Reading Reviews for At Great Personal Risk
  
127 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuNition The Silver Doe

3rd July 2014:
Oh, how I wish you'd expand this some more. The idea is great, the writing is well done, but I am left wanting more. More details, more everything.

Well done.

Author's Response: First of all, hello and sorry that I haven't gotten to respond to your reviews until now. I really appreciate you taking a few moments to leave feedback for my stories!

I've gotten the same critique a lot about this story, and all I can say is that I wasn't so great at depth when I wrote it. I think I've gotten a lot better, like with Post Scriptum (which I noticed you also read) and my current WIP, This Devilry. I'm happy that you liked the idea and felt like the writing was good, though.

Thanks again!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters The Silver Doe

16th October 2013:
I liked the story, but it needs a lot more. Like what happens? Do the Death Eaters find them? (I hope so. I like sad endings where everyone dies) I don't know, write a one-shot sequel. It doesn't seem like the story is finished.

Author's Response: To be honest, I wrote this several months ago and I think my writing style has improved significantly since then, especially in terms of detail and imagery and tying up loose plot ends. I also wrote this story for a challenge, so I think I rushed it a bit more than I normally would. However, I sort of meant to leave the end open for the reader to fill in on their own. I guess you'll have to decide for yourself whether the Death Eaters find them or not.

I'm sorry you weren't a fan of the ending, but I'm glad you liked the rest of the story. Thanks again for the kind reviews.

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by theblacksisters The Damaged Flowers

16th October 2013:
Sad-it took a turn for the worse. Your story has really twisted away from canon-not that I mind. AU is usually the best.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's changed quite a bit, and all from a simple personality switch! I'm happy you're still enjoying it despite the sad mood.

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by theblacksisters Meeting Agendas

16th October 2013:
Getting so much better. I love Snily, and I love how this is going.

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate all your kind reviews!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by theblacksisters The Headmaster's Office

16th October 2013:
I'm enjoying this, which is surprising since I despise Snape/Narcissa.

Author's Response: It's definitely a controversial ship, but I find it sort of intriguing. Glad you're still enjoying the story!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by theblacksisters Natural Talents

16th October 2013:
I think you should tell us what happened to some of the older students, like the Lestranges or something.

Author's Response: I didn't focus too much on people other than the Marauders in this story. But I'm sure there are lots of other stories out there that talk about the Lestranges :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by theblacksisters The First Years' First Test

16th October 2013:
Interesting-Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw. I didn't expect that.

Author's Response: Hah, glad I'm keeping you on your toes! Thanks for the lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by theblacksisters Two Owls

16th October 2013:
it's a really interesting personality switch, and though it's not something I would write, I think it'll turn out great.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by GryffindorSeeker4 Natural Talents

5th September 2013:
This promises to be a very interesting story... I love it so far! Now I've stayed up later than I intended because I couldn't stop reading.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This story is one of those that I wrote a long while ago but still consider very dear to my heart. I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying it and I hope that the ending satisfies you as well.

Thank you for your very lovely review! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by Debra20 Natural Talents

18th July 2013:
Things are moving forward. We finally see Lily and Severus in classes and I was greatly pleased to see that she was that talented at Charms. If I remember correctly, Lily had been good at it in the books as well. And of course Snape with Potions.

I can't shake off the weird feeling I have seeing their roles reversed. Severus being surrounded by a group of of people cheering him on and not trying to hex him makes for a strange image. However, it's an amazing way to read the story through both their eyes. As I am fond of "what if's", this has always been a big interest for me: what if it had been different? What if Lily had been the one to fall in love with Snape? What if Severus had been left in peace by the Marauders? It's a great opportunity to put ourselves in their placed and feel the story even deeper.

On the other hand, we know it didn't happen like this and it's disheartening to see Lily's struggles to fit in, knowing that in fact they were Snape's. I honestly love him so much as a character, with all his goods and bads, that it pains me to witness his hurt, more-so through the eyes of Lily. I'm very eager to see how they both develop, both as individuals and as a relationship!

Author's Response: Yeah, I kept the talents canon. It's hard for me to picture a universe where Lily isn't skilled at Charms and Severus isn't a master potioneer :)

It is bizarre for him to be accepted, huh? I agree that it can be fun to explore the "what ifs," and that's half the beauty of writing AU. Sometimes I have to force myself away from canon and really let my imagination run wild.

Trust me, it hurt my feelings to hurt Lily like this. I love her and see her as so innocent and good-hearted, and so this portrayal was truly a challenge. I guess being able to give Snape a decent life balanced it out for me, though.

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far, and I do hope to hear from you again soon! Thanks for your fantastic review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #11, by Debra20 The First Years' First Test

18th July 2013:
Oh my this is sooo weird right now. Not 'bad' weird, just, strange. It's a queer feeling seeing the kids sorted in different Houses, which also makes me wonder how the story will go on from here. We've seen in the books that how the students are sorted have a pretty heavy influence on how they're going to be, what deeds they will do, etc. So I can't stop but think what's in store for Lily especially, since she's been sorted into Hufflepuff. I was genuinely surprised she ended up there because I'd have thought she would be put in any House, except that. From her personality in your story, I can see she's a feisty, fiery girl who keeps to herself most of the time, and Hufflepuff have always given me the complete impression. I'll definitely keep a lookout for the way her story develops!

I'm very intrigued by the development of this story and it's two major characters. I think having changed their background, their personalities, feelings will have a dramatic effect on how they play their part in the events that are bound to happen. Usually it takes only a little to change the future of a man, but having everything this different is a completely different story. At this moment the story raises more questions than offers answers, but I can completely live with it haha They motivate me to keep reading, dig for the answers myself. This is truly a gem. I've never read anything like it!

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, it probably is very weird to behold. I mostly put Lily in Hufflepuff because it was the unexpected choice and I wanted to be clear that all kinds of people can come from all kinds of Houses, but I also see her as an intensely loyal girl, which will become apparent as the story goes on.

I'm happy you're motivated to read on and try to find the answers to all of your questions! I'm not thrilled with the pacing of this one, because it was written before I really learned to slow down and take my time with a plot, but hopefully you enjoy seeing Lily and Severus in very unconventional roles here.

Thanks for another sweet review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by Debra20 A Little Bit of Chemistry

18th July 2013:
OMG everything change after I read your A/N! When I thought there couldn't be anything else that could surprise me about you, you come up with this brilliant idea. It all makes so much sense now. Lily's parents arguing (who were supposed to be Snape's), her coming from a family of wizards (when it was him who was the Half Blood) and all the other elements. It's one of the most creative ideas I've ever read in fanfiction.

And now my mind is blown twice because of how well you're handling the plot. Even if we're not that far into the story yet, it must be difficult keeping track of everything, be attentive not to fall into proper canon. Both Snape and Lily seem very in character, despite their personalities switched. It's a queer thing seeing Severus this...cheerful? But it fits the theme of the story so well that you can't help but love him as you love sullen Snape (am I weird or what? LOL)

And they've met! I'm at the point of wondering if you've changed their feelings as well? Because we know that Snape was the one to love Lily in a romantic way, while Lily only cherished him as a very god friend, a brother. Will we see Lily actually loving him in this story? I'm incredibly eager to find this out. You have no idea how much this story has caught me :D

Author's Response: This idea was inspired by a challenge, and while mine ended up being the only finished entry, I still loved being able to just run with the notion of switched personalities and non-canon ideas. But yeah, it's not a perfect switch; some things remain the same, some change to their opposite, and some are kind of in the middle or just plain new altogether.

It was really weird writing Snape as a happy person, as sad as that is to say. Of course, it was also strange to write Lily as being so bitterly unhappy, but for some reason that came a lot more easily to me. Must be the angst.

Well, I won't answer that question--I'm afraid you'll have to read on, and I hope you do!

Thanks for another lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 Two Owls

18th July 2013:
Hey Amanda! So as we got the challenge of reviewing stories about our ultimate OTP, I immediately thought about Snily because I love them best. After that, I started wondering what could be the 'mother' of Snily stories on the Archives and I thought about you, because I know you enjoy it too. So here I am :D

First of let me tell you that even if this story is from 2011 and without a doubt your writing style has changed and improved with the practice of writing, I still can't get over how much I love your descriptions. They're amazingly vivid and the scenes they portray play in my mind just like a movie, which has always been very important to me. To be able to fully immerse myself in the story, I need to visualise everything that's happening and you're giving me so much more than that!

I am simply amazed by the amount of detail you put into describing the process of sending the Hogwarts letters. This introduction really gives a lot of depth to the story because it makes us feel that both Snape and Lily were amongst the important ones who would be the first receiving their letters by owl. What I'm not certain about (and I might be wrong) is concerned with Lily's family. Wasn't she part of a Muggle family? Did you choose to portray her as the daughter of magical people for a purpose?

Severus! Love of my life! I am so happy you decided to have him share a good relationship with his parents. I know there are indications in the canon books that might lead us to believe that there were conflicts between his parents, but it's never confirmed and I've read too many stories with him being the son of an abusive father and whatnot. Also, it's been a true pleasure reading that his mother was so talented at Potions. I don't recall if it's canon, but it sets the ground to Snape's decision to name himself the Half Blood Prince, of all the names he could have chosen. It warmed my heart to imagine all the wonderful moments this family has lived until Severus had to go away for school.

I am eager to read on, see what happens next! On to the next chapter I say :D

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I'm super flattered that your search for Snily brought you to my page. Maybe one day I'll write the actual "mother of all Snily stories," though that would be a challenge indeed! I do like this odd little story, though, so it makes me smile that you chose it to review :)

I'm happy the imagery worked here! I relied heavily upon it while trying to start us off with the owls' journey and the introduction of Lily and Severus's respective home lives. I would certainly hope my skills have improved in two years' time, of course!

I thought it was interesting to imagine what the letter process would be like. We know that magical students are recorded in a book and their letters come when they turn eleven, but we don't know much more than that, and so I took my turn at describing the process here.

Ah, yes, I definitely should have put my disclaimer in this chapter instead of the next. Sometimes we writers forget that readers don't automatically see things the way we do, since we have the answers and they don't. I'll have to go back and fix that if I ever go back and edit this (which I'm sure needs to be done).

Anyway, yes, in this AU certain things are switched around, and the families of our protagonists are one of them. Lily's got cruel magical parents and Severus has the happy family I wish he would have had in canon.

You know, I've been writing Snape-centric stuff for so long that I really don't know if Snape getting his potions book from his mother is real canon or just my head canon. Either way, him being close to Eileen is a big part of my head canon and I find it hard to write them otherwise. Both being magical, surely they would have stuck together in the face of whatever happened with his father, and I think him taking her name as a nickname was a bit of a tribute to that (as opposed to a mere comment on blood status).

Thanks for your very sweet review, Debra!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #14, by ToxicCosmos The Recruitment

20th August 2012:
I am really, really enjoying is. :) I'm excited and sad and intrigued by everything that's going on.

Author's Response: That's great! I hope you continue (I think you're getting close to the end at this point) and that you keep leaving me these lovely reviews! Thanks so much once again for all of them - I rarely get random ones and it was a nice surprise (especially for a story so dear to my heart).

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #15, by ToxicCosmos On Fire

20th August 2012:
Oh man, I teared up for Severus and Lily. I'm glad he's happy but I don't think it'll last long. *heavy sigh*

Author's Response: Unfortunately, you're probably right :( I'm glad you're still enjoying the story and that it's sparking some real emotions for you!

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #16, by ToxicCosmos Unattainable

20th August 2012:
This is crazy (in a good way). Sirius and Lily with an interesting frindship/possible relationship going on, not much of Severus in her life, and maybe joining Voldemort. Wow. I'm definitely curious.

Author's Response: Ooh, glad it's good crazy. I know I shifted a lot and it didn't sit well with everyone, but it's great that you find it intriguing. Things will continue to be tumultuous for Lily from here on out.

Thanks for another awesome review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #17, by ToxicCosmos Natural Talents

20th August 2012:
I'm trying to figure out who the slytherin boy is. He sounds like trouble - sounds like Sirius. :) And now I'm wondering if the marauders are gonna show up. O.O

I'm very much enjoying this.

Author's Response: Good guess! And yes, he is definitely trouble. You may see a Marauder or two in there :)

Thanks for another lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #18, by ToxicCosmos The First Years' First Test

20th August 2012:
Well that's very unexpected. I'm interested in seeing how this plays out. :)

Author's Response: Yep, I tried to shake things up. I feel like a lot is made of the Gryffindor-Slytherin rivalry in fanfiction and I wanted to show Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw some love for a change. I hope you feel like the placements I chose are fitting :)

Thanks for another kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #19, by ToxicCosmos A Little Bit of Chemistry

20th August 2012:
Oh Lily, out shopping all alone; I just want to hug her. And I look forward to seeing how a friendship between them could form - seeing how her parents are about half-bloods.

Author's Response: Lily definitely deserves some hugs, especially since she's not quite as awful as her parents. Glad you're enjoying the story, and thanks for another lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #20, by ToxicCosmos Two Owls

20th August 2012:
Love! I teared up seeing how happy Severus seems. Of course, I'm now sad seeing how relatively unhappy Lily is. I can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for stopping by to leave a review!

Haha, I know! I felt kind of guilty making Lily's childhood so awful, but then again, it was nice to give Severus a fair shake this time around.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #21, by tydemans The First Years' First Test

31st March 2012:
Hi!

I'm dropping in for the duel. This is a different take all around and every bit as intriguing as your page-turner page.

Lily in Hufflepuff and not happy about it. That should be interesting :)

Take care!
~Ty

Author's Response: Hey Ty!

Ooh, I'm so glad this portion of the story grabbed your attention as well, early on as it is. Hope you get a chance to read on later.

Thanks for your kind review! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #22, by remi On Fire

19th March 2012:
Does Narcissa still have her siters?

Author's Response: Hello! Hmm, I wrote this some time ago, so let me see what I remember. Andromeda does make an appearance here, but I don't think Bellatrix does, and Andromeda doesn't really factor in to Narcissa's life a great deal. Hope that answers your question.

Thanks, and I hope you enjoy the rest! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #23, by Moonyxluna The Silver Doe

27th February 2012:
A happy ending! Thank you thank you thank you!!! I just loved this story so dearly, and this was just the most perfect ending I could have ever asked for.

I'm glad that you worked in how the relationship between the pair worked out over time, and that he didn't insantly trust her again after the death eater run-in. The personallities through this whole story just went together so wonderfuly, and I'm just so happy that things worked out for Severus and Lily in the end.

Seriously.. can you teach me how you write details and descriptions so amazingly? :) I just love your writing so much. Wonderful story, I loved reading this so much. Great work on this! I look forward to reading more of your writing in the future :)

Author's Response: Yes! It's great that you liked it and it didn't seem contrived. I wanted to put in one last roller-coaster moment between the end of the last chapter and this one, when you see that everything worked out okay after all. I think it would be a real challenge for me to write a Snily that didn't turn out happily in the end.

I initially didn't have much of an explanation in there, but I put it in because, as you said, I didn't want people to think that he was suddenly okay with what had happened. It's great that the personalities worked for you throughout the piece, even with all the shifting and turning going on the whole time.

Haha, unfortunately, I don't think so. I learned the importance of imagery from Toujours Padfoot; if you read any of her work, you'll see that she has a real gift for description, far beyond what I've ever accomplished. Detail, I don't know... I guess it's just my thing? Haha.

Your reviews have been a very sweet trip down memory lane. I had forgotten just how much I loved this story, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed it and stuck with it till the end. I hope you enjoy my other work just as much!

Thanks again for all your wonderful reviews!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #24, by Moonyxluna The Damaged Flowers

27th February 2012:
Such a powerful chapter.. just, wow. The details, I've mentioned previously, are just remarkable.

Sirius is gone. With the personallity switch you've given him, I can't say i'm too sad about that. Although I wish Sev would believe her! But I get it, stuff like that doesn't always work out. He seems like he really wants to believe her, but this attack just pushed him over the edge.

I really don't want there to only be one chapter left!

Author's Response: It's great that the details worked for you! :)

It's funny to re-read this along with you in responding to these reviews, because I'm just now realizing fully how many shocking twists and turns I built in, in the form of sudden deaths. I think we get that in canon, too; just one green flash and then it's all over for you.

It's good that you can sympathize with Severus. It tells me that I put equal emphasis into both him and Lily, which is what I wanted.

Thanks for another excellent review! :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #25, by Moonyxluna Meeting Agendas

27th February 2012:
yay! I'm so unbelievably happy right now :) This. This is why I love Snape/Lily. The way the emotion is just so strong between the pair of them (canon personallities or not) just makes me so happy. (and sad, and worried, etc.) I just love them dearly.

And I loved this dearly. It's intersting to see how the Order members don't really trust her, especially Molly and the Prewett twins. Except Severus, bless him. Sad to hear that Sev's dad died as well, but it's good to hear his mum is doing what she loves with potions. I loved the bit about the teacups at the end. It's just.. such a perfect comparison to their friendship. Very very brilliant work here. Not that I expected anything less :)

Author's Response: Agreed! It's great to find a fellow fan :) It's been great exploring the complexity of the emotions between them, for better or for worse, and that's why I love writing and reading them.

I'm glad you liked the teacups and the bit of symbolism I tried to incorporate with them. Lily definitely doesn't fit into the Order, and she experiences some of the same distrust that I'm sure Snape did when he joined. As for Eileen, I really like her and I wanted to give her a happy ending, since she really didn't get one as part of canon, either.

Thanks for another very kind review!

Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>