Reading Reviews for Red Hair and a Beater's Bat
  
96 Reviews Found

Review #26, by CharlieDay Dumbledore's Army

8th November 2011:
I'm sorry to say this is going to be another short review >< not that i want to do short reviews, but I just wrote a massively long one, and my laptop died, so I'm going for a shorty but goody.
I NEVER NOTICED ATHENA WAS TALENTED!! Seriously, and I think that was a really good thing. I mean, i kinda knew it, but i didn't really clock it, and I think that really helps to steer clear of the Mary-Sueism.
I just thought i'd point out, after 'and here are the ravenclaws' there's an accidental return; it says and one o[return]f...
OMG I love the OWL explaining bit. Exam requirements are always like that, and I ALWAYS need someone to explain to me what they're going on about.
Athena is brilliant. Absoloutly brilliant. AWESOMEWONDERFULBRILLIAN[INSERTGOODADJECTIVEHERE] She is the sort of person who is cool beyond cool, but in a realistic way.
See you on the next chapter
Charlie
xx
PS. Pansy hasn't come back :LL My Athena/Pansy best buddy dream has been broken...

Author's Response: Hiya again! I love Athena as well - four years on she's still one of my favourite characters I've ever written, and I'm really glad you're enjoying her so much! Sorry about shattering the Athena/Pansy dream!

 Report Review

Review #27, by CharlieDay Not So Empty Threats

7th November 2011:
Another short review here- IT's soo exciting! I want to get on with the story, so I can't stay down here long.
UMBRIDGE IS BLOODY BRILLIANT. She is so umbridge like, with her sort of snide nastiness mixed in with sadism. J'adore the way she reacted to Athena's comments!
Now, on to the next chapter. I just can't help myself.
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Thanks again! Pinning down Umbridge's particular brand of deplorability is always difficult, and I'm glad I've pulled that off, thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #28, by CharlieDay Losing Control

7th November 2011:
Helloo!! I am back, after not very long. At All. But that does not really bother me, because I like this story. Lotsandlotsandlots. AS MUCH AS I LIKE CHOCOLATE. Which is a lot. Because chocolate is my favourite thing. I should stop rambling now, and get one with the review. (Which will, I guarantee, be totally mad.)
The spacing Issue in this chapter is all fixed, so it makes reading a lot easier :)
I only really have one problem, with this chapter. And that is the fact that Athena kept talking about the faeces (yes, I'm being 12+ again) on the owlery floor. I think, maybe, once could've been enough, but on the other hand that way of going about it is kinda IC of Athena.
AND YOU GOT HARRY JUSSSTTT RIGHT!!! That's another hard character to do. Harry is trick business, and you just got him done god. He's all Harryish, and I especially like the fact that he goes on about the same things he really did in OoTP. The 'it's just luck' and all that.
Thanks for the awesome read
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: You like it as much as you like chocolate? That's high praise indeed! I'm glad I got Harry in character - again, the canon characters are difficult to pin down properly, so thank you for saying that, and again, thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by CharlieDay Detention, Dark Magic and Doubts

7th November 2011:
This is going to be a moderately short review, because I am nearly dead by exhaustion.
Fred is so gentlemenly, yet at the same time so Fredish. But...I wonder if fred knew what had happened to Harry, and like, guessed but didn't say? I love your Umbridge, too, she is so umbridgey. Like a real, JKR, Umbridge. Like I have rambled on so many times before, your characterisation is an extrememely strong point.
And as I haven't mentioned it for a few reviews, I haven't noticed any major Kiwi-isms, and all your characters sound very British.
[/Uncharacteristicly short and to the point review]
Charlie, an addicted Athena/Fred Shipper
xx

Author's Response: That's perfectly okay, thanks so much for the review bombing! Again, thanks - I'm glad you're enjoying the characterisation, it's always difficult to pull off the canon characters, so I'm glad you think I did!

 Report Review

Review #30, by CharlieDay Hogwarts

7th November 2011:
Hi, again. I might stop at chapter five. But then again, I might not. And whenever I stop, I'm still going to keep reviewing you. I'm just going to go on a little break. Actually, I think I'll stop when my laptops finished charging, so I can't tell you exactly how many reviews that will be in.
AND I LOVE THE LINE ABOUT EITHER THAT OR IT'S * (this is 12+, so obviously i can't quote exactly.) It's really, really in keeping with Athena's character, and it's pretty funny.
I don't remember the thing with the twins happening in the book, but I kinda haven't read OoTP for about three years, so it might just be my memory.
AWW, poor little Nathaniel, being teased by Athena, but LOL. I can imagine Snape not choosing Katya A. Because of favouritism, and B. Exactly why you said, but I'm not sure why flitwick would choose Athena anyway.
YOU JUST MADE MY DAY. AND I STILL HAVE 23 AND A HALF HOURS TO GO. I LOVE YOU. 'Me and Pansy Are best buddies' You just made the winningest friendship ever. That was all i wanted in my last review, and I got it. YAYAYAY.
Hmm...Athena+Nathaniel going muggle school at the same time... Plausible vs Implausible. THIS IS A STORY ABOUT WIZARDS. I am voting plausible.
Athena needs to date Fred. He is the cutest, most awesome guy in the whole world of fanfic, and Athena is the most awesome girl. So, well matched then ;)
The spacing in this chapter was a little distracting, but other than that, brilliant!
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks, and you've made a solid effort already! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter, and thank you for reviewing as always!

 Report Review

Review #31, by CharlieDay Expectations

7th November 2011:
Okayy, me. Again. You're probably getting bored of me, by now, but I'm not getting bored of your stories, so HAHAHA. I just thought I'd point out, though, the formatting on this chapter is a bit iffy. The spaces a pretty big, so it makes it a little harder to read.
"I need a new family." "Get married" I totally didn't have that exact same dialogue with my mother once...
BUT I WANT TO KNOW WHO ASKED ATHENA OUT!!! (Unfortunately, apparently) And I also like her sister. Her sister is like my sister. So she's good at being the annoying little sister. BUTREALLYSERIOUSLYCOOL. The sister, and the mum are really well characterised. I would say characterisation is definitely a strong point of yours.
Athena is actually a lot like me when it comes to the bed situation. I will never get out of bed, and sometimes i'll argue my head off whilst I'm tucked up in there.
AND RON IS SO, um, RONNY!! The shut up malfoy line, and oohh, so fun!
I love your characterisation of Pansy, and the fact that she doesn't think Malfoy is all bad. I think, though, that Athena and Pansy need to be BFFs. I don't care if this story is completed. THEY NEED TO BE BFFs. Because i now think that Pansy is, like, the coolest person ever. Yay!
Thanks for the fun, fun read
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: I'm glad you're still enjoying my work! The formatting for this entire story is a bit iffy, you're right - this is a very old story from my first days on the site, before I got the hang of formatting. I'm glad you enjoyed the characterisation - I do love these characters, even four years on. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #32, by CharlieDay Ickle Prefect

7th November 2011:
Yes, yes, it's me again, I'm on a review fest. It is very fun. Especially with your stories. I LIKEY THIS CHAPTER. I SEE MORE TWINS. THIS MAKE ME HAPPY.
I was a bit worried that as the twins became more prominent, their characterisation would become less awesome, but they are still very well charactarised, and you really could be JKR.
I am also happy to announce that your characters all still sound like brits. I have been scanning for any Kiwi-isms that I've never heard used in the uk, that my friends use, and i've found none, so you're doing good.
The only thing in this that got me a little bit worried was Nathaniel's Weasley-ness, since he was never mentioned in the books...But, i still think that it's plausible, because we know the Weasleys had a lot of cousins, and there would obviously be some with the name Weasley.
Again, this chapter has a lot of dialogue, but starts with description. However, it's beginning to come through very much as a writing style, and it is really quite unusual. In a good way.
Thanks for writing such an awesome story for me to wittle away my time whilst reading,
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it! I did use a bit of creative licence with the creation of Nathaniel Weasley, but I think it's a feasible enough addition. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #33, by CharlieDay Just Quidditch?

7th November 2011:
And another story to get down with reviewing. A bit longer, this time, so tres exciting. Especially as it's about a Ravenclaw, and being, um, a Ravenclaw myself i likey this. And Fred *loveLOVElove* So shiny. I liked Fred. And this is, y'know, bringing him back, so I can frolic in the imagining that DH never happened.
This was pretty short though, and there was a lot of dialogue. I think maybe you could've balanced out the dialogue a bit to make it flow better. I dunno, though. That might just be a thought.
It was very, very funny though. 'JUST Quidditch?' That has, in context, got to be one of the best line's ever. Another piece of praise I have, that's sort of on characterisation, is that I know you're a kiwi, so as of yet you've written English characters very well. It's not like in the US, where it's all completely different, but you're characters do sound VERY english.
Also, again on a characterisation note, It's very easy to make Fred OOC. Which is why I have a kind of phobia of writing him. But you made him REALLY Fred-like, with all the laugh-y quidditch stuff, and that.
I wasn't so sure about the Ginny, but we know she can be very shy, so it's quite easy to vary her characterisation.
A really good start
Charlie!
xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading this, glad you enjoyed it! I'm pretty careful with making my stories sound authentically British - which isn't too difficult as there's a lot of crossover between British and Kiwi slang anyway. Glad you're enjoying this story, and thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #34, by how2loveamarauder Resolution

19th September 2011:
That was fantabalistacally bloody brilliant! Thoroughly enjoyed reading it! I was so happy that I couldn't really notice any spelling or grammar mistakes and you kept it so canon which I love! I'm going to go check and see if you have any more stories! Ten out of ten!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I have heaps of other stories if you're keen to check them out!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Helene Resolution

9th August 2011:
DID YOU MAKE THE BLURRING THE LINES FIC?! THIS IS AMAZING! I can totally relate to Athena. Wonderful Piece, Really!

Author's Response: Thank you! Blurring the Lines is up, three chapters so far :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by :D Resolution

29th July 2011:
Sequel Please? I beg of you!

Amazing Story! :)

Author's Response: Sequel is already up, it's called Blurring the Lines :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by phoenix_potter Resolution

19th July 2011:
LOL!!! Oh my gosh i seriously about died of laughter when you threw in the Tardis comment! This story got 100x better and it was already terrific to begin with. Oh dear still chuckling over it! so wonderful. Great story though I love her sassy character she's so forward and blunt its a nice change from the simpering girls :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked the Tardis comment, I've had a bit of feedback from fellow Dr Who fans about that :P I'm thrilled you like Athena, she's my all-time favourite character and as you can imagine, she's brilliant fun to write! Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by ob sessed Ickle Prefect

12th July 2011:
Hahaha, Ickle Prefect. Funny, I like it :) The dialogue once again was very realistic and humorous, and it all flowed very nicely. Although I wish the chapters were longer!! But only cause I enjoy reading this. Right, onto next chapter! xx

Author's Response: Sorry about the short chapters, glad you're enjoying it though!

 Report Review

Review #39, by ob sessed Just Quidditch?

12th July 2011:
Teeeheeehee, I really liked this first chapter. It was well-written without trying too hard and it flowed very nicely. Easy to read, humorous and completely entertaining. I loved it! It's hard to write a fanfic in this era because of the HP books and how anal people are about the portrayal of canon characters, but I think you did a really good job! The dialogue was also very believable! :)

Reading on now... :P xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #40, by pattyweasley Resolution

2nd June 2011:
loved loved loved this!!! i will surely read next ffic! haha

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Kristen Resolution

5th May 2011:
So Good! I personally would have wanted the story to go for a bit more but thats your choice. Keep the good work coming!

Author's Response: Thank you! If you're interested, I do have a sequel in progress called Blurring the Lines, set in Athena's seventh year :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by kestral14 Resolution

26th March 2011:
That story was REALLY good. It was really suspensfull. I wish it didn't end, I want to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! If you're interested, I do have another story (Blurring the Lines) about Athena, set in her seventh year, if you want to check it out :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Smeemo Resolution

27th February 2011:
Im really glad your going to be writing a sequel story. I thought some of the one liners in this were incredibly witty and funny. My favourite had to be from the chapter 'Sleeping Dragons' where one of the ravenclaws is talking about the list and they said Athena and she said I'm flattered. Made me laugh out loud. Keep up the good work =] x

Author's Response: Thank you! I like that line too :P I like a lot of them, to be honest. I'm allowed to say that because Athena writes herself, I can't claim any credit :P Guess what? The first chappie of the sequel is already posted, have a read :D

 Report Review

Review #44, by Emily the Emu Resolution

26th February 2011:
I didn't want to read this story to begin with but it had my favorite pairing Fred/OC and I took a chance.
It was amazing x3 I was so hoping for it to be a bit longer though. I'm thinking of reading your other stories. :p

Author's Response: Thank you! I know it is a bit brief, I didn't want to drag out the storyline too much :P Please do!

 Report Review

Review #45, by shapeshifter98 Resolution

26th February 2011:
AW!1 THATS SO CUTE! omg ur ahmazing! i wish there was some more Umbridge bashing tho. that was funny

Author's Response: Thank you! Ah yes, don't we all love Umbridge bashing? :P

 Report Review

Review #46, by magicmuggle01 Resolution

21st February 2011:
Hi again. I finally reached the end of your fantastic story. I was abit doubtful as to whether or not Athena and Fred would finally get together, but they did. The story was great and I loved your characters alot. I look forward to reading the rest of your stories. Since I can give you any rating I want in the review section I hereby give you a quadrupal triple 10/10 rating for the whole story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked my characters, I get attached to them :P Quadruple triple 10/10? *falls off chair* I am indeed honoured :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by magicmuggle01 Post Mortem

21st February 2011:
I had to laugh at the crack about Athena's sexuallity. And than the arguement that she was having with herself about the do's and don'ts about whether or not she should have a relationship with Fred. Then whilst she thinking out loud about all this Fred turns up out of the blue. Then she starts to spoil everything because of the uncontrolable emotions she had before she turned Eleven and could not control her emotions and turns Fred away. If only she had formed the words that she was thinking. Another 10/10 and now for the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by magicmuggle01 This, I Will Regret

21st February 2011:
I secretly knew that the girl was Athena. What a great way to get all the aggression that Fred was feeling out. And since Athena is a very capable witch she was able to defend herself quite well. Since I have been reading your stories I have decided to add you to a private list of my own making. You are now on my own personel fav authors list, which is called MY ULTIMATE FAV AUTHORS (not affilliated with this site) you are the third author whose stories I like to be added to this list. Thanks for the house it looks great. Another fantastic 10/10. Now for the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that idea :) Wow, I'm flattered! Insanely flattered! Thanks so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #49, by magicmuggle01 Beaten

20th February 2011:
Do I detect a love interest between Arthena and Fred (or in this case (since Fred knows nothing) Arthena's infatuation with Fred)? What a gripping chapter. Your pen (or in this case your word processor) is flowing very nicely. The Ravewn claws way of surpporting trhe teams at the Quiddich matches made me smile. Nobody can accuse them of playing favourites when the other teams are playing. Again this has been a great chapter and you get another 10/10 from me.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you appreciated the Quidditch supporting, it's another of those ideas I've had a bit of fun with. Once again, thank you for all the lovely reviews! *buys you a house*

 Report Review

Review #50, by busybusybeta Resolution

20th February 2011:
Okay. I forgive you for the second to last chapter; this was great, and typical athena fashion.
I really enjoyed this story. Short and sweet. I'm glad i found it!

Author's Response: Glad to hear it! Thanks for the compliment, and all the reviews! I'm glad you found it too, it made my day seeing all your reviews :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>