Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
420 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Master of the Puberty Spell Albus's Guilt Trip

17th May 2015:
Well hello there Branwen!

So I, Master of the Puberty Spell, have been scouring the archives looking for the perfect next-gen stories (especially because Iím usually in them!), and have been directed to your Authorís Page with the highest of recommendations.

So naturally I had to start here! Because who doesnít love a good ScoRose story?

I must say, I love the interactions between Rose and Scorpius! Rose definitely subscribes to stereotyping people, and I get the feeling Scorpius is going to change that.

And Rose may deny it, but Scorpius IS funny. I definitely laughed out loud during a few moments.

Oh, Albus, heís so adorable, what with his open-mindedness and optimism. Iím glad heís around to contrast Roseís bigotry.

I must be moving on, the lovely ďNext ChapterĒ button is calling me onward.

If youíre curious to know my real identity, I must tell you, there are actually two. Iíll be leaving various clues, and maybe you can use them to figure out who I am!

Till next time Branwen!

The Master of the Puberty Spell.

 Report Review

Review #2, by cherry_pop94 A Package From Fred

16th May 2015:
I just realized that I have read this before, probably before the edits. The shield necklace jogged my memory, but I knew Scorpius with red hair was familiar!

Anyway, this story is just as entertaining the second time around. I love Scorpius' s character here and I have to agree with him, Rose does seem a little arrogant.

Excited to read the rest!

-Stefi

 Report Review

Review #3, by BellaLestrange87 Albus's Guilt Trip

15th May 2015:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I love the personality you've created for Rose here. She seems very down to earth and normal, and is definitely someone I would want to have as a friend. Come to think of it, I really like your characterizations of James and Roxanne as well. Even though they're very serious about Quidditch, they're willing to have a lot of fun while doing it, and I laughed at some of the jokes they were making.

I'm really looking forward to some Rose/Scorpius interaction. If they really get on each other's nerves (or if he just gets on hers) it should make for some very entertaining bickering. I'm going to guess by the story summary that he's secretly had a crush on her for a while and has expressed it by being annoying (which is something I've seen a lot of boys I know do).

The little details you added in are really good. Albus pushing his food away from him after Rose flat out refuses to meet with him and Scorpius; Rose having a hard time braiding her hair (I can't do it either); the lions in the change room.

I really liked the Rose/Scorpius interaction. Scorpius is written extremely well - you can't really tell his feelings at all, as he could either be holding in immense hatred and only tolerates Rose for Albus' sake, or he could be trying not to embarrass himself in front of his crush.

I loved the banter between the three of them, especially the debate about romantic or bromantic walks.

I feel like Albus has some sort of ulterior motive here, aside from just leaving to go get food. He knows that Rose and Scorpius don't like each other, or at least that Rose doesn't like Scorpius (maybe Scorpius told him stuff?) and gets up to go by himself anyways. Even if he just wants them to be friends, that's sneaky.

This was a really good first chapter! I can see why this story has been nominated for so many awards. (Before I read this chapter - aka during Diadem nominations - I saw all the noms this was getting and thought "That story must be really good." It is.)

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #4, by cherry_pop94 Albus's Guilt Trip

14th May 2015:
Hello! Here for the BvB battle!

First of all, I love Scorose. They are my OTP of all OTPs. I told my 6-year-old brother this and didn't understand anything I was saying. It was great. I really like how you characterized Scorpius here. He isn't outright rude, but seems rather nice and funny, whereas Rose is actually kind of rude it seems. I like that, because usually I see a Scorpius who is rude to the point of almost bullying.

I also really, really love the friendship between Roxanne and James. What makes a Next Gen story really good for me is a fantastic cast of supporting Weasley/Potters. I love seeing those little snippets of the other canon Next Gen kids because it really adds some flair I suppose. And Roxanne and James are of course perfect. They make marvelous Quidditch captains or co-captains. I can see James's goal of going down in history becoming a big part of this story.

And Rose! I love Rose Weasley. She's quite a lot like Ron here, but working so hard on an essay that she's late for Quidditch is a Hermione move (minus the Quidditch part). It's also really sweet how she gets defensive about Neville.

Anyway, this was overall really fantastic. I can't wait to read the rest!!

-Stefi

 Report Review

Review #5, by TearsIMustConceal Eavesdropping in the Corridor

14th May 2015:
Hey Branwen, Iím here with your review!

Iím so glad Iíve been able to come back to this story! I read this chapter a while ago and meant to review it because I loved it but I forgot so Iím glad Iíve been able to come back to it!

Rose really canít help herself can she? But I guess her eavesdropping makes sense when you compare it to the title of the story Ė she is far too curious for her own good but she finds out the best things when she does it!

But that conversation!! I want to squeal!! So many feels right now! I didnít see that revelation coming at all! I just expected the conversation to be about how much Scorpius thinks Rose and James and Roxanne are idiots and how much he dislikes them but then you dropped THAT bombshell and I was unprepared!

I loved Albus and how heís in the middle of them both, but he's not too biased for either side. I mean yes, he is standing up Rose and his brother, telling Scorpius that theyíre not really jerks deep down but heís not blind to Roseís flaws. Heís just super cute and chilled and I just adore him!

Poor Scorpius, his emotions must be all over the place! I understand his dislike for Rose but at the same time, I can feel (well especially after that revelation) that there is an underlying feeling there, one heís just not sure about. They do say there is a thin line between love and hate! I would love to see what happened over summer and just how obvious he might have been with his attraction to Rose.
Anyway, I absolutely adored this chapter and I canít wait to read the next one!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #6, by dracodragons Patrolling with Scorpius

11th May 2015:
What does dub stand for???

 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire Evergreen An Encounter in the Library

8th May 2015:
Hey, Branwen! Here for the BvB Battle!

So, I've actually read this whole story, but I've been meaning to review this chapter in particular for a while now, so this was a perfect excuse to do it!

I know that I've said this in a previous review, but I really really love your Rose and I this chapter really highlights a lot of what I love. There's the brief mention that she is a diligent note taker, but there's also the fact that she's quick to go straight to her wand when confronted with Scorpius and she refuses to admit that she was wrong. She's that perfect balance between Hermione and Ron. Also, she really embodies the idea that the Sorting Hat puts people in the House with the traits they value most, not the ones that they present.

Noah is also a sweetheart. As much as I love your main characters (and I do, I really do), your side characters are just so wonderful. Noah is the perfect contrast to Scorpius and it's fantastic that Rose is at least slightly friends with a Slytherin. And the fact that it's with Noah is just an added bonus.

Alright, I saved this part for the end because I know I was going to go crazy fangirling about it but OH MY GOD THE BANTER IN THIS KILLED ME! ďWell, I definitely didnít miss the part about cold showers, so Iím sure there must be some situations where my mouth being open would be welcome enough.Ē Reading this the first time, I had to literally cover my mouth and bite my lip to keep from busting out laughing because I was in the library. This was just so wonderful and such a Rose thing to say. And then Scorpius's reply had me on the floor again. I mean, all of the banter in this story is on point, but this was the best one in the whole story hands down.

This entire story is fantastic, but I just really had to review this one :P I'm really jealous of your banter skills because mine are very sadly lacking. Wonderful story and one day I will get to The Wrinkles of the Road!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleMissAutumn Scorpius's Birthday

7th May 2015:
Scorpius is a total babe.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by MoonNRoses Scorpius's Birthday

23rd April 2015:
I'm sorry I didn't review all the chapters. It was just so good I wanted to rush onto the next chapter. This has been really well written and thought out. I have thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm going to wait for you to finish this one before I read the sequel but I can't wait to get to that one either. Well done! Cheers!

~Mooney

Author's Response: No worries! You've left me a lot of wonderful reviews, and I'm flattered that you found it so addictive! ♥ Thank you so much for the review! I should have the final chapter of this up soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ren_star Scorpius's Birthday

22nd April 2015:
Wow! this is my first review. While reading your story, I couldn't wait to read the next chapter that I didn't bother reviewing before. I love your writing style it really pulls me in and makes your characters come alive. Can't wait til you fiNisha the remaining chapters. Until then I will be reading your other stories.

Author's Response: ♥ Thank you! No worries about no earlier reviews - while I obviously like them, it's so wonderful to hear from readers that the story was quite so addictive!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MoonNRoses Slytherins

20th April 2015:
"Have a good time?" is totally something I can hear Harry saying ... very droll and witty. I like seeing a bit of Harry in Albus.

Author's Response: Yes! I definitely see Albus as taking after Harry in a lot of ways, haha. (... including his overall reaction best friends coupling up, now that I think about it! :P) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MoonNRoses Talking by the Lake

20th April 2015:
Aw... Scorpius! I am so proud of him! I love the roller coaster of emotions, but most of all, I love how honest and down to earth he is... well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like that aspect of him - I really wanted to emphasize that. :P

 Report Review

Review #13, by MoonNRoses The Trouble With Cousins

20th April 2015:
Lol... knowing Rose, that probably was the first thing that started the change. Oh to be a teenager again.

Author's Response: I know, seriously, right? Thank you so much for your review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by MoonNRoses A Compromising Position

20th April 2015:
Awww. heart to heart with Albus. He's so...responsible. No, that isn't the word and I can't think of the right one at this moment but I do know I want to be his friend... or his mum. I'd be thrilled to have a kid like him.

Author's Response: Yeah, I can't quite think of the word, either, but I know exactly what you mean. In the sequel, Scorpius describes him at some point as something along the lines of "incredibly earnest and a little too wholesome" - something along those lines, maybe? I love writing Albus, though - I'm glad you're liking him, too! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MoonNRoses Secrets

20th April 2015:
Nice! Rose is still slow on the uptake but her but her body, at least, has figured something out. I hope she doesn't break his heart.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you're continuing to enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MoonNRoses Flirting by the Lake

20th April 2015:
Oh Rose... oh poor Scorpius. she has him eating out of her hand. But I can't help the grin on my face. I really must go to sleep now... I'll try and read some more tomorrow. Cheers!

~Mooney

Author's Response: Yeah, she really does - but I don't think he'll be complaining too much as long as she keeps kissing him! ;) Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MoonNRoses Forming a Truce

19th April 2015:
Yes, I love this ship too. I've written a few short stories starring them but I am really liking your long one.They really are cute. Oh I can't wait until one of them lays a whammy on the other. I'm hoping Scorpius goes in with a smooth move.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope it wasn't too disappointing that Rose was the one who initiated their first kiss. ;) ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by MoonNRoses Eavesdropping in the Library

19th April 2015:
Oh, Rose give the boy a chance!!! My heart is hurting for him. Poor guy... doesn't even realize how far gone he is over her, does he? And for Hermione's daughter, she sure is slow in that department, even with the eavesdropping. She must get that from Ron... oh... Ron's face when he finds out will be hysterical! LOL. I'm enjoying myself immensely.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Yes, Ron is *hilarious* when he finds out - I've written a little about it in a couple chapters so far, but I hope you enjoy the last (as yet unpublished) chapter of CINAS, which takes place as they get off the Hogwarts Express for the Christmas holiday.

Poor Ron.

(Though actually, it's not until the sequel that Scorpius and Ron *really* have it out - there are a couple very tense chapters I'll be uploading to it soon. /shameless self promotion :P)


 Report Review

Review #19, by MoonNRoses The Hospital Wing

19th April 2015:
I seriously had the biggest grin on my face when Scorpius came to see her... And when he left. I love that she was speechless and thinking of him. I should be going to sleep as I have to get up early in the morning for work but... a few more chapter shouldn't hurt, yeah?

~Mooney

Author's Response: Ooooh, I have that *all the time.* "I need to be up in eight hours... I'll be fine with seven, though!" "Hmm. I need to be up in six hours. But what's five and a half instead?" "Oops. Now I need to be in three hours."

... I hope that's not just me, anyway.

I'm really happy that you find CINAS so engaging. Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MoonNRoses Scorpius's Revenge

19th April 2015:
Ah... revenge by giggles... well played, Mr. Malfoy... well played.

~Mooney

Author's Response: Haha, yes - I'm so glad you liked it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by MoonNRoses Surviving to the Weekend

19th April 2015:
I so want to know what Scorpius is thinking... poor bloke. I like the insight that James has and that you give him depth rather than making him a prat like I've seen in other stories. And I like that he is a sounding board for Rose and he doesn't get all super over protective. Rose speaking up for Scorpius was nice. I can't wait to see more interaction between the two of them. Cheers!

~Mooney

Author's Response: I can totally understand that! That's part of why I put quite so many incidents of Rose eavesdropping - I mean, it's a part of her character in general, but I definitely wanted to give some insight into his thought process, too. In the sequel - which was originally all Rose's pov - I've actually gone back this month to add in a lot of Scorpius pov chapters for exactly this reason! :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MoonNRoses Trick Sweets and Blood Traitors

19th April 2015:
I haven't been on HPFF in some time and reading this makes me want to kick myself from staying away so long. I love the build up and how you include all the family. I'm wanting Rose to give him more of a break and I see it in this chapter. Something is definitely starting and I LOVE it. Your style of writing is engaging and easy to follow. I am really enjoying this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review (and all your others, of course)! I'm so sorry it's taken me a week to respond - I've been super busy, but I've been reading all your reviews, and they've put such a smile on my face. ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Scorpius's Birthday

19th April 2015:
Hi Branwen!

God you make me so incredibly happy when you update. I saw the new chapter and was like "Oh my god I can't wait to read this..."

It was everything I expected... so cute and funny and just so... ROSE!

It's so like her to throw a fuss at sitting at a table that it becomes a suitable birthday present. I'd really like to know what she has gotten Scorpius too.

I like the fact that she doesn't need much convincing to join Scorpius in his dormitory... and I completely understand her desire to kiss him with his shirt on the floor rather than on his body.
This story is just so addictive...
I love it.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: ♥ I'm so sorry for the delay in responding to your wonderful review - it's been a busy weekend. Yes, it really is so like Rose, isn't it? I think she probably made up for it by jumping at the chance to go into the Slytherin dormitories, though. :P

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ayumi Scorpius's Birthday

19th April 2015:
Loved this chapter as always!! I'm so glad rose stepped out of her comfort zone and sat with the slytherins, God forbid...and I love how well they balance eachother out ❤️ Can't wait for the next (and last!) chapter and the Xmas story!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥ I hope you enjoy them both as much as you've enjoyed this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 Potter Family Secrets

17th April 2015:
Branwen - what are you doing to me with this awesome chapter.

Marauders Map, Rose and Scorpius action, and Victoire, too. By the way, I've decided that you must write her story too. I can't even imagine how awesome it would be!

I did find a little typo:

Once Albus was sure they could here again, he jerked his head toward the corridor.

I think you meant to write "hear" instead of "here."

Gah! Al is just so adorable and perfect. "Rosie, you're always allowed to be in a good mood."

I'm trying to put into words how awesome this chapter is. You did such a fantastic job of describing the scene and mixing it with the dialogue. It is easy to follow, and riveting at the same time.

It sounds like Draco has done a lot of growing up. I LOVE this. I also love how you told the story of the Marauder's Map - as it was told to Rose and Albus. I really love it when an author gives us a new perspective on part of the books that we know so well. I could just see Scorpius's eyebrows growing up his hairline - haha!

And nice try, Scorpius - but you won't be able to hex Rose just yet. He seems to be trying too hard to stay mad at her - maybe it's just me :)

I keep saying this, but I really mean it - Great job with this story!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yes! Victoire and Fred are on the list, I promise. I've got a few Victoire/Teddy one/two-shots elsewhere on my list, as well as a short story about her work that I really need to edit and finish, *and* she actually features pretty prominently in the sequel to CINAS, but I really want to expand on her time at Hogwarts a little more, because wow. She was terrible in so many ways, and her relationship with Fred is one of the funner Wotter clan duos I write about.

(BUT I'M NOT ENGAGING IN SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION. Not me.)

I'm so happy that the retelling of the Marauders Map and my description of Draco-as-an-adult worked for you! They're both tricky things, and I really wanted to make sure I got them right. Draco in particular is so divisive as a character that I wrote this knowing that some people would say "He's too nice!" (though actually, almost no one's said that, to my surprise), but this really is my headcanon of him. I hope you continue to like the way I tackle him, because he appears several more times in this and the sequel.

♥ Thank you!

Branwen


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>