1,024 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Yoshi_Kitten The Greater Fool

22nd August 2014:
Ohmigawdholycow!!! Has it really been 2 years? Are you serious?!? Dang, it seems like it was only last month some time that I was reading this story before, lol. Where the crap did all that time GO??? 0_o'

Anyways, sorry the swap has taken me so long to get to tonight. Work suddenly got busy right after I requested the swap. Go figure. But anyways, I decided to try and pick this back up right where I left off at. But then I realized that I needed to go back a few chapters and jog my memory as to what exactly had happened in the first place, lol! I have been reading this story for over an hour now though, and man do I ever LOVE it!!! Gosh, did I ever miss this place while I was away at school last year! Your writing especially!! ^_^

Ok, so this was one of my favorite chapters so far, I think. It literally had EVERYTHING in it!!! Humor, love, drama, angst, action – this one had it ALL!! I really love the way you switch scenes and give us different glimpses into what's going on with the other characters in this story all within the same chapter. You are really good at knowing where one scene should end, and the other should begin. I've always had such a difficult time choosing where and when to end my chapters. But you do it do flawlessly every single time!! And that takes some seriously mad-skillz, lol. ;)

And I enjoyed reading everyone's interactions with one another here. And I for one am SO glad that you kept Molly & Arthur around even though they are all so much older now. It makes me very happy to see Molly getting to hold dinners and take care of such a LARGE family. I can imagine that this has all been such a dream come true for her. And she deserves it too, after everything that her and Arthur have been through over the years. And your characterization of her was perfect. Honestly tho, you write everybody in the Weasley clan SO WELL, Dan!! How you keep track of everybody is beyond me, lol. There are so many of them also, yet you manage to give each character their own distinct voice and personality. I loved the bit about how Charlie is still caring for Dragons, instead of retiring, and OMG! George's prank on the children was priceless!! That was one of my favorite parts, haha! =D

The conversation between Harry and Rose was so sad! Yet I really loved reading this tender moment between the two of them, especially what she was brought up the fact that he was “just Uncle Harry” and not the Famous Harry Potter who defeated Voldemort. That was a really great way to put things into perspective, I think. Like her mother, Rose seems to be very wise beyond her years... Also, not sure if I mentioned this in any of my previous reviews, but I LOVE the fact that you paired her with Scorpius!! And their daughter, Octavia, is such a cutie. I really like her a lot too.

OMG, when Rose said this:
"...Not judging, mind you. I'd be doing the same thing if we were talking about Scorpius. But what would you do if you caught me pining over his grave? I mean, assuming that it wasn't me who killed him?"
I laughed so much at that statement!! I really so hope that we will get to see more of Scorpius soon too. And speaking of the Malfoys, I'm pretty sure this goes without saying at this point; but I absolutely LOVE the way that you write Draco, lol!!! Always have, always will!! =P

OMGosh, at the beginning of the attack scene at Malfoy Manor, when the two guards were all like “nothing bad will happen” I literally smacked myself upside the forehead, lol! I was like, “why did you just say that?” Any time someone says something like that, it is a sure sign that something bad is most definitely about to happen, haha. And sure enough, right after he said that, all Hades broke loose!! Honestly, Dan, you write those fight scenes SO spectacularly!! I wish that I was half as good as you when it comes scenes like that, lol. And hows about that ending?!? OMG, I was SO stunned!!! I literally sat and stared at the computer screen, with my mouth gaping open in shock, for like ten seconds or more when I got done reading that!! Holyeffinshiznits, did she really just kill him??!?? Yes, yes, I think that she did, lol. :O

OMG, WHO IS THIS WOMAN!?!?? In spite of all her evilness and such, I really do admire her as a Villain. She seems so much more... Idk the right word. Calculated? Anyhow, her vision may certainly be even more terrifying that Voldemort's ever was, and that's saying something. *shivers* It's no wonder you got Best Villain with her though. I just WISH that we knew who she really was, lol!! Is she someone related to Cannon, or just someone you came up with all on your own. The latter would honestly not surprise me at all tho, considering how clever and ingenious you are, Dan. (:

And again, I CANNOT believe that it has been 2 YEARS and I still have yet to finish this Novel!! Oh, and before I forget, what was up with the book? Was it really the Dark Lord's journal in disguise or not? I am assuming not, since she cast it aside along with Flint. But then, what does that mean? Does she have any other leads? Does said journal even exist? Will they give up? GAH!! I need answers, haha!!! =P

Haha, I was so happy when you requested to swap with me, Dan!! God I needed this so badly, lol! I have missed you, and your fantastical writing so gosh darn much!!! OMGosh, this is just amazing!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Luke1813 Epilogue

17th August 2014:
I'm a 42 year old man who, prior to three weeks ago, had never been on any fan fiction site. As someone who has experienced loss, I was deeply moved by your story and your writing. Your 64 year old, widowed Harry struck a chord within me in a way that Rowling's teenage Harry never did. Of course, my life is much different now than when I read her books.
Just wanted you to know that I truly enjoyed your novel. You are a talented writer, and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Hi, Luke,

As a fellow 42 year old man -- no joke, that's the actual truth -- I can appreciate where you're coming from. I enjoy reading Next Gen stories about angsty teenagers getting pregnant at wild parties in the Gryffindor Common Room after winning the Quidditch Cup, but the connection is never really there. I feel like I connected a lot with this Harry while writing this story, and I'm really glad you felt the same.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I hope to hear from you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #3, by J Everything to Lose

25th July 2014:
LADY TENABRA. !!!ARABELA DYNT!!! I CANT BELIEVE IT TOOK THIS LONG!! IM A SCRABBLE CHAMPION!!

Author's Response: Muahahahahaaa!

Seriously, though, thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by caapotter Epilogue

30th June 2014:
I have come across several fanfics since I started this addiction. Some are good and nice, and I am one to like the funny and light stories. My life is so full of problems that I like to be light-headed when I read. Then I started yours. At first it wasn't really my style but before I knew it the story took me in completely. I admire you very much and if my fanfic is a quarter like yours in quality I'll be forever happy. Congratulations. It's an amazing story. You have very much to be proud of. Thank you for this. Thank you for not giving up. If I can suggest my own fanfic "Being Parents", it would be a honor if you read it and maybe reviewed with your thoughts. I have learned tons whilst reading and surely got inspired by your talent.
By best wishes, Caa xx

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm really struggling to get the smile off of my face at this point. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It's hard to explain how much they mean to me.

I'll be sure to check your story out at some point.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by caapotter Ginny's Story

30th June 2014:
Thank you for this chapter. Thank you. :') Caa xx

Author's Response: You're very welcome. Like I said in the author's note, it was as much a gift to myself as to anyone else.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by caapotter Impossible Choices

30th June 2014:
Once again I finished reading with lots and lots of tears in my eyes. First you take Ginny away from us, then I was starting to ease up to Esme and you take her too, Rose is f*cked up and now Neville.
If your writing and your story weren't so damn good I would probably have given up by now. But congrats anyways with your geniality of this story! Caa xx

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I have to admit, this chapter wasn't much fun to write. OK, that's not completely true. The fight scene and the part where the kids take down Professor Tennant were actually a lot of fun. But the ending, not so much. I'll just have to beg your patience. Everything happens for a reason.

I'm glad that you like it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by caapotter Everything That Ever Mattered

25th June 2014:
Whyyy? Whyy?? I'm seriouly crying. Ginny. No :(

But great writing :)

Author's Response: Hi there.

I've said it a lot of times but I don't mind saying it again: the decision I made about Ginny was the hardest decision I made when writing this. I love Harry and Ginny together and I hated doing this to them. I hope you'll understand what I was trying to accomplish.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LoonyMooney Epilogue

17th June 2014:
Wow, great story! You are very talented :) I really enjoyed it
Thanks

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by dobbywhisky Epilogue

16th June 2014:
You are brilliant. Don't ever forget that.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of the kind words. I appreciate them more than you know.

 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTea The Tangled Web We Weave

14th June 2014:
The idea that one would need to be 'studious' to avoid family really made me laugh, because it made me really analyze how big the 'family was' and that made me realize how 'studiously avoiding' really did fit. Sorry for the long rant about one word, but it was really a perfect choice. :D

As a teacher who sometimes has to deal with permission slips and 'so-and-so is going to take little Timmy home today' sort of notes (and then the matter-of-fact moment where you ask that person to see their license because no, it doesn't matter that the child knows them and calls them the right name), really made me appreciate what Neville went through before he conceded to having one person make the request for all of them.

Oh my, you too this very serious moment between Hugo, Ron and Hermione and managed to make me laugh. Ron's comment about sleeping in the bed next to Hermione was simply so RON! :D

You transition from one joke to another, tempering the seriousness of both scenes.

"It had given the guard just enough pause for one of the Aurors to stun him. Harry and Terry both agreed that the older they became, the more uses they found for Luna’s peculiar beliefs."

I loved that!

You did a really brilliant job with the Harry and Hermione scene. Setting him up to be physically near her and then describing his slight tensing as she worried about not getting well and he thought of how she might not walk - that was a great setup.

You write an older Trio very very well.

Uncle Harry playing keeper made me laugh!

"“You imperiused the muggle who killed Potter’s wife? Seriously?” Nott couldn’t help himself. She offered a slight nod from beneath her hood."

The plot thickens! What is up? Who is she? Pale and blond. Did Mrs. Malfoy really die? Luna? No way, right?

Author's Response: Hi! Today seems like a good day to answer reviews. I'm getting ever so far behind.

I'm glad you liked Harry's studiousness. It's been a long time, but I think I actually remember trying a few different words there before I settled on that one.

Given that Neville was a family friend and also a very practical sort of guy, I just had it figured that he eventually would have accepted somebody speaking collectively for Molly and Arthur's family.

Poor Hugo is caught in the middle of the mess. He can't really *make* his father do anything, but he's giving it the old college try.

Everyone can learn something useful from Luna if they listen closely enough. ;)

I really enjoyed writing the Harry/Hermione scene because it's the sort of physical closeness that a lot of fan fic authors shy away from for some reason. I don't get it. They've been friends for over 50 years by this point. A few hugs are too be expected, I think.

The pale, blond woman will be revealed in good time, as will the truth about her involvement in Ginny's murder. If I told you now, it would spoil the fun. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by GingeredTea Fortunes

14th June 2014:
I never really thought of how one would write a female Voldemort. Reading this, I'm now not sure how I'm going to like a female Voldemort. She sounds as cruel as him but with control over her temper. It was Voldemort's lack of control and lack of key knowledge that was his downfall; this lady seems to have what he was lacking, and that worries me.

I have a feeling Harry is going to regret this little hesitation: "Harry thought it over. He would have preferred to keep at least one of the better duelists on the security detail, but he wasn’t sure how to suggest it without giving away the true nature of the mission. “That sounds fine,” he replied."

Harry always did feel lost without something to do - something large and dangerous to get near and "kill".


You managed to capture Harry as a no-non-sense boss, and did a brilliant job. :)

I love how you started the chapter with the concept of 'fortunate' and ended it there as well, illustrating so well the perceptions of good and bad from different sides of a war. :)

Brilliant chapter. Can't wait to read the next one. :)

Author's Response: I think you've got a pretty good feel for her already. Where Voldemort was half-mad, she's as cold and calculating as you'll ever find. What she lacks in raw power, she makes up for with meticulous planning and an almost effortless ability to manipulate people.

Harry might well regret that. At this point, he doesn't realize how much danger the Malfoys are actually in.

That's just Harry's mental makeup. I think he gets very uncomfortable if life is too boring for too long.

This chapter was all about fortunes and misfortunes. With one or two exceptions I can think of, I don't name my chapters until after they're written. Usually I can find some common thread running through each one or something that it reminds me of.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by dobbywhisky Prices Paid in Blood and Sorrow

13th June 2014:
I want ginny back... I always fwlt like sye wasnt developed enough in the books. So to be honest I'm kind of happyesme is dead

Author's Response: Ginny definitely got the short end of the stick, character development-wise. I can see why so many FF readers don't like her. I'd probably feel the same way if not for my expansive head canon that fills in the gaping void that JKR left in her character. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by magnolia_magic Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

12th June 2014:
Tag!

I've heard so many people rave about this story, and when I saw your name in review tag I had to take the opportunity to come check it out. I am so, so glad that I did! I can definitely see why everyone loves it so much. (Do you ever get tired of hearing stuff like that? Hopefully not :))

Anyway. I'm so impressed (and baffled, really) by the level of detail that you've put into creating this post-war world, and how you've portrayed the Weasley family as it's evolved. Harry as a doting grandfather just warms my heart; I always knew he would be a devoted family man. And Ron and Hermione make me laugh! I love your imagining of the trio as they've gotten older. They are so true to the characters we know from the books, but it's still clear that they've experienced a lot more life.

I think the buildup of mystery is going at a great pace so far, and I can't wait to see what unfolds from here. I'm so glad to finally be on board with this story! I can't believe I'm just now checking it out, honestly. Awesome job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi, there! Very long time, no see.

Ha. I never get tired of hearing stuff like that. It's always good to hear that somebody's reading and enjoying the story.

I started writing this story right after a period where I was reading a lot of post-war fan fiction, so I had a lot of head canon stored up. For better or worse, a lot of it came gushing out in this chapter. I'm really glad you find the characters true to the books. That was more important to me than almost anything else.

I'm pleased as can be that you've decided to give it a try. Look forward to hearing what you think.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by dobbywhisky Friends and Allies

11th June 2014:
I read this obsessively on my phone. Whenever I have a free moment I just whip it out. Its permanently saved on my browser. Thought you should know.

Author's Response: You definitely know how to make a guy smile, you know that? Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by GingeredTea Strange Bedfellows

11th June 2014:
I always mean to do a rolling review, but then I get sucked right into your story and end up halfway through before I realize I should be noting my reactions. LOL

That said, I was really impressed by your description of the sisters shopping. My amazement probably has to due with the fact that I hate shopping and therefore wouldn't ten know where to begin describing someone who does. Kudos to you!

The way you write Daphne rushing to tell Astoria something, then forgetting as she admires the dress she picked out for her sister had me laughing.

The scene with Hermione had me on the edge of my seat, and that's probably where I forgot about the review - swept into the story. Will Hermione make a full recovery?

Harry just seemed so Harry here, making everyone worry with his worry.

Then you transition into the Astoria Flint scene and you have me on the edge of my seat again. Draco came at just the right/wrong time. I have a feeling Astoria might have managed a bit more gracefully without him, and maybe with them thinking she could still sway Draco. Her demand/order at the end made me smirk.

Harry speaking to the portraits was a nice breather between the chaos otherwise filling this chapter.

Then you jump right back in with Draco and Harry. I was tense as I read the paced but still dramatic conversation.

I loved this line. “Come to turn yourself in, Malfoy?” Harry said, startling him.

OMG, YOU ARE KILLING ME WITH LAUGHTER! TORTURE! "“Well done, Malfoy,” Harry replied coldly. “You’ve really come a long way, you know? For a moment there, I thought you were going to call my niece a mudblood, and I was about to remind you how it feels to be a ferret.”"

This was an awesome chapter! I wish I had more time review this, but work has been crazy right now. I'm really enjoying this. :)

Author's Response: Rolling reviews are harder than they seem. If I manage to successfully write one, it's not usually a good sign for what I'm reading. ;)

Shopping is probably the only hobby that Astoria and Daphne have in common. They're about as different as sisters can be, but they both have a weakness for retail therapy. Daphne much more than Astoria, obviously. She's also rather easily distracted.

Hermione has a long, difficult recovery in front of her. All throughout this story, I tried really hard to portray war for what it really is. People get hurt. And when they get hurt, they don't just bounce back the next day like they always seemed to at Hogwarts.

I imagine that Harry was a really good boss in most dimensions, but yes, he's really getting on everyone's nerves in that scene. Fortunately, he has Ron and Susan to rein in his less productive managerial tendencies.

Astoria definitely had Flint going before Draco showed up. She was also right at the point where she was going to have to knee him in the unmentionables, though. Draco and Astoria make a good team, even if he's not really willing to admit that he needs the help.

Isn't the Headmaster's office always a bastion of serenity? You know, unless you've just discovered that you're meant to die. ;)

Even if they did learn to tolerate one another and even behave somewhat cordially in the interest of their joined families, I highly doubt that Draco and Harry ever came to *like* one another. The animosities and the philosophical differences just run too deep. It was a lot of fun, writing their bickering and subtle displays of alpha behavior. Even in their sixties, they can't let go of the rivalry.

Your review was very enjoyable! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by dobbywhisky The Silliest Thing I’ve Ever Heard

7th June 2014:
Amazing. No words. Must.keep.reading. ...

Author's Response: Big smile on my face over here. I'm really glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #17, by GingeredTea A Friend Indeed

7th June 2014:
You lulled me into such a sense of pleasantness at the beginning of this chapter; outlining how Draco basically restored his life, how he came to experience the true love for a child through his grandchildren, etc. etc. and then you brilliant flip all this niceness on its head!

Marcus Flint is up to something. I wonder what he's after.

"“Oh, that?” he tried to keep his voice calm. “He was from Gringotts. They’re very eager to get that paperwork resolved.”" Draco's still not very good at lying, is he? LOL

The conversation between Astoria and Hermione was exquisitely written and I loved the aloofness that Astoria tried to maintain and Hermione gently basically telling her 'I can't do anything if you're not going to give me anything'.

The scene at Records was AMAZING!

And the ending, with Draco so terrified for Astoria was really an unfair place to end. ;-)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

In my own mind, I figured Draco's life would have turned out basically alright, subject to certain ups and downs. He is very happy with his family, but Narcissa's inability to manage the family finances has left him in a difficult spot.

Marcus Flint is up to several things, as you'll soon see. :)

I would modify that statement slightly to say that Draco's not good at lying *to Astoria*. As you'll see later, he's fairly adept at lying to other people.

I imagine basically all conversations between Hermione and Astoria as negotiations. It comes naturally to Astoria because of her aristocratic pureblood background and Hermione is a no-nonsense kind of person when she's annoyed. She's definitely getting annoyed by the end of this conversation. ;)

Magical records! The first duel scene that I wrote for HPFF. I'm always kind of partial to it, so I'm glad it played well for someone who knows a bit about writing duels.

Ha! Fair has nothing to do with it. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by whisky dobby No More Secrets

6th June 2014:
I am addicted to your story.i keep meaning to write a review but then greedily turn to the next chapter.so glad I dont have to wait for you to post them and its already completed. Yoy deserve the reward!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really appreciate it. Would love to know more of your thoughts and reactions.

 Report Review

Review #19, by mischiefalwaysmanaged The Injuries We Can’t See

2nd June 2014:
I know that you've long since finished this story, but my enjoyment of the novel (mingled with my fear of being reincarnated as a squirrel :) ) has compelled me to leave this review. Great work! As always with your stories, I'm eager to see how it plays out. you're shaping up to be my favorite author on this site!

Author's Response: Ha! Nobody wants to end up as a squirrel. I'm very pleased that you chose the safe path. ;)

I'm really glad that you're enjoying it! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and reactions!


 Report Review

Review #20, by mischiefalwaysmanaged Strange Bedfellows

27th May 2014:
Damn, this story is amazing! It also helps that it fits in flawlessly with the storyline from Padfoot4ever's Delicate, which I recently finished reading. I'm glad that I ran into Detox because it introduced me to the rest of your amazing work! Can't wait to see how this novel ends! :)

Author's Response: Hello, again! So one quick suggestion: be careful with language in your reviews. I wouldn't want to see you get in trouble with the site rules so soon after joining.

Delicate was definitely an influence on this story, along with a few other stories on the site.

I hope you enjoy the rest of it. Please take a second to let me know if you do! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by GingeredTea Those Who Don’t Learn From History

26th May 2014:
Once more, this was a brilliant story. As someone who has tried to write Harry as a guest teacher - I give you many many gold stars.

This whole chapter was jam packed with information, although I'm still itching to know what happened to Ginny. I liked how you didn't make Harry's grandson super great at dueling.

The scene with Dennis - I could see how much that would bother Harry and what he did to rectify such a misunderstand/lack of information as both brave, brilliant and a bit rash (a perfect Harry plan).

Professor Binns...why don't they just move the classroom and professor Binns can just talk to an empty room? I honestly feel like from cannon description he wouldn't know the difference!

Brilliant chapter! Thank you for the chance to swap!

Author's Response: I can't tell you how much fun I had writing the whole dueling lesson. It was one of those times I could really indulge my love of writing action scenes and also give Harry a rare happy moment in the sun. I really can't stand stories where every member of the Potter and Weasley family is automatically a super-talented duelist and automatic Auror material. Harry's grandchildren are having to work for it like anyone else.

Keep an eye on Dennis as the story goes on. Harry opens his eyes to some unpleasant truths in this chapter. Dennis is sort of a microcosm of a wizarding world that's become complacent and naive about the dangers of dark magic.

Interesting you should say that about Professor Binns. Try to remember that thought when you make it to chapter 40. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks to you for the swap, as well!


 Report Review

Review #22, by GingeredTea Losses

20th May 2014:
I read this chapter a while ago - probably between essays - but it is just wonderful how it all stayed with me. I just had to read the first line or two, and I knew exactly where I was.

The way you entered into the chapter was wonderful - showing us a Harry we more easily recognize. Diligent, emotional but strong. I could sense him looking around the court room and knew exactly where his eyes were landing based on your descriptions. It flowed as if it were a movie in my head.

The way you broke from the courtroom and the family reunion to the scene between Percy and Harry was brilliantly orchestrated. Harry asking Hermione and Ron if they knew how much they meant to him, and Ron's sincere but casual (which is what Ron has always seemed to me when he isn't being hot-headed) response was about as perfectly Ron as I have encountered!

The scene itself with Percy was...perfect. I'm not sure how else to say it.

"“You know what we’re here to discuss,” replied Harry, regarding his brother-in-law levelly."

I could see Harry doing that, see his expression.

And then when Percy described the killing curse and Harry doubted - as Harry always does - the evilness of Tom, that was also so...Harry.

To end it with a discussion between those we lost - Lily, James, Sirius, Dumbledore - it left me wiping at my eyes as I scrambled to read on.

Thank you for such a brilliant read. As always, this was a beautifully written chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry for the embarrassingly long delay in responding.

I'm glad the courtroom scene was easy to visualize and it was easy to imagine Harry sitting there. Several of the small details in this scene turn out to be rather important later, so I hope they stick with the reader.

Ron is pretty tricky to write, so it's gratifying to hear that he sounded right. You can't make him too soppy or it just doesn't work in my experience.

Keep Harry's discussion with Percy in the back of your mind as the story moves forward. I don't want to give away too much, but there's a lot more going on with Percy than meets the eye.

The conversation between the portraits wasn't in my original draft. The idea hit me while I was editing the chapter. I have to say, I'm rather pleased with how it turned out.

I'm happy that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Everything That Ever Mattered

2nd May 2014:
Review tag swap! :P

That's quite a title for Harry. Imagine if he had to put all of that on a nametag.

Sorry, I should have warned you I'm a really rambly, scatterbrained reviewer. Anyway, I definitely laughed at the fact that Al's daughter is named Lillian, and James's son named Artie. This family is seriously all about recycling names :P

After I had finished giggling about Harry's musing to himself about how ridiculous he looks sitting there and how "the supper club is missing their prominent eccentric", it dawned on me how rambly Harry is in this as well, and Ginny's not responding - and then I just realized Ginny is dead. (So, I guess the part in the prologue wasn't an illusion or anything, she just actually was dead. I assume now that it was after a long period of time has passed.) And it really shows Harry's reminiscing in a different way. I think it's sweet that he takes time to talk to his dead wife and update her on the things that are happening in life, awww. I like the way you wrote Harry as a grandfather, just thinking about all the events and the people in his life. He seems very at peace here.

The way you describe the Potter estate is just lovely! It sounds so peaceful and picturesque with its pond and grassy field. Kind of like an Impressionist painting.

I had been thinking, in the beginning of this chapter after I figured out that Ginny was dead, that she had died of old age or something - after all, Harry is a grandfather by this point. but with the bit about Harry not being able to save her, it seems something more sinister happened, and I'm wondering how long ago she died, and in what way... (I suppose that's what the rest of the story is for.) The part when Harry cries at how he couldn't save Ginny was heartbreaking :(

Well, great chapter once again! I am really eager to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Ha! I suppose Harry would just have to get that printed on a t-shirt or something. It's a mouthful.

Please don't apologize for your reviewing style! I love hearing everyone's thoughts and reactions. I imagined a lot of family names being passed down among the Weasleys, with the exception of Ron and Hermione's family, of course. The definitely blew up the pattern with Rose and Hugo.

I tried to conceal the truth about Ginny for a while. I don't know whether it was that effective. Maybe I was in denial more than anything. Harry certainly is. Not having her be a part of this story was definitely the hardest decision I had to make. :( He might seem at peace in the beginning, but believe me, he's anything but.

Yeah, I figured that sooner or later Harry would buy a nice place for his family to live. I always imagined him as the sort of father who would want all the things for his children that he didn't have growing up: love, attention, kindness, toys and a huge place to play surrounded by friends and family. Since he had the money to make that happen, why not?

You'll find out pretty soon what happened to Ginny, but some of the particulars won't come out until the very end. Her death is very wrapped up in the core mystery of the story.

I'm glad you're enjoying it. I hope you have a chance to read more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Prologue

2nd May 2014:
Tag!

Wow, I can't believe it's taken me this long to read some of your writing; I've been meaning to do so for a long time!

From the very first sentence I could tell where Harry was, so impressive job on setting the scene with only one sentence. I like how Harry's not really too bothered about being dead, since he's been here before, and just kind of waits around to see what's happening. I guess he's in no hurry.

Interesting that he can't remember how he died, though. Or perhaps he isn't dead, because I can't imagine you've written a 40 chapter story about someone who's already dead. Maybe he's just standing in King's Cross after some rebellious teenagers have vandalized the clock and stolen its hands, and poured Bolivian Instant Lightness Powder everywhere, which is probably something like Peruvian Darkness Powder, only with an opposite effect.

Or I could just read to find out, because I'm probably wrong. Anyway, this prologue raises SO MANY QUESTIONS and it's basically brilliant. I will definitely be continuing reading this! Great start!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow. That's a pretty impressive draw from the first sentence. I'm glad you liked Harry's fatalism about being dead... again. It's a part of his personality that always sticks out in my head when I'm writing.

He can't remember how he died *yet*. The scene you see in the prologue is actually the first part of a scene that plays out in chapter 38. There are good reasons for what's happening here, but I can't tell you any of them without ruining the rest of the story.

If you have a lot of questions then this prologue accomplished its intended purpose. I hope you get a chance to read more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by writeyourheartout Everything That Ever Mattered

28th April 2014:
Why hello again, Dan! ^.^ I've come back for more!

So, I have to start by pointing out what is quite possibly an extremely arbitrary detail to be bringing up at all, but whatever, I'm doing it anyway: that opening paragraph cracks me up! Not because it's particularly funny, but because it's just this long list of honorable and/or cherished titles - ranging from Order of Merlin First Class to grandfather - that comes to a close with Harry doing the most normal thing in the world: simply chillin' outside sipping on some water and chatting with his wife! LOL All he ever really wanted was normalcy, and there it is. hahaha Love it.

There is something so endearing about 64 year old, grandfather Harry. The way he talks about his granddaughter, Lillian, getting sorted, and then about their interaction after one of his classes (love that he's teaching, by the way - I assume DADA?) and it makes him all misty eyed... ugh, so sweet. In fact, every time he thinks fondly about any of his children or grandchildren, it just warms my heart! It says to me that life after the war was mostly good to him, which is really what he deserved. After a childhood with the Dursley's, it's just nice to see that he got a true family of his own in the end. :)

And the Neville bit! Ha! I think he'd be a great Headmaster, and it was a really sweet touch to mention how the portraits of all the Headmaster's past seem to approve of him, with the exception of the ever surly Snape, still with the power to frighten Neville, even in pint-sized proportion! hehehe Poor kid can't catch a break from that man, can he? ;)

...So I'm about a quarter of the way through this chapter, and I was just hit with the overwhelming feeling that Ginny might be dead... She hasn't said a word yet and Harry's just rambling on and... I don't know, man, did you kill her off? *reads on* Still hasn't said what's happening outright yet, but the more I read, the more I think that perhaps she's still there and alive, only there's something seriously wrong with her... like Alzheimer's or something akin to what Alice and Frank Longbottom suffered from... Eep! I'm all nervous now! *bites nails* OH GOD HE'S CRYING, IT'S COMING - WHAT IS IT? O_O

No! Dan! She's dead! Ugh, my heart! I don't even like Ginny all that much, but the way you built that up and revealed it was so gut-wrenching! I mean, this right here: "Why her? Why not me? . . . I'm supposed to protect everybody. Why couldn't I save her?" Rip my heart out, why don't you? Really, it's beautifully unfolded and incredibly sad. Harry always did struggle with survivor's guilt, and he's so hard on himself when someone passes and he's unable to stop it. I can't tell if whatever took Ginny's life was something that he actually could have prevented, but I think it's probably just him taking responsibility for something that he would never have been able to control, no matter what he'd done differently. I assume we'll eventually learn what killed her? *pokes for information* :-p

Even after he sobers, the ending is still quite heavy and emotional. This part is particularly poignant: "At the moment, it sat empty with all the children off at school and the adults going about their daily lives. Almost as empty as Harry felt." It must feel impossible at times to be all alone in that big house, and it sounds like he's about at his wits end. I have to hope that he doesn't do anything so foolish as give up on his own life to be with Ginny, because as someone with a relatable experience, I can tell you that that would be really unfair of him to do to his kids and grandchildren and friends - anyone who cares about him, really - because you don't walk on your family like that. It's selfish, and Harry is better than that. At least I certainly hope he is... *glares at Dan* ;) I'm under the impression that he'll soldier on, though, because that intro springs to my mind... I feel like he must have died much more heroically... ah, I don't know! I suppose I'll just have to keep reading to find all of this out, huh? I have no problem doing that. :-p

Anyway, back to some other stuff: I love the way you've worked in details about Harry's family and the life he's grown into during the 20+ years since we last saw him in the epilogue. It's just small little bits and pieces that help us string together the time that's passed without overloading us with information. I think I mentioned this in my last review, but I really dislike it when too much information is doled out all at once, because it just becomes too much to keep track of so immediately. You've spread it out and really only given us the bare minimum to hang onto for now, which is perfect because it's still enough to connect the dots. It makes for a really pleasant read.

So basically, after all of that which has now been said, I've drawn but one conclusion: You're a great writer, dude. ^.^ Seriously, this was another excellent chapter, my friend, and I sincerely look forward to reading on!

Tanya ^.^

P.S. Happy 1,000th review, Dan. ;)

Author's Response: Hi, Tanya! Time to catch up on answering reviews and that means responding to this one, probably the most rewarding review I've gotten since the very first one. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I did want to start this chapter off by showing Harry in a completely relaxed moment of total, mundane, bland, ordinary normalcy. Because I agree with you. That's what he always wanted growing up and he could never really have it.

Believe me, I got *very* endeared to "grandpa Harry" while I was writing this. Again, I just loved that idea of his life ending up happy and normal. Well, as normal as Harry Potter's life was ever going to be, at any rate. Harry is sort of like a guest lecturer at Hogwarts. He teaches a basic defense class for first years and an advanced dueling class for sixth and seventh years. It winds up being a form of recruiting for the Aurors, not that he doesn't enjoy doing it just because.

Neville is a fantastic Headmaster. You'll find out just how good later on...

Your intuition is... well, I'm sad to say that it's accurate. One thing I learned while writing this story is that finishing a long novel involves making a lot of tough choices. The choice to not have Ginny be part of this story -- well, most of it, anyway -- was the hardest choice I made. It was really sad for me, because here Harry is living this relatively charmed life and he loses the one person he most wants to share it all with. You'll find out much more about the circumstances surrounding her untimely death as the story unfolds. There isn't much I could tell you at this point without totally ruining it for you.

I think I've said it in a dozen or more review responses: at the time, this chapter was the most emotional thing I'd ever written. I wasn't at all sure I'd done it justice until I had a few more chapters under my belt and I could go back and reread it. Reading it still makes me sad, even to this day. I guess that suggests I did an OK job with it.

Sometimes when I reread this chapter -- which I don't do often because it's sad -- I feel like maybe I dumped too much back story into it. Other times I don't. Eh, who am I kidding, I'm almost certainly not changing it at this point. I'd have to probably reword the next 4 chapters to get all of the information back in.

What can I say? You made my day, my week, and I think I'll always look back fondly on the month of April 2014. Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>