Reading Reviews for A Light That Never Goes Out
203 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlexFan Veritaserum

10th November 2013:
I find it awesome that Lily is more courageous than James and Sirius. And I'm just going to rage about Snape for a second because I can't even at the moment.

Did he seriously think that everything that Lily was doing was an act? He doesn't have any right to tell whether something is good for her or not anymore, he lost that right when he called her a mudblood.

Good for Lily for standing up to him, I felt like giving Snape a good slap to the face. And Sirius was right, Snape knows that Lily isn't lying because she took the Veritaserum (imagine how that must've stung him).

Author's Response: I know. I know.

I worry that I'm a bit too hard on Snape in this, but I find him to be so distasteful and annoying (especially in his younger years, from everything that we saw) that I can't really help it. Maybe I should be more sympathetic, I just… can't.

Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by AlexFan Winter Wonderland

10th November 2013:
I love how James hides behind Lily. It's like everyone is afraid of the wrath of Lily and if they hide behind her, people will be too scared to do anything because she'll get angry.

And oh my goodness, they've said I love you to each other already. It makes sense for James but for Lily it seems like it's a little bit too soon because she's only started to know James.

I don't know, maybe that's just me so feel free to ignore it.

If this fluff keeps up, I'm going to explode from all of the cuteness going on!

Author's Response: Yeah, I thought about that, because it does seem a bit soon for Lily. At the same time, in my head canon, she's been developing feelings for him for awhile - after all, she was the one who initiated their relationship - and while their love clearly isn't anywhere near as deep as it's going to be, that seems like something that a 17 or 18 year old in a new relationship with someone they've liked for a while would say, you know?

I might go back and try to communicate that a bit better.

Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by AlexFan Hogsmeade

10th November 2013:
Oh my gosh James is so terribly innocent it's adorable! James is just in general incredibly adorable. Lily is very innocent as well which is another thing that makes her perfect for James.

But seriously though, their banter is just so light-hearted and it flows really well between them. I love the dialogue that you've got going on here and the growing relationship of James and Lily.

And my favourite part was definitely the part where he asked Lily if she was his girlfriend and then started going on about how he didn't want to pressure or anything. Nervous James is just so gosh darn adorable.

I apologise in advance for all of the gushing that's going to be in future reviews but as you can probably already tell, Jily is my OTP and you're just making me ship them even more than I already do.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked this chapter so much - I definitely wanted to portray James that way. :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by AlexFan A Light That Never Goes Out

10th November 2013:
I remember that I read this a long time ago and I was so excited when I read it but then I kind of lost hope of it ever being updated but then it was so everything is okay. I decided to reread this from the beginning, dropping reviews as I go so here I am!

This was so incredibly cute! Gah, I will never ship anything as much as I ship Jily. The fluff in this was killing me! I love how Lily Evans, one of the smartest witches at Hogwarts forgot that she could summon an umbrella. It's not something that you think would happen to Lily but she's human just like the rest of us and prone to moments of dimness.

And then along came James, her knight with an umbrella! And good for Lily for asking James out to Hogsmeade. It doesn't always have to be the guy to ask the girl out and I'm glad that Lily stepped up and asked James. Now that takes courage.

And then of course James just had to slide his hand lower to see how far he could push it before Lily stopped him. And the banter between those two was just so adorable and I love how nervous James is about touching Lily even if it is innocently!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry! RL has definitely gotten in the way of my writing lately, but I'm going to try to get better about that.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm sorry my response is so late. :(

 Report Review

Review #30, by patronus_charm The Muggle World, Part 1

18th July 2013:
I really liked your characterisation of Petunia! She was nice enough but not too nice to make me think woah shes OOC! I really liked how though she showed interest in Lily in a bitter way she still showed interest in her which is more than we usually see so yay for a compassionate side to her!

Haha, one thing that really did make me laugh was Petunias contempt for Snape! It fitted in perfectly with canon and the way the tree branch snapped on her and how Snape was never that nice. Gah I could just over Petunia being nice all day but Ill end it on how happy it made me when Lily asked her opinion on the clothes as it showed she liked her enough to ask her that.

Even though we had the whole I missed you lark in the previous chapter I still loved it here and thought it was perfect! Their trip to the bakery sounded really cool too and it fitted in the whole I miss you thing because he was missing out on the bakery :P

Bahaha James and Petunia bonded over a mutual hate for Snape? I never, ever saw that coming but it makes complete sense now! I really loved it because seeing them be friends was just so aw worthy. You can probably tell that Im a lover not a fighter from my remarks made in this review!

Then it got even better with James finding Lilys diary. I always imagined her to be a diary keeper so I loved seeing it here because it made sense and the pair of them blushing over it was cute! Im going to wrap up this review because I need to find some new adjectives, but another great chapter!


Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! This review really made my smile - I'm glad you like the story so much!

 Report Review

Review #31, by patronus_charm The Riddle of the Sphinx

18th July 2013:
Aw Christmas scenes!

Nervous James is ridiculously cute! I really loved the idea of Lily coming over and exchanging presents though I am little sad that the Potters arent there because they cant join me in gushing over the cuteness of Lily and James then! The awkwardness which lurked there when Lily first got there was really great! It made sense that they were going to be like that.

The small little kisses and them both missing each other was really lovely and tied in well with the festive feel that must have been around! The idea of Lilys present was rather ingenious though and its a little sad that James and went called her mad. Hat hair is bad but if Lily thinks thats better than quidditch hair I dread to think what thats going to be like!

The idea James had for Lilys present was also really great and had me gushing everywhere. I liked how it had an academic basis so it made the present even better. His nervousness was even more adorably when he was explaining who the woman was and when he was thinking about how much it cost just ♥ ♥ ♥. It was such a James thing to do and I loved it!

The ending was interesting too, and it made me wonder what was going to occur in the bedroom ;) A great chapter! ♥


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! It really made me smile, and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond to it. I loved writing this scene, so I'm glad it came across so well.

 Report Review

Review #32, by patronus_charm Veritaserum

18th July 2013:
Ooh I think this has to be my favourite chapter so far!

I really liked how you made Lily have muggle medicine as it connected with her often-forgotten muggle roots which was nice to see! I did have to admit that I almost thought James influence had gone far enough to convince her to skive Potions, but Im glad that she didnt because the consequences of that lesson were great!

I thought you wrote Slughorn really well and the overall potion making scene was well done. It was really entertaining and I didnt get bored at all which isnt something I can always say for school lessons!

The banter between James and Sirius when they tried the veritaserum was great! I really liked that James had only liked her since fourth year as that made a lot more sense in my head than in first year because who falls in love at the age of eleven? That would just be weird :P Then the fact he wears reindeer pyjamas is so cute!

I do have to admit that I preferred it when Lily was the one who was spilling the secrets mainly due to the one about whether she wanted to kiss James or not still so cute! The scene which followed was brilliant! I liked that Snape made an appearance as a Marauder story without him is not a good one! He was perfectly in character being neither too mean but not too pitiful either.

The ending was great! You seem to have a habit of closing on a kiss but Im not complaining at all!


Author's Response: I agree! I think a lot of the time James gets written as having liked Lily since first year, which just seems unrealistic to me. He was eleven. I'm not saying eleven year olds don't get crushes, but really? I'm glad you think it made sense!

I'm also really glad you liked the way I portrayed Snape. He's one of my least favorite characters in the series, so I think I can tend to be a bit hard on him outside fanfics, but I really try not to let that seep into my stories and make him much more unlikable than he was.

Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by patronus_charm Winter Wonderland

18th July 2013:
Hi again!

Gah this chapter was so adorably cute! I really agree with Lily about the thing with James ditching his friends to be with her, not many guys I know would do that! I liked how he made her more light hearted though by encouraging her to go outside and enjoy it, so it shows that they both benefit one another in different ways.

I think it was just the simple things like what I mentioned above and James waiting for her that really made it such a cute story, it just made me want to aw all the way through because of it all. Then the I love you being on the tip of her tongue! *dies momentarily* why didnt she just get it off her tongue and say it?

The scene in the snow was really sweet too! Snow instantly makes everything more romantic, in my opinion anyway, and it did it again here! I liked the way shes bonding with Sirius too now as that was nice to see and it tied in well with canon. Then the kiss at the end. *fails* ♥ is all I can say for that!

The only tiny bit of CC I would give is that as this is a short story collection were bound to get a range of characters, but there was a Sarah and a Janes just thrown in there and I wasnt really sure why. They only had a minor parts so I wouldnt worry too much though.

Another great chapter, Branwen!


Author's Response: Yeah, I definitely drew on some of my experiences when I was writing this - that first 'I love you' can be so hard to say! :P

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I'm so sorry it's taken me way too long to respond.

 Report Review

Review #34, by onestop_hpfan18 Hogsmeade

18th July 2013:
Aww, this chapter was all kinds of sweet. I really do love how Lily seems to be the one piloting the relationship. She's the one who asked him out, finally giving him a chance, and it's clear James is still half-expecting her to reject him despite her asking him out. They really are quite the couple. I love how natural the dialogue is between them, too. It's almost like a casual passing, not overly flowery/romantic in the slightest. It's just two people who like each other and want to get to know more about the other. It's sweet. And their first real kiss was romantic in the catch you off guard way that just makes you go aww. Also, I highly doubt James had never been kissed, especially after him kissing Lily like that (he had to have had some experience in kissing). But I can see him not kissing too many girls before Lily finally gave him a chance in 7th year. Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I definitely wanted Lily to take the reins more than she's usually depicted as doing, because I don't like the narrative of James being pushy and Lily being dragged into the relationship kicking and screaming. (But yes, James has definitely been kissed before, though he does lack a huge amount of experience.)

Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by patronus_charm Hogsmeade

18th July 2013:
Bahaha the hype about those two did appear after all! At least I dont feel like Im gawking at them on my own now! I really liked how Lily reacted to that but I couldnt help but pity because it couldnt have been nice putting up with all those stares and whispers.

I liked their differing reactions when it came to kissing. The way Lily almost recoiled in horror when James had said that he had kissed loads of people made me laugh a little though I couldnt help but feel bad because she clearly didnt like it. James continued to show his mature side which was really nice to see with the way that he clearly didnt want to push it and would take it at her pace.

Lilys thoughts thinking back to fifth year made me chuckle, oh how theyve moved on!

The way you eased into the date was really great because it was a natural build up to what was about to happen but without it being too clich or fast. It was nice to see them almost go round as friends because the next part made it even more surprising and great! The way the crowd of them gathered around them when they kissed made me chuckle a lot!


Author's Response: Yes! I'm glad you didn't think that the crowd was a bit overdone - I didn't want it to come off that way, but I was afraid that it would. Still, I added it in because I can only imagine that this was interesting gossip in the first place, because most people had to think that James was doomed to fail when it came to Lily, and because kids of that age are curious about this sort of thing anyway!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by patronus_charm A Light That Never Goes Out

18th July 2013:
Shameless plugging works :P

Gah this was so adorable! ♥ I really loved Lilys thoughts beforehand because the drop of bitterness to them made her more real as a whole and more relatable as a result. One thing I really loved was the pattern between her and James. I think thats the thing which draws me to the ship a lot and the fact that she immediately rejected him due to her just always doing it was a great example of it.

Ooh a minor thing but your descriptions in this were really lovely and set the scene really well. I can just imagine the dripping rain and the green plants. It was just great!

I always imagined that Lily would be the one to ask out James so seeing it here made me squeal a little with happiness. I liked that a lot and for another reason too. It was just so casual with her just coming out with it which made me chuckle at the irony because so many of us have been cheering them on since first year and for it to happen like that was great.

Im really excited to see how the date goes and how the rest of it goes a whole because I have a good feeling about this. Great work, Branwen!


Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

I'm glad that the descriptions worked really well for you - I'd gotten a comment about that ages ago, and I went back and really tried to make the setting more clear. I'm happy to hear that I was pretty successful. :)

Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #37, by onestop_hpfan18 A Light That Never Goes Out

18th July 2013:
Here to review for the House Cup. I have been meaning to get around to reading and reviewing this story for quite some time. I really love the interaction between James and Lily in this first chapter. It's sweet and casual, yet Lily still plays with James when he questions whether she really wants to go with him or if she's just messing with him. He's so used to her rejecting him that he can't quite process the fact that she asked him out and is warming up to him.

I also like the fact that she is the one to ask him out. It shows that her feelings toward him really are changing. She's choosing to give James a chance on her own terms, which I would expect from Lily. She's independent and intelligent, a mind of her own. She doesn't need anyone to tell her what to do. I also found it sweet that James saved her from the rain with his umbrella, very knight and shining armor. Anyway, great chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed this - I know it's a bit of a different take on James/Lily, and I'm happy it worked for you. :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by randomwriter Veritaserum

17th July 2013:
Hi again :)
This definitely did not disappoint. I like how you've included Snape here, as he did play a very important role in Lily's life! :)
And I loved the bit about the Veritaserum. It was really fun to read, and you've used it well in the story!
Kudos :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #39, by randomwriter Winter Wonderland

17th July 2013:
Hey there! I know that I've called your story adorable before. Too many times, maybe. But I just can't stop myself from saying it again.
ThisStoryIsADORABLE! There :D
Everything you've written about them is so natural and realistic! Keep it up :)
Btw, I just added this to favourites :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #40, by randomwriter Hogsmeade

17th July 2013:
Hello again :)
This, just like the first chapter, was truly adorable.
I love how you write James/Lily. As you said, we know what happens with them, but you've managed to find your style in spite of that. I never imagined them as being so awkward in the beginning, but towards the bits leading up to the date, and afterwards, it was absolutely splendid!
I can't spot any errors at all.
A great read :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #41, by randomwriter A Light That Never Goes Out

17th July 2013:
Hey :)
This really was adorable.
I love the easy flow of their conversation, and how they are so comfortable around each other.
It's the first time I've read a story where Lily has asked James out, and you've written it well :)
I really liked this!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I knew that that was a little bit of a deviation from what most people write, and I'm really happy it worked well for you! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by TimeSeer Quidditch

6th March 2013:
I love this story! I love James/Lily stories and this is one of my top favorite. I love how you make the characters and how you make all of them act. It is all just very amazing. Anyway please update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I've been a bit swamped lately, but hopefully I'll be back updating by June. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by CambAngst A Light That Never Goes Out

9th December 2012:
Ho, ho, ho! This is your Holiday Review Swap Extravaganza Thingee review! It's been such a long time since I read and reviewed anything of yours. I figured I'd try something of intermediate length.

I really, really liked your James and Lily in this. There was an easy quality to their interaction, perfectly natural to two people who've known each other for a long time and gradually come to an understanding about one another. James was the gallant knight in shining armor, come to rescue his princess from, er, well rain. It was a pretty big deal to him, I'm sure. Lily, of course, is no ordinary damsel in distress. She may fancy James, but she's still not going to let him get the best of her.

I love the gradual game of one-upmanship that the two of them play. James is probing to see where her tolerance for his advances will end and she's looking for new and interesting ways to push his buttons. All in all, it seems pretty evenly matched. She has so many arrows in the quiver, so many little ways that she can step out of the mold of "prim and proper Head Girl Lily Evans" and shock him while he's just incorrigible.

Suggestions? I think it would have been fun if she'd played a little harder to get, once she realizes that he isn't going to turn her down. Granted, she's already compromised her position, but I think a clever girl like her could overcome that disadvantage. When he starts to act full of himself or move that hand a little lower, she could have pulled away... taking his umbrella with her, of course. It's just a thought. Honestly, this is lovely exactly the way you wrote it.

James and Lily are one of my favorite romantic pairings in the series, and this was a very warm, funny, happy take on the two of them. I enjoyed reading it. Happy holidays!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and felt like their relationship was both funny and natural. I'm not sure I'm going to change the umbrella scene here in the way you suggested, but I love the suggestion and will definitely keep it in mind for a future chapter, because that's definitely something I can see her doing.

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Elenia A Light That Never Goes Out

7th December 2012:
Hello, dear! It's Holiday Review Swap time!

*sigh* This is just so lovely ♥ I've actually read this a very long time ago, but I was such a bad person and didn't review /: But I'm fixing that now!

First off, James and Lily! My OTP! I love them so much and I think you've done such a wonderful job with them! Especially James and his little Hero-comment in the end there, he was perfect (:

I've always had this image that it was Lily who eventually asked James out, so it was really nice seeing you use that. And I think you handled it really well! They both were so cute ♥ I loved the part where James just stopped, not even noticing he was getting wet because he was too shocked d:

As always, I just love your writing and those little details and descriptions you manage to slip everywhere. I could easily paint the picture in my head.

Lovely job, dear! You're a fabulous writer!

Author's Response: Aw, you're never a bad person. ♥

I've never been a fan of the whole Lily-hates-James bit, honestly - love/hate relationships aren't much fun when there's really hatred. Even Pride and Prejudice wasn't a proper love/hate relationship, just Lizzie being prideful and frustrated and Darcy being uncomfortable and clueless. I've always seen Lily as someone who found James to be kind of attractive, especially once he calmed down a bit, and the idea that she'd ask him out really appealed to me on a lot of levels.

♥ I'm so glad you liked this. Thank you for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #45, by classicblack A Light That Never Goes Out

6th December 2012:
Hullo it's Ali for the Holiday Review Swap!

This was so cute! I absolutely loved it and it makes me want to go on a Jily spree! For you're first Jily fic, it was extremely well-written. I liked how James is nice and cheeky and his little hero comment at the end of the chapter.

One thing to improve on would be to give more background on why they started becoming friends/ Lily started liking him/ James deflated his head. I know it's a short story collection but it would definitely be nice to read your take on why.

I laughed when you said how Lily had said no to James out of habit when he'd asked her out the first week after term started. It was a great way to stress all the times she'd turned him down and very funny!

Awesome chapter!
Happy writing,

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm glad you liked it so much!

When I finish some of my current WIPs, I might just write a story about how Lily started liking James and how he deflated his head. I have a lot of plunnies, but that one is starting to take hold. :P

Thank you so much for your lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by shadowycorner A Light That Never Goes Out

6th December 2012:
Hello, here for the holiday review swap.

I totally had to read this, because it has James/Lily and the Smiths (I put the song on when I read this and it was awesome). I loved that she asked him out, it added a wonderful freshness and uniqueness to the story. And along with the song, I could picture the entire scene of raining and everything. Their conversation was just lovely and I believed it. Although the way she all of a sudden just confessed her love for him was a little weird. I'm not even sure if she had really meant it or was still joking? I would even have liked the kiss more if it were innocent and kind of spontaneous without the love confession before, but that's just me. :) I'll be sure to check out more of this story either through the swap or even just like that. I really really liked it. I am still actually hearing the song in my ears and the rain and can picture James and Lily under the umbrella and just ah! Loved it. :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

The declaration of love was sarcasm, not Lily being genuine - I tried to indicate that by mentioning that she was using a very dramatic voice, but when I get the chance I'll go back and see if I can make it a bit more clear.

Thank you for the swap! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Quidditch

11th November 2012:
Hi there,

I absolutely adored this story! You have done such an amazing job with all the characters. I love Lily and James so much and you have made them adorable!

I also love what you did with Petunia. You made her a really likeable character, something I haven't really read or thought about before. I am really curious as to what happened between Vernon and James... any chance you are going to fill that in?? I really hope so!

So yeah, amazing job and I can't wait to read more!!


Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm especially glad you like my Petunia - she wasn't my favorite character in the books, but I felt like she's really ended up with a bad reputation that isn't necessarily fair - things weren't easy for her, but I think that she loved her sister a lot.

I'm probably not going to fill in Vernon and James, though I might change my mind. I feel like that might be the sort of thing left better to the imagination. :P

Thank you so much for the review! I'll get the next chapter up as soon as possible.

 Report Review

Review #48, by Scarlet Hogsmeade

25th September 2012:
Sorry I meant to review this earlier but one thing led to another but here I am! Adorable chapter. I always love your writing. It was interesting to reread that chapter again, like using a Time Turner. Hehe anyway I can't wait for the next part! Post more soon! :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked this, and thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by ruby_slippers Quidditch

20th September 2012:
LOVE this story!! Seriously its soo so cute! Thanks for the good reads and hope to see more soon :)

God Bless x

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I'll get more up as soon as I can!

 Report Review

Review #50, by ruby_slippers Hogsmeade

20th September 2012:
sweet mother of all things cute!

Author's Response: Haha, aw, I'm glad you feel that way! I was definitely going for the "Could they get any more adorable?" vibe. :P Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>