Reading Reviews for The Month I was a Hipster
79 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Serendipity1234 Day 3

11th August 2012:
It's pretty good so far and I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes :) I really like Berkley ❤ and his quip at the end was pretty funny. He just seems kind of adorable because he's protective and sweet. And how he was uncharacteristically rumpled when he came to find her probably because he was worried ❤❤
Millie bugs me a bit, but that's only because I think the whole hipster thing is stupid in general. Though that's obviously a theme here haha. I do find her endearing and amiable most of the time, though.
I think you should describe the Hipogriff feather because while I'm sure it's probably different from an owl feather I'm not quite sure how obviously different you mean for it to be. Is it very ostentatious? Or is it just kind of peculiar and makes you take a second glance? Very original idea, I must say. It's kind of funny that she's a wizard hipster because wizards kind of don't change over time. They stick wih their traditional old-fashioned things (who really knows why?) but Millie sort of finds a hybrid idea that's new but not muggle. That's actually pretty clever -maybe she should be a businesswoman rather than a hipster ;)
I really want to know more about her old relationship with Ferris -like how close were they? Why did they break up? And how did he break up with her? And what's he /like/?
I wouldn't mind if you changed the title, but I don't think there's anything wrong with it. It does grab your attention.

Update soon :)
AND WONDERLAND. Because I LOVE Wonderland ❤❤❤

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Berkley has collected quite the fanclub so far, haha! I love him too; he can be a jerk but he's lovable at the same time. His friendship with Millie is very important to him and while she can give him quite the headache, he's willing to throw himself out there for her. I find it interesting that they each have a difficult time expressing in words exactly how much they mean to each other so they instead like to show it in their actions. It's peculiar but sweet at the same time.
I can understand that Millie would bug you a bit, but I'm glad that she has some redeeming qualities! And while I love Hipsters, the absurdity of Millie's actions is definitely a theme so you're correct on that front!
Thank you for pointing out that I didn't describe the feather in this chapter; I didn't realize that I left that out and I'll be sure to include it in the next chapter. Since Hippogriff's have the head of an eagle, I imagine that it's a large feather, but there's no special pattern or anything to it. It's more of the principle of the thing, haha.
And thank you for thinking that this is original! I try to contribute originality to the archives as much as possible! And I really like the way you described how Millie's intergrated Muggle life into the Wizarding World, making it a "Hybrid" - I really like that so thanks. And I'm sure her parents would love it if she became a businesswoman! She certainly has the qualifications for it, being a studious Ravenclaw and all ;)
I'm also glad that you're so intrigued by the whole Millie/Ferris relationship; I'll be revealing more and more about them as a couple as time goes by :)
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing - and for your input on the title; I really appreciate it! I'll try to update this soon and an update for Wonderland shouldn't be too far off :D

 Report Review

Review #27, by littlemisssnape Day 3

11th August 2012:
Hahahahahaha I loved the whole Hippogriff thing!! Keep going (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #28, by NicolaEve Day 3

11th August 2012:
no you shouldn't change the name of the story!! it's good : ) the chapter was really good

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! And thank you for your input on the title; I'm still iffy on it and need all the input I can get.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by LittleMissPrincess Day 3

11th August 2012:
YAY! you finally updated this!! i love it! and know we finally know who the mysterious person was that was being hinted at these past two chapters. okay so i love it(: please update soon!
and the titles not that bad, actually.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Again, I'm sorry for the delay, but I'm glad that you came back to read and review! And thanks on your input for the title; I'm still iffy on it so I'm need all of the input I can get. I'll try to update soon :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by Elfo Day 3

11th August 2012:
Woah, Hippogriff-feather quill? Very original. 'Hipster All the Way!'
Anyway, great chapter, I really enjoyed reading it. Please update quick!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you thought it was original; it'd be pretty bad if I failed on that front, haha. I'll try to update soon!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by Elfo Day 2

11th August 2012:
Loved it again! Pretty glad that James isn't Millie's ex, can't wait to see more of him in the story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And me too! This story would be so different if he had been.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by PygmyPuffLover Day 3

10th August 2012:
aaah, jessie. gawd, i love this story. millie makes me laugh so much ~ and did i ever mention that i love berkley? because i adore him. very much. i would have his children quite happily. and seriously, millie, hippogriff feather quills? *facepalm* jessie, where on earth do you come up with ideas like 'gets headbutted by a hippogriff'? you, my darling, are unfairly creative.

amazing, amazing chapter! muchos love from me,

ellie :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much Ellie! To be perfectly honest, I have no idea where all of my weird ideas come from but I'm glad that you think they're creative! And I just couldn't resist having Millie geting headbutted by a Hippogriff; the image is just too funny (for me at least) to pass up.
I'm also so glad that you like Millie! I'm always unsure of how everyone will respond to her, so I'm glad to hear it! And Berkley, haha, he's become quite the heartthrob lately; I'm afriad you're going to have to fight for him, deary.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!! Lots of love! :D

~Jessie :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by Elfo Day 1

10th August 2012:
AHH! Loving it so far!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy it :D

 Report Review

Review #34, by AccioSonicScrewdriver Day 3

10th August 2012:
Awesome chapter!!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by Anasuya Day 2

19th June 2012:
Its 3:45 AM in here and I've been up all night reading this and Wonderland! You are a fabulous author! :)
And I kinda had this feeling that her ex was not going to be James; call it intuition or whatever! But yeah, James is funny, isn't he? I hope to see more of him!!
Well, as for Millie, I don't know if I told you in the first chapter, but her name is AWESOME!! And so is she! :) :D
Please update asap! Can't wait!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love your dedication, haha! I'm sorry that you stayed up so late though; hopefully you were able to sleep in!
A lot of people thought that James was going to be the ex, which was something I hadn't anticipated so good job! You were one of the few that didn't :)
I'm glad that you thought he was funny; he's more of a class show-off than Wonderland!James (who's still funny, but you know what I mean). And I'm glad that you like Millie - both her name and character! I stole "Millie" from the Broadway musical Thoroughly Modern Millie.
I'll try to update soon; thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by Anasuya Day 1

19th June 2012:
I really liked it!! :)
Keep going please! Awesome, whatever I've read so far! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you like it! :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by unicorn_hair Day 2

12th June 2012:
Woah, this story is brilliant. I love how your stories always have such a great plot set up right from the beginning.
Here's a joke I thought you'd appreciate:

How did the hipster burn her mouth?

She ate her pizza before it was cool.


Please keep writing this story, it's amazing!
-The Hair of the Unicorn

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! That's so sweet of you to say! AND I LOVE THAT JOKE OH MY GOD XD
I'll try to update soon!
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #38, by PygmyPuffLover Day 2

8th June 2012:
i have absolutley no idea how this review took me so long to do. i don't even know... i even reviewed wonderland before i reviewed this story, and wonderland only came out two days ago! i'm awful. i should be shot. but hopefully i won't be, because i quite like being alive.

ANYWAY. i ramble far too much. this is why my reviews are always so long winded. MILLIE. i love millie. she cracks me up like you couldn't believe, she's just so batty. the stuff about millie's break up was really interesting - i really want to know the full story.

james was sweet ~ i think it does mean something that he made her feel better so quickly. i can't wait until he comes into the story properly.

anyway, i loved the chapter, so please update soon!

ellie :) xx

Author's Response: Hi there Ellie! Well, considering how long it's taken me to answer my reviews (I got a bit overwhelmed...) I'm more likely to be shot than you, haha. But I'm working on it! It's a slow process.
I'm so glad that you like Millie! Berkley has accumilated the most fans so far so I'm glad that you like her! She's different from Spencer, but equally fun to write. And I'm glad that you thought the break-up was interesting; I'll probably give you bits and pieces each chapter as the story goes on.
James won't be a main character for a while but you'll definitely see glimpses of him that I think you like :)
Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jessie :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by hogwartschick22 Day 2

1st June 2012:
Please update soon! This is so funny and really good at the same time and I can't wait to see more James!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you like it! I'm going to start the next chapter soon so that I can update sometime within the next few weeks.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by explosion Day 2

25th May 2012:

So I finally (finally!) got the chance to read this chapter and as usual you did not disappoint. I love Millie so much, her obliviousness to being a hipster and her mess of a life is so entertainingly cute to read.

I also love Berkley. I want to capture him and lock him in my basement so that he can be my best friend instead of Millie's and then I want to marry him because he seems like he'd be a great hubby too.

And have I mentioned how hilarious the Clearwater/Walker dynamic is? Love love love the hatred so much. And the James action was fabulous, even though it was short.


Author's Response: HEY REBECCA!

I'm SO glad that you liked this chapter! And don't worry about being behind, lately I've been so behind on answering my reviews and I'm finally gettign around to them.
I'm glad that you like Millie; she's kind of fascinating to me - and so is her friendship with Berkley. And speaking of Berkley, you may have him to wed; let's just hope that Freddy doesn't find out because I'm sure he'll be disappointed ;)
So, yeah, I'm really glad that you liked everything! We'll be seeing more of the Clearwater/Walker showdown and James's appearences will remain short for a bit longer.
Thanks for reading and reviewing, dear!!!

~Jess :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by NeverGotHerLetter Day 2

24th May 2012:
Ahh! Totally loving this!
I like Millie.. annoying as she is, she's punky and I like that. I'm actually a hipster (apparently) irl and yeah she's a poser but I don't know.. for some reason I've taken a shine to her. And I adore that she's a kleptomaniac. LOVE THAT. Keep that going in the story.
I love Wren. He's the absolute bomb. Seriously dude like I massively love his character. Which brings me on to Sherri, who I think is a massive suck up. I don't like her but I love that you haven't made her and Wren get together. PLEASE don't do that. The originality is fab and don't get rid of it by doing that Ah.
And I like James, obviously, because he's James. I think that rather than making him a main character, continue to have him in little tidbits of flirting whenever you feel like it. Think of it like making him an Ernie-MacMillan type character. And the break up is intriguing! Pretty cliche but all fanfics need a little bit of that to make it tick ^^
I have absolutely no idea what the trend's going to be. Pumpkins for earrings? Riding a hippogriff round school? Tending the forbidden forest in her spare time?
Yeah from that it's pretty clear that I've got no clue.
But yeah, update when you can! (I haven't updated for six months aaahh)
Love, Chloe xxx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm uber jealous of your hipster; I've always wanted to be one! But, yeah, Millie's a total poser, but I'm glad that you like her regardless! Ever since I started writing this, I've been worried about what the actual hipsters would think of it. And don't worry, Millie will always be a kleptomaniac - how else will she get her hipster gear? :)
I love Berkley too! He's such a jerk but I can't help but lovve him! I've been getting mixed reactions from Sherri, it's very interesting to me. I mean, part of me wishes that you'd all love her as much as I do, but people are bound to pick a side in the Berkley/Sherri Confict. And afteer reading all of your reasonings, I can see why she's a bit unlikable; she is a bit of a suck up, isn't she? But she means well. And don't worry, Berkley and Sherri will NEVER EVER get together! I swear! Their tension isn't sexual at all! They really hate each other.
I'm glad that you like James! I'm still fleshing out his character in my mind; he might cause me a bit of trouble because I want to make him different from the James in my other story and since he's not going to be a big character for a while, it might make it hard to understand him. I like the Ernie comparison! But yeah, he's not gonna be a main character for a looong time :)
You'll find more about the break-up in future chapters; I'm trying to be mysterious about it ;)
And I like your theories about the trend! We'll know for sure what it is in the next chapter.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #42, by AccioSonicScrewdriver Day 2

19th May 2012:
I actually love this story for many reasons.
It's very original and refreshing, not to mention hilarious. I love Millie and especially Berkley, and Sherri seems pretty awesome.
Ferris Nott is definitely a horrid name for sure and I want to know what he did to Millie!
I'm not too sure about James yet; he seems good-natured and all but I'll have to wait until he's been fully introduced into the story to form an opinion on him.
A truly amazing story, keep up the great work!
p.s. - update soon, I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you like it! This story is very different from what I'm used to but I'm having a lot of fun with it. And it's probably because of the characters; I really enjoy writing their snarky banter.
When it comes to Ferris, I'm going to be a jerk and leave only snippets of information about the break-up. But you'll find out everything in good time!
And it's always good to be wary when it comes to James, I think. This particular version of the oldest Potter boy isn't exactly Prince Charming, but like you said, he's good-natured. He's not going to be a main character for a while so you'll only get glimpses of him in upcoming chapters.
Thanks for reading and reviewing; I'll try to update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #43, by FOREVERwithYOU Day 2

18th May 2012:
Its so obvious shes an amateur at being hipster... Rule one about being hipster: never admit youre being hipster! Otherwise I really love it! You're doing an amazing job, love!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, she's a total poser, but she's supposed to be, haha.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #44, by james girl Day 2

13th May 2012:
please update soon! i honestly thought it was gonna be like umbridge all over again... thank you for proving me wrong.

Author's Response: I thought about making a reference to the Umbridge thing but decided against it. Professor Clearwater is mean, but not /that/ mean, haha.
I'll try to update soon! Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #45, by littlemisssnape Day 2

13th May 2012:
Loved it! Please update soon (:

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'll try :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by Lillylover22 Day 2

13th May 2012:
This was great. I love that you're only giving us little bits of information about what happened. I also love how hipster she is. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you like it rather than think it's annoying or confusing. It's nice to know that I'm not failing at being mysterious, haha.
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by hetty Day 2

12th May 2012:
Sherri and Berkley are an absolute hoot - I just adore their dislike for each other and how Sherri supports Millie in becoming a hipster. I'm quite glad James isn't her ex like I was expecting it to be and I'm looking forward to seeing more of him because so far I really like him :) And I wonder what Millie's trend is going to she going to dye her hair orange? or dress like a pumpkin?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked it! Sherri and Berkley's spats are pretty fun to write; I figured that Berkley's very teritorial when it comes to Millie so he wouldn't like someone like Sherri very much. And you know, a lot of people assumed that James was the ex which surprised me; I guess it just didn't cross my mind that people would think that. But I had a good laugh about it and now you know! I'm excited to write more of him :)
Those are very good/interesting theories! You'll see in the next chapter :D
Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

 Report Review

Review #48, by blackangelwings Day 2

12th May 2012:
I like how James isn't her ex, mucho goodio. Oh, I really liked James! And I love Sherri! She's really funny and she said my favourite line: Well, theres always your hand to keep you company, HAHA. LOL.

Anyways! Great chapter, looking forward to her next idea! Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's funny because when I first posted this story, it didn't even cross my mind that people would assume that James was the ex! Needless to say, I had quite the good laugh while reading reviews, haha.
I like James too! And Sherri; she's fun to write - that line you quoted especially.
Thanks for reading and reviewing; I'll try to update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #49, by littlemisssnape Day 1

19th April 2012:
oh, I am so happy you started writting a new story and cannot wait to se where this one is headed! can't wait for the next chappie (:

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter is up :D

 Report Review

Review #50, by Serendipity1234 Day 1

14th April 2012:
Hahaha I love that you purposely named her Skye Walker -so clever. :)
I like it a lot so far! It's interesting and kind of funny.
I have mixed feelings over the whole hipster idea. I mean I think it's stupid in a way, but also kind of cool in a way. I mean purposely doing things that are nonconformist is sort of a type of conformity. They may like some mainstream stuff but avoid it because it's mainstream. And why is it mainstream? Because a lot of people happen to like it.
Ok I feel like I'm about to really get into a rant here, so I better stop :)
But I like some hipster stuff that's unique and cool -like some of the fashion. And I like that people want to be different, even if it's partly just for the sake of being different.
I like your idea for the story though and how you're mixing these contemporary trends into everything. Especially how you're going to make her do 'hipster' stuff that isn't really hipster -that's hillarious.
I like Millie so far and Wren, even though he seems like kind of a tool. I'm sure he has a an awesome side -I think I could see hints of it in this chapter. Like he may not be sympathetic, but he's loyal and he can make her laugh and cheer her up. That's sweet :)
I'm really looking forward to the rest -especially finding out what exactly happened with the him and the her. And what will happen with James :)
Update soon!! And Wonderland! I love Wonderland.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it! I was very proud of myself when I came up with her name; I'm glad that you appreciated it, haha.
I'm a total wannabe hipster, but I totally get what you're saying. But it's kind of alluring, isn't it? At least it is to me. I just, I dunno, I find it so fascinating. I kind of consider myself a nonconformist but the hipster movement is something that I really want to be apart of. Wish me luck!
I have a lot in store for hipster things that Millie's gonna do; I'm very excited for you all to read them!
Wren is totally a tool, but he definitely has an awesome side. You really hit it on the nail (is that the saying? It's past midnight and I'm too tired to remember) about his personality: he's very unsympathetic but he is loyal. He's very flawed but an overall good guy.
I'm really glad that you like it so far; the next chapter is out! I'll try to update Wonderland soon :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>