Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
161 Reviews Found

Review #51, by megpeg101 Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
That was a great ending to a lovely story. It wasn't overly-dramatized or anything and it was a good read.
I hope to see the sequel in the near future.

p.s. the end was so cute. :) I love Adelaide and Henry together.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :) First chapter of the sequel should be hitting the archives as soon as I've finished one of my other WIPs, so early February at the latest :)

 Report Review

Review #52, by BlameItOnTheNargles  Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
Awww that was such a cute ending! I can't believe your story is now over!
PLEASE DO A SEQUEL!
Anyway I love your story and think its amazing! =D I love Adelaide and Henry they are so cute together!!!
I would love a one-shot in Henrys point of view so we could see what he thought about Adelaide in the beginning and all that XD
Anyway great story!

~BlameItOnTheNargles

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it :) I am planning a sequel, but I'm also not planning to start it until I get another one or two of my WIPs out of my hair :P Ooh, a one shot is a cool idea :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #53, by FWHPObsessed First Dates

5th January 2012:
LIKE!! Yera-yah. Whart aa Kiwilishious chaopter! Yoi shure had me grinning the wghole time! Lobed it! ;DDdD

Author's Response: Kiwilishious? That's an interesting word :P Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #54, by Snapdragons First Dates

5th January 2012:
brb dying. ACK HENRY WHY ARE YOU SO PERFECT ♥ ♥ This chapter made me seriously giddy. Giddy with glee, I tell you! eek. I don't know exactly what it was, but this was lovely!

I'll admit that I don't know much about rugby (oh, America) but I did find this really easy to follow along and, more importantly, felt the excitement that the World Cup brought. I was seriously excited haha!

I liked how Nice Guy Henry had to step aside to make room for Rugby Cup Henry. ;) Sports are a world of their own...

"Nope," Henry says firmly, to a chorus of "oohs" and "you're sleeping on the couch tonights" from the Kiwis and some more applause from the South Africans. "But I'm not really complaining about the result of it." ♥ I love Henry. Have I mentioned that? I really, really love Henry.

I think this was just about the sweetest first date in the world and totally worked for who they were and gah. The perfect chapter to read after an icky day, so thank you!

Author's Response: I actually really enjoyed this chapter as well, I've been looking forward to writing it for a long time :P
I honestly feel like I've corrupted a whole lot of overseas people into being interested in rugby. Evil, evil Kiwi. I'm terrible.
Rugby Henry was a fun change, I found :P I think his South African-ness really had a chance to shine in this chapter :P He is a very cool character. I like him a lot.
I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I hope it made your icky day a bit better :) Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #55, by littlemisssnape First Dates

5th January 2012:
Lovely loveyl lovely chapter again! And Henry and Adelaide kissed! This is so great! I am looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it, and I'm hoping to have the next chapter up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #56, by Toystool First Dates

5th January 2012:
I know vaguely of rugby, but have never actually seen a game being played, or know how to play it. I must say though that reading the game being played, I felt like I was actually watching it. And just so you know -coming from someone who knows next to 0% about rugby- I didn't find it hard to follow at all. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Oh jolly good! I'm glad you found it easy to follow, and that it felt like you were actually watching the game - that's an awesome compliment :P Normally I don't like rugby, but it's amazing what a World Cup and being away from home will do to you :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #57, by choufleur First Dates

5th January 2012:
Lucky Adelaide - at least she's in a country that is obsessed by Rugby for the World Cup. RUGBY DOESN'T EXIST IN BRAZIL.
I saw not one single match, I was so upset.
Trying to explain it to Brazilians: "umm, it's like American Football, but for real men..."
You get the atmosphere exactly right, and their kiss was brilliant! Loved Henry's cheesy line too.
And another coincidence (I'm practically Addie over here) - I made a mango pavlova here the other day. Apart from double cream doesn't really exist either. But oh well, I liked it!

Author's Response: Oh believe me, I was bemoaning my country's obsession with rugby all during the World Cup - until the final three games NZ played in, when I joined in with cheering and yelling as loud as anyone else in the country :P
"It's like American Football, but for real men." That is honestly the best comment I've ever heard in a review. Go you.
YOU HAD A PAV. I AM SO JELLY. I can't even remember the last time I had one. Le sigh...
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #58, by kayley Homesick

3rd January 2012:
I just want to say this is honestly one of the greatest fan fics i've read. I'm from New Zealand too and it's great having all these kiwi refrences that are funny and interesting.
Keep up the great work :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you're enjoying it, I love throwing Kiwi references everywhere :)

 Report Review

Review #59, by Bluestreakspirit Homesick

3rd January 2012:
Oh. My. Gosh. I am still red from embarrassment for Adelaide! She was SINGING. And Henry WALKED IN ON HER. Oh my giddy great grandmother, that is so embarrassing, I would have died.

"...I miss Ella even though she's a Jafa and *nobody knows what a Jafa is here.*" Umm...what is a Jafa? And I can't figure out these darn accents; it's driving me insane! What the frick does South African sound like? And Maori? I think New Zealand is sort of--forgive me for saying his, but it's my only comparison--Australian/British, right?

I totally did not understand the "ghost chips" part and the "Monique says you're dumb" part until I read the author's note. I feel so ignorant. I'm gonna Google that ad right now.

Scorpius CRIED for his "mummy." Ohmygosh, I almost died.

When Henry said, "'I like it when you smile, Adelaide,'" I was ready to jump on my bed from happiness! And then he practically asked her out for her birthday! Aww :) He is such a sweetie.

Update soon, please! Well, actually, scratch that; here's why: I would rather wait a little while for a nice long chapter (like, over 3,000 words). So, see you whenever! -Cat :)

Author's Response: Seriously, drop by my MTA or shoot me a PM on the forums if there's anything you're not understanding. I love explaining such things (and because I'm overseas now I'm super keen to talk all things NZ, so be sure to ask!)

If you're Googling the ad, you'll know pretty soon what a Maori accent sounds like :P And I'm sure you can find examples of a typical Kiwi accent and a South African one - the Internet is a wonderful place! If it helps, most of the rest of the world can't tell a Kiwi and an Aussie accent apart, but we certainly can :P A common rule is that to us, Aussies sound like they say "Feesh and cheeps" and to the Aussies, we say "Fush and chups" (apparently) for fish and chips. I hope that doesn't confuse you any more :P

There's Nice Guy Henry again! I really am a fan of him, and wait till you see what's happening in the next chapter! I hope the significance won't be too lost on you, but I'll do my best :P And it should be a longer chapter, I hope, with any luck...:P Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #60, by Bluestreakspirit International Relations

3rd January 2012:
"What? Competition? Play it cool, Adelaide. Pretend you didn’t notice. Shrug it off, overanalyze later. Good plan. 'What do you mean, competition?'" Awk-ward... Oh Addie, you're hilarious.

What does "Waikikamukau" mean? I looked it up, but it didn't make much sense. (Stupid Google.)

The school systems are confusing to me, but that's probably because I'm American. Oh, well.

Author's Response: Waikikamukau is a place in NZ that's pronounced why-kick-a-moo-cow.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #61, by Bluestreakspirit Gryffies

3rd January 2012:
I love Addie's "listing" approach to describing New Zealand. It was marvalous.

Author's Response: Glad you appreciated it!

 Report Review

Review #62, by Bluestreakspirit Orientation

3rd January 2012:
I definitely like Larissa. Calling Adelaide a Kiwi, telling her she can't pronounce anything, and saying she's cooler than Australians. Win.

"Even Britain’s nerds are nerdier than ours. I need to tell Ella to up her game." hahaha :)

"'You like...' '…South Africans.'" FACEPALM MOMENT. I was so embarrassed for the both of them. Ohmygod. Whatwasshethinking??
"I bet ‘Gryffindor’ is a synonym for ‘stupid.’" Me, too. "'Me and my sister are the only South Africans at Southern Cross.' 'I like boys.'" This just got 462992570221134 times more awkward.

Author's Response: Larissa is rad.

And Adelaide is supremely awkward and I apologise for her supreme awkwardness. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #63, by Bluestreakspirit Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

3rd January 2012:
Oh, Hugo. "Hugo and I have to buy cauldrons, me because I don’t own one and never have, and Hugo because he melted his last one in Potions last year. He says this with some degree of pride, and I decide I like this kid." I like him, too. :)

Sightseeing in London was a good idea.

Ultimate epic quote of awesomeness: "'Ohmygod, you talk.'" To the sorting hat. Wow. Hahaha :) But, poo, why is Henry a stupid Hufflepuff? They're separated! Their love will die! Nooo!

Anywho. On to the next one. xo - Cat

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

 Report Review

Review #64, by unicorn D-Day

2nd January 2012:
I'd be lying if I told you this story doesn't make me laugh and smile like a loon.

Author's Response: YUS! Life goal accomplished! :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by Snapdragons Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Hope you're not too homesick right now! :) Coming from a girl who's very much attached to her home, I could totally see where Adelaide was coming from - I get homesick sometimes.

(Actually, the other day, I was visiting my aunt and even as we were on the bus ride coming home, I couldn't help but smile as soon as we entered my city. There's just something about your hometown/country, isn't there?)

Your description of Marlborough made me smile, by the way. :) (My city likes to make fun of all the other ones that aren't fortunate to be us.)

Obviously the Brits cry a lot more than we do. Oh, Henry. ♥

I thought this chapter was super sweet - I'm not surprised that she was homesick, but I thought that she dealt with it in a very Adelaide way. The singing in the bathroom made me smile! And Henry. HENRY!

Excited to see what happens on her birthday! Loved this chapter - sweet and definitely smile inducing. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I definitely was feeling the homesickness writing this, which probably came out in the chapter - nothing like authenticity, I suppose? Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #66, by Bluestreakspirit The Formal

2nd January 2012:
This chapter made me think that I am very glad to be a girl; I can claim to be old-fashioned and wait for a boy to ask me out instead of the other way around! Not that women should not do the asking, I understand that we totally can and yada yada. But Corwin, especially, was the best. :) "'She *is* my girl problem.'" Ella&Corwin are adorable!

Mr. McMahon and Miss Compton are super coolio. B) Yeah. Sunglasses.

In response to your note, I usually like Rose&Scorpius, too, but Georgia and Scorpius is fine. A bit strained--long-distance--but cute, nonetheless.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying the story, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #67, by Toystool Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Awesome! Definitely looking forward to the next chapter! Also I must say it is really funny reading about New Zealand Heritage and stuff. A girl in my class is part New Zealander (is that right?), but I don't talk to her much. I had no idea that there are tribes. And again, great story so far!

Author's Response: New Zealander encompasses a lot of things - Was she born in NZ, are her parents from NZ or is she part Maori? There are Maori tribes, and it's an important part of Maori heritage as to what tribe they're from, but non-Maori New Zealanders don't have anything like that. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #68, by Bluestreakspirit D-Day

2nd January 2012:
Random: why does everyone call Josh by his full name?

So, Henry and Addie, huh? I knew it. This should be interesting. I like Henry; he seems sweet.

Keep up the fantasmicness! xo - Cat

Author's Response: Thanks! Everyone calls Josh by his full name because they just do. It's a thing. Idk. Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #69, by Bluestreakspirit The Grass Is Always Greener

2nd January 2012:
I am liking Henry. (And, apparently, so is Addie... ;) heheh) Miss Crompton is so cool! And my favorite line from this chapter was Georgia's, "'Oh, chuck it here?'" when she left her wand at her desk. Nonchalant. Very Georgia. By the way, her name reminds me of the classic (American, guessing you don't know of it) Nancy Drew books! Georgia, best friend, total tomboy, goes by George. Yeah. So, anyways, nice work! -Cat

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #70, by Bluestreakspirit Defence Against the Dark Arts

2nd January 2012:
Oh, Mr. McMahon. He's awesome. And I can just see Rose going, "the Cruciatus Curse," all matter-of-fact. Scorpius's boggart surprised me a bit. And the bit about Georgia and licenses made me giggle. Nice work! -Cat

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #71, by Bluestreakspirit Old School

2nd January 2012:
Well. New Zealand sounds like a pretty happy place, there, doesn't it? Sweet and nice and ... peaceful! It's like it's cut off from the rest of the world. Old-school purebloods? Pfft, what is that? Interesting.

Author's Response: It is pretty rad here, I have to admit. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #72, by Bluestreakspirit The Hogwarts Kids

2nd January 2012:
Hahaha I love your characterization of the teachers! :) Great job.

Author's Response: Our teachers are actually like that. Jealous? :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #73, by Bluestreakspirit Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
Wow, I didn't understand half of this; I'm American. But it is still totally cool! I like being able to combine 3 fantabulous things: reading a great story, reading something related (remotely) to Harry Potter, and learning about cool foreign places! Believe me, I now know enough British slang to last me a lifetime. But I know almost nothing of New Zealand. This is interesting! (Although, it wouldn't hurt if you possibly explained some things in your ANs.) I didn't even know people from New Zealand were called Kiwis! (How bad is that?) Useful information, I tell you. Anywho, keep up with the great story! Happy new year! xo - Cat

Author's Response: I know some of the references do get a bit lost on overseas readers - but my MTA is wide open if you have any questions :) I'm glad this story's introducing you to some NZ culture, I love showing off my country :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #74, by hippogriffs_unite Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
This story is cool as. Keep writing, probably my favourite ever! I love the references to Aotearoa :) gosh this is how I felt when I was living Australia, singing Poi E all the time.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it! Nothing like a good bit of Kiwiana :)

 Report Review

Review #75, by FWHPObsessed Homesick

1st January 2012:
Awww, I love this story! Half because it's set in New Zealand and everything makes sense to me and half because Adelaide is such a typical Kiwi girl and I can really relate to her.

My only problem (if I may say so) is your chapter length. I always get really excited when I see you've got a new chapter up, but then it always seems to end so quickly... Just a thought I guess...

Lovely chapter! I can't wait for the next ;DDD

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I love writing it for the same reasons :)
I'm always like that with my chapter lengths - I average around 1500 words, which is a lot shorter than other writers on the archive, I know. But that's mainly due to my large number of WIPs and wanting to update them all relatively quickly - maybe my chapters will be a bit longer once I finish some of my stories. Thanks for the review, next chapter shouldn't be too far away :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>