343 Reviews Found

Review #26, by RavenclawDove ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

27th April 2015:
From what I have read so far this is a very interesting story, the plot, though there is not much of it, is quite good for a fanfiction. Most fanfiction are filled with mary sues yet I seem to find this one of the best fanfictions I have read.

 Report Review

Review #27, by knitting_goddess xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

26th April 2015:
Oh dear lord. You're an amazing writer! I feel a bit untrue to my Claw self as I have a master's thesis to finish and I've just read this entire story in one sitting... But that is definitely a compliment to you - your characters just jump out and live a life on their own, it's amazing, and just a tad enviable I must say. I'll need to check out more of your stories, but think I'll have to keep off HPFF for a few more weeks ;)

Again, I'm sure you've been told a million times, but keep up the good work! Your ability to deal with and balance sensitive topics, super-pranking and witty dialogue all in one story is really incredible :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by HermyLuna2 iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

22nd April 2015:
It's wonderful how you interweave descriptions such as for Holly, Albus and Lester here. The way you do it makes it interesting and never tiresome. The same goes for your dialogues, they are cute and witty and make the story very pleasant to read. 'Slytherindors' was a funny word invention. It's interesting how in this story, the Slytherins and Gryffindors are on better terms with each other and have turned twice as threatening together.

 Report Review

Review #29, by HermyLuna2 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

22nd April 2015:
“Nobody in this room has any friends outside this room.”
" Hahaha, that was hilarious. I like how you made George appear in this chapter. I wonder why Rose started pranking on her own, but I'm curious how this will end. I like that you introduced Louis and Sophie as 'enemies' here, it creates another conflict. I also really like how you included homosexuality in a casual way.

 Report Review

Review #30, by HermyLuna2 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

22nd April 2015:
Oh, this is well-written, original and absolutely HILARIOUS! I simply love the idea and I'm really curious what the hell they are going to come up with.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Arabellay xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

18th April 2015:
OH wow.
That's so great.
Dorky Claws :')
I've loved this, keep up the great work, you deserve every ounce of praise you get, it really is just fabulous!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Arabellay xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

18th April 2015:
Oh shaiza oh shizaki oh kentucky fried chicken oh flippity flappity flop
NO NONONONONoasdjflssdjf;sdjf;lasdj

 Report Review

Review #33, by dude xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

14th April 2015:
This story is AMAZING! Definitely one of the best fanfics I've read by far. You are a genius yourself!!

 Report Review

Review #34, by TheHeirOfSlytherin iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

21st March 2015:
Macho Manly Louis Weasley. What a title. I wish this was real just so I could see him try to salvage his reputation. :P

Professor Vector seems like one terrifying woman. I wouldn't want to cross her at all, I'd be doing exactly what Rose and Scorpius did and I'm a Slytherin. Except the bow. Oh, my God. I can't believe he actually bowed. Hahaha!!!

Then again, it is, as he so kindly pointed out, high treason. ;)

The big, dramatic reveal probably would have been big and dramatic if they'd waited till the end of the year... or until they were discovered. Then again, I would have laughed even harder if the response was still Cool. Who's for gobstones?

The Corruption of Holly Holyoake: The title of the Order of the Raven's memoir. ;)

Potions is her kingdom... just saying that has jinxed it. After talking about their pride, you just know now that Louis is going to hit her in Potions.

Ooh, and as much as I hate to say it, he got her good. To actually bring about at least the beginning of what looks like a panic attack, though. I'll hit Louis for her. *nods*

I can't wait to see Holly's idea now. It bet it'll be good.


 Report Review

Review #35, by TheHeirOfSlytherin ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

21st March 2015:

(Its like a cannonball in a swimming pool, got actions and everything.)

I digress. Five thousand galleons. For that amount of money, I'd disregard my whole set of principles... work/school-wise anyway. People would revere my pranking as much as people will no doubt revere this group's. Because they're Ravenclaws, I imagine they'll be smart enough to not only be creative but step things up a notch. Once they get over the whole rule breaking part. :P

"Five thousand galleon," we echo. We sound like a cult. - But a cool one, with Game of Thrones references and weird names and Scorpius Malfoy (because he's a whole other league of awesome).

Throwing Ron under the bus. For shame. :P

Haha! I love how George sounds so serious about the scholarship and pranking. I wouldn't expect it any other way.

Ooh, what's her plan?

Okay. I won't lie. Louis is one of my favorite characters in the Next-Gen world and in my headcanon, so making him the bad guy really got me in the feels the first time I read this. I'm hoping I'm better prepared this second time around. But he's just come into it and I'm already making sad faces. BUT he's an interesting bad guy, I even want to hurt him for the first time ever.

HAHA! Pygmy puffs. Such an awesome prank.


First strike from the Order of the Raven. Good luck, guys! :D


P.S. My reviews are bound to get weirder from here. I apologize in advance. :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by dumbledore_wannabe xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

16th March 2015:
Just... wonderful! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

7th March 2015:
I am crying tears of joy.

 Report Review

Review #38, by toomanycurls i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

2nd March 2015:
I'm *finally* giving this a proper read. I'm on my phone so I probably won't stop every chapter. I've never heard of a legit internship where someone has to pay. Training, sure, but people do work in an internship and are usually paid (or they're not but they typically don't pay for the pleasure of going grunt work). Love the intro and how you're writing everyone

 Report Review

Review #39, by happyanon xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

1st March 2015:
I've passed by this fanfic for such a long time and I am hitting myself because I only read it now. I loved it. I love them all. I have no other words for them aside from it. I cant even comprehend one. They are amazing and i wish I had the same set of friends. I love them. And Emily oh emily.. i cried so much after the twin thing was revealed. I hope she has a bright future. Im off to read the sequel

 Report Review

Review #40, by hogwartsgirlsrule vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

20th February 2015:
I have to say, I LOVE the debate with the discussion of Alexandria. It's so realistic and geeky...I can absolutely see my friends and I having that sort of discussion. This is a fantastic fanfic so far. Definitely deserved the Dobby. Congrats!

 Report Review

Review #41, by BellaLestrange87 iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

15th February 2015:
Hi Lisa! This is a phone review so I'm sorry if it's shorter than usual or if there are any typos.

I love all your pranks! They're so creative and I keep wondering how you can come up with ones that fit the poor character's personality without getting old.

Albus and Scorpius' coming out was awesome. I think you wrote it in the best way possible (again, total noob). I love the fact that everyone was really supportive and cheering.

The Quidditch prank on The Enemy was amazing and made me laugh. For some reason, humiliating people publicly, furing something important, is very entertaining. I guess I must be cruel bu enjoying the pain of The Enemy. And the fact that their retaliation attempt was completely unsuccessful made me happy.

Sexual orientations 101... I feel like that is a class that will need to be taught at some point, judging by the fact that she had to explain what asexuality is. (I hope I phrased that right - I wasn't sure.)

I love the ending - I can't help but know that the poor group is going to be subjected to something terrible and I want to know what.


 Report Review

Review #42, by BellaLestrange87 iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

7th February 2015:
Hi Lisa! This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I love how Professor Vector obviously doesn't know that they're the Order of the Raven. Of course, nobody would be expecting them to chase after the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship (since they could probably all win a normal one easily) so they're the last suspects on the list. Heck, they're not even on the suspect list, which I think is going to ensure for general hilarity to come. And since we know that they're behind it, the sight of them solemnly promising to stop the Order of the Raven (while actually doing no such thing) made me laugh.

Louis is also a, umm, not very nice person to girls (trying to keep this appropriate here). I HATE HIM EVEN MORE. How can he get even worse? You're going to publicly humiliate him again, right? But I love the fact that his ex isn't moping about after him and wishes that she could've pulled something more malevolent on him. And then the reveal! I think that Ravenclaw house didn't see the prank as the start of the five's yearning for the FWMS, instead regarding it as inter-family pranking. That explains their reaction of "That's nice."

And I love how they're preparing for retaliation by bickering. Of course Louis is a snake; he fits all the horrible Slytherin stereotypes perfectly. Why on earth did she let her guard down? I have a feeling that something horrible is going to happen in Potions. There have been too many incidents in the books of exploded cauldrons causing hospital wing trips for me to suspect otherwise.

Well, to be honest, that prank was a lot less violent than I thought. I thought that Louis would've enchanted the cauldron to blow up or something, although I suppose having to hand in a T-worthy potion would embarrass a Next-Gen-era Snape.

I love how Albus is one of the ones with a acerbic wit. With all the sarcastic lines Harry has in the books, it's so hard not to write him that way - even my Lily can sometimes be a walking container of sass. And Holly's mention that Albus and Lester would probably end up publicly humiliating Louis again made me smile. Friends sticking up for friends - I think Louis is outnumbered here.

I really do need to catch up, but I want to review every chapter, and reviews for me take approximately a half-hour to write, so it might take a while. (And because I want Blue to win in BvB, I have to get my timing right and catch you.)


 Report Review

Review #43, by TheHeirOfSlytherin i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

1st February 2015:
I'm finally here and I've never been more excited in my entire life. Dobby, recommendations, this story has been so hyped up I actually can't remember why I didn't reds it before now, but already I am not disappointed.

I know it's only the start, but I love these people. I just do. You already get a sense of who they are as people just by the different ways they come into Rose's. I can't wait to know more about them.

I love the beginning. Ron is just awesome. I kind of got the feeling Hermione would want him to shut up for a reason, given the name of the scholarship, but it just go so. Much better as I read on.


I'll be back! :)


Author's Response: heya! thanks so much for the review and i hope this lives up to your expectations! the more popular and well-known it gets the more i worry it will stop living up to its reputation, but so far so good it seems (knock on wood).

these characters jumped into my mind almost fully-formed and sometimes it surprises even me that i had such a clear sense of who they were right from the word go. i can't even claim credit for that, i just got really lucky.

i hope you keep enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #44, by HappyMollyWeasley x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

1st February 2015:
Another great chapter! There is nothing like a Weasley Christmas, and you do it justice here! It's just as fluffy and sweet as it should be! James is a darling, so is Nana Weasley! A hand-knitted sweater is the icing on the cake.

The Potions book was a really good idea, I liked that very much! :-)

A small detail which didn't make sense was that the sunrise was far to early. Midwinter days are short, I guess the sun isn't up until 8 am in December. ;-)

The conversation about the scholarship between Rose and her father is wonderful! I love the idea of Ron thinking that Rose needs to have more fun! That was in character! :-)


Author's Response: thank you! i really love the idea of weasley christmases - writing them is just my happy place and i love that i was able to capture that sweet fluffiness that goes hand in hand with it.

omg, i didn't even think of that! i managed to make the mental switch in my brain for northern hemisphere christmas = cold but completely forgot that winter means, you know, shorter days. thank you for pointing that out!

i really liked that little moment as well. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Kate iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

1st February 2015:
This is fantastic! Love the idea, wonderfully carried off

Author's Response: thank you so much, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by eunoia xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

31st January 2015:

I am not the best reviewer in the world so forgive me for not reviewing every chapter. This story was so wonderfully addicting that I just wanted to keep reading! If I ever reread this story (which will probably happen at some point), I'll do better!

I love this story. It was one of the most enjoyable fanfics I've read in a long time. The idea of George having a scholarship to honor Fred is inspired. Obviously George would want Fred to be remembered and what better way to do that then to encourage future Hogwarts pranksters? It's perfect really.

I adore the characterization throughout. From Ron and Hermione in the first chapter to Emily's complexity, they're all just so well done. I especially loved the five main characters. They're each so unique, intelligent and awesome in their own right. I really liked how you portrayed their friendship. They're all so close and the way they support and help each other is so awesome, it's the kind of friendship you'd be envious of not being apart of. Also, the diversity in their sexuality was so refreshing. I liked how their sexuality was written as part of who they are but it doesn't completely define them.

I have to mention Albus and Scorpius. Those two I can't even... To be honest I never thought I'd ship them (I was always more of a Scorpius/Rose kinda girl) but oh I did, I shipped them so hard. I love their dynamic, the way their conversations would sometimes go off topic often had me smiling, they're just so funny and adorable! When they broke up I was heartbroken for the both of them, especially when Albus told Rose the reason why. I could relate, insecurity is tough to deal with in a relationship... But I was so happy when they got together again!

Finally, the way you portrayed Rose, Scorpius and Lester's anxiety was very well done. I have anxiety myself and I thought you handled it really well. Their various panic attacks throughout the story were really well written.

I could go on, but I'm rambling! I'll definitely be back to read Pending Further Investigation! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by HappyMollyWeasley ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

29th January 2015:
Albus and Lily. Just adorable! :-)

Author's Response: i'm a real sucker for sibling bonding. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by HappyMollyWeasley viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

29th January 2015:
This is really a good story! All the characters are very well-written, and there's something new happening all the time.

I love how your characters are not all straight cis-persons, and that you manage to mention this in passing without letting that be the main focus of the story.

Emily.? Can she be trusted?!

I can't wait for their next prank! :-)


Author's Response: thank you so much, i'm glad you're enjoying it! it's always been important to me to have effective lgbtqa representation in my stories without making it the be all and end all of their identities or their stories. and emily's a very complex character, i'll give her that. thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #49, by BellaLestrange87 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

29th January 2015:
Hi Lisa! I'm back for the next of the reviews I promised three days ago! I took too long to return, and I'm currently in between semesters so I can't even use schoolwork as an excuse. Ummm. I was procrastinating on finishing my chapter?

I love this idea of pranking, first of all. And yes, I'm fully aware that pranking was probably going to be part of the story (Fred Weasley Memorial makes it sort of obvious). I love how they know that if they start pranking their cousins, they'll have to be on the watch. And the fact that they realize they wouldn't be safe anywhere, but still want to try. (Besides, since McGonagall was able to enter the Ravenclaw common room in Deathly Hallows, anybody who can solve riddles could get in. On another note, guess which Claw hates riddles and would end up camping outside the knocker? Yeah. Me.) Five thousand Galleons is a personality-altering amount of money, it seems.

Love their bantering about names. I have to agree, wizard names suck. But Rose Nymphadora! YES TONKS GOT ACKNOWLEDGED. That makes me happy. I can see her, hair turning red, snarling "Don't call me Nymphadora". So... Rose Tonks Weasley? I can also see Ron and Hermione laughing as they named Rose, remembering Tonks and how she hated her first name.

Nobody in this room has any friends outside this room. Hehehe I feel kind of bad for laughing.

Scorpius as Head Boy? I have to admit, that's not something I've seen before, but my reading list is limited (despite the fact it has like 250 fics on it, waiting to be read. It's still limited.) to either one-shots, romances, nextgens where they've graduated, and AUs.

I think you have a typo here - whingeing - which I think should be whining.

Love their banter in general. And yes, Albus being mistaken for Scorpius would be saying something, since (assuming they both look like their fathers) Harry and Draco are something like complete physical opposites. Sort of.

Uncle George sounds shocked that Rose of all people is in the store. But also knowing. And I love how she says the default defence seems to be "blame Dad".

Ugh I hate Louis already. From the sound of him, he seems to have picked up Fleur's worst traits. Bleurgh. (Whatever that sound is. It's supposed to be one of disgust. Homophobia is not tolerated.)

On another note, I'm glad you waited to announce that Albus and Scorpius were together, and didn't give it a whole lot of fanfare, just mentioning it in passing. I have to admit that I'm a complete noob with writing LGBTQA characters (which I'd like to change at some point) but I'm happy that you didn't start the novel by saying "This is Albus and this is Scorpius. They're both gay and dating each other." (That imaginary opening made me cringe.)

And that prank was awesome. I'm sitting here giggling nonstop and I'm very happy I'm not at school right now because if I was everyone would think I was crazy. I wonder if Scorpius used it as an excuse to get ahead in the House Cup? Winning the scholarship AND the House Cup would make for a wonderful year, I think.

Even at this point it's readily apparent why you have that Dobby award ribbon on your banner. Hopefully by the time I finish reading (and reviewing) this there'll be more chapters of Pending Further Investigation for me to catch up on? *is hopeful*


Author's Response: hey olivia! it's great to see you back, and it's absolutely fine that it took you longer than expected - this review was definitely worth the wait!

this story was always going to be about pranking, but the realities of getting a bunch of overachieving claws to actually do said pranking is where the fun happens. five thousand galleons is definitely a personality-altering amount of money (i spent a lot of time on wizarding currency converters thanks to the hp lexicon and it is. it's a lot of money. i'd alter my personality for five thousand galleons). and i'd be joining you camped outside the knocker because i'm terrible at riddles too. we'd have snacks. it'd be a party

YES it seemed like rose and hugo escaped the whole 'we turned our children into walking memorials to the war dead' fate of most of their peers but i reckon they'd probably have a middle name commemorating someone and i couldn't let tonks go unrecognised because she's the best

you shouldn't feel bad for laughing. these guys are my babies and i laugh every time i think about it because they DON'T

for some reason i always make scorpius a head boy (well, i use 'always' loosely, but i definitely make him a high achiever of some description in every story i've written).but he definitely fits the role in this story

i did typo that word, it should be whinging though, not whining (i looked it up and its use is mostly restricted to australia/new zealand/britain, so that might explain why you don't recognise it? it just means obnoxious complaining. picture small children)

i had to pay homage to the weasleys' endlessly ripping on each other because george and ron are still brothers even if they're meant to be responsible adults, and rose knows how to take advantage of that

louis is the worst. he starts out as the worst and then somehow he gets even worse. it's almost impressive

that would be an awful opening. lgbtqa representation is a major part of this story and very important to me, but it's not a major plot point at any time, because it's important to me to normalise other sexual identities as much as possible. this is a story about dorks who happen to be queer trying to prank people, not dorks being queer. and you should definitely give writing lgbtqa characters a go because you have at least one reader right here with a vested interest in the subject

i'm glad you enjoy the pranks as well! that was by far the most challenging part of writing this story - i'm about as familiar with the art of pranking as the order of the raven, so their struggles with coming up with ideas (and their pride when they do) are entirely authentic.

thank you so much for this review, and i eagerly await hearing from you again! (and hopefully i'll have a new chapter of PFI up for you in the next few days!)

 Report Review

Review #50, by BellaLestrange87 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

26th January 2015:

I saw your status about answering all your unanswered reviews. Because I'm a horrible person, I immediately decided to come to this story and leave more reviews. When I should be sleeping. Yeah, I definitely need to sort out my priorities. :p

I'm going to say first off that I LOVE the idea of George setting up a scholarship in Fred's name. Considering how close they were, he would probably want some way to remember his brother without bringing stabs of pain every time he thought of Fred, and helping future troublemakers find their way in the world is an excellent way to do so. And I love how Hermione is trying to keep her daughter on the mature approach by urging her to tune out Ron.

A teaching course run by the Ministry? It makes me happy to hear that, and also a bit hopeful that it's a recent establishment and not one that was around when Harry was in school. (If it was, look at part of its distinguished list of graduates: Gilderoy Lockhart and Dolores Umbridge. I should probably hope.)

I love how the scholarship seems to be taboo in the house! (And the fact that Rose is feigning innocence of it makes me laugh.) It's sort of similar to how the Dursleys won't let anyone say the word magic in their house, thinking that it's horrible.

Everyone's enthusiasm for the scholarship was a lot of fun to read - especially considering they seemed to have automatically assumed they would get it, without even stopping to think. Then, of course, they read the terms and conditions - which made me laugh; I don't think I've seen a better descriptor of what Fred and George did at Hogwarts - and realized just what they had to do to get that money.

And the fact that they want to use the money for normal things was, for me, nice. I've heard too many stories of people who win the lottery or something and blow it in a few months. I love how Albus and Scorpius would like to move in together, using some of the prize Galleons, even though their houses are "literally made of money". (That is an awesome line, by the way.) I think it's a great depiction of teenagers: they want to be independent, and independent means not having to owl Mom and Dad for money.

I honestly don't know how they didn't realize just what they'll have to do. It's the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship. By the sound of it, these characters would be more suited to the Percy Weasley Scholarship: for respectable students who have a spotless record and have no idea how to prank.

Yesyesyes I think I love these guys even more! They're so much like me I can sympathize with them. Those hedonistic Gryffindors can laugh all they want, but at the end of the day we achieve things. Between the five of us we only got two Exceeds Expectations in OWL year – Lester for Herbology and Holly for Astronomy – with everything else Outstanding. Revenge is sweet. And Scorpius's line: "Life is not a coming-of-age novel.” Is it just me, or does this seem to be a coming-of-age novel? Did you do this intentionally?

Love the Game of Thrones references. And the fact that they don't know who Umbridge is. I'm sure they could ask one of the Trio for details. Long story short, I loved this chapter, and I'll be back for more reviews tomorrow, since it's 12:30 AM here, I need to sleep, and I have an exam tomorrow.


Author's Response: I have to say this tripped me up a bit because I'm answering everything from most recent so it's a little less daunting and i refreshed the page and went "wait what i haven't seen this one before" but congratulations you're going to get the fastest review response in my author history

also there's literally nothing wrong with your priorities your priorities are perfect and i have ulterior motives.

i honestly don't even know what sparked the idea for a fred weasley memorial scholarship because it sort of jumped fully-formed into my head but yeah george weasley in my mind is the ultimate benevolent uncle who insists on corrupting other people's children while also helping them, and this is the only kind of scholarship that he'd want to put fred's name to

the teaching course is definitely a recent establishment (i reckon mcgonagall pushed for it) and also definitely in response to the string of awful teachers Hogwarts had seen in its recent history

They're very financially motivated, that bunch - and they're at the right age where they want independence - not just to move out of home but to also not rely on help from their parents. and of course they're used to excelling at everything they do, so they saw "scholarship" and went "yep that's us"

they'd win a percy weasley scholarship hands down, but that wouldn't make for a very fun story.

yeah. yeah that was a very deliberate line. this is definitely a coming-of-age novel. meta jokes are just the tip of the terrible-joke iceberg in this story

Go to bed. and good luck on your exam, and thanks so much for the detailed review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>