Reading Reviews for A Spoonful of Sugar
  
105 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Freda_and_Georgina Thirteen

28th May 2015:
Well Darcey not liking snow is no different from Louis not liking sweets. Personally, I would break up with him just to teach him a lesson abt blackmail and get together again after he's learned it. But now we're at that awkward stage where everyone but Darcey seems to realize how much they like each other. This should be fun.

--Georgina

Author's Response: Haha, I'd never thought of it like that, but you're right! Darcy's dislike of snow is exactly like Louis's dislike of sweets. Oh, the awkward stage. I think Darcy is just too stubborn to realize her feelings. Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Freda_and_Georgina Twelve

27th May 2015:
Oh no, and now we have a don't-let-your-father-down backstory. Your Dominique and Victoire aren't that much different from ours, I like the way you have Louis describe them. And three cheers for average Louis! Three boos for nebby Louis! I'm glad the other seventh year Huflepuff girls are in on Darcey's predicament. Yay support!

Cute chapter, the romance is plotting along

Author's Response: Darcy is quite the daddy's girl, so she is really worried about how her father would react to finding out about the Towel Incident. Hooray, average Louis! And yes, the romance is slowing moving along. It's still too fast for Darcy, though. Haha.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Freda_and_Georgina Eleven

27th May 2015:
Ah, the Healer career. That's used so often, yet in this case it really works with the backstory and Darcey's personality. In one sense I want Darcey to remain stubborn because that's who I am. In another sense I want them to get together because I read the one-shot after they graduated. Louis is really starting to try; I wondered when he'd actually make a decent attempt on Darcey's heart.

See you soon!
--Georgina

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think Darcy's career path works for her. She really does want to help people and do some good in the world, and I think being the healer is the right way for her to do that. I think Louis finally realized that he had to be real and authentic with Darcy to win her over. Haha.
Thank you for reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Freda_and_Georgina Ten

27th May 2015:
Oh, so Darcey is the daughter of Padma Patil and Seamus Finnegan. That explains some things. If I might ask, what did you think put them together? Well, the promise of Lucy learning about Lysander seems to not be happening soon if Louis has plans (that don't appear to involve kissing, yet). I wonder if he'll actually try to get Darcey to like him.

As always, I'll be back.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Yes, Darcy is a Patil as well as a Finnigan! I'm not sure why I originally decided to pair them up, but as soon as I did I couldn't see them any other way. It's always fun messing with Darcy's plans to tell Lucy about Lysander's feelings. Haha. Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Freda_and_Georgina Nine

25th May 2015:
Something tells me a compromise like this will be rather one-sided. Then again, Louis might develop a minor respect for Darcey great enough to fulfill his end of the compromise. Then again, he didn't do it regarding the date. One of these times he's going to push too far and completely lose her, but something tells me that won't happen. This would be interesting from Louis' perspective; what kind of thought pattern would think blackmailing a girl into a relationship would get her to like him? Anyway, moving along now.

--Georgina

Author's Response: The compromise works better than Darcy is expecting it to, but she'd still rather get out of the whole situation all together. I think Louis has always liked Darcy, and since she won't give him the time of day, he resorts to crazy plans to get her to spend time with him. It's kind of sad, really.
I really can't thank you enough for all these lovely reviews! But I can certainly try. So thank you yet again!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Freda_and_Georgina Eight

25th May 2015:
Well that day certainly didn't go in Darcey's favor. First she failed to tell Lucy about Lysander's crush, then she was blackmailed into agreeing to being Louis' girlfriend (at that point, I'd no longer care abt the Towel Incident). We're certainly moving along in the romance now. Nothin' like blackmail to hear the bells in the air. ;)

--Georgina

Author's Response: Part of me felt bad for making Louis blackmail Darcy into a relationship, but at the same time, she's so stubborn that it's kind of funny to put her in crazy situations like that and see what happens. Haha. Thank you for another great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Freda_and_Georgina Seven

25th May 2015:
Oh, dear, this can't be good. I would resort to blackmail before telling Lucy myself. Anyway, I liked the snippets we see of Louis as a normal human being, I really hope he sees that acting normal and not like a hottie you should desire actually works on Darcey. Oh, he's a Ravenclaw, alright that makes sence. I'm curious why Louis started having a thing for Darcey; he was the one who spread the rumor to talk to her.

As always, I'll be back.
--Georgina

Author's Response: When Louis acts normal and doesn't try to impress anyone, he's actually a pretty lovely guy. But, unfortunately, he hasn't quite figured that out, and also loves getting under Darcy's skin, hence all of his teasing. I think Louis has always had a thing for her. He started the rumor so she would talk to him, but it just made her angry with him instead.
Thank you for yet another great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Freda_and_Georgina Six

22nd May 2015:
Oh, why did Louis have to ruin it by saying that? Now Darcey's going to try to have a horrible time. But so far, it's really cute. I like how they have success at normal conversation. I'm kind of having trouble thinking of things to say, just because this (until they started arguing at the end) was a feel-good kind of chapter. And praise Merlin Lysander asked Lucy! That's step one, until he panics and takes two steps backwards.

Anywho, very enjoyable chapter!
--Georgina

Author's Response: I liked that they had a normal conversation, too. And Lysander finally made progress! But, you're right, he's going to have a good panic for a while afterwards. Haha.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by Freda_and_Georgina Five

22nd May 2015:
Something to note before I forget; in the letter, you used "you're" instead of "your". Anyway, other than that, when will Louis stop being a creep? I'm repulsed by him, and I know/want them to get together. I didn't realize Dean was older than Darcey (I thought they seemed really far apart in age). But, now we've reached the start of their first date, and I'm intrigued as what will happen next.

--Georgina

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing out the typo! I tend to miss little things like that when I'm proofreading my chapters. Oh, Louis. The sooner he realizes Darcy's not going to fall for his over-confident flirting the better! And yep, Dean is a few years older than Darcy.
Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by Freda_and_Georgina Four

22nd May 2015:
What I want to know is how Louis got into the bathroom; I thought you could lock it. And you seem to be using quite a bit of old teachers, would have thought they'd retire by then. But no matter, this was a nice chapter, but Louis had better get calmer to win over Darcey, though his thing seems to be working on plenty other girls. Maybe that's why he's taken a fancy to her, she's the one girl he can't have.

Anyway, moving along now.
--Georgina

Author's Response: I think Darcy just wasn't thinking, and forgot to lock the door. Plus, it was pretty late when Darcy went to take a bath, so I think she assumed that everyone else would be asleep. Louis definitely has a way to go before he gets Darcy put up with him. Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Freda_and_Georgina Three

22nd May 2015:
So, I'm trying to figure out which house Louis is in (the rest are obviously Hufflepuffs, not the most popular choice). I like Teddy as the teacher and the whole letter thing; it's really fun and gives us an idea of what kind of person he is. Quick question; is he married yet? Anyway, this all was a fun chapter despite the fact it didn't move the romance along yet.

So sorry it's taken me awhile to get to this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hello again!
I'm not sure if you've read up to where I say which house Louis is in, but if not, he's a Ravenclaw! I loved making Teddy the Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher. I think he'd do quite well following in his father's footsteps. He's not married yet, but he and Victoire are engaged.
Thank you so much for the great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Freda_and_Georgina Two

16th May 2015:
Alright, there's what I wanted after the first chapter. The description of her cousins seemed a little odd, I assume they're going to be bigger characters in the chapters to come. And am I starting to see Lucy getting a thing for Lysander? (or continuing a thing for him?

Overall, a nice second chapter.

Author's Response: Her cousins will return later, so you'll get to see them a little more in-depth. And you'll just have to wait and see what happens with Lucy and Lysander! Thank you for another lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Freda_and_Georgina One

16th May 2015:
Well, I wish we could see a small peak into Louis and Darcey's past to see when and why this seed of hate has been sewn. And for clarification, are they all in Hufflepuff? That's not how I envisioned the NextGen, but depending on how the later chapters go, alright. Heehee, we both get to review the others' NextGen novella/novel. As you'll find our Lucy has a bit more spunk to her than yours, but I still really like her character thus far. Lysander seems to be looking for a little too big of a sign from her.

I really like how you introduce your main characters to us so quickly.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hello!
Darcy, Lucy, and Lysander are in Hufflepuff, but Louis is not. Poor Lysander really doesn't know what to do about his feelings for Lucy. Haha. Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by greenbirds Eighteen

15th May 2015:
so SO cute. can't believe it's taken me so long to get around to reading this, been on my list for ages. perfect fluff story, and i'm so excited to read your one-shot about darcy and louis grown up! also yay for lucy and lysander hahaha, been rooting for them since chapter 1. fab stuff. also i LOVED darcy and seamus !! i so imagine seamus being like that as a dad!

Author's Response: Hello there!
I'm so happy you're enjoying this story! And I hope you like the one-shot, too! Yay Lucy and Lysander! It took them long enough! I'm glad you liked the way I wrote Seamus, too. I think he'd be quite protective of his little girl.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I hope to see you again soon!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by ShannonRay Seventeen

5th April 2015:
Sorry if this review is boring. I just really want to say please keep writing and updating as soon as you can because this story is simply fabulous and makes me happy.

Author's Response: Hi there!
I'm so, so glad you're enjoying this story! I have some other things to update, but I'll get back to this as soon as I can! Thank you so much for reading and for taking the time to leave a review! It means so much to me!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by happyanon Seventeen

2nd April 2015:
Hello! i must say i'm loving this story. It's fun, keeps you intetested and amusing too. I'd love to read more and see how louis and darcy will grow together as a couple and as individuals while being in this relationship. We all know Darcy isn't this touchy feely type and as louis said a firecracker. id love to read some emotional vulnerable side to her and how louis will handle that. I love how we got to sew louis loose it because he seems to always be so level headed. Come to think of it most fanfics write him as some goofy godly player or some mysterious level headed gentleman. I adore him tho. I think if J.K was to ever write about the nexr gen The Delacour-Weasley children seem to interest me the most. I hope to see more of you and this very fun story. Pls update soon! Much love xoxo

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm glad you're enjoying this story, and that you like how Louis and Darcy are growing as it goes on. Darcy will learn to really open up to Louis eventually, you might just have to wait a little while for it.
Thank you again for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Fourteen

24th December 2014:
I searched for this, I was that excited! :D

Haha! She likes him! And they made a bet about her! AND OF COURSE SHE IS PROUD OF THAT, I AM. GO LUCY!

Daniel is so adorable, sticking up Darcy's honor like that. I don't think she needs it (because if Louis does anything, I'll come after him), but he definitely deserves a hug for it. Haha! I can't believe she kept her best insults from him. Because she can't think when he's around because she lurrves him. :D

I'm glad they talked. It would have sucked big time if you'd broken them up in the same chapter, I would have been very sad. GAH, THEY ARE SO LOVELY TOGETHER!!!

Can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam!
Since Darcy is so stubborn, I figured that Lysander would be totally convinced that she'd never admit to liking Louis, so he'd make the bet with Lucy. Haha.
Daniel is a true Hufflepuff, and is very loyal to his cousin, so he's not going to let anything happen to her if he can help it! But I'll make sure to let him know you're on his side and will help him go after Louis if need be ;)
I loved writing their big talk at the end, because Louis is honestly the only one who can make Darcy realize that she's afraid of getting her heart broken. I don't think her friends would have the hearts to tell her that she runs away from her feelings, but Louis isn't going to hold back because he knows that he can help her get over that fear.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, Sam! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Gabriella Hunter Thirteen

31st May 2014:
HELLO!

Hey, there! I'm SO sorry that I haven't been able to send you a review sooner but my laptop has died AGAIN and I haven't been able to get a decent signal or anything lately. *Sigh* Anyway, I'm glad to be back here and reading up on this, I'm really happy that you decided to take this a little further and I'm just loving Darcy's struggle with her feelings for Louis. I feel like she's so confused and a little scared to like him as much as she does that by the end, I couldn't believe that she actually decided to stay with him! Lucy is a hilarious addition to this chapter as well, she probably felt that her friend was in love way in the beginning. I wonder how she'll use that against her later? Will there be teasing? I can't wait! :D
This chapter was really short though, why on earth do you do this to me?! I can't believe that you didn't make this at least fifty pages. That isn't fair you know.
Ahem.
Louis is still his charming, hilarious self, I really love his one-liners. There's something so sweet and slightly arrogant about his assumptions of Darcy and I can't wait to see how his own feelings come into play later. And oh, Lord, Hugo probably told everyone that they were dating! What are they going to do now?! HAHA.
I can't wait for the next chapter. Update soonish?

P.S.: "Abandon" has a fresh chapter featuring our most hated person, Teddy Lupin and there's always Audrey and oh, wait! "At Midnight" has another chapter that I think you'll LOVE.

Until then!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I knew you'd have fun reading this chapter! I was thinking about you as I wrote it. Haha.
Darcy's relationship with Louis has confused her since they were thirteen, so she's definitely not making sense of it now! But I didn't want her to be unbearably stubborn, so I decided it was time that she took some of Lucy's advice and just listened to those feelings she's been trying to ignore. Even if she's not sure how serious she wants things to get with Louis, she doesn't hate him like she's been insisting she does. It scares her that she's not in total control of how she feels, but I think it will be good for her to come to terms with that.
Louis knows just what to say to get under Darcy's skin, even when his teasing is meant to be good natured. That definitely won't stop even though she didn't end their relationship! Haha. Hopefully I'll get some time and inspiration to update this soon! I'll keep you in the loop over on the forums! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Thirteen

10th May 2014:
Thirteen, it took thirteen chapters for me get a finally! She's admitted she likes him. YAY!!! (Since it took 24 chapters for Louis to kiss Ciaran, I won't say anything other than yay. :P)

I don't like snow either. Snow sucks. I like that Darcy and I have this in common... most people think I'm weird.

They always have their big moments in the broom closets. You do realize I expect snogging in there, too? :P

Ugh, admitting your wrong. That sounds so bad. Luckily, I never need to do that... ;)

Can't wait for the next chapter, Cassie! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Darcy is so stubborn that I wasn't sure she would admit her feelings by chapter thirteen! I honestly thought it would take longer, but then I started writing and it just felt like the right time.
The snow thing was just a little thing I added because its one more detail about Darcy that baffles Louis. Lucy and Lysander have gotten used to her little quirks by now but Louis has a lot to learn!
Oh, the broom closests. You'll just have to wait and see if they're back there again!
I think admitting she's wrong is going to be harder for Darcy than admitting she likes Louis! Haha.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter Sam! Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by SkyEcho One

17th March 2014:
Hi Cassie!

I really enjoyed reading this :) The beginning really captured the hectic rush to catch the train. It was a great start and also came across as realistic. It's definitely how I'd imagine I'd arrive at the station. Your chapter flows really well and I'm already looking forward to finding out more about your characters. I like Darcy - and I especially enjoyed reading her interactions with Louis. It makes me wonder about their history. Whether something happened to spark her dislike for him...or if it's just a matter of clashing personalities. I think if you included some of Darcy's thoughts during her conversation with him on the train, that might be a good spot to offer some insight into their back story.

Aww I liked the inclusion of Lysander having feelings for Lucy. I really hope he tells her! (and that she feels the same way!)

I can't wait to find out what happens next :)

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for reading the first chapter of this story! It was so much fun for me to write because Darcy is so stubborn that sometimes her thoughts seem a little ridiculous, and I get to play with that. She and Louis are a blast! I love how much he gets under her skin, and it doesn't stop here! As for the backstory, you'll find out more about that in future chapters. Lucy and Lysander are necessary, because without them, who knows what Darcy would say or do? Haha.
Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Siriusly Black One

15th March 2014:
I just got to say...I Love this! I needed to read something light and funny and this is definitely a great fic. Louis seems like a jerk, I want to see how his character develops through the fic.
I also want to see if Lucy will ever catch on that Lysander likes her.

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for the sweet review! I'm so glad you enjoyed chapter one!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by Gabriella Hunter Twelve

28th September 2013:
Hello!

Hey there, I promised you that I would show up with a review! :D Ooh, I really love this story, there's so much potential for more to happen, especially between Darcy and Louis! I think that they're getting really interested in one another and I can't wait to see how that develops. On the other hand, I'm so nervous for how Darcy's family might react, her fear that her family would be upset reminds me so much of Roxanne and I'm feeling for her. I hope her friends will be able to keep things a secret, I have this funny feeling that things will go in a weird direction. But anyway, Darcy's conversation with her dad was so sweet and I really loved reading it! Getting a bit more into the working of her mind was great too, I hope you play around with that more. :D
No complaints or anything either!
Albus is up and waiting and soon, so will Abandon!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
Wow. It has been an absurd amount of time since you left this review. I am so, so sorry that I'm just responding to it now! My life has been really hectic, and I haven't had much time for anything HPFF related!
I'm so happy you liked this chapter! I wanted to change the dynamic between Darcy and Louis a little, because even though she is the most stubborn person ever, she is still capable of human feeling, and is willing to hear Louis out (sometimes). I liked writing them together when they were just talking, since we don't see that from them very much, and I think they could actually get along if they tried (don't tell Darcy, she'd be horrified and deny it immediately).
I hope you like where I take this story in the future, and thank you so much for sticking with it!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Twelve

2nd September 2013:
Hey, Cassie!

They had a (non)date! And they talked! And there was laughing, the good kind! And... just... awww! They're so lovely, they should be together now! *squishes them*

I loved the idea of them asking each other questions, genuinely getting to know each other. It was so sweet. I hope Louis gets to see Venice. :D And I love Vic and Dom, it's exactly how I'd imagine them (well, Dom would try to be).

I'm glad she told the others, soon it'll all come out and then she can't think that she's being blackmailed into dating him because she'll want to date him for real. Because she loves him.

Aww, the flashback with her and Seamus was just adorable. I love Seamus, he's an awesome dad!

Great chapter, Cassie! Can't wait for more! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam! Sorry about the wait for this response. Life is a little hectic for me at the moment!
I'm so happy you liked the scene at the lake! I didn't want it to feel forced, but I also want Darcy to be really hesitant with the possibility that she and Louis could get along. She's still stubborn, but it's not SO unreasonable that nothing in her life can ever change (even if it seems that way sometimes. Haha).
I loved writing their questions and answers, because I think they would get to know each other, even if it was just out of boredom or curiosity.
And I really liked having Louis talk about his sisters, because I could show a side of him Darcy never sees. He isn't a prat all the time!
I thought it was important that Bridget and Carrie find out at some point, since Darcy is friends with them, and shares a dorm with them. I think they'd figure it out sooner or later, but I really wanted the actual circumstances to come from Dee herself.
I loved writing Seamus! He's definitely going to be making more appearances in this story!
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm thrilled you're still enjoying this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by onestop_hpfan18 One

3rd August 2013:
I really like that you have put Lucy in Hufflepuff as that's what house I placed her in my next gen fics. I haven't actually written a story revolving Lucy, though, as she's merely a background character, but I see her as a Hufflepuff. I'm curious as to what spurred between Darcy and Louis initially to turn her off of him. Your characterization of Louis is also much different than mine in my Louis-centric story as I have him as being relaxed and easy to get along with for the most part. Should be interesting to see how his character grows in this fic. Side note, this first chapter was a bit dialogue heavy (maybe work on integrating more narration/description with the dialogue). Other wise, this is a good premise for a story you have here.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad you decided to read this story!
I'm really happy that you liked the way I wrote Lucy and Louis. I really love writing both of them, and Louis in particular is really fun because he gets under Darcy's skin so much! You find out why they annoy each other so much later on! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I'm thrilled that you liked the start to this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Eleven

21st June 2013:
Lucy is so wise. Darcy totally likes Louis more than she says! The letter is hard because she's too stubborn to listen. Once she admits she like Louis, everything will be so much easier! ;)

(I'm prepared for this to take a while... :P)

Aww, she checked him out! Yes. Yes, she did. I love Louis when he teases, he's so much fun and so lovely and I just want to hug him, even though he can be frustrating sometimes.

I loved this chapter! Can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam!
Lucy can see what's going on, even if Darcy can't! I think they balance each other out because they can see things the other can't. Like how Darcy can see that Lucy and Lys would be cute together, and Lucy is totally oblivious. Haha.
I loved writing the conversation at the end, and a lot that was because even though Louis is still teasing Darcy, he is actually being nice to her. Mind blowing, I know! ;)
I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story too!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>