Reading Reviews for This Devilry
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Pixileanin Chapter Two

21st January 2014:
Hi Amanda. I've come back for chapter 2!

It seems like Ginny is a lot more upset about her nightmares than she's even letting herself think. One of the things I couldn't get over about this chapter was how instantly relieved Ginny felt after talking to Hermione. It seemed almost manic, the way her mind shifted into "this will all be over soon", when clearly, she has a lot to work through. I got to experience this reaction before in people who are so close to the edge and they don't know it. You offer them the hope of a solution, and then they grab onto it so eagerly, thinking that it's all over, when the process of getting better hasn't even begun yet. It frankly sent chills down my spine, seeing it in Ginny here. I don't know if you meant it to read this way, but from a recent personal experience, it was very real and scary for me, and it rang true on all different kinds of levels.

I'm glad that Ginny had someone that she felt comfortable going to for this. I liked how you showed us her relationship with Hermione, like they were sisters. Poor Hermione didn't look so good, but if you expect anyone with a one week old to play hostess (nightmares or no), you're really asking for too much here. The lack of sleep from tending to a newborn at all hours (even if you're getting help) takes some getting used to before a new mother can pull off looking "together". And unless she has a full time nanny, it definitely takes more than a week. Ginny was lucky she already had the tea out. :)

The thoughts you focused on with the Weasley siblings not being able to put the loss of their brother behind them, that seeing each other was a sad reminder instead of bringing them closer together, that was very sad for me. But I did like the way you brought up the effects of the war on these young people, that they are still trying to cope with the aftereffects of everything that had happened to them.

You asked in your author's note about the post-war behavior, so I'll comment on that here: I think in Ginny's case, she'd be going through all of this in her mind at this point, with having the nightmares returning and all, so it's very realistic for her. I believe that she might be projecting onto Hermione a bit, and since it's Ginny's point of view, I can see her thinking about everything in terms of the war, even though Hermione's condition is probably more because of sleep deprivation. Now that I think about it, wouldn't it be interesting if Hermione's lack of sleep triggers her to revisit her old, painful memories... hmmm.

I can still see Ginny trying to keep it together for herself and her family. I'm so glad she's still functioning externally, and has the support of the people around her (i.e. Luna and Rolf) so she can get out and do things like this, visiting a friend who might understand her issues.

Lovely, flowy chapter as always!

Author's Response: I actually did mean for Ginny to react that way. I think cognitively she knows that therapy is a process and that it won't be a quick fix (or necessarily work for everyone), but she's so desperate for a solution that anything besides continuing to suffer seems like it would be worth a shot.

I think the sisterly bond between Hermione and Ginny is really special. I was happy that they ended up being sisters-in-law in canon because the groundwork was already there. I definitely agree that Hermione would be really stressed with such a young child, but obviously there's even more wearing on her than that, poor thing.

I'm pleased to hear that the post-war behavior felt realistic. These characters are still young, and yet they carry a weight that some of their predecessors escaped only through death. It's a major pet peeve when I read Post-Hogwarts stories that operate under the assumption that everyone has moved past the war; not only is it not realistic, but it also robs the author of a chance to explore some really vivid and complex emotions. The different ways in which reactions to trauma can splinter out are really intriguing, at least for me.

Thank you for another kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #27, by toomanycurls Chapter Three

20th January 2014:
I saw you got ninja'd on the review tag so I thought I'd come review this!

I was captivated with how well you capture Ginny's apprehension about going to see a psychiatrist. Ginny's unease about sharing too many details is completely underdstandable - especially after Dr. Wesclox's very unprofessional slip. It's sad to think that Rita Skeeter is still hounding Harry in the press. I'm not sure I would have stayed but I think Ginny shows a great deal of maturity to keep talking to Bree.

It's extremely interesting to hear about her experiences with the diary from an adult Ginny's perspective. She could have used a trigger warning with the journal.

The night time scene was so full of suspense. You did a remarkable job building the scene and making it quite horrifying. I'm doing a horrible job telling you how good this was or what it did to me as a reader but the combination of your descriptions, sentence construction, and the bit of action just makes the scene unforgettably scary.

Then poor Harry trying to help and figure out what's wrong. I'm glad he noticed that a journal was an odd things for Ginny to have. I hope he connects things together and sees what it is she's struggling with (and that she opens up to him about it too).

-Rose

Author's Response: Yeah, I think Ginny deserves some credit for being willing to try to make the best of an awkward situation. Going to therapy can be really scary and I think an essential ingredient is feeling like you can trust your therapist and they can actually help. Hopefully her patience pays off later on.

I worried quite a bit at the beginning that I wouldn't be able to communicate the horror well enough with just words (no special effects or mood music here), so it's great to hear that the big scare at the end worked well. It's quite frightening to picture.

Thanks so much for your sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #28, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter One

20th January 2014:
Hi! Here for the BvB review battle!!

I really enjoyed this story. I loved the way you characterized Ginny and showed her as a mother with young children. I've read a lot of fics where she has a brief cameo while her kids are home from Hogwarts, but that's so different from her parenting toddlers. I think that this was fantastic.

I really liked how you wrote her fear, too. Her dream kind of terrified me, I couldn't imagine having that sort of nightmare all the time. And her fear in the grocery store? Brilliant, so believable.

I can't wait to see what you do with later chapters!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by :)

It does seem like there are fewer stories where the kids are little compared to all the next-gen stories where they're already Hogwarts students. I'm pleased to hear that you liked the change of pace here.

Ooh, good to know that the fear worked well! I tried to make my scenes scary and realistic despite not having a ton of experience writing horror. It's tough but also a lot of fun, and I've really been able to stretch my creative muscles with this story.

Thanks for your kind review! I do hope you come back to read more of the story later!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #29, by Pixileanin Chapter One

16th January 2014:
Hello! It feels like ages since I've reviewed one of your stories. The shame! *hangs head down low* But here I am, so I will dive right in.

You capture the mom essence really well here. It's monotonous and messy, unexciting, scheduled, all of those things. The thing I like the most about the way you wrote this first chapter is that there's this hint of wanting more, but not having the time for anything else. That pretty much sums it up right there.

The way that Ginny treats her nightmares like a normal part of her day was a little on the disturbing side. She wasn't worried, but took it in stride as something she had to deal with and move on without exploring any further. Sadly, when you have small children, that's pretty much how you end up treating virtually everything else that doesn't have to do with them. There simply isn't enough time or energy to devote to much else, unless you have someone to help out. Getting sick, bad news, pesky nightmares about the world's most evil wizard coming back to haunt you... whatever. Deal with it.

This is where it gets really interesting. You paint us a picture of Ginny going through her normal routine and getting to the grocery store, and then BAM! Her nightmare appears on aisle one.

This line here, I really got into it.

"Nonsense, he's dead. The man who comes home to you every night killed him."

It's so frank. So logical. Something that someone would say to snap themselves out of silly thoughts.

The little school scene was great. It shows how dedicated Ginny is as a mother, setting aside time for James to learn all the things that little children need to know. I love how age-appropriate you made it, and how eager James was to get things right. He's making great progress for his age, but it's still well within the abilities of normally bright children at that age. I appreciated the touch of realism you added there.

I laughed at the bit where Ginny vowed never to be one of those mothers who watches their child too closely. She'll be that way until he climbs up on the kitchen counter and starts playing with her butcher knives. But why spoil the sentiment? I promise not to tell...

I like the little details you put in that make this story so relatable and settled in the magic world. Everything from the conjured cupcake that won't taste the same to the charmed bowling ball for little James. All of your magical descriptions rooted the story in the HP world. I like when an author takes the effort to do that. It feels like we're back in the books again.

Seeing Ginny still attached to her sport was a wonderful touch. I always imagined that she'd keep up with something related to Quidditch, since it was her career choice before she had children. She definitely thinks like a journalist when she is so confident that her ties with Harry will get her the interview she wants.

I like seeing her thoughts drift to Hermione. You've definitely hit it about right for the ages of the babies. Two months is right about the time where moms go stir crazy in the house and start trying to "do things" again. I hope I get to see the two mothers interact together. Look at me: all caught up in the domestic stuff. :)

I really enjoyed the creepy feel you threw into this first chapter. You're setting something up here, and I'm very interested in what it's going to be!

Author's Response: It's really a treat to do the exchange with you. I don't think I've been to visit you since "Until We Close Our Eyes For Good" and that's definitely a shame as well.

I really tried to paint Ginny's day-to-day life with this air of mundane discontent. She's been dealing with her trauma on her own for so long that she doesn't even think to stop her life when her dreams return. She feels like motherhood doesn't quite fill the void left by her former career, but she tries to treasure those precious little moments she can share with her boys while wishing for something more in the future.

I'm happy you liked my details! I like to drop little things here and there to see if they catch anyone's attention or bring forth any extra mentions in reviews. I also try to think through my creative choices and provide explanations for them (e.g., why Ginny wouldn't just conjure cupcakes for Fleur out of thin air at the last minute).

You'll see Ginny and Hermione react to one another in the next chapter, and the creep factor will (hopefully) only increase. Thanks so much for this lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #30, by Aphoride Chapter Three

16th January 2014:
Hey there, Amanda! Spotted you in the review tag and just had to come by! I have to admit that I've read this all the way through already, but didn't have time to review, but popping back was easy enough since, gosh, I love this story so much! :)

Sorry for the gushing and praise, etc. in advance. ;)

One of the things I love the most about this is all the detail you put in. Every time I read it, I realise I've forgotten bits and pick up on other little things... like Rita Skeeter having another gossip rag after her the war and saying Ginny and Harry are going to split up, Dumbledore never mentioning Ginny's name after the CoS incident... there are more, but I won't recite them all otherwise this will become a ridiculously long review :P Suffice to say that I love them all and it's so incredible the way you manage to get them all in, and they're all so canon, if that makes sense. They really seem to fit in with the world and make sense.

Of course, all your characters are brilliant, as always, but I really love the way you write Harry and Ginny's relationship. It's so... beautiful, you know, and real. I love that you don't try to hide that they get annoyed with each other and things. It's the little things, I think, which really bring it to life - the little things you mention - and the way you keep them as separate persons at the same time.

You write Ginny marvellously, as well! I've always seen her as such a strong, individual person, and I love how you're showing her as that but also not, if that makes sense. Like she is strong, but she's sort of breaking.

I love love love your plot so much! The idea... gah, you know I'd never thought of doing something like this; it's such a unique idea and I honestly have no idea where you're going to go with it. I'm so fascinated by the therapy scenes and the way you write Ginny and what's happening to her, and what might happen... I'm honestly completely enthralled by this and every time I see a new chapter I have to read it immediately :P

So yeah, I just love this. So much. It's incredible, you're incredible (but you knew that already ;D), and gah, I can't wait for you to update (and I promise I will try and review. I should, I really should...).

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey Laura! Gah, this response is abysmally late, and for that I'm sorry. I'm here now!

Hah, you know I love my details. I always think, "Hmm, how could I work in an interesting fact here?" or "I bet readers will have questions about this, so how could I go ahead and address it?" I'm glad they really add to the story and don't just feel like long-winded explanations.

I've never really found Harry's relationship with Ginny interesting before, but I've really gotten into it by writing this story. I think it's the little quirks and moments that you share that really define a marriage and it's neat to watch their personalities intersect, sometimes with a bit of chaos.

I'm glad to hear that you find my Ginny interesting and like the overall concept. It's been fun to explore the process of therapy in a magical context and try to write a good mystery in the process :)

Thanks so much for your really lovely compliments! I don't even deserve them!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #31, by kenpo Chapter One

8th January 2014:
Here for the 'Claw battle!

Wow, this was really interesting. I've been meaning to check it out for ages (the banner is fantastic!), and I'm glad I'm finally getting around to it.

I'm excited that you're writing about mental illness. That makes me sound really weird..., but it's true. Mental illness is often under-represented even thought it effects nearly everyone's life. I say that everyone has someone close to them that suffers from some sort of mental illness. If they say they don't, it's just because they don't know about it.

But I digress.
This reminded me of The Yellow Wallpaper, just because of the new mother/mental illness thing.

I don't really have a problem with Ginny. I think it's the movies that gives her a bad reputation (and the way she's portrayed in some fanfics). Seeing her like this is really interesting. Not a whole lot of fanfics cover this point in the trio's lives. Still young, but not fresh out of Hogwarts.

I could really tell that she loves her children but feels really frustrated and cooped up. I've never really thought that being a housewife would suite Ginny (I actually see Harry as more of a househusband!), and I can see that you're showing that (although not to the extent that it is in my head...).

I'm hoping to see an interaction between Ginny and Hermione. I wonder how they'll both deal with motherhood. They are very different women, but probably very close.

I liked the little mentions of some of the other Weasleys. George is the cool uncle, Fleur is a good mother that's terrible at baking.

I don't know if it was intentional, but I like that Ginny seems to be pretty close to Bill and Fleur. She obviously didn't like Fleur at first, but they seem okay now. And I've always felt like Bill and Ginny were pretty close, despite the age difference.

I hope Ginny can get back on a broom :(

Really great first chapter. I'll be putting this on my reading list... but might not be able to get back to it for some time. Sigh. Busy lives don't allow too much time for the world of HP...

I really did enjoy this in my own weird twisted way. Seriously, who goes, "yay, mental illness?"

Me, I guess.

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by, and I apologize for my delayed response!

I agree that mental illness is a fascinating theme and it's a shame that it doesn't become the subject of more stories. I like how you said that this story reminds you of The Yellow Wallpaper, because I was reminded of that story while I was working on this.

Yeah, I don't think Ginny is a big fan of being a stay at home mother. She's more adventurous and tomboyish and clearly misses being on her broomstick. You'll get to see more of her interaction with Hermione later, and as you mentioned, she interacts quite a bit with her family members. I would say she's close to Bill but still has some reservations about Fleur that come up. Nothing malicious; more like a clash of two very different personalities.

Glad you enjoyed this, and I definitely sympathize. Yay mental illness, right? :)

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #32, by Lululuna Chapter Two

7th January 2014:
Hello, I'm here from review tag! :) I'm glad to have a chance to come back and review the next chapter.

First of all I really loved how the ordinary family life of the Potters was explained. Harry and Ginny were really sweet together, what with how they kiss goodbye and how Harry moved her wand and was teasing her a little. The nod to the basilisk was great as it reminded me of the particular trials they shared together and nobody ever seems to remember Harry's earlier heroic actions. :P Then there were the cute little details about the boys and what Ginny's day to day life is like. But I also feel so sad that she hasn't confided in Harry and how she feels she can't.

She supposed it was habitual; when they were young, she had never been able to talk to Harry about her problems because he already had too many of his own. I thought this was a really interesting way of explaining their relationship as well. It fits that Ginny would fall into this role of supporting Harry and putting her own problems aside throughout their relationship and that would carry on through into their marriage.

I really appreciated the descriptions of Ron and Hermione's house and why they lived that distance from the Ministry- these ordinary details are really strong in painting the world which the characters inhabit. The mention of Luna and Rolf bringing magical creatures when babysitting really made me giggle as well.

The idea of Hermione having issues and PTSD as well makes a lot of sense and I thought those descriptions of her problems were really great as well. I was so heartbroken for Hermione that she had to go through those things at Malfoy manor, and of course they would have a terrible effect on her. It was interesting as well how she was still insecure about Ron, at least in her dreams, and how she was still hurt by Ron being cruel to her back in their first year. It fits well though - childhood experiences like that don't just disappear no matter how old the wound is.

In fact, Ginny still remembered sharing a secret cup of tea in the kitchens one night as she told Hermione how she felt about Harry. I really loved this, it was a great nod to their particular friendship and how talking about Ginny's feelings for Harry would have been something which they bonded over. I liked the way that Hermione and Ginny are sort of more sisters than best friends, it fits well with my ideas of their relationship. I always thought that Hermione was far closer with the boys, but like that the girls can confide in each other when needed.

This was a great chapter, and I'm curious to find out what will happen with Ginny's visit to the therapist! I really enjoyed this, well done! :D

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so sorry this response has taken so long--I feel like I'm basically always saying that, but things have been a bit hectic lately. Anyway, I'm here now!

I'm happy to hear that the Potters' everyday life was believable. I can think of nothing better than being able to settle down and relax after a long journey of fighting battles and having deadly adventures. Unfortunately, Ginny isn't quite able to rest yet, despite her seemingly quiet life.

I do think Ginny would have made herself take a backseat to Harry's troubles. She kind of had to--I mean, he had to leave her to go Horcrux hunting. I've dealt with that theme of separation for them in the past. She's strong, but I wonder how much of it comes from being forced to react that way. Maybe it's not good that she doesn't feel accustomed to running to him for help.

I'm glad you liked the appearances of Ron and Hermione. They're both still struggling in their own ways and now they have the added (albeit joyous) burden of becoming parents for the first time. Ginny and Hermione's friendship is one of my favorite female character-centric themes to write about and I'm happy that it worked well here.

Thank you for your really lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #33, by Vicki Turner Chapter Six

3rd January 2014:
I'm hooked. You have written the slow process of Ginny feeling like she's losing her mind so perfect. I'm impressed.

Author's Response: That's so great to hear :) I definitely believe in taking the process slow and trying to make Ginny's experience as palpable and realistic as possible.

Thanks for your lovely review, and I hope to hear from you again when the next chapter is out.

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #34, by patronus_charm Chapter Six

3rd January 2014:
Hey Amanda!

Ah the nightmare at the beginning of the chapter was so brilliantly written I thought for a moment that you had figured out a way that Voldemort could haunt her in the afterlife. I find it really interesting how the fear Ginny feels for Voldemort increases the further we get into the storyline, almost as if all this therapy and reliving it all was making her problem worse and not better.

It was a rather touching moment with Harry the following morning with the way he dealt with the article about her and how he really wanted to help when she was trying to help him at the same time by getting a dog. I really love how youíve written their relationship in this story because normally I donít ship this pairing in the slightest, but youíve made me develop a soft spot for them.

Yay Ginny finally started to open up at the therapy session! I felt so proud of her for doing that, but given how determined Harry was to fix her she couldnít really escape it. :P Iím still not entirely sure what I think of Bree, I was starting to warm to her with the comments about being scared of the chamber of secrets too, but then when she mentioned legilimency it made me unsure of her all over again. I suppose itís because I usually associate it with people such as Voldemort and Snape (when Harry still viewed him badly), so I suppose it comes from that.

Speaking of Harry, Iím so glad that you decided to give him greater focus as you said in your TGS interview, itís been really nice as itís fun to read him several years after the battle but with his wife dealing with the trauma of the war and not him.

Ah someoneís trying to kill her! Right now, I suspect Bree mainly because out of her and Harry she seems the most likely and theyíre the main characters at the moment :P Unless, you really have thought of a way to bring back Voldemort and it is him :P Hmm, Iíll have to keep on guessing!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana, thanks for stopping by!

I'm so glad you were genuinely scared by the beginning - which sounds awful, haha, but it's a huge compliment to me! I like your analysis of the progression of Ginny's fear and how maybe therapy is more hurtful to her than helpful. I suppose we'll have to see if things get better once the course of her therapy changes a little and she gets deeper into this process introduced by Bree.

Harry/Ginny isn't one of my OTPs, but I think it's a sweet pairing and I have trouble envisioning either of them with anyone else. I think they have a strong bond based on what they've been through together and I hope it holds up during this difficult time.

Interesting take on Bree. I've been curious as to why a lot of people feel suspicious about her, but I like your angle. Not giving anything away yet, of course :)

Yeah, I felt like Harry needed a bigger role in the story, so I've made him a more significant part of Ginny's recovery. It makes sense to me given their devotion to one another. I'm glad you like seeing him not be the one directly traumatized for once.

Hmm, yes, you'll have to keep guessing! Can't wait to hear what you think of the next chapter when I get it done and posted! Thanks, as always, for your sweet review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark Chapter Six

3rd January 2014:
Ah, this was such a good chapter! I can't even begin to tell you how much I am enjoying this story, and how much I always look forward to the next chapter.

Oooh, the dream was so creepy! I'm just gonna say it: you write creepy really well - I literally had shivers up my spine. Poor Ginny - I'd probably be on the verge of a mental breakdown if I was here. As it is, I am really looking forward to finding out the mystery behind these dreams. Surely it can't really be Voldemort or his spirit, so is there some creepy villain plotting to kill Ginny? Or someone she thinks is a friend? Those are probably far-fetched schemes, but you never know!

Harry is like the perfect husband, taking a week off work so that he can be with his wife. And I am very impressed with your characterizations of Harry and Ginny, and the way you have written their relationship. Even though they have been married for quite some time now, I think Ginny still doesn't like to be seen as weak. She is an independent person and still has a huge stubborn streak, but Harry is there for her all the same.

Ugh, I just can't make up my mind about Bree! If there is in fact something off about her, then I am very worried about her using Legilimency to break into Ginny's mind!

Oh my god the poison! How did that get there? And more importantly, who put it there?

I love the mysterious, suspenseful tone you have set with this chapter, with this whole story, and I can't wait till your next update!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I've never really tried creepy to this extent before, so that's a big compliment, thank you :) I've thought through the ending and all I can say is that you'll have to be patient and see what will happen at the end. Hopefully it will be quite a surprise!

Ginny is definitely an independent woman and would really hate to be the target of pity, so it's kind of ironic that Harry is so willing to take time off and help her. I don't think either of them really knows what the other person needs in this confusing time, but hopefully they continue to try and figure that out as they work through this together.

I would love to know what you think is off about Bree. I'm very curious because other people have brought that up in the past.

More will be revealed about the poisonous ingredients in time - chapter seven, actually. It'll be finished and up soon!

Thanks for another fantastic review, Courtney :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #36, by Courtney Dark Chapter Five

3rd January 2014:
Hey there!

So I read and reviewed this yesterday and then my internet crashed and I lost my review and I can't remember what on earth I was rambling on about! So I am here with a second (probably much shorter and concise) version of that review, before I move on to the next chapter.

I loved this chapter! Bree seemed really understanding in the interview but I just can't shake the feeling that there's something fishy about her.

I enjoyed reading the interview scene - you portrayed Ginny's panic and her fear so well, and I am extremely glad she'd finally told Harry. I hope he'll keep being a supportive husband.

On to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Haha, everybody is so suspicious of Bree! I guess time will tell whether she turns out to be more like a friend or an enemy to Ginny.

I'm glad that Ginny's panic seemed realistic and that you feel relieved that she finally confided in Harry. I think he could be really helpful in her recovery, if she continues to trust him and be honest with him.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #37, by A Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
Enjoying it, please update soon

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It was so nice of you to stop and leave a review and I look forward to hearing from you on future chapters.

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #38, by MrsKatieGrint Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
Oh yay yay yay!

I jumped over from the forums as soon as I saw your post about a new chapter, and I couldn't be happier!

Okay, wow. Seriously, there were so many unpredicted twists and turns here, and they were all crazy awesome.

I'm so happy at the characterization you have going on here with your characters, especially Harry. Harry in the books was never overly open with his emotions when it came to Ginny, and likewise, was very private at times to everyone, and I like that you kept that in line with your story.
I don't see Harry and Ginny sitting around drinking tea and spilling their emotions of their day, and I'm glad that you don't have them portrayed that way. But, you do have them showing just enough emotion thats seemingly perfect.

I'm so glad that Harry made Ginny go back to therapy, although she should open up about the diary, and maybe more about her dreams.

All in all, I think you did a wonderful job Amanda, and I'm so glad your hiatus is done with, and I literally cannot wait for the next update!
I hope you had a wonderful holiday!(:

Always, Katie(:

Author's Response: Hey Katie, thanks for stopping by!

I'm so happy you feel like Harry is in line with his canon characterization. I haven't gotten a lot of feedback on him, and it was a challenge to figure out what he would be like as a husband and father without having much to go on there from canon. But I do agree that he would probably not be very open about his feelings and that he and Ginny would have that in common.

Hopefully therapy turns out to be more helpful for Ginny than she first suspected. At least she has Harry's support now, which should be a positive change for her.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #39, by Fonzzx Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
As I've said before, I really like this. I can't imagine Ginny not suffering with PTSD at some point in her life, it's only natural after the things that have happened to her.

Author's Response: Thank you for continuing to leave lovely reviews! I'm glad the story still feels realistic to you. The next chapter will be coming soon :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #40, by theblacksisters Chapter Six

2nd January 2014:
It is a good mystery: please don't leave me is suspense too long.
Also, are the 'panic attacks' a product of her imagination or of Riddle's magic or neither? Though I suppose you can't very well tell me that for fear of ruining something . . .

Author's Response: Glad you're still enjoying the story! I'm working on chapter seven right now, but I don't want to rush it, so I'm not sure when it will be up. Hopefully very soon.

I can't give away too much about Ginny's panic attacks. All will be revealed in time!

Thanks for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #41, by nott theodore Chapter Three

16th November 2013:
Hi Amanda! Somehow I've managed to miss three new chapters of this story - I hope you'll forgive me! Real life has been so hectic lately but I'm trying to make time to catch up with everything.

I love the way that you're using your knowledge here to make this story so authentic! The theme is something I've never seen explored properly before in fanfiction, especially with such major characters and such accuracy in your portrayal of them.

I find the way that Ginny is acting at the moment so realistic. Her awkwardness and uncertainty when she was waiting in the reception shone through without you ever stating it explicitly - that's another great thing about the subtle quality you have to your writing. I can't imagine the first meeting with a therapist being anything but awkward, especially on the part of the person going to see them with their problems.

Bree is a character I actually quite like at the moment, and I hope we'll get to see more of her in later chapters. At the beginning I was a bit unsure of her, especially when she assumed that Ginny was there because of marital problems. One thing I thought was great about that was the way it gave us a glimpse of the media's treatment of Harry and Ginny after the war; something that neither of them focus on if they can help it, but that still continues to affect them. Towards the end, though, Bree seemed really sweet and seemed like she genuinely wanted to help Ginny.

That last scene was so chilling that I have goosebumps, Amanda! I can't believe you haven't written scary things before, because you do it so well. There was so much suspense and tension, with Ginny hearing things that sounded like the Basilisk. I was kind of not expecting anything to be there at all, and it just to be one of those noises that you imagine when your mind goes into overdrive, but the way it ended was even better. That single word written in the diary was so chilling, and I can't tell if it was actually there or if Ginny was imagining it.

I was pleased to see Harry appear at the end of the chapter. It added some more realism to the scene and strangely jarred with the suspense and terror that had come before, which worked really well. I'm glad that he's realised that she needs more support, but I'm hoping that if he does take some time off then he'll realise that there's more bothering Ginny that the stresses of being a stay-at-home mother.

Great chapter, and I'm sorry I've taken so long to get back to this story!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian! This response has taken FOREVER which is absolutely no reflection on how much I adore your reviews and how warm my heart was every time I read and re-read this. Sorry :(

I've loosely plotted out the rest of the story now and I'm just totally in love with it. I keep finding all these cool ideas and having to maneuver them into place in the storyline, and I can't wait to get them all down on paper so you can check them out!

I had quite a bit of experience to draw on when writing Ginny's first session, and trust me, it is pretty awkward for everyone involved. You're just getting to know someone and you're already jumping into sensitive issues and long-held secrets, with a fair degree of intensity in some cases. I love my job and consider myself lucky to have been trusted with information like that, but I have to admit that those first few sessions can be very challenging. I'm glad you thought Ginny's behavior was realistic.

Most readers don't seem to like Bree much, which isn't something I expected but is interesting all the same. She's not based on me or anyone I know, really, but I did try to be realistic in terms of a therapist treating a celebrity client whose private life is splashed all over the tabloids. I can't imagine it would be an easy feat! Let me know if your feelings about Bree change as you get to know her better later on.

I was really nervous about being able to properly communicate the creepy factor, but I'm so happy you think it worked well here! You'll find out more about the diary and the aftermath of this scene in other chapters.

The relationship between Harry and Ginny is about to be strained by Voldemort once again, unfortunately, even after everything they went through during the war. It seems no one escaped the trauma unscathed. We'll have to see if they can hold it together as Ginny's experiences continue to unfold.

Thanks for your fabulous review, Sian! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #42, by Courtney Dark Chapter Four

14th November 2013:
Oooh, yet another amazing chapter! I am becoming more and more intrigued to find out about these dreams, what the meaning behind them is, and why Ginny is having them.

I have always had a huge soft spot for reading the big Weasley gatherings, especially when told from the parents point of views, when the next-gen kids are younger. Yours was especially perfect, and I think shell cottage made such a wonderful setting. You managed to balance out all the characters perfectly, and didn't make the gathering feel overwhelming. I loved the little details about the rest of the family you gave us, such as Angelina's diamond ring and Charlie showing his pictures. And Percy's comment to Ginny was just so Percy!

Wow, that ocean bit was unexpected and scary! I can just imagine the panic that everyone was feeling. I really wish that Ginny would tell Harry about her nightmares, as I am sure he would be sympathetic and not at all angry. But I guess it's one of those things that is a little hard to share.

Harry was the perfect husband, though, taking Ginny back home and telling her to take more time for herself - oh, and then telling James a story about a troll in the girl's lavatory, haha.

I really enjoyed this chapter, and am enjoyed this story!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I couldn't resist writing a Weasley family chapter. Too many interesting characters to play with :) I'm glad you liked the setting and enjoyed reading all the details that tell how each family member is doing.

Ooh, yay, you liked the ocean scene! So many people have said in reviews that they really wish Ginny would just open up to Harry, and I think she's a little silly for not doing it too. Then again, she's going through a tough time and she's not the kind of girl to just fall apart in the hero's arms unless the situation has really gotten quite dire. I'm sure the amount of tears she's shed recently has got Harry a bit worried.

Thanks for another fantastic review, Courtney!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #43, by Courtney Dark Chapter Three

14th November 2013:
I think you write scary amazingly! And it's definitely not an easy thing to do, either. The last scene was perfect chilling. I think my heart actually began to pound a little faster than usual! The way you described that bare room and then the diary on the floor...I could just feel the fear and horror radiating from Ginny.

I'm not yet sure what to make of Bree. She seemed really nice, but I swear there was something off about her. Or maybe that's just me coming to quick conclusions. But I don't know, it just felt like there was something weird about the whole situation, like Ginny was comfortable too quickly. And then Ginny's reaction when Bree told her to keep the journal...

I don't know, maybe I'm overthinking things here.

Anyway, great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I like that scene because I think it's the first time Ginny can't just pretend like she didn't see what she clearly saw. That's why she really unraveled there. I'm very pleased that the scary was effective :)

I'm still kind of figuring Bree out, to be honest. I think she means well but it's hard for her to be impartial when a celebrity is sitting across from her in a session; I think it would be unrealistic to assume that wouldn't be challenging for a therapist. Ginny, meanwhile, I think is treating the session like something she can check off her list and her life will automatically get better. Trust me, she is definitely not comfortable in the situation, and the more people prod at her the less comfortable she'll get.

Thanks for your sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #44, by Courtney Dark Chapter Two

14th November 2013:
Hey there!

Okay, so I just couldn't resist coming by and reading a little bit more of this amazing story! I am so incredibly jealous of your writing style. It flows so nicely and is so easy to read without being the whole basic dialogue only thing )if you know what I mean) and it just feels so professional! So yeah, I definitely envy you!

I really liked the way you portrayed both Ron and Hermione, and Harry. From what I could tell in the brief snippet we saw this chapter, it seems like Harry and Ginny still have a great relationship - although I guess looks can be deceiving. Also, I'm not sure about Ginny, but if I was her I would get a little frustrated seeing my husband go off to work while I was stuck at home.

I love how you haven't forgotten the war, forgotten all the people these character's have lost and all the hard times they have been through - I think a lot of authors do tend to forget about these moments, and it seems like Ron, Harry, Hermione and Ginny lead all too happy lives. But I still found it very sad that Hermione is still having nightmares.

I love what you've shown us so far of the relationship between Ginny and Hermione - it seems just like I've imagined1

Now, before this runs the risk of becoming waffly (which it has probably already done, but that's okay) I think I'll just go ahead and read the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hey Courtney! Wow, you're going to make me blush. Thanks so much for stopping by!

I think Harry and Ginny have a happy marriage, but you're right that Ginny is feeling a little strained about having to stay home instead of being able to go out and play Quidditch and generally enjoy her freedom. Only time will tell if she'll actually transition to being angry at Harry for not having the same expectations.

Writing the post-war trauma here was a central reason for starting the story. Trauma is interesting and depressing and poetic, and I wanted to really dive in and explore it because, sadly, I haven't gotten much of a chance to study it in real life.

Thanks for another awesome review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #45, by MrsKatieGrint Chapter Five

13th November 2013:
Hey there again!(:

Okay, wow, definitely was not expecting what this chapter turned out to be. Like, at all. But it was definitely a great chapter!
I'm so so glad Ginny finally decided to tell Harry, but I'm so so sad for what Harry is feeling!D:

I think again that your therapy scene was on point! Probs because you are a therapist, but still, writing about it is a lot different than doing. So kudos there, again!

Now, on to your concerns, I think the panic attack scene wasn't all that clear. I personally have had a panic attack, and I understand that people react differently when having their panic attacks, but just for your writing purposes, here's my suggestion, based on whats happened to me.
First, it comes on super slow, its more like a feeling I can't place as to whats happening. Then, I start thinking about whats currently giving me anxiety, and I worry. Bad, and its pretty much like a tornado in my brain. By that point, I'm hyperventilating, and probably crying, trying to catch my breath. Until I can think straight, i'm shaking and pretty much going crazy. lol when I can finally calm myself down, I definitely drink orange juice, or eat wafers or something to stop the shaking and help my blood sugar.

Now, that you think I'm totally crazy, moving on. Lets just say, college finals definitely get the best of me, haha.
Anyways! That scene was just unclear until you said something about panic. And it happened rather quickly.
Like I said, I just know what happens so thats probably why I can talk forever about it. I presume you know too, since you are a therapist, so you probably have a good sense of them too, but hey, that's just my two cents on the scene!(:

As for Harry and Ginny's last scene, I thought that was a great place to end. Your dialogue between the two was fantastic. I think its also very realistic of Ginny to hold all of her emotion in, and waiting till something breaks her down. I thought that was very character like of Ginny. And as for Harry, that seems like a very Harry thing to do by trying to save the day, even when he doesn't know how, so that was like perfection.

All in all, I'm so interested still as to how this will end up. I really can't wait to see what all is in store for both Ginny and Harry!
Cheers!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by, and I'm sorry this response has taken so long! :)

Hah, thanks! Writing a therapy session is very different from doing one, that's for sure. I still don't know if I'm happy with the sessions I've written here, but I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this one.

I actually have experienced panic as well and what I wrote may have been slightly more reminiscent of my attacks than yours. But I should have remembered that panic experiences can differ a lot between people, and I need to go back and try to generalize Ginny's experience a little more to make it clearer what exactly has happened to her. People have given me all kinds of interpretations of this scene, so I need to do something to make it more concrete. Thanks for your feedback and for sharing that with me!

(Also, I'm a therapist, so my policy is not to assume you're crazy. Don't worry!)

The dynamic between Harry and Ginny figures prominently in the chapter I'm writing now, and it's proving to be a little difficult to keep a handle on, so I hope you come back when it's posted to give me feedback on it :)

Thanks so much for another lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #46, by Lady of Tears Chapter Two

11th November 2013:
Back with another review!

Since I think Harry and Ginny stayed true to form, I'll focus mostly on what I thought of Ron and Hermione.

Maturity is the first word that came to mind after reading about Mr. and Mrs. Granger. I was pleased to get a great sense of stability from their relationship. I don't know if that's what you intended, but I felt their relationship has matured past the Potters. I think that's because Hermione is farther along in the recovery process than Ginny is.

But more than anything, I appreciate what this says about Ron. I think he's got a lot more to him than sometimes writers give him credit for. I'm used to seeing him written as more of a loveable oaf than a supporting husband. Needless to say, I'd love to see more interaction with Hermione and Ron.

Hermione and Ginny, on the other hand, seemed tad stiff. Maybe it's because Ginny was bringing up a sensitive subject, but I didn't get a real sense of ease in their relationship. It got better as their conversation went along. I think the line that pinpointed it was when Ginny jumps from "the boys are fine" to "how's motherhood." Everything leading up to that point seemed short.

However, once they got talking more in-depth, they started to shine and have real warmth.

Overall, I just felt sad. Especially the part about Fred and the Weasley family. That mood is a good thing I think. These are all honest reactions to a terrible war, and I think that's a great foundation you have for the rest of the story.

Another great chapter! :)

-Lady of Tears

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by! I'm really sorry it took me this long to respond.

Hah, I kind of like that observation. I think for one thing that Hermione and Ron got a lot more exposure to each other--the good and the bad--during the main series than Harry and Ginny did. Ginny had to overcome this idealized version of Harry, whereas Ron and Hermione literally lived together for a time in Deathly Hallows. I also think it may have been easier for them to bond over their shared trauma, given that Harry and Ginny both had rather individualized experiences despite their commonalities.

Yeah, I've really become a Ron defender. People are so unfair to him just because they want pretty Emma Watson to end up with someone else, but I actually love Ron. I think he's one of the best characters in the books because he keeps the series from going too dark and hopeless at key points. I also think it's obvious that he really loves Hermione and understands her, and I wanted that to really come across in this chapter.

I definitely didn't mean for their relationship to be stiff, more that the situation and the topic was... jilted. Hard. But I'll have to go back and re-examine that section to make sure my point is clear. Glad the perception improved over time, though!

Thanks for your fabulous review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #47, by patronus_charm Chapter Five

10th November 2013:
Yaya a new chapter!

Random question, but do you base Bree upon yourself as sheís a therapist or is she based on someone else you know? Or is she just a completely original character?

The therapy session itself was really interesting. The small slip up from Ginny in regards to how many brothers she had really got to me, and I thought it was a really subtle but perfect addition to show how things like these carry on affecting you which carried on theme with Ginny and the diary really well.

Iím curious to see know more about Ginnyís feelings in regards to Bree. I suppose itís only natural to feel confused after visiting a therapist especially given the topic they were discussing, but I still felt as if something were afoot. It was just the way Ginny just knew that she would probably never be seeing Bree again and that silent knowledge is what surprised. Hmm, maybe Bree has some ghosts of her sheís hiding and Ginny picked up on them? Either way, it made for a really interesting and lots of speculation which is always great.

Small note, but the backstory to Old Black Magic was really great and had me chuckling away about those poor old unsuspecting Muggles. :P

Hilary interested me. Again, thereís something about her which I canít quite detect which makes me a little unsure of her. You have a great flair for doing that, Amanda, as I always see it in your stories which is mark of great characterisation. Again, it was a nice way of showing how Ginnyís ghosts of her past will always haunt her and she can never be like Hilary. Itís interesting to wonder whether this a recent onset of them or whether theyíve been floating in the background for a while and just not as bad, Iím inclined to think the latter.

Ginnyís feeling ill? Another child on the way maybe.

I really liked Harryís reaction to the revelation actually, I thought it was very him. Iím really intrigued to read on actually, now that he knows. I wonder whether sheíll continue to confide in him or not or whether sheíll ever be able to find some sort of resolution for this. I hope she does!

Great chapter Amanda! ♡

-Kiana

Author's Response: Guh, Kiana, I'm sorry I've taken ages to respond! Just got busy, as you know. Anyway, I'm here now!

Bree is based a little on my experiences as a therapist (not necessarily my personal style, but I've witnessed plenty of people giving and receiving therapy) but mostly she's made up and amalgamated from what I've seen in the media.

I'm pleased that you liked the therapy session and noticed Ginny's little slip of the tongue about Fred. It was subtle but I was hoping someone would mention it.

It just seemed to me like Ginny would have trouble trusting someone new with her feelings, like she's aware that her experience would sound bizarre to someone who wasn't intimately familiar with Voldemort's power. It can be tough to have a good first session when you have that kind of mood in the room, but it's not unnatural, and a good therapist is able to work with it and be patient :)

Hah, glad you liked Old Black Magic! You're always so good about catching my details!

I think Ginny was too much in her own head during the interview, so she really didn't give herself a chance to get to know Hillary. She tried to push on to keep things feeling normal despite her circumstances, but her heart just wasn't in it that day :( The way I see her ghosts and dreams is that they've been there, but they've made a more intense resurgence and she doesn't know why.

Ugh, I'm so glad you like Harry! He is surprisingly difficult to write. Ginny's relationship with him will continue to be affected by her experiences and his perception of her trauma in future chapters, particularly the one I'm writing now.

Thanks for another fantastic review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #48, by Courtney Dark Chapter One

10th November 2013:
Hey there!

Okay, I must admit, I have been meaning to start reading this story for quite some time - pretty much ever since the first chapter came out - but I have just not had time for fanfiction until recently. And I still must get back to Diamonds into Coal which is just amazing!

Anyway, back to this story.

Wow, this first chapter was just amazing. I'm already hooked and wish I could just go ahead and read all the rest of the chapters right now, though unfortunately I have an exam tomorrow and haven't studied at all. Whoops.

I've personally never really had a problem with Ginny, apart from occasionally in the films and sometimes in fanfiction. But I think you wrote her really well! Her voice was excellent and the way you described this normalcy that is her life and how a part of her clearly feels frustrated with her life, like she's not doing enough. Obviously she has James and Albus, who she loves, but I think almost every housewife feels bored or frustrated at some stage - especially someone like Ginny who has had such an exciting life, to put it one way, and has had to retire from playing for the Holyhead Harpies.

The flow and balance of this chapter was great. I was honestly hooked the whole time and the balance between the darkness and mystery and the normalcy was great, really made me look forward to the next chapter.

I absolutely loved both the dream and the grocery store scene. As of yet, I'm not quite sure what to make of them, what they mean, but I want to find out more! You asked if there was anything you could do to make them creepier - I honestly thought they had just the right amount of creepy! Sorry, I know that's not very helpful, but this chapter was just so good!

Oh, and little James was very cute. Just saying!

Thanks for an awesome read! Definitely adding this to the favourites list!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: And I need to catch up on responding to your lovely Diamonds into Coal reviews! Sigh. I will soon, I promise. In the meantime, thanks for stopping by to check out another of my works!

I could definitely see Ginny developing some sort of restless housewife syndrome when she's cooped up after leading--and I like the way you put it--an exciting and chaotic life. She grew up watching her mother work constantly for her children and may not have been as enthusiastic as some young women when expecting her first child. Obviously she loves her boys, but still... it's probably not quite what she dreamed of.

It's great to hear that the dream and vision in the grocery store were sufficiently creepy! Keep me updated on the creep factor in coming chapters, because I keep trying to up the ante and challenge myself and I really want to get feedback on how I'm doing.

Thanks for your wonderful review, Courtney :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #49, by MrsKatieGrint Chapter Four

7th November 2013:
POOR GINNY!

Geez, I certainly hope things get better for her soon, even though you'll have no plot then. Lol maybe not.

I really liked your party scene. It wasn't rushed, and you didn't have too much going on at one time making it hard to understand what all was happening. It flowed very smoothly. Your depiction of the other characters you introduced were nice too! I like how Percy was still well Percy. But you didn't make him over the top. I really like that, because nowadays, everybody makes him out to be some crazy bossy pants, and in the books he was just a bossy pants. Ha, well like I said, it wasn't over the top, and I liked that.
I also like Fleur's character. I still picture her that stuck up girl, and her wanting to do everything = perfect.

That scene with Ginny was seriously bone-chilling. I was seriously freaked. I'm just glad Ron was there to save her!
I do hope she opens up to Harry soon though!

As always, great job on this! I'd love to review again when you have more posted. I'll be waiting to see what happens next!
Cheers!

Author's Response: Hah, you'll have to wait and see!

It's great that you liked the party and enjoyed my portrayal of the other Weasleys. It was fun to imagine how Ginny might feel toward her brothers and how their advice to her as their baby sister might be different. As for Fleur, I thought that maybe Ginny would get along with her but still have some harmless personal differences, as you saw here. I'm glad you liked Fleur's portrayal.

It's great that the ocean scene was scary! She's got some good support around her if she'll just let someone in to help her...

Thanks for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #50, by MrsKatieGrint Chapter Three

7th November 2013:
OH GAWD! NOOO!

Holy cow, great cliffhanger! And poor, unsuspecting Harry! Geez!

Okay, good stuff now.
I think that therapy scene you wrote was written really really well. It wasn't cheesy or over analyzed. It was quite perfect actually. I've sat in on some of my sister's therapy sessions, and you've seemed to have nailed it. It seemed pretty realistic to me.

As for the last scene, I think it was awful. Not your writing, what happened! Geez, super creepy. Except, I wouldn't have into the attic, definitely would've made Harry go. Ha

And you have really characterized Harry much until the last paragraph, and I think you did wonderful. Harry is normally a hard person to write, or atleast I think so, because he is what Queen JKR wrote from. So the pressure is definitely on when writing from Harry's view, but, I think you handled him marvelously.

Again, cheers to you, because I literally cannot write anymore because I want to know what happens so bad.:P

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm actually a therapist in real life, so I would hope the scene came across as realistic :) I did throw in some things to reflect how the experience could be different for a celebrity, like the assumption the therapist made, but I modeled a lot of it after what I've done and seen fellow therapists do in their sessions.

I'm pleased to hear that the last scene was sufficiently creepy and you liked my portrayal of Harry. He's going to kind of be thrown into Ginny's struggles and find that he isn't perfectly equipped to handle them, which may come as a surprise to him. But you'll have to read on further for that :)

Thanks for another sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>