Reading Reviews for The Waitress
  
115 Reviews Found

Review #51, by harry_vampire The Gazebo

2nd November 2011:
Hey-a!I am the first one review.Proud to be!.Can't give much long review...Have to rush to college!

But finallly good to see Sirius back again(courage to ask her on date):D I liked the fact that they didnt fight much about the past! Better to move on rather than dwell about the past.Poor them can't enjoy without being scared on their date...:(
I liked the way you wrote about the emotion of Lucy remembering her past!

Wanting to read more...;)

Cheers,
Su

9.5/10

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm glad you like the chapter and the way that I wrote them as being in the present as opposed to just arguing about the past. More about the past will be coming up, though.

Thanks for your compliments!

academica


 Report Review

Review #52, by harry_vampire A Plate Full of Pancakes

31st October 2011:
Hey-a!One thing I like reading your fan-fic is you update very fast! I have been following your story since long time but couldnt review ...Now I'm here finally!!!:D

Did I say how much I adore your story?;).It's an interesting plot,Every scene flowed wonderfully. Sirius and Lucy are in character and I'm already drawn in to the plot.

I shall definitely read more of this story.Do update even faster if possible!!^_^

Cheers,
Su

10/10

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm glad you like the story and the way I've done the characters. I am bound by the queue as far as updating, and I'm balancing this story with another WIP I'm working on. The good news is that the story is already finished, so it's just a matter of posting all the chapters now :)

Thanks for your kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #53, by adluvshp A Plate Full of Pancakes

31st October 2011:
Another good chapter. I like how Sirius and Lucy are developing. Good job.

9/10

Cheers!
AD

trick or treat!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #54, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Plate Full of Pancakes

27th October 2011:
Oh, I feel so sorry for Lucy/Rachael. Such a horrible thing to go through. But look - Sirius can come and make it all better! ;)

I've seen this story a few times here and seen you talk about it on the forums, saying a new chapter was up, and I kept saying I'll read it tomorrow. Well, tomorrow became today! Yay!

I love the plot. What Sirius did when out of prison and not doing what he does in the books is something I've never thought about. It's an interesting take on his life and I don't read many Sirius fics (unless it's Remus/Sirius - I'm a Next-Gen girl) so the fact that this has caught and kept my attention is amazing! Your story is awesome! :D

I love the characters. Lucy/Rachael is so different to any OC I've ever read, which is refreshing, and a Malfoy! Damn my soft spot for the Malfoys - it makes her even cooler. :P

I hope she gets better. I can't believe she married Snape, not that i have anything against Snape, but, you know, it's Sirius. (Even though i am Regulus' girl :P) LOL.

Looking forward to the next chapter! Favorited this.

10/10!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so happy to see a review from you! :) Thanks for coming by!

I'm so happy that you like what I did with Sirius. I agree that this is a very interesting time in his life, and when I was reading Books 3 and 4 I often found myself wondering what he was getting up to while Harry and co. were at Hogwarts. I'm glad that you gave this a chance even though you don't usually read Sirius stuff (BTW, I totally understand the Wolfstar draw! They're my favorite slash ship.)

I'm even happier, though, that you like Lucy. It's really a compliment to an author when other readers become attached to their OCs. I put a lot of work/thought into her character and I think she's very interesting and very likable. As for her marital preferences, well, this story is based on Disgusted, and I kind of painted Sirius in a not so awesome light there, so the Snape/Lucy pairing makes more sense in that story. However, I did try to fill in more details about their partnership in this story, so stay tuned :) I may write more about them in the future, as I think their love story is kind of sweet.

I'm so flattered to get a favorite! Thanks again for reading and reviewing, and I hope you enjoy the next chapter, which should be up soon!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #55, by AlPadfootPotter96 A Plate Full of Pancakes

26th October 2011:
I'm so relieved. Lucy ate something. Finally. :)

Author's Response: Yes! Finally, even if it was only a little bit :)

Thanks for being a faithful reader and reviewer!

academica


 Report Review

Review #56, by forsakenphoenix A Table for One

22nd October 2011:
I love Lucy/Snape. I thought they were a fantastic couple in Disgusted and I've been curious to see what drove Lucy to leave him in the first place. I guess I never really thought about Snape's connection to the Death Eaters and James and Lily's death as a catalyst for Lucy leaving him, but it makes sense. I hope bringing Sirius into her life will help her turn her life around and maybe we can see a bit more of Snape eventually? I think he misses her. He loved her and I'm sure he was devastated when she left.

This chapter made me feel a bit melancholic. Sirius seeing what Lucy's done to her body, the idea of them both being "skeletons", it's all so very heartbreaking. It's nice to see them coming together though, desperate to cling to something worth living for. I know you've ended it on a positive note - that they both slept better than they had in years - but part of me is curious how they'll act around one another in the morning. I guess I'll have to keep reading to find out. :)

Author's Response: I love the idea of someone else being just as into my pairing as I am. That's wonderful :) I would like to write more of them in the future. I'm just looking for the perfect spark of inspiration. I do have a potential one-shot in mind, but that's all for now.

Sirius and Lucy have a lot in common, so I did kind of write this with the idea that they could help one another out, in a way. Both need to be healed. They're just fascinating to write.

Next chapter coming soon! You're so lovely for faithfully reading and reviewing. Thanks! :)

Amanda



 Report Review

Review #57, by forsakenphoenix The Truth Revealed

22nd October 2011:
I've been itching to read Sirius and Lucy's confrontation and I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to get to this. I think you did a wonderful job revealing piece by piece Sirius and Lucy's past. You don't give us all the details, which is nice, and allows us to build our own conclusions that may or may not be right. I think that's half the fun of reading, coming up with our own ideas and wondering how close to the truth we really are.

It's obvious that the two of them have a lot of anger (and perhaps regret?) buried deep that is only now coming into play. I'm glad you didn't drag their argument out any longer - it gives me the idea that they're just so tired, you know? Kind of tired of living the lives that they are, of fighting not only between themselves but their past. It's interesting.

I love how we get to see more of Lucy's character her and to see her thoughts on her illness. I think that last paragraph + last line are some of my favorites. "She doubted her beauty, but at least she owned herself" = very powerful. You say a lot about your characters without actually using a lot of words and I think that's the mark of a great writer.

Great chapter! I can't wait to see what else they have to say to one another once they've gotten over the shock/surprise of discovering the truth behind "Rachael."

Author's Response: It's okay! I'm glad you got a chance to stop by :) I agree that coming up with your own ideas is half the fun of reading, especially with a mystery piece. More of the history between Sirius and Lucy will be revealed in coming chapters, starting with the next one to be posted.

Tired is a good word for it - years of exhaustion brought on by the war and just plain adulthood, with the added bonus of a prison sentence for poor Padfoot and a marital separation for Lucy. Here they are, finally having a chance to really have it out, and neither of them has the energy. Angst at its finest, no? :D

Thanks! I try :) Imagery is one of my favorite things. Lucy definitely has some very deep, complicated feelings, and I've made my best estimate at trying to get inside the head of someone suffering from anorexia. I have yet to see an ED patient, so hopefully I'm doing well.

I hope the next chapters don't disappoint! :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #58, by fauxthefox A Table for One

17th October 2011:
BEAUTIFUL!!!

Although the conflict is thrown aside a bit quickly, I loved the happy ending!

The recap of Lucy's relationship with Snape makes it a bit more believable, but I think it would've been nice for you to throw in something about Snape's feelings for Lily. How did Lucy deal with that? Or did Snape keep it a secret?

The ending was written beautifully, although I didn't quite understand the line "Lily missed you like hell, Luce." Did I miss something?

10/10

Author's Response: See my previous review responses in reference to your first two points :) As for the last one, yes, you might have. In the previous chapter, in the middle of the argument, Sirius said something to the effect that no one even missed having Lucy around once she was gone. This was his way of letting her back in just a little - by admitting the truth. Hope that clears it up :)

Thanks!

academica


 Report Review

Review #59, by fauxthefox The Truth Revealed

17th October 2011:
I had a bit of trouble with the Lucy/Snape - just because I'm pretty stubborn about Snape's love for Lily. I think it's one of his defining characteristics throughout the books. But, moving on -

The whole confrontation reads pretty well, although it could have lasted a bit longer. The last couple of paragraphs were striking, and the last sentence was absolutely stunning!

9/10

Faux

Author's Response: Oh, I don't blame you. I'm pretty staunchly Snape/Lily when it comes to canon as well. If it makes you feel any better, I did try to deal with the Lily situation at least a little in the original story (Disgusted). Perhaps I should have made brief mention of it here as well, though.

I'm glad you liked the ending. I'm not particularly good at arguments, but the confrontation is far from over. More bits and pieces of it will show up in the other chapters.

Thanks again!

academica


 Report Review

Review #60, by fauxthefox The Photograph

17th October 2011:
AHHH, he found her!!! I was hoping that she would turn out to be someone from his past :)

Backing up a bit - I really liked the intro bit with the rehash of Book 3 from Sirius point-of-view. It'd make a great full-length novel or novella, but you've squeezed it pretty successfully into a few paragraphs! :)

10/10

Faux

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you liked it. I usually hate "telling" rather than "showing", but it seemed to be the best option here. More is coming on the past of Sirius and Lucy's relationship! :)

Thanks!

academica


 Report Review

Review #61, by fauxthefox The Devil's in the Details

17th October 2011:
I'm so glad that this story got to be popular! It really deserves it! :)

I'm not sure about Sirius being let into Gringotts without any real proof of his identity (or of his false identity, or whatever) - the goblins were suspicious about Hermione/Ron even though she had taken Polyjuice Potion and she had the real Bellatrix's wand, so it's hard to imagine them just taking Sirius' word and letting him in.

Other than that, flawless and beautiful! :)

9/10

Faux

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for taking the time to review more than one chapter! It really does mean a lot to me :)

The Gringotts scene was tough for me. On the one hand, I thought critically about it and really didn't want to just skate over the issue of Sirius getting his stuff back because I feel like we didn't get a lot of explanation about that in canon. On the other hand, I needed him to get some money one way or another! So it was kind of a trade-off situation, and I did the best I could. Also, I think the Hermione-Ron situation might have had something to do with the overwhelming fear about the return of Voldemort/the Death Eaters that was really pervasive at the time. You've definitely got a point, but there's some food for thought all the same :)

Thanks!

academica


 Report Review

Review #62, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Table for One

16th October 2011:
You know what I really want to know? If Severus misses her. I know I'm supposed to be thinking about Sirius and their relationship but I am a Snape shipper as well and I'd really like to know if he knows anything about the 'Waitress.' It'll be interesting to see what happens the morning after because I can already tell by the way you're following the timeline and the tone of the story good things are not going to happen. Excellent job with this chapter, I enjoyed the entire thing but I think the ending it was very...well, I don't want to say poetic but it's the only word I can think of so I'll stick with that.

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad to see someone interested in the underlying Snape/Lucy storyline, because that's definitely going to continue to be important in the coming chapters. I won't spoil anything for you, though :) I'm so happy that you're still enjoying it, and thanks for the very kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #63, by flufff A Table for One

16th October 2011:
Aw! Woah. That was extremely intense. But I was waiting for it to happen, and it was so awesome :') Great job! This story is, like... a masterpiece! I love it!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for your compliments in both this review and the one for the last chapter :) I'm happy that I explained the background okay and that I've surprised you with the introduction of Snape. And yes, I was hoping that I wasn't the only one like, "Go on, kiss already!" Haha.

Thanks for your reviews! Another chapter will be coming soon :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #64, by flufff The Truth Revealed

16th October 2011:
Oh my God I love your writing. It is amazing. This is such a good story, I just can't believe it. Haha well this was a really good chapter. I forgot if you mentioned this before or not but I can't believe she was married to Snape! Wow. I wanna know the story...

Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind review! :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by AlPadfootPotter96 A Table for One

16th October 2011:
There's the Sirius we all know, haha.
This is a really interesting story; can't wait to see where you go with this! :)

Author's Response: Hey! Yeah, I was hoping that my perception of Sirius wasn't too far off from canon, so that's good. I'm happy you find it so interesting!

Thanks for the review; another chapter coming soon! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #66, by adluvshp A Table for One

16th October 2011:
Hi! This was a nice chapter. I liked how you gave insight into Lucy's past a bit more, and what exactly happened with Severus. Also the scene towards the end was well written. The way you described it was quite good. All in all this made a good read. you're doing great.

Waiting for the next,

10/10
Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad I explained the background well and helped you get to know Lucy a little more. I'm happy that you're still enjoying the story!

Thanks for the review! Another chapter will be coming soon :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #67, by IAmGeorge The Truth Revealed

15th October 2011:
AHHH! Still really love this story! Keep uploading your brilliant at writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter is actually in the queue right now, so I'd look for it to come out today or tomorrow, most likely :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #68, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Truth Revealed

7th October 2011:
Wow. This story is just so interesting! I almost missed your update. I went to your other story and read the very last chapter because i figured it would tie everything up so I could know who Lucy is. All I know is she married Severus so I really want to know what happened with that. I can sort of guess though but I didn't expect Sirius to just come bargining in like that and the things he said! I kind of wanted to smack him! Their relationship literally changed in this entire chapter it's going to be extremely interesting to know where they go from here. Wonderful job.

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so glad you enjoyed it :) I promise that more will be coming regarding Lucy's relationships with Sirius and Severus. You don't have to read the other story to get filled in. Another update will be posted very soon! In the meantime, thank you for reading and leaving such a thoughtful review :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #69, by AlPadfootPotter96 The Truth Revealed

5th October 2011:
Nice chapter, I can't wait to see what's next between the two!

Author's Response: Thanks! Next chapter will be posted soon :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #70, by abbs_16 The Truth Revealed

5th October 2011:
But Sirius cheated on her! He had no right to go and complain about it or tell her it was all her fault that they didn't work out :s Males are so silly sometimes. Great chapter though! I look forward to more

Author's Response: Hey! As you said, boys will be boys, and beyond that, people in relationships often get mad about things they may not have a right to get mad about :) Thanks for the review, and more is coming! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #71, by adluvshp The Truth Revealed

4th October 2011:
Wow another twist! You never fail to amaze me! She ran off with Severus? Woah. I really am itching to know the full story now, and hoping for some Sirius/Lucy action xD

All in all, another amazing chapter! I really liked how you wrote this one - it was very realistically portrayed and the feelings came off awesomely.

Great job! 10/10

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so glad you found it realistic, because the raw, angsty emotions are going to dominate for pretty much the rest of the story, although there will definitely be some romance :) So hopefully you'll be happy on both counts! Also, the full story is coming very soon :)

Thanks for another kind review!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #72, by flufff The Photograph

30th September 2011:
Oh my gosh, I can't believe they were together before! And they didn't even recognize each other, and Lucy seems awfully... I don't know, suspicious? I just really want to know what happens next. Please, please update soon. You're a wonderful writer!

Author's Response: Hi again! I'm so glad you came back :) I really appreciate your compliments, and I'm glad you still think I'm doing Sirius justice in this story. Lucy is a little suspicious :) The next chapter is in the queue, so keep an eye out for it!

Thanks for all of your wonderful reviews :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #73, by flufff Favors

30th September 2011:
Another great chapter! I loved the shopping part, it was so sweet. I wonder why they seem familiar to each other? Can't wait to read more...

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind review! :)

 Report Review

Review #74, by flufff The Devil's in the Details

30th September 2011:
I haven't reviewed in forever! But this is getting really good, I can't wait to see what happens next. Your writing was so great in this chapter. I mean, it always is, and that's one of the things I love about this story, but seriously, there's no mistakes that I found. Great job! Sirius is such a rebel, stealing coats and things ;D You write him really well. Onto the next chapter.. (:

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind review! :)

 Report Review

Review #75, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Photograph

24th September 2011:
Wait! I never read your other story because this is a companion to one right? Should I? Because I feel like Lucy Malfoy is important if she's the waitress then. I mean it seems to be very important because I just read the other reviews you got for this chapter. That's interesting, I love Snape but that's not important. I loved the way you incorporated everything from PoA into here, it wasn't muddled together, it was nice and easy and the memories, the photos made me sigh. Poor Sirius (and Remus of course). Excellent job, seriously you're amazing!

Author's Response: Hey again!

You don't have to. The events of that story will be explained in a couple of chapters. I wrote this story in such a way that fans of Disgusted would like it but also so that non-fans could still understand and enjoy it. (I also think the caliber of this story is a little higher than Disgusted, but that's neither here nor there.)

I'm so glad you liked my incorporation of PoA. I was really afraid that it all sounded too rushed, like I was 'telling' too much (as opposed to showing). I'm also happy that you liked the photos. Sirius has really been thrown for a loop, that's for sure, and you do have to feel some pity for Remus, who hasn't got a clue what's going on.

Thanks so much for your very flattering review! :)

Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>