Reading Reviews for Temptations
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #26, by nicalyse The Unexpected

9th June 2006:
Wow is the first word that comes to mind. I love the way that you write both Remus and Narcissa, and the melding of the cousins is superb. Somehow it's sexy and beautiful and just a little bit scary all at once. I'm excited to see where some of the other pairings go!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Ginevra_Black The Unexpected

4th June 2006:
i didn't leave a review here!!!
shame on me... well, exellent work as usual!
i'll take the chance to congratulate you for your book and to tell you that, if you ever need an italian translator, here i am!!! you can count on me!!
love
GB

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Yuu The Unexpected

14th April 2006:
Ooh! So Remus realized he in fact desired Sirius! I was suspecting when he kept mentioning Sirius and comparing Narcissa with Sirius all along. I liked it! I didn't know you were into slash, by the way. ;)

“But she’s a Back and will always get her way.” You're missing an 'l'. I think I saw other slight typos like this one, but didn't list them. Eep! I'm in lazy mode. Anyway, I enjoyed this. :)




Author's Response: Thanks for the help, Yuu! Much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Aisu Hoshino The Unexpected

14th April 2006:
As promised, I'm reviewing.


You have wonderful descriptions, as always, something I must compliment as I'm not very good in that area. It was difficult for me to picture Remus as you portrayed him, but still believable, if that makes any since whatsoever. I was particularly fascinated by your version of Narcissa - I've never seen her written like that, and yet it was perfect. I can picture her being like that, and the comparisons between her and Sirius were a nice touch.


The rel-well I guess relationship doesn't really work here. Encounter, maybe? -
between Remus and Narcissa was handled well, and the ending was great. Remus gets a thumbs up for backing out after going that far. Narcissa...any chance you'll write something involving her in the future? Sorry, but I really did love her in this.


I'm very much so looking forward to the future chapters of this, especially since your comments in the forums seemed to suggest you're going for lesser-thought-of pairings. I'll definitely be keeping up with thus.


In the forums, you mentioned that you were open to suggestion for pairings for this, and I want to make a suggestion. I've been fascinated with the idea for this pairing for probably over a year now, and I have yet to see it explored. I touch on it in a one-shot that I'm posting once I'm able to, but I don't go in-depth. The pairing is Bellatrix/Peter...odd, yes, but I've always found it plausible for quite a few reasons. I doubt my sanity, though.


Right now the only others I can think of are Pansy/Ron, McGonagall/Tom, and Cho/Draco, but I'm sure if I were given time I could come up with some what-are-you-on pairngs (hey, I'm writing Luna/Tom, aren't I?).


Good luck!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks for all the great ideas! I may try a Bella fic. Not sure if I can pull her off but I may give it a try anyway :P Thanks for the help and advice!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Pierce The Unexpected

10th April 2006:
Very steamy, hot, good teen apple pie story

Author's Response: Thanks, Pierce!

 Report Review

Review #31, by rainbow92 The Unexpected

9th April 2006:
I think you really are one of the best authors on this site. While checking 'the present', I noticed this and couldn't resist. I really loved it; as usualy, your writing style was impeccable and beautiful, and your descriptions were brilliant. I especially loved the last line; brilliant, just brilliant.

Author's Response: Wow, what a great compliment. Thank you ever so much!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Trisha_Evenstar The Unexpected

9th March 2006:
Really good but i got a bit confused a bit in between sirius and narcissa

Author's Response: So sorry about that! Thanks for taking the time to review, though, I do thank you for it.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Brooke and Peyton The Unexpected

8th March 2006:
ok i love the last line and this is a great story

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Violet Gryfindor The Unexpected

15th February 2006:
Wow. That was quite a story, timeturner. It was powerful throughout, showing Remus' emotions in a way I never could have pictured before yet that fit the more wolf-like parts of his personality. Him and Narcissa together was unexpected - I'd never thought about them together before. The atmosphere of this story is very dark, I found, almost like a film noir or horror story. It really suited the content, with the unleashed desires and the overall theme of temptation. This is extremely well-written. It had me drawn in by the end of the first paragraph and I think I forgot to breathe by the end (you might watch for any harm you cause your readers ;-) ). Sorry if I sound a little off, but your story really made me speechless, it's so incredibly good. I really want to see what you do in the next installment of this (if what I read in your AN is correct, this will be a chaptered story). Brilliant work, timeturner, you never cease to amaze me with your writing abilities. =)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Fallen Auror The Unexpected

15th February 2006:
I really enjoyed your chapter this chapter, I love stories that are ensembles of individual components held together with a central theme. I am looking forward to reading more. Remus’ confusion and internal confliction was really quite appt, and is my opinion that of the marauders Remus would be the only capable of such self restraint. Your descriptions gave me quite stark impression of your world, down to aromas and tactile sensations. I do think I would have resisted her charms. There were some small cultural differences, I noticed but these did not detract from the chapter’s integrity, or my enjoyment of it. I hope you update this story

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #36, by IchigoPan The Unexpected

13th February 2006:
I must make this review quick. Great chapter and very sexually intense. And poor, poor Remus. Falling into the Venus Flytrap that is Narcissa's 'domain' if you catch my drift. I love how you reiterated Sirius' warnings in Remus' head while he was doing all these things to her. It kept his sanity in character. For a moment there, I thought you were going to have him hallucinate Narcissa's face as SIrius'. That would have been extremely distrubing *shudders* Nonetheless, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Lucid The Unexpected

13th February 2006:
Now I know I remember you mentioned about writing this ship before, and boy am I glad that you did, because this is just terrific. The feelings that are on display here, just undulating under the surface of everything are wonderfully dark and forbidden. I absolutely adored the sensuality that you made Narcissa exude, it was really tangible, and I could feel Remus' struggle with it all, brilliantly. The passion between them again, was something else to read and the words you used seemed perfect, allowing the reader to share in the moment. I think what I liked the most though, was the end line. How very bitter for Narcissa and how utterly terrific for Remus, I loved that he didn't give in, I loved that he fought it and made her feel like the fool and the vulnerable one, he played her delightfully and won. I could have whooped for him. This is brilliant, I really hope you continue with the idea as you said you are because its addictive I swear. Thanks for entering this into the challenge, it fits wonderfully.

Author's Response: Thanks, Lucid. As always, your reviews are just stunning. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Cor_Leonis The Unexpected

13th February 2006:
What an interesting pairing you have here...one that, in canon, seems so impossible, and yet you've handled it quite well. I liked the longing, the teasing, the subtle innuendos and the fact that Remus comes out on top. It's interesting that Remus is attracted to the Black qualities, and then he has this inner moment of truth at the end... He was much more aggressive then I usually picture Remus, but I think that was very telling of his wolfish nature. Nice little story, Timeturner. I'll keep looking for more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Cor. It means a lot coming from you, of course. I did try to run those Black qualities all the way through so that when you reached the twist readers could look back and say "oh, I get it now!" And, I agree about his agressive behavoriour. But I like to think he wasn't always in control of himself...especially as a teen, he was still learning to harness his emotions. Facing things like this would help him learn to do that. Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by streams of silver The Unexpected

9th February 2006:
Goodness. What an ending. That was wonderful...beautifully written. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Jessi_Rose The Unexpected

2nd February 2006:
Beautiful! Keep up the great work! I love your fictions!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Noblevyne The Unexpected

1st February 2006:
Very lyrical, sensual style. The whole piece feels as though it's soft lit, hung with velvet curtains, it has an expensive feel to it...if that makes any sense.

Remus is always the quiet achiever, he hides things within, but you've written it so that you can see he's reached the point where it's boiled over, spilling into his life so that if he doesn't act, he'd go mad with frustration. Great twist at the end, one of the best ideas for Remus to realise that hey, that love he has for Sirius? Not so platonic.

Author's Response: Thanks, my dear. For the support and hand holding and everything else you gave through this. I can't thank you enough.

 Report Review

Review #42, by melihobbit The Unexpected

1st February 2006:
Linda, this is just amazing. On a level I can't even begin to describe. Let's start with your fantastic dialogue; that had me laughing quite a lot, just the way Narcissa and Remus' banter, their game of one-upmanship. I love it. And I'll admit I don't know a hell of a lot about Narcissa, but I love your characterisation of her (and Remus), which is delightfully predatory and to be honest, made me just a bit jealous. I'm also in love with the fact that Remus can be (in her words) "vulgar"; something we don't see enough of. I adore the way you slowly uncovered the layers of Remus' thoughts in the last few paragraphs, just the way he begins to doubt himself and where his true feelings lie. I love this and it's going straight to my favourites so I can have a good ol' dose of Remus/Narcissa whenever I need it :) Stunning work!

Author's Response: First, let me say your review blew me away. I'm flattered beyond measure that you were so kind in your review when it concerned this pairing...not that you wouldn't be kind but I'm just really honored to have someone like you say such nice and kind things about a story I wavered about not posting. It's so different not only in the story itself but different because I've never written anything like these pairings before. Thank you very very much.

 Report Review

Review #43, by ConradK The Unexpected

31st January 2006:
That was great. Really unexpected and exciting, and I must admit that for the first few paragraphs I thought that they were all talking about Bellatrix and I thought that would have been very out of character for Remus. But the Narcissa thing...that was just extremely creative. It was really emotionally charged too, because the part about Remus really being in love with Sirius was so subtle and sad. And the last line was amazing! I can't wait to read the updates for this one and I hope that they're all as creative and surprising as this first chapter!

Author's Response: I tried to keep people guessing about a lot of things in this one ;) Thanks for the encouragement too. I have so many little plot bunnies about characters in situations we wouldn't expect them and I hope i'm able to make those come out as twisty and turning as this one did. Thanks so much..it was great to hear from you again!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Evanesco123 The Unexpected

30th January 2006:
Amazing. It's so dark and heartwrenching at the same time. You put a unique side to characters that I thought I had figured out. You truly do have a gift and I hope you continue to use it to its full advantage. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much! I try and take the characters a different way and I'm glad that worked for you. Thanks again for such sweet and encouraging thoughts.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Sweden The Unexpected

30th January 2006:
That was really a brilliant piece of writing! And suprising to! Looks like you really have thought i through... :) Skriv mer!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #46, by DrPepperBeans The Unexpected

28th January 2006:
Wow, that really was unexpected. Remus and Narcissa. But, hey he walked away. Good for him. Hope to read an update soon ^_^

Author's Response: lol, yes, good for him. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Harrypottergirl4eva The Unexpected

28th January 2006:
oooo so remus is a batting for the other side eh? that was certainly a well written story and very deep too. Passion is a wonderful thing - you seem to grasp it very well in all your stories. Keep writing x x

Author's Response: lol, sort of. I had to spice things up a bit, didn't I? Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by xobebeox The Unexpected

28th January 2006:
Linda... I'll tell you a thousand times how wonderful this is and I'll mean it every single time. Your words bring everything to life. This ship is so unexpected and the turn of events is, too, though you just put it all together so masterfully. I'm so glad that you decided to do these pairings because not only has no one else done it, but you write them together excellently. I loved these lines: Rather, a mere trace of cologne mingled with an outdoorsy, almost masculine scent, of crushed pine needles and raw physical need. Like every Black he’d ever met, everything about her exuded power, arrogance and defiant manipulation. That entire transition was done very well; I really liked how you put it together. The entire piece just exudes passion and lust and you've done such a wonderful job putting those elements of sin and of forbidden feelings in. I loved the way you had another transition into the final twist, of their images kind of melding into one. Amazingly done, Linda, again. I'm so glad that you wrote this; it's splendid.

Author's Response: Thanks for all your help and advice on this. I don't think it would've gotten posted without that extra push from you. That line almost did me in...do you know that? I struggled for the perfect transition and lead in and that was the only thing I could come up with. I'm so glad it worked all right. Again, thank you for all the tremendous help and the great review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Nana The Unexpected

28th January 2006:
That was really amazing! It was so well written and so. . . enticing. I agree with the other comment. Remus and Narcissa was an interesting choice. Very original.

Author's Response: Thank you. I try to be a bit different...to give readers something new and exciting. Sometimes it doesn't work at all and other times it seems to play out fine. I'm glad you enjoyed it so much and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by hawaiianchic16 The Unexpected

28th January 2006:
that was... wow. hah. i can actually see it all playing out in my head.. as weird as that is.. but it was really like.. alive. really, it was. that was great. i love it

Author's Response: I tried hard to make this a visual story...one that would play like a movie in your head. I'm so glad you mentioned that it did that for you. It made the tough writing worth it. Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>