Reading Reviews for Twinkle's Keeper
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lovemesomethinSirius A Tale of Twinkle

8th September 2013:
Oh my goodnes, this has got to be one of the cutest stories I've ever read! The things we mothers do to help our children- and ourselves- get a little sleep at night! I probably "beat up" at least one "monster" in the closet almost every night. And there's been many times I've told stories about the imaginary ghosts being there to chase bad dreams away and various other things like that. This definitely touched a sweet, soft, special place in my heart. Made me melt! Adorable. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cleopatraa A Tale of Twinkle

11th December 2012:
Aww how adorable. Seriously this was one of the most adorable stories Iíve read and I liked the fact it was about Percy. As from all the brothers he seems to be the least favourite in fanfiction. Even though this played many years ago both of them were rather in canon. So kudos for you on that. This could be put in the books. So canon was this. Yet I like the fact you still made him childlike, as Iíve read stories before wherein children are basically portrayed as mini adults. I liked the fact that at the end Percy still kept the door open. That gave this story much more depth in a way. You really did a fabulous job with this!

Author's Response: Percy's a tough one to make adorable, but I like a challenge. :D I love the Weasleys - all of the Weasleys - and getting the chance to write a fluffier story about one of the kids when he was younger (in the happier days when they thought Voldemort was gone forever) was such fun. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by The Misfit A Tale of Twinkle

9th December 2012:
Hello! I'm apondinabluebox from the forums, here for a review swap!

Oh, the feels I'm getting from this one-shot are indescribable. It was absolutely adorable seeing Percy as a child. You managed to capture their canon selves perfectly; Molly being stern yet loving at the same time was just beautiful! It's definitely something that could be described as a "missing moment" from the HP series, so well done to you on that!

Inquistive Percy is so adorable! I remember telling stories to a little girl who I used to babysit, and she was full of questions too! The way Molly makes mistakes is so accurate considering that she's creating a story off the top of her head, and the way she scolds Percy for interrupting her and making her flustered is so believable!

I have to say that this line, ďThatís a story for another night,Ē she pressed on. ďFar into the future. With your father, because Iím not telling it...", was absolutely priceless!

I do have a question though: while I can understand Fred and George needing more space than Percy so they wouldn't have needed his room, why didn't the Weasleys make Percy move out for Ron's birth? You say that Molly and Arthur explained to Percy that Ginny needed to be near them because she would cry a lot as a baby, but what about Ron? Although I'm probably just nitpicking here, considering that I can't find any other flaws in this amazing little one-shot!

And the ending was oh-so-sweet! I love how grown-up Percy still leaves his wardrobe door open! :D

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Molly's a tough line to walk. She's so stern, but at the same time so full of love, and I liked imagining what she might have been like when her children were younger. A sleep-deprived mum and a young Percy with a fear of goblins made for a fun evening of writing for me.

I think in my head I had Ron living with someone else at the time; or maybe Ron shared the room with Ginny? I can't remember. It's confusing me to think about it, so it's probably a plot hole. XD

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ValWitch21 A Tale of Twinkle

9th December 2012:
This was so cute and fluffy :) Your small Percy is adorable.

I love your characterisation of him as a child, scared but not wanting to show it, and trying to act stronger than he is - listening to Bill and Arthur's stories for example, and not admitting they give him nightmares.

You manage amazingly well to portray the mind of a child, asking exactly the questions that make you realise his bedtime story makes no sense. And Molly getting a bit annoyed because she doesn't know how to answer, but making up more stuff nonetheless...

The relationship with Molly is perfect, and she's just like I imagine her around young children, stern but still loving and maternal.

I think my favourite aspect of this story is the presence of the other Weasleys, even though they never appear directly. You manage to show the dynamics of the whole family through only two characters (that are not the most written about, might I add), and that is what makes this story even better!

Merry Christmas (a bit early, but psh) &hearts

Author's Response: When I was little I loved listening to scary stories, and then always had nightmares later. But then I kept going back and asking for more scary stories. Maybe I was just a weird child. But Percy's obstinacy to listen to goblin tales and then not wanting to admit later that they frightened him was sort of drawn from that.

Poor, tired Molly, trying to entertain Percy and also trying to get him to sleep so that she can go to sleep.

I couldn't resist mentioning the other Weasleys, showing what they were up to. I just love Weasleys. ♥

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by imacullenpottergirl A Tale of Twinkle

8th December 2012:
Hey!

This is by far the cutest and sweetest story I have ever read in my entire life. And i am not joking. I myself am writing a percy story, and so i've kind of grown attached to his character, so when I read this, I could not stop smiling. It was absolutely adorable!

The characterisation in this was just perfect, and you portrayed the characters, especially Molly very well. My favourite bit:

'But you, my love..." Molly kissed Percy's forehead. "You were just perfect for the arrangement. A valiant knight -"

"What's valiant?"

"Brave and courageous."'

Absolutely perfect. Again, this was such a sweet piece, and I loved reading it. Will definitely favourite it!

- Abhi

Author's Response: I know what you mean about Percy. I didn't care for him too much until I started writing him in my short story, and after that he really started to grow on me. Writing a young, endearing Percy was interesting to attempt because a lot of people go into Percy fics with their hate goggles on, but so far the response has been really positive! I had so much fun showing the love of a mother for her son, and the ingenuity it takes to console them sometimes.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Roots in Water A Tale of Twinkle

8th December 2012:
Hello! I haven't read too many stories centered around the Weasley children when they were young but I'm really glad that I read this one. This was such a cute story and I really enjoyed reading it.

First of all, your characterizations were amazingly well done. Percy curious and sweet and such a precious child and Molly was a fantastic mother, just like always. I really liked how you incorporated the desire to have something of your own because in a family of seven children it's not often that something is only yours.

The manner in which you managed to capture the essence of the Weasley family is quite eery because everything you managed seemed as though it had been taken straight from canon, making this a true "missing moment".

Molly's story was fantastic! I really liked how she made small mistakes in her telling because it made it more believable than if it was perfect. She was, after all, making it up on the fly. Her comment about getting Arthur to tell him the story of reproduction was very amusing. Good thought, Molly! The story was yet another example of how good a mother she is- it managed to both soothe Percy and give him something of his own to hold onto.

The only constructive criticism that I would give is that the last line of the story seemed a little out of place with the rest of the story- specifically, the part "alothough he does not know why". I don't understand why Percy wouldn't know why he leaves the door open; surely he would still have some faint memory of the story Molly told him and thus some inkling as to why he leaves the door open (which is a really cute idea, by the way).

All in all I think that you did an absolutely fabulous job with this story. It's such a cute story that fits seamlessly into the Weasley family history and it's definitely going into my favourites. Great work! :D

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked this! I wrote this for a bedtime stories challenge a while back, and drew Percy as the child to whom the story was being told. I was really excited to be able to write about a young version of him, diluting his pomp with the innocence and playfulness of being young. I liked the chance to be able to write Molly in her element as a mother, balancing her sternness with her motherly affection.

I'm not sure exactly why I chose to say that Percy doesn't know why he keeps his wardrobe open; I think it was because Percy is, above all, an extremely serious person. He takes himself perhaps more seriously than anything else in the world. So the idea of keeping his wardrobe door open for an imaginary elf would probably not sit well with his high opinion of himself, so he's chosen to forget the particulars. But on a subconscious level, it's still there. :)

Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CambAngst A Tale of Twinkle

5th December 2012:
Hi, there! Here is your review from the Holiday Review Swap.

This is, beyond a shadow of a doubt, the cutest story I've ever read involving Percy. And I don't mean that to be a backhanded compliment, either. He is absolutely adorable in this, it's just that it's really hard to trump Ginny and Ron for cute, if you know what I'm saying.

You really sucked me in right from the start. The way you described him climbing onto the counter to get a cup from the cupboard instantly reminded me of the way my own kids used to get into everything before we finally gave up and put all of their cups and bowls down at their level.

Molly was really well written. Stern, but still very caring and understanding. You managed to slip in a lot of insight about Bill and Charlie into this as well, along with Fred, George, Ron and even just a bit about baby Ginny. Nobody was left out.

The way that Molly's story unfolds was super-cute and came out just right for a weary parent who's trying to engineer that perfect tale to assuage her child's fears and, most importantly, convince the little night owl to go to sleep! On more than one occasion, I've been guilty of accidentally mixing up the characters' names in the middle of a story, something that my kids are never hesitant to point out. Percy held up his end of things brilliantly, as well. The way that he stopped her to question every word and concept that he didn't understand sounded so perfect for a precocious little boy who refused to let anything important get past him! Molly pulled off some really nice recoveries, and some that... well, some that Arthur is going to regret when he's explaining how babies get inside tummies. Serves him right for not getting up to check on his son! ;)

Your writing was beautiful in this. I couldn't find a thing wrong with it and I loved how your descriptions and word choice fit so well with a story about a mother and her young son. Nothing too formal or eloquent or highbrow.

And your ending was absolutely inspired. Percy was off-the-charts cute, bringing a snack to his frightened little roommate. And the comment about leaving his wardrobe door open was awesome.

Very nice job!

Author's Response: It's extremely hard to trump Ron for cute. If you've ever read "Growing Up Weasley", you know exactly what I'm talking about. I wrote this for a bedtime stories challenge on the forums quite a while back, and drew Percy as the child to whom the story was being told. It was fun to make pompous, inquisitive little Percy more endearing than we're used to seeing him.

My little one is still young enough that I can tell a story about an elephant that changes midway through to Little Red Riding Hood, which then turns into the big bad wolf versus Voldemort, who end up having a picnic, and she doesn't even bat an eye. I'll have to step up my game in a year or two when she starts to pay attention to what I'm saying. XD

The thought of Arthur explaining the birds and the bees to Percy makes me laugh. I can only imagine how, in such a large family, the wrong sort of information gets passed down from older kids to younger kids, so that by the time George and Fred are instructing Ron on the facts of life, he thinks that all babies are hatched from eggs or something. lol.

Thank you so much for your amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie A Tale of Twinkle

30th April 2012:
Seeing as I just nominated this for a Golden Paw, I figured I probably ought to review it! :P

I adore this fic. I've been reading a lot - a lot - of Gryffie fics in the past week so I could find lots of new stories to nominate, and this is by far my favorite Weasley-centric one. I feel like this is going to be an utterly lame review, because I don't have any CC at all. It's just such a cute little story - you captured Molly perfectly, and I thought that you captured Percy nicely as well, and you did a terrific job of showing his age. I liked the little hints of older-Percy that I saw (maybe I just imagined them, but I don't think so) - the sense of responsibility and protectiveness was really well-portrayed and well handled. And the story itself just made me want to hug Twinkle - and she's twice-fictional!

Thank you for writing this. It's amazing.

Author's Response: I saw that you nominated it, and it really made my day! Thank you. :)

I'm glad you liked Molly; it can be a tricky thing to show both her sternness and her softer side, so I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out when I was writing her. And hee, you didn't imagine the glimpses of older-Percy. I didn't want to make him completely unlikable because, well if I'm being honest, older Percy is a bit of a git, so I tried to expand on his other characteristics. We all know he loved responsibility, so that's what I worked with.

Thank you so much for reading and for this lovely review, and for nominating little Percy. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by rbrammer A Tale of Twinkle

29th April 2012:
definitely one of the cutest stories i've read on here. i really like that you used Percy, since he's viewed as pompous and snotty for the most part of the series. it shows that he really was a good kid before he started going snotty and came back again. but, i'm rambling, so yeah, it was really good. :) ten out of ten.

Author's Response: Thanks! Percy was a bit full of himself in his Ministry years, but he came around in the end and saw sense. :) I like to think that he was humbled quite a bit after that.

Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #10, by tydemans A Tale of Twinkle

23rd December 2011:
Merry Christmas!

Not-so-secret Santa here with some reviews to brighten your holidays.

I had to start with Pinky -I mean Twinkle- because, well who can resist a good goblin story. This was so enjoyable. Lovely interaction between mum and son. Very realistically written. Loved the interruptions and obviously the slip-up with the names.

Percy was so age-appropriate and adorable. My favorite part for him was: "when I close my eyes, the goblins are scary again." Too cute and completely true of those little ones, so brave when the lights are on :-)

For Molly, it was: "Far into the future. With your father, because I'm not telling it." That was FUNNY!

I hope your holidays are bright since your little gem here brightened mine.

Take care!
~Ty

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What lovely reviews. :) Percy never seems to get his fair shake in fanfiction, the poor dear, although he doesn't really have anyone else to blame. I find something unintentionally funny in his stuffiness - I get the feeling that he would be very handy to have around just for the purposes of poking fun of him to his face without him even realizing it. Writing about him when he was pint-sized was loads of fun. Tiny, bookish, curious Percy. ♥

Thank you for reading and reviewing. These reviews were fabulous Christmas presents. ^ ^


 Report Review

Review #11, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 A Tale of Twinkle

20th November 2011:
I absolutely loved this. There are no words that I can use to say how much I love this! Perhaps it's my love for the Weasley's, too, but you also did a brilliant job! Absolutely amazing! :D

Author's Response: I adore all things Weasley. They are my favorite fictional family ever. There was a lot of appeal in writing about them in the days before Voldemort's return, when everything was calm and peaceful and innocent.
:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by lostintransit A Tale of Twinkle

20th September 2011:
Absolutely brilliant, a childrens tale told to perfection.
My hat is off to you

Author's Response: Thank you so much; I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lady Mouldywart A Tale of Twinkle

8th September 2011:
Ahhh, this made me love Percy! The description of the story alone made me intrigued. And it was SO CUTE :) Baby Weasleys...can't...contain...the cuteness :P

Author's Response: BABY WEASLEYS. ♥

I love me some Weasleys. And you are an awesome reviewer, you know that? You've read quite a bit of my stuff - it makes me do a happy dance.

:D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lumos_Nox A Tale of Twinkle

1st August 2011:
That was adorable! Loved your description of a younger Fred and George.

Author's Response: Thank you! Fred and George are a couple of my favorite characters. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by TooMuchMagic A Tale of Twinkle

22nd May 2011:
This story has so much cuteness, I can't even describe how amazingly lovely and sweet it is! :3 Percy isn't one of my favourite HP characters, but your version of little Percy really made my heart melt. So inquisitive! I love the way you wrote this one-shot. Molly was fantastically realistic as well! So motherly yet strict at the same time.

Really wonderful read, I look forward to checking out more of your stories! :) 10/10

Author's Response: Aww thank you!! Percy isn't one of my favorites, either, but he was a lot of fun to write. Molly is an interesting person to write - it's tricky to stay balanced between the bossy mother hen she can be and the caring mother she always is. Your review completely made my day. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this story with me. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Skit Skit A Tale of Twinkle

17th April 2011:
That was entirely too cute! I can just imagine Percy interrupting with questions, catching mistakes and so forth. I thought it flowed perfectly as well. Adding to my favorites!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!! I'm delighted to hear that you liked it.
:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by momotwins A Tale of Twinkle

17th April 2011:
OMG, the end is so cute I almost died. Percy! He's so adorable. Molly's story was fun, I like how she forgot the name and then Percy corrects her and she's like "yes, that". hahaha. Very cute and sweet little story!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I love Molly - she's one of my favorite HP characters and she's just such a strong person. I really admire her. It was fun writing about her and Percy both.
:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jenna822 A Tale of Twinkle

17th April 2011:
(Prize Review #3)

Okay, gonna be honest, this brought those happy kinds of tears to my eyes. It was just so sweet and touching. You really catured Molly's gentleness and kindspirit in this. She seemed so canon. And Percy too! Even at such a young age, he seemed exactly like JK would have made him. The story was truly adorable and I love the way Molly had to improvise and messed up a bit. Made it seems so much more real and not plotted out. This was amazing, just adorable and sweet and all kinds of great things!! --Jenna

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!! I really enjoyed writing this - it was a change of pace for me. I think that eventually I will come back and write more 12+ fluff stories. It was a lot of fun telling a sweet, simple story about Molly and Percy in the days where things were peaceful and they thought Voldy was vanquished. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by strawberrydarhling A Tale of Twinkle

18th March 2011:
Wow, this was so sweet. Especially the end line. I have always liked Percy but not many people write stories about him so that kind of added to the charm of this :)

I really loved the parts where Molly kept getting stuff wrong and she had to cover herself up.

This reminds me of when my mum used to make up Scooby-Doo stories when she used to take me to bed when I was little. She makes up stories for my brother now and I'm a bit jealous! :)

Good luck with the challenge, you've done a great job and I'll be surprised if you don't win!

Megan
xx

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I saw that you were a 'maybe' for this challenge. ;) You should try to write something for it if you haven't started already; it's a lot of fun. There's so much creative license in bedtime stories, and I really enjoyed writing this one.

:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme A Tale of Twinkle

17th March 2011:
Okay, so I read this last week sometime and didn't review because I had to go to work and then life happened. But then I spotted you in the review tag thread and just couldn't resist taking advantage of the opportunity to tell you how wonderful this is.

I'm a big Percy fan and I love reading him in FF yet I don't think I've ever encountered him in his childhood. This was one of the cutest, sweetest things I've ever come across not only at HPFF but everrr. It's absolutely adorable.

I love the story of Twinkle and the way Molly told it. I love Percy's reaction and that ending made me 'awww' out loud. The whole idea is so fabulous. There were so many things that made this story so perfect: Dumbledore's mention, Percy being valiant and his evident thirst for knowledge, how he hasn't unpacked his things, the mention of 'the talk', and the relationships between the siblings and their parents.

I just adore it, Sarah. Cutest story ever. Fact.
(Also making a mental note to come back to your author page ASAP for more gems)

xx

Author's Response: *squeals*

Aww, thank you!! This review has made me all buoyant and floaty-like. And because of all this floaty-ness, I am at a loss for a decent response. Instead, I offer you an original poem, written especially for you:

Your couch is old
The goat says, "Wassup?"
The North Pole is cold
Is that chowder in my teacup?

-fin-


 Report Review

Review #21, by thegirlwholived17 A Tale of Twinkle

15th March 2011:
Aww! This is really cute! 10/10. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by BrightStar A Tale of Twinkle

12th March 2011:
Oh wow. So cute! All of these bedtime story ones are, but I really love this one. Percy is so lovely and gentle... and curious, which he is later. Molly was excellent here - in cannon, but she was still YOURS. I especially love her various story-fails (getting names wrong etc haha), and her taking off Aurthurs glasses, such a lovely tender moment.

Seriously, so lovely, this really put a smile on my face, and it was so very well written! Molly telling Percy he was the best man for the job - such a lovely, fleeting moment that made my heart go "e!".

So glad we review swapped, I always enjoy your stuff! And you've made me want to start on my entry (I have Ginny).

So well done!!! :D

Author's Response: I liked writing something cutesy and fluffy. I had originally been hoping to draw Fred or George, because they would have been a lot of fun to tell a bedtime story to, with their wild imaginations. But when I got Percy, TheProphecy said that he was probably difficult and would understand if I wanted to re-draw. But I'm really glad that I got Percy, because my immediate thought was, "Oh, I've just got to write this. I'll bet he was cute when he was little, and that he was always interrupting with loads of questions."

Awww, you have Ginny? That's going to be adorable, I can just tell. I can't wait to read one where Arthur tells the story. I wanted to do him, but I thought Molly would be better for this particular plunny. After I wrote this, I considered going back in and editing Arthur to tell the story, too, but it just never panned out. I'm really looking forward to reading everyone's entries. So far I've only read the Cupcakes at Bedtime one.

Good luck! And thanks for doing the review swap; I enjoyed reading "Who Has to Know?" quite a bit.

:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by NeverGotHerLetter A Tale of Twinkle

12th March 2011:
So, I know I just left a review for you but I forgot to say a few things which I really thought I should!
My favourite bit of your story was the bit where you listed why all of the Weasley children except for Percy were not up to the job of being Twinkle's Keeper, and then you said about Percy being a valiant knight, which I thought was so sweet and made me squee :)
Also, I love that you made Percy jealous of Ginny, almost. I liked that he was clingy to Molly and Arthur and that when she got his bedroom he didn't unpack his things. I think that's something that happens in real life, older siblings get jealous of new arrivals, so that was a very realistic quality there :)
And finally when Percy went downstairs to get some chocolate cake for Twinkle... so sweet! I love little Percy!!
One thing, perhaps you could give a clue to the Weasley kids' ages? I mean, we know that Ron is young and Ginny is reeeally young, but how old is Percy? How old are the twins? But that's just me being picky with details, it's probably not that big a deal :)
(Still a 10/10 though :D )
~NGHL X

Author's Response: :O Double review! :D :D :D

Ahhh, the Weasleys' ages. I avoided that bit on purpose because I'm so horrible with math and years and ages and whatnot. But...let's see...Percy was Head Boy in Prisoner of Azkaban. So he was probably 17. And at that time, Ginny was in second year, so she was probably 12. So they're about a five-year difference. So I'm going to say that Percy was seven-ish.and the twins were in 7th year in Order of the Phoenix, while Ron was in fifth year, so that would be.oh, I give up. I'm so bad with numbers. At any rate, Percy was six or seven-ish. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by NeverGotHerLetter A Tale of Twinkle

12th March 2011:
Aww this was so sweet!!
I've read a couple of the bedtime stories challenge pieces, and don't tell anyone but this was by far the best!!
I love your Percy. He's so sweet :) The ending was great, I can totally imagine him doing that :D You've characterised him very well, with him being very nosy and scholarly and inquisitive. I'm sure JK would have written him like that as a child if she ever wrote a book on the Weasleys growing up :)
Also, your Molly was awesome too! I think I really got a sense of her character when she mixed up the names Pinky and Twinkle, and then when she told Percy not to get her off track. I think you've made her both a fierce but very soft woman at the same time, which really impressed me and showed that you're such a great writer :) Also, it was really nice to see as she's like that in canon, and so it shows that you haven't wavered and made her too soft or too harsh, which was just lovely.
It was really different to 12 ways, which again shows you are a brilliant writer, and although I love 12 ways, I think this story was really refreshing and beautiful. I loved it :) 10/10 for you!
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! You're one of the best reviewers ever.

I'm just stumped about how to follow up with a response, because I'm so happy that you called me a brilliant writer and said that this story was beautiful. My head is a bit foggy right now.

*showers you with love*

So really all I can say is - thank you!

:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by gingersnape A Tale of Twinkle

12th March 2011:
Hehe, Hello Sarah! I'm here with your review from zee swap! :)

So, I am really fearing for my poor draft of an entry for this challenge! Percy was a hard character, and I wondered just how you were going to pull it off when I read the summary, but then I was just clinging to every word and really really enjoying this! The story was told very well and you nailed little Percy's characterization. The end really pulled everything together and made me laugh when Percy got the cake for his friend. This really was a sweet story and I am so glad I had the opportunity to read it! :)
Have a great day,
-Annie

Author's Response: Thank you. :)
I wonder who you're writing about. Can't wait to read your entry! I think this was really an adorable challenge and I'm glad it was made, because the archives are now well-stocked with warm fluffy stories. I need to go through and read everyone's, just to get my fluff fix.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Percy's not extraordinarily likable as an older person, but I hope his younger self came off as more endearing.

I'm glad we did this swap.

:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>