Reading Reviews for And Then There Were Three
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #26, by EverDiggory A New Beginning and a Promise

3rd December 2012:
I'm here! It took me a right minute, but I am here!

This was so, so cute! I was very pleasantly surprised that you succeeded in making it cute, but also respecting the canon characterizations, which was impressive!

I loved Arthur and Molly's little talk with Ron and Hermione. It was adorable, and I loved how Arthur and Molly acted like they were the only ones involved in a pleasant little secret. It was really cute, and it meant a lot that you involved Molly and Arthur. I know this seems silly but I've seen them forgotten, or worse, they play such unimportant part. I loved that you gave them a meaning and such a cute part to play!

The relationship that you described that Harry and James formed so quickly was very heartwarming. Not being a parent myself, I think you really described a wonderful insight. It was truly impressive.

I liked Ginny a lot. I'll admit I'm dreadfully picky when it comes to her characterization. I usually find her characterized in a way that makes her so easy to dislike, but you characterized her in a way that was likable as well as canon. I'm not particularly a stickler for canon, but I don't know if you are. If you so happen to be, you did well in keeping this canon:)

I enjoyed reading this! It was cute and heartwarming! I really hope you come back and rerequest!

xx

Ever

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So fluffy and cute was definitely what I was going for here, so I'm glad it came across that way. But I try very hard to keep my stories canon, so overall I'm really happy with your reaction.

Arthur and Molly do find Ron and Hermione very amusing in this. Ron and Hermione are in that stage of adulthood and their relationship where kids are sort of a touchy topic. They know it's something they're probably going to do eventually, but they don't want to rush into it. I imagine that Molly and Arthur played a huge role in the lives of all of their grandchildren, so it made sense to have them there from the start.

I tend to think that Harry was totally gobsmacked by James from the moment he laid eyes on him. He's been through so much in his life and all he ever wanted was a normal, loving family like everybody else. James's birth was sort of the pinnacle of everything that he'd ever fought and suffered for.

I'm pretty picky about Ginny, too. To really enjoy her in a story, she has to have that spark of temperament but also the tenderness and loving side.

I'll certainly re-request at some point, although this is the only really fluffy, cute story I have right now. The rest are all more dramatic or angsty or in one case, humorous. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #27, by adluvshp A New Beginning and a Promise

21st November 2012:
Tag!

This was a cute little one-shot. I liked your take on Harry & Ginny and their first kid. You got their characters crafted quite well. In the beginning, you got Ron & Hermione quite well too, though I'd think Ron would want a family too soon. But anyway, I liked the one-shot overall, and the way you wrote this. It made a sweet read :)

Good work! 10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Godrics_Helm A New Beginning and a Promise

21st November 2012:
What a cute, wonderful story! Harry and Ginny panicking over James was hilarious! I loved this from start to finish. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by kayt A New Beginning and a Promise

15th November 2012:
That was lovely. The perfect fluffy story to suit my mood.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Phoenix_feather123 A New Beginning and a Promise

12th November 2012:
Tag...

I thought this was a really nice little read, and I almost wished there was more to it. This was really nice.

Keep Writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #31, by MissMdsty A New Beginning and a Promise

11th November 2012:
Hello! Reviewing from the thread in the Gryffindor forum!

When I saw this on your author page I just had to read it, because I've really been looking for something like this, the way Harry feels when first becoming a parent.

I enjoyed it a lot. It's funny and sweet but at the same time it really dawns on you while reading that from this moment on everything will change for the characters, even for those that don't actually get to take care of a baby full time.

I loved the part where Harry is left alone with James and he talks to him. It was so emotional and sweet, you could actually feel his fatherly love growing as you read. And it was also a great way of expressing just how much Harry has gone through and the love he has for his family.

Lovely story, it was a fantastic read!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I was able to draw on some personal experience for this, and it was fun to write. Once the ball got rolling, I think I finished the whole thing in 3 or 4 hours. It is a big change, and I'm glad that came across.

Harry's talk with James summed up a lot of what I think he would have felt after reaching yet another big life milestone that he never could have imagined as he trudged into the forest to meet Voldemort. When you put things in that context, it always gets my muse going.

So glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Roots in Water A New Beginning and a Promise

10th November 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

One sentence pretty much sums up exactly how I feel about this story: I LOVED it. I think that you did a fabulous job with it; it's an adorable look into their first day as parents.

You characterized Ron wonderfully, as always. His comment about the nurses' annoying updates worked wonderfully with the situation and Hermione's comment about how they had once babysat Teddy "for a whole afternoon" was funny in its naivety.

Arthur and Molly were perfect in their roles as the experienced parents and grandparents that they are and I loved the glimpse into their relationship that you provided when they teamed up to explain to Ron and Hermione just how their lives would change.

The transition between the first section and the second worked well, especially since the crowd of orderlies was very similar to the crowd in the hallway just a few minutes previous. If, however, you wanted to make it smoother, I would add a small piece to the end of the sentence "The four Weasleys then made their way back down the hall" saying something along the lines of "leaving Harry and Ginny alone with their newborn son". Just a little something to make the transition that much smoother. :)

As well, I noticed that you ended the phrase "having a baby?" with a question mark. Should the question mark be a period because I'm pretty sure that they know that they're not having a baby. :)

Anyway, I love Harry and Ginny's worry when they're first left alone. Of course they wouldn't be confident of their abilities to be parents; of course they would panic. Their comments about how they wouldn't know about caring for a baby since they were the last/only child were nice additions to the chapter and their worries that James was choking was hilarious! Did you draw on personal experience for this scene?

I noticed one other quick thing: Harry said that he would tell James about his life before Hogwarts when he was older and then tells him about it a few paragraphs later... Harry's concluding speech about how his birth made everything worth it was very sweet, though.

All in all, I think that you did a fantastic job with this one-shot and I very much enjoyed reading it! Thanks so very much for requesting and I hope that my comments are helpful!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry to take so long to get to responding. Busy weekend.

I'm really glad that you liked this story. When sophie asked for a happy Harry/Ginny story, I had a bunch of ideas but none of them really came to a particularly satisfying conclusion. Then this one popped into my head and the ball just started rolling. I think I wrote the whole thing in about 3 or 4 hours.

I was a little worried that the first section didn't connect well with the rest, so I'm glad that didn't bother you. Ron and Hermione are a lot of fun to write in this situation. It's clearly an awkward topic for both of them, and I liked tormenting the two of them for just a bit before moving on into the major part of this.

That's not a bad idea on the transition between sections. I struggled with that part. I didn't want to make it more drawn out than it needed to be, but it felt pretty inadequate. I'll also hunt down that bit about having a baby.

Oh, there is a lot of personal experience being tapped into for Harry and Ginny's section. ;) It's a very surreal thing, suddenly finding yourselves all along with a newborn baby and realizing that the care of said baby is now your responsibility. With Harry and Ginny both being so young, relatively speaking, I have to imagine it's even more strange for the two of them.

Eh, I wasn't totally thrilled with that disconnect in Harry's speech, either. My thought was that talking to James at this age is really more like talking to himself. I'll have another look at it.

Again, I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it. This was my first foray into writing something that was purely feel-good fluff, and I wondered how it was going to turn out. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Remus A New Beginning and a Promise

8th November 2012:
So I've been lacking in my reading/reviewing and writing so I figured I should start out with your one-shot before moving on to Jami! XD

Hello again! :D

I can already relate to this story. Specially Hermione at the beginning. Ron makes me laugh and it felt that his character was very spot on. I always thought of Ron as a guy who never wanted to have children due to the way he was raised, you know. After seeing his parents struggle with all the children he seems to be deterred from having some of his own. Until James is born. Haha. In a way this story is like my head canon.

Just so you know, you made my ovaries hurt with this story! hahaha!I know, TMI but still! I want kids so bad already but alas, the both of us are not on the same page yet. However, funny enough...I'm afraid of holding newborns. I get this paranoid feeling and I'm like Harry..."what if I drop him/her?"

"Just not your Uncle Ron. I try not to point it out, but he's even more confused than I am. It's a good thing your Aunt Hermione is crazy about him."--I just had to laugh at that because it is true. I don't think Ron could've managed to speak to a girl in a proper way let alone go on a date until his early twenties.

"I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy, but it was all worth it. Because I'm here now with you and your mother." He stared at James's tiny face peeking out from the blue bundle in his lap and felt a tear slide down his cheek. "I'd do it all over again, every awful moment of it, to have what I have now."--You got me teary eyed right there.

The one thing I wish to have seen is Molly and the other three coming in to meet James. Hermione gushing over the child and looking over at Ron almost saying "I'm ready, let's have kids!" while Ron runs away. Hahaha! But that's just me and my imagination. XD

As always this was a great read! Can't wait to see what else you're going to do!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I think you've got Ron just about right. At least *my* Ron, anyway. The poor guy is about to have a major change of heart, though, and Hermione will obviously play a major role in that, as will James.

Let's see, since you've started reading my writing, I've put smiles on your face, brought tears to your eyes, and now I'm making your ovaries hurt. For my next act, I'm thinking of something involving your liver or possibly your spleen. ;) The only counsel I can offer on when to have kids is that I personally feel kind of glad that I waited until I was in my 30's. I'm not sure I was mature enough in my 20's to have handled it. But that's just me. To each their own.

Harry's trying to set James up with the right perspective on his relatives from an early age. And Ron is definitely not the right guy to ask about girls.

Aww, I made you cry again. I was so hoping that would affect your small intestine somehow. ;) That line is actually my favorite in the entire piece and one of the things I had written in my notes for this before I even started to write the rest of it. I think it captures something essential about Harry.

I really gave a lot of thought to rounding this out with the four Weasleys fussing over little James, but somehow that just seemed a bit anticlimactic after Harry and Ginny's big ending. Another story, perhaps...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by rez A New Beginning and a Promise

8th November 2012:
too cute! having thoroughly stalked down your authors page after reading CoB, I can guess that some of this was inspired by personal experience ;) well it seems that way, because it's brilliantly portrayed and it certainly did come across as a bit more than meaningless fluff :)) good job as always!

Author's Response: Hi, there.

Well, I don't have any personal experience with being hounded by autograph-seeking fans, but most of what happened after Harry and Ginny make it to their room was inspired by my own experience after my kids were born. I'm glad it seemed like more than meaningless fluff, but fluff was the best category choice I could find.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #35, by my_voice_rising A New Beginning and a Promise

5th November 2012:
Hi there! My apologies for the lateness of this review; I've been feeling a bit under the weather as of late.

First off, I think your characterization of everyone is spot-on. I really admire a fanfiction author who can stay true to canon and have it be realistic--I *loved* Ron in particular, and the moment when he looked at Hermione to be sure that she didn't want to start a family right away either. That could've been bad! :)

I also love your characterization of Ginny and Harry as young parents, and how Harry was essentially saying, "So, what now?" haha. Perfect. I think it's very easy to make moments like these almost horribly sappy or sentimental, and I think that yours strays from that and is entirely realistic. Especially how panicked they got when they thought he was choking. So realistic.

Your ending was really cute, too. I like your portrayal of Ginny, even a bit more than JKR's XD Nice work!

Author's Response: No worries on the timing! I really appreciate all the reviewers who offer up their time.

I write canon stories. It's my thing, so I'm really glad you thought it all sounded realistic. I used to be very intimidated by writing Ron. He's very tricky. It's hard to get him to sound right. But I learned to really enjoy it while I was in the middle of my long novel.

Ginny and Harry's first moments as new parents are pretty much exactly how I remember feeling after my sons were born, except for the part about being famous. There's really nothing sentimental about the feeling. You're just scared and overwhelmed.

The ending just felt right to me, so I'm glad you liked it.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #36, by caoty A New Beginning and a Promise

29th October 2012:
Me again. Brace yourself for the anticlimax, especially since I'm not sure how many months it's been since I last read a fic with Harry in it.

So I'm lying in bed with Victorian novel disease and this actually helped to cheer me up a bit, so well done you.

Ron is lovely in this fic. I liked him with Hermione and the awkward-yet-nice family dynamic they've got with his parents here, with the whole "you're gonna have babies soon!" thing and this line:
>He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy.
That was a fun mental image. Imagine if that really happened... O.o
I mean I know this fic is not about Ron at all, but I've got a soft spot for him, and... erm, yeah.

Anyway. Moving on. I'd have never have thought of the press turning up - how optimistic I am - but you and your OC have handled it well, so you've got that realism without letting go of the story. If that makes any sense at all. Honestly, I'd be surprised if it did.

Ginny and Harry are all kinds of adorable in this one, even if I usually ship Ginny/Luna and Ginny/Fleur and Ginny/Pansy and basically have her in my mind as a complete and utter lesbian. I can see why you ship Hinny (God, isn't that an awful name). I think it's safe to say that I wouldn't mind if you decided to become a romance writer.

But: gross is an Americanism & your Ginny uses it a lot. It was a bit distracting.

And you really shouldn't talk about your fic in your Author's Note as being your latest because you update so often by the time you've got upwards of three reviews you've written something else entirely. :P

Author's Response: Well, you know that I live to cheer you up, my friend!

The more I thing about this review, the better I feel. If the only two things you could take issue with were one word that's overly American and the content of the author's note, I must have done pretty well. As far as "gross" being overly American, what's your suggested replacement? Come on, now, you can't point out a problem that simple without telling me how to fix it!

The press has hounded Harry for most of his life since age 11, so I don't see why they would stop just because the war was over.

I love writing Ron. When I first started CoB, it was honestly very intimidating. It's hard to capture that essential... Ron-ness. To get that little bit of selfishness and immaturity that goes along with this very loyal, salt-of-the-earth kind of guy. And to not strand him in the Second Banana Zone behind Harry and Hermione. But the more I wrote him, the more I started to enjoy it. He's a lot of fun.

OK, if you ship Ginny with all of these other characters, why have we not seen this on your author's page? Because all of those sound like very interesting pairings. Pansy, especially. I really want to know how you get that one to work. And I completely loathe combo-names for ships like Hinny, Snily and the granddaddy of all awful ship names, Dramione. That turns me off as much as people who use the term "Wotter" in Next Gen fics. OK, it actually doesn't. Nothing turns me off as much as Wotter. Instant click on the Back button.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, at any rate. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A New Beginning and a Promise

21st October 2012:
Awww! So many happy feelings reading this story. It was so sweet, especially near the end, with the stories.

I loved the beginning, with Arthur telling Ron and Hermione they'd change their views because of the people around them. Because everything changes after a baby is born, it's only natural, and it was portrayed very well in this. I wonder what they'd say after meeting little James, that would be fun to see.

What I love most, though, is how you added all these different genres together to make this one perfect story; the cute fluff/romance with Harry, Ginny and James, the bit of drama with the staff in the middle, and the added humor, particularly Ron humor, that is my favorite (he deserves his own form of humor, Ron does :P)

This sentence in particular made me laugh: 'He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy.' It was just an 'oh, Ron' moment which I loved. :D

You write the 'Trio' character all really well, which I'm slightly jealous off (because I can only write Harry. Sometimes. :P). And it was great that I could 'see' this in my mind while reading. I love your writing.

Thank you for requesting this story for a review. It shall now be added to my favorites. :)

SamMalfoy.

Author's Response: Hi! First off, thanks so much for the offer! That was really nice of you and 500 reviews is an impressive accomplishment.

I'm kind of relieved that you liked the section with the four Weasleys at the beginning. As I was editing my first draft, I began to question whether it was connected *enough* to Harry and Ginny's section to feel like a natural part of the story. I liked it, though, so I decided that the theme of life transitions -- voluntary or not -- was enough to tie it all together.

I'm usually guilty of not being able to stick to a single genre. With these characters, it's just too much fun to put them in different types of situations and see how they respond.

By the time CoB was over, I'd had a lot of experience writing the trio. The author and story this is dedicated to are also very immersed in the trio right around this age. It's really what I enjoy doing most, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Once again, thanks so much for reviewing this. You gave me a really good feeling that I accomplished what I set out to!


 Report Review

Review #38, by sophie_hatter A New Beginning and a Promise

19th October 2012:
Wow! A story dedicated to me! I am very, very flattered:-) I know my choice of 'a happy Harry and Ginny story' wasn't an easy one, but you still managed to make it interesting and entertaining, and introduce some tension too.

Obviously, as a Hinny shipper, I loved it! I really enjoyed the sense of the trio plus Ginny hovering on the edge of a precipice as their lives begin to change, this time in such a positive way.

It was really strange to read something of yours and not be able to comment in real time - I kept wanting to right click and highlight all my favourite bits:-) But I think the bit that made me smile most was when Ginny shrugged and said 'Haven't the foggiest' - not only was it humorous, I was very proud of the Britishism:-)

Thank you, thank you, and thank you again:-)

Author's Response: Aww, you're welcome! I was very pleased to be able to do something nice for you after all you've done for me.

You know, writing "happy Harry and Ginny" wasn't really all that hard. I like to think of the two of them as happy. They deserve it. Making it more than just meaningless fluff, on the other hand, well that was a bit more challenging. But I like a challenge.

As I was editing, I was concerned that the first section with Hermione, Ron and his parents didn't really mesh too well with the overall story. But then I started to think of it as setting up this big transition that Ginny and Harry suddenly realize that they're making, and it worked better for me. I'm glad you see it the same way.

Ha! That should be a goal for HPFF 2.0: the ability to highlight and comment inline with the story. It would be brilliant. "Foggiest" is kind of a happy accident, I guess. My grandparents used to say that a lot.

Once again, you're very welcome. It was a joy to write and I'm very, very pleased that you liked it. Thanks for all you do!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Jchrissy A New Beginning and a Promise

18th October 2012:
Guess who’s back, back again. Jami’s back, tell a friend. Okay, now that rapper Shady is out of my system:

Can I just gush? Do I have to leave a coherent review? Does it need to be written in sentence form? Or can I just... feels so much perfect love tiny noses and perfect little fingers and mommy and daddy who don’t know how to be but are going to be perfect at this. In laws, brothers sister, a big family for the poor boy that never had one and now he has it all and fuzzy heart.

Few. Okay. Now that I got that out, let’s try a real review.

Ron’s impatience. It’s so perfect. He doesn’t even care what the reason is, he just wants to know what’s going on and no one is delivering that information. Hermione’s answer was so perfect, especially the fact that even she isn’t pleased about the fact that there is no real set schedule for this kind of important thing is so Hermione. I can’t believe how well you get these Weasleys/Potters down.

Arthur and Molly always make my heart so fuzzy. Sometimes I think they’re really not given enough credit, but in this they are the two that have been through it so many times. They lived through the ‘people your own age having kids, making you want them,’ and watched it happen countless times. They are both just such an awesome presence in this first section, and I loved the line about Hermione already preparing to argue her point. Until she realized just what Arthur was going to say. That seemed to shut her up ;).

Okay. You know that I’m not really one of those ‘I must have a baby now’ type of people. I get enough of kids during the day as it is, but this made me want a baby so bad! I just wanted to hold that tiny little bundle in my arms and touch his nose and his barely there eyebrows and kiss his tiny lips. Bah. I was so feels with that. When I tell Ben I want a baby NOW, it’s your fault. Just joking about that part. But you just gave me that tiny little bundle of miracle feeling.

Harry and Ginny’s chemistry together is so phenomenal in this. It was the kind of sweet that makes me want to cry, because I feel like that’s looked over so many times.

Harry talking to the baby felt so natural. I wished I could just see a screen shot of that. And I LOVE that you made James’s eyes brown. They’re always just like Harry’s, never Ginny’s, so that was perfect.

The entire ‘what do we do’ feeling at the beginning of their scene was so perfect too. I mean you’ve just been given a human life!!! You’ve never been responsible for anyone that needs your constant care, and now it’s there! It’s yours! What do you do with it?? I jus wanted to giggle. I can imagine how someone would feel when they’re brining two babies home.

Oh Ginny’s desperate need to take a shower and her ‘gross gross gross’ reminded me that I can wait a few… hundred.. years to have a little bundle of precious.

I really love that you made it just these three. There’s usually so much of the other family, which is great, but this was so perfect to watch how their new life begins. It made it feel so special. You turned my heart into warm fuzzies.

I’m always impressed at your ability to turn something that could be done so.. wrong I guess, into an amazing thing.



Author's Response: Sigh. I guess I have to finally respond to this, huh? I do so enjoy looking at it sitting on my unanswered reviews page. It's long and pretty. Feel free to drop by anytime and bust a freestyle on one of my stories. ;) And feel free to gush as much as you like. I rub it on my ego and it makes it soft and moisturized.

After I finished drafting this, I sat back and read it and felt kind of uneasy about the first section with the four Weasleys. The connection to the rest of the chapter seemed kind of tenuous. But the more I read it, the more I'm happy with it. It ties together well enough with the theme of life transitions and changes. And it sets up Ginny and Harry's section to an extent.

Ha! I imagine that by the time you leave work today, your "must have a baby now" feelings will be tempered sufficiently. They're awesome, but they're a mountain of work.

If there's one thing I can usually do, it's write Harry and Ginny with chemistry. I really love the two of them together and I feel like they both deserve a lot of happiness after what they lived through. So it just works for me.

I seem to recall reading somewhere that James's eyes are known to be brown because only Albus inherited Lily's eyes. But that might not have been anywhere official.

I remember so distinctly that "OK, what do we do now??" feeling. More after we left the hospital than before, but even in the hospital. It's a scary thing. Nobody wants to mess it up somehow, and it really does take a while to realize how tough the little buggers really are.

Yeah, I debated with myself a lot whether to include Ginny's offhand remarks. But you know me, I'm all about thorough and realistic.

I debated whether to bring the rest of the family back into the fold, but in the end it just seemed like it wouldn't add anything. This seemed like a really good ending.

Thank you so much for helping me with this and for such a lovely, encouraging review. 'Til next time!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>