Reading Reviews for The Wrinkles of the Road
  
157 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Ren_star Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

22nd April 2015:
Great story. Hate the cliff hanger. Hope you update us soon on Rose. I like how you showed the emotional side of Scorpius And have him open up to Rose. Scorpio should have yelled out that he didn't know he was the prox. keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I've now moved that conversation to the next chapter and - er - spiced it up a little more (and explained why he didn't want to tell them that he didn't know, which I didn't properly address before). I'm not sure what you'll think of it, but I hope you enjoy it this time around, too! ♥ Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by DragonPatronus Rose. --- Falling Into Bad Habits.

22nd April 2015:
I feel like I've missed a huge part of the story between the last 2 chapters. What did Rose and Scorpius fight about? At the end of the last chapter he apparated her home and they were happy? Good chapter otherwise but it would be good to be able to join the dots a bit easier. Also her new attraction to Dedworth is a bit sudden.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review! I can see why you felt confused - I'm actually in the middle of editing the story. The chapters with the POV character at the beginning of the title (e.g., "Rose. --- The Letter.") have been edited, but this one hasn't yet. I'm working on getting the new chapters up as quickly as possible - I should have the edits up by the end of the month. :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Guest Scorpius. --- Disturbing Injuries.

20th April 2015:
I've been reading for a while, and love these new chapter additions. It's really great to see Scorpius's views and his life besides Rose. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying the new chapters. :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by ayumi Scorpius. --- Disturbing Injuries.

19th April 2015:
I am loving the scorpius povs!! I love reading how he thinks and feels etc as well as rose because they're so different but so similar and compatible at the same time...I love all the healing descriptions as well!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad they're working for you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #30, by SunshineDaisies Scorpius. --- Colliding Callings.

18th April 2015:
And this chapter is back on track with the great transition.

I like the sort of side by side story telling that you're doing, it's just a little rough at the seams. The transitions from Rose to Scorpius work wonderfully, but are a bit off from Scorpius to Rose, and that sort of makes Scorpius's chapters seem out of place. Which is really a shame because the story itself works very well from two perspectives, and actually I think Scorpius's POV is a great enhancement to the story overall. I can't imagine reading this without them.

And because I know I really like when people are very specific in their reviews, here's what I've noticed. I think the Rose to Scorpius transitions work so well because the Scorpius chapters pick up immediately where Rose's leave off. The Scorpius to Rose transitions are a bit rougher because there's nothing connecting the chapters together. There isn't a better or worse way to start a chapter, but when the two very different types of beginnings are so close together, it makes the story feel a bit disjointed.

I would actually recommend just adding the Scorpius chapters to the end of the Rose chapters, but your chapters are a pretty solid length already. So I think going through and adding a little to the beginning of the Rose chapters to sort of string them together will make the whole thing flow very nicely.

And while I'm here, I think your Draco is excellent. I think he is an especially difficult one to handle, especially 25+ years into the future, because who knows how he would have grown? I think you did a really great job of making him less passionate and more compassionate.

Great work and absolutely wonderful story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! You've been so incredibly helpful with your feedback about the transitions - I can totally see how Scorpius-to-Rose could come off as awkward, because the Scorpius chapters have been added in after the fact and I haven't necessarily smoothed it over sufficiently. I've gone back to the Rose chapters and tried to improve that - hopefully you'll feel like I succeeded when I rerequest. :)

I'm also really happy you like the way I've portrayed Draco - he's definitely hard to handle, but I've always been very firm about stagnation on the part of Hogwarts-era characters so far in the future. I wanted to show character development and growth, because god, I can't even say how much I've changed since I was 17 or 18. And that wasn't so so long ago, either! Still, though, it makes me nervous... so I'm really happy it came off well. ♥ Thank you for the review!

Branwen


 Report Review

Review #31, by SunshineDaisies Rose. --- Out On a Limb.

18th April 2015:
Hello again!

I'm not sure if you went through and edited Rose's chapters along with adding Scorpius's, but I think the way this chapter starts makes the story a bit choppy. Starting this chapter in the same place the last chapter began feels a bit like backtracking. I was very conscious of the fact that I needed to rewind my mental timeline.

The first sentence of the chapter seems a bit wordy, cutting it down may make the transition a bit smoother.

Other than that, this was stellar!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this feedback - it's been incredibly useful! I actually went through and rearranged things so that it picked up after the Scorpius chapter ended, and I added the Lucy scene to the end. I'm not sure if that will help, but I'm hoping it does, because I totally see what you mean.

Thank you for the review!

Branwen


 Report Review

Review #32, by SunshineDaisies Scorpius. --- Plans for the Future.

15th April 2015:
I think this chapter is an excellent transition between two character pov chapters. It picks up a little bit after we'd left off, but it starts with a scene different enough that it stays interesting. The first sentence really does a lot to tie the two together. It makes perfect sense for the story to pick up with him here, so we get more of a sense of him as a character and his thoughts concerning Rose and his family.

I think parts of this chapter seemed a little off pace compared to the previous one. It feels like it covers a significantly longer period of time, but in roughly the same amount of words. It makes it seem a little rushed.

This is most notable in the middle of the chapter, between Scorpius leaving the Potters and going to St. Mungo's. I love how you transitioned here, without using line breaks. It seemed very smooth and natural, but I ended up being a bit confused as to when the scene at Mungo's takes place. I wasn't sure if it was immediately after the Potters or if it was the next day. I think you allude pretty strongly to it being the next day, but I think a line or two of action would really make that clear.

I think this is a really good place to end the chapter as well. The scene is wrapped up perfectly and it's a great place to switch to a different scene and a different pov entirely. It's great.

Like I said in my first review, I think this story is so wonderful and I think this chapter was really great. And it really is so much fun to read! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review - this is *exactly* what I was hoping you'd notice and point out! ♥ I went back and added a line or two that should hopefully make the progression a little clearer - you're totally right that it was a little confusing, and hopefully I've fixed that.

I'm not quite sure what to do about the pace - I do see what you mean, though! - so I'm going to have to think more about how I can address that. :)

Thank you so much for the review, and I'm glad you're enjoying the story so much!


 Report Review

Review #33, by SunshineDaisies Rose. --- A Weasley Family Saturday.

15th April 2015:
Hi! So first off, I'm so sorry that I PM'd you about reviewing and then fell asleep. I meant to get to this much sooner! Sleep is just so tempting.

Second, I think this is a really wonderful start to this story! It's a great way to introduce the characters, and it's always refreshing to read a story where the couple is already together, rather than falling in love.

The whole premise of the story it's so interesting, I love it. It plays into all of my fic interests in a completely different way than I would ever imagine and I love it. So you know, thanks for requesting. :)

I'm sure you've heard all of that before but it never hurts to hear it again.

I'm planning on leaving more specific reviews on the next three chapters, but I wanted to give you a little general feedback as well.

I think that this story works really well from two perspectives. I think it's important to know what Scorpius's thoughts are, because I think it would be easy to pass off his request just from Rose's perspective. Definitely a wise decision to include the new chapters. :)

The main thing I've noticed is that chapters 3 and 4 don't transition as well as the first two. Chapter 3 starts before chapter 2 ends, and it made it a little hard for me to follow the chronology.

Other than that though, I think the chapters fit together very well!

Author's Response: Aw, no worries! Sleep is totally tempting. For a little while, I was be able to pretend it wasn't, but that phase didn't last. (Also, it's taken me a couple days to respond, so I'd be a bit of a hypocrite if I minded.)

I'm so glad this plays into a lot of your interests! I thought it *might,* from the things you said you liked, but I wasn't sure because it seemed like it sort of hit on a lot of them but didn't quite squarely hit on any.

Thank you so much for reviewing this. ♥ I really, really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Kristina1990 Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

10th April 2015:
First of all, I just realised that you have (finally! :)) found the time to continue with the story. It makes me very happy, because I always appreciated your interpretation of Rose and Scorpius.

The last chapters made it quite obvious that the character differences between Rose and Scorpius clash more and more as they becomes more invested in their jobs. While they both try to understand their differences and opinions, they struggle hard to make it work. I hope they find a way. They are best together :).

I like the shift in perspective, because it gives a nice change in pace and thoughts. I wouldn't mind more of them.

Hope you find time to update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! Yes, there are definitely going to be more shifts in perspective, both before this chapter and after it - I'm planning to ultimately make this about equal in terms of Rose's pov and Scorpius's. There are four or five Scorpius chapters that are actually going to slot in before this at various spots, and then I'll continue on with this plotline.

Thank you so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by greenphantomme Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

10th April 2015:
I really like the story, characters and mystery you have going! I can't wait to find out more about what's happening.

One piece of writing advice for something I noticed on reading through all the chapters - Rose and Scorpius say 'I love you' a lot. More than a lot, really, every instance where they're together they're both saying it. Unless you're specifically designing the story this way - it almost comes across as dysfunctional. Like they're trying to convince themselves of it and don't really believe it. You know the old adag: show, don't tell. There are certainly ways to show this that would be more powerful than those 3 words, because they've kind of lost their meaning now and I'm missing a lot of the character building/defining moments that could be happening in their place. Real conversations and activities. Not to say that people can't still be a bit dysfunctional and love each other. Perfect people aren't real. But all the 'I love you's' with the insecure thoughts characters are having are coming across as insincere and fake.. and then I'm wondering why they're still together. Convenience? Boredom?
But - this might be intentional, so if it is you can ignore this rant! haha

Anywho, I'm excited to find out where this adventure will take us. I love the career path Rose and Scorpius are on and I'm sure lots of exciting things are bound to happen. I really like the comradeship between Van and Vic as well. Those are some of my favourite scenes! I think their characters are very well developed.

Cheers, and can't wait for the next chapter. :) Hope you don't take my musings as too harsh - just trying to offer some advice!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I definitely don't think you were too harsh - I'm actually going through and editing this story (including adding in a lot more chapters before continuing it) for Camp NaNo, and part of why I wanted to do that was because I felt like the story was a little too haphazard and lacked a really cohesive narrative of their relationship and their career paths thus far. I'm glad you mentioned the "I love you" thing in particular - you're totally right, and I'm keeping on the lookout for that while I edit.

Thank you so much for your review - it was really, really helpful. ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by Pilar Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

24th March 2015:
I found cinas first on fan fiction and headed over to this site to read this, and I'm so glad I did!! This is seriously one of the best stories out there; your writing is amazing and I love the plot of cinas and this!! Definitely approve of the pov change, and would love to see a healthy mix of both rose and scorpius in the future. I hope rose has no fertility issues!! Pleasepleaseplease update soon

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm actually *just* finishing up editing CINAS, and then I'll get started on editing this (and then continuing it, obviously). I hope you'll check out the edited CINAS when it goes up and that you like the changes! ♥

 Report Review

Review #37, by ohmymerlin Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

25th September 2014:
Ooh GO SCORPIUS YOU SHOW THEM!

I really loved how at the start he was thinking "I'm going to be super respectful" but by the end he was like "nup no more I am an adult and need respect"

I'm glad he said that. Hermione and Ron needed to hear it!

But oh no, her fertility might be affected :( And oh god I hope it doesn't kill her!

It's going to be interesting when Rose wakes up though. I'm excited to read that chapter!

Anyway, this was another flawless chapter! Absolutely loved reading from Scorpius' POV!

10/10 :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, poor Scorpius - he wanted to be respectful, really, he did, but... well... parents don't necessarily make it easy, do they?

I'm glad that you liked Scorpius's POV. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #38, by ohmymerlin Rose. --- Danger Behind Every Corner.

25th September 2014:
Hmmm... where do you think the impulsivity comes from? I wonder which gene has that impulse... I really wonder :P

OH MY GOD ROSE PLS THINK BEFORE YOU DO

I am so worried about her right now!

But seriously, I really really LOVE the way and style of your writing. There's just something about it I can't get enough of! I really love it. I just love all your descriptions and dialogue, especially the dialogue. It feels so real and natural and never feels awkward or clunky. Absolutely love it!

Anyway, I'm off to read the next chapter! I hope Rose is okay!

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Yeahhh, that's Rose. I'm glad this comes off so well - I love this story, but I always get tense about my writing, so hearing that it works is wonderful. ♥

 Report Review

Review #39, by Avanell 2 Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

18th September 2014:
Very interesting update! Kinda wished he told them HE didn't know about the health proxy either! Hope she pulls full with all her abilities for adventure...just maybe add some more caution ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Anonymous Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

15th September 2014:
I liked this chapter. I think his slight exasperation with Rose's lack of communication, while still being focused on her and worried was very well written. I can't wait to read more and see the reactions when she wakes!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like the story as much as you do. :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by coolgf Scorpius. --- An Unpleasant Revelation.

14th September 2014:
Yes. Love this story. More please.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'll try to get the next chapter up soon!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Avanell 2 Rose. --- Danger Behind Every Corner.

31st August 2014:
Wow! Exciting update! Please update soon :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm sorry it's been so long, but I'll definitely be updating soon!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Unicorn Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

22nd July 2014:
Hey! This is a great story and I absolutely love your writing, and to be honest I'm having a really hard time finding a fanfic whose writing I can actually tolerate :) will you be continuing with this story anytime soon?

Author's Response: I will be! I was very busy with school this past year, so unfortunately the story got put on hold, but I've been working on the next chapter and will hopefully have it up in the next week or so. :) Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #44, by potterhead1704 Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

20th June 2014:
Love this chapter. Thanks beeezie for writing these amazing stories. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'll be putting the next chapter up soon, and I hope you enjoy it just as much. :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Anon Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

22nd May 2014:
This is such a great story, your characterizations are so solid and enjoyable to read.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Duckgirl07 Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

16th April 2014:
Hi! I just wanted to drop a line and say that I've been binge reading this and Curiosity the last two days and I love your characters! I also love that the story isn't overly dramatic but well captures the small daily life conflicts and situations. Basically - I love this story! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! That's completely what I was going for, and I'm so glad it worked for you! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by writeyourheartout Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

22nd March 2014:
Hey again, Beeezie! So sorry it's taken me so long to get to this second review! March has been a little hectic, and while it's not exactly slowed yet, I'm taking a break from the madness to review again! Yay! ^.^

This was another great chapter! Sort of simple, though not at all boring or slow or without purpose! Nothing wrong with simplicity! And in this case, it really gave us a more in depth look at your main pairing!

I really do love the relationship between Rose and Scorpius, and this chapter in particular really showcases the two as a couple and their dynamic with one another. We get to see a lot of sides to them here - the way they wheedle information out of one another, the forms of distraction they use to get away from something they don't want to admit to or talk about, the way they can go from annoyed to comforting to scared and helpless to... adult time happiness. hehehe There's just something so real about the two of them. It's great.

Rose is such a fun character to follow. I love when we get to see the sneakier side to her, because I think most people have that side to them, and so it's easy to relate to her when she uses Scorpius' mention of Van and the face he pulls to poke for information without having to bring up the fact that she'd been eavesdropping. She wanted him to know that she knew he was feeling insecure about Van, but she did it in a way that kept her out of trouble - it's very compelling to read her thoughts during that section - especially because she's still such a likeable character.

I loved seeing the broken down side of Scorpius, sad as it was. I imagine this is probably how a lot of people who work in medicine might feel because they know how easily people break and how often they don't recover. They start seeing the world for all the ways it can hurt the people they love and how, ultimately, there is only ever so much a person - even a professional Healer - can do to fight off permanent damage or death. Having so many people so close to Scorpius being off with their dangerous jobs must be really hard for him to handle all the time. But I bet he feels better after a nice cry; I know I always do! :-p Still, makes me want to snuggle him! Poor thing.

So I know I mentioned this in my last review, but I really do like the bit of trouble that Van's stirred up between Rose and Scorpius - it's just a fun additional level that adds a bit of tension to the story without feeling overbearing or overly-dramatic. I also love that Van is a character who's going to be around (unless he gets hurt or killed or something), and so Rose will continue working with him while Scorpius has to fight his insecurities. It'll be interesting to see how it continues to play out! I still have it in my head that it won't actually be a thing that comes between them, but hey, what do I know? ^.^

The pacing of this chapter is really great. You fit a lot of details through dialogue into this chapter, but still pause for more descriptive phrasing where it's needed, allowing the more emotional moments to have some reflective depth. It gives the chapter, as a whole, a really great flow - quickly paced in some sections, but slowed down in the moments that require a bit more feeling. Really good.

And just a few very minor things:

"Be... be careful tomorrow. You might not care much about your life, but I do." - I think this is the first time something was said about one of your characters that I didn't quite feel like I understood - like maybe I'm missing some information (possibly from the prequel). Of course, it's very possible that I just missed or forgot something mentioned earlier in this story, but I'll ask anyway: Is there a reason Scorpius doesn't think Rose values her life all that much? I've never gotten that feeling from her. I know she has a dangerous job and was a Gryffindor at school, but I don't think there's been anything that's made me question her self-preservation in a dangerous situation. Not that she wouldn't be the type of person to risk her life for someone else, but I think there's a difference between that and not valuing your life.

"It (The, not It) door suddenly opened wider, and Scorpius stumbled back into his cousin Johanna."

"But... Scorpius, look, our jobs our (are, not our) dangerous, but it's not like we're Hit Wizards."

Overall, I really liked this chapter! I'm really enjoying the story and like your characters more and more with each new chapter! They're all developing really well, as individuals and in relation to one another. And the hints of action and adventure and mystery to come still have me intrigued! I look forward to the next chapter!

Tanya :)

Author's Response: Aw, no worries - my March has been hectic, too. I haven't forgotten your third chapter, though, and I'll head over to do the review soon. :)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Thank you so much for all your kind words.

I definitely agree about Scorpius - a huge part of what's fueling this is that at this point, he really is very aware of how easily it is to break human beings and how hard it can be to put them back together (metaphorically speaking), and he hasn't really been doing this long enough to get real perspective... because Rose is right, too - there are plenty of people in dangerous professions who live to retire in perfectly good health.

I can see how that line could come off a bit strange. It's not something that I think would really have been clarified if you've read Curiosity is not a Sin, though. Rose can definitely be a bit reckless sometimes and doesn't always think out what she's going to do, which is what Scorpius is talking about... but he's definitely taking that and making an assumption that isn't completely warranted.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by writeyourheartout Rose. --- A Coming Storm.

28th February 2014:
Hello Beeezie! ^.^

So I've been reading this story for the past two days and have really, really been enjoying it! I wanted to leave reviews on these final two chapters because your fic - like many chaptered stories - has hit a bit of a review decline for the last two - which is quite silly, really, because this one was so great and I expect the next one will be as well! The entire story has been great, to be honest! I'm not a particular fan of Next Gen either, so the fact that I've enjoyed this so thoroughly should tell you how good it is. :)

Before anything else, I want to tell you that I know this is a sequel to another Next Gen story you have - presumably a Hogwarts-centric fic where we see where this Rose/Scorpius relationship began - but it really has worked as a stand alone story too! I don't know if there are a lot of hints back to the first story, but if so, you've managed to make it easy to follow for those who haven't read the original, which is great, in my opinion! I think a big reason for this is because even though the Weasley clan in the next generation is absolutely huge, you plucked out a few stand-outs to focus in and concentrate on, and that's been really helpful in keeping track of everyone's lives and personalities and relationships!

Anyway let me shift my focus now to this chapter in particular! ^.^

I love your Rose. She's so real! Lines like this are what really do it for me: "On the other, she was feeling more than a little petty, and if he wasn't going to be open with her, she didn't see why she should be honest with him." - hahaha It's such an imperfect trait, her pettiness, but one that is so vastly human that it makes Rose as a character feel so authentic! You've struck a perfect balance with her as far as making her likeable without being even the slightest bit indicative of a Mary Sue! She's flawed, but good at heart, and that's what makes me root for her.

In fact, all of your characters are greatly layered in this way! I'll stick to the ones we see this chapter, though, for now! I love your James! He doesn't seem quite so over the top as I've seen him portrayed often in other stories - like a photo-copy of James I or something - which is really nice! But he's still got that sort of free-spirited thing about him, which feels very fitting given the small glimpse we had of him in the epilogue. And look who's finally admitting to some relationship problems! Poor guy... I just want to hug him in this scene! hehe I don't know if I'm meant to be rooting for James and this Marion person, but I am rooting for James and his happiness, at least. I can't believe Roxanne would do that to them both, though! haha She seems a little intense of a character, from the brief times I've seen and heard about her! I love how you've been able to make each character so distinct - that's really hard to do with so many people!

Van has been fun! He walks that line between intimidating boss and crush-worthy older guy! And I love the little bit of trouble that his presence alone stirs up, even though it doesn't feel (right now, at least) like something that will be acted upon in any way - from either Rose or Van - but is still enough to add that extra layer of conflict into the story without it being this giant, overly-dramatic mess, like we see so often in fanfiction. I love that the conflicts you give to Rose and Scorpius as a couple are all things that a lot of real life couples have to go through themselves - like meeting families and trying to suppress jealousies when they're meant to trust one another fully.

(Albus doesn't make an appearance here, but in case he's not in the next chapter either, let me just tell you now that I've adored him so much so far. I'll expand this thought if he shows up in chapter 11. :-p)

I love the way this chapter ended! So much stuff is happening all at once for the D.C.B. and it's got me really intrigued about where this story is heading! You built the suspense really well and it was so intense when the fact that these may not be coincidences was brought up. Very exciting and scary and you've definitely captured my interest! I find myself trusting you very much as an author because you seem to have this effortless control over the story - you know exactly where it's headed and it's got me anxious to follow you as you take us there!

"It's been pushing acromantulas have started coming closer to Hogsmeade and Hogwarts." - This sentence is just a little wonky. ^.^

My only small critique is that I wish when you introduce us to a new magical creature in this story (regardless of whether or not you did in the prequel) that you would explain what the creature is exactly so we can understand the danger better! Only for things we probably don't know off the top of our heads, of course - like we obviously know enough about basilisks, but lethifolds could've used a little more information. The erklings from a few chapters back made me feel the same way, though we slowly (in later chapters after they were first introduced) learned a little bit more about them, but I had to google them to fully understand their danger. Even if you plan to expand on lethifolds during the potential investigation, I think it would be beneficial to give us a little more insight on them when they're first mentioned as a threat, cause at the moment I don't really know what they're up against. But that's honestly my only CC! And not just of this chapter, but of the entire story thus far! It's that good. ^.^

I don't know what else to say! I'm gonna have to favorite this, though. I think I'm slowly opening up to next gen stories and it's because of fics like this. Excellent work, Beeezie! Yay!

Tanya :)

P.S. I'll be over to chapter 11 within the next few days!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm going to leave you your reviews tomorrow - I'm so sorry about the delay, I've been under the weather and school has been very busy.

I totally know what you mean, re: your critique - that's a great point, and I'll definitely start doing that in the future (at the very least). I forget that not everyone is as in love with Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them as I am. :P

The decline in reviews is actually mostly my fault - I took a long hiatus. When I was updating this regularly, it got a lot of reviews, but at this point, I think it's going to take a little time to draw everyone back. Which is okay!

It's really interesting hearing from someone who hasn't read the prequel. I'm really glad you feel like it can stand alone, because that was definitely my goal, and you're definitely coming at it from a bit of a different pov than people who read CINAS - though Rose continues to come off exactly the same! I'm glad - I definitely wanted Rose to be likable-but-highly-flawed, haha.

The prequel actually takes place during their fifth year, so while there are a few hints (Rose and James talking about wanting to join the DCB, Marion being tense about James's career aspirations, Albus being bad with relationships), it really is a very different kind of story. Roxanne was a major part of that story, and I miss writing about her more, but… yeah, she definitely messed up with James. A lot.

I'm also really glad you like Van! Along with Johanna, he's my favorite OC. I actually set pretty much all my fics in the same universe, so they both pop up a lot. They're so much fun to write.

Thank you so so much for this lovely review. I will be off to return the favor shortly, and I hope that it can live up to yours!


 Report Review

Review #49, by love_is_magic_ Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

25th February 2014:
Hello there!
So I just went on a reading spree of this, CINAS, and your Lily/James. I sincerely wish I could have left a review on every chapter, but that would have been incredibly time consuming, and you would have had to reply to all of those, which I'm sure wouldn't have been very much fun for you :/ But just know that they were THAT GOOD! They would have deserved each and every repetitive review.

You are one of those authors that is just genuinely talented. I could honestly see you publishing OF in the future and, if that day comes, I would want to be reading your books.

You have such a way of writing that just makes it seem natural and real, not like somebody came up with this story and is trying to fill in plot to get from point A to point B. That may seem a small thing, but I know how difficult it can be. It's all in the details and I know that from very early on in my reading spree, I was paying close attention to everything you were doing with the dialogue, plot, layout... everything! I honestly hope that some day I can even come close to being as good of a writer as you are.

I love what you've done with the characters. They are so unique to how I have seen them written before. Most people fall into a rutt of how everyone else has written next-gen characters, or making them carbon copies of their parents, but you have done an amazing job of breaking that mold, and I just love each of your characters now!

I absolutely adore your stories and I really hope you continue on with this one soon :)

Christy

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! It's okay, haha - I don't mind answering a million reviews, it just takes me a little while, but just leaving one is appreciated just as much - it's really nice to hear that you've enjoyed them so much! :)

I'm glad that everything seems consistent! I have a big spreadsheet to keep track of everything, because all my fics are in the same universe and I don't want to forget anything. Sometimes I slip up a little, but I'm glad I haven't here, and that you felt like the story flowed naturally!

Thank you so much. I hope you continue to like this story as much as you have been, and if you check out any of my other fics, that you like them just as much. :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Avanell 2 Rose. --- An Uncomfortable Conversation.

15th February 2014:
That was a lovely chapter...so glad they finally had a talk!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>