Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
163 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kobegeee Decisions and Departures

11th December 2014:
I might not be a kiwi, but as a proud Canadian, you did a damn good job eh? I loved the characters you developed and the plot and the humour and it was just awesome to read this! I loved your whole kiwi culture bits and thought they were absolutely awesome! Keep on writing, you're doing a great job! -Kobe from the great white north

 Report Review

Review #2, by Larry D-Day

27th November 2014:
Possible addition to Rose's rant about the war along the lines of: "My uncle died in the Battle of Hogwarts. My grandmother killed Belatrix LeStrange to save her daughter, my Aunt. My family is very special to me but in this respect we're quite common. Almost everyone you meet at Hogwarts could tell you similar things about their family.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Tris  Decisions and Departures

11th November 2014:
Too too perfect and really I mean that. This is so cool the way it really is like the whole feelings of being an exchange student into being a wizrd (which would be me if my letter didn't get lost😉) but I really need to know now if there is a sequal because I am not done with Adelaide yet either! I want MORE!!! And I just love how this story made me smile, giggle, fall in love with Henry and just have a great little hour after I spent the last hour bawling because Serius still died in the 5th book. I will now proceed to read the rest (or majority) of your stories and I can't wait!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Tris  Homesick

11th November 2014:
Ok. This is really perfect. Seriously this is my life. I really have to know now...l were/are you an exchange student because you really hit that nail on the head. Always the wierd eat moments and the littles things bring joy of the "homeland" (for example every time I see an ugly purse with an American flag on it I just want to say the pledge of aliegence or something haha) but really BEAUTIFUL work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Tris  International Relations

11th November 2014:
Ok I have officially figured out why I love this story sooo much first I am an exchange student myself and so I really feel the things she feels (ok and also other things but yeah). As an exchange studnet I have met many Kiwis an have learned a lot from them so this story came to me at the perfect time, I have no idea why there aren't more stories like this out there, but this is absolutely fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Tris  Orientation

11th November 2014:
HENRY you are breaking my heart (ok in a logical way...) he is fair and blah blah blah.but really thoug. But I like that it is realistic! I really am interested in the dynamics you have created and that you have reimagined the houses and tensions a little bit since this is way after the war. Can't wait to see what's next!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Tris  Welcome to Britain

11th November 2014:
When I read "Perceval Weasleh Minister Of magic" I literally choked. I don't know, it makes sense, but just caught me off guard I guess! I really really love this and am just very impressed to see all of the great quality this story has. I am already planning to read everything else you have/will ever write.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Tris  The Grass Is Always Greener

11th November 2014:
Wow I am so totally engrossed in this story! I love the wittiness and fun aspects (I just finished rereading HP order of the pheonix again, and my heart was completely ripped out) I love all of the details you have put into this with the new houses, and all the cool aspects. I really, really, really like it. It also helps that I have a friend from New Zeland called Adelaid and your charachter reminds me of her! LOVE THIS STORY! (Now let's hope I can get myself to stop reading at some point so I can be well rested for school tomorrow)

 Report Review

Review #9, by peachgirlxo Decisions and Departures

6th November 2014:
So I know I totally just wrote a review for another one of your stories like an hour but I couldn't help myself, I had to read more haha. Again, amazing story! I was quite surprised with the ending but I still liked it. Adelaide and Henry are so cute! Thanks for such a great fanfic! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Elsa Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

28th September 2014:
HENRY IS SOUTH AFRICAN YES REPRESENT THANKYOU also you are hilarious, I love this so much :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by emmacweasley Decisions and Departures

21st August 2014:
PLEASE HELP! (that was in all caps, btw, in case it changes when i submit) IT WAS SO CUTE I WANNA DIE (that was also in all caps) i understand that it was 2011 and nobody's blaming you for it because it was so cute i want to die. that's it, lisa. so cute i want to die.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Callippso Home. Apparently where my heart is.

16th July 2014:
Man this is the best thing ever. ... I'm Aussie so only a couple things go over my head. Wish I could find an Aussie Fanfic maybe I should write one haha

 Report Review

Review #13, by PotterBaby__x Gryffies

3rd July 2014:
"It's also full of sheep." I paused. "And immigrants"
Way to sound racist.
"And political incorrectness"
Oh my god, I died hahahahahahahaha. Omg and ghost chips

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by DancingMooncalf Defence Against the Dark Arts

1st July 2014:
This story is brilliant! It's so refreshing to look at the British Wizarding war from the point of view of outsiders. I can imagine the whole thing being documented and taught in other countries but they probably didn't understand any of it because none of them lived it.
I like how New Zealand is pictured as younger and smaller and had a whole different few on the pureblood/mudblood discussion. There is less history and more openmindedness.
I think you do a brilliant job marking the differenes between the countries and their histories.
I like the teachers too, they are a lot less uptight and proffessor-ish. They are teaching teenagers and try to get to their level. I love that.

You are doing a really good job with this story and I saw you were writing a sequel as well. I'm definitly going to read that too! But first let me finish this intriging story.

x Maya

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! This story was pure self indulgence - I'm a very patriotic person and I just had to write an NZ-centric story. The lack of history and the egalitarianism is VERY true to New Zealand history and culture - by the time humans eventually settled in New Zealand Hogwarts had already been established for 200-400 years, and NZ identity is very much based on egalitarianism.
A lot of those teachers were based almost entirely on some of my teachers at school, so they're definitely pretty chill. I hope you continue to enjoy, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by DancingMooncalf Home. Apparently where my heart is.

1st July 2014:
Hey, I think I'm going to love this story, the idea is very original and I adore your style of writing. It's very real and makes me smile allthe time. I'm a huge fan of your 'Fred Weasley mermorial scolarship' story, which made me interested in other work of you.
I haven't read any stories about other wizarding schools yet, so this is going to be very interesting. I love the idea of a different school then Hogwarts. It puts a new light on things and open loads of oppertunities.
I'm very curious for the rest of the story.

x Maya

Author's Response: I'm glad you're checking out my other stuff, even though my style's changed a LOT in the last three years. I hope you enjoy and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Decisions and Departures

26th June 2014:
Well, that was rather... abrupt. But to be fair, it matched the brisk pace of this whole story, and made the perfect snappy close.

This story was a perfect mix of old and new, and so extremely refreshing. Like, for once, instead of the exchange student falling in lust with a Potter, Sirius, or Remus- you get the gist-, she maintains her crush on her fellow student- but more importantly, a strong friendship. Georgia stole my heart, with her happy-go-lucky attitude and overall "meh"ness, and Larissa my breath from laughter.

Favorite scene: git. It was exactly how I felt when I picked up Harry Potter for the first time "that's an insult now? Well, okay." The way they took it in stride but still made a joke out of it seemed just so Adelaide.

If you asked me which school I liked better, Southern Cross or Hogwarts, you'd have me stuck between a rock and a hard place. Southern Cross is so well-imagined, with its relaxed teachers and even more relaxed students, the flowering of relationships woven into the infrastructure (and no, I don't only mean romantic). But Hogwarts- regal and majestic and staunch, in every single way. What can I say? You left me with a compelling urge to visit both.

The best part of this story was the flaws. Hogwarts too rigid, Southern Cross too primitive (coming to coursework). Georgia had low self-esteem to match her work ethic, and Adelaide had this chronic problem with blurting things she wasn't supposed to. Henry was a bit oblivious and slow- you get the point. Basically, thank you for reminding me that just because they're wizards, doesn't mean they aren't human.

If there's one thing I didn't like, it was the references to New Zealand that went unexplored until later- it left you scratching your head. As you probably know, most of the people on this site aren't Kiwis, and need immediate explanation or context clues, which you didn't always provide. But overall, I love the way you brought the culture to us in a way that didn't make it feel otherworldly and exotic, but still unique.

Anyways, I'm off to read the sequel. Until next time!

-Meena

Author's Response: Hiya!

You're right, this was a bit of an abrupt ending - from memory, I wrote these last chapters when I was overseas and incredibly homesick, and wanted Adelaide back in New Zealand so I could live vicariously through her, so that goes some way in explaining that.

I really don't understand those stories that have students going on exchange purely to fall in love with existing Hogwarts students (admittedly I did my share of Southern Cross/Hogwarts shipping, but that was never the main objective.) I got incredibly fond of these characters myself, particularly Georgia - she wasn't actually meant to have as big a role as she did, but she just sort of elbowed her way into the story.

I feel you there, I really do. I love Southern Cross the way I imagined it, and it is very Kiwi and I'm very patriotic, but at the same time I'm a sucker for grandeur and Hogwarts is a castle with a thousand years of history behind it.

I didn't notice the references to NZ that went unexplained, so I'm sorry about those! I must have been in a little Kiwi bubble the entire time I was writing - and when I was publishing it on the archives the vast majority of my reviewers were Kiwis telling me "Ooh, I loved this reference!" rather than other readers going "Wait a minute, what's that?" If I ever come to rewrite this story, I'll definitely bear that in mind!

I hope you enjoy the sequel and thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Randi Decisions and Departures

18th January 2013:
O my GAWD! this is the stuff/way i wish i could write. Hilarious awesomness.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by LoopyLemon Decisions and Departures

25th September 2012:
Hehe I just read this all again :)
I love this story so much (I might also be procrastinating studying for that test and writing that essay). This story is so well written, from start to finish. I love the kiwi references you managed to write in there without it ever seeming over done. Oooh! I just had an idea! You should write a story where Hermione's parents end up moving to New Zealand instead of Australia!
Anywho, aside from my random thoughts, I just love the magical world you created in New Zealand. There should be more stories that are based outside of England. I also adore that Addie and Henry end up together.
Thank you for writing such an awesome story. It makes procrastinating all the more fun. At some point I think I will go back and comment on all the chapters. There is something satisying in seeing "already one of your favourite stories" and "you have already reviewed this chapter" at the end of every chapter :D
Please keep writing, I know RL gets busy, but you are so good at it!! You should write a story based in ancient greece...

Author's Response: I'm glad I could help you with your procrastination...I'm procrastinating my Greek translation by replying to your review. If you want more procrastination my new story Figurehead could use some love...:P However, I digress.
It was a lot of fun writing this story and slipping all the kiwi references in, especially going into detail about lesser-known things like the wildlife and figuring out the tribe of Adelaide's grandmother and stuff. I fully agree there should be more Kiwi stories, but that would require more Kiwi authors and there really aren't a lot of us around.
I am definitely still writing, and have spent the entire day working on Figurehead (another shameless plug for you to check it out) even though I, like you, have an essay to write and a test to study for. Priorities!
Thanks for the review, it's awesome that you've come back to reread it! Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheGoldenKneazle Home. Apparently where my heart is.

8th September 2012:
This was such a great first chapter! I've never actually read a magic school story not set in Hogwarts, and being British, I'm pretty unfamiliar with Kiwi culture. However, you made it pretty easy to understand what went on, and I already find Adelaide really easy to relate to - can't wait to find out what happens when Hogwarts visit! :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, and I hope you're more familiar with Kiwi culture by the end of it :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by TamsynLovegood Decisions and Departures

16th May 2012:
LOVED SO MUCH! Going to stalk your author page now :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Hope you find more you like :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by TamsynLovegood The Hogwarts Kids

16th May 2012:
Aww, making got kiwi with the 'your mum'!!! That is such a win, please tell me there is going to be some yeah, nah's coming up!!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you appreciated that!

 Report Review

Review #22, by TamsynLovegood Home. Apparently where my heart is.

15th May 2012:
Love! It's so kiwi, just brilliant!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the kiwiness!

 Report Review

Review #23, by vintage90vinyl First Dates

13th May 2012:
I love the Rugby part of this! :] but then I am a bit of an obsessive when it comes to the the game, comes with having brothers I think :]
Anyway, I love Addie and Henry's relationship, wish he was my boyfriend!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! I'm not much of a rugby person usually, but I got super into it during the world cup (hence this chapter) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by M Decisions and Departures

22nd April 2012:
I liked it but I want more!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed what was there!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Me~ Homesick

10th April 2012:
Woohoo! I actually knew something! Me and my sister laughed for weeks over that ad because the accents were just so amusing. That and the beached whale video.

I can actually recite that whole ad.

Anyways, this story is absolutely brilliant, and so original, and I loved how well you've made the New Zealand Wizarding World, it's so cool and detailed! I actually like it better than Hogwarts.

Really, REALLY, cool story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>