Reading Reviews for Transcendence
  
120 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Scarhead Transcendence

1st March 2006:
What an incredible story! I loved reading this trip through Sirius' past. I have often wondered what happened to Sirius after his fall through the Veil. You have beautifully written a very plausible journey through his memories. I enjoyed having a grown up Sirius as a tour guide through this brilliant story. The parts that really got me thinking were the sections where Sirius realized what he did as a youth may not have be as amusing as he first thought. It really makes for a believable story because all of us look back onto our past and realize our mistakes. Absolutely stunning story, Dena!! ♥ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review :) You've really made me smile here :) I am glad that you enjoyed it so much, I to had fun going through all of Sirius little memories. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #27, by Emeria Springs Transcendence

27th February 2006:
That was great! I wanted to cry! Poor Sirius!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am glad that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Something Wicked Transcendence

15th February 2006:
Wow, this was fantastic. I completely forgot where I was there for a while as I read that...completely sucked me in, this one. It was beautifully written ...each memory was brief and simple, yet the emotional impact they had was huge. Sirius was perfectly in character and I love the way he was able to notice little things better with the benefit of hindsight...that makes it very realisitc. This is a beautiful piece.

Author's Response: Thanks so much :) I am really glad that you liked it, I have to admit I seriously enjoyed writing this one, especially those little memories, they were great fun some of them. Others were a little sadder but still I did enjoy writing them. I really appreciate you taking the time to review, thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by voldyshalldie Transcendence

7th February 2006:
was greatly written. it was so greatastic!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm pleased that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #30, by hawaiianchic16 Transcendence

28th January 2006:
that was a great fic.. i really loved it. and i swear, on my life, that it almost made me cry.. lol.. i know.. im a loser.. but hey! it was a really awesome recount of what his last moments cuoldve been like. great fan fic and make sure to pass on thanks to melihobbit for thinking up such a great challenge. it was truly amazing. keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking an interest and reading it, I am always pleased to hear I got a response through my writing, and I am very glad that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #31, by oboegrl2 Transcendence

23rd January 2006:
it's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you should write more

Author's Response: Thank you, I appreciate the positive comments :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by Fish and Bird Transcendence

20th January 2006:
This is an excellent read! I very much like the disjointed nature of this 'through the veil' story. It's only the third or forth that I've read in response to melihobbit's challenge, but it's the most original and, in my opinion, the best. I read it through three times and I think the jumping around of the memories nicely reflects the disorientation of dying. Thanks for a refreshingly different read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I am really glad that you enjoyed its fragment nature, I really enjoyed writing it, so I am always happy to see someone enjoyed reading it :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by LongbottomsLady Transcendence

9th January 2006:
Great job! *sniffs* Absolutely amazing! I can find nothing wrong with it; it is absolutely beautiful! *Huggles my Sirius* Great job! Sequel, please!

Author's Response: I am so glad that you liked it, thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by xobebeox Transcendence

8th January 2006:
I love this piece. It's heartbreaking, that's true, but the way you've sucked the reader in, I felt like I was floating from memory to memory, too. Your descriptions and imagery are outstanding and the way you characterized Sirius was wonderful. I think the part that stuck out to me in terms of how you wrote their characters was that part where Remus is berating Sirius over his prank with Snape. I don't know why, but that part especially was brought to life in terms of emotions. The part with Sirius interrupting Remus to tell him that he knew was just so Sirius; it was just a prime example of his character. You've just done an amazing job painting him and wafting through the scenes. I loved the fact that he had to re-live defining moments and often awful ones, as we all know that Sirius' life has never been easy. The ending was the really heartbreaking part: the reunition of two friends. You just write so amazingly that it tears inside you to see "Prongs...". I just loved this piece. You've managed to do something nearly impossible for most writers and that is to bring the reader to feel Sirius and to feel his emotions. Amazing, amazing job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Writing Sirius isnt easy for me, but I do so love to explore him, he's so interesting. I especially like him with Remus interacting in some way, and I have some chances here to do exactly that and I enjoyed doing it. I am really glad that you liked it too, and the werewaolf part was one of my faves too, I laughed when writing it. Thank you so much for all your feedback, its so positive and really brings a grin to my face.

 Report Review

Review #35, by xxnatalie Transcendence

2nd January 2006:
This was amazing! Sirius is my favorite, so of course it made me cry... Gosh, I miss him... Anyway, I love the way you wrote this; it was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am really pleased that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by raylees_12 Transcendence

28th December 2005:
OMG GOOD! Love this, like, so much!

Author's Response: Thank you for such an enthusiastic response.

 Report Review

Review #37, by hotty_POTTER22 Transcendence

28th December 2005:
GOOD. ITS VERY SAD. ALMOST MAKES YOU WANT TO CRY. GOOD JOB. :-) (-:

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm pleased that it moved you.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Tynumber5 Transcendence

4th December 2005:
That was good. I liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Rhea Transcendence

1st December 2005:
That was the most awesome story I have ever read! Really clever, instense and beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you, thats high praise indeed.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Happi_feet Transcendence

29th November 2005:
Intriguing.

Author's Response: Thanks

 Report Review

Review #41, by *_* Transcendence

28th November 2005:
WOW. That was truly amazing! U had me sucked in right from the start and almsot had me in tears at the end! U r a brilliant writer!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the terrific review :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Ellen Transcendence

19th November 2005:
I love it!!! Ireally got into it and i love how its worded and how good it flows. It makes me sad, but in a good way!!

Author's Response: Thank you for your positive words. I am so glad that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Charmed Ravenclaw Transcendence

18th November 2005:
I like the totle of this: Trandescence. I didn't even know that word existed before this! And the use of the word perdition. I reckon it is quite original of you to put so many flashbacks in this and even though you didn't make up the ending of "Prongs... it's good to see you again, old boy." was not yours, I loved it anyway!

Author's Response: The credit for the title and the last line are totally melihobbits, she was the person who issued the challenge. The title was the thing that got my creative juices going. Thank you for the review, your comments are most appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Always Dreaming Transcendence

20th October 2005:
OMG I LOOVED IT! I'm balling, you should be proud :]

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am glad to see that my writing produced such a response.

 Report Review

Review #45, by crystal allan Transcendence

18th October 2005:
I’ve already reviewed this, but I wanted to take the time to do it over again. Why? (No, I’m not mentally ill) Because you are always giving people such beautiful, inspiring reviews and I don’t think you receive nearly as much as you offer. You're always helping people, encouraging them, and I thought that maybe you'd like some of that as well. It's also because I’ve been practicing thorough reviewing and I was looking for someone to torture :)

I like that you wrote this piece in present tense. I don’t usually like that style but sometimes, when done properly, it can give a more realistic effect. I think you did well with drawing the readers in using that technique. It creates a different atmosphere, a captivating tone that makes everything seem as though it is being played out before me in my mind, like I’m there watching along with Sirius. It’s funny really – even in my own writing I often find present tense to be awkward or simply just off-putting, but here you made everything flow perfectly. There was nothing forced or hesitant about it.

Your descriptions are amazing. I don’t know how you do it but you manage to paint a perfect image in my mind – it’s like watching an artist draw, slowly bringing in each portion of the work. You have a way with words that is purely captivating. Each emotion and thought is portrayed in such a way that it’s almost tangible. And you have a way of writing that makes one feel actual empathy for the characters. I love when authors can write something that makes me feel raw emotion – it’s an amazing talent.

Now, I absolutely adore the way you incorporated all the memories into this piece, and, at the same time, showed it from an almost distant perspective toward the end of each section. Obviously that perspective is when we see that Sirius is watching or remembering each event.

“This is freedom, this is what it tastes like, and this is what it feels like.”

In that one sentence you gave more insight into Sirius’ character than some writers can in ten paragraphs. You captured something there – the essence of his wistful, yearning nature. Sirius has never been my favorite character. I love him but no one (even JKR) has been able to strike a chord through their writing. I don’t fully understand why but when I read that I couldn’t help but feel a horrible ache in my chest. There was something so tragically beautiful in the whole story and you managed to reflect it all, to convey everthing you had already shown, in this one line.

I also like the way you brought Sirius through the good and the bad – both aspects of his life that he really needed to see. There were the lighthearted moments and then there were the gut wrenching. And what I enjoyed most were the comments Sirius gave on each one – his contemplations there. Those little things are interwoven throughout this story and, even though they’re small, I think they add much depth.

I’ve seen a few stories that are similar to the general setting you have here but one thing that none of those other writers do is give the piece closure. The ending when Sirius is back at his death scene and he falls through the veil into the afterlife was beautiful, and it gave not only this story a sense of finality but I think it also gave Sirius’ character some closure.

“He hears their echoing tones, not with his ears but with his heart.”

I had to mention this – that line is quite possibly one of the best pieces I’ve read. There was a melancholy tone but also an underlining layer of happiness. It was full of power and was beyond touching. I can't help but wonder if perhaps Sirius had never had his epiphany (seeing each situation through a new light) if he would have found that afterlife, that garden in the sky. I know that probably sounds silly, but it's just one of the things that struck me while reading this.

Now, when I find the time I’m going to go through ‘Old Moon’ and review each chapter for you... and I’ll really try not to ramble too much :)

Author's Response: I want to thank you for such a truly wonderful review – it made my day when I saw it. And a week or more on, I come to look at it just so I can grin to myself. I’ve never felt so special :) I thank you for that. I do love reviewing, and I just haven’t been able to do as much as I would have liked lately.

I wish I could say there had been a reason for writing this in the present tense, but really, the only reason was that it felt right. I did start out by writing it third person but it didn’t feel, as it should.

The way characters feel is important to me, I feel the need to make or allow the reader to experience all the emotions the character/s are going through. In this case I needed people to see Sirius as I saw him, a prince of the light and dark, a youth trapped in a body that grew old, whilst perhaps the mind did not. I have always had the feeling that Sirius never stopped to look at consequences unless he had to… so I made him. And I wanted the reader to go on that Journey with him.

The memories were what I wrote first, each one pinpointing a point, an emotion, and re-evaluation. I also felt some parts of his life were well covered and some not so well covered, I wanted to cover both kinds.

There were three lines in this one shot that I cried over, you noticed two, and mentioned the third. It's extremely rewarding when someone gets it. The freedom line was essential to him for me, it did sum up Sirius. I like to say things simply, but I like to give punch without forcing it. I am so glad you liked that line.

I took the line Melihobbit outlined the; “Prongs, it good to see you again old boy” as the end, Sirius was wherever James and Lily were. I am not a religious girl really, but I wanted to believe there was a forest for them, to be together in again, and what would heaven be, but the place you most loved to live in. The whole story really is Sirius accepting the crappy things as well as the good, and I guess that it's me also, accepting the good and the bad in Sirius, I needed that closure for myself, to say goodbye. I found that last paragraph heart rending to write, it felt like the end and I wanted it to be.

Thank you so much for spending your time writing such a beautiful review for me. I truly am grateful in so many ways for it… Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by descendingdove Transcendence

9th October 2005:
Wonderful story! It was well-written as well as orginal. Keep it up! ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your positive comments :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by Annika Keys Transcendence

8th October 2005:
Aw. This is really good. Great, infact. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you :) That is always welcome to hear :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by eragonflies Transcendence

24th September 2005:
wow! as a one-shot fic this has everything! i think you rightly choose remus finding out about sirius' prank as a lasting memory on sirius, as i have never read that before. loved it, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I am glad you liked the memories, I had a good time writing some of them :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by WickedWitch25 Transcendence

22nd September 2005:
That was really good and sad. I like how you put it together like this in memories and the ending was perfect. :-)

Author's Response: The ending was a hard thing to write, so I am really pleased that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by elfbwillow Transcendence

22nd September 2005:
I really enjoyed this story - you write amazingly

Author's Response: Thank you :) I am really glad that you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>