Reading Reviews for Remember the Slytherins
  
187 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Olivia <3 the world hanging upside-down

8th June 2013:
Their entire world is falling to pieces and its ruining me!
I am honestly too attached to this story. Nick, Albus and Piper are my babies

Author's Response: Oh, I know about being too attached to this story. I've honestly cried writing three chapters, this being one of them. Thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #27, by jkelly the world hanging upside-down

8th June 2013:
Loved it! Cannot wait to see what Harry does now?!?! Will he tell Ginny, Ron, and Hermione!?! Will he redeem himself? Or will it fall upon Owen, James, and Rhys to pull it together! Honestly they are the only ones that seem to have it together enough to do anything.
What will Jane bring to the mix? Den mother or motivator! Loved what u did with Flynn!!! If that doesn't show everyone there is trouble I don't know what will!!
Really great job!! Update soon!!!

Author's Response: Hmm... what will Harry do next? I don't even know. But you know Owen, James, and Rhys are going to try their gorram (no swear rule) hardest to fix things. They're the type that will refuse to let this be.

I'll let you see what happens with Jane. It might be surprising. Thanks for the review, and the next chapter will be up eventually. After I write it.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #28, by Failed_and_Forgotten the world hanging upside-down

8th June 2013:
*happy dance* I dunno why, but I can't help it. finally, FINALLY! somethings gonna be done. To hell of the consequences, they just really have to do something before every single thing falls apart. I honestly am hating Harry and Neville now. Oh blast it all. I hate the way Hogwarts seemed to stoop so low after all the years that had gone by. I would have laugh out of it if the whole thing isn't so dang heart wrenching.

For once, even the most level headed people in the wizarding world had taken a toll on being pig-heads in denial.It's just so. cruel. (heck, i don't even think that word can suffice to describe the discrimination going on)

And who ever this Jane is (obviously Blaise's daughter), I hope she can do something for the Slytherins. even just a little bit. It feels like every last ounce of hope is slipping away from their grasp.

Amazingly executed chapter as always! =)

Author's Response: Something will be done. All the chess pieces are positioned, they just have to slowly fall to reason, one by one. I'm not sure how long that might take (or if it'll even be featured in this story), but nothing is too far from redemption. Hogwarts has fixed itself many times over, and while I don't want to give you too much hope, I wouldn't give up quite just yet.

I'm glad you're excited about Jane. She's going to be a fireball. Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #29, by BKL8008 the world hanging upside-down

8th June 2013:
Once again, I don't know where to begin. In the past 2 days, I have spun out 20k words on another work unrelated. But I have only a few right now: epic, crushing, wrenching.
Four words define this whole tale: "Blood on his hands."
Yet the blood's on the wrong hands.
Your redemption of James is near perfect. The mysterious Jane is good, and not a Deus ex Machina at all. Piper was even elegant, through all her pain.
And our sacrificed Innocent, Flynn, is still alive-the metaphorical Christ-like figure that he's become.
You've also managed to make us do something seemingly unspeakable: right now, I hate Harry and Neville, and especially Dennis.
Absolutely epic.

Author's Response: I mostly talked about this in the email, but thank you so much for the review (as always). You've spun out 20k in two days?! It's hard enough for me to sit down and write 2k in two days.

Blood on his hands. Just perfection.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #30, by bookworm_hermione the world hanging upside-down

7th June 2013:
Aaand once again you've successfully reduced me to a pathetic sobbing human being, curled up in a fetal position on my bed. Hugging my pillow. And getting it all wet. I blame you. (kidding you're an awesome person)

Ok, so I get that there probably won't be a happy ending. It's too Fawked up for that. But I'm just sooo happy Harry's getting the truth. Honestly it was ABOUT TIME. But then- he's not doing anything about it and I am so pissed off right now. Grrr

And this quote. "If his father wasn't going to fix things, James would."
High Five James. You are a GOOD person. A gooder person than before why did I put gooder? Meh. And cue music- dun dun dun- what's going to happen to Professor Creevey! *that was an excited, singsong voice by the way* i want to read that part again, wait a second...

God why did I reread it i'm sobbing all over again.

Back to the story, i can't wait for Jane! If she fixes this i will most definitely make her my favorite character in the Harry Potter FanFiction World after Piper. Because honestly this is my favorite Fanfic EVER and i honestly. actually. do a little jig when I see a new chapter. Not that I could actually jig...

Toodles!

Author's Response: I'm sorry, but I'm still laughing at the 'it's too Fawked up for that'. That's perfect.

I know Harry's finally getting the truth, but how long will it take for him to truly accept it? We're not in the clear yet. I'm not sure what James is going to do to lovely old Dennis, but I'm glad his redemption is going well.

Hehehe. I can't wait until you meet Jane. Thank you so much for the support, and the review. Next chapter should be up in roughly a week.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #31, by Failed_and_Forgotten The James Factor

6th June 2013:
Honestly, I was already crying, no bawling my eyes out while reading through each chapter. Could this series get any worse? Cause really, one time all i could see is red that i wanted to threw every antagonist out of the astronomy tower, then all giddy with Owen and Nick's affairs, then laughing at their crazy antics and somehow I just couldn't help but feel warm when all the Slytherins have their 'family time'.

What ever happened to deary Flynn?? Don't tell me he made himself a muggle? Oh gracious, but then it's okay, just have him wake up 'cause he still need to testify for Nick. XD
And about time too, that James hit his head on a wall for being a prick to Al. Oh how twisted had this story became.

As expected, such a marvelous story! Amazing really! You've put light in Slytherin House like anything before. I'm excited to know more of the upcoming events the snake pit dwellers might encounter.

*two thumbs up*

Author's Response: It seems I'm causing many a tear among you lovely lot. And my only response can be this: I'm glad. I'm glad you feel so strongly for these characters, that they seem like real people you can give emotion for. I know it's been a bit of a wild ride, but I can't say it's over yet.

I can't say what happened with Flynn exactly, as that's the next chapter's job, but I can say that his ending isn't as bad as Nick right now.

I can't tell you how much it means to me to hear people say that they actually like my writing. Thank you.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #32, by bookworm_hermione The James Factor

5th June 2013:
why am i crying? Oh god- why am I crying? They're fictional characters- not real- fantasy- fictional characters. Oh screw it- i'm practically sobbing right now.

DAMN YOU GRYFFINDORS (in this story- otherwise they're cool) WHY THE BLOODY HELL! JUST HOW CAN THEY BE SUCH CRUEL MONSTERS!

Will the Ministry get involved? Harry! What will Harry Do! Oh god, I know Harry's going to do something, but what? What will happen to the Gryffindor bullies? Azkaban? Detention (no please)? Life long ban of something? Expulsion? Suspention? Make it harsh.

Then about Flynn- oh Flyyn.
Flynn, WHY did you have to do that?!?! (Did he take the magic out of him? Or did he kill himself?) You were like the breaking point. I was just about to NOT cry, and them I read about you and i completely broke down- oh god this chapter is so sad. Can you please give us a happy ending?

-a teary reader

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. :) I know that they've been through a lot, and my sadistic writer side is grinning because I've got you emotionally invested, but most of me wants to offer you tissues and a hug.

The Gryffindors have been given too much leniency for too long. They've abused it horribly. I can't say much about what will happen to the bullies, but keep in mind Harry isn't the best person in this story. Just saying.

Flynn. I feel terrible for doing that to him, but you will find out exactly what happens in the next chapter (which is already in the queue). So the wait shall not be long. Thanks again for the review :)

Ellie
P.s. I wouldn't count on a rainbow ending


 Report Review

Review #33, by Failed_and_Forgotten Prologue: The Week of Tears

4th June 2013:
I ALMOST CRIED!!! It's so awesome that you could come up with such a striking lot like this! Great job on this and raise the Slytherin pride!! *two thumbs up*

(I was sorted into Slytherin too and I love the welcoming atmosphere there even though we're only few. :))

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you like it, and hello, fellow snake. Slytherins stick together.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #34, by BKL8008 The James Factor

4th June 2013:
I am in awe.
This is probably the quintessential chapter of the novel, you know.
I will have to read this again later, and drop you a line, because right now, words fail me.
For those that want to yell about Flynn,yell at me, no iLuna. It was my suggestion. I am honoured that she took it! :)

Author's Response: I said more in the email, but basically Im just sitting here blushing and smiling like an idiot. Just thank you.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #35, by SourGrapeSnape The James Factor

4th June 2013:
Wow. This was intense and sad and hopeful and hopeless and maddening all at the same time. I'm feeling so confused and dazed right now, I don't think a chapter of fan fiction has ever done that to me before. It's a bad and a good feeling all at once.
Thank you for this, I'm looking forward to reading and feeling more of this story :)

Author's Response: I'm torn between doing the sadisticwriter!smile and asking you if you want a hug right now. I'm glad it's making you feel all those things... but I'm also not, because I wouldn't want to. I promise an update will be put in the queue today. Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #36, by jkelly The James Factor

4th June 2013:
Hmmm. I like what u did with Flynn, I did not see that coming!!! Now about James, I really wanted him to turn the corner, and the part on the pitch and breaking up the fight was a good start,
but the crying no way! Still my favorite story!!!:-) update soon!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the Flynn bit. The aftermath you might not find so enjoyable, though, I do warn you. I'm glad you're not angry that this is happening with James (he just took over when I tried to round him out), and there will be a lot of him in the next chapter. Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #37, by FashionablyHospitable Mad World

25th April 2013:
HAHA! Found you! I read your story over at ff net. I am FashionablyHospitable there. I am glad you are still on this story, as I had feared it was abandoned. Thank you so much.

Author's Response: Hahahaha, thank you for the review. I have a bit of an issue over there where I forget my password and then lock myself out for two weeks. Thank you so much for reading!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #38, by Oliviawesome Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

23rd April 2013:
Emotions.
Emotions everywhere!
I haven't been on hpff recently as the layout is annoying, but I really like this story. I just read the last three chapters you've posted, and am super glad. You stopped updating for a while and I got all scared.
Update?

Author's Response: First, thank you so, so much for being the 150th review. *dies*

I know that it's really dark right now, but I can't say it's going to get lighter. The next three chapters are with a friend, so they should be back and posted very soon. Thanks again!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #39, by rogue_bludger Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

20th April 2013:
this made me tear up. seriously. you are absolutely brilliant. and i love this. i can't wait for the next chapter!
~M
ps- i updated No Second Chances :)

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much again for reviewing. I'm glad that you're sticking with the story, even after all I've put the characters through. (and I have a few things to take care of, but I should read the update within a day or two)

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #40, by rogue_bludger Falling to Pieces

20th April 2013:
ahhh i love this!!! going on to the next chapter but this one gave me chills and its so great and im rambling so im going to stop right now and go on to the next chapter!
~M

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad you like it, but be warned for the next chapter...

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #41, by Sheriff Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

16th April 2013:
I've never watched the Breakfast Club. I've got no idea how many references I've completely missed. I will say, however, having done an hour and a half of training yesterday in terms of identifying and supporting vulnerable children, that Flynn's story is getting harder and harder to read. I can feel a suicide attempt is coming. Merlin, let him survive.

I can only imagine that this is getting darker, again. There are so many avenues down which you have the potential to make things miserable, even having allowed a flickering of the light this chapter: I have the feeling detention won't go well.

Sheriff

PS - Thank you for the entirely unsolicited advertisements for the Lion, Eagle, Badger, Snake series. All readers more than welcome to visit my profile and read away!

Author's Response: The only bit that was inspired by the Breakfast Club was when Creevey and Albus were going back and forth about detentions. That hour and a half might have done you too well. I can't tell you exactly where you're right, (BKL8008/Keith knows) but be very worried for Flynn. (I'm worried for your first years right now, though. They aren't in the best places right now. :/)

Oh, this is definitely getting darker. I'm currently writing a chapter that is making me want to cry, but you are right when you say it's heading in another downward spiral. Especially for Albus. Thank you so much for the review again.

Ellie

P.S. no problem. More people need to read it - it makes my stuff look like crap.


 Report Review

Review #42, by CALL ME CAT Mad World

16th April 2013:
OMG IT'S JUSTIN FLINCH FLETCHLY!
I NEVER LIKED HIM HURTING POOR NICK
Bastard…
Any way Very good

Author's Response: Yes. It is Justin, and he is a horrible person in this. Thank you so much for the review, and I'm glad you're liking it, Cat!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #43, by Claire Evergreen Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

15th April 2013:
Honestly, this is perhaps one of the most brilliant stories I've seen on here. I love that you don't just assume that everything was all hunky-dory after the war which nearly all of the Next Gen stories (mine included) do. It's a completely different, yet completely plausible, series of events. I'm honestly in tears at some points in your story, I'm so attached to your characters.
And I would just like to say thank you for portraying Slytherins as real people with real problems. Too often they are just labeled as the bad guys and are given no personality whatsoever.

Wow, just listen to me gush, haha. I can't tell you how much I love your story and I'm on the edge of my seat to see whet it ends up!

Author's Response: Um wow. Just a warning, I have a really difficult time responding to compliments, so I apologize if anything sounds more awkward than usual.

I don't know if I'm just a freak, but I have honestly never seen Next Gen as hunk-dory. I think there would simply be too much pressure on the Potter-Weasleys, and if it wasn't that there would definitely be some prejudice regarding the Slytherins. (If you want something more about that - Sheriff's Lion, Eagle, Badger, Snake makes my stuff look like kindergarten work).

I am a Slytherin, so I may be a little partial to them. :) I just think no one gives them enough credit, and I'm glad you like them. I am so attached to what I call them - the family - that it's really hard to write this sometimes.

Thank you so much for the amazing compliments, and I just *melts into a puddle*

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #44, by BKL8008 Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

15th April 2013:
I enjoyed the parallels with "The Breakfast Club"; it was well done. Now I will have to dig out my copy and watch it again.
Your capture of Al & Lily was spot on for siblings at odds with one another. It's never a comfortable or easy position in which to find oneself. Yours turned out exactly as it should have.
I also can't help but see a bit of disastrous foreboding for Flynn. Poor kid...
Anxiously awaiting the next chapter(s), as always!

Author's Response: I love the Breakfast Club. So, so much. You should definitely rewatch it. I'm really glad you thought the Lily and Albus scene was reasonable, because I'd had that scene in mind for months, but I wasn't sure how I was going to make it work. I also really feel bad for what's going to happen with him, but I feel even worse for giving the readers some hopeful chapters before. I'm glad you like it, but the next chapter might not be up for a week or so. I'm stuck on the middle chapter of the next set of three. As always, thank you so much for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #45, by jkelly Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

15th April 2013:
Ah!! Very nice, well played, everyone caves just a little for the baby sister!!
Loved the Creevy part!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. :) I just needed to show that Lily and James weren't indestructible, but stay on edge. You have to know that this chapter is too good to be true.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #46, by jkelly Falling to Pieces

9th April 2013:
That makes sense about Albus not confiding in his family. I can't remember, what caused the split ? Was it just him being sorted into Slytherin ? My memeory fails me !!! Also, I would like to piggy back on another reviewer and say u have covered some delicate topics very well!!! Keep up the good work

Author's Response: Yeah. Albus really just isn't part of the family. Well, what they call a family, anyway. The split was initially caused (mostly by james) when he went to Slytherin, but over the years as the bullying and situation got worse he started to realize his father's deep flaws and then got angry when Harry didn't believe him when he tried to tell him what was happening to him. Thank you so much for the review, and I'm glad you like it!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #47, by ValWitch21 Falling to Pieces

9th April 2013:
I am so happy about the fast updates! And I'd love to leave a longer review to show that, but I've got a train to catch so I'm makong this fast.

I adore your take on Slytherin against the world. Normally, it's cheesy and stereotyped and unjustified, but you make it so accurate and heart-breaking, it almost makes me sick to read what the students are put through.

No, my feelings to James haven't changed. He has a lot more apologies to offer and I still want to see him stand up against his housemates for Al. Yes, he's improved, but he was still trying to sneak stuff out of Flynn, and for now, he's still not doing enough.

Rose was great -- she brought in a nice touch of the outdoor world, and it's good to see some of Al's family still cares. I wish we'd see a bit of Lily though?

In any case, great chapter and I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: There will be an update in the queue tomorrow, so watch out for more in the next few days. :)

I know that Slyth!Al, as well as Misunderstood!Slyth, are becoming somewhat of cliches in Next Gen verse, and I find that extremely sad, because I love reading them. I'm glad that I managed it, though, without going too far. On James: believe me, he's not suddenly butterflies and sunshine, but I'm asking you to give him half a chance. Within the next few chapters he might just surprise you...

And Lily is coming up. I promise. :) Thanks for the review!

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #48, by BKL8008 Falling to Pieces

9th April 2013:
An update to "Snake Bites" and "RTS" all in the same morning? What will I do?!

I won't say too much, as I sent you most of it in that email.

You have an amazing talent, and your characters go above and beyond anything that I've read, with very, very few exceptions.

I am surprised at the turnabout in James, and the last bit with him running into Flynn was foreshadowing at its best. That, and he and Rose have finally realized that Al is in bad shape. On all counts - this surely cannot bode well. Masterful.

I keep seeing this "Lego House" you mentioned, built just so - until a bigger kid comes and kicks it to pieces. It's enough to make the reader want to see one of the flying blocks hit an adult in the eye, you know, so to say?

Author's Response: That update to 'Snake Bites'... it must have been quite the morning for you after that.

I know I haven't replied to the email, but I'm trying to figure out how. I'm speechless, because that sort of compliment coming from you... it's just not something I can say 'thank you' to, but I don't have the strong enough words to accurately say how grateful I am, for reading and leaving all of these reviews. (You also hit so many of the scenes I was already planning for that chapter that I was scared/amazed)

I know James's part in this is a little shocking, and I promise there's more with him to come. The Gryffindors aren't purely evil, just like the Slytherins weren't during Harry's era. It's all a mess of gray.

The lyric ingeniousness of Ed Sheeran gave me the Lego House idea, but it's true. They're building their hopes up only to have them knocked down again, and I promise at least one adult will be hit in the eye by a flying piece. :) Thank you so much for everything - all the help, the ideas, the support - but especially the review.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #49, by anon Falling to Pieces

9th April 2013:
hi again, i like how your filler/build up chapters are still significant because the characters are always learning something new. change is slowly creeping up on them; doesn't it always?

I really meant it when i said that i loved your story. i know what it feels like to live in a society that turns a blind eye because its easier to ignore the big problem and pretend that its not their responsibility to care enough to fix it. that stubbornness of peoples minds is so accurately portrayed here. it is so real to me.

i read this fanfic all at once just locked up in my room the other day. and then today when i read this new chapter i just couldn't take it anymore, i burst into tears. i dont care if you went the extra mile with the abusive background of nick. the fact is, that extremity is what allows the reader to blatantly recognize how far society has fallen.

your fanfic is a social commentary so relevant to todays world. once again, thank you so so much for writing this. i have never felt such a strong emotional connection to any writing before. thank you.

Author's Response: Hello, lovely anon. :) I'm glad you haven't been bored during these past few chapters, but you have caught on. Nothing ever stays still; little things build up to the bigger things.

I know personally, too, the stubbornness that's present within society, and while I'm not glad that you can relate to this, I'm thrilled it's relatable, if that makes any logical sense. And I'm really sorry you cried, but I have done the same thing (multiple times) while writing this. It's in the dramatic portrayal that makes the theme impossible to ignore, no matter how much the reader wants to.

Just thank you. Thank you for all the amazing words and support of this story. :)

Ellie



 Report Review

Review #50, by miluv Falling to Pieces

8th April 2013:
these chapters are so short, i just, ARGHH. but its okay i suppose bc i love you any way. LOVE. YOU.

Author's Response: I know they're short, but bear with me. a 5k+ one is coming in a few chapters, but these are necessary. Thank you so much for the review, though, and I'm glad you keep reading!

Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>