Reading Reviews for Acting the Part
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Mihali1432 hold my hand?

30th August 2012:
Omg. Me reading romance is like you writing it, it's all new. I have no idea what to expect now! I keep seeing Charlie dropping all these little references to "his culture" and I'm just like "TELL HER ALREADY." But you know, I kinda wanna see how far he'll go before it does end up being "Oh yeah, I'm a wizard." Or maybe something like "Yer a muggle, Mellie." *Cheesy joke FTW*

Anyways, The plane scene was just plain amusing... *giggles* I swear when I was writing that out at first it was punny, but... Puns. Anyways, I'm off to the next chapter! :P I adore this story so far xD Oh gosh why am I reading romance? xD

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're reading my rubbishy attempt at romance! We all must broaden our horizons and stuffs. o.O

Charlie is like, 'WOO *hint hint* and poor Mellie picks up on nuthing :D And I'm afraid Mellie already knows she's a 'Muggle' from working with Marty :P

(you are very punny, btw) Thanks so much for the review Mike! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #27, by Mihali1432 For the last time, I'm not jealous!

30th August 2012:
OMG JENNY. :o Oh C'mon. Charlie should definitely get with Mellie (Obviously I can't spell her name :p Sorry). But gah! This was a fun chapter, movies for Charlie! I'm so amused at how he acted after seeing one. So oblivious to the muggle world. I think I can guess what's gonna happen with chapter 3 though? Maybe. I dunno for sure but I do hope what I'm guessing happens. *Ends rambling*

I think the end was really funny, with how Charlie was acting and such, and the subtle use of the word magic. Hehe.

Great chapter :D Here's my payback review and onto the next two chapters! :P

Mike.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Mike!

I love humour, and Charlie being oblivious provides endless entertainment- for me, at least :P

I'm so happy you like my fluffy fic, and thank you!


 Report Review

Review #28, by argetlam shadeslayer what friends are for

29th August 2012:
Ah, okay, I'm in such absolute love with this story. I just began reading it, chapter to chapter, over breakfast and I need more. Seriously, this is so incredibly well written, with the perfect amount of snark and charm, and all of your characters are utterly fantastic. Anyhow, I've got to skip off to class, but this was a marvelous chapter! You've got such a wonderful story and writing style, and I can't wait to read more! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review, it really means a lot that you like my story :)

Mel and Charlie are a joy to write, and I'm glad you like the humour :) Thanks so much xx


 Report Review

Review #29, by classicblack For the last time, I'm not jealous!

27th August 2012:
Hi it's Ali with your review!

Before I forget and finish reading the chapter, I'd just like to mention something about the use of cell phones. Since this takes place during the 1990s, cell phones weren't in extremely common use (though people had them) and texting wasn't really a big thing (thus Charlie wouldn't reall need to know how to text). Just remember that this is almost twenty years ago! They didn't have all the technology we have today! I did like how Charlie hinted at his pureblood, magical upbringing.

Alright now back to the story.

This chapter was on a whole other level of wonderful. I feel like last chapter your writing was good and this chapter you kicked it up a gear! It was a pleasant surprise.

You've got humor down pat. Really I laughed so many times in this chapter. I really like Jess's childish-ness and Charlie's drunken-ness. I liked how you mentioned Mrs. Weasley and the terror she inspires in her children. I also really enjoyed that Marty's character really has a blatant disregard for the International Statute of Secrecy when he's around Muggles.

The dialogue most certainly improved with the addition of more humor. Also, this story sort of has a "My Week with Marilyn" touch- everything happening on or around the production of a movie, which was nice to see.

May I ask exactly how old the main characters are? You may have mentioned it before and I overlooked it, but I was curious because it would help me decide whether Jess is perhaps too immature for her age, as she's bordering heavily on teenager at the moment.

For furture chapters, make sure you describe the setting a bit more. It'll be especially vital because of the fact that this story (I'm assuming) will take place mostly on the set of a movie.

Don't rush into the Melanie/Charlie relationship (which I assume will happen) too fast. It seems you're already pushing towards that. Remember that they've got to get to know each other first!

Make sure, also, that Violet isn't always the snobby movie star and Jess isn't the immature best friend there for comic relief. Most people don't just have one personality trait so I'm looking forward to seeing how you develop these characters.

You're doing pretty well with the pacing, from what I can tell after two chapters.

I've loved reviewing your story! You've got a great thing going here. Feel free to re-request any time!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Hello! Oh my god, I'm such a fool. I'll have to change the mobiles then- damn. :( Thanks for pointing that out! I'll sort that out in the edits :)

I'm glad you liked this chapter better, and I'm so happy you liked the humour. The characters are early twenties. Jess is supposed to be quite childish, but I'll revise her character to put some more maturity there.

Thanks so much for your tips on characters and descriptions, you're really incredibly helpful! Thanks so much, I'll definitely revise the things you've mentioned in edits/future chapters :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by classicblack what's a film?

27th August 2012:
Hey there, it's Ali with your review!

I'll just start off by saying that you have nothing to fear about transitioning from action/adventure to fluff and romance. You did a great job!

I've never read a fic that's a mixture of Charlie Weasley, Muggles who know mothing about magic, and a Hogwarts Era time frame. It's really quite unique. Not to say that there aren't stories like it out there, but I've never really experienced one like this. The reader interest is definitely there, so well done.

I like how you've described Charlie as just this laid-back, grounded, fun and happy kind of guy, which completely fits with his description in the books. However, I feel like his complete lack of knowledge about Muggle things doesn't really match with the fact that he grew up with Muggle-loving Mr. Weasley. Surely he would have heard of a film? (though I did like his obliviousness, it was endearing)

Melanie seems like a really fun character to read, especially as the story is from her perspective. I like that she's a stunt double because that kind of actiony personality matches with Charlie's dragon-trainer persona.

It came as quite a shock to me that Melanie was a stunt double, though. Honestly, I was expecting some kind of assistant and/or other member of the production company that just so happened to be good with working with Violet. The fact that she got Violet's drinks and food and arranged all her meetings felt like it was a bit of a stretch for someone who was just her stunt double. Wouldn't Violet, as such a big name celebrity, have an assistant or manager for those sort of things?

I liked the creativity of how you told the reader what Melanie looks like, though. You described Violet and then later went on to say how Melanie and Violet look very similar. It was a credit to your writing and a lot better than have Melanie just describe herself to the reader (like: "I have black hair and I'm pretty and...").

The dialogue sounds a bit American. Now, if you're English and thus obviously know how the British speak, then please excuse me (I'm American and just basing it off of English books, movies, and tv shows I've read/seen). But Marty's dialogue especially sounds more like someone I would meet on the street in my east coast hometown than a Briton. Otherwise, the dialogue is great.

The plot is intriguing so far. I'm interested to see where you take the whole 'wizard interacting with Muggles' scenario, especially as Voldemort is not back. Definitely don't forget Voldemort! I can sense a possible Violet-Charlie-Melanie love triangle (or else just Violet-Charlie drama) brewing in the future.

So far, I think you've got a very interesting story. Nice chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack from the forums

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much :) First things first, I'm so glad you haven't read anything like it :D I tried cliches, and now I try my SUPER HARDEST to do different ideas :D so yay! *happy dance*

I understand what you are saying about Charlie, and it was quite hard to get a balance between knowing about Muggle things and not knowing- Charlie was quite happy with lifts/cars, but I really didn't want him to know about films- Ron didn't know how to use a telephone, so I couldn't see Arthur Weasley with a TV set.

Melanie and Violet- now you've pointed that out, I feel really stupid. I'm definitely going to revise this, especially the Mel/Violet relationship to explain stuff better now, so thanks so much :)

(thank you also, I hate fics that describe people that way xD)

Dialogue-wise, I am British, and while Marty isn't your typical Brit, I do know people who speak like that (its the overuse of terms of endearment, right?)

I WILL NOT FORGET VOLDEMORT, NEVER FEAR. I LOVE ACTION. THERE WILL BE ACTION.

thanks so much for such a great review, you have helped so much!


 Report Review

Review #31, by PunIntended what's a film?

19th August 2012:
Hi! PunIntended here from the Fairy Tale Challenge! Sorry it took such a long time! (work and high school at the same time. wouldn't recommend it)

Thank you so much for the great entry! I have never seen a story like this! Super super creative. Your voice in your writing is amazing. There is a perfect balance between your discription and your dialogue. I look forward to seeing how the Arthur legend plays out in this. Is Charlie to be the Guinevere in this case? Super excited to read more :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey! Yup, Charlie is Guinevere :P and Mellie/Violet are Lancelot and Arthur :) Just flipped the sexes.

I'm so happy you liked it, and that I get the balance between description and dialogue *phew*

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by ariellem For the last time, I'm not jealous!

17th August 2012:
Hello! So, I promised you a review a while back and here it is.

Personally, I really like the fact that the character is a muggle and has no knowledge of magic, I find it funny for some reason.

The only alternative I have is my mother.

NOT my mother!

That made me laugh, Mrs. Weasley is a total fireball. Anyway, just keep doing what you're doing because you're doing a fine of job of it. :) :)

Author's Response: Hey, I've only ever read one other story where the MC was a Muggle, so I wanted to give it a go :)

And yeah, Melanie will hopefully meet Mrs Weasley at some point... so that's going to be interesting :P

Thanks so much for picking up on my plea, and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by Cavell For the last time, I'm not jealous!

17th August 2012:
Hello again! :D

You have lovely one-liners - I saw loads that I love in this chapter, though this one was just so adorable that I had to point it out: "It was like seeing what you read." I still prefer books to movies, but - but Charlie's so sweet *sniffle* He's perfect for Mel! (Shut up, Melanie, I don't care if you say otherwise, everyone else in the story completely agrees with me -.-)

The last scene was amazing - I loved the scary movie stuff, and seeing as I just watched one last night, I can relate to Mel and Jess's (love her, by the way - all of your characters are so funny and real and relateable) panicky states when Marty knocked on the door with a drunk Charlie :p I so want to find out what happened between Charlie and Violet, but I suppose I'll just have to wait for the next chapter like a normal person *heavy sigh* Meh. I love your cliffhangers - they're so subtle but they're there and that's all that matters.

The romance between Mel and Charlie is adorable - it's really subtle, which just goes to show that you have awesome skills, and - asgfghdsh I don't know what to say. All of this chapter was amazing and I can't wait to see how else you can blend in the magic with the movies :D

Author's Response: Hey again! *huggles Linn*

I'm so glad you like my one-liners, I really try to make them noticeable :) CHARLIE AND MEL- I ship them too, so no worries.

I built on my limited experience of scary movies to write that scene, so I'm glad you liked it :P The reason I don't watch them so much is because my reaction is exactly the same as Jess'... any noise is an axe-murderer :P

I'm really glad you like my characters and my romance (ohmygosh I spend sleepless nights worrying about writing romance) and your reviews help me sleep. Thank you so much, Linn! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by FallenAmaranth For the last time, I'm not jealous!

15th August 2012:
Oh my gosh I love this story! I randomly decided to click the link on TDA where you'd requested the chapter images and I have to say, I am so glad I did!

It's different, and I love Charlie Weasley in it! I imagined him imagining four real dragons, Lol, he's so sweet! Marty is great as well, he just sounds like one of those guys where, you just don't ask questions, 'cause they get the job done - he was perfect!

This is an awesome and original fic, at least I hope it is, otherwise I have been missing out! But no, seriously, it is fabby-dabby-dosie :D

Loves, Em :')

Author's Response: Thanks so much for clicking on the link! ^.^ (I lurk in filled requests all the time- and aren't the images so beautiful that Carousel. made?)

I'm so so glad you liked this story, it's my first attempt into fluffy romance :) Thank you so much!

- Jenny


 Report Review

Review #35, by Mihali1432 what's a film?

9th August 2012:
Hehehe. Ooo a Charlie story. I like Charlie. I don't know why but I dooo :p Ok, so, Jenny, I can't critique this. I didn't find any grammar mistakes and I quite love all your characters... Also, I'm interested and getting me interested in a romance like this (Or whatever will happen) is a bit difficult. xD But I do quite like your writing. Do I really need to critique this? There's nothing but praise from me! xD I hope you get this review and squee, then proceed to send me many (hug) emoticons. :P Just kidding.

I really like Melaine or however you spell her name xD Cause she be awesome, and the plot is interesting! Muggles, hehe, I liked how you incorporated that :p and Charlie having no idea what he's doing, "What's a film?" Hehehe :D

WRITE MORE. *ahem* Please? xD You don't need to re-request btw, I'll just come back on my own accord. :p

Mike.

Author's Response: You like Charlie because Charlie is awesome. xD And I'm so so so happy you like this, I am! Melanie, and Charlie are awesome, so thanks :) Hopefully it'll be updated soon!

(hug) (hug) (hug) there's a few more. Thanks so much for such a wonderful review Mike! xD


 Report Review

Review #36, by Cavell what's a film?

9th August 2012:
*squirms awkwardly in seat* Hush, Jenny. I do not read your stories that often. Go away. Stop looking at me like that.

...

Oh gosh, you epic person with SO MANY PLUNNIES that I'm jealous :o I cannot even begin to fathom how this came into your brain, but I'm glad it did! You seem to always have a good starter on your hands, and this was certainly an interesting idea! I love your characters - I haven't ever seen Charlie Weasley written before, but even so, I know yours is perfectly awesome. I like Mel, too! Of course, I hate Violet because I'm biased, but even her, you make real. So many people make the mean girls without a zilch of substance in them, but you - gah, no words, honestly.

Mel's theory about Marty and Muggles is interesting, to say the least ;) And your description! I'm jealous, I fail at description, so I always go green with envy at everyone's skills in it. You don't provide too much that you go overboard, or too little that everything's vague (*cough*like me*cough*), in fact, you have found just the right balance in between the two. Charlie's questions about films is hilarious, as are Mel's thoughts on everyday life, and gosh, I can't even believe you. Why do you keep coming out with these things, huh?! What happened to leaving some talent for the rest of us?! I'm so ashamed in you, so many little people have nothing, and here you are, hogging the great story ideas and characters and skills with descriptions. HMPH.

Lots of love, xxx and all that good stuff,
Linn

Author's Response: HELLO! No, don't squirm! I want you to come back again and again and again and again *ensnares Linn in her evil trap of words*

Thanks so much for checking up on me and reading my stuff, it means the world to me.

Charlie is nearly an OC, he's written so little, so I feel very free with him and Mel is an OC so I can do whatever I like! MWA HA HA *coughs* And yeah, Violet's just mean. And crafty.

Your description is awesome, so no putting yourself down, you! I'm happy you like this though- the plunny for this so nearly ended up in the UFG thread. :)

You've made me glad I wrote it. Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #37, by Aguamenti123 what's a film?

8th August 2012:
I've basically told you in essence how great I think this is, I love the beginning :) The way you started's good, the whole thing that Marty calls her a muggle is something which I thought was a great idea, it sets up the story brilliantly!
Another thing which I've noticed you're really good at is character description. I'm not sure if I just hate Violet because the narrator is biased, but yeah.
Can't wait to read more!
- Olive-kins xx

Author's Response: Thank you! I was getting really anxious about this story, but you've soothed my nerves.
I'm also glad you hate Violet. She's horrible.

Thanks for the review!, Olly-wolly! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>