attempt to make it more obvious where they all came from.

Pacing is my hardest challenge in this story and giving too much information at once is something I was worried about. I'll keep an eye out for it in the future and try to continue feeding it in more slowly. I split the third chapter purely for that reason. If I hadn't split it I knew it would seem way to rushed.

I'll go through and fix the names for sure, thanks for pointing that out! Between the automatic spellcheck and just plain used to spelling them wrong I knew there would be a few that I messed up.

I wasn't sure how the ending was going to work out. I'll go back and try to make the switch more obvious but my goal was to have Taylor still be the one telling the story so I'll have to play with that a bit more so it's not too confusing.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it and I honestly appreciate your review so much! The 'update soon' ones are always nice to get but this one helps me a lot more.

Thank you so, so much for your review! I'll try to incorporate your advice in the upcoming chapters and I should update pretty soon since the next chapter just needs to be edited :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by sour_grapes_snape A Place In This World

17th May 2012:
Well, I'm intrigued. By Taylor's past, about Natasha's dad, James, and even George as well. This story definitely has captured my interest. I know I've said it before, but I love your monologues at the beginning of each chapter. They're interesting and they provide depth to your character. I feel like I can understand and identify with Taylor so much more because of them. And I do like that last bit about James. It's left me interested. In fact, when it was done, I though "That's it? But I want to read more!" Excellent chapter and update soon!

-Laura

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

I've probably said it before as well but I love writing the monologues. They're fun for me so I'm glad someone reads them. I always feel like people are going to get bored and just skip over that part.

I'm glad you liked the James part. When I started writing the story I was torn between doing alternative POV's for each chapter or writing it third person but I figured I would try putting my own spin on the way Nicholas Sparks writes with the different chapters centered on different characters. My goal was to keep it in Taylor's POV but still tell James' story too since I wanted to develop both of them. There will definitely be more with him coming up.

I'm really glad you liked the chapter and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Dezire Material Girl

21st April 2012:
Great job!! Loved Tyler and Natasha'a bickering. Almost reminded me of Ron and Hermione. Keep up the fantastic work, and plz do update the next chapter soon.
-Dizzy.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm so glad you liked it!

I've always loved the HP scenes where Ron and Hermione are bickering and it was fun to write my own. The next chapter is pretty much done so if all goes well I should post it next weekend!


 Report Review

Review #31, by sour_grapes_snape Material Girl

20th April 2012:
I really liked this chapter. The part where Natasha and Taylor made up the stories about Scorpius was genius. But much as I loved those parts, I have to say my favorite part was Taylor's thoughts on fashion. Much like last chapter's musings on reputations, I found it intriguing and well thought out. Excellent job and I can't wait to meet James next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks!

I had fun writing the part where Taylor and Natasha made up stuff about Scorpious. I played around with it a lot so I'm glad you liked the final product.

I love writing little narratives from my character's point of view. I've always wondered if anyone reads them or if it's something that people just skip over so I'm glad you like them!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by ms4aisa Material Girl

20th April 2012:
I love this story! it's so much fun to read and I love their relationship, like the one of the four friends! so amusing :) can't wait for an update! good work

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

Writing about Scorpious, Tyler, and Natasha is a lot of fun for me so I"m glad you liked reading that part. There will definitely be a lot of them in the story.

The next chapter is pretty much written so I'm hoping to update sometime next weekend but we'll see. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #33, by sour_grapes_snape Wild One: Prologue

31st March 2012:
This story sounds very intriguing. I really liked the bit at the beginning about reputations. Your characters are compelling and I really connect with growing up on a farm :) The next chapter sounds interesting... update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much! I tried about a million different intros before I finally settled on that one so I'm glad you liked it!

I've lived in the country pretty much my whole life so I've always been surrounded by farmland and animals. I'm just editting the second chapter and I should post it within the next few days :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #34, by sillylion Wild One: Prologue

7th March 2012:
This is a reeeally cool story begining and i would be devistated if you didnt go on... criticizam? i have none except you should write more in a chapter so i'll have more to consume at once :)

Author's Response: aww, thanks so much! I tried about a million different prologues before I settled on this one so I'm glad you liked it :) I really want to get a banner for this story and I just created an account for it so I'm going to get that up first but I will definitely continue this. The next chapter is written so I'll post it after I've taken care of the banner!

Thanks so much for the review!

countrymusicfanatic


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>