Reading Reviews for Worth the Risk
  
70 Reviews Found

Review #51, by AC_rules Babysitting Hugo

22nd October 2011:
Ooh, this is good :)

Gah, I'm so lucky that you all keep giving me really good stories to review - it makes it all so much easier. I don't know what I'm going to do if someone gives me something really terrible.

Characterisation: Well, already I love Lysander. Such a cutie, really, being all late for work and forgetting his wand. I can definately emphasis with thoes kind of mishaps and it means that he's very easy to like. I loved how awkward it was when Hugo was like 'like what you see?' with Harry and Ron casually chilling in the background. That really made me smile.

Hugo, too, seems completely believable. I don't think he's like what I'd expect but I like him. With his necklace and his abs - who doesn't like abs?

Harrys just lovely. I can never write Harry write but you seem to have got him perfectly, which is just crazy-good-skills.

It flowed really well, too - not a single awkward sentence I don't think and I'm already very intrigued as to the plot. You've got another mystery set up (you're really very good at making things mysterious) and our potential relationship set up. Now, I'm no slash-expert... but, yup, definately rooting for them.

I know you said not grammar but if I'm honest I didn't notice any grammar stuff anyway. The writing was so well done I just didn't notice, I think.

Lovely first chapter - gripping and wonderful.

Thanks for trusting me with your baby and its been a pleasure to review :)

I may copy and paste the next few chapters and work on reviews for them whilst I'm holiday, got to have something to do. If I don't do that - definately re-request! (and congrats on nearly finishing!)

-AC

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you!

I love Lysander. He's my favorite. Really, he's my boy. :)

Yeah, my Hugo is different from other people's Hugo. He has his reasons for changing... Not just because I liked it. ;)

Mystery is my genre, my type of story. Yeah, I can write other types pretty well, but me and mystery, which goes very well with my love for horror/dark, are, like, best friends. :D

And, yes, they the best couple ever! Everyone should love Hugo/Lysander.

Thank you! I love my baby! Which is now all grown up and complete. I need a new baby - Amidst the Ashes. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #52, by JMC11 Game Over

18th October 2011:
This story is so amazing, I really hope it's updated soon, you're an amazing writer and I can't wait to see if/how Hugo saves Lysander.

Author's Response: Thank you! The next chapter is in the queue. It should be up any day now. :)

 Report Review

Review #53, by ravenclaw_princess Don't Tell Harry

16th October 2011:
Wonderful job once again. There as so much of Hugo in this chapter. He has a very dark secret and I really want to know what it is. For all the confidence he projects, you can tell that he is also very aware of the danger. He came across as quite scared and he really didn't want to put Hugo in danger, a sign of just how deep his feelings for him ran.

I like how Hugo is so much more experienced than Xander. You showed this very well in their scene in the pool. It also mimics their personalities nicely.

The section break where you went from Xander going to bed to one month later was a little unclear at first. This is because the one month later section started with Xander waking up which seems like a natural progression from the end of the first section. The time difference between the two sections needs to be established in the first paragraph. Other than this though, the story is flowing nicely.

The romance is really good and believable. They are both a little unsure but yet hopelessly attracted to each other. Xander's hesitancy was classically shown when he couldn't seal the kiss. I like Hugo's flirtatious comments too. Poor Lysander must be so embarrassed.

You've made a great start to this story and I commend you for taking on such a difficult pairing. But you have done it well and believably. You have a great use of words and description and grammar is really good. The dialogue sounds very natural as well. I've favourited this story as I want to know what happens. Well done.

Author's Response: You find out his secret soon enough. :)

Yeah, I need to find a way to fix that. But, like in the first chapter, I couldn't seem to place it without just forcing it in that it was a month later. It's kind of hard because it's a short story, it's like three months in nine chapters.

Lysander's always embarrassed. I like his as a character who's not cocky or flirty like Hugo. They seem like opposites, but they totally suit each other! :D

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #54, by ravenclaw_princess The Safe House

16th October 2011:
Nice job once again. I'm quite hooked and I find both Hugo and Lysander quite engaging.

There's so much to Hugo and I think we are only just seeing the surface. He seemed like he was in his early twenties in the first chapter so I was surprised to see he's 29. He seems quite confident an self assured, likes to tease, but also has a very caring nature. It's an interesting combination. I think there is a spark, otherwise he's just being a complete tease to Lysander.

Lysander showed a little more maturity in this chapter, at least he didn't come across quite so awkward and nervous. He is taking the task seriously, although he does still seem a little unsure of himself.

I loved how you integrated the personalities of the parents into this story. They were spot on too. Hugo's history is also quite interesting. It will be nice to see his character develop with this in mind.

The house sounds amazing too. I wouldn't complain about having to stay there for a while. All in all, it's another great chapter. Grammar and spelling were pretty good, only a minor typo error that can easily be fixed. The chapter is flowing well and the pace is quite nice. The plot is progressing at a nice speed and the upfront nature of Hugo has quickly established the developing romance. Nice work

Author's Response: Thank you! I love Hugo and Lysander. They are now known as 'my boys'. :D

Yeah, he's 29. JKR said their was a significant age difference between the twins and the rest of the kids; 29 was not too young but not to old. :)

Lysander does seem to mature more in this story, at least I hope so.

You can't leave their parents out. LOL. They play a big part in Hugo's past, why he needs protecting.

I would love to stay there!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #55, by ravenclaw_princess Babysitting Hugo

14th October 2011:
Hello...ravenclaw_princess finally here for you're requested review. I apologise for the long wait.life got busy...but any way...

I thought this was a very nice first chapter. You set the scene very well and launched straight into the main plot. You also showed a lot of Lysander's personality and have alluded to Hugo's. There is also mystery that makes me want to keep reading, ie, why does Hugo need protecting, what did her see?

It seems like Lysander has something going on in his life to make him late and forgetful. His mind is obviously occupied, but exactly what is causing the change in behaviour from his training days until now is a mystery. I wonder if it's related to who he's attracted too...I guess I'll find out. It's great that Harry is so supportive of him. He came across a little stressed out and also aware that he was disappointing a lot of people, and himself, but for some reason he just wasn't able to pull himself together. You could see he was trying though.

Luna was so sweet. It must have been highly embarrassing for Lysander though to have his mummy call in to bring him the things he'd forgotten when he's trying to become an auror. He would be teased so much if anyone saw that.

I couldn't quite get into Luna at first. Her speech seemed a little too formal and thought out at times. However, the part when she mentions the wispies is just so completely Luna.

you've done a good job of Harry. You've captured his fatherly nature well and I could just imagine him looking out for Lysander like he does. I like the little aside about Draco and Harry's friendship. While it wasn't dwelt on, it was nicely included and gave a little of the history of Harry since the war.

The story was written quite well and I was completely hooked by it. Spelling and grammar were pretty good and I think I only spotted one typo. You've got a good grasp of vocabulary which kept the writing sounding fresh as your used different descriptors. There was quite a lot of description throughout the story too which created a nice atmosphere.

My two points of note are
1) It seemed like it was still morning, or maybe afternoon when Hugo arrived, but then they arrive and go straight to bed. I felt there needed to be a sentence in here somewhere that gave and indication of the time of day, ie Lysander working late waiting for Hugo etc
2) It's quite clear that Hugo is making Lysander blush, but we don't know what Lysander thinks about his reaction. Is he confused about it or does he know that he is attracted to guys. A little internal monologue for Lysander would be good to show if his is confused by his reaction or fully aware of how Hugo makes him feel.

Awesome job though, I'll be back as soon as I can to review the next two chapters. You've definitely made a nice start.

Author's Response: Hey! Ashamed to say I forgot I requested a review, so it was a pleasant surprise seeing this. :)

Lysander, in the beginning, is one of those people who will work so hard to prove he's good at something. But he tried to hard and after training it all caught up with him. There's nothing going on in his life but work and he's just so tired! This assignment will do him good. :)

I can't write Luna. No matter how hard I try. But I will keep trying!

Harry I can write... Sometimes! LOL.

Thank you! Characters, grammar, vocab, I can do. Description: I seem to be terrible at it. But I tried so much harder with this story, it's nice to hear I can do description! Yay!

Yeah, it's late in that part. I didn't know how to add it in that it was late without just putting it in.
Lysander knows he's gay, he tells Hugo in chapter two (which I think you've read). He blushes because he's liked Hugo for a while.

Thank you SO for the review!


 Report Review

Review #56, by Sweets-Caandy Game Over

23rd September 2011:
NO!
That is so cruel let it end like this!
And the whole time as they were in the bar I thought something is going to happen an then in the last two sentences it's happening.
I hope that he goes to Harry first and tells him everything, but I have a feeling that he goes alsone to rescue Ly...
I just hope that nobody is going to die!
Please, you can't do that ?!
Hoping for an update soon!

Author's Response: Hey!
Sorry! :( It had to be done.
You'll have to wait and see; chapter eight is almost done. :)
I'll update soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #57, by Sweets-Caandy Breaking the Rules

23rd September 2011:
Hei, I just saw that I didn't review this one even though I read it a few days ago...sorry!
Well this review is going to be short, because I want to read the new chap, but I really liked it! And that Hugo could persuade Ly...I wouldn't have thought that! I mean it is really dangerous.

Author's Response: Hi!
Oh, Hugo can be very persuasive. ;)


 Report Review

Review #58, by mirrorofdesire Game Over

21st September 2011:
Hey!
I must confess, I have been reading your stories for a while nowand you are truly a great writer. I was just to lazy to review :( But from now on, I will :)
You are an excellent writer. You have a wide vocabulary (I'll just put it like that?) and you write beautifully. The chapters fit eachother perfectly. I usually don't like these next-generation stories that much, but this one I do like.
It would make me unbelievably happy if you could take a peek at my one-shot I have up. It's about Draco in his sixth year and his thoughts during the 'bathroom scene.' I do hope you find time to read and review. I tried very, very hard on it.
I love this story and can't find anything to criticize. Worthy of a 10/10.
Again, would make my day if you could check out my page.
~mirrorofdesire

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much! 'Wide vocab' is as good as anything. :P

I'm still relatively new to Next-Gen so your compliments are just making my day!

Considering you don't normally like them, that you would read mine is... Thank you!

Subtle hinting...I love it! LOL. I would never know if you didn't ask. Heading to your page now! :D

Thank you again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #59, by SeverusSnape15 Breaking the Rules

18th September 2011:
xD Hahaha. Funny chapter. I love how Ly can't resist Hugo. I'm kind of nervous to see what happens when they go out, though. I mean, they could hurt him, especially where magic is allowed outside of the house. It's dangerous. D: No hurting Hugo.

Author's Response: Who can resist Hugo? NO ONE can resist Hugo. Especially not my Hugo. ;D

You'll have to wait and see; the next chapter is up. We're finally at what I've planned from the very beginning. :)


 Report Review

Review #60, by SeverusSnape15 The Truth Comes Out

17th September 2011:
Oh gosh, I cried when Lysander told Hugo goodbye. I thought he was really going to leave. Aww, Hugo told him he loves him. That's so sweet...I really can't wait til the next chapter, because I'm anxious to see what happens. You have a few mistakes here and there, but it's okay, because it's a good story, and I think this is my favorite chapter so far.

Author's Response: Ah, you cried? I cried the first time I wrote it, then it got deleted and I had to re-write it. It just wasn't the same. :(

I will fix the mistakes. I plan on going back and editing everything. Won't take too long; it'll be about nine chapters in all.

It's so nice to hear this is your favourite chapter so far. My favourite was the first draft... This one? I, well, I hate it. No, I don't, but it's not the same.

Thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #61, by Sweets-Caandy The Truth Comes Out

11th September 2011:
Wow...at the end tears welled up in my eyes! this is so sweet and sad at the same time!
I mean, they are together for two months now, and then comes Harry and finds it out.
Later the are just like some lovestruck teenagers and the other second Hugo is one of the bad guys and Ly goes away, and in the end Lysander comes back again, but both of them now know, that this is going to be really complicated!
And one of them will have to tell Harry, that Hugo is one of them, they are looking for...
This is SO sad, but I still love it!
I hope there will be another chapter soon, this one was great!
-Hanna

Ps.: And I just can't believe that you only get so few reviews, the story is amazing!

Author's Response: Wow.
Yes, it's so sad and complicated.
The next chapter will be in the queue in the next couple of days.

Though I, like many authors, wish others would let me know what they think of this story, and others, I'm very grateful for the reviews I do get. :)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #62, by SeverusSnape15 Revelations and Suspicions.

4th September 2011:
Aww, this chapter is sweet. I personally like how Ly is getting suspicious of Hugo...maybe he's up to something that none of us know. They're cute together, and don't change anything =D 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! Maybe Hugo is up to something, maybe not... I can't say. But Ly should be suspicious. ;)

I'm really glad you like this. :D


 Report Review

Review #63, by Sweets-Caandy Revelations and Suspicions.

3rd September 2011:
Hei!
Whey another chapter!
The chap is really nice and it's sweet that Hugo said that they are a couple !
Aww, but it's really sad in some parts.
Why does Hugo shiver so often? And what did he do outside?
I just hope that he won't break Xander's heart in the end ...

Author's Response: Hey!
Yay for another chapter. And chapter five should be up soon. Fingers crossed.
Everything will be revealed in the next chapter, I promise. As for outside, Hugo did tell the truth to Lysander about why he was outside.
Breaking Xander's heart? You'll have to wait and see...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #64, by SeverusSnape15 Don't Tell Harry

29th August 2011:
Wow...All I have to say is you're a wonderful writer and I'm glad you entered my challenge. I see a few mistakes here and there, one paragraph you had both speaking, but that can be changed, no big deal.

What I love is how you show Hugo's more experienced in things than Xander is. I mean, you wouldn't know(well, unless by age) unless you made it obvious as such.

I really hope that you upload a new one soon, because I'm dying to see what happens next. :) They're such a cute couple. 10/10.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you, that's an amazing compliment. I'm so glad I entered your challenge too. Yeah, I'll edit the mistakes, though I didn't see them both speaking in one paragraph. Maybe I just didn't make it clear that it was the same person. :)

Chapter four is in the queue right now, so you will find out what happens next very soon. I love Hugo and Xander; they're now one of my favourite couples (joint with James (II) and Oliver - from my other story, You're Not Going to Believe This).

I'm so happy you like this. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #65, by Sweets-Caandy Don't Tell Harry

29th August 2011:
Hei!
Wow I didn't expect another chapter so soon! But I like it very much and I am glad that you updates so fast and that you apparently got hold of the laptop ;)
The chapter is really nice and sweet! I liked the kissing scenes, and the pool scene was nice too!
But I am wondering what Hugo did, wherefore it is dangerous for Lysander to be with him...
This was the sad part in the chapter, the scenes, in which Hugo ignores him...but the end was sweet again!
I am hoping for another update, soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm on the laptop now. Also, I figured out how to update stories on my iPod. So, everything's good!
Thank you. This was one of my favorite chapters to write.
You'll find out what Hugo has done soon, as this is a short story, it won't last long.
Chapter four is in the queue now. :)


 Report Review

Review #66, by NextGenna14 Don't Tell Harry

27th August 2011:
This story is awesome! :) 10/10

Author's Response: thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #67, by SeverusSnape15 The Safe House

23rd August 2011:
Hey there, hope you're having a good summer. This fanfic just makes me smile. I wish Hugo and Lysander had kissed, it'd be so cute. You can tell there's another side to Hugo that you didn't see in the first chapter. He can be a softy. I didn't know he was TWENTY NINE, lol. I like his character.

Lysander is interesting as well. I've never actually read a fanfic with him in it, so it's interesting to see your point of view with him, then see someone else's later. He's obviously crushing on Hugo.

All in all, I love it. I can't wait to read even more!

Author's Response: Hey, my summer is boring but fine. :)

There is definitely more to Hugo than meets the eye. That's all I'm saying. ;)

Yes, twenty nine. The twins are significantly younger than the other Next-Gen kids, according to JKR. Hugo been twenty nine and Lysander being twenty two seemed reasonably acceptable, according to me and everyone who helped me at the forums. LOL.

I've never read one with the twins in before, so writing this is so much fun. Obviously. ;)

Thank you! Glad you like it. More shall be coming.


 Report Review

Review #68, by Sweets-Caandy The Safe House

18th August 2011:
Wow, the House sounds great!
And the chapter IS great!
Well I just wonder, why Lysander didn't close his door...I mean he was embarassed only because Hugo caught him looking at him...but well then the conversation would have been different! I like it the way it is :)
And I really hope that you can use the laptop, otherwise I'll have to wait for over 3 weeks for the next chapter...
Well, anyway: have fun, enjoy the summer !

Author's Response: Thanks. I would love to live there. :)
Lysander just forgets; he's not used to living with another person, he hasn't in over three years.
I hope I can use the laptop too. I guess we'll see how it goes.
Thanks, you too. :)


 Report Review

Review #69, by Sweets-Caandy Babysitting Hugo

16th August 2011:
Hei!
Nice new story!
I hope you will update soon, since you said this was your favourite story you have written ...
I really like the beginning, it seems like Hugo wants to tease Lysander ;)
Well I wonder how it will go on !

Author's Response: Hey.
Thank you. This is my favourte story to write, I have seven chapters written so far. As it's a short story, it's nearly finished.
I'm glad you like it. :)


 Report Review

Review #70, by SeverusSnape15 Babysitting Hugo

11th August 2011:
Magnificent! That's all I can say! I can't wait to read more, honestly, I was into the story, not only because you make Hugo so different than I do, but because he's so...hot! I usually make Hugo the submissive of the couples, but I like this difference in him. You can tell he's like Ron from the start, especially his muse. It's wonderful! I love this story. How can I give it less than a 10/10? You made this story perfect, including the Danger in it as well. It's obvious of the Danger, and the pairing. I love it... ;)

Author's Response: OMG! Wow. Thank you!

With Ron's wit and Hermione's brains, there's no way Hugo can be submissive. LOL. ;)

I've read stories were Hugo is more submissive, so I wanted him to be more confident in this story. It's so much fun to write a confident, cocky Hugo. :D

I'm so glad you like this already, it's my favourite to write. I wasn't so sure about the danger at first, though, so I'm happy it works.

Get ready for drama, mysteries, danger, romance and lies. It's gonna be fun! ;)

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>