Reading Reviews for Red Hair and a Beater's Bat
  
96 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohmymerlin Dumbledore's Army

6th July 2014:
Hello!

This was interesting! I love reading all your OC's and seeing how you integrate them within the canon characters (although admittedly I've kind of fallen behind in catching up with all your other works D':) and it's so great! I love Athena, she's so blunt (I don't know if that's the word I want to use -- I only just woke up) and just gets straight to the point!

I love how she's got all the exam requirements for DADA as well! When I read that scene in OoTP, I actually thought about how they knew what would be in the O.W.L's! I'm glad you put that in! It makes it so much more authentic :D

And I loved the way she high-fived Fred for disarming Zacharias! I would do the same :P And the blatant corruption and everyone's agreement of it was great! I also laughed at how surprised she was that not many people could master Expelliarmus. It made me giggle, picturing her face. (Maybe pursed lips and an annoyed eyebrow raise?)

Anyway, this chapter was great! You did a really good job of it! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm always surprised when I get reviews for my older stories, especially this one as I finished it so long ago, but I'm glad you enjoyed it (and thought of it quickly enough to include it in a decree review!)

I love Athena too, and even four years on I'm still very interested in rewriting her and bringing her into new stories - I've made a few attempts so far that haven't worked out very well, but I haven't given up hope (and that face is definitely spot on, well done!)

Thanks for reviewing this story - it's nice to know people are still reading it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by loopylunalovegood Not So Empty Threats

27th January 2012:
love you! x lol this is a really cool story athena's awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by grkc Resolution

17th January 2012:
Harry Potter + Fred Weasley + David Tennant?

THE BEST FANFICTION EVER!!

I literally laughed out loud at that :))

awesome

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you appreciated that bit!

 Report Review

Review #4, by grkc Just Quidditch?

16th January 2012:
hahahahahaha


that sounds exactly like them!!! well done! i can tell this is gonna be good :)

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by luna_lovely Resolution

12th January 2012:
Really enjoyed this one :) i shall definitely be reading the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bookworm045 Resolution

8th January 2012:
I'm going to start crying right now. That was like the beginning! Not an end! What happened? Fred leaves after a bit! What happens with that? Why do you leave all these questions for me to ask?

Anyway, I adored this story, as you probably got from my reviews. It was cute and it was short (and even though I'm complaining now, I really did start it because of it's length) and it was so wonderfully perfect. Athena is awesome and Fred is such a cutie and I love Nathaniel and I think every single person in this fic besides Umbridge has been laughed at by me. You're a great writer and I'm glad I took the time to read this. Looking forward to work my way through the rest of your work! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and I really appreciate all your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Bookworm045 Post Mortem

8th January 2012:
I'm having a heart attack. Oh my god. WHY DID SHE DO THAT I AGREE WITH NATHANIEL IN SAYING THAT SHE'S INCREDIBLY STUPID. OH. MY. GOD. I SWEAR I'M NOT ACTUALLY THIS SPAZZY.

Author's Response: IT'S OKAY I FORGIVE YOU AND THANKS FOR THE REVIEW

 Report Review

Review #8, by Bookworm045 This, I Will Regret

8th January 2012:
HOLY-OHMYGOD I'M HAVING A HEART ATTACK I NEW IT AND I'M STILL FREAKING OUT HOW IS SHE THAT BOLD I WOULD HAVE LIKE GONE INTO HYSTERICS BEFORE I TOLD SOMEONE THAT HE WAS CRUSHING ON ME OH MY GOD I AM FREAKING OUT I LOVE YOU BYE.

Author's Response: I'M SORRY ABOUT THE HEART ATTACK BUT THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL EXCITEMENT-FILLED REVIEW

 Report Review

Review #9, by Bookworm045 Beaten

8th January 2012:
That was quite an epic chapter. I loved LOVED Athena's messed up wording in the beginning AND FRED LIKES HER and Luna is always wonderful and then the match (bahaha, the Ravenclaws and their support-the-winning-team banners) and then now. OMG WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN I MUST FIND OUT BYE.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Bookworm045 Sleeping Dragons

8th January 2012:
I adore your idea for the who's hot list. And Athena's commentary is spectacular and then they protest at it and she's like 'I'm flattered' and I lost it. I'm still giggling a little bit. You're wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bookworm045 Dumbledore's Army

8th January 2012:
"Malfoy's not too bad," Michael commented. "I mean, he's been on the Slytherin team for years, and he's fast."
"Yeah, but he's a git," Nathaniel said dismissively.
"Well, yeah, he is," Michael agreed. "But then again, Roger's a git, and he can fly."
"I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks that," I commented.

Bahahahaha. Wonderful, as always. :D

Author's Response: Glad you appreciated it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Bookworm045 Not So Empty Threats

8th January 2012:
Holy snood. Your Umbridge makes Rowling's Umbridge look like a fluffy kitten.

Author's Response: Holy snood is perhaps my favourite line ever. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Bookworm045 Losing Control

8th January 2012:
Athena is so wonderfully cocky. (insert ego inflation here) "Oh, grow an ego" bahahaha. I love this story so much. I can't think of anything I'd like to change about it, to be perfectly honest. I don't read too many Hogwarts-era fics. I couldn't stop laughing when she was complaining about the 'annual quidditch practice'. Priceless.

Author's Response: I'm glad this one could be the exception to your Hogwarts-era rule. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bookworm045 Detention, Dark Magic and Doubts

8th January 2012:
Athena's a smart cookie. Such a smart cookie. And SHE LIKES FRED AND FRED LIKES HER OHMYGOD. LOVE IS IN THE AIR AND THE FLOWERS ARE ALL SINGING AND THE RAINBOWS ARE DANCING AND THERE ARE PINK UNICORNS FLOATING AROUND GALLANTLY.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bookworm045 Hogwarts

8th January 2012:
Fabulous chapter. I'm in love with this story more than before. Again. I think it's going beautifully. I adore Athena because she is awesome.

Favorite quotes are as such:
--She should have been prefect instead of Pansy, but she apparently informed Snape that she would choose Quidditch over classes or prefect duties every single time, and would grossly abuse her authority. I said exactly the same thing to Flitwick, but he still chose me.
--"I'm touched. I think."
--"That's enough for a fortnight of most classes, and in your case, two and a half months of Astronomy."
I dug into my pockets, pulling out a handful of Sickles. "I'll be back in two and a half months, then."
"Not tempted to get out of Defence Against the Dark Arts?"
"I'll be back in a month."

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Bookworm045 Expectations

8th January 2012:
Is it possible to copy-paste the whole chapter and tell you that was my favorite part?

Author's Response: I appreciate the sentiment!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Bookworm045 Ickle Prefect

8th January 2012:
I love you. This is such a cute story already. Really shaping up. Fred and George are awesome and I love Nathaniel's mommy and Athena is epicness.

This is my favorite quote: I didn't think it was possible, but I was pretty sure my ego had just gotten bigger.

And Fred is still my favorite. :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bookworm045 Just Quidditch?

8th January 2012:
Cute start. I like Fred. Predictable, I guess. Favorite line is definitely "Who goes to school for classes?" I was giggling the whole time, so be proud, because it takes a lot to make me laugh lately. :) On to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by CharlieDay Resolution

26th December 2011:
Wow, it's actually coming to an end :o I'm actually pretty sad, I mean it's been an amazing time, in an amazing story, and now it's finished. Then again, You have plenty of other stuff for me to do, so yeah :P

I know the answer to the knockers question, I think. I'm thinking 'go forward' hmmm.I don't reckon Google has the answer to this one.

Doctor who reference. R.O.F.L This is the best thing since sliced bread, no? I love.

Hahahaha. That is brilliant. 'Main character looks a bit like Barty Crouch junior' that must be the most awesome line. Ever. Seriously, that could be nominated for a dobby. I love it.

YAY! THEY IZ BACK TOGETHER. AWESOMEZ.

This was a short review, I think otherwise i would be gushing sadness and tears, and that would suck
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed this story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by CharlieDay Post Mortem

26th December 2011:
Hiya! I was thinking of doing a general Christmas review fest, so obviously I came here xP I've nearly finished this story...Wow, that's quite an achievement, even if I do say so myself. I've never reviewed every chapter of a story before. Then again, I still have one chapter to go!

The door, LOL. It's kind of true though, if you think about it. That really did make me laugh. True comedic genius.

Athena is angry >< This is scary! I'm definitely glad I'm not Nathaniel. He's not been in the story much, has he? I sort of forgot who he was. I remembered again, but maybe he could've been in it more. Y'know, had his own sub-plot?

I am tres excited. Seriously, romances don't usually have this much tension, especially not ones which are part of the humour 'genre'

I like-eth the italicised convo, though I was a little confused by it. Hmm...I don't think that made much sense. Anyway, the long and the short of it was that I liked it. Yeah.

Don't deny it, Athena, you love Fred, Fred loves you, Don't deny it, just admit it. You're like Ron and Hermione; meant to be together :)
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! You do raise some good points, so thanks for that feedback as well!

 Report Review

Review #21, by CharlieDay This, I Will Regret

16th December 2011:
Hi! It's me...One month and two days after my last reveiw, but like meh. (How articulate am I?) I am back! Still determined to review every single last chapter that you've ever written ;)

So, good start. Within the first sentance I actually remembered what was happening. That's seriously good for someone as short memory'd as me xD

TITLE REFERENCE. Epic, really epic. I should do that. Can I do that? It's amazing. Seriously. More people should do it.

Aww. So sweet. It was kinda a short chapter though, and I know I'm nearly at the end *le tear* Seriously. I don't want it to finish.

Charlie
xx

Author's Response: I'm glad you've enjoyed it so far, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Loony_Scorpy Resolution

2nd December 2011:
This story is amazing! I loved it ♥ I absolutely loved Athena, she is flipping awesome! And Fred ♥ I loved the banter and Athena's bad bottomness (keeping it 12+ ;P even if it sounds ridiculously lame!) I'm off to read the sequel now :D

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by LoopyLemon Resolution

29th November 2011:
I loved this story!! The characters were really well done. I loved Athena. She was so aware of herself. The relationship with Fred was really well done. I loved the in involvement of Umbridge and how this wasn't a purely romantic fix. You are an amazing writer and come up with the most amazing characters and ideas. This story was as good as usual with all JKR's characters in character and all your characters were three dimensional and believable. Beautiful!!

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by CharlieDay Beaten

11th November 2011:
I'm back!!! Yes, yes, I know it's been a long time, but still i return to continue reviewing this piece of awesomeness.
Soo, again with this chapter, the spacing's a bit iffy, but not as bad as it has been in some other chapters.
I totally agree with Athena on the Malfoy Ferret thing. 'Tis very profound, and not something most people would think of, but something Athena most certainly would think of.
I hate Cho Chang >< I didn't hate her so much, even after I read the books, but now I hate her. She isn't allowed to steal Fred. I shall personally kill her (somehow..)
Luna is so...Luna-y! I loved her and Athena's conversation, it was so full of Luna awesome, and YOU REMEMBERED THE LION HAT!! Yay! That makes me so happy, I love the lion hat. *Cough I totally don't do exactly the same thing with the sports I watch in Real life as Athena&The Ravenclaws do with Quidditch Cough*
I feel the hate for Umbridge coming on again. Horrible woman. How I would like to hit her over the head with Fred or Athena's beater's bat. That would be very, very nice. Awesome, in fact.
BUT I WANT TO KNOW WHERE ATHENA IS TAKING FRED!!! They need to finally realise their obvious love for each other. BECAUSE THEY ARE SO ADORABLE.
Hmm...I like that Athena says she was NEARLY sorted into Gryffindor; sorta like Flitwick. And it just makes me ship Fred/Athena even more. Because I totally think Fred would've made an awesome Ravenclaw, as well as an awesome Gryffindor.
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Heya again, thanks for reviewing! Glad you enjoyed this chapter, and I hope you enjoyed the shipper feels in this chapter and the next few!

 Report Review

Review #25, by CharlieDay Sleeping Dragons

8th November 2011:
HELLOOO AGAIN. This will probably be my last review for the near (and by near i mean for the next half hour) future, because I need to go NaNo, but anywho, onward bound.
I like how you remembered muggle studies. In fanfiction there's endless transfiguration, charms, and potions, but muggle studies is rare.
Ahh, a who's hot list. What fun. This comes to one of my favourite things about this story. You've got school to a realistic tee. It's just so, well, school-y, and again that's something rare in fanfiction.
Ciao,
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: That's fine, thank you so much for the review bomb! One of the things I love doing is developing Hogwarts as a school, and throwing in all those little details - I'm glad you appreciated it! Thanks again for reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>