Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
482 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Liana A Compromising Position

13th April 2016:
I guess Rose should've told Albus sooner so no one else could get to him first. I thought Albus would be delighted but I can see his point. With what's happened so far, I can see that someone would think that Rose was taking advantage of Scorpius' feelings.

 Report Review

Review #27, by Liana Secrets

13th April 2016:
I wonder who found them--probably Albus. Whoever it was, I'm sure Rose and Scorpius will feel embarrassed. As I said before, this is the first time reading this story so I don't know how it differs from the earlier version. I do know I like this version a lot.

 Report Review

Review #28, by Liana Flirting by the Lake

12th April 2016:
Oh, that was so sweet. Their first real kiss. I think it turned out good. Rose kind of cut it short though.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Liana Forming a Truce

12th April 2016:
Things between Scorpius and Rose seem to be getting along better. Pretty soon maybe Rose will actually kiss Scorpius right on the lips.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Liana Eavesdropping in the Library

12th April 2016:
I guess rumors of the things the Golden Trio had, like the invisibility cloak, haven't reached everyone. Rose is lucky that she's hearing good things during her eavesdropping.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Liana The Hospital Wing

12th April 2016:
I'm glad it won't turn into a prank war. Or should I say I hope it doesn't. I kind of wish Scorpius hadn't done that.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Liana Scorpius's Revenge

11th April 2016:
Judging from the chapter title, I take it that Scorpius probably slipped Rose some sort of potion. Who knows? It might have helped her generate this huge Patronus. I wonder if this will set-back their fledgling relationship.

Author's Response: That's exactly what happened! Thank you so much for your reviews - they're really very appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Liana Surviving to the Weekend

10th April 2016:
I'm enjoying this story more and more. I didn't think Scorpius had cousins but I guess he could've had some Greengrass cousins. I wasn't sure what your family tree looked like.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

My Greengrass family tree includes both Daphne and Astoria (who are canon) and Brendon, an OC older brother.

Brendon has three children: Alec, Johanna, and Evelyn. Evelyn shows up occasionally in this story - she's the Head Girl. Johanna will show up in the form of a snarky letter in a later chapter, and she appears in a lot of my other fics (she's a main character in Cursebreaking in Barcelona and To Steal Our Breath Away, and she occasionally shows up in other fics as well, including The Wrinkles of the Road - I love writing her).

Daphne married Theodore Nott, and they had two children: Andrew (who is the seventh year Slytherin prefect during this story) and Noah (who is the fifth year Slytherin prefect).

Poor Scorpius has three cousins at Hogwarts, and literally all of them are prefects who don't tend to break the rules. :P


 Report Review

Review #34, by Liana Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

10th April 2016:
I wonder if McGonagall pretty much knows it's the Potter/Weasleys at the bottom of all the pranks. That's a lot of kids with a pretty awesome background. It must make a lot of people envious that they're the children of war heroes.

Author's Response: Victoire and Fred II were hellraisers during their time at Hogwarts, so yeah - she definitely has a strong, strong suspicion. :P

 Report Review

Review #35, by Liana Potter Family Secrets

10th April 2016:
Oh the stories Rose and Albus could tell. I think Scorpius' stories could be interesting too. It would be nice to know what Draco is ashamed of from his Hogwarts years.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all of your reviews! I'll definitely touch on some of what Draco is ashamed of, both here and in other stories. :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Liana A Package From Fred

8th April 2016:
That was nice of Fred to throw gifts for everyone into the boxes. He's got to be a favorite uncle.

Author's Response: Cousin, actually - this is Fred II, who's about Victoire's age in my universe. But yes, he's definitely a favorite! :P

 Report Review

Review #37, by Liana An Encounter in the Library

3rd April 2016:
It's always so embarrassing to be caught at something like eavesdropping. Especially since she kind of lied about it earlier. It also pulls into question some of what she said earlier. Maybe, once Scorpius gets over his embarrassment, this whole situation will work out.

Author's Response: Yeah, eavesdropping is so anxiety-provoking for a lot of people because of the risk involved - there's really no way to look anything but petty if you're eavesdropping, unfortunately.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Liana Conversations with the Potter Boys

1st April 2016:
I liked the scene with James. Surprisingly, he was very mature and understanding. I hope he wasn't lying to Rose. I think she would take that very hard and might even retaliate against James. I think she might start treating Scorpius a little differently.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! James definitely has a mature side hidden under the sixteen year old, yes! :P

 Report Review

Review #39, by Liana Eavesdropping in the Corridor

1st April 2016:
I'm reading your stories for the first time so it's all new to me. I'm liking this story a lot so far, although I think I've told you I love Rose and Scorpius stories. Yes, one takes quite a chance when one eavesdrops. I wonder if overhearing their conversation will cause a change of heart for Rose.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I love Scorose, too - it's why I first started writing Harry Potter fanfiction.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Oraeliaa Gossip

1st April 2016:
Aaand it's April Fools Day! Your story is amazing, ignore my previous review

 Report Review

Review #41, by Oraeliaa Family Secrets

1st April 2016:
Amazing story, but kinda off-putting that it's suddenly not set at Hogwarts...

 Report Review

Review #42, by Liana Plausible Deniability

10th March 2016:
That was a fun chapter. Everyone's going to suspect one of the Weasleys aren't they. Although as Rose said--Weasley hair is much nicer than what Scorpius ended up with. And, payback for Scorpius could've been much worse.

Author's Response: Oh, yes. The Weasleys are often at fault for these sorts of things - particularly when James and Roxanne are involved, haha.

 Report Review

Review #43, by Liana Albus's Guilt Trip

9th March 2016:
I was looking for something to read and picked this story. I love Rose/Scorpius stories. Actually I was going to read the sequel and thought I'd read this one first. So far I like it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all of your reviews! I hope you continue to like it, and that you like the sequels as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Keeghan Slytherins

15th February 2016:
I absolutely adore this storyline! The writing is so good that I feel like I'm back at Hogwarts again! The characters are all one could want and more, and I've always shipped Scorpius and Rose so it's been amazing to get to read about them. I can not get enough of this story. Thank you to the author for sharing this amazing set of stories with us muggles.

 Report Review

Review #45, by oldershouldknowbetter Conversations with the Potter Boys

20th January 2016:
Ah, this must be one of the inserted chapters that emerged with the major edit of this story - judging by the fewer number of reviews than the surrounding chapters. Here for the BvB - just have time whilst my load of washing finishes, before putting on the next one.

I like the sass that you imbue Scorpius with, it gives him a bit of gumption that fleshes out his character well.

Ah, you still have Binns as a teacher too, some of your comments to me make some more sense. You have them learning about goblin rebellions - I have some plans for that in my story which I hope that you will like.

I like the way that you have the overheard conversation messing with her head: she doesn't pay attention in Binns' classroom; Scorpius's politeness blind-sides her; and then she cannot concentrate upon her homework.

Lucky for her (unlucky for her? we shall see) James soon joins her. He brings her up to his room where she says, 'So I’m pretty sure Scorpius Malfoy wants to sleep with me.' I like how she immediately goes there. It's so in keeping with her character that she goes immediately to that extreme - not anything milder like, 'wants to kiss me,' or even, 'think he fancies me.' She is a girl that is the all or nothing kind, go hard or go home. Even when dealing with a sensitive subject like this that should be treated in a much more subtle matter.

I really like the relationship between James and Rose that you flesh out and establish here. From your author's note at the end (confirming my earlier suspicions) this chapter has been inserted in and it really serves to make more sense of James's later actions - especially those that occur in the sequel. But what I really like is the relationship itself; it fits so much into my head-cannon. I think, and it's certainly what I'm doing in my story, that Albus and Rose would be extremely close, better than cousins, closer than siblings even. But between James and Rose is an older-brother vibe, even more so, he is a confidant for her too. And this is what you do here, but it's not only what I like, you have also done it very well. The dialogue between the two is very believable. What's even better, the logic of James saying what he does is sound - both from a character perspective and also a story one too.

He gives her some good and sound advice, but is still unrepentant about his pranking actions. I really like this James, you have made of him an interesting character and still confirming to the usual tropes of his accepted character. That's a job well done in and of itself.

But Rose is just as conflicted as she was before the conversation, but just the fact of having had it has got her cogitating about it all instead of just stewing upon it. So she's better off for that at least.

You haven't made James stupid, and it certainly appears that Albus is not stupid either. He is putting two and two together about Rose's supposed non-involvement with the hair-colouring incident. He is also very reasonable about her refusal to join them both in the library for a study session. I like this Albus too, he is a nice guy.

He is doing his best to try and get the two to, if not like each other, at least call a détente. Rose armed with her new knowledge is at least open to the suggestion it seems. Well, she doesn't appear to be fighting it as much as she once did. She does bring up a few faults, like him 'calling her a coward' which we know isn't really true. It is her taking a spin upon his words that she wants to hear and is not what he meant. She is going to stick to that rationale it seems, through hell and high-water. It will be her refuge in times if she has any crisis of concious - 'he did deserve it, he called me a coward' she will scream to herself.

We see here that she really needed to overhear that conversation. She almost couldn't have moved on as a person if she hadn't. She would have gone on hating Scorpius for no good reason. At least now it has her meditating upon his 'fine eyes' - to quote Pride and Prejudice.

This chapter was a worthy addition to your story, bring to the fore a better understanding of a lot of the characters within it. I'd like to say James especially, but in her interactions with him, we get a much greater understanding of Rose too.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #46, by oldershouldknowbetter Eavesdropping in the Corridor

9th January 2016:
Quickly, quickly, must write this review before my slot gets stolen. Here for the BvB and for this amazing story. Which I have now read four times by the way. As I started reviewing, I just couldn't stop and had to read on and finish.

I so love that you have kept the portable swamp. It is never overtly said in the books that the magic was permanent, but I really like to think that it's still there. My head cannon on it is slightly different, and I am trying to find a suitable place to insert it into my tale somewhere.

And in the second paragraph you set up the whole reasoning behind the title of your story. Rose, whatever else her faults or features, does like to know. She is very curious. She tells herself that it is not a sin, by dint of ignoring the true meaning of her grandmother's wise words. She puts herself deliberately in the way of being able to overhear what she is the most curious about at the moment, ie. what Scorpius thinks of his new hair colour.

And oh my what she overhears.

Albus, who in my experience in these sort of stories (he certainly does in mine) is always at one of the pair to give the other one a chance. It is refreshing to hear it said to Scorpius for a change; usually it is Rose who is the one who is the most unfair and has Albus begging her to 'give Scorpius a chance'.

Then Scorpius lays it all out there. And more over, he is absolutely correct too. As wonderful they might be to their friends and family, for how you have portrayed them already from only two chapters, we can see the truth of Scorpius' words; they think that they own the school and they don't care who knows it. It really also fits in with what you are doing with the character of the different houses. Gryffindor was always portrayed as the best house, the one most worthy, the one that everyone should ascribe to wanting to be in. It was the home of the major protagonists of the books, after all. But the character of the Gryffindor does have it's faults and this is one of the things you are delving into in this story - the negative aspects of being a Gryffindor and the positive aspects of being a Slytherin. The take you have on both is really good and it is one that I am cribbing unashamedly for my story.

Albus gets his turn to refute Scorpius' accusations and the first thing he says is ... that he thinks Scorpius thinks his cousin is hot? I wasn't expecting that, in the first place it is not a really good counter to the argument. And in the second place ... please do go on, this is exactly what your audience wants to know. Rose who is overhearing this might be embarrassed, but we aren't. Please do go on Albus, question away.

Scorpius's answer is not exactly to Rose's liking. She thought that they were comfortably ignoring each other, but one of them was apparently paying a bit more attention.

It is all delicious stuff, well for your readers at least - the ones who are directly involved not so much. For Albus the object of Scorpius's desire is still his cousin after all and while he does want Scorpius to be honest, he doesn't want him to be that graphic about it either. Rose is embarrassed, but what does she expect, her grandmothers wise words recounted to us at the beginning of the chapter are coming back to bite her. She shouldn't be listening to what he is saying to his friend in what he thinks is in confidence. As to Scorpius, we can really feel for him, he really likes her physically, but personality wise she is pretty hateful (to him at least).

Albus does defend Rose in the end, but the way he does it is very telling, based upon Rose's reaction to it. She ignores all of the negative things that he says about her and just hones into “And she’s a really good person. Like I said, she’s one of my favourite people in the world.” We get the opinion that she really cannot argue with the criticisms that he throws her way, if she was being honest with herself, she would have to own that they were all true.

Scorpius makes an off-handed comment that he would not like to see the good side of her. I think that it was thrown out there because, deep inside, he would really like to know that she is a good person and get to know that person, but it scares him. If he found that she was actually as good on the inside as she looks on the outside to him, then ...

Now all that Rose has to do is to live with what the fruit of her curiosity has borne.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #47, by oldershouldknowbetter Plausible Deniability

12th November 2015:
Back again, here's a quick BvB turn around.

I really wish I could leave you with the sort of reviews you are leaving me, ones that call you on your stuff, but I cannot. For one thing you are not doing as much worldbuilding as am I, but mainly because your story is close to being perfect. You take such a well measured approach to your characters.

Take for instance your main protagonist, Rose. She is so beautifully drawn. Scorpius torments her (in her opinion anyway), but she is trying as hard as she can to get along and be nice for her cousin's sake. So it shows that she does have some proper feeling at least. But then she so casually misrepresents what Scorpius said to her for her audience of Roxy and James. From her brief (too brief) mental deliberations, we don't know if it was from deliberate malice afore thought, or if it was just how she actually took his words (mangling his intent) through her filter.

James and Roxy promise to take revenge upon the uppity little blonde boy on Rose's behalf; and apparently he will not be blonde for very much longer.

As she goes to bed I really like how you make her aware that she knows she is being not only unfair to him, but also falling straight into the bad behaviour he is rightfully accusing her of.

Just all these little things you put into the background. Like Roxy jumping down the last few stairs, that sort of exuberant, slightly risky behaviour is so her - speaking as someone who has followed her throughout this tale and into the one beyond. These subtle pieces of characterisation are really wonderful and serve to flesh out your story and your characters very ably.

There is the usual talk about subjects and schooling and it's good to see that you haven't made Rose too perfect. Only an A on her first paper, but she is comforted by Marion, it's just the teachers marking the first assignment hard (a well known tactic of teachers in my experience).

And then you bring up, in a casual, throw-away manner one of the major thrusts of the stories you are telling with your different tales set in this version of the Next-Gen. What did I say, that you are not world-building, I should wash my mouth out with soap. The impact upon your world of the rise of the occurrence of attacks by dark creatures will be a major one for your world, your major players and especially for Rose. But again I am getting ahead of myself.

One of Rose's character traits, is that she sort of holds herself to a different standard than she does others. Not in thinking that she is superior, don't get me wrong, but she certainly can subconsciously buy into the belief, one that James, say, does overtly, and that is that they - meaning the Potter/Weasleys or Gryffindors, take your pick - should be held to different rules and standards than everyone else. She thinks that Scorpius has received a perfect comeuppance for calling her a coward (which he didn't exactly, not with the intent she is crediting him with), when she is acting cowardly. If she felt so offended by his statement, then she should have been the one to exact revenge and not cowardly leave it in the hands of others. She is going to deny her involvement which only compounds her cowardice and proves Scorpius to be even more correct in his initial statement.

So we leave Scorpius p'd off and suspecting the hand of Rose to be involved somewhere in his current predicament. But it is Albus that Rose should be concerned about, because she actually values his good opinion of her. She said, flat out, earlier that she doesn't care at all about the opinions of one Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy, but in all her actions we know that she cares what Albus thinks and probably does so a lot. What the ramifications will be we only have to press the next button to find out.

Loving this the fourth time around.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #48, by oldershouldknowbetter Albus's Guilt Trip

11th November 2015:
Finally I might have jagged you in the BvB. I was looking over your stuff wondering what to review and I saw that one shot, Falling for Rose Weasley that was set just before this one. I hadn't read it before and was deciding if I should review that or this one. The other one got me so enthused to read this one again that I skipped straight to this one and left it behind; another day then. You see the other reason that I should start here is that it is a sin of such a monumental nature that I have not reviewed this story before because I love it so much. You know that I must love a good Scorose, you've seen the paean that I am writing to the pair, and especially one which is a hate-turns-to-love. It is such a crime that I have not reviewed something that has brought me so much pleasure, so let me correct that injustice now.

I cannot do my usual review where I read it and comment as I go, making predictions and discovering their outcomes, because I know this so well; I do believe that I have read this whole story about three times previous, in reviewing this it will be my fourth time through. So I'll just write about what I like about it.

Just to start with, your dialogue is great: it's natural; it flows; all the major characters have distinct voices. It is something that I feel that I always struggle with, so I appreciate it when I see it in others. Just to say, most of the writing on this site is of a fairly high standard and yours is right up there.

Your exposition in this is of such a subtle quality. We know your Rose almost straight out of the box. The bits that aren't filled in in the background you say straight out. I liked how you phrased your very first line: not hated, nor liked those of House Slytherin, just didn't have much to do with. It creates for us subtleties that I know shall be revealed and expanded upon in the many chapters to come. The upshot of it is that she is a no-nonsense Gyffindor, marching stolidly through to get what ever she wants.

She likes and is good at Quidditch, another tick in her favour.

One of the things I like about Next-Gen fics is finding out who the author is going to populate the castle with. We know of only about eight official characters of this time period from the books and Pottermore has filled in a few others, but there has to be hundreds more. I like seeing just who an author produces, because there must naturally be some children of former students and it is great seeing some of the old names pop up here and there.

Until I started reading these fanfictions, I had not thought overmuch upon the character of Albus Potter. It was one of the best things I discovered here, just what a rich character he could be and it seems like you are keeping up the tradition. He is big on that sort of House unity stuff and even though he is a Griffie at heart, he has time for decent people of whatever House.

Rose though does not, especially Scorpius because there is just something about him that gets under her skin: oh really Rose, do tell? But she does feel guilty about her behaviour towards Albus and it is good to see that her affection for him overcomes her slight bigotry towards ... others.

I like your James and Roxanne, both are good characters and what you start here you strengthen upon in the rest of your work.

There is some simply delicious flirting between the two of them in the Library. Rose is in such a quandry about her feelings towards him, her head says no, but the rest of her is responding to him in ways that are a sure sign of yes, yes, yes. You start here the threads of his dislike of Herbology and him calling her Red - both of which you tease out into major strands later on.

I already commented on your dialogue, so the only time I'm going to mention it again is if it is particularly good. So I must here. The bit where you have Rose pointing out he faults of Slytherin, Scorpius's response is wonderful. It's a really good definition of his House, divorced from that Slytherin is evil rubbish that we get from the books (because of the actions of only a handful of admittedly strong characters). And her response to his response, thinking about what he would be ruthless in wanting to get is priceless.

You wrap it up with a great slice of what the friendship between Albus and Rose must be like. They are true and good friends, even before they are cousins. Rose will try to be nice to any of Albus's friends simply because Albus finds something to esteem in them. Even if they are a bunch of slimy Slitherins. And Albus sees who a person is before he sees what house they are.

This is a great start to a story, and it must be because I came back to read it again and again. Then you reworked it - to it's betterment, especially the sequel (but here I am getting ahead of myself). Now you have me hooked once more: I would curse you and the BvB for drawing me back hence, but I cannot because I love it too much.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #49, by MalfoyMannor Flirting by the Lake

7th September 2015:
forever grinning due to the cuteness of this chapter :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by Shinicha The Hogwarts Express

19th August 2015:
Hi!
First of all, I'm sorry to only comment on the very last chapter! I really appreciate all the effort you put into this very long story - THANKS a lot for writing it!

So I don't know the version before it was extensively edited as you anounced in your A/Ns, therefore I can only speak for the updated version :)

I really loved this romance. Its strongest point is characters and character development. The plot itself may not be one never written before, but you managed to turn it into a very unique story.

Your Rose, to start with, is refreshingly different. A troublemaker and a very real personalitiy with all her flaws and and averageness, while still being funny and loveable. I adored her stubbornness!

Scorpius is the other part of a set of great main leads; I enjoyed that he was embarrassed so easily, not a super-cool one (how silly with his traffic-light-hair!), very emotional and talkative…

Amongst all the minor characters (which were really colourful and fun!), I probably loved Dominique most for her kinda intimidating personality that you managed to convey long before we even met her in person!

The story itself arches nicely over the many chapters. I can honestly say this is the first story I know where nothing big, terrifying or shocking or even particularly dramatic happened, to which I still got hooked and that I could not stop reading.

The story of a first love is so convincing and real, I think any reader can put oneself into Rose’s and Scorpius’ shoes and feel with them. It is, what the title says: curiosity; paired with a fabulous sense of humour and a good portion of realism.

So thanks again for this wonderful read and making me love your story!

Shinicha

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>