Reading Reviews for The Thinkery
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #26, by scarletsphinx I Am Potter

13th December 2011:
This story idea is so creative, I'm really enjoying it :) I also can't wait to find out who the other student from Hogwarts is! This chapter was extra funny too, I love Lily's character. Update soon please!!

 Report Review

Review #27, by ZiggyPotter And So It Begins

22nd November 2011:
Hurry up and submit a new chapter, I'll be eagerly waiting

 Report Review

Review #28, by jellylegs2066 And So It Begins

9th November 2011:
I love this story! It's really unique and a great read. Your spelling and grammar is excellent; I haven't found any typos or anything to call you up on :) Your characterisation of Lily and the other characters is fantastic, particularly their interactions with each other- I love Hugo especially. The idea of a wizard university in Greece with students from all around the world is brilliant. Your module names- ahh, so good! I sort of want to study them :D What will they do when they have the Voldemort studies and realise who Lily's Dad is? It did made me chuckle with the "Harry Potter who?"- the one time someone doesn't know her Dad, they would know her Mum! I'm really loving this, and can't wait to read more soon.
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you're enjoying it! I'm definitely a grammar geek, so any mistakes you find in my writing are likely to be typos. I'm glad you like the premise of the story - and I want to study those courses as well. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Leela And So It Begins

5th November 2011:
"Listening to Professor Accardi describe the course, it slowly begins to dawn on me that Im actually going to have to work this year. I hadnt counted on that."

Hah! Yes, aren't we all like that...

I was wondering when she'd be recognized. And it's hilarious that Luke knows Ginny, but not Harry. Though, plausible, of course.

This sounds like so much fun! Hogwarts 2.0. or something along those lines...

Thanks for writing. This is really good stuff ;)

Author's Response: Thanks again for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Leela European University of Sorcery

5th November 2011:
Love it. Lily's great. And I like her new friends. And the letters at the start of the chapter. Hugo sounds hilarious!
The campus, the university as a whole, the courses... that's just incredible. It's sounds so good! Also, nice coming up with all the course topics.
This is so good. I love reading it

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Catherine And So It Begins

5th November 2011:
Hehehe. Interesting! I'd love to read more ;) I love how Lily is "Ginny Potter's daughter"--can't wait for the Volemort / Death Eaters / Britain class :) Grazie! (itatian "thanks"-- my recent pet phrase)

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you're enjoying it and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by mrs_remus_john_lupin Directionless Losers

5th November 2011:
Oh I'm looking forward to this...

WO!!!

p.s I'm greek ;)

should explain why im so excited

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, hope you liked the rest of it!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Leela First Impressions

5th November 2011:
This is brilliant. Quirky, different, nicely done! I like the way you write, the characters, the humour,...

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're checking out some of my other work :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Danae First Impressions

4th November 2011:
I like the story so much!
I am from Greece myself, so I'm excited that someone writes a story about being in Greece:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not from Greece (I've only been there once) so I hope I'm writing it realistically :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by nitenel First Impressions

18th October 2011:
I'm very impressed! You took the whole "exchange student" idea and warped it. Instead of a (dare I say?) cliche, you made something entirely new.

10/10 and a plea for an update!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this review! I've been feeling quite discouraged about this story and the reception it's gotten, but you've just inspired me to keep updating it, so thank you! I'll have another chapter up in a couple of weeks :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by padfoot88 First Impressions

17th September 2011:
Haha loved the ending, so glad Lilly is making friends! Can't wait to see where this goes :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you keep reading, next chapter should be up in a few weeks :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by enchantedx Departure

16th August 2011:
Ohh, just saw this story and it looks great. I haven't read so many stories about Lily Potter(Harrys daughter) so this shall be intrestning... :) How's her guy going to be like? Really excited xD

Author's Response: Thank you! I think the Next Gens tend to focus more on Rose, and I wanted to write a super-awesome Lily :P I'm glad you're excited, I hope you keep reading updates when they come! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by cati2011 Directionless Losers

21st July 2011:
seems interesting it is really good

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Singularity Directionless Losers

21st July 2011:
RC Triple 3! I haven't read your stories in ages! About time I remedied that.

I immediately was pulled into the story from the first line. It's so realistic. I remember well the days of graduating high school (and then again when I graduated college) and everyone kept asking me what I was going to do. Even though you know they mean well, it's highly frustrating. The last thing you need at that point is another person pointing out that you have no clue what you want to do with your life :P

I love the bit with Lily going to see James and freaking out that she doesn't want to become like him :) I also love that she just randomly decides to go to university without knowing anything about it (like the location :P)

I think my two favorite lines were definitely:

"Im going to the European University of Sorcery in Athens to do a Bachelor in Wizarding Studies, I reply crisply, before sauntering into the kitchen and reflecting on how cool that sounded."

Because that's so realistic! I remember when I could finally announce where I was going to school, and I thought it sounded super impressive :P


Also:

Im still a directionless loser, I assure him. Ill just be a directionless loser in Greece.

Because this is realistic as well :) And it made me lol :)

I'm pretty excited to see this school. I think you've set it up nicely.

Author's Response: Haha yay! Feel free to keep reading my stories, there's probably a lot of new material floating around the place :P And RC Triple 3! How I've missed being called that :P
I'm glad you could relate to that! I'm preparing to leave school myself, so I'm writing from experience and it's good to know it's working :P
I've had my share of those "I gotta do something or I'll end up like you" moments as well, it's an amazing motivator. I mean honestly, I've seen my brother's flat. 'Nuff said.
It does sound impressive, doesn't it? I do exactly the same thing, and I'm glad other people can relate to it as well! In fact, the whole 'this is realistic' thing has just made my day :P Wait till you see EUS (European University of Sorcery, if I haven't used that abbreviation yet :P) I'm quite a fan of it. I would so go there.
Thanks again for the review, you've made me a very happy camper!


 Report Review

Review #40, by bedella Directionless Losers

21st July 2011:
hi there! I saw your post on the forums...so I thought I'd drop by to see if it was as bad as someone made it out to be.

It is.

JK JK! I was only pulling your leg. It actually isn't bad at all, and it would be great if you continued on with it. I really like your characterization of Albus and Hugo isn't as much of a blob as he is in other stories.

I liked the dialogue. I seemed witty and funny, which the story is. I've never heard of a Greek University, but it cracked me up when Lily was like "just because you didn't go to college doesn't mean I can't!" I never thought of it that way and it made me smile.

I hope you post more soon. And one more thing, would it really be considered overseas if England and Greece aren't seas apart? Hmmm :p

Author's Response: Haha thank you, I definitely appreciate the review! You've just made me feel a hundred times better about this story :) I thought Al and Hugo tend to get a bit of a bad rap in some fanfics, and I really wanted to make Hugo cool :P Wait till you read some later chapters, he has dreadlocks. And I'm glad you enjoyed the dialogue and that it fitted with the story, because that's exactly the kind of tone I was going for :) I will definitely be posting more (though I'm not sure how soon because I've got 5 stories on the go, so it's about 5 rounds of the queue before the next one) And the UK is on an island on its lonesome, so technically it is overseas, though they're both part of the European Union.
I think. If it's wrong, don't blame me, I don't live there :P


 Report Review

Review #41, by The Claw of Raven Directionless Losers

20th July 2011:
This is a pretty good start. I like that you mimicked situations from our world in the Potter-verse (i.e. going away to college after high school). I also enjoy reading something lighter on here; it's unique for sure. However, it seems a little predictable where it is heading. I would like to see something unexpected happen in the coming chapters. Also, be careful with your verb tenses. You wrote mainly in past tense but sometimes you switched to present tense. Consistency is the key! Dialogue can add to stories but in your case I thought it sometimes detracted from where your story was going. I would try to avoid long conversations where each person responds with a short rebuttal. It's very disruptive to the flow of your story. Good luck on the rest!

Author's Response: Hi, sorry my style wasn't to your taste. Thanks for reading though :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>