Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
361 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Avanell 2 The Lake

22nd November 2012:
Oh, wow! Love it! Such a different way of presenting our characters especially now with their (real) first kiss together! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Avanell 2 The Hospital Wing

22nd November 2012:
Another fun chapter...I love how you've characterized Albus and James as well as their relationship with their cousin dearest Rose...so different from other stories I remember. And I just KNEW Malfoy poisoned her! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Albus and James! :) I tried really hard to make Albus in particular interesting and distinct, because I feel like a lot of Albuses and Jameses just kind of blend together.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Avanell 2 The Patronus Charm

22nd November 2012:
Excellent chapter, interesting laughing bit. But oh, a lioness! One of my favorite animals :D

Author's Response: i like lionesses, too - they're so cool. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Avanell 2 Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

22nd November 2012:
Great story, not sure if I read some before but delighted to be enjoying it today :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Whether you've read it before or not, I'm glad you're enjoying it now!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Kels Hogsmeade

19th November 2012:
:O THAT WAS THE END! HOW WAS THAT THE ENDING?! Oh I am crossing my fingers that there is a sequel!

Author's Response: Aw, yeah - I felt like it was time for Rose and Scorpius in school to draw to a close, at least for this fic. I'm glad you enjoyed it, though, and I hope you like the sequel just as much. :) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by RupertsPheonix Hogsmeade

3rd November 2012:
I love this story and have for quite some time. You're an excellent writer, and I love the Scorp/Rose relationship--it's different than everything else out there in the FF world! Thanks for writing a story that has truly been a pleasure to read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so flattered that you feel like I've managed to create something different - I was definitely trying to do so, but it's one thing to want to do so and another to succeed. :P

Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it, and I'm glad you liked the story so much!


 Report Review

Review #32, by LillyRoseanne Hogsmeade

1st October 2012:
Loved it :D

Will be checking out some of your other stories at some point too :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm so glad you liked it, and I hope that if you read my other stories, they don't disappoint! As a quick note, all of my stories take place in the same 'universe' unless I specifically note otherwise, so if you read something and think, "Wow, this Albus/Victoire/James seems really similar to what I saw in 'Curiosity' and 'Wrinkle' - well, you'll be right. :P

Thank you so much for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #33, by LillyRoseanne Fighting with Scorpius

1st October 2012:
I LOVE Roxanne and James... That made me laugh SO much...

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked this scene! It was definitely one of my favourites to write. :P

 Report Review

Review #34, by LillyRoseanne Patrol

30th September 2012:
O.k I am reviewing this chapter because it is 4am and I really should stop reading and go to bed as I have to be up at 8.30...

Loving it... tis fab and such other words being used to describe things as awesome as this fic... :P

:D laters x

Author's Response: Aw, I know the feeling - that's happened to me before, too. :P I'm really flattered that it's one of my fics that's pulled you in so much that you're staying up a lot later than you meant to!

Thank you so much for your reviews - they were all so sweet and really left a smile on my face when I logged in and saw them. :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by LillyRoseanne The Patronus Charm

30th September 2012:
That was sooo scorpius!

Gotta admit though I may be little hyper on caffeine of the tea variety too... :P

Excellent Chapter :D

Author's Response: Tea is the best. Any time I have to be up late (or early, or have a sort throat, or am just in the mood), I always go for tea. :P Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by LillyRoseanne Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

30th September 2012:
Loving Rose's last line in that chappie... :D actually had to cover my mouth so my laughter wouldn't wake my flatmates :P

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked it! :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by LillyRoseanne Sweets, Pranks, and the Marauder's Map

30th September 2012:
I really should stop reading and go to sleep, but I can't seem to do it... :P

Author's Response: I'm sorry it's taking up your sleep, but I'm glad you like it so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by LillyRoseanne Al's Guilt Trip

30th September 2012:
Hello Review Box!

Interesting first chapter though, liking the blatant name calling, well written so it reduces the cliché of it :D

Good Start :D x

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #39, by cherry1585 The Quidditch Match

24th September 2012:
One of the best Quidditch scene i have read in my short fan fiction reading. I really enjoy your story, which is much more sensible than usual Romeo and Juliet stories floating around the place for Scorose.

What were everything else might be, they are just two kids who seem to like each other.

Good going :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked it - Quidditch is hard to write, so I'm always a little worried about whether I've pulled it off. :)

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #40, by geminirose23 Al's Guilt Trip

19th September 2012:
Really good start, I look forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I hope you enjoyed the rest of it, too. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Jchrissy A Visit to the Village

10th September 2012:
Okay Rose has officially gotten 'essentially' stuck on my head. She's such a fun character to follow around. I love the cousin relationships you've installed, especially because it's clear they all love each other very much, but there are those ones you try a bit harder to please and enjoy company with more. Rose and James's desire to please Fred and make him proud felt very realistic because there's always those few. I have a whole swarm of cousins and despite the fact I love them all, I also enjoy being around others more and can relate better to than a few

I still get a bit mixed up on ages and such, if you have a list going over all that i'd love to see it ;).

I also really like that the potions professor did seemed to prefer the little Weasley Potter gaggle because again, it is realistic. There are teachers the do like you a bit more an will let you off the hook easier, it just happens, and I like even more that it was potions and Slytherin head of house that was easier on Roxanne ;).

I'm continually impressed with your ability to make these people their own and not just minute versions of their parents.

Wonderful chapter darling

Author's Response: Aww, yay! I'm glad you're continuing to like it! :)

Totally know what you mean about the next-gen ages. No worries - I think that even people who read a lot of next-gen might occasionally get confused. Most of the ages aren't specified in canon (only Teddy, Albus, Rose, Scorpius, and Lily are, and Victoire, James, and Hugo are all heavily implied. Other than that, it's totally up to the author, and I actually spread their ages out more than most people (who tend to clump everyone but Teddy and Victoire very close together).

So, my next-gen ages:

Teddy is 23 at this point, having attended Hogwarts from 2009 - 2016.

Victoire is 21, having attended from 2011 - 2018.

Fred is 21, having attended from 2012 - 2019. (He has a very early fall birthday.)

Molly is 20, having attended from 2013 - 2020.

Dominique is 19, and attended 2014 - 2021.

Lucy and Louis are both 18, and in their seventh year.

James and Roxanne are both 17, and are in their sixth year.

Rose, Albus, and Scorpius are all fifth years. (Obviously.)

Lily ad Hugo are both third years.

Victoire, Dominique, and Louis are Bill/Fleur's. Molly and Lucy are Percy's. Fred and Roxanne are George's. Rose and Hugo are Ron/Hermione's. James, Albus, and Lily are all Ginny/Harry's. :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by pookielow Hogsmeade

8th September 2012:
soo.. dom is lesbian? ok then... ?

Author's Response: Yep, I decided to make Dominique a lesbian. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Nero The Ninja The Lake

8th September 2012:
AH
THEY KISSED
OMGOMGOMG
BTW, If Rose doesn't want Scorp, I'd gladly take him.
*winkwinknudgenudge*

Author's Response: Haha, aw, I think a lot of people have that reaction! Fictional boys are just better, a lot of the time. :P Thank you for the review, and I'm so glad you're enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Jchrissy Sweets, Pranks, and the Marauder's Map

7th September 2012:
Omg. They are so frustrating. They like each other, they want to figure out more about each other, and they are such little brats for not doing something about it!

I really love James and Roxanne and the entire family dynamic that goes on in this story so much. And the fact that this goes around a Hogwarts schedule and them being in HOGWARTS actually matters as opposed to you never once mentioning anything school related, which annoys me.

I love that the discussion about the map and the Chamber of Secrets. Just tying in those things that you kind of assume everyone would know, until you remember that they aren't in Harry Potter world the way we are and don't know every thing. Scorpius's reactions are perfect. Also, because I've already read way ahead... I feel like there's a chapter a while down when Scorpius and Rose are fighting about James, and Rose is telling him what a good person he is and says something like 'you know that map of Al's you thought was so cool? Well it was James's' obviously that's not completely right, but something close. But this chapter they tall him that James took it, so he already know. I could be completely wrong though, I'll point it out while I'm reviewing if i I notice the chapter that I think Rose says that.

And they even get along in this chapter! We're making progress! They may take a while, especially considering it seems like Rose takes after Ron in the relationships area, but they weren't fighting!

Author's Response: Heh, when I first started this story I ended up drawing out class schedules for fifth/sixth years, just so I could make sure I was being consistent and not doing exactly what you mentioned, which tends to really annoy me as well. Come on, guys, Hogwarts is not just a dance party with love triangles. It's actually a school. People go there to learn. Ughhh.

I actually don't think you are completely wrong - oversight on my part when I was editing things around. I've gone and fixed it so it's consistent now - thank you for points it out!

♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Jchrissy Threat of Retaliation

7th September 2012:
Okay. I'm going to need a chart to remember whose cousins and siblings and whose child is whose. This is when not reading a ton of next gen gets me, because I still get a bit confused on the family members. I LOVE the Roxanne and James dynamic you have, I love that you're not ignoring the family just because they aren't scorose. They are such a huge part that it's always annoying when they're just faded into the background.

The way that Rose always has to poke Scorpius and he has to make sure he responds and pokes back, it's great. It makes for such a smooth read that is over before you realize it.

I love the letter she wrote to cousin Fred! I don't know why I loved it so much, but it just felt really Hogwarts - sneaky/smart studenty. Haha, that makes no sense, I know. I also really liked that you don't have Scorpius as this perfect sweet man that Rose just HAS to fall in love with, he clearly has his own flaws also.



Author's Response: Oh, I love writing James and Roxanne - the dynamic is just so much fun. Making them fade into the background tends to annoy me, too, so I'm right there with you, and I'm glad you felt like I avoided that. :)

And yeaahhh... Scorpius has lots of good traits and is a pretty all-around good guy, but he's definitely not perfect. (Among other things, Scorpius, why in the name of God would you talk about very personal matters in public so often? It always seems to backfire on you!)

♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #46, by HPsmartone32 Hogsmeade

4th September 2012:
wait? that's the end. fajskdl;gh. but i want more rose/scorpius!
... SEQUEL TIME.
this was a great story. i really enjoyed reading it :)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! :) It was so sweet to see your reviews as you went through it. I hope you enjoy the sequel just as much!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Jchrissy Plausible Deniability

4th September 2012:
So obviously I re-read this chapter to review, and I have to say I like it even more the second time. Not that I didn't love it the first.

You are making these teenagers, teenagers! And it's awesome. I feel like so often the reason I don't like next gen is because it's an imitation of Marauders era. And that just doesn't fit. In that era they were had the possibility of being murdered for anything constantly looming around them, and though they were just teenagers, they were also people caught in the middle of a war. Next Gen is a time when thing are okay, and happy, and they all have supportive and stable families, they are going to be way different people than their ancestors. Okay, ramble rant over, back to your story ;).

The way that you move through the day feels really fluid to me, we don't need to actually be with them during the class and know what they're learning every time, it could get dull, but just following them through the classes is plenty to make it feel like they actually are at Hogwarts.

Scorpius feels really different in this, I can feel the way he'd be able to be cold like a Malfoy, but the prejudices that his father possessed have melted away. He's still judgmental enough to go through the list of Al's cousins, but to be honest he's probably right. The friendship you have between those two feels realistic, and not just a concoction to get Rose and Scorpius together.

I love that Scorpius, despite thinking she's hot, really doesn't seem to like her. It's much more interesting and believable than both of them 'pining away but never loving for the curse of the Slytherin and Gryffindor' and it's easier to identify with thinking a person is attractive without actually liking them as opposed to liking someone and not acting on it, for me at least.

I really have to say that what makes your story so special and easy to fall into is that you're letting it tell itself. I can feel how real these characters are to you, their varied personalities and all the time you've put into creating them, and it just makes for an intoxicating read.

I didn't find myself confused anywhere in the story as to what was going on or where they were located, nor did I find myself having to wade through descriptions to get to the point, so I'd definitively say that your description are spot on.

The flow feels smooth and natural, You're giving us new information to keep it interesting but not sparing on anything that would make it feel rushed.

Okay, obviously if i haven't made it clear enough, I very much enjoyed this chapter (and the next 7 ;) ) and will review at least one more for this request!

Thanks so much for requesting, darling ♥

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like Al and Scorpius's friendship! :) In Rose/Scorpius fics, it often does end up feeling like Albus and Scorpius are just friends because it's convenient for the plot, and I really wanted to avoid that.

I'm also glad that you like the fact that Scorpius isn't sitting around mooning over her. He's definitely got a bit of a thing where Rose is concerned that goes beyond "You're hot and I hate you," but at least early on, he also really doesn't like her. He's quite happy to jump on the Rose bandwagon once he realises that maybe he's just been seeing one side of her, but he definitely doesn't start out besotted.

♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #48, by HPsmartone32 The Green Monster

4th September 2012:
BUT
NEXT
CHAPTER
THE
CUTE...
I HATE YOU FOR MAKING THIS STORY SO FREAKING GOOD THAT I CAN'T STOP READING.
next chapter is the last one. i swear. forreal this time.

Author's Response: Yeah this is definitely one of the cuter chapters. :P Sorry it's being so inconvenient, though I'm happy it's drawing you in so much!

 Report Review

Review #49, by HPsmartone32 Secrets

3rd September 2012:
okay. so the next chapter will certainly be the last one until tomorrow. really, this time. i mean it. .

Author's Response: Aw, haha, I've totally been there. I'm really, really flattered that my story is having that effect on you. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by HPsmartone32 The Lake

3rd September 2012:
THIS CHAPTER WAS SO CUTE. ah, i love the rose/scorpius dynamic you have here. it's different and fantastic. and it's nearing 11 pm here and i have to get up at 6 am, and for the last two hours i've been sitting here saying "just one more chapter" to myself over and over again.
but really. this time, just one more chapter until tomorrow.
probably.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! :) This was one of my favourite chapters to write, so I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>