Reading Reviews for The Power of a Single Word
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Everlasting Faerie Light Suffering.

29th November 2011:
This is very chilling.
You're usage of diction is amazing and your imagery is very effective, especially in describing the setting in the first paragraph.
You wrote a very powerful fic in very few words. I'm impressed and it's perfect. Keep writing :D

Author's Response: Thank you!

I'm glad that you liked it, I will hopefully have the other two curses written, in a similar style to this! :)

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Cassius Alcinder Suffering.

22nd November 2011:
So this story may be very short but it definetely packs a punch!

This was a realy powerful look at the crucio curse and its effects on its victims. There was a real adrenalie rush for the reader as we could feel the anger and rage of the attacker and the helpless fears of the victim. Your descriptions were excellent at creating this scenario.

I was totally picturing Bellatrix btw

Great story in a small amount of space.

Author's Response: Thank you!

I really loved writing this, and am hoping to write the other two curses in December.
I'm glad you liked it, and from the way that these reviews tend to go, I think I need to make the other two equally action packed!

Thanks for reviewing!

accioHPFF


 Report Review

Review #28, by Akussa Suffering.

21st November 2011:
Woah, that was like a slap in the face : quick, painful and leaves you with a prickling feeling inside.

I loved it though. It's very well written and you get to the point and the desired effet is fully achieved. I find it hard to write this review because I feel shaken by this piece.
Very well done, rarely does a story touch me so much and with so little words.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you... I hope it didn't shake you too much! But I'm glad that you... enjoyed it?

I really don't know what to say! Except thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by CloakAuror9 Suffering.

19th November 2011:
Whoa...that was very dark.

Your story is amazing! (You must be tired of hearing this from other reviewers.)

The descriptions wow-ed me so much. You described everything so flawlessly I could almost imagine myself as the female victim. *shivers*

I am so sad that this was just a one-shot but I suggest you can make another two for the other unforgivable curse or would that be too much? Eh, it was just a suggestion any ways.!

SO AWESOME,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

*does a happy dance*

and I have to act on that idea, it's brilliant! In December I will start writing the other two curses in one-shots!

Thanks for such a brilliant review!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Beeezie Suffering.

14th November 2011:
Here for Gryffie review tag!

I tend not to like stories that are this short, but this one was really powerful. You included a lot of description that was subtle, but really effective - the wand being broken and held together by the core, the red wave firing across the room... it was really terrific imagery, and I thought that it was strong writing.

My only comment is that you use the word soulless - given that the word "soulless" actually means something tangible in the HP universe, I wasn't sure about that. Otherwise, this was great. :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you for this review, it's really kind of you! I love short stories, and I couldn't write a longer, more descriptive version of this because I would lose the effect, but I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the comment, and thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Phoenix_Flames Suffering.

14th November 2011:
Hello there! I'm here with your review as requested. First I just want to apologize for the extremely long wait. I am so sorry that it took me so long to get around to this. I have just been crazy busy with school work, and my queue has been huge. But I finally made time for this. Thank you for being so patient!

But moving on!

Wow! What a story. I am so glad you requested this. I thought this was brilliant.

It was short, but in that time, it was so moving! So compelling, and I really think that you did the actual word 'Crucio' justice. Wow. Just wow.

The way you wrote this was wonderful. It was moving and emotional, and I could feel how deep it ran. Really excellent job.

I love how you have the unidentified characters. I think it leaves a lot up to the imagination, and it really just says so much more in the emotion of it all. Wow.

And your descriptions! They were wonderful! Absolutely wonderful. Everything was so vivid. I could see it and feel it; I could really understand what you were trying to get across.

This was a brilliant story, and I'm to the point where I'm so in awe right now that I don't quite know what else to say. Excellent job! I'm so glad you requested!

Author's Response: OMG! Thank you! :)

No worries about the wait, I'm just thankful that you took the time to review this.

I don't know what to say! Thank you so much, firstly. I'm glad that you enjoyed it, I loved writing this and I feel really happy and excited about writing another story, along a similar sort of track.

Your reviews are so kind, and you do have a huge queue, but that's because you're such a great reviewer!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #32, by SilentConfession Suffering.

11th November 2011:
Hi! Here is your requested review :D
Okay... where to start? This was a heavy read and so intense. I love these types of stories that really get into the nitty gritty parts of life and the joy someone like your anonymous Death Eater gets from your from her actions. It sent shivers down my spine and it was only 600 words! I really enjoyed your descriptions and it flowed so well together. I really liked that they both remained anonymous which sort of made me feel the emotions more. I also had this weird thing where I felt like I could identify with both characters and I couldnít help but wonder how someone could be so familiar with causing pain, but if you familiar with something it makes it easy to do. Itís like anything in life, we use it a lot and it becomes second nature. I wondered how this woman lost her humanity and what it took for her to get where she was. I think you did really well describing how powerful that curse was and how it affected the victim so greatly that she couldnít even fight back anymore. Beautiful way of getting into this idea!
Only thing I caught was you said Ďone was stood tallí, it should be Ďone stood tallí. I donít have much else to say, but I think you have a nice piece of work here.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Now I'm stuck where to start! Erm... thank you for reviewing! Your comments are really appreciated, I will be using them to improve. :)
I guess I'm glad that you found it intense, because when it has such a small word count, my aim, I suppose, was to create quite intense.

I really don't know what to say!
Thank you for such a great review! :)

Scott


 Report Review

Review #33, by Yorkgal Suffering.

10th November 2011:
Heya!
I love what you did for the detail and events- they're not completely action packed but you've got the fighting in there :) Also, i saw in some of your reviews that people have compared Unidentified female death eater to Bellatrix but i didnt think so because with Voldy as a leader you'd have to be even slightly insane which means its more than just Bella and also, Bella likes to play with her victims before killing/driving to insanity (aka she talks to them and uses the baby voice the books always mention)

You described the insanity so well, like how instead of just having blackness, its like the memories snapped and her mind was flooded with nothingness- i loved the detail in it. Honestly, wtheres nothing bad i can say about it!

Cant wait to read more
Yorkgal- 10/10

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for such a kind review!

I guess it's nice that you can look beyond the similarities to Bellatrix, because although I do see an overlap, she isn't written to be completely identical to Bellatrix.

Thanks again, I loved writing this... I love dark stories and after NaNo, I will be trying a couple more stories like this. :)

Thanks again,
Scott


 Report Review

Review #34, by ginerva_molly_weasley Suffering.

31st October 2011:
The events in this story are so powerful. I was both excited and a little scared at the events.
The not mentioning of the names made the people seem more eerie and just enthrawling.

Your spelling and grammar is generally very good as well.

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Haha thank you! I'm happy that it came across like that, I did try to make it Dark. I'm glad that you found it eerie that no names were mentioned.

Thanks for a great review!

-accioHPFF


 Report Review

Review #35, by Bellatrixlestrange123 Suffering.

30th October 2011:
Requested review :)

Woah, that was intense! But hey, who doesn't love a good heart racing story? The discription was great! Just the right amount was left to readers immagination and just the right amount was actually said. I loved how i could feel everything the victem went through. At first we started off feeling sorry for the person, expecting them to leap up and sort of fight back, then it turned into much more and we realized how dark this other witch really was! all the paragraphs rolled into each other smoothly, everything was balanced and it was overall a very good read!

Good luck with more, Bella x

Author's Response: Thank you!

I just took a break from writing so it was lovely to come and see this! It's made me really happy :L and...I don't know what to say! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #36, by academica Suffering.

28th October 2011:
Hey there! Here to swap with you :) BTW, thanks for adding me as a favorite author! I'm very flattered by that.

This is a pretty original idea for a story. I really like the detail you put into describing the spell and its effects. I sometimes find it hard to write action sequences, and I think you've demonstrated with this little piece that you have no problem doing so. Your imagery made it easy for me to visualize the scene.

Also, I really like the anonymity here. I think you've done something kind of interesting by using only "she" to refer to both the perpetrator and the victim. It kind of makes me imagine the two sides of a woman, the delicate and wounded side and the strong, assertive side. That is, I think of a female Death Eater who might be regretting her decision. Sorry if that was a bit of an artistic ramble, but I thought I'd share anyway. All in all, neat use of technique there! :)

Great job! I look forward to reading more from you!

Amanda

Author's Response: I've read through a couple of your stories and they are great, so why not add you as a fav author? It's why it's there. :)

Thank you so much for such a kind review! The amount of times I rewrote this was ridiculous - but I'm glad I finally got it right.

I actually hadn't seen it like that, reflecting the two personalities, but that is something that maybe I didn't see I had done. (Well evidently I didn't see :L)

Thanks again for reviewing.

Scott :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by AC_rules Suffering.

21st October 2011:
Oh, this sort of thing is right up my street.

I love the subtle way you've used language here. How the unidentified female victim, as you've called her, becomes the 'prey' - that has quite an effect in dehumanising her, which is just downright clever :)

You actually managed to get me to identify with the female death eater too, with the whole familiarity of the spell.

Descriptions? I thought there descriptions were great actually - vivid enough that I can imagine it, definately, and well executed too. This bit especially:

The word seemed to slip from her tongue so easily, as so often before. This part was familiar to her, it felt natural to her. Having seen it so often before, she revelled in her prey's panic. With it, a smile grew wide on her pale face, the only hint of colour from her crimson lips.

^ I just loved everything abouth thoes lines. It just felt like the words were meant to form that sentence :)
This proably won't wind up being really constructive - sorry about that - but all together I think its a very well written one-shot!

-AC

Author's Response: What can I say to such an amazing review, apart from thank you? Which, by the way, I will end up saying a lot, so you'll be used to it by the end. Thank you! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, and thank you for taking the time to review. I don't write just for the reviews, that would be... something, although I'm not quite sure what. But it definitely pushes me to work harder on the next one.

Your comments were wonderful, and have definitely been gratefully accepted. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #38, by adahpfan Suffering.

17th October 2011:
Hey, it's Buckbeak4Life from the forums...
That was a heavy read- in a good way! I love the description and detail- it gave me chills. I really like that we didn't know who the characters were, it made me feel a lot more connected to them, personally. It is quite short and I would love to see it expanded, but I don't really know how you would manage it. I love how familiar 'crucio' is to the witch, it gives you a real sense of her. No typos as far as I can see, and a very good read :D.
Ada/BB4L x

Author's Response: Thank you! I feel loved! :D

Thanks for such a positive review! I know it's short, but I am working on it! :D

Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #39, by kalkay Suffering.

17th October 2011:
Really intense for a story so short which just means that it was excellently written. I would have liked a little more detail to it, but that's just me. I like to fill some stories with loads of detail excessively so.

Over all great story. I didn't notice any grammar or typing slips! :) Just wish it was a little longer for my taste I guess is my only real negitive thing I have to say! :D

Great story!
Keep writing, we'll keep reading/loving them.
xoxo
kalkay

Author's Response: Thank you!

I loved writing this, although I rewrote lots of the description several times! :L

I know I tend to write quite short descriptions and chapters, but I don't want to ruin the flow by adding more, which I seem to do a lot... so I try to make it concise :L I will try to improve this, honestly!

Thanks for stopping by to leave a review! I've already got my teeth into my next story!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Constance Dorian Suffering.

17th October 2011:
Amazingly written - you have a real talent for description! Despite you never mentioning characters names, I suspect the death eater to be Bellatrix...
:)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Wow, that's made me happy!

I felt like trying a one-shot, and I LOVED writing it.

Bellatrix? I guess it's easy to draw comparisons, because they're were only two known female Death Eaters (her and Alecto Carrow). Maybe I did have her in mind, but I tried to avoid giving physical descriptions and that because I wanted to really focus on her being anonymous. Although I can see the link with Bellatrix.

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>