Reading Reviews for The Price of Redemption
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Price of Redemption

12th February 2012:
Awh I love this so much mainly because the plot is so different to the others on the archives.

It is only natural that Hagrid would want to clear his name but it's a situation that's not really been thought of which is why it is just really so different.

I love the way that Hagrid's life had been changed so much by the battle and hoiw even deep seated prejudices didn't automatically go away even though Hagrid had more than proved himself several times over.

Harry still has that fierce Gryffindor pride which is really interesting to see as he would still do anything for his friends even if that means compromising his integrity :D

I really do like this!

Author's Response: I had been pecking away at this story on and off for a couple of months before it finally came together. I haven't done an exhaustive search of the archives, but my cursory search didn't turn up any other stories about Hagrid clearing his name. I suppose it's a little arrogant to think this on a site with over 70,000 stories, but I *might* just have come up with something unique.

A lot of things changed after the battle, but unfortunately some things also did not. So the task falls on Harry to find a way to carry the day. If I have one regret about this story, it's that somewhere along the way it changed from being a Hagrid Story to being a Harry Story. I'm not unhappy with how it turned out, but it wasn't exactly what I was planning from the outset.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #27, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Price of Redemption

10th February 2012:
WOW! I'm a bit mad at myself that I've taken this long to read this. College is taking me away from reading amazing one-shots like this. You know how much I enjoy your story from my reviews. It seems anything you write I'll enjoy. I've never thought about what happened to Hagrid after the war and I didn't know what to expect when reading this. How did you come up with this anyway?

Oh. It was very clever. I really didn't think that they would allow Hagrid to do magic again or have a wand. I think...I don't know. I'm conflicted because this one-shot has brought up a lot of thoughts inside of me. I wonder if J.K. Rowling would have done something for Hagrid. She had him in the last book, he played a huge role but would she have granted something so huge? I just looked on HP wiki and it doesn't say anything, all it says is that he continued his gamekeeping duties.

That's so unfortunate. I wonder if J.K. Rowling would have thought of something like this. It was great how you incorporated the prejudice into this because let's face it, I'm sure after the war that there was still some to deal with. I don't think the wizards would have actually accepted the giants or any other creatures into their lives. I suppose accepting Muggleborns is different because the war was fought over Muggleborns and did lead to good Pureblood wizards to die to try and bring acceptance. I suppose that's why Hermione would have worked in the Magical Creatures Department.

I also found it interesting that you had Harry take the elder wand out. Do you think he would have had a pull towards the wand? I get that it's powerful and could make the purest person do awful things but do you think if Harry kept the wand and accepted it's power he would have gotten power hungry because of it? I think that would have been an interesting turn of events. I know J.K. Rowling wouldn't do that, none of the fans would want that but I think that would be an interesting AU fic to read.

One more thing. Above all, what I liked about this was how Harry had to get the vote swayed for Hagrid to win. Not because he wanted Hagrid to win and that guy was being prejudice but because of the way Harry thought about what he had said/did and how he was analyzing it. I think you brought up a good point. Kind of like a code of ethics within the world of Harry Potter and the way that Auror's would have operated. I know he was only a trainee and the focus wasn't on him in this but I wonder, if anyone found out what he did and put aside the fact that he's Harry Potter what they would do? Because it doesn't seem very ethical. It's obviously not but then again, the Aurors have done some things in the past that makes me question what exactly they follow as a 'code.'

As always this was excellent. You always manage to make me think beyond what you have written. Can't wait for the next update for 'Blood.'

Author's Response: Hello, dear!

I'm feeling pretty humbled about the number of deep thoughts this story was able to bring about. I did invest some time in trying to figure out whether anyone else had tackled this particular topic. I knew from the Lexicon that there was no canon version. For my part, I just couldn't see how Hagrid's friends *wouldn't* have tried to do this for him after the war. It made no sense that he should continue to suffer for what Tom Riddle did.

As far as JKR, maybe this will get addressed in Pottermore at some point. I'd really like to know her thoughts on the subject. I'd really, really like for her to write 5 or 6 more books. ;-) So many little stories left unfinished...

Personally, I don't see this being as much of an Auror dilemma as a Harry dilemma. As Doge rightly pointed out, Harry would have earned a certain level of influence from the war. How and when he chose to use that influence could have made a big difference in his life and the lives of many others. That was what I was trying to explore.

The Elder Wand was just an idea that came to me when I was writing the "meat" of the story. It was simply one more ethical dilemma for Harry to deal with. Personally, I like how he handled it. I don't think Dumbledore would have minded at all.

Thanks so much for your long and thoughtful review! The next chapter of Blood is in the final stages of editing, so I'm hoping it will be up by Monday if the queue stays short.


 Report Review

Review #28, by KatnissMalfoy The Price of Redemption

6th February 2012:
Okay, hi! :)

I thought it was very good! At times, it got a little boring, but overall, good! I don't need to say much more except "Alright, mate" should be "Alright, mate." Um characterisation was good, I thought it was generally interesting but a bit long and windy. Honestly, the pace is a bit slow, but I am here to offer contructive critiscm and that's what I found! :)

8/10

Author's Response: Hi, there. Thanks for taking some time to read my little pet project.

I appreciate all of your constructive criticism. The story definitely wound up being longer than I'd planned. I'm kind of a sucker for technical writing and courtroom drama type stuff, so I'm sure I could have shortened that part and most people would have been pleased. Se la vi.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Manga_girl The Price of Redemption

5th February 2012:
Review Tag!

Hey! I really like this story! I am surprised I have not seen this idea around before - it is a great plunny. I never really thought about what happened to Hagrid but you portrayed it really well. I love your word choice and description, well done!

Emma xx

Author's Response: When I first got the idea, I did spend a little time poking around to see whether there were any other stories based on the same idea and I couldn't find any. In an archive with 74,000 stories, it's probably a little arrogant to ever believe that you've come up with something completely unique, but at least it's not overdone.

I like to think that nice things happened for Hagrid after the war. The poor guy kind of falls off the map in Deathly Hallows. So this was my first take on continuing his story. Maybe I'll have another flash of inspiration somewhere along the way...

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by kirstenalanna The Price of Redemption

4th February 2012:
Hello! kirstenalanna from the forum with your review!

I really don't have many points to point out/ or suggest. Only that for a one shot this is a very long piece to read in one sitting. I'd suggest splitting it up into different parts/ chapters. It would give more incentive for readers to continue reading. When faced with such a huge chunk to read at one go...it can be a bit overwhelming.

Thanks for the good read though!

Author's Response: Hmmmnnn... Not quite sure how to respond to this one. 7,500 words doesn't seem that long to me. I have story chapters that are longer.

At any rate, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Ashling586 The Price of Redemption

3rd February 2012:
I absolutely loved this one shot. I have read a lot of fan fiction and this is the first time I have read something centered on what happened to Hagrid after the war was over. I don't even remember whether or not Rowling put any information about Hagrid in the epilogue or not.
This flowed beautifully, and the pace was great. I felt that the descriptions were prefect. It really helped to bring the story to life. My favorite part was when the boys repaired his wand.
I was so engrossed in the story I have no clue whether there were any grammar mistakes, though I am pretty sure it is safe to say that there wasn't any.
Great job.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I have no idea whether there's been another fan fic along these lines, because there are millions of them, but I haven't found one, either. The idea just seemed very natural to me. Hagrid was expelled on false pretenses, so with Voldemort dead, I would have expected him to try to clear his name.

The section where Harry and Ron repair his wand was a late addition. I wasn't so sure about it, so I'm glad that you like it. I just didn't feel like Harry's revelation in the Great Hall was a strong enough ending.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Roots in Water The Price of Redemption

1st February 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

I really enjoyed reading your first one-shot. It was very unique- I don't think that I've ever read a story before where Hagrid regains his status as a wizard.

I think that you did a marvelous job of making this realistic. Of course Hagrid's case wouldn't be easy, no matter the evidence, because the pureblood bigotry wouldn't just disappear after the war ended. However, I'm glad that you made the deciding voter, Anderson, initially dislike Hagrid not because he was a pureblood traditionalist but because his own parents had suffered when he was a child as half-bloods. His dislike of Hagrid didn't make sense, Harry had that point right, but it was human and so much more real because it wasn't just blind hatred- there was a twisted logic to it.

I also loved your description- it made it very easy to visualize the courtroom and the various conflicts within the story- and your characterization was spot-on, as always. You did a great job with Hagrid's unique dialect- it wasn't too hard to understand what he was saying and it was very similar to his dialogue in the books.

I also found the moral dilemma Harry faced quite interesting because it was a case of "does the end justify the means". As I was reading it I was going to comment on the parallel between Harry and Albus' actions but you beat me to it in the story. I enjoyed reading how Harry reacted to his morally ambiguous actions because it's exactly what Albus had to go through (along with many other people) during the war and I imagine that this helped Harry to better understand his actions and the reasoning behind them- perhaps even dissolve any left-over anger he felt.

I do have a small question. Towards the beginning of the story you wrote "Hermione greeted him with a big hug that reached almost halfway around his leg"- but surely Hermione is taller than that (or at least Hagrid not as big). Though I may be using the movies as a reference, I don't think that Hagrid was so tall that no one (except Madame Maxime) could reach his chest!

All in all, I think that you did a fantastic job with this one-shot! I also liked the way you managed to put the title into the story- it fit very well and was a wonderful closing sentence. Thanks for requesting and I hope that my comments are helpful!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Thanks for checking out my little pet project!

Making this story very realistic was important to me. Anyone who's read my writing knows that I'm obsessive about staying true to canon. It drives me crazy every time a reviewer (I'm looking at you, Beeezie ;-) ) nails me on some little inconsistency. HUGE credit goes to my beta reader, sophie_hatter, for catching a few things that I almost messed up: the size and material of Hagrid's wand and the fact that the lifts in the Ministry don't go all the way down to Level 10, to name a couple.

I didn't want to make Wilton Anderson just another pure blood fanatic. I felt like that would have been boring, and Harry just would not have felt the same degree of self-righteous anger. So I came up with the idea of him being a wizard who grew up suffering from prejudice, himself, but managed to learn all the wrong lessons from the experience. To me, it was a much more interesting twist to put on the story.

The parallels between Albus's dilemma over how to "use" Harry against Voldemort and Harry's dilemma over how to sway Anderson didn't occur to me until late in the writing process, but I really like how it turned out. I thought about making more of it by having Harry and Doge have a longer conversation, but it just didn't seem to add anything. And, yes, I do feel like the realization would have helped Harry get over his lingering anger towards Dumbledore.

As far as Hermione hugging Hagrid's leg... I don't know, it just seemed like a funny thing to picture.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Now I have to get back to the main show...


 Report Review

Review #33, by CloakAuror9 The Price of Redemption

30th January 2012:
Hello!

WOW. This is awesome! Super-duper awesome! I love it.

I really like how specific this story is. Normally, people wouldn't even bother to go so deep into something but you did. Yay for originality! And I also like the way you didn't go overboard with the details. I think there was just a fair amount of details and I liked it -wait, loved it!.

The description is fantastic. It was so detailed. You even manage to get the his yellow tie in the story! I had to give a chuckle or two for that one. I think you really got the visualisation across really well. There weren't any awkward things going on and I didn't have trouble with anything, flawless or what?

And the characterisations were just the best part in the story, for me. I love it. You captured each of the characters really really really good. I like the way Kingsley is still Kingsley and not some power-hungry minister. I love the way Professor McGonagall is still strict, because I just can't imagine her being anything else. The trio were perfection, especially when they were trying to cheer Hagrid up...a scene from CoS came to mind, the one where Ron is spewing out slugs because his spell backfired and they were in Hagrid's hut.

I seriously love this story to no end. You have no idea how much I just love this. I expected something like this from you, yes, but did I thought it was going to be this amazing? No, it was your first try on a one-shot so I had a little doubt but...now I'm just truly amazed. I can't find any faults! Argh. Flawless works, like always.

Congratulations on getting a one-shot published and for making it such an amazing one,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Wow. I don't know quite what to say... I'm kind of blown away by the reaction.

I spent a lot of time debating with myself over how to balance the attention to detail vs. keeping the story tight and easy to read. I'm glad that the balance worked for you. This is something that I wrote over a period of months, coming back to it when I felt like taking a break from Conspiracy of Blood. It was always the stupid, little things that were the hardest to write, like the scene at the very beginning in Hagrid's room.

I'm pleased that you liked the characterizations. I tried really hard to put all the characters in a timeframe of either the fall after the battle or the following spring. So some time has passed since the end of the war, but not too much. I felt like everyone should be returning to normalcy, but not quite there.

Thanks so much for your very encouraging review! I may try some more one-shots in the future.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>