Reading Reviews for Seeing Double
115 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MercyWaters I

30th October 2012:
I'm back! Still really enjoying this story :) You write Molly excellently, it's very believable and you give here an interesting twist. I'm not sure if I mentioned this in my previous review, but I really like how you're using second person. It's not very common in writing but you've done it wonderfully! Gives a whole new feel to the story and makes it stick out from the rest.

I must say, Molly really reminds me of Luna, especially since they're even in the same house. She's quirky and always off in her own mind just like Luna, except it seems a little more severely so. It almost seems unhealthy sometimes, and makes me wonder what exactly is to come in future chapters, especially after the little preview in the Prologue. The bit at the end about her being nervous and getting butterflies around the boy was cute, though. It made me smile, since it's almost a little reminder that despite all her oddities, Molly's still a normal girl. I'm interested in seeing where you take her character!

Lastly, I enjoyed the piece about James' strange tendencies at the dinner table. It seems very Weasley of him, to be so clumsy and loud, and it also serves to define him as a character, separate from all the other countless Weasleys. I think it's very important to try and do that with the Next Generation, since a lot of people tend to just focus on a select few and kind of mush the rest of the family together into one big entity. Defining interesting characteristics is good and helps definie him as a person!

Keep writing! I'm really enjoying this story (:

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for stopping by again - and I'm glad you're enjoying the story :)

They are kinda similar, I guess - they tend to stick to themselves, have their own little bubbles, etc. It's a comparison I've honestly never really thought about as in my mind she's really mostly a highly romantic and slightly dreamy version of Percy, lol. Mm... hold onto that unhealthy thought, is all I'm going to say on that ;) Yeah, haha, I liked writing that bit. I'm sure every girl has been like that when a boy talks to them, you know, and I'm so glad you think she's very much normal - as that's what I really wanted her to come across as!

Hehe... James comes up a bit later on as well ;) He's funny, I like him a lot. Besides, I'm sure we all know that one person who doesn't necessarily fall over a lot, but has a tendency to knock things over. So yeah, in this, that's James, lol. He gets a bigger spot in a later chapter, though, so hopefully if you get to that you'll enjoy it as well ;)

Thank you so much for the great review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #27, by MercyWaters Prologue

30th October 2012:
Wow. That's all I can say at the moment, wow. This is such an original and amazing idea... So intriguing! I love how you slowly reveal more and more information throughout the chapter, not giving too much away at once and leaving the reader craving for more by the end. I absolutely love this! Your descriptions are beautiful and I love how you're focusing on a character that doesn't get very much attention usually.

Must. Read. More!

Bri, xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much! :) I'm glad you liked it - it's my first real story (the first one I really like, at any rate, and are genuinely proud of), so it's kinda special to me. I know - I've seen so many stories about James or Al or Rose, but not many Molly stories... then again, that was probably a good thing, since I like writing about minor characters ;)

Thank you so so much for this lovely review!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #28, by Tonks1247 VI

6th October 2012:
Ahhh! I don’t know why I keep taking long breaks between reading chapters! Honestly, it makes no logical sense cause every time I come back I’m always so drawn into the story and wanting to know what’s going to happen next…it’s crazy.

This really is one of those stories that is so addicting once I get into it. I love the use of the different tenses, the two stories in one, how each flows into the other…you really have a phenomenal style in this story and it gets to me every time. Between the style and your characters…they so come to life in my head and it’s so easy to forget which time period the story actually takes place in, though really it does occur in both time periods…

And this chapter? My number one compliment is your imagery and the real life connections you add in. My favourite section of this chapter is: “It’s as if you think they can’t possibly be showing the right time and that if you blink they’ll change back to the right time. They don’t change at all, and, as you watch, the second hand ticks round past the number twelve. Another minute’s passed. Time marches on, relentlessly, unaware of your disbelief.” Like seriously, this is me every night. I’ll start working on something and I’ll get so absorbed that I lose track of time. I then usually end up looking at the clock around 1:30 or 2 in the morning and am like, seriously? I should have been in bed hours ago! I have early classes tomorrow! It’s just really awesome how you put in such simple connections like that, as it really helps to solidify Molly’s character in my head. I can totally imagine her character.

One thing I did notice a couple times, as the nitpicky reader I can be, there are some places in the chapter where it seems like you use commas when you really don’t have to. And I’m not saying you have to fix them all and they’re distracting…but they are something I notice and sometimes I have to reread sentence to make sure I understand them the way you intend the sentences to be ready. One example I have is this sentence: “She hadn’t even blushed too much when Rodolphus had spoken to her, or made a fool out of herself.” It may just be the organization of this sentence but the pause that is supposed to be after ‘her’ with that comma is just a bit awkwardly placed. You could probably just take out the comma but I don’t know…it may just be the way I’m reading it too. But a little revision in comma use may be a good idea?

Otherwise, as I’m sure you’re sick of hearing from me, this was an excellent chapter! I really enjoyed it and may yet review another chapter before bed! Great job!


Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Naww, no worries about being nitpicky - I love people who pick up on those things becuase I miss them all the time. I'm so bad with commas, so it's always so great when people notice those things! I'm so glad you're still enjoying this story, and sorry for the late response! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #29, by Beeezie I

2nd October 2012:
Hey! Back again. :)

There were a lot of little details in this that I really liked and that made the story rich and vibrant to me. I loved the mentions of her family members in the beginning - you worked them in in a way that felt realistic and natural, and through a short mention of the last time they were all at the Burrow you gave me a good sense of Molly's place in her extended family. Later, when she's at dinner, I also felt like her thoughts about James and Fred as well as her conversation with Louis helped expand on what was already mentioned in the library.

Your portrayal of Molly from the start was also quite strong. You didn't make the narrative so overpowering that I felt like you were hitting me over the head with it, but there were a lot of subtle little comments that went a long way. Little things like how she has practise and discipline in abundance, how she'd prefer to be anonymous sometimes, how she's not interested in the family meetings (which, incidentally, are a neat idea), how she tries not to read when she walks because she tends to walk into people... you've really painted a thorough picture of who Molly is as a person.

I also like the fact that you haven't just leapt headfirst into the plot. I like the fact that you have taken the time to just develop Molly as a character, especially since from the prologue it seems like it's going to be a fairly character-driven plot.

There was really only one issue I saw in the chapter.

While I liked second person in the prologue, the fact that you seem to be sticking with it for the rest of the story gives me pause. In some ways, I do like it - it keeps a removed, eerie kind of feeling that I think works well with Molly's character and with the subject matter - but in others, I think that it's a bit awkward. Some of your descriptions in particular don't really flow naturally (especially around the scene in the Great Hall), and I think it's in part because they're being told in second person.

I'm going to assume that you chose second person for a reason, especially since, as I said, I think it probably will work well with the overarching plot, so maybe there's a way you can rephrase your descriptions to make them work better for the pov you're using. As it is, I feel like you're just writing the way one normally would, and just switched "she" or "I" to "you." Because "you" is a different perspective, I don't think it really works as well as it could.

What would someone talking to Molly - who is fixated on Molly - be paying attention to? What would they be saying? As you talk about Louis - saying that his voice told her he was grinning, that he rolled his eyes, etc - why does this person care? Personalise it. You're doing a great job of characterising Molly, but I think the narrator should have some sort of character, too. Otherwise, what's the point?

That aside, though, this was another great chapter, and I really enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much for your comments about second person - it's a new thing for me, so I'm not completely sure exactly how it works. It's sort of a test run, so I'll be sure to take your comments on board! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #30, by Beeezie Prologue

30th September 2012:
Hey! Sorry it's taken me so long - life got away from me. Ugh.

This was a great prologue. The prose was haunting and beautiful, and I thought that this was an excellent introduction to both the story and Molly herself. As a lit freak myself (which is oh-so-uncommon on HPFF, I know), the description of the library and Molly's feelings about books immediately pulled me in.

There were a few things stuck out to me as being a little awkward, though. As I said, the prose is lovely, but there were occasional mechanical things that felt a little awkward. For example, you capitalised "library" throughout the chapter, and I didn't really understand why - it's not a proper noun anymore than "dormitory" or "classroom" are. If it had a name (like the Forbidden Forest or the Great Hall), it would be capitalised, but as is, it just seemed unnecessary.

You also didn't always use dashes correctly - when you use two, it indicates an aside, and the part of the sentence before the first dash and the part after the second should fit together. In the third paragraph, Your exams are in just under five months, but you don't feel like it doesn't make sense. I think the second dash should be a comma.

I was also a little confused at the idea of Muggle books being in the Hogwarts library and especially the idea that Madam Pince is especially familiar with them. I always got the sense that most wizards know very little about Muggles or Muggle lit - I can see some books being included by Dumbledore or McGonagall, but not so many and to the extent that they'd be seen as "worn romances."

Okay. Those minor little things aside (sorry - you know me, I have to point them out. It's like a compulsion), this was amazing. I'm so intrigued and glad that this is for review swap so I have an excuse to read on, rather than adding it to my ever-growing "to read" list.

I think the thing that impressed me the most about this was how perfect it is as a prologue. For me, a prologue is supposed to reveal just enough to give you a sense of the world while still leaving many questions unanswered, so that you come back for more. The use of second person, the undercurrent of eeriness throughout the chapter, the few paragraphs about "she" - I just cannot praise this highly enough. I want to know where "there" is, and I want to know who "she" is, and I want to know what's going to happen to the girl and Molly. It's perfect.

As well, other than the couple minor issues I pointed out with the prose, this is beautifully written. There's a disconnected, slightly confusing sense to it, which IMO is a really good thing, because I feel like you're doing a great job of getting the reader into Molly's state of mind.

I'm glad that we were matched up. I think I'm going to enjoy this a lot.

Author's Response: Hey Beezie! :)

Thank you so so much for stopping by - it means so much, especially coming from you, and I'm so glad to hear some honest criticism! It's so helpful and I'm definitely going to look this over to see how I can improve the bits you pointed out - especially the second person :)

Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by True Author Prologue

15th September 2012:
It's True Author from Bronze vs Blue review battle! =]
First of all, I must say this story is kind of diffrent. You wrote it beautifully, creating the suitable atmosphere for your plot. This plot is different and maybe hard to understand in the first chapter but maybe I'll be linked to this after reading the next chapter. =]
Oh and I think you should work on Victoire's charachterization in this chapter. You can do small changes like you should describe her a bit more. I mean her expressions.
Otherwise this is an engaging story! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey there and thanks for stopping by!

Gah, yeah it is a bit hard to understand at the moment - mostly because this is set about halfway through everything, so there's loads which has happened/is happening which you won't understand (and that was intentional, don't worry!). Sorry! I'm glad you liked the style though - it was just a whim when I started writing, so it's really great to hear that you think it works.

Yeah, Victoire's a bit weak in this one. She'll come up a lot more later, but I might end up coming back and fleshing her out a bit more... thanks for pointing that out! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #32, by Jchrissy Prologue

29th August 2012:
What an intriguing prologue! So, something that stood out, you do a really good job writing in second person and still adding detail. I feel like for some reason detail is just ill fitting, either terribly undone or the imagery just doesn't fit, but this all felt extremely realistic and natural.

And I'm already so excited about what is going on with Molly!! It doesn't fit any one illness, does it have to do with the book? Is it something entire made up? Ah!

I love the originalty of this story, the feeling of tension just hanging over us and that desire to keep reading. Something that I also don't see done very often - creating the feeling of anxiety using really soft words. It's so beautiful when it's done well, and you've just blown that out of the water with this!

Amazing start, I'm excited to continue!!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much! Second person was a bit of a risk when I started this, since I'd never written anything like this beforehand and so had no idea how it would turn out (or, actually, how it was supposed to turn out). Gah, I'm so glad the description works, since I tend to write far too much of it :) Thanks!

Mm... you'll have to wait to find out what's going on with Molly, I'm afraid - and you may be onto something by referencing the book... or you might not be. Who knows? ;)

Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this so I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed reading it (and may or may not have picked up on a couple of important things ;D).

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #33, by Tonks1247 V

15th August 2012:
Oh my gosh…I don’t know why I ever let myself fall behind in reading this story. I adore the whole premise of the story and Molly’s character so much and I always find myself lost in the words that when the chapter ends, I feel almost lost. It really does make me wonder why I let myself fall behind, because it is just so fantastic…but I guess the benefit of being behind is I have another chapter to look forward to reading as soon as I finish my review xD

So. I love how you pick up this chapter from the last one. I don’t know what it is exactly about the transition, but Molly slowly waking up –waking up late yet besides- really gives a good correlation to the last one, with her awoken from this strange dream. It makes the connection with how off and weird this dream is for her with the fact that it is very abnormal for her to be getting up late. It gives that foreboding sense of something that’s about to go very wrong very fast and I just love that.

One thing in that first little bit, that I’ll mention now, is the working of the second paragraph. “Blinking repeatedly, although the light is gentle to your eyes and you adjust fairly quickly, you reach awkwardly for your alarm clock to check the time.” The wording, with the interjected part about the light being gentle on her eyes, was rather confusing. I got lost with that sentence and had to read over it a couple of times to catch what you were trying to say. I would suggest rewording the sentence so the added though doesn’t disjoint the sentence so much, if that makes sense?

I also love Louis teasing Molly about being late. It was just one of those moments that made me smile. The light teasing and the disappointment of Molly only being up late to read…it was funny. I could definitely hear the conversation in my head and could definitely hear the same conversation going on between my brother and I xD

With Arithmancy class, I love how O’Leary has to sit next to her. His character is definitely fascinating and Molly’s curiosity with him really makes me want her to talk with him more…to ask him questions and get to know him more so I can get to know him more. Definitely an intriguing character.

This also leads to one of my favourite lines of this chapter, which would be: “Scandal… the word repeats itself in your mind, a whisper. Malevolent, gleeful, curious. Scandal. // The lesson starts then, and the whisper goes away, retreating into the back of your head, muttering quietly to itself, that same, single word over and over again.” Don’t know why but just…I adore the flow and the word choice and just everything about this line.

What else…Oh, chess! I so adore Molly playing against Cassius Sadler in chess. I love the relationship of having these yearly competitions between these two when they really don’t talk to each other much. And I just…the entirety of the chess game has that anticipation to it of who’s gonna win and it’s easy to get drawn in to. And what made it even better was Molly complimenting his playing and letting him know he really is pretty good at chess. It developed her character in such a different way than I expected and it really added a good dynamic to that part of the chapter.

-One thing here: “All around the you, the room falls quiet, silent apart from the occasional whispered instruction to a knight or a pawn or a bishop and the rare scrape of a chair on the wooden floor.” –the ‘the’ before ‘you’ in the first section of this sentence is unneeded.

The rest of the chapter, of course, was amazing. I loved how the conversation with Dominique and how it really made Molly think. It gave her a different perspective on herself and of course further encouraged her to read more of the mysterious book as I really think her cousin’s words affected her… And then her not being able to answer the riddle [if it helps for anything, I definitely could not figure out the password when Molly first heard the riddle, but that’s beside the point xD] and Adonis coming up to let her in…it was good, but weird. Adonis’ character half scares me, half fascinates me. Would really love to know about his character a bit more too, cause gosh…he’s different.

Alright, I think that’s all I have…other than your word choice in this chapter is phenomenal. There were a lot of points in the chapter where I reread a sentence just because it sounded so elegant because of your choice of words. I’d give an example, but now that I’ve mentioned it I can’t find the really impressive places…but really, this was a fantastic chapter! I adored it and cannot wait to go on to the next chapter :D

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Grimmerz! :) So great to see you back again!

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you're still enjoying the story, it means so much to see you coming back and reviewing again! :)

I'm so glad you liked the beginning scene - I was a little nervous about it because it's not, I guess, very big or dramatic, but it's a step kinda thing, so yeah, I wanted to try and get this feeling of something being wrong or starting to go wrong, so I'm glad that came across!

Ooh, okay, yeah, I think I see what you mean about that now. Yeah, I'll definitely go over it again and see what to do about it - thank you for pointing it out!

Louis! I really love writing Molly's relationship with Louis, it's so much fun to write, so I'm so glad you like it! :)

Ah, O'Leary - yeah, I love writing him. I really like making all the male characters sort of... well, dramaticised typecasts of themselves. So they're all hyped versions of male romantic leads.

Gah, thank you so much! I do quite like writing the little malicious voice :P

Yeah, chess became a lot bigger of a thing in this than I intended it to, but I wanted to show her doing a hobby she loved - like Harry with Quidditch - and the idea of her having a rival, hence Cassius, was so appealing. That scene after the game was so much fun to write, because it meant I could develop both characters beyond what I'd previously put them as, which I liked. I'm so glad you liked it, though!

Ooh, thank you so much for spotting that - I'll edit it out! :)

Haha, the riddles are fun to include - I always have a go at them when I pick them but I can never get them either! I'm so glad you like Dominique and the password section, especially Adonis. He will come up more - he will be revealed in later chapters!

Thank you so so much for the wonderful review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #34, by EvannaBlackthorn I

17th July 2012:
I'm back again! :D And I'm finding myself at a loss of things to say that I haven't already said so forgive me if I'm repeating myself.
I thoroughly enjoyed the prologue before and I enjoyed this chapter just as much if not more! It's so well written that I find myself doing a Molly and getting completely taken in by it. The characterization is brilliant, I especially liked Molly's conversation with Louis and her musings about her cousins. And the ending. Its just so amazing. I will definitely be back to read this story again (hopefully sooner than the last time), so please keep going because it really is fantastic.

Author's Response: Hey again! It's so great to see you back :D

Thank you so much! I don't really have a huge family myself, so it was a bit difficult to try and capture how people think about their relatives O.o Louis is funny, lol. You'll see a lot more of him in future ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #35, by Cavell VII

13th July 2012:
The effects the book is having on Molly slightly scares me o.O Her urge to go to the Slytherin table, her newfound ability to lie, the snarky thoughts about Muggle-borns - but all the same, the bit of Molly that is Molly is still there, and that's what scares me the most. She can still answer riddles effortlessly, still eager to read, blush, and think about Adonis, and can talk to her cousins without spilling out with some 'blood traitor' stuff. It's weird to think that while Molly's still there, Malea is too, and slowly, she's taking over her mind.

Something dangerous, but not deadly, which won't kill you but simply torment you day after day after day, until you're driven mad from the pressure, from the endless pain. You've heard the story about Professor Longbottom’s parents. You know it's possible. Geez, Laura. Way to give your readers a heart attack. Practically the same thing is happening to Molly, and here she is, talking about it during a lesson. It was a beautiful line, though, even if it was creepy - you have a brilliant way with words :)

All in all, fantastic chapter - though the fact that slowly, very slowly, Malea is closing in on Molly's mind and we're getting closer to see how horrifying the effects will be is a little daunting, I still loved this chapter :D Well done.


Author's Response: Good! :D Lol, that's exactly the kinda effect I was going for, so I'm so glad you know I succeeded! I'm so bad at gauging what is/isn't subtle enough and all that kinda stuff... It is a bit creepy, when you think about it, isn't it? The idea of someone taking over your mind without you noticing or realising...

Haha, it's not really the same! :P I promise! Don't panic! Thank youuu! :)

Thank you so so much for this review (and I'm very sorry about the ages-late response...)! :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #36, by RHadley Prologue

6th July 2012:

I've never read a story that presents someone with a mental illness quite like that, and to say I'm impressed is quite the understatement.

The way you've written this means that everything is very simple, easy to understand and yet all so subtle, it's the show don't tell rule at its finest, and it makes this story brilliant.

Reading the small final paragraphs - where she is finally mentioned, this second nature or consciousness is genuinely intimidating, if not actually scary, and that is very hard to do properly, so well done.

Loved it,

Author's Response: Thanks! :D It's not entirely a mental illness, actually, but it really does seem that way - and everything will be explained later on!

Gosh, thank you so so much! I'm so glad you like it! I tend to shove description in everywhere I can and be very long-winded, so I'm glad you like it!

Honestly, I have no idea how to make things scary - I really just don't, it never seems scary enough to me - so I'm really happy that it seems that way!

Thank you very much for this lovely, lovely review and sorry about the (incredibly) late response!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #37, by WitnesstoitAll II

3rd July 2012:
Hey!! First let me apologize how dreadfully long this has taken me to review. First JunNo and then some internet troubles really managed to get in the way. But here I am at last!!

This was a great chapter! I'm continually amazed as how natural you make the second person sound. I struggle to maintain it for a short story, and here you are with a very well executed novel. -drowning in jealousy- :) You had said in your request that you were primarily concerned about the realism of you characters, and I'd like to tell you not to fret. I adore this cast that you've constructed. Molly is wonderfully three dimensional and the supporting cast is growing, too!! I really liked all the little details that you've included here that make your hogwarts corridors and classrooms feel like real places full of people. I think too often, people forget that characters outside of their MCs exist -- but not you! Your school feels very full and vibrant. I especially loved the inclusion of Professor Patil (Padma, I'm guessing?) and the inclusion of the charms lesson. It sounded so fun! I adore when stories set at Hogwarts actually feature their characters attending lessons and studying and such, because in my experience, there is more of that in school then anything else. Some stories feel like eternal weekends/holidays, but again, this feels very real.

The scene at the end was very cute! I approve of ship prefect!! :)

Great chapter, and again, sorry for the wait!

Author's Response: It's fine, don't worry about it - I know sometimes RL drowns people ;)

Thanks! I'm pretty much making it up as I go along, so I'm so glad to hear that you think it's going all right. Haha, don't drown in jealousy - I had no idea how to even use it before I decided I would do it for an entire novel O.o

Thanks again! I love Molly to pieces - she's absolutely taken on a life of her own now (I'm currently writing chapter 12) and it's pretty cool. I know! I hate it when it seems like there's only a select group of students at Hogwarts, and no classes or homework or tests or anything. And yep, Professor Patil is Padma ;) I always have to include a canon 'Claw or two, just for fun! It took me so long to find a charm which they study in fifth year, though... but I think it paid off! :D

Haha, I'm glad it has your approval! ;) He will turn up again, never fear!

Thank you so so much for this review - it was very lovely! :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #38, by Ron 4 Hermione VI

16th June 2012:
Ahh, the last review! (sorry its took so long!)
-The characterisation is absolutely super- its totally believable.
-The plot is coming along nicely, I think your going at just the right pace.
-The story is absolutely great- flawless for any gramme or spelling mistakes!
Overall it's a tremendous story- keep up the great work! :) 10/10

Author's Response: Hey there - no worries about it! And gah, I'm so gutted this is the last one - I really loved getting these as they kept coming - they were such great things to wake up to! :) Thank you so much for all the compliments and all the support, and for all the reviews, too! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #39, by Ron 4 Hermione V

16th June 2012:
Aww, she's has a crush- cute ;D
The story is still going strong and the second person pronoun is still working well!

Author's Response: Hi again! Haha, I'm glad you liked it! :) Thank you so much for the great review (as always - you've been an absolute gem!) and for stopping by once more! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #40, by AC_rules V

16th June 2012:
Ah! I hate being behind on this story because I'm a little bit dotty over it. It's just so shiiiny and perrfecctt and I love reading it. I know you wanted a review on your new story but I couldn't resist getting a bit more caught up. Forgive mee!

So... I had this moment at the beginning of the chapter when I was really confused why she'd need forty minutes to get ready. I think it's probably because I considered waking up twenty minutes before I leave the house is early and it took me quite a few minutes to think ohwait, she's at the top of the Ravenclaw Tower, you silly billy.

I'd always be that Ravenclaw stuck outside. It was a really nice riddle, by the way, but I was just as clueless as Molly. Then there's that oh, obviously moment.

BUt, ack, this is coming along so nicely and I'm so excited just to be able continue reading for ever and ever and I actually can't wait for more! Molly and her various boys (oh dear, ahha) and with Dom... and her very real living in a fantasy world sort of thing.

I just love this story so much.

Insert more fangirling here.

Author's Response: Haha, it's fine, don't worry about it! :D I really don't mind at all ;)

I am exactly the same! I get up twenty minutes before I leave and that's only because I have to eat breakfast because it's difficult to eat food on the train. Not to mention kinda awkward. Haha, yeah, Ravenclaw tower is pretty high up. At least, it is in my mental picture-map-thing of Hogwarts.

Thanks! I'd probably be stuck with you, except for the odd occasion when I'd somehow manage to work it out. I have a list of riddles which I'm just going down - they're quite fun :P

Thank you so so much! :D It's so lovely to hear (see? O.o) that you're enjoying this story so much! :D :D :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #41, by Ron 4 Hermione IV

14th June 2012:
Sorry for taking so long; just exams and stuff!
Another good piece, really like the comparison " Eleanor pounces on the offered sentence like a starving man on a loaf of bread. "
Just what i said last time, making the diary easier to distinguish from the present day.

Author's Response: Haha, no worries about it - feel free to take your time! RL can't be stopped! :) I'm so glad you're still enjoying it - and I'll definitely try and remember to take that into account next time! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #42, by Ron 4 Hermione III

10th June 2012:
Oohh, interesting!
-I like her interactions with her cousins, especially when they were sitting watching Louis and they all had there different ways off watching Louis which is good because normally in a story everyone is doing the same thing.
-the book, I'm intrigued to find out more about it!

Author's Response: Hey again - it's so great to see you back again! :) Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments and review - it's so great to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #43, by Ron 4 Hermione II

9th June 2012:
Another good chapter
-The characters are interesting and the plot is moving along at a nice pace- I can keep up without thinking nothing is actually happening! (if that makes sense?)
1010 :)

Author's Response: Haha, don't worry - it does make sense! :P And thank you so much for the review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #44, by Ron 4 Hermione I

9th June 2012:
Good chapter!
-Its flowing well and the pace is just write too :)
-It's interesting finding out more about the characters, especially since it is through the yes of a character!
-it's going well 10/10

Author's Response: Gah, thank you so much for the wonderful compliments and the review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #45, by TheGoldenKneazle VI

9th June 2012:
Ahh I didn't realise that chapter seven was out! But I'm so glad I spotted it now, because I really feel like I'm becoming totally immersed in this story, with more Malea :D

I absolutely LOVED Malea's part in this! The way that it continued from the night she heard the two French speakers and led into her new resolve was absolutely perfect, as we were trying to guess what the new Malea would be like. The entire scene seemed very natural, and I was left feeling victorious.

All the characterisations were wonderful, too! You wrote Malea's expectations and observations of each person really clearly, and the airs and attitudes of the Purebloods were just brilliant. Malea's obvious feelings of hierarchy were felt perfectly, too, and her attraction and slight obssession with Rodolphus was reinforced totally.

For Molly's part, I love how you're showing her gradual immersion in the book. The description of how the scene was brighter than her other memories, and how she hadn't remembered ANYTHING gives us a sense of how deep in she's already getting, and it's so tense and exciting 8D

Absolutely wonderful job on this chapter - I'm outrageously excited for the next update (soon, please?) :3

Author's Response: Haha, it's fine, don't worry - you're not late! ;)

Thanks! I really enjoyed writing this one, actually (normally I prefer writing Molly to Malea, tbh), and I think it's come across. Transitions of time are killing me with this story - there's so many of them! - so I'm glad you thought it worked!

Thanks so much! In my head, I've got a really, really clear definition of how I think purebloods and their society act and works, you know, so I'm glad you enjoyed it! Ooh yes, hierarchy and the obsession... totally obsessed. I never know if I'm going overboard, so it's good to know it worked! :D

Haha, I'm glad you're enjoying it! It is getting a bit tense - it gets more tense later, I think ;)

Thank you so so much for this review! How is it you manage to pick up on so much? :D Thank you!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #46, by Ron 4 Hermione Prologue

8th June 2012:
Interesting-I've never read a fan fiction in second person before; it's good :)
-It sets the scene nicely and it left me with a lot of questions which is good because I would need to read on to find out more :)
A good piece of writing 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #47, by LittleWelshGirl99 VI

24th May 2012:


I've been stalking this story, be very afraid Laura :P

Wow, I'm always completely blown away by the quality of your writing! It's so perfect, and flowing, and distinguished. It's like an artist that paints all these vibrant scenes and images in my head that I drool over :D

Anyway, I'm sorry that I can't elaborate and stuff (I loved what happened in this chapter!) but I've literally just burnt my fingers on a pan and it hurts to type :/ (I'm an idiot!)

-Annon xxx

Author's Response: Haha, it's fine - stalk away! ;)

Gosh, thanks so much! It's ironic that you're using art as a metaphor because I'm utterly hopeless at art - just thought I'd share that because your comment made me laugh!

Seriously, it's fine - this review is so lovely already (short and sweet!) that it's really not a problem! Try not to do that too often - I've done that as well and it hurts so much! ;)

Thank you so much for this!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #48, by Cavell V

12th May 2012:
Ah.. I've neglected reading the updates on my favourites list for a while, and I sorely regret it. This chapter, and the last, is as beautiful as ever - and wow, last chapter's story/diary/thing excerpt was amazing, I feel like I'm actually reading it there with Molly. I like Cassius, though, not Molly's golden Adonis at all. He's very sweet, though cocky - Cassius, I mean - but Adonis.. I don't know, I can't put my finger on it, I just don't seem to like him very much at all. Love the riddle, by the way - how on earth did Molly not get that?

Author's Response: Hey there again! :D

Thanks so much! I love writing this so much - I haven't been writing much of it (so kinda neglecting it myself) and I feel pretty guilty, lol. Cassius is adorable! Ah, Adonis... you don't like him? Not a fan of the strong, silent, gorgeous type? :P He isn't quite as bad as he seems in this chapter, I think, from memory. Haha, the riddle - I have a whole list of them on my computer and I'm just going down the list, so it was a complete coincidence, tbh :P

Thank you so much for this!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #49, by academica I

11th May 2012:
Hey there! I remember reading the first chapter of this story a while ago and finding it interesting, and I figured I'd come back and check out what else has happened while I've been away :)

I'm sure I mentioned this before, but I really love your characterization of Molly. I think she's really interesting even without her little 'hidden' side, with her reserved nature and quiet confidence that masks a world of insecurity underneath. I like how you've managed to include her family members without typecasting them too much, even prankster James. I also like how close she is to Louis, almost like they were actually brother and sister. It'll be interesting to see the whole family together at Victoire's little "family meeting".

I also really love how you carefully describe everything Molly does and sees as she goes about her business. It's certainly a lot of text to get through, but it also paints a more thorough picture for me, and I think it's interesting to see what is changed and unchanged at Hogwarts in the next generation. It also makes it easier for me to follow the action.

I thought the ending here was really cute, and I'm interested to see what will happen between shy, complex Molly and this mysterious seventh-year. Also, I'd like to add that the lack of technical errors here really helps the flow, and it's easy for me to get lost in the story as I'm following Molly around.

Very nicely done! I'll be back for more later.


Author's Response: Hey there - I remember you! :D Glad to see you back!

Thank you so much! I didn't actually plan much of Molly before writing her - this was originally done for NaNo - so she sort of wrote herself. She is quietly confident and very reserved, but... I dunno, she's still pretty normal, I guess. I really wanted her to be fairly average in terms of home life and personal problems and things. There'd be too much drama, otherwise :D I love writing the Weasleys, so I'm so glad you like them. Louis is amazing. Writing him is so much fun - he just practically bounces onto the page waving Chocolate Frogs, lol.

Thanks! I know I put a lot of description in - particularly in this - but Molly is a fairly observant person, so it kinda makes sense from that angle, and we never really saw places like the Ravenclaw Common Room in the books, except for once right at the end when we were too busy focusing on finding Horcruxes and things. I'm glad you like it though, and don't think it's too much :)

Haha, you'll have to wait a bit for that I'm afraid! But the seventh year will definitely come back. Definitely. He has a name and everything ;) The lack of technical errors is pretty much all down to my beta, who is absolutely amazing. There were commas all over the place before she exterminated them all :D

Thank you so much for this review - it was a really wonderful surprise!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #50, by javct V

4th May 2012:
Gosh, how do you write such a beautiful story! In most stories I can usually pick out a flaw or two but for the life of me I can't find any in this story! You had hit the characterization on the head and I loved how you mentioned her parents (Percy especially) in this chapter.

I know how Molly feels, wanting to read a book (*cough*Pride and Prejudice*cough*) It's such a good feeling (one of the best in my opinion)

Do I detect a crush on Molly's behalf? (mindless speculation).

I adore this story! (did I mention that already?) I love the pace that you've set the story at; you've given the reader just the right amount of Molly's personal life and then the storyline as well (Does that make any sense? haha)

Great chapter (and story in general)
Once again, sorry about the wait!

Author's Response: Er... I don't know? Haha - seriously, though, I have no idea. It always feels like it takes me forever to write a chapter because they're so long and all the detail...

Thank you so much! I love Percy and really feel that a lot of people don't do him justice, casting him immediately as the bad guy in Next Gen, so I'm so glad you liked him.

I know! It's almost addictive, you know - like when you stay up late in the night to finish something simply because you can't put it down.

. perhaps you do, perhaps you don't ;) Either way, I couldn't possibly say, lol.

Thank you so so much! This was a really lovely, lovely review - I loved it when I received it and, quite honestly, I still love it now.

Aph xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>