Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
420 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Veritaserum27 A Package From Fred

17th April 2015:
Hello Branwen,

Gosh - I feel so lucky that I was paired with you for the Prefect exchange. Your story is awesome -and I definitely got the better end of the deal, here :D

I really like the pace of your story, and this lighthearted chapter came at a perfect time. After the last one was so drama ridden, I really enjoyed reading this. Thanks for giving me (and Rose!) and break in the action.

However, I need to comment on your pure genius at the shield charm necklaces and bracelets. How did you come up with that? I want one! You also took the skiving snackboxes to a whole new level. That entire scene was written so well. I could just see the entire family poring over the loot and deciding who got what, with side exchanges along they way.

At the same time, you kept true to their personalities - James and Roxanne are the pranksters - and James is a tad protective of Lily. Rose loves her brother, but doesn't feel as close to him, because of his sorting.

And of course, there's Scorpius, who can't even accept a chocolate frog without thinking there's something attached to it (although I'm not sure I can blame him).

Great chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Aww, I don't think so! I'm actually on my way to read Hurricane Luna after this, and I'm sure I'll love it just as much as you're loving this. (Or more. I love Luna.)

I'm really glad you liked that scene! It was actually much, much longer before the edits, but I cleaned it up a little and consolidated a lot of the stuff he sent because it just dragged. It's gratifying to hear that it still works well - I'm so tense about some of these chapters that have undergone edits, you have no idea. :P

♥ Thank you!

Branwen


 Report Review

Review #27, by Veritaserum27 An Encounter in the Library

17th April 2015:
Hi hi hi!

This chapter was so god! Love me some Rose/Scorpius passion-fueled, library-whisper-shouting arguments. Haha! I can't REALLY blame Rose too much for the confusion when it comes to Scorpius. I mean, even after she admits that she overheard his talk with Albus, he's still being cryptic. Or maybe it's just that it is SO obvious to me that Scorpius is in love with her and she doesn't see it...

I really like your Noah Nott character. He seems a lot more even keel than his cousin - sort of like Albus. He also seems to have a lot in common with Rose - much to Scorpius's chagrin.

You have a great talent for dialogue. I was reading so fast, just trying to get to the next line - and Rose's comment about keeping her mouth open was just... Bah haha!

I found a small typo here in this line:

she was even cheerful enough to she joined Albus when he headed to the library after they got out,

I'm not sure how it should read, but maybe something like:

she was even cheerful enough to join Albus when he headed to the library after they got out,

Your characterization runs deep - and I'm enjoying seeing a bit of Scorpius's Slytherin side. He can't fathom that Rose wouldn't have an ulterior motive for using the passage with his cousin - partly because he thinks everyone has a reason for doing something out of the ordinary AND he and Rose are in a bit of a prank war at the moment.

I'm wondering what Rose wanted with Fred? Perhaps she asked him to procure some sort of item that would keep her safe from any attacks - like a sneakoscope?

I guess I'll just have to read on to find out!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! ♥ I'm really glad you like Noah - he's a fun OC to write, and I keep trying to find a way to work him into the sequel.

Also - yes. I really, really wanted to show Scorpius's Slytherin side throughout this story, but in a fairly subtle way - like, personality traits and approaches to life rather than beliefs. (If that makes sense.) It was important to me that he be a pretty strong Slytherin, because I love causing existential crises for Rose every time she realizes it - and because it's going to be very difficult for her to fall back on "But most Slytherins aren't like that!" because, well, quite a lot of Slytherins are like that.

I'm glad you liked the line about Rose's mouth being open - she definitely hit a little close to home with that one.

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you're continuing to like it!

♥ Branwen


 Report Review

Review #28, by Veritaserum27 Conversations with the Potter Boys

17th April 2015:
Hello Branwen,

Here for another review with the Prefect Exchange!

So, I'm kinda glad that I didn't read this story before - not because it isn't good or anything, but because I get to see it from the perspective of a reader who is getting your freshly revised version as a first read.

And I LOVED the scene with James. It firmly cements just how strong and close this family is - regardless of their differences or outside friends. A lot of times, a set of arrogant family members (as Scorpius described them) are too wrapped up in themselves to care about each other. But this is not the case, and James is really sweet to Rose. He keeps her confidence and gives advice.

I also like that Albus is letting both Rose and Scorpius have their own defense in the "war of the fifth years." And although he is willing to listen to both sides, he's also not clueless that either party is completely innocent.

So... Scorpius is planning on retaliating, huh? It sounds like Rose is going to make a pre-emptive strike - or maybe something else.

Another great chapter and I can't wait to see what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yeah, I think (and this actually does get alluded to later on in the story, a bit) that both Rose and Scorpius think that Albus is a little more clueless than he actually is. He knows that they're both not quite as pure as freshly fallen snow, whatever they'd like him to think. :P

I'm glad you liked the scene with James! That was totally new for this revision, and I really wanted it in there because right, they're definitely not too arrogant or self-absorbed to care about the people they're close to. They're all very loyal to each other, and I wanted to show that - and that James actually has surprising depths and insight, for someone Scorpius dismisses as being super arrogant.



Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Veritaserum27 Eavesdropping in the Corridor

17th April 2015:
Hi there Branwen!

I'm here for the prefects' review exchange. Ok. So this is my favorite chapter so far. I've gotta break down these three characters and what I liked.

I think Albus is the best character. Ever. I LOVE the CI - and it's exactly how I pictured him as soon as I read he had red hair. I think it would be funny if the CI could have Scorpius with the bright red hair from the story - haha. Anyway, Albus is so kind and sweet and really, really loyal. He plays peacemaker perfectly. I'm crossing my fingers that you have a story line for him somewhere in this novel (other than being Rose and Scorpius's go-between).

Scorpius seems to have it pretty bad for Rose - the poor boy doesn't even know what to do with himself. He loves to hate her and hates to love her. No wonder he is perfectly awful to her every time they meet! This chapter explained so much.

And then there's Rose. You'd think that the girl would sit up and listen when not one, but BOTH boys seem to have picked up on the same character flaws of hers! But no, all she's worried about is how well Albus defends her to her nemesis. She's got a lot of growing up to do.

So - here is my official CONGRATS ON BEING IN THE TOP TEN!! This story totally deserves it!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Ugh, I knew I forgot something when I requested that CI! I meant to ask for them to make Scorpius's hair red, but it totally slipped my mind.

I'm really glad you like Albus so much, because yeah, that's exactly how I wanted him to come off - I actually just wrote a scene in the sequel in which Albus throws a very uncharacteristic fit for Reasons and Scorpius is just kind of standing there thinking, "What is going on, I am so confused." (Except not quite like that. Obviously.)

Poor Scorpius. I'm really glad you felt like this chapter explained a lot of his reaction toward her, because yeah, I wanted that to get established fairly early on.

Thank you so much for your congrats and wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by just.a.willow.tree Potter Family Secrets

16th April 2015:
Okay, I know I'm kinda reviewing the story out of order, but I was going back and finding a couple of my favorite chapters with the least reviews. Perverted Scorpius, yikes. >__> I find his ~feelings~ for Rose quite hilarious, especially when she teases him and he actually gets all embarrassed and adorable about it.

(Scorpius is one of my favorite Next Gen characters.)

Also, may I take a moment to applaud you for making the beautiful choice of having all your Next Gen stories exist in the same world? Because I absolutely /love/ stories grouped together like that, and I've only found one other author who wrote her Next Gen stories like that. And I like that I can love the same Rose/Scorpius couple throughout all your other stories.

Rose in all her self-confident glory. :') I love reading about girls who manage to pull these sorts of things off when talking to guys, and this just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. (Odd topic to feel fuzzy about, I know.)

AHHH. Your writing gets me all ~YAY~ inside. If that makes sense. :P

Love,
Eva

Author's Response: Aww, no worries, Eva! There's no reason you should have to review in order if you don't want to. :P Yeah, there are wildly disparate review counts between chapters because some of them are totally new (though not all necessarily new content). I really appreciate your reviewing those, because they've been looking so lonely to me. :P

I'm really glad you like the all-the-same-world thing - I know that a lot of people don't do it that way, but I ended up spending so much time developing a solid headcanon for CINAS that I 1) didn't want to do it again and 2) had so many more stories I wanted to explore that staying in the universe just seemed natural.

Also, I think my readers usually like it? For lots of reasons?

I can definitely get a little ridiculous with it, though. Technically, even my Marauders fics are in the same universe - I think I've alluded to a tiny detail I mentioned in one of those stories in this one. (Which was probably unnecessary. I think one person did notice once, though, which made me very happy. :P)

It is totally not a weird topic to feel fuzzy about, actually! I can totally understand that. I feel like girls (and even women, for that matter) tend to be written to conform to certain gender norms that I really don't like, and while a lot of it was initially subconscious, I think that a lot of my female characters (and male characters, for that matter!) kind of subvert it. Rose and Scorpius definitely do.

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by merlins beard Prying Fathers

16th April 2015:
I'mso glad this is over (for now), it's 1 a.m. again... i can't wait for the next chapter...
I love this story so much,I don't want it to be over... I'm really looking forward ti reading the sequel as well.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I hope you enjoy the sequel as much as you enjoyed this! ♥

 Report Review

Review #32, by merlins beard Malfoy Family Secrets

16th April 2015:
Hello again.

I really love the scene you created. I know some people might not see Draco like that, but this is exactly my headcanon... I think he was pressured into believing what he did, and I'm sure he would have started to doubt everything about the Death Eaters when Voldemort was threatening to kill his family if he didn't kill Dumbledore. I even think the first two clumsy attemted murders were almost like a cry for help. If he was worried about not being discovered, he wouldn't even have tried that.
I believe once he realized what was happening, he was too far in to get out unscathed, and he was really scared to try.

Being a Slytherin, he obviously wasn't brave enough to risk his life and that of his family to get out. He (and even Lucius and Narcissa) only did what wad directly asked of them toward the end and in my opinion, Draco and Narcissa really deserve to be given a second chance.

I really love this chapter a lot. It is so incredibly important to the story, I'm glad you decided to write it.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Oh, good! This is so reassuring to read, because yeah, a lot of next-gen depictions of Draco that I've read tend to cast him in a light that's (IMO) way too similar to who he was at school. I totally agree that the two attempts at getting to Dumbledore that totally failed were a cry for help - it's really too bad that the Death Eaters didn't get there a few minutes later, because I think that Draco *would* have taken Dumbledore's offer to hide him.

(Though I'm less sure that Lucius wanted to be hidden, which could have complicated things.) But yeah, I totally agree that Draco and Narcissa both deserved another chance - I actually cover the Narcissa angle a little in the sequel, because Scorpius actually *does* go back on his promise in this and asks Rose to meet her.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #33, by merlins beard A Letter From Home

16th April 2015:
Naww... I think that might have almost been an 'I love you'
Scorpius is sooo sweet... i know lots of guys who could lern a lot from him ;)
~Anja

Author's Response: Yeah, it totally was. Oh, Scorpius. You're just lucky that Rose can be a little oblivious. I'm glad you think he's sweet - I definitely wanted him to come across that way!

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by merlins beard A Visit to the Village

16th April 2015:
Just wanted to let you know that this chapter wasn't boring at all... i did get some sleep though, because i was so exhausted that i fell asleep while reading (At 3 a.m.) i've been itching to grt back to this storyball day.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm glad it wasn't boring, *and* that you finally got some sleep. ♥

 Report Review

Review #35, by merlins beard Patrolling with Scorpius

15th April 2015:
Oh, come on... PLEASE let me finally go to bed... I hope the next chapter is really boring so i can finally stop. I've been at this all day (with a couple of breaks in important classes)...
~Anja

Author's Response: Aww, I hope you were able to tear yourself away after the next chapter and get some sleep! Yeahhh, I've definitely gotten that way about fics before, too - I'm really flattered mine has elicited that reaction from you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #36, by merlins beard Talking by the Lake

15th April 2015:
I really love all the honesty between Rose and Scorpius. More stories would benefit from honest talks between the main chcharacters... I hate miscommunications, I mentally applauded scorpius for telling Rose how her teasing makes him feel uncomfortable. So many things in life would be so much easier if more people actually did that instead of blushing, turning away and then complaining to someone else later...

Sorry for the weird rant, i really like this chapter a lot. It may just be my favourite so far.
~Anja

Author's Response: No, no apologies necessary! I'm actually really, really glad you've picked up on that and like it so much, because that's something that was very intentional on my part. I also find a lot of protracted miscommunication frustrating, too, and I actually think that people have a lot more of a capacity for saying, "No, do not do this, I don't like it" that popular culture tends to think that they do, particularly once they realize that the sky will not fall down because they do.

Okay, now I went on a rant. Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by merlins beard Flirting by the Lake

15th April 2015:
Just a short one for this chapter. It doesn't need many words... it's perfect.
I never imagined their first kiss to develop from rose teasing scurpius (i thought he'd do it just to shut her up)... but it was perfect and incredible and magical the way you wrote it.

~Anja

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this scene, and I'm glad you liked it so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #38, by merlins beard Forming a Truce

15th April 2015:
So many great chapters already... and so many more to come...this story should be a banned substance... it is seriously dangerous and highly addictive.
To explain the dangerous part, I'll tell you a little about my day.
I was on my way to uni when I started reading your story. When the train stopped, i didn't want to put ot down, so with my eyes glued firmly to the screen of my phone I exited the train just to bump into some seriously dangerous looking guy who shoots me a death glare. I mumble an apology while trying to find the sentence i had started reading when my clumsiness so rudely interrupted me. It only got worse from there. I tripped over my own feet and almost fell down a flight of stairs (in public), then I missed the whole topic of the class I was in because i was reading during it. My professor chose me to answer a question, which -by the incredulous look on his face-I probably should have known the answer to. (Might be he had just mentioned it a minute previously).
On my way home, while I was praying for my battery to last until I got home, I crossed the road (the traffic light WAS green) and was almost run over by a bus on a one-way street (it was going in the wrong direction!! Who's supposed to expect that?)

I'm still alive and reading your story and I'm enjoying myself immensely.
Can't wait for the next chapter.
~Anja

Author's Response: Oh no! That sounds like a very perilous day - I've had those, too, I promise. I'm so glad you're okay, and I'm really flattered that something I wrote was so absorbing that you couldn't put it down! ♥

These reviews have been so sweet to read - thank you. I'm really happy to hear that you've been enjoying the story so much. ♥


 Report Review

Review #39, by merlins beard Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

15th April 2015:
Hello again.
I really like how you added a lot of background detail to scorpius and noah and their families.
I really love the fact that Draco tells scorpius that the hippogrigff incident was his own fault. i really like your Draco... it's also great that he speaks of Hermione with respect...

This could turn quite interesting later on when Ron and Draco meet. I hope I get to read that...

I'm off to the next chapter now.
~Anja

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much, Anja! ♥ I'm glad you like my version of Draco - I know that he's a really divisive character in a lot of ways, so sometimes people don't, but I just feel like he grew up a lot during/after the war and probably wasn't at all the same person as he was at 14. (And, I mean, who is?)

Ron and Draco will briefly interact in the last chapter of this story (which I'm working on, but haven't posted yet - it should be up soon, though), and Scorpius definitely mentions his father's feelings about Ron once or twice. I'm actually also working on a short story about Rose meeting Scorpius's parents and vice versa, which I hope people enjoy half as much as I'm enjoying writing it. :P

(Rose and Scorpius are basically my Camp NaNo project. Just as a couple. I'm also working on adding Scorpius pov chapters to the sequel. So much love for Scorose.)


 Report Review

Review #40, by patronus_charm An Encounter in the Library

15th April 2015:
Hey again Branwen!

Okay, this is getting interesting, very interesting indeed. So the whole Scorpius dilemma has been playing on Rose’s mind more than usual and the whole starting in the mirror too. I can’t wait to see her next confrontation with Scorpius, because I feel that since her chat with James a lot’s been cleared up in Rose’s mind, so it will be interesting to see if the dynamics between her and Scorpius have changed at all.

Hmm, I’m liking Noah a lot and it was nice that we finally got to see him rather than hearing about him through other people. He has just has a nice character and I like the fact he’s studious, as I think we need more of those characters in FF instead of the token one in each story. :) Hmm, there did seem to be some interesting chemistry between him and Rose, and I have a feeling he doesn’t know about Scorpius liking Rose as he just seemed too relaxed when speaking with her. I’ll keep a close eye on developments between the two of them…

Okay, wow, that was an interesting talk with Scorpius. So much tension, so many emotions and wah you wrote it so well and it kept me hooked throughout. I can see Scorpius is getting very antsy about the whole thing between Rose and Noah so maybe it’s not just me who’s seen the chemistry between them, and adding the family dynamic does make it a little more awkward. I have a feeling he’s getting suspicious with Rose and perhaps he’s thinking she did overhear some of his and Albus’ conversation…

Great chapter!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi, Kiana!

I'm glad you like Noah! He's a lot of fun to write, too, and he's a lot better at calling Scorpius on his nonsense than Albus is. (Probably because he's, you know, a Slytherin, and a little more calculating that poor Albus, who's kind of an innocent soul surrounded by lots of liars :P). I shouldn't say *too* much yet, but Rose does a little more eavesdropping in chapter 12 that makes Noah's position on the entire thing very clear. ;)

And yeah, Scorpius has definitely figured out that Rose probably overheard some of what he said to Albus. I feel so bad for him early on in this story - if it was me, I'd be so mortified I'd want to sink into the ground. :P

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #41, by merlins beard Eavesdropping in the Corridor

15th April 2015:
Hey there.
I saw that this story is nominated for Ravenclaw SOTM and just had to read it... i really enjoy reading it.
I like Rose, but she is a little irritating. Even though eavesdropping is not very nice, I'm glad she overhears what she does.

I'll definitely keep reading, can't wait to find out what the next chapter contains.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hey, Anja! Yeah, eavesdropping is bad, but Rose really does learn so many interesting things when she does it. :P Thank you so much for the review (and for checking CINAS out in the first place ♥)!

 Report Review

Review #42, by just.a.willow.tree A Compromising Position

15th April 2015:
Branwen!

I hope you remember me, from TDA? I haven't been online in a while, but recently, I've taken to searching for new and wonderful fanfictions to read, and I found this in the Top Ten. So. Short little backstory to how I discovered this wonderful story.

This is the best fanfic I have read in /ages/, just so you know. If I'd known you could write like this earlier, I'd have meticulously gone through all your stories in a heartbeat. (I'm sorry for not responding in the earlier chapters, but I kept going to the next one and the next one because I wanted to see what was going to happen, and at this chapter, I forced myself to comment.

I love how you actually give proper flaws to the Weasley clan, with prejudice against Slytherins and quite large heads (though you manage to get the readers to love them anyway -- how is that possible).

Even better is how this story actually manages to avoid all the common cliches of romance-genre fanfics. Rose knew how Scorpius felt very early in the story (instead of being naively oblivious to his feelings, which is one of the huge cliches in fanfics -- AND EVEN PUBLISHED BOOKS -- that bothers me to no end), and that was one of my favorite parts -- how our main character took matters into her own hands to find out information.

And teenage hormones are as wonderful as ever. You write so fantastically, and be sure to see at least a couple more reviews from me before my review of wailing tears at the very end, once I register that the story is over. Because I will, for sure, be incredibly upset that it's done.

And one day, I'm going to come back and review ever chapter. This fanfic (and you, of course) deserve it.

~Eva

Author's Response: Eva! Omg! What do you mean, you hope I remember you? Of course I remember you, don't be ridiculous! ♥ (I miss you, too!)

Thank you so, so much. :) I'm glad you're enjoying it so much! I kind of stopped writing as much when I started really getting into TDA (probably around the time I was made a grad artist), but I'm trying to get back to it, because I love my next-gens so much. :P And no worries about not reviewing earlier chapters - if you get to it at some point, great, but if not... not? Like, it's way more important to me that you're loving the story. ♥

Try not to be too too upset when it's done, though! There's a sequel called 'The Wrinkles of the Road' posted that I'm working on editing/adding to for Camp NaNo this month. It starts about eight months after they finish school and centers on Rose and Scorpius (and Albus, James, Victoire, and Lucy, to lesser extents). Also, I'm working on a short story about them meeting each other's families that keeps making me giggle, because oh dear.

Also, all my next-gen stories are set within the same world. So any Rose/Scorpius stories I have up will always have the same Rose and Scorpius.

/shameless self-promotion

♥ Thank you so much for the review!! (And yeah, I miss you at TDA!)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Aphoride Albus's Guilt Trip

14th April 2015:
Hey Branwen! :) Stopping by from BvB battle!

You know, I just have to say this because I think it's kinda appropriate - I apologise if there's any weird wording/spellings in this because I'm watching Atletico v Real Madrid in the Champions league quarters :P So yeah, blame any mistakes on that ;)

I really love the way you've set this up. A lot of Next Gens often feel overly similar to me, you know - and it can be really pretty boring (and I'm easily bored, oops) - but this has a really different feel to it. I love how it starts with them already at school, rather than arriving at school or anything, and how Rose's character is established, as, well, not the nicest person in the world :P

No, seriously, she's an amazing character. She's so real, you know, which, for me, always makes things that much better. Rose is somewhat prejudiced, even if it's a logical and personal kinda reason why, she's aware of it and doesn't seem too bothered by it, and she seems to have a bit of a temper on her - but she's also clearly pretty clever, pretty brave and bold and unafraid of speaking her mind. She seems like the kind of person who's loud and isn't necessarily used to being talked over/told she's wrong or beaten verbally. Her characterisation, tbh, makes the whole 'hate-to-love' thing - normally something I hate with a passion, I gotta admit - so so much better, and actually something I like in here, because it makes sense, you know? And I can see how, I imagine, her realising about Scorpius is tied into a growing up, coming-of-age kinda storyline too. Which, imo, is probably the best way to manage that kind of cliche ;)

So yeah, I love Rose. Tbh, though, all of your characters are so, so good in this. Al and Scorpius - even James and Roxanne, who don't really appear all that much at all in this first chapter - are so interesting and so real. I'm so glad to see James friends with Roxanne rather than Freddy, and Al being the little socialite with so many friends from different houses :P They're such great presentations of them all, and I'm so curious to see what you do with them in the future - especially Scorpius, ofc ;)

Especially with Rose and Scorpius, I love how you've set it up so that Rose is the unreasonable one, in terms of her house opinions, and Scorpius is the rational one instead. It's a lovely overturn of the Hermione-Draco feud, in a way.

Your writing in this is so gorgeous too. Just the perfect balance of description and dialogue, and all of it is so so good. It just flowed so beautifully and sucked me into the story completely. The only thing I want to mention - since I know you're editing it atm - is that there are a couple of strange word phrasing things (like at one point you say something like 'could cut even out') which sounded a bit odd in my head. Maybe something to look over? But seriously, they're pretty minor things - they didn't disrupt anything much at all and the only reason they're even noticeable is because the rest of your writing is so good ;)

It's strange - having seen you around for so long in the CR, I can't believe this is my first review on this :P Will have to try and come back sometime later on in the Battle ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey, Aph! ♥ It was definitely super appropriate that you reviewed a story of mine during a Madrid derby I was glued to the tv for. :P (Speaking of - sorry about Bayern! Can't imagine they won't bounce back at home, though!)

I agree that sometimes, next-gens (both characters and plots, really) can fall into vague molds that don't change enough between stories/authors. I'm really glad that, thus far, at least, you don't feel like this falls into that trap.

I love that you got that from Rose, because yes - I think you're 100% right. She's not used to being challenged, especially by people who don't back down pretty quickly, and I have so much fun with that in this fic because I think the only two people who really push that on a regular basis are Albus and Scorpius himself - albeit in very different ways! Scorpius actually definitely touches on the 'hate-to-love' thing pretty directly a couple times later in the story - if you get that far at any point, I hope you like it there, too!

And yes, speaking of Scorpius - I definitely wanted to avoid the undertones of the Hermione-Draco feud (and Draco 2.0 in general) that I think are pretty prevalent through Scoroses. Because, seriously, what, like Draco hasn't changed and raised his kid in a very different way than his father raised him? Come on. (I mean, I've read stories where this was well done... but yeah, definitely wanted to avoid it!)

Thank you so much for the review! I'll look over the wording again asap and correct it. ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by patronus_charm Conversations with the Potter Boys

14th April 2015:
Hey there Branwen, wah this story is very addictive!

The start of this chapter was so awkward and I could really sense Rose’s pain, just poor her because I don’t even know how I would have been able to handle it. Having someone like you so much but then have them sort of hate you too, but you just hate them. Wow, this situation is confusing but I just hope that the hate turns to love soon. :P

Aw, James is so sweet and I love him! It’s so funny to see him and Rose together as they have this strange chemistry of almost being each other’s siblings and friends too. I guess strange is the wrong word, cool is probably better. Anyhow, this chapter was great as James had so many good one liners but I think is the one which cracked me up the most - “Thinking about you at night when he’s all alone?” – poor Rose, it’s just so weird!

“He has nice eyes, doesn’t he?” – ooh, ooh, ooh, is all I can say about this line because perhaps times are changing and Rose is developing warm feelings for him. If she does just wah. I’m glad that James is quite accepting of this in a way because he’s usually portrayed as having irrational prejudices so it’s nice to see a change here. I can’t help but wonder what Roxanne’s reaction’s going to be.

Hmm, the talk with Albus didn’t go too well. I guess it’s a bit early to expect Rose to say positive things about Scorpius, but the ominous warning at the end suggests it’s going to take even longer. Hmm, this is getting exciting though and I can’t wait to read more! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey, Kiana! I'm glad you're addicted - I really did have so much fun writing/editing it, and it's nice to know that people are, you know, enjoying it. :P

James is so much fun to write. He clearly takes after his namesakes in a lot of ways, but I definitely wanted to give him a serious and contemplative side, too. He's got depths that I think it's not always easy for people to see, but they're definitely there. Of course, he really does have to put things in fairly crass language sometimes - otherwise he wouldn't be James!

This is actually funny, because a scene I wrote for the sequel just the other day referenced the conversation between Rose and James in this chapter. (That scene was *weird.* It was between James and Scorpius. I just. How, guys? How?

Anyway. Yes, Scorpius really does have very nice eyes. I don't know if you know the football player Jesus Navas, but I think of Scorpius as having similar eyes to his, except a little more grey than green. (But oh, Rose.)

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by TearsIMustConceal Plausible Deniability

13th April 2015:
Hi Branwen, here for the review battle again :)

I really loved this chapter. I adore the dynamic between James, Roxanne and Rose. I am so thrilled that you've included Roxanne in this story - I hate that she's usually left out because I think she has so much potential to become an amazing character! Having James and Roxanne and the terrible two is so much fun! And I love how quickly they come to Rose's aid, already thinking about how they can get back at Scorpius! A definite Gryffindor quality! Aside from Rose, I think James and Roxanne are my favourite characters in this story!

And I love how you've mentioned James receiving a howler from Ginny, not dissimilar to the one Ron received in Chamber of Secrets from Molly - I think it's a cute tribute!

I love how realistic this story actually is! It's not just about a romance or quidditch, you've actually included talk about homework and worries about grades and such.I think this really helps readers relate to the characters!

Turning Scorpius' hair red was genius! Of all the colours in the world, you just know that being Weasley red would humiliate him the most! I can't wait for the retaliation because there is no way Scorpius is going to let that go!

And I just love that James, Roxanne and Rose all have plausible deniability - so cunning on their behalf!

Amazing job with the chapter!

Vicki

Author's Response: Hey, Vicki! Thanks for coming back! :)

I'm glad you like the James-Roxanne-Rose trio! Yes, Roxanne definitely doesn't get enough attention in next-gen overall, and I really think she should - why should Fred be the only troublemaking child George has? (He shouldn't. That's really the only good answer. :P) I think part of why I included her here and like this is that James needs *someone* to cause mischief with... but I really, really wanted his partner in crime to be a female cousin.

And yes - Scorpius *hates* that hair. I'd feel bad for him, except that... well, he really did pick that particular fight, even if Rose may have - er - overreacted a bit. :P

Thank you so much for another wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Heather Prying Fathers

12th April 2015:
Okay so I really love this story and I only just started and have already finished it. Please keep updating. I love this!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Heather! :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much!

I'm working on the next chapter, I promise - I hope to get it up in the next week or so. :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by TreacleTart Plausible Deniability

12th April 2015:
Hello again Branwen,

I was excited to see that James, Roxanne, and Rose had planned a prank on Scorpius. It was pretty funny when he showed up to class with bright red hair.

Part of me does wonder why they picked the color red. Now he matches Rose. How cute. :D

The description of the Halloween pranks was great in the beginning. I loved the idea of the pumpkins shooting out sparks and the suits of armor yelling boo! I could just imagine Argus Filch having a fit over it. I also adored that Ginny's howler sounded like something Molly would've said to the twins. It was a nice little touch.

The plausible deniability worked well for Rose, but I think pretty much everyone knows she had a hand in it. I don't think either Albus or Scorpius were fooled even though they didn't outright confront her about it.

I noticed two small typos, but they're pretty nitpicky.

"We’ve got Care of Magical Creatures is right after you." I think you should take the word "is" out of this sentence.

"That’s going to make Quidditch later painful" You've reversed the words later and painful. It should be “Quidditch painful later”.

This was another interesting chapter. I get that Scorpius is a bit annoying, but I don't get why Rose hates him quite so much. I'll be curious to see how that relationship develops.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose definitely isn't fooling anyone - pretty much anyone is going to guess that she had something to do with it, including - especially! - Albus and Scorpius. She sometimes confuses "you can't prove it and get me in trouble" with "yeah, I don't want to prove it, I just know." Scorpius doesn't need to see her get detention over it to want payback. :P

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #48, by BookDinosaur Plausible Deniability

12th April 2015:
BvB Review Battle! Hi again, Branwen. :D

This chapter was so fun! A lot of the time, I think, authors don't really go into detail with the minutiae of Hogwarts life, you know - like scheduling Quidditch practice and talking about how nobody gets above an A for their first OWL-graded essay. That's the kind of conversation that's a part of every student's life, but not many stories show that, so I'm really glad that you did!

Oh my, I love your characters so much, you know. Even the supporting characters like Roxanne and James have been fleshed out and it's clear that you've taken your time to give each character attention and honestly, it's just a pleasure to read. I loved how James and Roxy both immediately condemned Scopius for calling Rose a coward - it's such a house-appropriate reaction, and made me laugh. :P

I actually love the fact that you've had Roxanne and James be the troublemaking duo in the year above Rose and Albus - I see a lot of Fred and James and a lot of authors seem to forget that Roxanne even exists, so this was a really nice change.

Oh my goodness, poor Scoripus! As someone who doesn't like Weasleys, having his hair the same colour as them all must be kind of terrible. And hah, James and Roxanne and Rose all made sure to have plausible deniability, they might have to consider Slytherin instead of Gryffindor!

I love the pace at which you're advancing the story. I think that with all your headcanons and the level of detail that you include in your story, which are both super impressive, it might be easy to get bogged down in the tiny things, but that's not happening with you. The story is advancing, and I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next!

Hopefully I'm going to be back in the near future, because I don't think that Scorpius will take this lying down and I'm looking forward to seeing what he does next!

Emily

Author's Response: Hi again, Emily! :)

I'm so glad you notice and like the emphasis I put on being a student at Hogwarts - I wanted to include schoolwork and Quidditch practice and that sort of thing, because for me, that's an important part of the setting that will have a significant impact on how Rose and Scorpius communicate with each other. They don't have unlimited free time, after all, and they're also in, you know - different houses. :P

I think James, Roxanne, and Rose are all in denial about how Slytherin-ish they can be sometimes. I mean, they're clearly Gryffindors, but come on, guys. You're not as different as you'd like to be.

Thank you so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by TreacleTart Albus's Guilt Trip

12th April 2015:
Hi Branwen,

This was an intriguing start to this story! Am I getting the sense that Scorpius might have a thing for Rose and Albus is trying to set them up alone together, so they are forced to talk?

The scene with the Quidditch team was very detailed. I noticed a lot of little things like the lions crawling all over James chair that really added to the feel of the story. I had to laugh when James gave his opening speech. It immediately made me think of Oliver Wood. Then I wondered if he had had a training accident and his spirit had possessed James. :D

I absolutely love that you have James and Dominique as best friends/partners in crime. Usually, I see James/Fred more often, so this was refreshing. I can just imagine all of the shenanigans that they get up to!

I really enjoyed how you characterized Dominique. Her confidence, sense of humor, and spirit of adventure make her a really interesting person. I'm actually looking forward to seeing how she will develop.

Another little detail that I noticed was that you gave Albus red hair! I was so excited to see this because I did that in one of my own stories and everyone commented on how unusual it was because supposedly he's the spitting image of Harry.

When Scorpius asked Albus on a "bromantic walk" I giggled. It was so cute and really spoke about the comfort of their friendship.

The only constructive criticism I can offer is a very, very minor thing and something most people won't notice. I think you could really push your descriptions of the food in the beginning. It seemed like you were just listing off the items as an after thought instead of really describing the meal. I'm probably way more picky about that than most people because I work as a chef, but in comparison to the rich detail everywhere else, I think you could give a bit more just in those two sentences.

All in all, this was a great start. I'm curious to see what type of mischief everyone will be getting into in the next chapter. I'm headed there right now to see!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey, Kaitlin! Thank you so much for the swap! :)

I'm glad that the opening speech James gave made you think of Oliver Wood - that's exactly what I was going for, though I think James is a tiny bit less fixated on Quidditch than Wood was. (Then, I think his ego is also probably bigger than's Wood's, so maybe it evens out. :P)

Yes! I love red-haired Albus - I love that you did that in a story as well! I know he's supposed to look a lot like Harry, so maybe it's not quite canon-accurate, but I figure you can look a lot like someone without sharing their hair color... especially since Albus *does* have Harry's eyes.

I can definitely see what you mean about the food descriptions - I'll look at that again next round of edits and see about adding more in. :)

Thanks again for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Heather Malfoy Family Secrets

11th April 2015:
I think scorpious knows just the right amount!

Author's Response: Oh, good - thank you so much for your feedback on that! I get so nervous with these things. :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>