Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
163 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Hope's Mom Classes

23rd February 2012:
Okay I feel like an idiot. I have been reading this sporadically and just picked it up to catch up. Professor Rutherford and Emilia are from Train Wreck - I know you already knew that but I just figured it out. I was puzzled about why the names were so familiar and then I checked to see what else you had written and voila! I really liked all the NZ wildlife references. I am glad that the story is at Hogwarts now. I felt liked it slowed down a litle too much when it was in NZ. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Yes, they're both from Train Wreck - well done on picking that up! Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #27, by ginny_malfoy22 Homesick

10th February 2012:
I am way too lazy to log in.
Anyway, I LOVE that you included that bit from that freaking BRILLIANT ad. My brother and I always quote it, it is brilliant. Also, I know more of Pokarekare Ana than Adelaide does, HA!

Author's Response: It's probably not difficult to know more of Pokarekare Ana than Adelaide, to be fair. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Jesabelle Decisions and Departures

24th January 2012:
: )

I have just stumbled across your story and and a born and bred New Zealander I have to say it made me smile.

Most the time when I read work surrounding a Kiwi character I cant get past the first chapter but as you can tell that isnt the case with your story.

Your character is the first realistic betrayal of a kiwi girl I have read, you didnt go over board on the new zealand manerisms which was really brillent and made her believeable.

your New Zealand reminds me of home. it feels right the way you spoke of NZ.

PS love that you made our version of diagon ally in russle, bonus points for calling it Kororareka!

I must admit though i was hoping to see more detal about her in hogwarts. her interacting more with the kids there and everyday life, it felt like your story was over to soon : (
hey thats a god thing though, means I want more! (Please!)

Also must say that i found it cool you pictured the magic school in the north island, and northland more specifically, im from there myself and now after reading your story can completly picture it. As a kid i imagined NZ magic school would be in the south island. All that land and not as many muggles to stumble across it haha.

Any way im going to stop blabbering now.

Kapai!

Author's Response: Whoo, thank you!

You've read work with a Kiwi character? On HPFF? I've never seen any here in my life, but maybe I just don't look hard enough :P

I wasn't actually trying at all with the NZ mannerisms. I just wrote what came to me, it didn't occur to me whether I should include more or less "New Zealandisms" or not :P

I'm glad it reminds you of home. It reminds me of home as well, especially when I'm overseas :P Bonus points to you for knowing the name Kororareka! Seriously, how obscure can you get? :P

I kind of skipped over the Hogwarts, I know. I have so many stories set at Hogwarts and I wanted to do something different with this one, so the focus was on NZ. And the mass amounts of Henry/Adelaide shipping that came towards the end.

The South Island's a good idea, but I chose Northland for the history - the school was founded in the early days of European settlement and most Europeans were in Northland at that time, so it was me being a history geek :P

Thanks for the review! Oh, by the way, there is a sequel up - Southern Diaspora - if you want to check it out :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Olympia1863 Decisions and Departures

21st January 2012:
So, I realized I read this whole thing a while back and never bothered to review (because I am a jerk). But I liked this a lot. It's simple, and relatable, which is just awesome after the usual stream of complex plots and exaggerated characters. I just loved Adelaide - she's *real*. And your class at Southern Cross was colorful and lovely as well, I particularly liked Ella. The Kiwi references were magnificent. I admit, I was confused pretty often (I'm American), but I really think they made this story. Ah, I wish I had left individual reviews for each chapter as it came up, because there was so much I liked in each, but I guess this will have to do. I liked this tons, and I hope you do end up doing a sequel - Adelaide's too funny and fun to read for you not to do it! - Elle :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review - and for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #30, by stormydreams Decisions and Departures

18th January 2012:
OMG its over!! *wipes tearS* that was brilliant and I'm definitely looking out for the sequel!! I'll miss Adelaide!!!
PS: Bloody Legend ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Crescent Moon  Decisions and Departures

15th January 2012:
Aww!! I loved this ending!! XD
It's so good reading something about the Kiwis rather than the English. Also I really like how you did the exchange, you made it seem like it could actually happen rather than the whole class just suddenly moving to another country totally unexpected without needing anything.
Are you from New Zealand? It kinda seems like a stupid question saying it seeing as you know so much about it, but there is the possiblity that you aren't so I wanted to ask.
You've made me really want to go there again. I went when I was 4 and can barely remember it- just that I loved it. Reading this makes me want to nag my parents to take me again... probably wont happen anytime soon though :)
I really loved the ending, it was so sweet with Henry. I'm also glad that she didn't fall in love with someone from England, because that is just getting so boring being used again and again and again.
What I'm trying to say is that I'm really looking forward to the sequel. Please post it as soon as you can :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it! :)
I sure am from New Zealand :P I don't think I could have pulled this off if I wasn't :)
You should definitely come to NZ again. And visit me or something. :D
Ugh, yeah. I really didn't want a repeat of the exchange-student-goes-to-Hogwarts-and-falls-in-love-with-hmm-let's-make-it-a-Potter-boy scenario. In the beginning I wasn't actually shipping Adelaide with anyone, but Henry sort of appeared out of nowhere :P Thanks for the review, and for reading! Sequel should be out in about a week :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by mrs_remus_john_lupin First Dates

14th January 2012:
I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!!


yay :)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #33, by luna_lovely Decisions and Departures

11th January 2012:
My parents immigrated to australia before i was born, but i have duel citizenship so NZ is kind of like home to me. i really enjoyed this fic, at first i thought it would be cheesy, but no, it was just pure awesome. And, i would like to note that i deffinitely enjoyed all the rugby references!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Minnie MacG Decisions and Departures

11th January 2012:
Quite a breath of fresh air, though HP relevance is scarce. could have been any other schools, really, minus magic that is. To flatter your NZ patriotism further, I daresay the Downunder education, disregarding the non-exiting (as some may think) topics and subjects, seems to work better than that of the Extreme West (lets put it politically correct here ))) as the overall structure and language of your story is good and presented with great care and respect for the English language - thank you for that. Be proud of your country, however small or unimportant some snobs may consider it. Best of luck, MMG

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Mypatronusisarobotunicorn Decisions and Departures

11th January 2012:
Dude. Right up until chapter 14 I was loving it. But that ending...it's so unsatisfying. Eugh. I don't like Henry. I wish you had put in more Hogwarts.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you feel that way :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by pattybuns_hpf Decisions and Departures

8th January 2012:
You've really done justice to everything Kiwi. I love this story because I can totally feel what Adelaide is feeling about homesickness. New Zealand is home and home is where the heart is as it says in the first chapter's title. This story made laugh and realize how Kiwi I am when it come to telling people about New Zealand. And you what, I'm proud to be a Kiwi. ;)

Author's Response: Oh yeah. I wrote those homesicky chapters while I was feeling homesick, so I hope they were relatable for that reason :P And you've just repeated everything I've been realising over the last few weeks - NZ is home and I'm so proud to be a Kiwi and to have been able to share that with readers :) Thanks for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Bluestreakspirit Decisions and Departures

8th January 2012:
When I first saw the "completed" thingy, I was like "there is no way that she could wrap this up that fast! Whaat?" But after reading, I'm glad that you ended when you did. Nice job :)

Yay! This was so cute--Addie and Henry the whole time. :) I didn't realize how long they had spent at Hogwarts until this chapter. Aww, and Henry loves Adelaide! :) That was cute. Except for the "Oh jeez. Tell me I didnít," line. That was a little corny.

Anyways, looking forward to a sequel! Congratulations! -Cat

Author's Response: I think it was a good place to end as well, even if it was rather sudden (even I felt it was sudden, and I was planning it :P)

Yeah, Addie and Henry the whole time :P I ship them so much. Well, I'd have to, wouldn't I?

I'm looking forward to writing the sequel, though I promised myself I wouldn't start it until I've finished Train Wreck, so I better get cracking on that one :P Thanks for the reviews, and for reading!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Snapdragons Decisions and Departures

7th January 2012:
-sniffs- It's over? I don't want it to be over. :( -clings- Reading this has been such a joy (oh god, I sound like some old lady now) and I've honestly enjoyed it so much.

This was a perfect ending. I think you stopped it in a good place - I don't think that it's necessary for this story to have continued on and on and on. You kept it on the shorter side, and the moment where you ended was just so perfect - the NZ flag flying and those last words from Henry. I dunno, I just thought that was really... poignant. :)

Also. SEQUEL PLEASE. As much as I think that this was a good place to end this... I'm not done with Adelaide, either, I think!

It was filled with lots of those sweet touches - like the Puffs roasting marshmallows. oh my goodness that was actually so cute eek.

I thought it was right that they took the plane home - I dunno, it just felt /right/. And I thought that it also made total sense about the whole going to university thing. Quite practical, in fact.

(also Henry and Adelaide were absolutely adorable in this)

I'm sort of sad to press the submit review button because this is going to be the last review I leave on Southern Cross! :( It's been a long journey, but I'm really glad I found this and started reading it, because I most certainly have not been disappointed. I know I keep saying I'll review your other works too, but I mean it this time! You haven't seen the last of me! ;)

It's been so wonderful to watch the characters grow and to see this whole world come together. sorry I'm being sappy! But basically... this story is incredible. Thank you for teaching me about NZ! ;) And thank you for sharing this with us, really.

Like I said... I'll be back soon, promise! Great job. ♥

Author's Response: asdfghjkl. I don't know how to respond to this...it's my last review from you for this story! *tear*

Thank you so much, seriously. I have looked forward to your reviews every time I posted a new chapter of this story. It's had a lot of fans, but you've been the most consistent and amazing and encouraging and hence why I gave you a shoutout in my A/N.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, it has a very special place in my heart too :P Especially the moment of landing at Auckland Airport, it's something I'm looking forward to very much when I return home :P

Once again, thank you so much for all your reviews, and I hope you enjoy my other work, and the sequel when it's up :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Emma Decisions and Departures

7th January 2012:
YAY I LOVED IT!!!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by momotwins Decisions and Departures

7th January 2012:
Awww. Read the whole thing in one go (sorry, this is the only review, cause I'm a crap reviewer) and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was very cute, totally fascinating, and I love Henry and Adelaide together. Great job! I love how fully you made the Southern Cross school come to life, and New Zealand. Love the kids and teachers there, their informality and silliness was a lot of fun. Also, you totally had me poking around on wikipedia for almost half an hour during the first chapter looking up kakapo and following links to assorted other NZ creatures. But it was awesome because when you mentioned the Haast's eagles I was like "Hey! I know what that is!" because of it. Winning. So, it was lovely, nice way to spend the morning, thank you for writing and sorry I only left one review. :)

Author's Response: asdfghjkl. I honestly nearly died when I saw your name on this review - you're one of my favourite authors on the archive and just...wow. Thank you so much!

I've loved the reception this story's gotten - either Kiwis excited to see all the references to home, or people from overseas, like yourself, who have learned something about NZ through it - it's very exciting, and who doesn't love to show off their country? :P Good on you for wikipedia-ing all those NZ creatures, I loved working them in and I'm glad all those references aren't lost on those outside NZ :)

You are very, very welcome, and thank you for the one review because it completely made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by that random kid Decisions and Departures

7th January 2012:
Wait.. Its done? Well... Wow wasnt expecting that. But thanks for the kiwi immersion course. I litterally knew zilch about NZ before i read this so i think youve done kiwi-land a national service. But the story was good and i enjoyed it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and that you learned something about New Zealand :) It's always nice to show off one's country :P

 Report Review

Review #42, by that random kid Welcome to Britain

7th January 2012:
Where the hell are you kiwi's? I mean are they totally isolated from the rest of the wizarding world or summat? Sounds like a frikin utopian society if you ask me.. I mean really how do they not know about? Haha but yea i am really appreciating the humor. And im getting the hang of the whole kiwi world too! :)

Author's Response: I'm not entirely sure what you mean by that...There are definite cultural differences between NZ and Britain - the wizarding world in NZ interacts far more with Australia's than Britain's, therefore they don't know a lot about Britain's wizarding world - nor does it really concern them. I'm not sure what you mean by the utopian society or what they don't know about, but I assume you mean Aurors and Unforgivable Curses. NZ has very little in the way of Dark magic, for the main reason that the country itself is small and, for the most part, peaceful. NZ has an ordinary Magical Law Enforcement department as part of the Ministry of Magic, but there's no need for an Auror Office and the concept of Dark magic is more of a fable than a reality in NZ. Hope this answers your questions, and I'm glad you're starting to pick a few things up about NZ :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by that random kid Home. Apparently where my heart is.

7th January 2012:
Um can u explain the references. Because well im american, so this story is especially confusing for me. For instance- how old are year 9's? What's the equivalent grade to Hogwarts? Do they do the whole 7 year deal like they do in the UK? And what alternate language was the bus in? And does everyone arrive on the bus like on the train at hogwarts? So yea thats me, chock- full of questions. So if you could answer those my life would be alot easier

Author's Response: Year 9s are usually 13 years old - so the equivalent of third year at Hogwarts. Southern Cross is Year 9-13, like most New Zealand secondary schools, which is third to seventh year in Hogwarts terms. The bus had the name of the school - Southern Cross School of Magic - in English and Maori (totally slipped my mind that I put that in there, I should have provided an explanation) and there are three buses in total that travel to Southern Cross - one for students from the South Island that leaves from Christchurch, one for students from the lower North Island that leaves from Wellington, and one for students from the upper North Island, closest to the school, that leaves from Auckland. All students arrive by bus, but the three buses leave from different places and arrive at the school at different times. Hope that answers some of your questions :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Fawks5 Classes

6th January 2012:
Are you kidding?! I found that extremely interesting, though that could be because I am a huge history freak. I still enjoyed hearing all about NZ throughout the story.

Fawks5

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun with that chapter as well, so much New Zealandness :P Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Toystool Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
I only recently started reading this story, but it has a special place in my heart now, and I am sad to let it go. I'll be looking forward to the sequel, because I don't think I'm done with Adelaide either, or Henry for that matter. It was great!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! The sequel should be out in early February - look forward to much Adelaide/Henryness and fun student shenanigans :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Skyler315 Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
This is really cute, and I loved the plot! I started reading this story about three chapters in, and I've really enjoyed the plot. I'm from Colorado in the United States, so it was really interesting to have a lot of stuff from New Zealand in here. really great story, and I think that Henry is absolutely adorable:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you've enjoyed all the New Zealand stuff! I've loved writing it for that reason, and Henry is a pretty neat character :P Thanks for the review, and for reading!

 Report Review

Review #47, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
AH! I loved the ending. It was different from I imagined because I really didn't know how you were going to end it. I thought them flying home and talking about the future was sweet but what really took the icing off the cake was the 'overtired' excuse with their I love yous, I thought that was just the best. Made me smile and gush a bit at my computer. I'll be looking for more Adelaide and Henry in the future! I didn't even care about Hogwarts in this story...New Zealand all the way! :D

Author's Response: I'm curious how you imagined the ending...mind you I didn't know how it was going to end myself until I actually started writing the chapter :P
The overtired excuse. I'm a fan of that. I need to do that myself sometime.
There will be more Adelaide/Henry in the sequel, I promise! I'd say the first chapter will be out around early February, unless I get bored and start earlier :) Thanks for reading, and all the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #48, by choufleur Decisions and Departures

6th January 2012:
Gah I was not expecting it to finish in this chapter. There I was, merrily chugging along, laughing at Adelaide, when, wham, bam - done. I only found this story a few weeks ago, but I'm so pleased she got such a nice ending - although I will be on a look out for a sequel.
Henry's so cute. I want one.
And also - is she mental? Flying? I'v done it twice and I'm not a fan. Yeah I get the whole muggle thing...but still. She can still use magic to travel!

Author's Response: I know, it was a bit abrupt...I feel like I should have given you more warning :P
The sequel should be out soonish...I'm tentatively saying early February, so keep a look out for it!
I kinda want a Henry too. Just sayin'.
Hey now, flying's fun! Well, airports are fun. Sitting on the plane for hours and hours isn't...But that's another author-is-overseas-and-is-really-looking-forward-to-landing-in-Auckland-Airport-when-she-comes-home-so-let's-make-Adelaide-do-that-too moments :P
Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #49, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap First Dates

6th January 2012:
I know ZILCH about rugby! But I followed that all just fine (all I know about rugby I learned from FRIENDS). Anyway! I thought this chapter was excellent. One of the best I have to say. It was original as a first date goes for fanfiction because it just wasn't that gooey eyed and hand holding moment that we all like to write about. I thought it was fun, fast paced and the ending was a real zinger. Henry makes me swoon a bit.

Author's Response: I'm glad you could follow it without knowing much about rugby :P All I know about rugby I learned by watching a couple of games during the World Cup (seriously, if you didn't watch those games you'd pretty much have to revoke your NZ citizenship...I'm exaggerating, but not really.)
NO GOOEY EYES AND HAND HOLDING MOMENTS IN MY STORIES. Except, well, there was a bit of hand holding. But meh.
Henry is cool. I love him.


 Report Review

Review #50, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Homesick

6th January 2012:
Wow, that was interesting. I feel like it's a history lesson when I read the chapters. I thought it was sweet that Scorpius cried for his mother. I'm sure Astoria is a nice lady. What I liked about this though was Henry's really cool attitude about Adelaide crying. He wasn't put off by it and just accepted it, sort of floated past it and was able to make her smile. I really wondered what Kia kaha meant (and then I read your author's note) for a second I thought it meant something dirty...HAHAHA!

Author's Response: Whoo for being interesting!
Henry is awesome. Henry surprised me with his awesomeness in this chapter, and I created him, so...*shrug*
I never thought anyone would think it meant something dirty! Oh, that would be fun...
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>