Reading Reviews for A Spoonful of Sugar
  
112 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Gabriella Hunter Fifteen

7th June 2015:
HELLO!

I told you that I would be back and I'm sorry that it took so long. I'm also sorry that you don't have any fresh material to read from me but I'm going to be working hard this week to get some stuff up for you. Hahhaa. I'll be heading over to the Fourth Daughter soon too!

So, Darcy and Louis are the cutest. I think that I really like their relationship because they balance one another out and seem to give more than take. Darcy obviously isn't comfortable expressing her softer side and Louis isn't really serious most of the time but together, they create fireworks. I love them! I think that I really liked the beginning of this with Louis kind of bribing Darcy into falling for his compliments. It was hilarious reading her reaction and by the end of it, I think she just gave up trying to fight him. I do hope that Louis will be serious at SOME point but I have a feeling he'll be saving that side of himself for later. Hahahha.

I really liked that dinner scene at the end too, Dean's reaction was priceless. I was roaring because he obviously didn't believe that she was telling the truth and I was so happy that her parents were okay with their relationship. I have a feeling that Seamus is going to take Louis aside at some point and have a talk with him but I'm sure it won't be anything bad. Hahha.

Darcy's feelings for Louis are deepening and I can only imagine how Christmas is going to be at the Burrow. :3 I'm heading right to the next chapter with my fingers crossed for Lys and Lucy too!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I'm so glad you like Louis and Darcy together! Especially considering where they were at the beginning of this story! Haha. But I love them, too. They're becoming one of my favorite couples to write! I think they balance each other out well, and can just feel free to be weird and silly when they're together.
I don't think anyone really believes she's telling the truth until she has Louis there to back her up. She's just been a little too free with her insults towards him in the past for people to believe that she likes him now. Haha.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Freda_and_Georgina Eighteen

31st May 2015:
Yes! Yes! Yes!

In case you didn't notice, I love this chapter. Allow me to review the parts I loved:
Darcey freaking out about Louis meeting her parents
Louis meeting Seamus and Padma
Louis having a life outside of his relationship with Darcey (that I'm sure he'll bring her to soon)
Darcey freaking out about Lucy and Lysander getting together without her
Darcey getting mad at Lucy for not telling her she fancied Lysander (I would be just as mad)

And let's see, is there anything I'm missing? Oh yes LYSANDER AND LUCY ARE A COUPLE NOW!!!

Ahem.

I'll be honest, I'm not a big fan of romances but you've really got me loving this romance. I am glad I read this story and hope you continue writing. Some Seamus/Padma would be nice (hint hint).

Again, lovely ending to an intriguing story.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Like I said before, Darcy overthinks everything. Her boyfriend meeting her parents is one of those moments. But, Louis is the perfect gentleman, and Darcy's parents loved him, which made me smile to write.
Since this story is from Darcy's POV, she'd focus more on things that are happening directly to her, and wouldn't really talk about Louis's friends until they were actually dating and she had real feelings for him.
And YAY Lucy and Lysander! I actually was going to put this off even more, and have it happen a few chapters from now, but then I started writing and knew that this was when it needed to happen! I'm so happy that you're so excited about them being together!
I'm so, so thrilled that you liked this so much! It's been a blast for me to write, and I've loved getting your feedback on it. If you're interested in reading on, the next chapter is up, and it's a big one!
Thank you yet again for all of these amazing reviews. I definitely never expected to get eighteen reviews when only one was required for the exchange! It's made this whole thing really fun for me! So thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Freda_and_Georgina Seventeen

31st May 2015:
One more chapter left!

I love all the feels here. All of the family ties, romantic moments, there were enough of them but not too much or too sappy to make this chapter perfect. I love al of the touching things in this chapter that I can't even think of anything to say.

I'm on to your last chapter!
--Georgina

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I loved writing new sides to both Darcy and Louis. Louis is always so charming and charismatic, so writing a darker side of him, when he's so angry, was really interesting for me to explore. And, of course, writing Darcy's reactions to him were also really fun for me. She got to be the softer, more caring one in this instance.
I'm so happy you enjoyed this so much!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Freda_and_Georgina Sixteen

31st May 2015:
I'm going to make this quick because I want to see a certain Luke have his butt hexed to oblivion.

I've totally been there with the whole can't-say-love-otherwise-the-boyfriend-might-take-it-too-far when I "dated" this one guy for three months. I was always thinking about the words I used and restrained myself from calling him love or darling (which is what I call my friends all the time). I think it's awesome that Louis didn't take it in the wrong way at all (like he might have closer to the beginning of this story). I love seeing moments like that where Darcey and Louis both do things they wouldn't have done before because now they're dating!

And I'm off to the next one!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Luke is a jerk, and definitely deserves to get his butt hexed to oblivion.
Darcy overthinks everything when it comes to Louis, because she's never been in a relationship like this one before. They're getting more serious, and she actually is giving a lot of herself to the relationship. But Louis also knows her so well that he would expect her to go crazy over something like writing "love" and would know not to read too far into it.
Thank you for yet another great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Freda_and_Georgina Fifteen

31st May 2015:
I could tell when you love writing chapters; it really shows in your writing. I also love Lucy's comment on listing the times Darcey overreacted alphabetically or chronologically. I also love how Darcey can't stay mad at Louis (but she might want to be more wary of his compliments), and her family's reactions to her dating. I really hope Lysander tells Lucy, they'd be awesome together.

Really enjoyed this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hello!
That's so cool that you can tell which chapters I loved working on. Darcy wishes she could stay mad at Louis, just to prove a point, but she had to give in eventually! Her family's reactions to her dating Louis were really fun to write.
Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Gabriella Hunter Fourteen

29th May 2015:
Hello!

I'm back! It's been so long since I've stopped by and checked on this story. It was on my list of course and I've been so busy lately that I didn't have the time but I WAS sneaking little snippets of this when I was free.

I enjoy how much Darcy has changed, her refusal to even acknowledge Louis has shifted into a fear that she may actually love him. You can tell that it makes her uncomfortable and the last scene proved that her feelings for him are growing faster than she can stop them. I love that Louis isn't affronted by her attitude or how stand offish she could be, he took her head on without a fear in the world. That's someone that Darcy really needed, I think and I'm curious to see how they develop from here. I thought the entire first bit of this chapter was hilarious! Louis is just so laid back and the entire thing between him and Daniel was nearly too much.

I'm waiting on Lysander and Lucy to make some sparks fly now. Got my fingers crossed!

You know, I can honestly relate to Darcy a lot towards the end. She was beginning to feel somewhat threatened by her own feelings for Louis and that's something that I can understand. It's uncomfortable to realize how much you love someone, especially when you've been hurt so much and I think that you wrote this very well, their relationship may become something far more precious than they realize. ;)

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

P.S.: I have nothing really new up aside from Audrey (Which I had to reboot) and Abandon. I'm going to try and get some fresh stuff up for you, A Force of Blaise is halfway finished and I'll work on that tomorrow. See you then!

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad to see you back here again!
I'm really happy that you like how Darcy's changed over the course of this story. I think when you're writing stories like this, where the main character ends up falling for someone she originally hated, it's really hard to make the changes gradual, so they feel more natural and not forced. So the fact that Darcy is still uncomfortable with a lot of things, while she's slowly accepting that her feelings for Louis are changing, is my attempt at showing the way she's still growing and changing now that she's in this relationship for real.
I'm so glad you thought the end was relatable! Personally, I'm the really emotional type, so I actually relate more to Louis than Darcy when it comes to talking about feelings, so I'm glad that you thought the way I wrote her here was realistic.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Freda_and_Georgina Fourteen

28th May 2015:
Aw, Daniel is the most adorable cousin ever. And Lucy and Lysander making a bet--how are they not together yet? I'm greatly disappointed in Darcey for not alerting Lucy to Lysander's little giant crush. But Louis and Darcey not hating each other is so cute, especially when he acts normally. Now that they're not ways trying to get on each others' nerves they are actually so super adorable.

--Georgina

Author's Response: I love Daniel. He's such a sweetheart. I think Darcy got a little sidetracked with her own situation, so she forgot about her plan to play matchmaker. I'm glad you think Darcy and Louis are adorable! I think so, too.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Freda_and_Georgina Thirteen

28th May 2015:
Well Darcey not liking snow is no different from Louis not liking sweets. Personally, I would break up with him just to teach him a lesson abt blackmail and get together again after he's learned it. But now we're at that awkward stage where everyone but Darcey seems to realize how much they like each other. This should be fun.

--Georgina

Author's Response: Haha, I'd never thought of it like that, but you're right! Darcy's dislike of snow is exactly like Louis's dislike of sweets. Oh, the awkward stage. I think Darcy is just too stubborn to realize her feelings. Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by Freda_and_Georgina Twelve

27th May 2015:
Oh no, and now we have a don't-let-your-father-down backstory. Your Dominique and Victoire aren't that much different from ours, I like the way you have Louis describe them. And three cheers for average Louis! Three boos for nebby Louis! I'm glad the other seventh year Huflepuff girls are in on Darcey's predicament. Yay support!

Cute chapter, the romance is plotting along

Author's Response: Darcy is quite the daddy's girl, so she is really worried about how her father would react to finding out about the Towel Incident. Hooray, average Louis! And yes, the romance is slowing moving along. It's still too fast for Darcy, though. Haha.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by Freda_and_Georgina Eleven

27th May 2015:
Ah, the Healer career. That's used so often, yet in this case it really works with the backstory and Darcey's personality. In one sense I want Darcey to remain stubborn because that's who I am. In another sense I want them to get together because I read the one-shot after they graduated. Louis is really starting to try; I wondered when he'd actually make a decent attempt on Darcey's heart.

See you soon!
--Georgina

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think Darcy's career path works for her. She really does want to help people and do some good in the world, and I think being the healer is the right way for her to do that. I think Louis finally realized that he had to be real and authentic with Darcy to win her over. Haha.
Thank you for reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Freda_and_Georgina Ten

27th May 2015:
Oh, so Darcey is the daughter of Padma Patil and Seamus Finnegan. That explains some things. If I might ask, what did you think put them together? Well, the promise of Lucy learning about Lysander seems to not be happening soon if Louis has plans (that don't appear to involve kissing, yet). I wonder if he'll actually try to get Darcey to like him.

As always, I'll be back.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Yes, Darcy is a Patil as well as a Finnigan! I'm not sure why I originally decided to pair them up, but as soon as I did I couldn't see them any other way. It's always fun messing with Darcy's plans to tell Lucy about Lysander's feelings. Haha. Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Freda_and_Georgina Nine

25th May 2015:
Something tells me a compromise like this will be rather one-sided. Then again, Louis might develop a minor respect for Darcey great enough to fulfill his end of the compromise. Then again, he didn't do it regarding the date. One of these times he's going to push too far and completely lose her, but something tells me that won't happen. This would be interesting from Louis' perspective; what kind of thought pattern would think blackmailing a girl into a relationship would get her to like him? Anyway, moving along now.

--Georgina

Author's Response: The compromise works better than Darcy is expecting it to, but she'd still rather get out of the whole situation all together. I think Louis has always liked Darcy, and since she won't give him the time of day, he resorts to crazy plans to get her to spend time with him. It's kind of sad, really.
I really can't thank you enough for all these lovely reviews! But I can certainly try. So thank you yet again!!!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Freda_and_Georgina Eight

25th May 2015:
Well that day certainly didn't go in Darcey's favor. First she failed to tell Lucy about Lysander's crush, then she was blackmailed into agreeing to being Louis' girlfriend (at that point, I'd no longer care abt the Towel Incident). We're certainly moving along in the romance now. Nothin' like blackmail to hear the bells in the air. ;)

--Georgina

Author's Response: Part of me felt bad for making Louis blackmail Darcy into a relationship, but at the same time, she's so stubborn that it's kind of funny to put her in crazy situations like that and see what happens. Haha. Thank you for another great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Freda_and_Georgina Seven

25th May 2015:
Oh, dear, this can't be good. I would resort to blackmail before telling Lucy myself. Anyway, I liked the snippets we see of Louis as a normal human being, I really hope he sees that acting normal and not like a hottie you should desire actually works on Darcey. Oh, he's a Ravenclaw, alright that makes sence. I'm curious why Louis started having a thing for Darcey; he was the one who spread the rumor to talk to her.

As always, I'll be back.
--Georgina

Author's Response: When Louis acts normal and doesn't try to impress anyone, he's actually a pretty lovely guy. But, unfortunately, he hasn't quite figured that out, and also loves getting under Darcy's skin, hence all of his teasing. I think Louis has always had a thing for her. He started the rumor so she would talk to him, but it just made her angry with him instead.
Thank you for yet another great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Freda_and_Georgina Six

22nd May 2015:
Oh, why did Louis have to ruin it by saying that? Now Darcey's going to try to have a horrible time. But so far, it's really cute. I like how they have success at normal conversation. I'm kind of having trouble thinking of things to say, just because this (until they started arguing at the end) was a feel-good kind of chapter. And praise Merlin Lysander asked Lucy! That's step one, until he panics and takes two steps backwards.

Anywho, very enjoyable chapter!
--Georgina

Author's Response: I liked that they had a normal conversation, too. And Lysander finally made progress! But, you're right, he's going to have a good panic for a while afterwards. Haha.
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Freda_and_Georgina Five

22nd May 2015:
Something to note before I forget; in the letter, you used "you're" instead of "your". Anyway, other than that, when will Louis stop being a creep? I'm repulsed by him, and I know/want them to get together. I didn't realize Dean was older than Darcey (I thought they seemed really far apart in age). But, now we've reached the start of their first date, and I'm intrigued as what will happen next.

--Georgina

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing out the typo! I tend to miss little things like that when I'm proofreading my chapters. Oh, Louis. The sooner he realizes Darcy's not going to fall for his over-confident flirting the better! And yep, Dean is a few years older than Darcy.
Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Freda_and_Georgina Four

22nd May 2015:
What I want to know is how Louis got into the bathroom; I thought you could lock it. And you seem to be using quite a bit of old teachers, would have thought they'd retire by then. But no matter, this was a nice chapter, but Louis had better get calmer to win over Darcey, though his thing seems to be working on plenty other girls. Maybe that's why he's taken a fancy to her, she's the one girl he can't have.

Anyway, moving along now.
--Georgina

Author's Response: I think Darcy just wasn't thinking, and forgot to lock the door. Plus, it was pretty late when Darcy went to take a bath, so I think she assumed that everyone else would be asleep. Louis definitely has a way to go before he gets Darcy put up with him. Thanks for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Freda_and_Georgina Three

22nd May 2015:
So, I'm trying to figure out which house Louis is in (the rest are obviously Hufflepuffs, not the most popular choice). I like Teddy as the teacher and the whole letter thing; it's really fun and gives us an idea of what kind of person he is. Quick question; is he married yet? Anyway, this all was a fun chapter despite the fact it didn't move the romance along yet.

So sorry it's taken me awhile to get to this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hello again!
I'm not sure if you've read up to where I say which house Louis is in, but if not, he's a Ravenclaw! I loved making Teddy the Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher. I think he'd do quite well following in his father's footsteps. He's not married yet, but he and Victoire are engaged.
Thank you so much for the great review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by Freda_and_Georgina Two

16th May 2015:
Alright, there's what I wanted after the first chapter. The description of her cousins seemed a little odd, I assume they're going to be bigger characters in the chapters to come. And am I starting to see Lucy getting a thing for Lysander? (or continuing a thing for him?

Overall, a nice second chapter.

Author's Response: Her cousins will return later, so you'll get to see them a little more in-depth. And you'll just have to wait and see what happens with Lucy and Lysander! Thank you for another lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Freda_and_Georgina One

16th May 2015:
Well, I wish we could see a small peak into Louis and Darcey's past to see when and why this seed of hate has been sewn. And for clarification, are they all in Hufflepuff? That's not how I envisioned the NextGen, but depending on how the later chapters go, alright. Heehee, we both get to review the others' NextGen novella/novel. As you'll find our Lucy has a bit more spunk to her than yours, but I still really like her character thus far. Lysander seems to be looking for a little too big of a sign from her.

I really like how you introduce your main characters to us so quickly.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hello!
Darcy, Lucy, and Lysander are in Hufflepuff, but Louis is not. Poor Lysander really doesn't know what to do about his feelings for Lucy. Haha. Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by greenbirds Eighteen

15th May 2015:
so SO cute. can't believe it's taken me so long to get around to reading this, been on my list for ages. perfect fluff story, and i'm so excited to read your one-shot about darcy and louis grown up! also yay for lucy and lysander hahaha, been rooting for them since chapter 1. fab stuff. also i LOVED darcy and seamus !! i so imagine seamus being like that as a dad!

Author's Response: Hello there!
I'm so happy you're enjoying this story! And I hope you like the one-shot, too! Yay Lucy and Lysander! It took them long enough! I'm glad you liked the way I wrote Seamus, too. I think he'd be quite protective of his little girl.
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I hope to see you again soon!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by ShannonRay Seventeen

5th April 2015:
Sorry if this review is boring. I just really want to say please keep writing and updating as soon as you can because this story is simply fabulous and makes me happy.

Author's Response: Hi there!
I'm so, so glad you're enjoying this story! I have some other things to update, but I'll get back to this as soon as I can! Thank you so much for reading and for taking the time to leave a review! It means so much to me!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by happyanon Seventeen

2nd April 2015:
Hello! i must say i'm loving this story. It's fun, keeps you intetested and amusing too. I'd love to read more and see how louis and darcy will grow together as a couple and as individuals while being in this relationship. We all know Darcy isn't this touchy feely type and as louis said a firecracker. id love to read some emotional vulnerable side to her and how louis will handle that. I love how we got to sew louis loose it because he seems to always be so level headed. Come to think of it most fanfics write him as some goofy godly player or some mysterious level headed gentleman. I adore him tho. I think if J.K was to ever write about the nexr gen The Delacour-Weasley children seem to interest me the most. I hope to see more of you and this very fun story. Pls update soon! Much love xoxo

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm glad you're enjoying this story, and that you like how Louis and Darcy are growing as it goes on. Darcy will learn to really open up to Louis eventually, you might just have to wait a little while for it.
Thank you again for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Fourteen

24th December 2014:
I searched for this, I was that excited! :D

Haha! She likes him! And they made a bet about her! AND OF COURSE SHE IS PROUD OF THAT, I AM. GO LUCY!

Daniel is so adorable, sticking up Darcy's honor like that. I don't think she needs it (because if Louis does anything, I'll come after him), but he definitely deserves a hug for it. Haha! I can't believe she kept her best insults from him. Because she can't think when he's around because she lurrves him. :D

I'm glad they talked. It would have sucked big time if you'd broken them up in the same chapter, I would have been very sad. GAH, THEY ARE SO LOVELY TOGETHER!!!

Can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam!
Since Darcy is so stubborn, I figured that Lysander would be totally convinced that she'd never admit to liking Louis, so he'd make the bet with Lucy. Haha.
Daniel is a true Hufflepuff, and is very loyal to his cousin, so he's not going to let anything happen to her if he can help it! But I'll make sure to let him know you're on his side and will help him go after Louis if need be ;)
I loved writing their big talk at the end, because Louis is honestly the only one who can make Darcy realize that she's afraid of getting her heart broken. I don't think her friends would have the hearts to tell her that she runs away from her feelings, but Louis isn't going to hold back because he knows that he can help her get over that fear.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, Sam! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Gabriella Hunter Thirteen

31st May 2014:
HELLO!

Hey, there! I'm SO sorry that I haven't been able to send you a review sooner but my laptop has died AGAIN and I haven't been able to get a decent signal or anything lately. *Sigh* Anyway, I'm glad to be back here and reading up on this, I'm really happy that you decided to take this a little further and I'm just loving Darcy's struggle with her feelings for Louis. I feel like she's so confused and a little scared to like him as much as she does that by the end, I couldn't believe that she actually decided to stay with him! Lucy is a hilarious addition to this chapter as well, she probably felt that her friend was in love way in the beginning. I wonder how she'll use that against her later? Will there be teasing? I can't wait! :D
This chapter was really short though, why on earth do you do this to me?! I can't believe that you didn't make this at least fifty pages. That isn't fair you know.
Ahem.
Louis is still his charming, hilarious self, I really love his one-liners. There's something so sweet and slightly arrogant about his assumptions of Darcy and I can't wait to see how his own feelings come into play later. And oh, Lord, Hugo probably told everyone that they were dating! What are they going to do now?! HAHA.
I can't wait for the next chapter. Update soonish?

P.S.: "Abandon" has a fresh chapter featuring our most hated person, Teddy Lupin and there's always Audrey and oh, wait! "At Midnight" has another chapter that I think you'll LOVE.

Until then!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I knew you'd have fun reading this chapter! I was thinking about you as I wrote it. Haha.
Darcy's relationship with Louis has confused her since they were thirteen, so she's definitely not making sense of it now! But I didn't want her to be unbearably stubborn, so I decided it was time that she took some of Lucy's advice and just listened to those feelings she's been trying to ignore. Even if she's not sure how serious she wants things to get with Louis, she doesn't hate him like she's been insisting she does. It scares her that she's not in total control of how she feels, but I think it will be good for her to come to terms with that.
Louis knows just what to say to get under Darcy's skin, even when his teasing is meant to be good natured. That definitely won't stop even though she didn't end their relationship! Haha. Hopefully I'll get some time and inspiration to update this soon! I'll keep you in the loop over on the forums! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>