267 Reviews Found

Review #1, by keyty Reticence

17th April 2014:
Well this was rather dramatic. Can't say I was surprised when they discovered Nora was gone. She doesn't really seem one to cry and mope about it, she takes action. This is an interesting turn though, her having a younger brother. I wonder where that's going... And it was interesting to see this from Snape's perspective. I just wish Desdemona could have revealed more! You just love to tease, dangling information right in front of us! Just tell us already!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #2, by keyty Excavation

17th April 2014:
Well that's a plot twist if I ever saw one. I kind of saw something coming with her, there's no way her being at St. Mungo's wasn't deliberate. I must say I really admire the way you write this. I find it very difficult to write scenes involving the Dark side. I don't know why, I just always draw a blank. You do a great job of including the Order and making it a large part of the plot while still including some romance. You're great at balancing everything. I wish I could write like this!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #3, by keyty The Dark Lord's Most Loyal

17th April 2014:
Hello!

This was a kind of intense chapter. I like that Snape recognizes how much Sirius needs Nora. And it's interesting the way she sees Snape, which I guess I had never thought of before. I've said this before but I just hate him, so seeing him in this light is really weird to me. It's odd for her to sympathize with him because I honestly can't do that, but I find myself wanting to when I read this. Most of all I love the intensity with which Sirius feels for Nora. It's so passionate, yet he does such a good job of hiding it. I love that they're so oblivious to each other. When they finally get together it will be so awesome!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #4, by keyty Christmas

16th April 2014:
Oh this was bound to be sad. It's a shame Healers can't cure everyone... But on a brighter note, there was definitely some Sirius/Nora action. I wish Sirius would stop ignoring her though, why can't they just admit they have feelings for each other? It's undeniable! But I'm afraid of how Snape would react... Maybe he would get mad at her for it. Uh oh. Or maybe he would keep fighting. Grrr no, Snape, get away!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

 Report Review

Review #5, by keyty Company

16th April 2014:
I liked this chapter quite a bit. But then again, I've liked all of them so far! But really this story gives me endless butterflies. I think it's the best written fanfiction I've ever read. Please tell me you have plans of becoming a published author. You must share your talent with the world!
Anyway, I'm getting rather impatient already. I can't wait any longer, I need to read the next chapter!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #6, by keyty The Tapestry's Demise

16th April 2014:
Oh I love balls! I know it's a total cliche, but I just think they offer so many opportunities for drama. I'm using one in my story as well. It'll be interesting to see how Sirius is going to respond... I kind of like how they're reverting to their kind of petty school day attitudes. Maybe Nora will help them settle their differences? Personally, you may have noticed, I'm rooting for Sirius. Partly because I think Snape is a right git, mostly because I'm madly in love with Sirius myself. (Yes, you guessed right, I'm actually Nora. You've been writing about my life this entire time). I'm a bit unhealthily obsessed, but tomorrow is my day off, so binge-night-reading here I come!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #7, by keyty Like a Bat Out of Hell

16th April 2014:
I knew it! I knew something awful was going to happen! Oh no... I hope she's okay. And that they don't break in while she's gone. Where were Fudge and the other woman through all this? I feel like they would have heard all the ruckus... But man I had to skip a few details because they were just too much. I get queasy very easily, and you are just so detailed in your writing that I just couldn't handle it. Other than that this was a great chapter! Or I guess it still is with it, but you know what I mean.

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #8, by keyty In the Drawer

16th April 2014:
I am falling in love with this story. The emotions are so real, so palpable. I feel what Sirius feels when he explores in Nora's drawer. I feel Nora's joy at his letter. With most stories I would beg for them to be together, but I'm kind of liking where it is now. I like their obliviousness to each other's feelings. It's just so cute. But I feel like things went too well in this chapter... I'm afraid of what may come... *swallows*

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #9, by keyty Pox

14th April 2014:
This was a nice change in scene after the dramatic ending to the last chapter. I think it'll be really interesting for Nora to continue her 'spying' at Hogwarts. Though I doubt she would remain undetected, Ron most likely told the rest of the trio no more than a second after they had left the classroom. I loved the bit with Umbridge in there. She is so foul, but you write her so very well! I'm excited to see how Sirius will react to the whole scene, but Nora is probably spot on. I think I was right in predicting a love triangle... Sirius/Nora all the way!!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravanganza-

 Report Review

Review #10, by keyty The Precautionary Plan

14th April 2014:
Wow that got really intense really fast. I wasn't expecting it to take that kind of turn at all. I guess it makes sense, though. It would be strange for Nora to remain safe through all this, considering the ends most Order members meet. I love how level headed she is, she seems to be very in tune with her emotions -- except for where Death Eaters are concerned, of course. I love Sirius's sort of passionate way of protecting her. I'm really excited to see how things progress between them.

Lovely chapter, as usual!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #11, by keyty Visitors and Midnight Wanderings

14th April 2014:
Hello again!

I'm really loving this story! Nora and Sirius are so playful, and I love how joyful she seems to be regardless of her past. She could definitely be good for him. I'm also interested to see how her relationship with Snape progresses... Am I sensing a love triangle? I was also wondering, what house is Nora in? Is that mentioned later on? So far I can't really place her... Hopefully it's revealed at some point.

I loved that last scene. Poor Sirius, his life is such a nightmare. I couldn't even imagine going through all of that. But I would hate to see him deny himself of the possibility of happiness. It's understandable for him to feel this way though... Hopefully Nora can reciprocate those feelings!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza-

 Report Review

Review #12, by keyty Headquarters

14th April 2014:
Why hello there! Venturing into another one of your stories because you siriusly (ha!) are a very talented writer. Sirius/OC is my favorite pairing, but I've honestly never read it outside of the Marauder's Era. I find this very interesting, and I'm really liking Nora's character. I'm interested to see how and why she became an animagus. That there would be quite a story, I think. I must say your writing is spot on. I find myself astonished by the fact that I'm reading this on a screen and not in print from a book store. You have a way with words that only few do.
Anywho, I think this is a lovely start. I look forward to reading more!

-Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravangza-

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rachel An Epilogue of Sorts

10th February 2014:
I just wanted to say that I love this story with all my heart. It's a fitting tribute to a character, who I think, got robbed of a proper ending. Sirius has always been my favorite character and it is truly amazing to find a story where it's not some super clichéd plot. They are great characters and I admire you for leaving them flawed. I found this originally on ff. net, and was heartbroken to find it was no longer there. I had forgotten about it until I stumbled across it here. Thank you for the great story and the proper ending Sirius deserved. :) a little more steaminess couldn't have hurt, especially after the tension those two created. thanks again for the great story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lovemesomethinSirius Through the Veil

8th September 2013:
Oooh, devious! I was so sad at the beginning of this chapter since I thought you were going to keep it canon.. I'm thrilled that you gave him the happy ending he so desperately deserves! Love this! And, I'll admit, I'm jealous of Nora. ;)

 Report Review

Review #15, by lovemesomethinSirius Reticence

7th September 2013:
I love this chapter, this insight into Sev's mind. Brilliantly written!

 Report Review

Review #16, by lovemesomethinSirius The Dark Lord's Most Loyal

7th September 2013:
";and Nora was left thinking about Severus, and the fact that he had suffered even more than Sirius. He was utterly alone and dancing on a thin line of peril between his true face and the mask he wore for the Dark side. When Severus stepped into the shadow of Voldemort, there was nothing between him and his own death except for exceptional bravery and cleverness, and even when he drifted over to his real life, he was still alone, reclusive. He'd never known the lasting love and loyalty of true friends. Severus was thoroughly by himself, more emotionally solitary than Sirius had ever been - and yet he did not play his own card."

This paragraph touched my heart so fiercely and made me love Severus that much more. He's always been one of my favorite characters and this paragraph just describes him so well.

And I have to say, for being your first fanfic, this is well written! You are quite the author and I'm excited to read more- both of this story and the rest of your work.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Helen An Epilogue of Sorts

6th May 2013:
I just finished reading this story, but I couldn't leave it at that so here is my attempt at a little review. Excuse my mistakes or simple formulation as English isn't my best language :) Somehow I stumbled across this story, after not being on this site for a long time. And honestly, I'm so happy I bookmarked this while searching for a Sirius story to read. I'm sure I'll leave it there, in my bookmarks, for later to read it again. (Yes I bookmark stuff all the time, i suddenly feel like that's a bit weird. Anyway) I'm not as good with words as you are, so I don't think I can express how much I enjoyed reading this story and how sad I was for it to end. I've read quite some stories on this site, and I've never really been so.. stunned by someone's way of writing. You had eye for everything, not just their love for each other, and I think that's one of the things I appreciate the most. I like how you portrayed the characters and that you didn't just set them up immediately. Though I didn't quite expect that I had to wait until the last chapter for them to confess their love haha :) I loved the details, the plot and how real it was, how everything fit together. Ah well, all I can say is that you should keep writing, because after reading this I'm positive that you are meant to do so. Lots of applause :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by CeliaSingsSongs An Epilogue of Sorts

24th January 2013:
I love this so much! Probably my favorite Sirius x oc ever.

Author's Response: Hooray! Thank you. :) I wrote this a long time ago, it feels. It was my very first fan fiction. I'm so happy you liked it; Sirius will forever be my favorite and it was cathartic for me to be able to give him the life he deserved rather than stick with the sad canon ending.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AbbeyAndEleanor Through the Veil

6th September 2012:
OK, I just realised in my other review that I said Snape/Nora, which is such a fail haha. I meant Sirius, but you probably knew that ;)

Author's Response: ...For some reason I read it as Sirius/Nora, anyway. lol, just goes to show that I see what I want to see! Thank you for loving Nora and Sirius!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by AbbeyAndEleanor An Epilogue of Sorts

6th September 2012:
I just wanted to review this to say that this is my favourite story on HPFF ever. Snape/Nora is like my OTP haha.
It's just so well written and gah I love it so much and I love you so much for writing it asdfghjkl;lkjhgfdsajk;l

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!! No one really reads this story anymore, since it's been finished for ages, so it's a treat to see people crop up randomly and tell me their opinions!

So happy you enjoyed!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TenthWeasley An Epilogue of Sorts

7th July 2012:
This is a very strange review for me to leave, and hopefully it won't be quite as strange to read. :) I would normally start out by saying that I started this story two weeks and one day ago, but I suppose in this case that'd be a pretty dishonest statement. In truth, I started this story over a year ago, and through a number of factors which you already know -- time and distraction and a bit of writing of my own, which this story inspired -- I left it at something like chapter 9. And you, silly Sarah, thought I'd leave it for good! But you know I couldn't do that; it wouldn't be fair, and besides that, I hated leaving something from my favorite fan fiction author unfinished. Every time I scrolled past it in my favorites list, I felt a bit more guilty.

And now I'm here, at the last chapter, with all sorts of emotions running through me. Predominant among them is a sense of accomplishment, but that's not what it should be about. It's closure, and happiness, and curiosity, and a bit of regret that this story ended quite before I wanted it to. I know it's not your favorite thing you've written, but there is so much of you in this story, and I hope you can read that without facepalming. :D It's your style and your voice, and the characters that you and I've spent a lot of time talking about elsewhere, and it's your time. Countless hours are documented here in these words, and you really should be proud of this. As writers, we don't love everything we write, and we shouldn't have to feel as though we do, but everything we do write is still very, very much us. I'm proud of this story on behalf of you, and it really is fantastic!

I loved Nora, even when I wanted to shake her until her teeth rattled, because that just made me root for her all the more. I loved Snape, of course, and it's no secret, but you very much did him justice in this story -- his emotions, his appearance, his mannerisms, all so spot on. Your Tonks was so much fun, your Molly endearingly stubborn, your Remus heartbreakingly pensive. And, last on purpose, your Sirius -- there is no comparable Sirius anywhere, not that I've read. If I'd never talked to you outside of reviews, I'd know the immense appreciation you have of him, just from the justice you did him here. He is J.K. Rowling's character, but you breathed new life into him and gave him the happiness she couldn't afford to, and I'd like to think that somehow, she would be grateful on knowing someone did that for him. I could go on and on and I'd never reach the end of the list just because I cannot tell you enough how much I truly respect you for keeping this so canon, so real, so vivid. It's a work of art, if fan fiction can legitimately be termed such. I thoroughly loved every single minute I spent reading this story; I wouldn't trade it for anything!

You've accomplished something here that so, so many people only strive for, but never attain, and you just need to know how seriously awesome this story is. I regret immensely not finishing it sooner, and am so glad that I did come back for a second try at it (not that I ever doubted I would!). I can't tell you the times when something you said, some way you turned a phrase or analyzed something, sparked more inspiration in me, as well. You heap tons of undeserved praise on In The Black and In The Red (and how I'm ever supposed to thank you for that, I haven't the foggiest), but it all comes from YOU. Reading this story was what made me write a Snape/OC in the first place, and even though I know you know that, it warrants reminding every now and again. :) And it's not just Snape: Your battle scene with Lucius and Nora in the Ministry (my very, very favorite chapter in the novel) is something I still reference when writing action scenes. I don't know if you remember my initial reaction to it, but I was so completely blown away by it, and even re-reading it in the past week or so, it gave me goosebumps that literally did not go away for a good fifteen or twenty minutes. You're an inspiration to me, one of the biggest since I've started writing more than just drabbles here and there, and I don't want you ever forgetting that!

I don't know why I chose to leave such a long review on this; I mean, I know you'll appreciate it, and I know it's to make up for the however-many chapters I stayed silent on. But I think also it's because I feel like I needed every one of those 6,000 characters (or however many I'll end up using) to convey to you how happy this story made me. You've grown as a writer since writing this, undoubtedly, but this is your very first, and without this story, I might not have known you -- and that thought's horrible! I'm so proud of you, and this story, and everything you've written since, and I cannot wait to see your books on shelves. Because they're going to be, and I'll be first in line every time, camping out for midnight releases and reading until my eyes are sore.

And now you're probably rolling your eyes, wondering when I'll stop and if I'm just a little pile of oatmeal on the floor now (and basically I am, but that's beside the point). So, once more: This story is fantastic. Fantastic. And I refuse to ever hear you say different. I love you, and every single word above is the absolute truth.

FORILLZ, YO ~



Author's Response: BLEERRGGGHHH



Okay, so firstlies: You are awesome. You've read more of my writing than anyone else, ever. If anyone is familiar with my stuff, it's you. I think, actually, that you're more familiar with my style than I am because you tell me a lot that you see me in my work, and I go back and ogle the lines as if expecting to see a miniature version of myself waving back at me saying RIGHT HERE, HERE I AM, because I have difficulty seeing any of my stuff with any kind of perspective. That also makes me nervous because I recycle words/phrases like a boss and if anyone's able to recognize that, it's you. SO JUST PRETEND I NEVER DO THAT, OKAY. ♥

Also must commend you for finishing this whole thing, EVEN THOUGH YOU KNOW YOU DIDN'T HAVE TO, and God knows I tried to talk you out of it, but you plowed onward anyway, ignoring my rants and eye-rolling and fingernail-biting. You could have stopped midway, declaring that you would rather take a two day jog through a desert while drinking salt water than watch Nora and Sirius getthisclose and then break away all angsty-like, lamenting their inner woes and turmoils all while staring at each other lustfully, etc., barf.

SO, ROUND OF APPLAUSE, AHOY!

♥ You are the best, and I mean that.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Anonymous An Epilogue of Sorts

5th July 2012:
I was so sad when I finished the last Harry Potter book. This story made me feel like I was right back in the thick of things. I was so happy to be with my favorite characters again, and it was so interesting for the story to be told from a different character's point of view. In the JK Rowling version I felt Sirius's fate was so tragic, it was really just too sad for me to take. In this story by Toujours Padfoot, I got my happily ever after. Wish there was more at the end about Sirius being a great godfather to Harry, but still this was my favorite story ever after finishing the 7 books.

Author's Response: Hello there! This was my first fan fiction, so I had no prior experiences with creating an OC in a world of preexisting characters. It was interesting to view that world through Nora's eyes. And I agree, Sirius's ending was way too tragic; he got such a raw deal, spending so much of his life imprisoned only to escape and then have to hide out, and then be killed. D:

Yeah, by the end of this story I really just wanted to continue on to new stories, so I didn't delve much into Sirius's relationship with Harry. If I could rewrite the whole thing I think I would focus a lot more on that.

Wow, what an amazing compliment! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by horserider12 An Epilogue of Sorts

28th February 2012:
You wrote a thoughtful review on another author's story, so thought I'd read one from your collection. I'm very glad I did; loved it! This story was very well written and adored the character personalities. Especially liked the Nora/Severus relationship...the kiss was epic...both discovering their feelings were not love but could have been if their hearts didn't belong elsewhere...sigh. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As odd as this sounds, I like reading about Severus finding love after things didn't pan out with Lily, but when I write stories myself I have a hard time giving that to him. Unless I'm changing a lot of things about canon - Severus needing to protect Harry, in particular - then unfortunately I feel like he has to continue to love Lily until his death. It's a sad fate. :(

Thank you for reading. ^ ^ I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsBlack Sirius Black: Stalwart Gentleman

5th February 2012:
I am really sad thats its chapter 18 and theres been no kissing between Nora and Sirius!! Please hurry and get them together or something i'm getting impatient :D

Author's Response: Patience! Don't be sad, there are other things to focus on in the story besides a serious lack of kissing. lol, who knows, they might never get together.

~mysterious grin~

Hang in there, you might get rewarded for it in the end. ^ ^


 Report Review

Review #25, by AccioWriter An Epilogue of Sorts

29th January 2012:
I just finished reading this entire fanfic in roughly twelve hours.

All I can really say is I fricken love it and possibly you. :)

I'm usually really .. anal about sticking to the original Rowling plot, but I think the way you portrayed Sirius in this was amazing. And you're right, he deserved happiness after his crummy life. So, thank you. I am now much more open to the idea of reading fanfic that doesn't follow canon.

Anyways, thank you for the amazing story. I plan on reading more of your stuff today!

Author's Response: :O

I'm a huge hypocrite because more often than not, I prefer canon to alternate endings. But with certain characters, if they led lonely, miserable lives, I actually prefer AU. For instance, in one of my favorite fanfics on HPFF, Severus Snape is with an OC. When it comes to Sirius, I can only stand his life story to adhere to canon if the fic gives him unseen happiness earlier in life, to fill in the gaps and provide a happier, more fulfilled backstory.

Let me just pause for a minute and express gratitude that, first of all, you found this story at all. I imagine it would be buried in fanfic among the many Sirius/OC stories floating around out there, and as it was my very first foray into fanfiction, my feelings about it fluctuate constantly. I am very flattered that this story has opened you up to possibly accepting other fics that aren't canon compliant; that feels like I definitely did something right. I'm very pleased.

Oh my goodness, thank you! I do hope to see your name again somewhere around my page. I have another finished novel that follows the Hogwarts timeline very closely canon-wise; I also have a work in progress that's about as far from canon as you can get, since it's skewed to be told in the form of various fairy tales. I hope you enjoy whatever you choose to read, and thank you so much for stopping by and reading Curious Happenings at Number Twelve, and for taking the time to leave this lovely review. It really made my day. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>