Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
147 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Snapdragons Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Hope you're not too homesick right now! :) Coming from a girl who's very much attached to her home, I could totally see where Adelaide was coming from - I get homesick sometimes.

(Actually, the other day, I was visiting my aunt and even as we were on the bus ride coming home, I couldn't help but smile as soon as we entered my city. There's just something about your hometown/country, isn't there?)

Your description of Marlborough made me smile, by the way. :) (My city likes to make fun of all the other ones that aren't fortunate to be us.)

Obviously the Brits cry a lot more than we do. Oh, Henry. ♥

I thought this chapter was super sweet - I'm not surprised that she was homesick, but I thought that she dealt with it in a very Adelaide way. The singing in the bathroom made me smile! And Henry. HENRY!

Excited to see what happens on her birthday! Loved this chapter - sweet and definitely smile inducing. Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #52, by Bluestreakspirit The Formal

2nd January 2012:
This chapter made me think that I am very glad to be a girl; I can claim to be old-fashioned and wait for a boy to ask me out instead of the other way around! Not that women should not do the asking, I understand that we totally can and yada yada. But Corwin, especially, was the best. :) "'She *is* my girl problem.'" Ella&Corwin are adorable!

Mr. McMahon and Miss Compton are super coolio. B) Yeah. Sunglasses.

In response to your note, I usually like Rose&Scorpius, too, but Georgia and Scorpius is fine. A bit strained--long-distance--but cute, nonetheless.

 Report Review

Review #53, by Toystool Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Awesome! Definitely looking forward to the next chapter! Also I must say it is really funny reading about New Zealand Heritage and stuff. A girl in my class is part New Zealander (is that right?), but I don't talk to her much. I had no idea that there are tribes. And again, great story so far!

Author's Response: New Zealander encompasses a lot of things - Was she born in NZ, are her parents from NZ or is she part Maori? There are Maori tribes, and it's an important part of Maori heritage as to what tribe they're from, but non-Maori New Zealanders don't have anything like that. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #54, by Bluestreakspirit D-Day

2nd January 2012:
Random: why does everyone call Josh by his full name?

So, Henry and Addie, huh? I knew it. This should be interesting. I like Henry; he seems sweet.

Keep up the fantasmicness! xo - Cat

 Report Review

Review #55, by Bluestreakspirit The Grass Is Always Greener

2nd January 2012:
I am liking Henry. (And, apparently, so is Addie... ;) heheh) Miss Crompton is so cool! And my favorite line from this chapter was Georgia's, "'Oh, chuck it here?'" when she left her wand at her desk. Nonchalant. Very Georgia. By the way, her name reminds me of the classic (American, guessing you don't know of it) Nancy Drew books! Georgia, best friend, total tomboy, goes by George. Yeah. So, anyways, nice work! -Cat

 Report Review

Review #56, by Bluestreakspirit Defence Against the Dark Arts

2nd January 2012:
Oh, Mr. McMahon. He's awesome. And I can just see Rose going, "the Cruciatus Curse," all matter-of-fact. Scorpius's boggart surprised me a bit. And the bit about Georgia and licenses made me giggle. Nice work! -Cat

 Report Review

Review #57, by Bluestreakspirit Old School

2nd January 2012:
Well. New Zealand sounds like a pretty happy place, there, doesn't it? Sweet and nice and ... peaceful! It's like it's cut off from the rest of the world. Old-school purebloods? Pfft, what is that? Interesting.

 Report Review

Review #58, by Bluestreakspirit The Hogwarts Kids

2nd January 2012:
Hahaha I love your characterization of the teachers! :) Great job.

Author's Response: Our teachers are actually like that. Jealous? :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #59, by Bluestreakspirit Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
Wow, I didn't understand half of this; I'm American. But it is still totally cool! I like being able to combine 3 fantabulous things: reading a great story, reading something related (remotely) to Harry Potter, and learning about cool foreign places! Believe me, I now know enough British slang to last me a lifetime. But I know almost nothing of New Zealand. This is interesting! (Although, it wouldn't hurt if you possibly explained some things in your ANs.) I didn't even know people from New Zealand were called Kiwis! (How bad is that?) Useful information, I tell you. Anywho, keep up with the great story! Happy new year! xo - Cat

Author's Response: I know some of the references do get a bit lost on overseas readers - but my MTA is wide open if you have any questions :) I'm glad this story's introducing you to some NZ culture, I love showing off my country :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #60, by hippogriffs_unite Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
This story is cool as. Keep writing, probably my favourite ever! I love the references to Aotearoa :) gosh this is how I felt when I was living Australia, singing Poi E all the time.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it! Nothing like a good bit of Kiwiana :)

 Report Review

Review #61, by FWHPObsessed Homesick

1st January 2012:
Awww, I love this story! Half because it's set in New Zealand and everything makes sense to me and half because Adelaide is such a typical Kiwi girl and I can really relate to her.

My only problem (if I may say so) is your chapter length. I always get really excited when I see you've got a new chapter up, but then it always seems to end so quickly... Just a thought I guess...

Lovely chapter! I can't wait for the next ;DDD

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I love writing it for the same reasons :)
I'm always like that with my chapter lengths - I average around 1500 words, which is a lot shorter than other writers on the archive, I know. But that's mainly due to my large number of WIPs and wanting to update them all relatively quickly - maybe my chapters will be a bit longer once I finish some of my stories. Thanks for the review, next chapter shouldn't be too far away :)


 Report Review

Review #62, by choufleur Homesick

1st January 2012:
Ahhh, poor Adelaide. Being homesick's no fun :(, been there, done that...blah blah blah.
Great chapter, nice to see another side - Hogwarts isn't all fun and games all the time!
Ahaha, Scorpius crying for his mummy!
I have to admit, the Kiwi culture stuff is slightly lost on me though!
Write more soon please :)

Author's Response: I did have to include a chapter like this - nobody goes overseas for a long time without feeling a bit homesick. I don't know where Scorpius crying for his mummy came from exactly, but I kind of like the idea.
This was a particularly cruel chapter for my overseas readers, I'm sorry :P I had to throw in a whole lot of references that wouldn't make sense to anyone outside NZ (though apparently some of them are known in Australia) but hopefully the references I can't explain will be few and far between. Next chapter will hopefully be up in a few days, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #63, by Essie Homesick

1st January 2012:
I loved the reference to the drink driving ad, it's insanely popular in Australia! "puzzle time!" I have watched it so many times. I really enjoyed this chapter, having gone on a 6 week exchange myself I could relate to what poor Adelaide was feeling like!

Author's Response: It's popular in Australia? Seriously? Wow. Dude. -mind blown- I've been using it in Japan to showcase Kiwi culture :P This chapter is lifted straight out of personal experience (I'm overseas at the moment, so I may as well put my homesickness to good use - I haven't been singing in any toilets though:P) Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #64, by littlemisssnape Homesick

1st January 2012:
Lovely chapter. Sorry that I keep reviewing, I'm just really enjoying your story. One question: is the story going to end when Adelaide and Henry go back to NZ? I don't want it to end soon. Please write loads more!

Author's Response: Sorry that you keep reviewing?? Don't apologise for that, it's fantastic! The story will end quite soon, but never fear, a sequel is in the works! Thanks for the reviews and keep them coming for later chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by littlemisssnape Classes

29th December 2011:
My god I am always so excited when I see that you have updated. This is one of my favorite stories on here! Keep it up! And I find finding out thing about NZ very interesting!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it so much, and that you love all the little snippets about NZ, I love to showcase my country :P

 Report Review

Review #66, by NextGenna14 Classes

26th December 2011:
I love this story! Update soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #67, by Snapdragons Classes

26th December 2011:
On the contrary, I loved the references to wildlife! :) I know I've said this before, but that's one of the reasons why I love this story. It makes it so much more fun to read and draws me in even more.

"Wearing My Uniform With Pride wasn't a school policy anyone followed very much". Ahhh, reminded me of my own old school uniform... I have no love lost for that thing. -shudders-

"That's seven lessons in one day. Seven. We only have five back home. Good Lord this country's out to kill me." ♥ Oh, Adelaide. (for the record though, I can sympathize. My school schedule's really wonky and we have a different number of classes each day... on the long days I swear I feel like crying.)

Professor Rutherford! YAYS. I love how the Rutherfords show up everywhere. It's fabulous. (Also, I started reading Train Wreck - don't remember if I said this in a review yet or not - and so that made me even more excited. Also, prod me if I haven't reviewed that in a reasonable amount of time.)

"When you live in a country thatís gone through two wizarding wars in fifty years, you take DADA a lot more seriously." this. Personally, I think I'd prefer NZ... Britain would be much more frightening! :P

And then we get to hear about wandlore and animals and oh, the Ravenclaw in me was very very pleased. ♥ I love reading about wandlore... I thought everything was explained really well, and I totally bought it.

An excellent job and I loved it as always! Completely interesting and enthralling and basically this story is all around fabulous. :)

Author's Response: I could have sworn I replied to you before I went to camp, but obviously not :P But I definitely read it and it made me very happy, as your reviews never fail to do. I don't really have words to describe how amazing they are, and I always look forward to hearing from you when I put up a new chapter :) Anyway.

The NZ references will probably be increasing dramatically now that I'm overseas and kind of missing home and kind of wanting to talk about NZ as much as possible :P

I actually liked my old school uniform. Does that make me weird? It was actually kinda nice. Actually the main reason was that we had senior skirts in our last two years and everyone knew we were important and had AUTHORITEH.

Adelaide is fantastic. I swear she gets cooler every chapter. I kinda want her for a best friend. I think she's more Kiwi than me.

I love PUTTING the Rutherfords everywhere. Honestly, you think you love them...I have the life stories of all of them written out. Like, the names of the Rutherford kids' great grandparents and how old Athena is when she dies. If you ever want extra details about the Rutherfords, drop by my MTA or PM me. I love them.

Wandlore and animals, yes. I don't know where that came from, other than a brief moment of "Hey, Adelaide wouldn't have a British wand. What cool endemic species can it be made of? That could be a conversation starter." I didn't really visualise it would end up as such an extensive piece :P

Thank you so much for the review, seriously :)


 Report Review

Review #68, by TheImaginator International Relations

16th December 2011:
Yep, this chapter was good. Too short, but still good. I had to go and read the final chapter because I'd forgotten what had happened between Henry and Adelaide. I love the Kiwi-isms that still pop up, and why kick a moo cow- I laughed so hard at that. And at the Beehive. Which sort of came out of nowhere. I can't really see the connection between Hufflepuff and bees, though...
Good chapter, and update soon.

 Report Review

Review #69, by littlemisssnape International Relations

15th December 2011:
This is just such a good story. I was literally jumping up and down with excitement when I saw you've updated it! Please update soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I'm sorry this latest update took so long! I'm scary busy at the moment, but with any luck the next chapter won't be as far away :)

 Report Review

Review #70, by ChristinaAmy International Relations

14th December 2011:
this story is really cool. I just realized that her last name is the street I live on. I love how you bring in a lot of NZ culture. Really cool. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #71, by stickyfingers International Relations

14th December 2011:
I'M APART OF NGAI TAHU ashfdjkl.

I think. But this is a great story. :3

Author's Response: Yay for local references! Glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #72, by FWHPObsessed International Relations

14th December 2011:
So I'm just going to go with short and sweet. I liked this chapter. Talking about New Zealand was awesome and you seem to have a whole lot of background on the Wizarding World there it's great (: Henry was awkward, but it almost sounds like he's interested ;D which is cute (:

Looking forward to your next update!! :D

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! I'm really enjoying all this NZ background stuff - everything I couldn't really put into the Southern Cross-set chapters. Interesting thoughts about Henry! Updates are going to be a bit sporadic at the moment, but hopefully I won't make you wait a month again! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #73, by Snapdragons Gryffies

1st December 2011:
More things about the two cultures here - that's always interesting and I love how you've managed to really illustrate this setting that isn't used in ff. (Also, forgot to mention this in last chapter, but building off of that - I love how you make things original, like making the rivalry between Gryffindor and Claws!)

This chapter had lots of great little lines - "'I give only philosophical direction," the knocker replies loftily." "Oh my God,' I shout, throwing my hands in the air, 'You're related to half of Hogwarts.' 'Yeah, I am,' Rose agrees calmly."


"It's also full of sheep.Ē' I pause. 'And immigrants.' Way to sound racist. 'And, uh, political incorrectness," I continued."
♥ ♥

And good Lord. Aristotle Macmillan. There are no words.

I love how in Southern Cross, the houses aren't mirrors of the Hogwarts one - the one most "Slytherin like" was founded by a Ravenclaw and is purple, not green.

And, oh yay, awkwardness! :P Oh dear.

Lovely chapter! Also, heard that you're a TA now? :D Does this mean lots and lots of Southern Cross? Please? haha :) Lovely job! I enjoyed this chapter.

Author's Response: Yay! Originality! I love originality! Can you tell?

The philosophical direction one is quite possibly my favourite line in the entire story. I'm glad you liked it :)

ARISTOTLE MACMILLAN. I CAN'T BELIEVE MY BRAIN THOUGHT OF THAT. IT WAS A TOSS UP BETWEEN ARISTOTLE AND ARISTOPHANES.

I couldn't do a Hogwarts mirror. NZ is way too cool for that.

I am a TA, but unfortunately I've come to the end of my prewritten chapters and what with finishing exams, writing my other I-don't-even'want-to-count-how-many WIPs and preparing to go overseas on Tuesday, I haven't been able to write any more of this story for some time. But be patient, I will try and update when I can! Thanks for the lovely review as always :)


 Report Review

Review #74, by Snapdragons Orientation

1st December 2011:
Hi! ♥ So November is over and I am officially catching up with my reviewing, starting with this! I read the chapters in between word sprints, but I didn't get the chance to review, so here I am!

(during the time in which I was writing -coughprocrastinatingcough- I also started reading some of your other stories, so I might be reviewing those soon too!)

There is so much I love about this chapter that I don't know where to begin! First - I love Lucy. Half the people at this school have famous parents. Incidentally, half of us are also related. Case in point. You've made all of them really fun to read and well characterized! I love Larissa already. So. much.

Neville is a total ba. I LOVE NEVILLE! And wait wait wait stop the presses. Rutherford? Emilia? Do I sense some correlation to Train Wreck? (see, I told you I'd started reading some of your others!) I feel like Sherlock Holmes. (well, maybe Watson.)

And eep! She told Henry she likes him! Well, I'm looking forward to seeing how that unfolds! ;)

Lovely chapter as usual - rereading this I realized how much I love this! Cheerful and chill and really wonderful. YAY I'm so glad I have time to R&R again! ♥

Author's Response: I'm glad to see you back! Your reviews are always so lovely to read :) And I hope to see some on my other stories as well :)

I did have fun introducing those new characters, I'm glad you like them :P Larissa is cool. I like her too :P

Oh yes! Correlation indeed! I love the Rutherfords, ergo, they show up everywhere. Well, maybe not everywhere, but in a few of my stories. (And I'm also reading Sherlock Holmes at the moment and fangirling over the BBC series, so you get extra cool points for that reference.)

I'm glad you're back reading, and that you enjoy this story so much :)


 Report Review

Review #75, by Free_Rhapsody Home. Apparently where my heart is.

24th November 2011:
Just because I adore this story, I'd thought I'd start with reviewing the first chapter, because being irrational, I previously only reviewed random ones :)

This is honestly fantastic. I love all the NZ references (Kakapos!) and the way it's all so subtly tied together. It's such a clever idea, having a school of Magic in NZ, and you've really brought it to life, what with the Placing Pounamu and the house founders being the first missionaries to New Zealand (correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to recall Pompallier being a Bishop of some sort, at any rate, when I visited Russell grounds there was the Pompallier House.) *Scurries off to research* Yes! I have indeed had a tour of the Pompallier house, 'twas fantastic! I really appreciate the research you've put into this story, in thoroughly creating an intricate and meaningful background to Southern Cross, and the New Zealand magical community as a whole. I especially love the kakapos, how on earth do they deliver mail, being flightless? I suppose they just waddle extremely fast :P
Dislike Anna intensely, perhaps just because she's the quintessential plastic airhead, which, oh so unfortunately, we seem to have a lot of these days.
In short, this story is fantastic and I fully intend on placing more reviews :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>