Reading Reviews for The Unavoidable
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #26, by x0xShattered_Dreamsx0x The Letter

23rd April 2012:
I think this chapter was my favorite of it. Over-reaction they name is Vernon Dursley but it was so perfectly canonical for him to react that way, J.K. Rowling couldn't have done it better herself. I'm so glad that Dudley and Katrina are excepting Gregory for who he is and can't wait to see what happens next!

~SD~

Author's Response: What! Haha I'm sat here grinning like a Cheshire cat. Thank you so much! You couldn't have given me a greater compliment.

Thank you very much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by x0xShattered_Dreamsx0x Hide-and-Seek

23rd April 2012:
This was so funny, I couldn't help but giggle while reading it! The dialogue is great and perfectly age appropriate! Gregory is the spitting image of Dudley at that age and I do believe Katrina is rather like a young Petunia! Over all, another great chapter and i can't wait to see where you take this!

~SD~

Author's Response: Haha yay! Glad I could make you laugh :)

Yep, Greg is very similar to Dudley, and Katrina to Petunia. I hope they aren't carbon copies, though... I've tried to make them at least a little different.

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by x0xShattered_Dreamsx0x The Phone Call

23rd April 2012:
Hello there!
Awesome first chapter and I say that because stories about Dudley and his family are so rare around here that I would have love this even if it were only a drabble. There wasn't much characterization to go on about but I believe you opened up the story perfectly - straight forward and to the point. Can't wait to see where you take this! ^_^

~SD~

Author's Response: Hi! Haha, when I first started writing it I honestly hadn't seen a fic based on Dudley's family at all :') I've spotted a couple more since, though. He needs more loving :P

I'm glad you like it. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by magicmuggle01 The Bait

23rd April 2012:
Hi once again.

What a rotten trick Vernon played on Greg. I thought something like this was about to happen when Vernon suddenly arrived on the scene (on September the 1st no less). I hope Vernon gets whats coming to him in future chapters.
Another wonderful chapter and I loved the bit where Greg had locked the door, I just had to smile at that.
Since this chapter was so good, I'll forego pelting you with tomatoes and pelt you with flowers instead.
10/10 and please update soon.

Author's Response: Ugh, Vernon is horrid. I'll see what I can do about him getting his comeuppance ;)

Aw, well thank you very much. Flowers are much more pleasant than tomatoes, after all :D

I will try my best to update soon :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by magicmuggle01 The Outing

23rd April 2012:
Hi again
Reading about Gregs nativity with the magical world kind of reminds me about Harry's first foray into the same world. I wish I could have seen his face when he was puzzled about some of the things that Rose was on about.
Once again you've produced a lovely chapter that flowed just as well as all your other chapters.
I wish you had gone into more detail about what the wands did before he found the one that chose him. I like reading about that sort of thing.
I can't wait to see what the sorting hat does and which house Greg is sorted into.
10/10 and moving on.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad it reminded you of Harry's first time :) haha... anyway, thank you so much for the compliment on my writing! :)

Ooh that would've been an interesting bit to add, I never thought of that. Maybe I'll go back one day and add it in?

I'm excited for his sorting too ;D

Thank you very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Half Raven Prince The Outing

28th February 2012:
great story hope to see more soon

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope to write the next chapter very soon... so sorry for the long wait yet again. :/

 Report Review

Review #32, by Redvines714 The Outing

6th January 2012:
Ahhg theres something about this story that I really like!! I'm so glad you updated it!!

Author's Response: Aw really? That makes me happy :D Thank you for the review! I'm gonna try and update in less than 2 months this time...

 Report Review

Review #33, by Owl The Outing

23rd December 2011:
Okay, I just HAD to review since there was a DW reference. :D:D

I really love this story- it's definitely one of my favourite Dudley Dursley ones! It was really funny when Rose and Greg were talking in Madame Malkin's, and Rose kept on using words that didn't make any sense just so that she'd sound superior or something. :P (Am I right about that, by the way? ;o)

I also loved it when Greg persuaded his mom into letting him go to Honeydukes to get sweets, and then Lily joined in and persuaded Harry. x)

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yay for Doctor Who! :D
Aw thank you. Yeah, you're right about Rose. :)

Thank you for the review! Next chapter will be up soon I hope, this story is nearly at its end. :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by Nikki The Outing

21st December 2011:
Awesome! I wish there was more of the story. IT WAS SO VERY AWESOME. Best thing I ever read LITERALLY

Author's Response: Haha, erm thanks I think! I'm glad you like it ;)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Redvines714 The Letter

5th November 2011:
This is a brilliant idea for a fanfic!!! I've always wondered if Dudley's kid would have a chance to be a wizard! And completly at random.. how do you make the little greyish white lines in the middle of your story or before an authors note... i couldn't figure that out when i wrote my story

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

You press the 'insert horizontal line' button (next to insert image) wherever you want it.

Or if you use the simple editor just type < hr /> (without the first space) :-)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Sackvase The Letter

29th October 2011:
I think this was a MUCH better chapter. A lot more believable. I love the characterisations and the fact that Dudley and Petunia have finally accepted magic.or...well...sort of.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you think so. They're definitely getting there, aren't they? Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Lumosflies The Letter

22nd October 2011:
Another awesome chapter!!! My fave character is def James, he's so funny.

Author's Response: Haha I love James too :) I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Half Raven Prince The Letter

18th October 2011:
great story when can we expect more?

Author's Response: Hopefully in the next few weeks or so. Thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by phoenix9279 The Letter

13th October 2011:
great story so far. cant wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Ursulabear The Letter

13th October 2011:
I am missing Katrina's parents from the birthday celebration. They are (or at least one of them is) part of the wizarding community. Besides Greg is too much his father's copy (weight problem, counting the number of presents), though Katrina definitely differs from Petunia, and Dudley has distanced himself from his childhood self somewhat. A slightly different Greg would be more 3D.

Author's Response: Katrina's parents are going to visit their grandson later on in the day. Vernon and Petunia like to avoid them at all costs as they think they are too abnormal to associate with.

I'll try to make Greg a bit more different from Dudley. I just thought that he would be very similar to his father since they've both been so spoilt. Also, Vernon has a weight problem as well, so maybe it runs in the family ;)

Thanks for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by magicmuggle01 The Letter

12th October 2011:
I think that Greg will have alot of his sillyness knocked out of him at Hogwarts. Another great chapter and 10/10. Plz update soon, if not sooner.

By the way, I think Voldemorts mother was a witch not a squib. She was to scared of her father to use her magic.

Author's Response: You're right, she was a witch. I looked it up and her father called her a 'discusting little Squib' because she didn't show her magical ability when she was young... I think it's time for me to reread HBP! :p

As much as I hate little mistakes like that, I think I'll just leave it in for now, otherwise it won't really make much sense what James says.

Thank you for continuing to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #42, by NextGenna14 The Letter

11th October 2011:
I love this story alot! I also love the banner! :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you :) I know, the banner is amazing. gleek77997 is so talented!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Lana The Letter

11th October 2011:
Cute little story you have here so far... i believe that you got the spirit of the Dursleys better than most of the Dursley related fics I've read... keep it up! Not sure if I like Greg though, he seems a little spoiled if not a lot... then again we shall see... post more soon!
Lana

Author's Response: Greg is an extremely spoiled little boy :/ Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Half Raven Prince Hide-and-Seek

5th October 2011:
Great story I just wish you would write another chapter

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter is waiting to be validated and should be up in a few days :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by magicmuggle01 Hide-and-Seek

26th September 2011:
I think Harry is right. And poor Dudley is just going to have to face up to the fact that there is another wizard in his family. 10/10 and plz update soon.

Author's Response: I've only written a teeny amount of the next chapter (like, 100 words) but I'll try to get it done verrry soon. Thanks for the review :-)!

 Report Review

Review #46, by magicmuggle01 The Phone Call

26th September 2011:
A nice start to this story. It will be interesting to see what happens where Dudders son magic abilities are concerned. 10/10 and to move on.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by Sackvase Hide-and-Seek

6th September 2011:
Eeep! You updated! It wasn't much of a bombshell though, because 1. You hinted it in Chapter 1 and 2. In the chapter description, well.you reveal it there. But I like the direction this story is going to go in.

Author's Response: hehe!
hmm. I really should have thought that through... although the story summary gives it away anyway I guess :p Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #48, by Zora Weasley Hide-and-Seek

3rd September 2011:
I really like your story so far. The way you made the sibblings befave was really fun too read.
I love stories in which Duddlys child is a wizard or a witch and I really like how you made his kid so much like he was when he was younger. I feel a bit sorry for him when he comes to hogwarts, where he wont be in the centre of atention and only the cousin of the great potters. but I guess that will do no harm to his character ;)
I really want to continue reading, as you may have guessed from my thoughts about how it will contiue, and I really hope you write more of the story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I will definitely continue, I'm glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Noblevyne Hide-and-Seek

2nd September 2011:
THIS is the chapter that caught my attention while validating. The characterisation is spot on, and I truly think that getting Harry right is the hardest thing to do in HP fanfic. Getting his voice, and his reactions down is a very difficult thing and I think you've done an extraordinary job.

The kids are all great too - I love their sibling chemistry, the realistic banter and the whining they do to one another and their parents, the cheek they have and this obvious, unspoken familial bond.

Greg is well done as well, just because Dudley came around in the end, parents are often doomed to repeat the sins of their parents and while Gregory doesn't appear as malicious as his father was, he's just as spoiled obviously. And Dudley's obviously gone after someone very like his own mother.

I am quite curious as to how Dudley and Katrina met, seems a very interesting little backstory there.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoy writing Harry, he seems to say what he wants.

Haha I love writing the kids too, I kinda base them off my own siblings ;)

I tried to make it obvious that Katrina was just like Petunia.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Noblevyne The Phone Call

2nd September 2011:
I think this is a great start and a very original idea. No one seems to give much thought to the Dursleys in any sort of fic and I find myself enjoying the thought of seeing them and how Harry interacts!

I do love that Ginny is the one who is convincing Harry that he ought to remember his family, especially at Christmas. Their interaction throughout this whole story is great, actually - very true to the books and with that great balance that they seemed to have, with her not being afraid to tell him when she thinks he's being a sod and him knowing what's good for him and not putting up too much of a fight.

I love the idea that Dudders might produce a magical child. After all, I think JKR has said that even Muggleborns usually have a magical relative along their family tree, so perhaps while it skipped Petunia and Dudley, with Katrina's added genetics they could have thrown a magical child.

Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think the Dursleys deserve more attention in fanfics. I'm so glad the interaction is okay and true to the books. Thank you for taking the time to review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>