Reading Reviews for The Letter That Never Came
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotter The Letter That Never Came

28th June 2015:
Hi, Lisa!

Wow, just go and break my poor heart won't you?! This was such a brilliant idea for a story. Mrs Figg is such an underrated character in my opinion. It must be so difficult for her to be a squib and still be immersed in the wizarding world, and then the fact that she agrees to keep an eye on Harry that whole time ♥

This is the first time I've read about a squib from a squib's point of view. I liked that you did it from her perspective as opposed to her parents. That part where they exchanged that knowing look was just so sad! I'm so cross with them for not having had the conversation with her before that day and just letting her wait around growing sadder by the minute :(

This was so sad and beautiful. Excuse me whilst I sob into my cup of coffee!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #2, by HermyLuna2 The Letter That Never Came

23rd April 2015:
Awww, poor Arabella. You did a great job creating empathy for her. A very original and touching oneshot.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 The Letter That Never Came

9th July 2014:
Hi There.

First I just have to say that I love the idea. How in the world did you come up with this? I don't think I've ever read a story about Arabella before, and I know I've never one about her 11th birthday and how she never got her letter. So this was definitely an original story, and I really liked it.

I love how you constructed this story. It started with this lovely paragraph with description, that made me imagine the day in my head. And then you start by creating this light mood, the feeling that the day will be the best one in Arabella's life. And then the closer you get to the ending, the worse the day gets. And then it ends with her just coming to the realization that she won't get a letter, that she a squib.

And I really like that development. Because by starting like you do, you make me hope with all my heart that she'll get her letter, even though I know she won't. And then when it doesn't come, my heart just aches for poor Arabella, who's dreams were just shattered. And I just really want to give her a hug and tell her everything will be okay, because I feel so sorry for her.

So as I'm sure you've gathered, I really love the story. You're very talented!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by No_oneKnows The Letter That Never Came

2nd October 2012:
that was unbelievably sad. You were able to build up the anticipation really well and beautifully and I found myself dreading the end :'( especially because we know that Mrs Figg is such a nice lady later on, and just seeing this take on her as a little girl makes it all the worse! So good job with this very original, very well written piece! :D

Author's Response: I never quite know how to respond to reviews about how sad or heartbreaking my stories are, except to be grateful that I've managed to evoke an emotional response. I love to explore different sides to the minor characters we pay so little attention to, and I'm glad I've been able to do that with Arabella. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LunaLovegood7 The Letter That Never Came

24th June 2012:
Poor Arabella! I never thought about how squibs felt when they didn't receive their letter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by shoveitsunshine The Letter That Never Came

3rd June 2012:
Oh Arabella, we know she's a Squib, but she's just so painfully unaware.

+ I don't know why, but I really liked the image at the end:
"The sun shone through the window, casting an orange glow on the wall opposite. She could hear the fading sound of the dawn chorus, see the dew on the grass as she looked through the names still smudged on the glass. Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, Slytherin.

A single tear slid down her cheek as she traced the words with a shaking finger.

The letter would never come."

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by potter_nerd The Letter That Never Came

2nd June 2012:
Short and sad. I think you could have expanded it a little, made it more descriptive. But its perfect as it is so maybe not. I haven't read any stories on Arabella Figg before so I can't compare, but this is beautiful and tragic at the same time.
I can even identify with her. I not even embarrassed to admit that I waited for my owl on my eleventh birthday too.
Beautiful writing.
xx

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BeaJerry The Letter That Never Came

2nd March 2012:
I had a tear in my eye.

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by house elf The Letter That Never Came

21st December 2011:
Oh, how horrible for poor Arabella. I can empathize with the feeling of not getting the chance to go to that magical school, but it's even worse for her with her magical family getting to go. I'd rather be a Muggle and not know magic existed at all.

Poor, unfortunate Squibs :'(

It was short, sweet and nicely written. c:

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by LoopyLemon The Letter That Never Came

27th November 2011:
Wow. This is really good! I'd never really thought about what it must be like for squibs to not get their letters. Poor Bella. I loved the discriptions you gave, the brightness of the morning and then how the day faded with her hopes. I felt so sorry for her. I loved how poignent this was and how it got the story across simply without being too long. This, again, was a beautiful piece of writing from you. You really are an amazing writer :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by katiemkh The Letter That Never Came

9th November 2011:
Loved this one-shot! A+ for creativity, originality, writing, and excellent grammar!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by CharlieDay The Letter That Never Came

7th November 2011:
So Sad!!! You're writing style for this is completely different to your writing style for the greek one, but it's still amazing. It's so emotional, and it flows so beautifully. At first, when i saw the word count, I thought the shortness might be a problem, but I think that the way it flows from morning to day to night to morning is so stunning, it gives the piece an almost filmlike quality.

The way she told her it would be okay o.o The way her father knew she was a squib. It is so heartbreaking!

The only thing I have to say about this is that it would be really cool if you made it sort of a two-shot and did one about Filch, I think that if you could make the reader feel for him the way you made the reader feel for Arabella (the crazy cat lady) in this, it would be utterly amazing.
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This is definitely a departure from some of the more lighthearted stuff I write, but I'm glad you enjoyed this one as well! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by LoopyLemon The Letter That Never Came

5th October 2011:
Wow. That was really good! I love the change in mood of the story. How the story started with the bright hopefulness of childhood and ended darker, as if she has lost some innocence. That was really sad and really really well done. It had a lot of impact for such a short piece. You really made me smile with the anticipation at the start and I was hurting for her by the end.
Well done

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much, and thank you for reviewing this one!

 Report Review

Review #14, by reading_is_my_life The Letter That Never Came

23rd September 2011:
I knew this was going to be a sad story. I never thought about how it must be to be a squib. Not really fitting in to either world. Her hopes crushed on her birthday makes it worse. Great story. You caputred her heartache beautifully.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheImaginator The Letter That Never Came

17th September 2011:
I was practically sobbing when I read the summary. I think you do a really good job of showing the emotional aspect of being a Squib. As a child, it must have been devastating. The thoughts of Arabella are perfect, that stubborn, refusing-to-believe that the letter isn't coming mind-set. It's quite heart-wrenching.

Author's Response: I never know whether to thank a reader or apologise when they say it made them cry - but I suppose it's the highest praise I can ask for. Thank you for this review, this story is one of my favourites and I'm glad you found it so powerful.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Bellatrix66906 The Letter That Never Came

24th August 2011:
Very interesting. Even though it was short, I loved the writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Woodrow Rynne The Letter That Never Came

28th July 2011:
Awww...

I can't say better than that :'(

Author's Response: Sorry for the feels, thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hpotterfan1 The Letter That Never Came

20th June 2011:
I don't get it Arabella Figg was a witch

Author's Response: She was a Squib, actually.

 Report Review

Review #19, by peace2lovepotter The Letter That Never Came

11th April 2011:
I really liked this, i felt so sorry 4 Arabella! Peace, from peace2lovepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by BrightStar The Letter That Never Came

5th March 2011:
I think because this was so short, it made it more real, sadder. I was actually like "Oh God", because obviously I knew it couldn't end well. I was just scrolling down your page and saw this and-went woah, this is really different. So, so well done. So powerful! Wow! So glad I read this :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This is actually one of my favourite stories and I'm glad it's been so well recieved. I'm glad to be able to write stories that are different to the others out there, and for this one it was really a case of untold canon. Really glad you liked it, and thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by magicmuggle01 The Letter That Never Came

21st February 2011:
What a shame for Arabella. It must have been heart breaking for an eleven year old from a magical family to realise that they would never see the inside of Hogwarts. But she still took part in the magical world. She was assigned by Dumbledore to watch over Harry when he was with the Dursley's. A well worded one shot and tenderly well thought out. 10/10.

Author's Response: I know, right? I started thinking about that one day and just had to write her story. I think she's incredible.

 Report Review

Review #22, by electricfeel The Letter That Never Came

25th January 2011:
Oh, how could you write a story so utterly heartwrenching in so few words? I absolutely loved it. The descriptions were beautiful and the image of her writing the names of the houses with her finger on the window was just perfect.

A great little find :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, you just made my day :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by justonemorefic The Letter That Never Came

27th December 2010:
AHHH I love this. This is so quietly sad. It's the tracing on the window. That really got to me. It's such an innocent thing to do, but it carries so much of her hopes and dreams. And the passage of time, I really liked how you described all the other mail that arrived.

(Nitpicky, but one of the first things that I noticed was this line "At a roughly hewn table in the kitchen sat a girl.", and it sort of threw off the flow I think because of how it's phrased and how it gets its own line)

But I really really like this. It's more than the stigma of being a squib, something that isn't perhaps entirely apparent to an eleven-year-old; it's about her dreams and not being able to get the one thing she wanted more than ever.

Author's Response: Thank you! Whenever I come back to this fic and think about Arabella's situation it makes me sad all over again, and I'm glad I've managed to portray some of that through my writing. It was really important to make the disappointment she felt real, so I'm glad I pulled it off. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jane_Volturi The Letter That Never Came

26th December 2010:
Hi there

The reason that I opted to read and review this story was mainly because the main protagonist of this story happened to a relatively minor character, and as many people know, I abolutely LOVE stories that iclude minor characters, they open up so many possibilities.

I like the storyline that you've chosen to weave into Arabella's life; to me it's a very defining moment for her as she's a squib and we as readers know little else about her.

It was a short, sweet, flawless piece of writing with a lovely use of description incorporated in there. This is going straight into my favourites.

Katie

Author's Response: This is actually my only story with a minor character, though I agree that they do open up many possibilities; since writing this I've actually thought of many other aspects of Arabella's life and am considering writing a sequel :P I think the defining moment for any Squib would be that confirmation that they're never going to Hogwarts, and I wanted to capture that. Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm thrilled that you're favouriting it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by moonbaby11 The Letter That Never Came

26th December 2010:
Aww, poor Arabella. I felt very bad for her during this. I'd never really thought about how squibs would feel when their letters didn't come. I guess that woudl be horrible, knowing that the magical world existed, but never getting to be part of it yourself. You really seemed to capture that feeling well in this one-shot.

I thought you did a good job of making Arabella seem very innocent and like a child, waiting for her letter. You did great with characterizing her. She definetly seems like an eleven year old girl.

This was a little short, but I liked it. The length worked well with the story, making sure that you got the feeling across and didn't ramble on with it. I liked how short it was.

Overall, I thought this was really well-written. My favourite part was probably how she wrote the names of all of the houses on the window. I thought that was kind of cute. Keep up the great work and happy holidays!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was my first attempt at writing a child; I've always found it a remarkably difficult thing to do, so I'm really glad I've pulled that off. It is intentionally short; I think I've put as much into it as I need to. Once again, thanks for the review and happy holidays to you too!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>