Reading Reviews for So, Listen...
  
282 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Celeste May 1998

26th February 2012:
So, Sarah. I finally came down and read this, even though I spent ages procrastinating doing so. I didn't want to get to the part where Fred dies.

But my goodness, look at this story. This part was so incredibly beautiful. Hollis made me feel so much genuine sadness and anguish. The build up for this was absolutely perfect; I felt like I lost a friend along the way too. The descriptions were gorgeous and Hollis, as always, remained sympathetic and lovely. I loved Molly's eulogy - it was gorgeous and made me all crumbly and sad.

It's amazing what you've done with familiar canon characters like Fred and George and Lee. They feel so authentic and perfect and real to me. And with OCs like Delphine and of course, Hollis - this little fictional world is so complete by itself. Even though this story's been told in Hollis's perspective, it still has the magic of the Harry Potter books somehow. I don't know how you've done it, but this story is probably one of the few works of fanfiction that honestly feels like it could be canon.

I've spent the last hour or so reading and not doing homework and laughing and making odd strangled noises when important things have happened. Hollis is so delightful and such a wonderful narrator. I'm going to miss her and this story a lot.

And so, this story has taken its place among the best fanfictions I've ever read. I've never read a Fred/OC before and I never will again because as far as I'm concerned, this is canon and I don't care to read anyone else's spin on it. Thank you for all the laughter on this random night. My review's kind of a mess, but then again, so am I after reading this.

xx

Author's Response: Celeste, I do not know how to respond to these reviews. All I can say is thank you, SO MUCH, for finishing the story and saying such lovely things about it. I'm thrilled I was able to impress you. Seriously, logging in and seeing those reviews was a fantastic way to start the day. I just. Gahh. I JUST WANT TO HUG YOU. Saying that it's one of the best fanfictions you've ever read - and you have read your fair share of fanfictions - is such an incredible compliment. And really, you've never read another Fred/OC? I've tried a few but it felt just a little off, which is why I wrote this. I've also read some Fred/Hermione, but most of them assassinated Ron's character and that was really off-putting. I'm so glad that you gave this Fred/OC a try and that you liked what I did with JKR's canon characters and their interactions with the characters I made up. I had so much fun writing it. I really miss writing Hollis. At least with my new story, I get to write about Fred again. ^ ^

Thank you so much, Celeste. You are amazing. ♥

P.S. WE ALL MISS YOU, COME BACK TO US.


 Report Review

Review #52, by daliha September 1995

19th February 2012:
I had read this before but hadn't reviewed for some reason (bad me!) Anyway I loved it. Especially how you go back and forth showing us the different aspects of Hollis's life. I loved her and this chapter was my favorite so far especially when she mentioned Mountage that had me laughing for five minutes. (I still giggle at the thought)

Author's Response: A fellow Weasley twin writer! I'm very flattered that you stopped by. Thank you so much for reading; I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #53, by Seriously_in_love April 1996

3rd February 2012:
i really like the way you write i was nearly crying on the last 2 chapters i was wondering if you would be interested in writing a gideon/oc or a fabian/oc story they seem like interesting characters but i havent been able to find a good portrayal of them and i really liked the way you portray fred and george.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Fred and George. Hmm I've never considered writing Fabian or Gideon...who knows? ^ ^ I might try to tackle them someday, it depends on if I ever get any plunnies for them. You should consider writing them yourself! That's what I did with Fred when I couldn't find any stories about him that I liked. When you can't find it elsewhere, you write it.

:)


 Report Review

Review #54, by shigirao May 1998

29th January 2012:
I cried like a baby. You know, he was my favourite character in the book. I know it sounds odd, but I just like him more than i Liked George. And JKR was genius to kill him because that REALLY made me feel HORRIBLE. That really got you to feel the sadness of the war, and I think that was what she wanted. Also, to kill Fred without George is even worse! After reading this chapter, Especially Mrs. Weasley's speech, the pain and sadness that I felt when i first read about fred's death came rushing back and hit me with a power that was so overwhelming. This entire story was so beautifully written, relaying between the different moments. I hate that Fred died. But before I get side-tracked by this depression, I must tell you what a fabulous author you are. Congrats on a LOVELY piece of work. And I love how the funeral is not the last chapter. And I love Fred Weasley. Always.

Author's Response: As much as I love George, I also liked Fred more. I think JKR purposefully made him just a little bit more carefree, made his lines just a tad bit funnier, so that in our subconscious Fred's death might have slightly more impact than George's would have had. I really wish Fred hadn't died, but you're absolutely right - JKR is a genius for doing it. Every blow was perfectly unpredictable and heart-wrenching. I'm so happy that you enjoyed this story and thankful that this chapter in particular resonated with you, and I hope you like the next chapter. Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #55, by Lisa April 1996

18th January 2012:
Well I finished your story yesterday afternoon. I have to say it is one of the best stories I've ever read, I think you're very talented. I wish you had of at least hinted at what each of them wrote on the little swans (which was an amazing idea) but leaving it open for our imagination was really amazing. I'm curious at what you pictured them writing. Anyways, I just wanted to let you know how happy I am that I stumbled upon your story, it was very moving and VERY well written.

Author's Response: First of all, I want to thank you for coming across my story and giving it a chance, and for leaving me these beautiful reviews. They're very encouraging and they make me miss writing about Hollis. :') As for the swans, leaving it open to imagination was very important to me, so that everyone could decide for themselves what was said. But between you and me, I imagined that Hollis scribbled something slightly snarky in hers, but also affectionate, to let Fred know how she really felt; and in turn, Fred told her that he loved her. Which is why, while she was at his funeral, he felt like she needed to hear this again, and why that swan fell in her lap at that moment. Something to comfort her when she needed it the most. :)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #56, by Lisa May 1998

17th January 2012:
Wow, I don't really know what to say that hasn't been said in the 25 reviews before mine. I cried over so many different things about this chapter. I can't get over how well you did at getting across the pain everyone was feeling. Well done. I was nervous about reading this chapter, I secretly hoped that you'd change it, but you did an amazing job. I'm sad I only have one chapter left.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This was the chapter I was dreading writing the most. Truth be told, it put me in a miserable mood for the rest of the day. I really wish he didn't have to die. :(

 Report Review

Review #57, by Rynnie April 1996

13th January 2012:
It took a long time for me to remember my username and password, but I signed in to tell you that honestly I think this is one of the most beautiful stories I have ever read. You've written it with such a balance of happy moments, dorkiness and sadness, and I've reread this so many times I've lost count.

Thank you. :)

Author's Response: I am just floored right now. I've read this review before - many times - before responding to it, as I have all of them. And honestly, responding to these reviews has been so difficult that I've been putting it off for over a month in most cases. But thank you, thank you, thank you - for caring enough to read it all, for signing in, for reviewing, and for those amazing compliments. This was such a beautiful review, and it reminds me why I write. :)

 Report Review

Review #58, by Lisa February 1998

9th January 2012:
Hi. I've been reading your story the last couple of days and I needed to tell you that I love it. I'm not sure if you'll ever read this review, but I had a very intense reaction to this chapter and I wanted to let you know. Great work, I can't wait to finish it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for telling me. :) And thank you for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #59, by Rae April 1996

4th January 2012:
wow I just . . . wow
I decided to stop reading this at 2am when my laptop ran out of juice but then snuck downstairs after an hour to grab my charger - I just couldn't resist (incidentally it's now 4am and I'm probably going to regret this tomorrow but it was just too good!)

I realised about half way through that you were sticking too closely to the books and some of the dates were in 7th year so he was going to die - it was like someone had punched me in the stomach; I couldn't breathe.

You captured it so perfectly - life, school, the carefree nature that you don't realise until it comes up against such a sharp contrast. I absolutely love that you didn't feel the need to include her in the major events of the book, that it's strictly the book but with someone else as the main character, someone normal. A backstory of a character that really deserves one, whose death is somewhat glossed over in the books (possibly because it would just be too achingly painful if she had let anyone dwell on it).

It was beautiful. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that beautiful review. I am so, so pleased and so touched that you liked it so much. And I'm glad you didn't mind that Hollis wasn't someone more vital in the war, someone involved in the battle or a part of the DA, who had a bunch of important friends in the Harry Potter books. She was someone from the background, someone very normal who lived quite a different life than people like Harry, right at the center of things. She found herself crossing paths with Fred and things progressed naturally, but all the same, her life remained wonderfully ordinary up until the war. I was always so curious about the students like Dean who had to be on the run, who even though they weren't looking for horcruxes, were still in danger, still had lives of their own; and in Hollis's case, still in love. It had many sad moments, but for every sad moment there are many happier ones, and I loved writing all of them. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #60, by Gocnocturna April 1996

4th January 2012:
Aww. The ending is so sad. Amazing story, very creative and impressive manipulation of time and sequence. Awesome! I loved it, but it was so sad. I like Fred/oc, but I hate that he has to die! Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a review. It was very lovely. :)

 Report Review

Review #61, by ikidunot April 1996

2nd January 2012:
this story has is so beautifully written. fred. oh fred. im still in denial. hollis and fred are soo perfect the way they were portrayed. I wonder what the note says!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm a bit in denial, too. :'( As for the note, well, I have my ideas, but it's open to imagination. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #62, by NadiaX April 1996

15th December 2011:
Oh God.
This is my third time in life when I'm crying because of the book. The last time was when I was reading "Deathly Hallows" for the first time.
It was... beautiful, cheerful and sad, sometimes funny, but from the first line I was feeling this strange... pain in my throat. I was hoping that you'll change the history a little bit, but I think I'm glad you didn't. I'm really sad, but it was worth it.
You deserve more than that short review but I'm awfully tired and I have only five hours of sleeping (if this story will let me sleep at all). Also I'm sorry for all grammar mistakes.

Loved it.

Nadia

Author's Response: I wish I could have changed the history, but I think part of the appeal for me of writing this story was the definite end of the journey always in sight, looming around the corner, a dark shadow that hangs over the blissfully unaware couple. We know what happens, but Hollis and Fred do not. Terrible things happen to innocent people, people with their whole lives ahead of them; it was painful to write but I'm so glad I did it and I'm even more glad that you liked it despite its ending. Thank you for reading and reviewing and for feeling emotion from this story, and for reacting to it.

 Report Review

Review #63, by Naty April 1996

11th December 2011:
Oh my god you've made me sob reading this story! Their relationship was incredible, the fact that it was so subtle andnothing definitely happening made it all the more stronger when they finally kiss! I was already crying at chapter 15 when she leaves him and oh god the funeral had me sobbing! But you did his character justice and this combined with the books just makes me go "WHY DID SHE KILL HIM?"

Author's Response: If I could choose one character from the books who died, and bring them back, it would be Fred. It's just cruel to kill Fred and not George, you know what I mean? Kill both or don't kill either; but I think that's part of the reason why she did it. She knew it would incite a strong reaction. Thank you for reading and reviewing, and strange as this may sound, thank you for crying. Thank you for caring. :) I appreciate it so much.

 Report Review

Review #64, by Karianne May 1998

10th December 2011:
So I just thought I would tell you that this was the worst chapter was the worst, but only because I cried so damn much. I was really impressed with how much emotion was evident in this; you have real talent.

Author's Response: :( Sorry you cried! But then again, it means I did something right. So thank you. :)

Thank you for reading.


 Report Review

Review #65, by DracoLover April 1996

7th December 2011:
Ahah as predicted, I cried when I read this final chapter. I think it was the perfect ending as it leaves a bit of room for our own imaginations to fill in the blanks as to what was on the parchment that fell on Hollis' lap. And of course, it was great to see Fred once again.

I finished reading with a smile on my face, however with a tinge of sadness as the story was over. I have loved reading this story, and it is most definitely one that I will reread.

All the best for the future :)

Author's Response: Whether you reread it or not, I am eternally grateful. Thank you so much for reading this, all the way through, and for reviewing, and for the compliments. I couldn't believe that so many people cried while reading it, and just knowing that they did has really made me love it more, and looking back I am just so glad that I wrote this story.

Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #66, by Pattalack April 1996

6th December 2011:
Oh my goodness. This was such a good fan fiction. I know that I haven't reviewed before, but I pretty much read this straight through. I skipped studying for my exams because I really just couldn't stop reading. Thank you so much!

Author's Response: You skipped studying for your exams! Fred would be proud. Heehee, really though, that's very flattering and I hope you aced them, anyway. Thank you so much for reading and for reviewing this chapter. It means so much to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #67, by ravenclawriot April 1996

6th December 2011:
I told you I'd cry. And I did. Really beautiful.

Author's Response: :') Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, and for reading, and for caring enough to have an emotional response. It means the world to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #68, by faerieall March 1997

4th December 2011:
“Expulsion for every single Weasley in this school!”
Snerk. I can totally see Umbridge attempting to do that. She probably did, behind the scenes~

This is so cute and so much more serious than I'm used to with this story. Not in a bad way, at all, but there's actual romance and potential for loffs.

Also, the image of Fred sitting in WWW while Hollis is abusing the crap out of that quill is priceless.

Author's Response: Lulz, I can totally picture Hollis abusing the crap out of that quill. It would be an opportunity difficult to resist. ^ ^ Thank you for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #69, by Lydia :) April 1996

4th December 2011:
This was an adorable chapter. :) It was a good way to end it, I think.

I'm so sad it's over! :( :( :( :( :( :( :( you created the cutest relationship ever between them, it is a shame it has to end. I look forward to "So, Professor..." so I won't have to say goodbye to Hollis quite yet, but I'm dearly going to miss Fred in her life.

Hollis is perfect for Fred! I have read several other fanfiction stories of Fred's love life, and none of it ever fit the bill. Hollis and Fred belong together!! Thier relationship just feels so real to me! Well done(:

I will sincerely miss following this lovely story. It has been very fun anticipating the next chapter, and freaking out when I saw you uploaded it, and racing to get my sister so we could read it together. Haha thank you SO much for sharing your fabulous writing with the world.

I will really miss So, Listen :(
But now I get to read your other work! :)

Thanks again for being so amazing!

Sincerely,
Lydia.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for reading this story and for taking the time to tell me how you felt about it. This review is completely amazing, I don't even know how to express my appreciation and thanks. I just love knowing that other people loved Hollis, that they had an investment in Hollis's life and her relationship with Fred. It makes it all the more real to me and it made it all the more enjoyable to write. And to hear that you and your sister read it together was amazing.

I've read several stories about Fred in various romances (most of them involving Hermione), but the relationship never seemed quite right to me. Therefore, I needed to make someone else to pair him off with. I had no idea that other people would be interested in reading it, and am so, so pleased with reviews like this, telling me that I got it right.

Thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #70, by faerieall November 1995

4th December 2011:
I am so behind on reviews for this story it is kind of pitiful. But I am back to review the fluff out of this story and it begins here.

This chapter was so silly and funny and cute. Fred, Lee, and George are truly the three musketeers and it's nice to see them together in fic as Lee always seems to be an after thought. Sad, when he is utterly hilarious most of the time. For example, this was my favorite line of the chapter:

“– or, you know,” Lee went on, “you could come over here and take a look for yourself. I’ve got loads of orifices that you could examine.”

TEEHEE He's so cheeky. I love it. ♥ ♥

Also, poor Wayne Hopkins but all the insults towards him made me giggle hardcore (which is kind of an oxymoron because there's nothing hardcore about giggling.) But I wish someone would send me notes telling me I looked lovely on a random Tuesday, for real.

A totally lovely chapter, but what else is new?

Author's Response: Baww, thank you. :) I loved writing that chapter, it was one of my favorites. There's never enough Lee in fanfic, is there? The dynamic between Lee and the twins was hilarious in the books and I hoped to bring it to So, Listen... as realistically as possible, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. ^ ^

 Report Review

Review #71, by Keira7794 April 1996

4th December 2011:
nawhh it ended! :(
I was so hopeful it would continue and we wouldn't have to read that Fred died :( I also admit I was hoping that Hollis died so they could be together. But :(

It's a great story, the characterisation is brilliant and it is written in a really engaging way.

Look forward to reading the sequel (so, Professor) and if you do write the fic from Fred's afterlife - please include Hollis! For some reason, it wouldn't seem right without her in it! :P

Keira7794

Author's Response: Just between you and me, I sometimes entertained thoughts of Hollis running off to the battle and dying, as well. Not seriously (because I already planned it out to the end and knew it wouldn't end that way), but just on occasion because I wondered what it would be like for her to sit in a chair at his funeral, immersed in Fred's death.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #72, by Up and Away April 1996

4th December 2011:
Well I hope you are happy--you made me cry twice during the course of the story. Fred is one of my favorite characters and you portrayed him beautifully. All the hilarity with just enough sweetness--I totally believed it could have happened. Please, please, please make Hollis happy in "So, Professor..." ok? I couldn't bear it if she wasn't.

Author's Response: Baww. I'm sorry for making you cry! Here's a consolation cupcake to hopefully make things better. ^ ^ So, Professor is a much lighter story, and she is indeed happier. It might seem bittersweet, coming off the back of this story, but I assure you that Hollis lives a very long, very happy life. Thank you so much for reading this story.

 Report Review

Review #73, by thecookiemonster April 1996

3rd December 2011:
Thank you so SO much for writing this! Its been such a pleasure to read, every chapters been great and this ones no exception. You've woven Hollis' story in so well with the books I've found it easy to convince myself it all actually happened. I've loved the characters, the humour, the sadness and the fluffy happiness, so basically everything. I've never cried because of a fanfic before but with this story I find myself weling up at probably really odd times. You're a fantastic/ brilliant/ incredible author and I'm looking forward to reading all the rest of the little things with this story as well as anything else you come out with.

Thank you again a million times over for a wonderful story!!!

Author's Response: I am just...wow. I am completely blown away by this review, and the reaction that this story has gotten in general. And if you were the only person who ever read it, I still would have written all of it, just because of this review and how much it touched me. Thank you so much for caring about Hollis and Fred and their story and for reading and reviewing. It's been amazing. :)

 Report Review

Review #74, by TenthWeasley April 1996

3rd December 2011:
I... this is so strange. I have chills running up and down my arms and spine, and I think it's because I really sort of don't want to believe you've finished this story. And yet at the same time, I am so, so proud of you for having done so. :)

I remember when you first got the idea for this story (and now I feel like I'm making a speech!), and I knew -- I /knew/ -- right from the start that it was going to be great. Hollis is so you, there is no way that you could write her character with anything but the honest voice she speaks in, and the humor that you yourself possess (being one of the funniest people I know!). I see a lot of her in you, and you should take that as a compliment, for that's how I mean it. :)

But even more than Hollis, you've created this cast of characters that are YOURS, no matter if they appear in canon or not. Fred and George and Lee and Delphine, especially Delphine, are people I have come to love as though I really knew them, studied with them, spent time with them -- because I did, in a way, I suppose. Every time I clicked over to a new chapter, I was diving more and more into their world as a way to escape mine, if only for a bit, and I never expect to make such good friends with them in the process.

I think one of the best things about Fred and Hollis's relationship was that is was so /natural/. They were friends first and foremost, and I think that that was so important to how they grew up. Nothing was rushed, or hurried, or unplanned, and I have a lot of respect for authors who can write such a REAL relationship, especially in fan fiction. You have so much talent, and I do hope you realize that, because you are going to go so far. I mean it. :)

This was exactly the sort of closure that was needed, for Hollis and for us, the readers who have been following her and rooting for her since the very first chapter. I cannot express to you how much I have loved this story, and I know you're only going to get better. Look at what it's accomplished! Nearly a hundred favorites (as I write this) and over 200 reviews. A Snitch, featured story -- that's nothing to laugh at, that is ASTONISHING. There are going to be people who won't give this the credit it's due, but I want you always to remember what you've done and HOW AMAZING THIS IS. You have been here a /year/ and you have accomplished more than some have in five.

I love you, and your writing, and you some more. I cannot, cannot, cannot wait to see what's coming for you, because I know it's going to be spectacular. ♥

Author's Response: without further ado:



He's got silky black locks
and eyes that snap like da wind
All the ladies love his argyle socks
His odor does not offend
He used to make things glow
in potions but now he's so over it
He's a cold gangster of the dark arts now, yo
And he's got swagger in his hips
Order up some hot Snape, rare
Cuz he's the llama's pajamas
He has wind in his hair and he just don't care
He's like everyone's fave drama mama

~glamorous walk-away~


 Report Review

Review #75, by WitnesstoitAll April 1996

3rd December 2011:
Sarah.

I'm so happy that this has finally come to a close. It really was a lovely way to end such a sad, sad story. I love your decision to end this fic on this note and not with Fred's funeral. It was so nice to see the little leaf/swan parchment notes, and the imagery of them floating into the night was gorgeous. It (to me at least) felt like a bit of each of their souls soared off with them, to be together forever. Very sneaky with the blue quill finally being given to Hollis. They're so cute and if Hollis magically appears in Fred's afterlife, I'll will be ecstatic. I'll save you from another whinge about how unfair the war was to those generations of witches and wizards, since you've heard it before. All in all, this is a beautiful story with gorgeous characters. I want to thank you, you and this story gave me the courage to believe I could write George.

Beautiful, sad to see it end,
Melissa

Author's Response: MOLOSSO. ♥

Since you love me, you will excuse the ramblyness that will be this review response. When you mention the parchment birds flying away and likening it to bits of their souls - that's how I felt, too. This way, a small bit of their relationship will be immortal. And the blue quill! I own that the blue quill started off as an afterthought and gradually grew in importance, and it was fun to see everyone's various responses to the quill throughout this story. I'm eternally flattered and I feel very lucky to have gotten such support from you and for you to have reacted exactly how every author hopes another author they admire will react to their stories; it just blows my mind. And your George is boss - it's like you've been writing him for ages, you know him so well.

THANK YOU FOR BEING A FRIEND

~golden girls theme song music~



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>