311 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Dumdum v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

2nd January 2015:
Wow that went well.
It's nice to see you seal with these circumstances with such realism.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you think so!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Dumdum iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

2nd January 2015:
Asexual, really?
This just gets better and better

Author's Response: i'm glad you appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Dumdum iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

2nd January 2015:
I'm liking Scorpius xD

Author's Response: i like scorpius too. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Dumdum ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

2nd January 2015:
Loved the chapter.
Sorry for the typo in the last review. I was impatient to continue reading.
Albus and Scorpius are a thing! Aww

Author's Response: thank you so much! and yes, albus and scorpius are my precious wee babies and i love them so much :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Dumdum i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

2nd January 2015:
Amazing first chapter.
I'm exoecting lots of fun and action in thee later ones considering the great storyline.
Good work :)

Author's Response: thank you, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Yazi xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

1st January 2015:
Wow. That's all I can say. I've wasted a whole 24 hours of my life reading this, but I can say that it was defintely worth it 😂

Author's Response: i'm glad it was worth a full 24 hours! thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by ralphiegirl iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

29th December 2014:
I LOVE YOU!!! You are the first author of any kind to have an ace character and I LOVE YOU FOR IT!!! And your writing is splendid and this idea is amazing and you are officially my favorite author!!

Author's Response: thank you so much! i'm ace myself so i had to include some ace representation in this story. i'm really glad you're enjoying it and thank you for that!

 Report Review

Review #33, by amortentiaandroses xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

27th December 2014:
I just finished reading your fic and I must say that I was completely blown away by how amazing it is. Firstly, I love the way you wrote the 'Claws, as well as their group. They just seem to be like the dream team. Your inclusion of LGBTQ students was really great to read about as not many authors include people who are in the LGBTQ community into their stories. I would like to applaud you on your writing about anxiety disorders. You handled the topic with respect and care and it was a wonderful insight into Rose, Scorpius and Lester's characters.
All in all I just want to say that you are an amazing writer, and just like the characters of your story, you will go on to do amazing things.

 Report Review

Review #34, by xelha horse ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

26th December 2014:
I am planning on finishing this today, and I love it already! Just wanted to say that I chuckled at this line, and I cannot wait to read more funny lines from you.
"Holly dotes on her, Emma worships the ground Holly walks on, and Albus and I are left glaring at our detached and condescending younger siblings wondering what went wrong and whether we could ever pull off a quiet trade."
Great work, Ravenclaw333!!

Author's Response: thanks so much! i love that line myself and i'm glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #35, by orderofthephoenix xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

24th December 2014:
Hi there! I've just finished reading this story on my Kindle and thought I'd leave a review. I enjoyed this story immensely, from the overall storyline to the individual developments of the five main characters. The group as a whole changed so much over the course of the year and a year of pranking did them well. As great as Rose, Albus, Scorpius, Holly and Lester were, I thought you did well with Emily too. The pranks that the students pulled were imaginative and original; I think the howler essays were my favourite.

I must commend you on your writing of the LGBTQ students at Hogwarts and the characters suffering from anxiety. I was surprised, but glad, to see an accepting Hogwarts where students weren't assumed to be straight and any sexuality was accepted. The scene where Rose had an anxiety attack in the staffroom brought tears to my eyes because the way you wrote it (from Rose's POV) felt so real and upsetting.

Congratulations on your achievement of winning a Dobby award. The list of winners was how I found this story and I'm very glad I did. I intend to read the sequel as well, but I will probably wait until it is completed as I prefer reading stories on this site that way.

A thorough well done on this story!

 Report Review

Review #36, by kenpo x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

19th December 2014:
Oh I love a good Weasley Christmas!! I enjoyed Scorpious in this chapter quite a bit. He's so inappropriate!!! I'm also still a huge fan of he and Albus.

I'm so addicted to this novel... The characters, their interactions, relationships, the plot, everything. I'm currently reading on my phone in bed, hoping the light of my phone doesn't wake my boyfriend up.

Great chapter!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #37, by kenpo ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

18th December 2014:
I'M SO HAPPY FOR HHOOH!!!

I don't know how to decide which of the parts of this chapter were my favorite.

I want to know what's up with Vector. I feel as if she can't have just been this oblivious, especially because she must know about the scholarship. So I'm thinking that mabe she knows about it, and she's supporting them because she wants them to succeed? You compared her to McGonagall, and that's something I can see her doing...

I don't know. I'll leave that for now. You know, I still don't know what's going on with the Felix, do I? TRICKY YOU!!!

I love Scorpius. He's so inappropriate. Oh my god. I also enjoyed the siblingness! I can see where Al is coming from, with Lily sort of encroaching on his territory, with his friend group. The banter in this chapter was just fantastic!!!

And then I also really enjoyed Hugo and Rose's little moment. It was nice. I'm looking forward to a Very Potter/Weasley Christmas!!

Another great chapter!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #38, by kenpo viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

18th December 2014:
Your characters are fantastic. I love that they find witty what they find witty.

I am your Virgil

Oh my god, and then Scorpius oversharing. I love him. I did miss HHOOH. Okay I loved when Scorpius is going through everything they know about who Lester kissed, and then he just says "Albus I think we've reached the same conclusion". I love them. I love these characters!!

And then I laughed when Rose said "Al look at your parents!"

Rose and Lorcan, huh? I'm guessing that we'll find more about that, yeah?

Aaksdfj this was another short review but like I've said about 100 times, I can't stop reading!!

 Report Review

Review #39, by kenpo vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

18th December 2014:
I think I love Holly Helen Oswin Oswald Holyoake a little bit more. Again. Is that possible? Probably. I mean, it must be. I do wonder, though, if I've hit the peak amount of love, or if there's still some room to grow...

I liked the cuddles. It makes me happy that they're all living together next year. Cuddles all of the time!!

This is really one of the best fics I've ever read.

I love the way that they're evolving. Before, pranks took planning, but now it's sort of "yeah we have these things, so obviously we're going to use them to prank. What else would we do?"

Should I feel bad for Lester? Does he feel like the fifth wheel? Rose always refers to Holly as her BFF, and then there's Albus and Scorpius, and then there's Lester. Or is he cool with where he is?

So yes yes I love it. This review is short but I really just want to get to the next chapter!!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #40, by kenpo v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

18th December 2014:
HOLY CRAP.

This chapter was the best so far, by far. Again.

I... I don't know where to start. I love the way that you're addressing anxiety, for starters. And good on them for being able to talk to each other about it, and for the lack of judgement and everything. It's so good to have a good group of friends when you're in that situation like that.

UGH but them publishing that story was just an awful thing to do! But I suppose it's actually a good thing, because now Scorpius and Albus are being open about their relationship with their parents?

I think it says a lot about the Pureblood mentality that what Malfoy thought about was the bloodline, and children. I also thought that the way you wrote Scorpius' response was brilliant.

Also, I'm proud of Scorpius for the way that he handled it! I'm proud that he went to History of Magic! I wish I could've been more like him when my anxiety made me miss something like 42 days of school my last year of high school.

I really loved this chapter, and I loved the way that you wrote it. I also think it's significant that Scorpius never told them about his Dad's problems. THat shows that people - even the people you're closest to - don't know all you're secrets.

Really moving chapter.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #41, by kenpo iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

18th December 2014:
So much in this chapter that I loved.

Scorbus. I loved their interaction at the beginning of the chapter ("We share a room with three other people!") I totally love it. And them having to get up early so that they're in separate beds... yay. So much yay. There's nothing like early morning cuddling before having to start your day! (I miss my boyfriend...)

Holly Helen Oswin Oswald Holyoake is getting better and better and I really think she's one of my favorite OC's ever. I feel bad that she has to teach Sexual Orientations 101.

One thing that I'm not sure about it is Sean and Louis would've known what asexuality is, other than on a biologic level (as in sexual vs asexual reproduction).

I love their shirts. They sound like me. And the spell YES I SERIOUSLY LOVE HER SO MUCH. I don't care that she's asexual, we can make it work.

Oh and I love how you had the school react. I can see that happening, and I can see it just being the most annoying thing that's ever happened to them. "AWWW GAY MEN ARE ADORABLE AWWW I WANT ONE OF THEM TO BE MY GAY BEST FRIEND! LOOK AT THOSE GAY PEOPLE THAT'S SO CUTE!"

Did you know that gay men only exist for straight women to gawk at?

Urgh. Sorry, you've clearly found a pet peeve of mine.

Another thing is that I'm not sure how well I feel like I know Rose yet. But that could very well just be because I'm obsessed with HHOOH and so for me she overshadows Rose.

I'm so anxious to know what The Enemy will do with the potions... are they just planning on framing them, or doing a prank after taking it? I MUST KNOW. I MUST READ ON.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #42, by kenpo iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

18th December 2014:
ALKSDFJ;ALDSKJ I haven't gotten past the first paragraph, because I already need to comment on how much I love it. "In case anyone forgot he had forearms" nearly had me in tears! Plus your characterization is amazing. I already feel like I'm getting to know your characters really well, and I'm only two inches into the third chapter. I can so see why this won a Dobby. I can see this being the type of fanfic that I want to write fanfanfic about.

KDJFALSDKJ And I love Vector.

Oh my god the idea of a prank to make Rosier think he's a muggleborn.

I think I'm in love with Holly and I also think think that that's the most perfect face claim that I've ever seen in my life, because I can totally see Holly just sitting around messing with Daleks while trying to make souffles. HOLLY HELEN OSWIN OSWALD HOLYOAKE. That's what I'm calling her now and there's probably not anything you can do to stop me.

Ahhh by the end of the chapter I think I love Holly Helen Oswin Oswald Holyoake a little bit more.

Everything is perfect. Again. And I don't have much else to say. Again. I just love how these characters interact. Usually when I read, in my head I just get sort of fuzzy pictures, but with this I'm getting full scenes with movement and everything. Ahhh I just totally love this and I can't wait to keep reading but I'm also hungry so I might need a break.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #43, by kenpo ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

18th December 2014:
AHHH THIS CHAPTER WAS EVEN BETTER.

I have a feeling that I'll be starting a lot of reviews that way...

Okay, so I don't know why, but I really loved the line about the optimistic bullet points... wait lemme actually go find it...
He scrawls The Enemy in big, spidery boy handwriting at the top of the parchment, makes an optimistic row of bullet points, and looks up expectantly.

There's so much going on in that line that I'm in love with. First, the way you sort of bluntly describe the handwriting. I love it. It was unexpected, but it worked so well because I can visualize it so well. And then the bullet points... I just really liked that. I'm not sure why, exactly...

I knew before reading this that you address sexuality, and I'm already loving the way that you're doing that. When you said "he thinks gay jokes are funny" or something, it just... did so much. You effectively made the fact that Al and Scorp are in a relationship (side-note: Scorbus yay!) the "normal" and the making fun of it the "not normal". And I'm pretty sure that they aren't the only characters who identify as something other than straight, but we don't know that yet, so you're also probably going to be challenging heteronormativity in the HP series which makes me happy! (I mean come on are we really supposed to believe that Luna doesn't believe in sexuality as a spectrum?)

SORRY. I GOT SIDE-TRACKED.

I love love love the interaction between everyone in The Order of the Raven. They're amazing. AND THE NAMES. I laughed. Actual laughter, not just breathing out your nose slightly heavier.

I'm cutting myself off of this review now because I'm so anxious to keep reading!!

 Report Review

Review #44, by kenpo i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

18th December 2014:
I have no idea have I've gone this long without reading this... I feel so... behind... and embarrassed. But I'm here now, and I'm in love.

Ah! This is brilliant, as I knew it would be. I might just read all of this in one sitting. I don't think I can do that. I'll probably be reading a good chunk of this tonight!

What I really like so far is that your writing is very conversational and easy to read, but it's also elegant and you can tell that you're a good writer. That's something I really struggle with, so I admire that a lot here already.

I can't wait to read more! I can't believe I haven't read this yet.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #45, by QkStephen xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

17th December 2014:
Honestly this has gotta be in my top 2 or 3 stories. I can't wait for the sequel because you really have something inspiring and cherishable here in this group of characters

 Report Review

Review #46, by N M T xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

14th December 2014:
This was awesome! I enjoyed reading it very much!

 Report Review

Review #47, by HEG ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

14th December 2014:
Hey there! I'm here for Molly Weasley's Mad Christmas Dash :)

First, I like how you write, and the plot seems very intriguing. I like the fact that you have taken a few characters, sensible, hard working-never-break-a-rule nerds and set them a challenge of basically completely going against their nature. You would think that a Gryffindor would win, or may a Slytherin - even a Hufflepuff, to be honest, as they are a lot less up tight than Ravenclaw. I think they will win though because I know for a fact that Ravenclaws are very determined people when they set their mind to something. I also have a feeling that they may hit a few problems on the way. I like how you have written this in Albus/Scorpius because I haven't really read much if these, though it seems like the story kind of hides it a bit. You have used a lot of dialogue in this and sometimes I lost track of who was speaking but that is OK because there was a clear plot throughout. And I just adore how they all echo "five thousand galleons". The "five thousand galleons" really seem to drive them on :)

Great so far!

-Missy

Author's Response: Hi! I'm not sure what the mad Christmas dash is but thanks anyway for the review!

I'm glad you appreciate the idea of this story and thank you for the other lovely comments, but I have to admit I'm stuck on what you said about Albus/Scorpius. This is only chapter two, and the depiction of them here reflects not only that, but the fact that the story is told from Rose's perspective and that the boys themselves are still very much in the closet. I hope, if you chose to read on, that you would see them and their relationship become much more prominent in the story. Queer representation and the visibility of queer characters and queer narratives is of utmost importance to me and is indeed a central theme of this story as a whole, and the thought that a queer relationship could come across as "hidden," even for two chapters, is concerning at best. I will definitely be going over these first two chapters again, because although the story is meant to be read as a whole, I would hate for any part of this story to leave the impression that it hides a queer relationship.


 Report Review

Review #48, by MWHAHAHAHAHA xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

11th December 2014:
THIS IS AMAZING! DUDE!!! I wish there was a sequel... :( I love, love, love all the effort you've put into this story and the awesome pranks - most certainly the last prank!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! As for the sequel - you must have missed my author's note at the end, but there most certainly is one, it's called Pending Further Investigation and it currently has 9 chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Elemir Clearwater xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

10th December 2014:
I had my doubts when I first started reading this fanfic, but found I just couldn't put it down! Wonderful work!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Sue Clover xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

10th December 2014:
But - but, but! They seemed so in love, just hours previously, what happened? I know Albus was upset, but what the heck happened!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>