Reading Reviews for The Letter That Never Came
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Mrs_Lovegood The Letter That Never Came

14th December 2010:
I had honestly never thought thoroughly about how devastating it would be for a squib! It's really a brilliantly original idea, and you did write it wonderfully. I love how short it is and still transmits such emotion, and you manage to describe everything in a way that allow us to detail the emotion. It is simply beautiful, and I just love how simply you managed to write it!

Great work! (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I imagine it would be terrible for a Squib, but that's not really reflected much in the books. I'm so glad it works despite being short and simple :) Once again, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by angeless7fallenstarsong The Letter That Never Came

3rd December 2010:
Oh my God. How heartbreaking. I've literally never read or even *seen* anything about Arabella before. This is so original and clever and sad.

The poor little thing. :(

My only real suggestion for this - as your grammar and spelling seem perfect and the story doesn't need much work in general - would be to flesh it out a bit. It's quite short. Maybe you could add some more dialogue or something to lengthen it out.

Loved reading this, I'm favoring it for sure! Taaa!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've never read anything on her either, so I just felt drawn to share just a little of her story. I'm so glad the mood and emotions of the story are so strong, it's what I was really going for. I know it's quite short, but personally I feel like I've said all that needs to be said--I'll keep your advice in mind though :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #28, by ekroman The Letter That Never Came

28th November 2010:
Aww :') so sad but so yet so sweet! I love how you write Arabella :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad I got the combination right, and the characterisation of Arabella. She's such a minor character, I had to write some of her story :) Thanks again :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by mugglemania The Letter That Never Came

28th November 2010:
Aww. What a good story!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by followthebutterflies16 The Letter That Never Came

28th November 2010:
I loved this story. It was good at showing the anxiousness of a little girl expecting her letter and also the sadness when she realizes her letter isn't coming. Good Job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad I depicted it well :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by CessZ The Letter That Never Came

6th November 2010:
W...O...W!!
Its SO emotionally touching!! I loved it!! :)
Keep up the good work!!!

~CessZ

Author's Response: Thanks so much! That means a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by Hermione389 The Letter That Never Came

9th October 2010:
Ah, sad! Nice though. 8 out of 10.

Author's Response: Thanks! It was meant to be sad, glad you thought it was nice though :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by SeverusLove The Letter That Never Came

16th September 2010:
RC!!! !!!

Hiya hiya hiya!!! !!! !!!Anyway, the story was good. A bit too short, but sweet. It had a good flow and pace. It was simple... ...BUT STILL GOOD! ^^ ^^ ^^

I've never really given much thought to Arabella Fig, who was she again?

Anyway, as I was saying, the characterization was good and so was the spelling and grammar. So overall it was great.

xoxo SeverusLove

Author's Response: Thanks! :D
In response to your question, Arabella Figg is Mrs Figg, the Squib who lived down the street from the Dursleys and kept an eye on Harry.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Akussa The Letter That Never Came

15th September 2010:
Oh, that was heartbreaking. Very nice little piece but so, so sad...
The way you described the little girl's expectation, anxiety, hope and then despair; it made us feel with her. Especially since, like her parents obviously did, we knew that she would be disapointed.
Very good work on this.

Author's Response: That's what I was trying to do, to really show what it must be like for Squibs who have grown up in wizarding families and to have the finality of not getting the letter, and thank you very much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Aidenk77 The Letter That Never Came

14th September 2010:
I really enjoyed this. Short, sweet, but so sad.

Author's Response: That's what I was aiming for. Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by permanent_marker The Letter That Never Came

14th September 2010:
I like this better than other stories i have read. good on the ending :) I am glad there isn't explaining needed here.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Ronsgirl29 The Letter That Never Came

13th September 2010:
Aw, this story broke my heart! Just reading the summary I knew it couldn't be happy, but I always underestimate how sad the life of a squib must be. If I new that magic was real but could never use it myself, well I'd be pretty upset too.

I think you did this very tastefully, and your writing style flows wonderfully. The image of her shakily writing the names of the houses on the window will stick with me forsure, great job!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>