Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
361 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Midnight spark Hogsmeade

17th January 2014:
Wow... I thought that the cousins of Rose is going to KILL Scorpius! The most perfect ending!!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Midnight spark Asking Around

13th January 2014:
I was right about Al! And Johanna is so fun... I really hope she was joking about what she said about Scorpius to Ron... And Scorpie dear? Hilarious! Last thing: He is so bloody damn romantic!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed it! I love Johanna, so I'm always happy when other people do, too. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Midnight spark A Letter From Home

13th January 2014:
I have a feeling Al is behind this letter...

Author's Response: When in doubt, always blame Albus. :P

 Report Review

Review #4, by PB Hogsmeade

10th December 2013:
Excellent. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ReeBee Hogsmeade

23rd November 2013:
Oh my god! Just as amazing as I expected! I LOVED IT!! Ahh going to read sequel now!! :D Cant wait to read more of your writing!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy the sequel just as much. (And I promise I'm going to be adding to it soon - my life has been quite hectic lately, but I've been working on a new chapter slowly but surely. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ReeBee Al's Guilt Trip

22nd November 2013:
Oh my god! Ive been looking for an amazing fanfic and this is even more than that! i can't wait to finish it!!

I love the fact that Rose isn't a cliche, annoying snob! I can't express how much I loved it! You have somehow included characterisation and introduced the plot, without it being too full on! its perfect!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by RoseWeasley7 Asking Around

30th August 2013:
You've got the CI for the last chapter in this a one
Love the story though, reading it for the second time!

Author's Response: Whoops, thanks for telling me! I've fixed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RoseWeasley7 A Letter From Home

30th August 2013:
The CI for this chapter is in the next chapter, not this one

Author's Response: Thank you for telling me, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story the second time around, too! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rachel Payne Hogsmeade

21st July 2013:
I was a little surprised that this was mostly a romance story, most authors who are as brilliant as you try to add in a twist of drama or danger. I'm not complaining at all, just voicing my thoughts, so please don't think that I am discontented by the ending.

This has been a beautiful story, I am about to go and click on the sequel. You have got style and flair, and it just cannot be denied. I sincerely hope that you consider being an author as a profession, it could be very good for you.

Best of luck
-Rachel

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :)

I probably won't ever try to be an author in RL, to be honest - I've got a career path I'm pursuing that I'm quite happy with. I'm flattered you think I'm that good, though, and I really appreciate the vote of confidence.

I'm also, of course, very glad that you liked this story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rachel Payne Al's Guilt Trip

20th July 2013:
Can I just say that you are an author who is unafraid of the paragraph long explanations? It is such an important part of the writing process, other than just conversations and the character's thoughts, and many people do not understand the importance behind it.

Great opening, it seems like this story is going to be a good one, it is a little sluggish though. Maybe add in some humor, because this is just too serious, and yet it isn't DRAMATIC serious. It is more of a dull serious.

-Rachel

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much - I'm glad you enjoyed that. :)

I know what you mean about it being sluggish. I'm not especially pleased with this first chapter, even after a lot of editing, to be honest, and I'll probably try to go back and look it over again soon.

:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by PolyJuice_ Al's Guilt Trip

18th July 2013:
WHEE~ I'm back! I just reviewed your sequel the other day, and then the OTP challenge came up and I chose ScoRose and I instantly knew where I wanted to go!

*sits myself down*

I love your Rose. She's quirky, she's fun and she is just /that/ much of a "problem" child that she's one of my favourite characters.

I do also love the way Al is accepting of the Slytherins. He's often portrayed as either being a Slytherin through and through or hating them outright. Whereas Rose, with her hating the Slytherins is also something different. It's a nice, refreshing roll-reversal from the stuff you often see.

Although I might be a bit biased, as a Slytherin myself.

Ooh, I see the beginnings of a relationship, there Rose. ;) You know what they say, there's a thin line between love and hate! I just love the hair prank. I can only imagine how Scorpius is going to react. (Actually, seeing as I've read this story multiple times I can do more than imagine..)

Loved the chapter! Can't wait for the next one! (Both in the sequel, and the one I'm about to review! :3 )

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #12, by acciomaeve Hogsmeade

19th June 2013:
adore this story! I especially love Scorpius' character!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by madness Hogsmeade

16th May 2013:
Nawww :') I loved it all

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Terri Hogsmeade

20th February 2013:
Hey! Just wanted to say this was a great read - it wasn't too sappy, it balanced the Weasley family dynamic really well, and every character was very believable. Overall, just super well done. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #15, by FallenAmaranth Threat of Retaliation

12th February 2013:
Ugh! I just want to lock them in a broom cupboard for an age(too cliche?) merely just so they can't walk off and end the conversation.
I love Scorpius and Rose's conversations, because they're both civil and even when he's not. Obviously they're more open about their mutual dislike when he's not there but they aren't constantly exchanging snide remarks, which get boring extremely fast.

I like the idea of Fred being an older relative, I know I've mentioned that he's usually the same age as James, but now I imagine him to be a someone who they'd look up to(being older) and he's still a prankster and joker, and would gladly get involved in mischief, but it seems better, because he's not immature and is genuinely funny, rather than just messing about.

I really can't wait to see how things turn out when Scorpius attempts to jinx her(he'd better, otherwise she'd have gone to all that trouble for nothing) and am also weirdly intrigued to see if and what Fred will write back. I hope to see what kind of guy you've made him ^_^

I also really like the whole family secrets sort of thing with the invisibility cloak and map, in a previous chapter when Damien brought up that they never got caught and Roxanne replied that it was a family secret or something, it was sort of nice. I never thought that things about the Peverell invisibility cloak and the Marauder's Map should just be blurted out. They share it between them but if everyone knew about it then there would be less of a point in it really.

I also like that Rose is taking cautions, remembering that there are certain members of staff who know of the 'family secrets', which is realistic and, well, smart really.

I'm really not envious of the Gryffindor team thinking about that practice, but I guess that's what makes them awesome :D

- Emily

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review, and I'm sorry it's taken so long to answer it.

I'm glad you like Fred being older than them - a lot of people do make him James's age, but I always thought that it would make sense for George and Angelina to start having kids before the trio - they're older, after all, and unlike Ron and Harry, they're done with their education!

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by FallenAmaranth Plausible Deniability

12th February 2013:
I've realised that my favourite thing about this story, is that it's so realistic! They all think, talk and act just like normal teenagers, what with all the chatter about homeworks, studying, asking older students for advice, it's so believable and it's something that easily happens to me a lot. I felt that I could easily relate to Rose, when I was in my second year of GCSE's I was constantly asking for advice about choosing A-Levels from both my elder siblings.

This reminded me of a challenge I saw on the forums a few weeks ago, called the Overworked Student challenge or something, which basically mentioned that quite often we see stories that are way too centred around a certain romance or quidditch, and that's all the story is, there is no worry about homework and the only time it focuses on them being in class is if their arch-enemy-true-love-to-be is paired with them. This story is a brilliant example of what the challengee was looking for; the most normal, believable and realistic thing that would feature in a story circulating the life of a fifteen year old. School.

I have to say I thought Al and Scorpius's conversation was amazing, not only did it show what great friends the two of them were, it also gave a valid reason as to why Scorpius dislikes Rose. It's not one of the vicious hates that never seems to have a cause, he actually doesn't like her and he can say that whilst still having a clear head. What I'm basically trying to say is that it's explained to the reader(and Al) why he doesn't like her, which I don't usually see in other ScoRose's - they just seem to have mutual hatred embedded in their genes.

The other reason it was amazing was, well, because Rose overheard it. Obviously! Gosh, she was so devious when she lead the two of them through the secret passage way! Also, I totally get where Scorp was coming from with the whole problem of thinking she was hot - if I dislike someone quite a bit, yet find myself attracted to them, it only heightens my dislike because, quite frankly, it's annoying.

And can I just please say I love you so much for the fact that you remembered and mentioned the swamp. I am a canon nut myself and I honestly just adore any mention of those little references to things that most people would forget(including myself, I am ashamed to say) because it is those little things that really make a story.

I also like this because I feel that you have a real believable way for Rose and Scorp to get together, I mean, Albus and Scorpius are often friends, but they're also often just shoved together as friends and we never really get to feel their friendship.

I'm seriously in love with this story right now, so much so that I'm worried I may not get much sleep tonight ;)

- Emily :D

Author's Response: Oh, I loved that challenge! I so wanted to enter it, but unfortunately (and ironically) I was too much of an overworked student at the time to do so!

I have the same issue you do with many next-gen stories that take place in Hogwarts. People tend to overlook the major focus of the characters' lives, which is of course school. If it isn't, they should bump into problems because of that! School is a pretty integral part of being a student, after all.

I'm also glad that you like the way I set up their interpersonal interactions. Again, I agree that a lot of stories just tell that Rose and Scorpius hate each other or that Scorpius and Albus are friends, but they don't really show it. I wanted to show it, and I'm really glad that you feel like I succeeded. :)

Thank you again. As I said in my last response, these really made my day, and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond.


 Report Review

Review #17, by FallenAmaranth Al's Guilt Trip

12th February 2013:
Well hey there!

I loved this, honestly. It has been so long since I have read a good ScoRose fic, I'm afraid to say my obsession with the Potter boys has rather got the better of me ;)

This was written fantastically well, I thought the introduction with Rose's view on Slytherins was brilliant, it was nice to see the not everyone disliked them, and the references to Hermione were great.

I'm really honestly glad that Albus and Scorpius are friends, but are still in separate houses; I never pictured Al as a Slytherin, nor Scorpius as a Gryffindor, honestly if I had to give them a different house it'd probably be Ravenclaw for both of them. Dumbledore would be very proud of your version of Albus :)

So, James's chair...I seriously wish I could own it. No really, it's brilliant, although when I first pictured it in my head it looked all magnificently mighty with a high back and arm rests(like a throne, because James is my prince) and then spent ages trying to figure out how he'd manage to sit on that backwards :D I really did like the whole conversation that they had before practice though, I thought it was very realistic and casual, and it was a fabulous way to introduce the whole team without just a massive paragraph which would easily be skipped over.

I want us to set records that no one will ever beat. I want us to be remembered as the best team this school has ever seen.

^^ This quote literally made me squee, not because it was the best quote of the whole chapter(I don't think I could choose) but because I'm currently writing a quidditch based story, and what James said is pretty much the exact thing my MC wants, and when I read that it gave me an extra little bit of motivation :)

I thought that you did great in portraying the family dynamics and relationships in all of their interactions. They were all different, yet you could see how much they cared for each other - especially with how Rose put up with Albus's Slytherin friends just for his sake - and also James and Roxanne were very obviously brilliant mates, which makes a change from it being James and Fred.

Although we don't know huge amounts about the canonical next-gen children, I thought they were very in character for how I imagined them(I keep reading it, but the guys were never going to be TOTAL heartless playboys) and indeed they definitely had character.

Scorpius and Rose's relationship seems to be interesting, and I look forward to how Scorp fares with red hair ;)

I'd like to thank you for a brilliant read, I think the most exciting part for me is that there's another 28 chapters waiting for me to read and review! So that's probably where you'll see me next! :D

- Emily

Author's Response: Hey! I want to thank you so much for your lovely review, and I'm sorry it's taken me way too long to respond. My life got very crazy very quickly for the first half of this year, and my HPFF participation kind of fell by the wayside. I do want you to know how much I appreciate this lovely, thorough review, though, especially since my life got so stressful - I've read over it many times as school and work consumed my life!

I'm really glad you liked the way I characterized the next-gens - there are definitely some things I do a bit differently from most people (e.g., James and Roxanne being mates rather than James and Fred), but I'm glad they worked for you. :)

Thank you again. Really.


 Report Review

Review #18, by catty Fighting with Scorpius

22nd January 2013:
James and Roxanne are great!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like them! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by potterfan226 Al's Guilt Trip

27th December 2012:
I love what you've done with the characters so far! And this chapter was well written. Very intriguing, I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ChaosWednesday Al's Guilt Trip

7th December 2012:
Hey it Whiskey from Holiday Review Swap!

I don't read much New Gen, so I am not sure I can comment on originality, but I would still like to point out a few things I liked:

First, the team conference in the beginning was a great way to introduce the characters smoothly. It didn't seem forced at all and also put the characters in a situation where they had to accept praise, something people,as a rule, react to very differently. So that scene provided an additional opportunity to compare their individual reactions,thus informing the reader not only of who they are but what they are like. All in a few short paragraphs :)

New Generation is interesting because of all the ways we can imagine the wizarding world to be different from the Hogwarts era. But there is also the much used saying that the more things change, the more they stay the same. Although I suspect others might dislike the way Gryffindor-Slytherin rivalry seems to live on in this story, I feel that you presented it in a way that makes sense. The amount of children that Harry and co had (at more or less the same time, too) would create, I imagine, a kind of elite at the school. Elitism is the best breading ground I can think of for self-entitlement and arrogance and, as a result, resentment.

But, if you don't mind, I would like to offer some critique as well. Although I am generally not a fan of the hate-at-first-sight shipping device, I am a girl like any other and don't mind reading it once in a while XD And I think it would work very well in this story if the dialogue between Rose and Scorp was a bit more natural. Everything was fine, actually, until Albus left and Scopr asked this: "Do you really like Care of Magical Creatures?" I found it strange that he would *volunteer* to keep up the conversation, especially with a sentence that not only seems to care about the conversation partner's opinion but also imples the two sharing a moment of honesty. If all Scorp does is try to make Rose's life difficult, he would have done anything but that. Maybe he would have remained quiet and grinned at her, or he would have made fun of something she was wearing, or he would have tried to transparently manipulate her into doing his homework...etc.etc. But since he did something that seemed so unnatural,the rest of the conversation appeared to go rather awkwardly as well. I realize that you are finished with this story, but if you ever have the time to go back and edit it, then I would really advise you to have a careful look at that conversation. I suspect it is an important one for further events and it is supposed to tie that chapter together.

Apart from this one thing, I really had no other qualms and quite enjoyed the chapter! Happy holidays :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - I'm glad you liked the chapter, and the way I've developed the world.

I understand what you mean in terms of Rose and Scorpius's conversation, and I'm actually glad that you picked up on it not really making sense if all he does is bother her and make her life difficult. That's certainly Rose's perception, but her perception is not necessarily accurate. :P

Thank you so much for such a lovely, detailed review, and I'm sorry it's taken so long for me to answer it!


 Report Review

Review #21, by wytchkitty13 Al's Guilt Trip

6th December 2012:
Hello It's wytchkitty13 from the holiday review swap! :)

This took me a while to read but now that I am finished(and trying not to jump to the next chapter) I'll review this chapter.

First may I say what a great event this is that we get to read each other's stories. You wouldn't believe the gems you find this way! And this is certainly one of those gems.
I'm enjoying seeing the next gen already. And Albus- oh I'm already in love with his char lol. Rose is so strong, and determined. She kind of reminds me a bit of Hermione.
James is also a character that is really addictive. And Scorpious calling Rose "Red" and just the banter with them was cute. It's already becoming an addicting story and I'm curious and excited for which way it will go :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm sorry it's taken me way too long to respond, but I really do appreciate the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the story so much. Albus is so much fun to write - he's one of my favourite next-gen characters - so I'm really pleased that you mentioned him in particular. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2 Hogsmeade

23rd November 2012:
Very sweet story. Loved it! Just wish there was more...continuing here, unless you do a good follow up in the next story ;)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I hope the sequel has lived up to your expectations thus far. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2 Confessions Are Awkward Business

23rd November 2012:
Really liked reading Lucy here...great update! Darn, I'm almost finished with this story ;)

Author's Response: I love Lucy. She's so much fun as character. One day I'll write a story about her... when I finish all my other WIPs and have some time, anyway. :P

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Avanell 2 The Lake

22nd November 2012:
Oh, wow! Love it! Such a different way of presenting our characters especially now with their (real) first kiss together! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2 The Hospital Wing

22nd November 2012:
Another fun chapter...I love how you've characterized Albus and James as well as their relationship with their cousin dearest Rose...so different from other stories I remember. And I just KNEW Malfoy poisoned her! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Albus and James! :) I tried really hard to make Albus in particular interesting and distinct, because I feel like a lot of Albuses and Jameses just kind of blend together.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>