Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
154 Reviews Found

Review #51, by kayley Homesick

3rd January 2012:
I just want to say this is honestly one of the greatest fan fics i've read. I'm from New Zealand too and it's great having all these kiwi refrences that are funny and interesting.
Keep up the great work :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you're enjoying it, I love throwing Kiwi references everywhere :)

 Report Review

Review #52, by Bluestreakspirit Homesick

3rd January 2012:
Oh. My. Gosh. I am still red from embarrassment for Adelaide! She was SINGING. And Henry WALKED IN ON HER. Oh my giddy great grandmother, that is so embarrassing, I would have died.

"...I miss Ella even though she's a Jafa and *nobody knows what a Jafa is here.*" Umm...what is a Jafa? And I can't figure out these darn accents; it's driving me insane! What the frick does South African sound like? And Maori? I think New Zealand is sort of--forgive me for saying his, but it's my only comparison--Australian/British, right?

I totally did not understand the "ghost chips" part and the "Monique says you're dumb" part until I read the author's note. I feel so ignorant. I'm gonna Google that ad right now.

Scorpius CRIED for his "mummy." Ohmygosh, I almost died.

When Henry said, "'I like it when you smile, Adelaide,'" I was ready to jump on my bed from happiness! And then he practically asked her out for her birthday! Aww :) He is such a sweetie.

Update soon, please! Well, actually, scratch that; here's why: I would rather wait a little while for a nice long chapter (like, over 3,000 words). So, see you whenever! -Cat :)

Author's Response: Seriously, drop by my MTA or shoot me a PM on the forums if there's anything you're not understanding. I love explaining such things (and because I'm overseas now I'm super keen to talk all things NZ, so be sure to ask!)

If you're Googling the ad, you'll know pretty soon what a Maori accent sounds like :P And I'm sure you can find examples of a typical Kiwi accent and a South African one - the Internet is a wonderful place! If it helps, most of the rest of the world can't tell a Kiwi and an Aussie accent apart, but we certainly can :P A common rule is that to us, Aussies sound like they say "Feesh and cheeps" and to the Aussies, we say "Fush and chups" (apparently) for fish and chips. I hope that doesn't confuse you any more :P

There's Nice Guy Henry again! I really am a fan of him, and wait till you see what's happening in the next chapter! I hope the significance won't be too lost on you, but I'll do my best :P And it should be a longer chapter, I hope, with any luck...:P Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #53, by Bluestreakspirit International Relations

3rd January 2012:
"What? Competition? Play it cool, Adelaide. Pretend you didn’t notice. Shrug it off, overanalyze later. Good plan. 'What do you mean, competition?'" Awk-ward... Oh Addie, you're hilarious.

What does "Waikikamukau" mean? I looked it up, but it didn't make much sense. (Stupid Google.)

The school systems are confusing to me, but that's probably because I'm American. Oh, well.

Author's Response: Waikikamukau is a place in NZ that's pronounced why-kick-a-moo-cow.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #54, by Bluestreakspirit Gryffies

3rd January 2012:
I love Addie's "listing" approach to describing New Zealand. It was marvalous.

Author's Response: Glad you appreciated it!

 Report Review

Review #55, by Bluestreakspirit Orientation

3rd January 2012:
I definitely like Larissa. Calling Adelaide a Kiwi, telling her she can't pronounce anything, and saying she's cooler than Australians. Win.

"Even Britain’s nerds are nerdier than ours. I need to tell Ella to up her game." hahaha :)

"'You like...' '…South Africans.'" FACEPALM MOMENT. I was so embarrassed for the both of them. Ohmygod. Whatwasshethinking??
"I bet ‘Gryffindor’ is a synonym for ‘stupid.’" Me, too. "'Me and my sister are the only South Africans at Southern Cross.' 'I like boys.'" This just got 462992570221134 times more awkward.

Author's Response: Larissa is rad.

And Adelaide is supremely awkward and I apologise for her supreme awkwardness. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #56, by Bluestreakspirit Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

3rd January 2012:
Oh, Hugo. "Hugo and I have to buy cauldrons, me because I don’t own one and never have, and Hugo because he melted his last one in Potions last year. He says this with some degree of pride, and I decide I like this kid." I like him, too. :)

Sightseeing in London was a good idea.

Ultimate epic quote of awesomeness: "'Ohmygod, you talk.'" To the sorting hat. Wow. Hahaha :) But, poo, why is Henry a stupid Hufflepuff? They're separated! Their love will die! Nooo!

Anywho. On to the next one. xo - Cat

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the chapter!

 Report Review

Review #57, by unicorn D-Day

2nd January 2012:
I'd be lying if I told you this story doesn't make me laugh and smile like a loon.

Author's Response: YUS! Life goal accomplished! :)

 Report Review

Review #58, by Snapdragons Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Hope you're not too homesick right now! :) Coming from a girl who's very much attached to her home, I could totally see where Adelaide was coming from - I get homesick sometimes.

(Actually, the other day, I was visiting my aunt and even as we were on the bus ride coming home, I couldn't help but smile as soon as we entered my city. There's just something about your hometown/country, isn't there?)

Your description of Marlborough made me smile, by the way. :) (My city likes to make fun of all the other ones that aren't fortunate to be us.)

Obviously the Brits cry a lot more than we do. Oh, Henry. ♥

I thought this chapter was super sweet - I'm not surprised that she was homesick, but I thought that she dealt with it in a very Adelaide way. The singing in the bathroom made me smile! And Henry. HENRY!

Excited to see what happens on her birthday! Loved this chapter - sweet and definitely smile inducing. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I definitely was feeling the homesickness writing this, which probably came out in the chapter - nothing like authenticity, I suppose? Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #59, by Bluestreakspirit The Formal

2nd January 2012:
This chapter made me think that I am very glad to be a girl; I can claim to be old-fashioned and wait for a boy to ask me out instead of the other way around! Not that women should not do the asking, I understand that we totally can and yada yada. But Corwin, especially, was the best. :) "'She *is* my girl problem.'" Ella&Corwin are adorable!

Mr. McMahon and Miss Compton are super coolio. B) Yeah. Sunglasses.

In response to your note, I usually like Rose&Scorpius, too, but Georgia and Scorpius is fine. A bit strained--long-distance--but cute, nonetheless.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying the story, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #60, by Toystool Homesick

2nd January 2012:
Awesome! Definitely looking forward to the next chapter! Also I must say it is really funny reading about New Zealand Heritage and stuff. A girl in my class is part New Zealander (is that right?), but I don't talk to her much. I had no idea that there are tribes. And again, great story so far!

Author's Response: New Zealander encompasses a lot of things - Was she born in NZ, are her parents from NZ or is she part Maori? There are Maori tribes, and it's an important part of Maori heritage as to what tribe they're from, but non-Maori New Zealanders don't have anything like that. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #61, by Bluestreakspirit D-Day

2nd January 2012:
Random: why does everyone call Josh by his full name?

So, Henry and Addie, huh? I knew it. This should be interesting. I like Henry; he seems sweet.

Keep up the fantasmicness! xo - Cat

Author's Response: Thanks! Everyone calls Josh by his full name because they just do. It's a thing. Idk. Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #62, by Bluestreakspirit The Grass Is Always Greener

2nd January 2012:
I am liking Henry. (And, apparently, so is Addie... ;) heheh) Miss Crompton is so cool! And my favorite line from this chapter was Georgia's, "'Oh, chuck it here?'" when she left her wand at her desk. Nonchalant. Very Georgia. By the way, her name reminds me of the classic (American, guessing you don't know of it) Nancy Drew books! Georgia, best friend, total tomboy, goes by George. Yeah. So, anyways, nice work! -Cat

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #63, by Bluestreakspirit Defence Against the Dark Arts

2nd January 2012:
Oh, Mr. McMahon. He's awesome. And I can just see Rose going, "the Cruciatus Curse," all matter-of-fact. Scorpius's boggart surprised me a bit. And the bit about Georgia and licenses made me giggle. Nice work! -Cat

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #64, by Bluestreakspirit Old School

2nd January 2012:
Well. New Zealand sounds like a pretty happy place, there, doesn't it? Sweet and nice and ... peaceful! It's like it's cut off from the rest of the world. Old-school purebloods? Pfft, what is that? Interesting.

Author's Response: It is pretty rad here, I have to admit. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #65, by Bluestreakspirit The Hogwarts Kids

2nd January 2012:
Hahaha I love your characterization of the teachers! :) Great job.

Author's Response: Our teachers are actually like that. Jealous? :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #66, by Bluestreakspirit Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
Wow, I didn't understand half of this; I'm American. But it is still totally cool! I like being able to combine 3 fantabulous things: reading a great story, reading something related (remotely) to Harry Potter, and learning about cool foreign places! Believe me, I now know enough British slang to last me a lifetime. But I know almost nothing of New Zealand. This is interesting! (Although, it wouldn't hurt if you possibly explained some things in your ANs.) I didn't even know people from New Zealand were called Kiwis! (How bad is that?) Useful information, I tell you. Anywho, keep up with the great story! Happy new year! xo - Cat

Author's Response: I know some of the references do get a bit lost on overseas readers - but my MTA is wide open if you have any questions :) I'm glad this story's introducing you to some NZ culture, I love showing off my country :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #67, by hippogriffs_unite Home. Apparently where my heart is.

2nd January 2012:
This story is cool as. Keep writing, probably my favourite ever! I love the references to Aotearoa :) gosh this is how I felt when I was living Australia, singing Poi E all the time.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying it! Nothing like a good bit of Kiwiana :)

 Report Review

Review #68, by FWHPObsessed Homesick

1st January 2012:
Awww, I love this story! Half because it's set in New Zealand and everything makes sense to me and half because Adelaide is such a typical Kiwi girl and I can really relate to her.

My only problem (if I may say so) is your chapter length. I always get really excited when I see you've got a new chapter up, but then it always seems to end so quickly... Just a thought I guess...

Lovely chapter! I can't wait for the next ;DDD

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I love writing it for the same reasons :)
I'm always like that with my chapter lengths - I average around 1500 words, which is a lot shorter than other writers on the archive, I know. But that's mainly due to my large number of WIPs and wanting to update them all relatively quickly - maybe my chapters will be a bit longer once I finish some of my stories. Thanks for the review, next chapter shouldn't be too far away :)


 Report Review

Review #69, by choufleur Homesick

1st January 2012:
Ahhh, poor Adelaide. Being homesick's no fun :(, been there, done that...blah blah blah.
Great chapter, nice to see another side - Hogwarts isn't all fun and games all the time!
Ahaha, Scorpius crying for his mummy!
I have to admit, the Kiwi culture stuff is slightly lost on me though!
Write more soon please :)

Author's Response: I did have to include a chapter like this - nobody goes overseas for a long time without feeling a bit homesick. I don't know where Scorpius crying for his mummy came from exactly, but I kind of like the idea.
This was a particularly cruel chapter for my overseas readers, I'm sorry :P I had to throw in a whole lot of references that wouldn't make sense to anyone outside NZ (though apparently some of them are known in Australia) but hopefully the references I can't explain will be few and far between. Next chapter will hopefully be up in a few days, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #70, by Essie Homesick

1st January 2012:
I loved the reference to the drink driving ad, it's insanely popular in Australia! "puzzle time!" I have watched it so many times. I really enjoyed this chapter, having gone on a 6 week exchange myself I could relate to what poor Adelaide was feeling like!

Author's Response: It's popular in Australia? Seriously? Wow. Dude. -mind blown- I've been using it in Japan to showcase Kiwi culture :P This chapter is lifted straight out of personal experience (I'm overseas at the moment, so I may as well put my homesickness to good use - I haven't been singing in any toilets though:P) Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #71, by littlemisssnape Homesick

1st January 2012:
Lovely chapter. Sorry that I keep reviewing, I'm just really enjoying your story. One question: is the story going to end when Adelaide and Henry go back to NZ? I don't want it to end soon. Please write loads more!

Author's Response: Sorry that you keep reviewing?? Don't apologise for that, it's fantastic! The story will end quite soon, but never fear, a sequel is in the works! Thanks for the reviews and keep them coming for later chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #72, by littlemisssnape Classes

29th December 2011:
My god I am always so excited when I see that you have updated. This is one of my favorite stories on here! Keep it up! And I find finding out thing about NZ very interesting!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it so much, and that you love all the little snippets about NZ, I love to showcase my country :P

 Report Review

Review #73, by NextGenna14 Classes

26th December 2011:
I love this story! Update soon! :)

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #74, by Snapdragons Classes

26th December 2011:
On the contrary, I loved the references to wildlife! :) I know I've said this before, but that's one of the reasons why I love this story. It makes it so much more fun to read and draws me in even more.

"Wearing My Uniform With Pride wasn't a school policy anyone followed very much". Ahhh, reminded me of my own old school uniform... I have no love lost for that thing. -shudders-

"That's seven lessons in one day. Seven. We only have five back home. Good Lord this country's out to kill me." ♥ Oh, Adelaide. (for the record though, I can sympathize. My school schedule's really wonky and we have a different number of classes each day... on the long days I swear I feel like crying.)

Professor Rutherford! YAYS. I love how the Rutherfords show up everywhere. It's fabulous. (Also, I started reading Train Wreck - don't remember if I said this in a review yet or not - and so that made me even more excited. Also, prod me if I haven't reviewed that in a reasonable amount of time.)

"When you live in a country that’s gone through two wizarding wars in fifty years, you take DADA a lot more seriously." this. Personally, I think I'd prefer NZ... Britain would be much more frightening! :P

And then we get to hear about wandlore and animals and oh, the Ravenclaw in me was very very pleased. ♥ I love reading about wandlore... I thought everything was explained really well, and I totally bought it.

An excellent job and I loved it as always! Completely interesting and enthralling and basically this story is all around fabulous. :)

Author's Response: I could have sworn I replied to you before I went to camp, but obviously not :P But I definitely read it and it made me very happy, as your reviews never fail to do. I don't really have words to describe how amazing they are, and I always look forward to hearing from you when I put up a new chapter :) Anyway.

The NZ references will probably be increasing dramatically now that I'm overseas and kind of missing home and kind of wanting to talk about NZ as much as possible :P

I actually liked my old school uniform. Does that make me weird? It was actually kinda nice. Actually the main reason was that we had senior skirts in our last two years and everyone knew we were important and had AUTHORITEH.

Adelaide is fantastic. I swear she gets cooler every chapter. I kinda want her for a best friend. I think she's more Kiwi than me.

I love PUTTING the Rutherfords everywhere. Honestly, you think you love them...I have the life stories of all of them written out. Like, the names of the Rutherford kids' great grandparents and how old Athena is when she dies. If you ever want extra details about the Rutherfords, drop by my MTA or PM me. I love them.

Wandlore and animals, yes. I don't know where that came from, other than a brief moment of "Hey, Adelaide wouldn't have a British wand. What cool endemic species can it be made of? That could be a conversation starter." I didn't really visualise it would end up as such an extensive piece :P

Thank you so much for the review, seriously :)


 Report Review

Review #75, by TheImaginator International Relations

16th December 2011:
Yep, this chapter was good. Too short, but still good. I had to go and read the final chapter because I'd forgotten what had happened between Henry and Adelaide. I love the Kiwi-isms that still pop up, and why kick a moo cow- I laughed so hard at that. And at the Beehive. Which sort of came out of nowhere. I can't really see the connection between Hufflepuff and bees, though...
Good chapter, and update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>