267 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Penelope Inkwell xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

20th October 2014:
Whew. This was a big chapter, too.

So, all my questions of Rose's unresolved introspection were solved here. She was quite introspect-y.

I liked the thought that "good" isn't always the exact equivalent of "well behaved" and vice versa, especially since your behavior being in line with what an institution expects may not actually have anything to do with how moral said behavior is or isn't...if that makes sense. It's late, and my brain's a bit addled.

I like that we're getting a sense of the teachers being real people. It makes it easier to picture Rose and Holly being part of that crowd.

Aww, poor Lester. I really feel for him.

Interested to see how this last big prank turns out, and how Louis' turns out, as well. How can you combat Felix Felicis?

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #27, by Penelope Inkwell xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

19th October 2014:
Oh dear. Poor Rose. That's so difficult, and I'm very glad that they were willing to call in Holly.

Man, this chapter was packed. Rose was so casual about it last chapter, I didn't even realize it had been her first time. In fact, she seems quite blasé about the whole thing. Not that I assume it has to be on the same level of enormity for everyone, but she seems to barely even process it. Of course, maybe it already had her on edge, having such a big event happen and not really processing it? Maybe that's part of what led to her panic attack? Not that I'm suggesting that losing one's virginity leads to panic. Calmness or being emotional are both fair responses. But it could have put her in a more tenuous emotional state.

Then again, perhaps the two had nothing to do with one another. But I am surprised she didn't think about it more. Or maybe she did, and there was just so much in this chapter that it's slipped my mind. Because this one was really a rollercoaster. I feel like so much happened!

Six thousand galleons? Oh my goodness!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #28, by Penelope Inkwell xiv. the easter buns [or] don't leave me to my own devices

19th October 2014:
I really want to know what Professor Vector is going to make of Bunnygate (that's what I'm calling it in my head, anyway).

So, Rose and Alfie, huh? Well, I'm glad to see that Rose finally gets a bit of romance. Though my theory is that she'll end up with someone else. But we shall see. Alfie seems like a nice guy.

I'm sure they'd like to see the holidays stretch on forever--these poor kids need a break--but I am eagerly looking forward to what happens when everyone gets back.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #29, by Penelope Inkwell xiii. the smoking gun [or] i flew too close to the sun

19th October 2014:
Well, we know Rose can totally become a Potions mistress! She can obviously think on her feet. After all, she figured out a name and alternate explanation for the Valentine's prank on the spot, with Professor Vector and the teacher of the subject she wishes to one day take over staring at her. Plus, she's getting lots of thinking-outside-the-box experience from this scholarship.

I wish there had been a pranking scholarship back when I was in high school. We could have used something to liven things up a bit.

Favorite quotes:


-What happens in detention?”
-“I’ve heard stories,” Albus offers.

“You sort of have to royally [mess] up to lose your badge,” Scorpius points out. “My dad never lost his, and he tried to assassinate the Headmaster.”

If you need me – don’t. It’s Faculty Friday at the Three Broomsticks, and I want my half-price pint.”


--Penny

 Report Review

Review #30, by Penelope Inkwell xii. the art of love [or] nothing is sacred anymore

19th October 2014:
I'm so glad that they were concerned about consent and things going too far, because that's exactly the sort of thing that would have given me pause planning this kind of prank. And the Potion theory was clever, with the Hades/Persephone thing.

Hmm...I wonder what this whole Lara/Louis debacle will turn into.

The bit about this happening at Beauxbatons, too, struck me as really funny.

Favorite quotes:

“I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate Rose on her success,” Albus says, smirking. “And on the beautiful poet’s heart that lies within. May nobody ever awaken it again.”


“He did,” Albus confirms. “He always said he wouldn’t give it to me until I could say the words truthfully. So when I told him about the scholarship over Christmas, he said it was time I had it.”

--I just love this detail! I really do. I'm sure James couldn't be prouder.

Unfortunately, no refuge can be found from the hell known as Other People’s Love Lives.
--Girl, I feel you. This is a problem I have faced so often. There is no escape.


Great chapter!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #31, by Penelope Inkwell xi. the drawing board [or] my time to shine

19th October 2014:
Hermione's reaction to the Draught of the Living Death shortcuts--bwahahah! That was such a great detail to include.

I'm really looking forward to the themed pranks! That should be fun.

Aww. House Elves. I just love House Elves. They're like bunnies. Anytime there are Elves around, I'm smiling :D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #32, by Penelope Inkwell x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

19th October 2014:
Oh boy, mistletoe shenanigans. Good on them for shutting that down. I'm sure everyone was grateful.

Oh dear. Unresolved sexual tension with anyone? That does sound like a lot to handle, even if it does mean less mistletoe weirdness. Poor Rose.

Ohmygosh, James cracked me up! He was fantastic.

Favorite quotes:

“Apparently by about May all the professors are setting sleep hours instead of homework. Otherwise you just don’t.”
--I'm kind of resentful that none of my professors have ever done this. They should.

“It’s seventh year, nothing will be okay again.”

“That one looks like a book,” Hugo says, pointing. “And so does that one…and that one…that one too…this {} family,”

--This made me laugh, but I would love that!

Fun to see everyone. A very merry Christmas chapter! :D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #33, by Penelope Inkwell ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

19th October 2014:
Bahaha! Louis' singing, though it is too non-12+ for me to post in the review, is EXCELLENT!

And Holly is going to be a teacher! Hooray! (Although Vector seems like she'd make a much less cuddly Headmistress than Sprout. Oh, the poor troublemakers of the future!)

Favorite quotes:

“I wonder if he has any control over the genre,” Albus muses, twisting to face the Slytherin table. “Add a bit of soul, Louis!”

Holly dotes on her, Emma worships the ground Holly walks on, and Albus and I are left glaring at our detached and condescending younger siblings wondering what went wrong and whether we could ever pull off a quiet trade.


Very much enjoying this story!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #34, by Penelope Inkwell viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

19th October 2014:
Wow, so Emily didn't double-cross her. Or apparently did not. Is it just me, or am I getting the vibe that we're meant to ship those two? I could see it.

I loved what Emily said about Louis and Lucy not knowing what it's like to have to bury your heritage. I think that's a very realistic problem to have as a Slytherin. She was a well-drawn character in only one chapter, and I think you did a great job with her.


Favorite quote:
I can't pick a favorite quote. I can't even pick a couple I'm picking a whole section.

“You snogged my little sister?” Albus roars.

“Snog is a terrible word,” Lester says delicately. “I’m sure there are better ones…”

“Raine, have I ever told you how appropriate your middle name is?” Albus asks.

“What, Dante? Why – ?”

“Because you’re about to be dragged through the nine circles of hell.”

“Do I at least get a Latin poet as my guide – ”

Albus grabs Lester by the tie, jerking him forward so their noses are almost touching. “I am your Virgil,” he growls.

“This may be really inappropriate and a complete overshare,” Scorpius whispers to me, eyes glued to the scene, “But I am so turned on right now.”

I shove him away.

Albus releases Lester and the latter is cowering behind me in two short strides. “Mediate,” he says in a small voice. “For the love of God, mediate.”



--Oh my gosh, I'm dying! Everything about this is INSPIRED. The Inferno references. 'I am your Virgil. I can't. Bah!

You are brilliant.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #35, by Penelope Inkwell vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

19th October 2014:
Oh my gosh, I adore how geeky the Ravenclaws are! I want to be in on that conversation (I'm a Slytherin, myself, but it's a close call).

Personally, I'm not sure I trust Emily. Rose is supposed to show up after curfew, with no one knowing where she is? Sounds like a potential pranking situation, to me. But we can hope for the best.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #36, by Penelope Inkwell vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

19th October 2014:
You know, it probably is better for them to break some rules. It will make them much better at cutting their students some slack, and they'll be better able to connect with them.

This chapter had SO MANY BUNNIES! So obviously that made me happy.

I'm very interested to see the next few pranks, and the next few retaliations. Take those Slytherdors down!

Favorite quote:

“It’s exhilarating, isn’t it? I can feel the character development. We should write a novel.”

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #37, by Penelope Inkwell v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

19th October 2014:
Okay, this chapter actually put tears in my eyes. Like, eep! Feels! No, but when Scorpius was having his breakdown, it was just so...*sniffs* (no, literally, I sniffled while writing this) saaad. And then their parents' responses were just so in character and so great and I loved how you wrote Draco and how he obviously wasn't perfect and still had his hangups but he loved his son and that thing about the Malfoy name dying out and how he came to accept it and just...just...eep.

Deep breath.

It was very well done.

Favorite quotes:

"You know how the highest praise our teachers give you is that you’re like your mum? Or that Albus is like his dad? The highest praise they give me is that I’m not.”

“But we’re both anticipating the worst here, and if he’s incapacitated by his father’s crushing disappointment, he can’t help me cower from my father’s cold fury. Both tasks will therefore fall to you.”

“Though I always thought Scorp was more likely to be with Rose…heteronormativity makes fools of us all.”
--Bahaha. But really. It does. I've found that trying to avoid assuming that everyone's straight does wonders for keeping everyone out of awkward situations. Best to do your best to never assume.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #38, by Penelope Inkwell iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

19th October 2014:
Man, it is Ravenclaw coming-out week. Well, good for them! I'm glad to see the Enemy's idea of a prank fall flat--because really. But now they've got Felix Felicis. Dun dun DUN! Maybe Rose can figure out a potions trick to get them out of this mess?

Favorite quotes:

“We cuddle,” Albus says frostily.

“Go you guys,” I call, unsure on the protocols here. “Congrats on your love that we totally didn’t know anything about.”
--Bahahaha!

They kiss on the table long enough for a bunch of Hufflepuffs to figure out a spell to make confetti rain down on them.
--Aww. Those Hufflepuffs--so sweet. Way to be supportive, ya'll.

“It’s changing us,” Lester says in hushed, dramatic tones. “The scholarship. It’s changing us.”
--Maybe for the better?


Dude, I'm loving this! It's great!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #39, by Penelope Inkwell iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

19th October 2014:
Aw, the poor babies really haven't quite got their dramatic timing down yet, huh? Well, this will make it more interesting. Now it'll be all-out WAR!

Favorite Quotes:

"Louis finally managed to free himself from his curse and is now stalking through the Great Hall with the sleeves of his robes rolled up in case anyone forgot he has forearms."
--I love this. Because showing your arms is the perfect way to regain your macho-ness. Obviously.

"Holly gives him a strange look. 'Did you just say voluptuous?'
-I couldn’t think of the right word,' Lester says defensively. 'So I went for a synonym.'
-'You missed.'


“You realise you’ve just said your own name in that disparaging tone as well?”


Very good chapter! Your writing flows so well.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #40, by Penelope Inkwell ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

19th October 2014:
Hello again! This is great. 'My father didn't raise me properly'--Hah!

Also, good to see that Rose has already begun with a successful prank. And Louis really is hateful. I hope he loses his entire House's points (not for language. I'm actually rather terrible about cursing, mostly because people don't expect someone with my personality to do so, and it cracks me up). But the gay slurs--nuh uh. No sir. I say take 'em down!

Also, points for representation!

Favorite quotes:

-"'Does anyone have friends in either of those houses?'
-'Nobody in this room has any friends outside this room.'”

"'Five thousand Galleons,' we echo. We sound like a cult."


--Penny

 Report Review

Review #41, by Penelope Inkwell i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

19th October 2014:
Hello, hello! First of all, huge congratulations on your Dobby! I didn't get to read all the entries, so I hadn't gotten to this one yet, but I'm already seeing why it won. This is very well written, and your concept is brilliant! Absolutely brilliant. I am so curious to see what these crazy overachievers get up to :D

Favorite quote:

"'Anecdotes,' Albus says dreamily. 'No longer will I live in the storied shadow of James Sirius *flipping* Potter. We’ll be legends. We’ll eclipse him. We’ll eclipse his namesakes. We’ll come out of nowhere to take the prize of eternal shenanigan glory.'

'Eternal shenanigan glory,' Scorpius echoes."

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #42, by Yarn_spinner v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

14th October 2014:
This was a really well-written chapter (generally, the whole story is well-written). You have just the right amount of humour and drama to keep the reader entertained.

I think you portrayed Draco and Ginny's personalities perfectly. Somehow, I do not believe that Harry would be disappointed if Albus was gay. He has had to put up with being different and being treated differently all his life and knows what it feels like, so I think he would support diversity.

I am glad that you didn't turn Draco into a cold-hearted, self-pitying person. The fact that he has beaten alcoholism shows us that he is in fact very strong and self-disciplined (Although I would like to know why he stopped drinking). And the fact that he accepted his sons sexuality shows us that he is loving and tender. And since he came to tern with his past and realizes that he cannot change it and that some people may hate him for it yet he still carries on shows us that he is persevering.

I enjoyed reading this (and I nearly cried at the end. Keep on writing!

 Report Review

Review #43, by KjMalfoy xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

13th October 2014:
I loved this story! One of the best I've read in a long time! Keep writing! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Rainyday xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

13th October 2014:
Absolutely adored this whole book. I can't put into words the amount that I loved your writing and the characters. A unique and wonderful story, thankyou so much for sharing it with us xxx

 Report Review

Review #45, by sugarquill viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

12th October 2014:
Just wanted to say: "I am your Virgil"? Brilliant. I legitimately laughed aloud. :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Forever_More i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

28th September 2014:
Let me start off by saying I wasn't too sure about this story when I first found it (Going through the Dobby nominations because I actually want to vote this year, seeing as i only voted once since 2007) anyywaysss - Its flipping awesome! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #47, by kassandra466 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

30th August 2014:
Another brilliant chapter. I like the fact that Rose and Scorpius did not get head boy and girl. It makes things unique and realistic

 Report Review

Review #48, by kassandra466 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

30th August 2014:
That was stunning. I loved it. I was laughing my pants off. I adore your characters they have so much personality. Youre doing a flawless job and its only chapter one

 Report Review

Review #49, by dracodarlingxx xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

28th August 2014:
i already left a comment on this chapter so long ago o.O
but then i read the Iliad cos there were so many mentions of it in this story and it was on my list of 50 Book to Read before I Die, so i thought i might as well. and god, it was good :D
but i have the penguin's classic edition translated by robert fagles and the first line is : Rage - Goddess, sing the rage of Peleus' son Achilles, in contrast to the first line of the Iliad that scor's howler screams
but i guess the variation is just because it's a different translation right? sorry for asking, but i'm really just pretty curious :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by BookDinosaur xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

22nd August 2014:
Oh my god Louis that boy doesn't deserve to be at Hogwarts, I'm telling you. He has no idea. Does he even have any clue what that could have done to Lester? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I am legit so angry right now. >:-|

UGH ALBUS. Where on earth did he get the idea in his head that he wasn't good enough for Scorpius? And that he was the least of his family? Where on earth did he get that, it can't be something completely unfounded and it's much much bigger than the thing about subjects so why why why is he thinking like that? :(

Wah, when Al and Scorp are together they're witty and when they're apart it's just they're both so unstable and they need each other, it's as simple as that. :( And Scorp why oh why would you choose Alfie as your rebound guy?

BUT YAY AL AND SCORP MADE UP!! You are master at manipulating emotions, you know that? :P Gah, Al and Scorp got together again over old Greek epic poems, that's so sweet you are fast making them my OTP Lisa which you can't do because Jily. I am so confused right now. :P

And Alfie and Rose made up as well, so that's fun. :D

This chapter is almost all sunshine and rainbows except for that bit at the end - way, I really really hope Lester will be okay!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>