Reading Reviews for The son of The Boy Who Lived
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #51, by trixytonks A Letter from Hogwarts

23rd March 2005:
jus read ur response to my review, i suggest u change eejit to idiot, or something of that variety. i go to England quite a lot, and catch the lingo from my cousins and nieces and nephews. and of course, the fab JKR!

Author's Response: Yeah, "idiot" is what I put in. Thanks for the suggestion. I usually just base my stories (or scéals, as I usually call them, for some reason not even known to myself) in Ireland, but obviously here I don't have any choice, and it can be hard to make foreign characters believable.

 Report Review

Review #52, by trixytonks Ron Intervenes

23rd March 2005:
ah, now i see where u were goin wit the hufflepuff thing! that was a lovely read. good work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for all your reviews. I think you wrote more than any of my previous reviewers. It is really good to know what readers think. It is even good when it isn't ALL positive, as that makes you feel that the reviewer is really paying attention to the story and not just writing what they think you want to hear. Thanks again. I have changed the description of Snape. Not sure if the new phrase is as expressive, but I think it sounds more British anyway.

 Report Review

Review #53, by trixytonks Exams

23rd March 2005:
nice chapter, it shows the progress of james in school, i like the reference to harriet being jus like hermione. jus one small thing (youre gona hate me for all the nit pickin i do) u had karl say somethin like this 'He’s a right eejet,' im pretty sure we only say that here in Ireland, iv been to England too many times to kno that...

Author's Response: No, I certainly don't hate you for pointing things out. Constructive criticism is always welcome. Using British English is one of the things I find most difficult about writing this story and one of the reasons why, as I mentioned in answer to one of your previous reviews, I wasn't sure whether or not to write this story. I have never been out of Ireland, so my knowledge of English phrases is confined to what I've read in English books (much of which may be out of date). I'll change that immediately-to what I haven't decided.

 Report Review

Review #54, by trixytonks Muggle Borns.

23rd March 2005:
im really enjoying this story but i feel kinda obliged to point one or two things out so u can work on them again with another fic. we see a lot of james, naturally, but ur character development for the others isnt really great - i mean im having a hard time distinguishing one from another so mayb u should stick in an odd paragraph here or there about them in previous chapters. also in this chapter u put something like this in:'As we have already seen,' that sort of statement kinda takes away from the story a bit. i used to make that sort of mistake, the story works much better without it.

Author's Response: Yeah, I take your point about the minor characters not being well developed. Maybe I will stick in a few extra paragraphs about them. Thanks for that. As regards your comment about stories working better without the use of intrusive narration, I don't really agree with you about that. That technique is one of the things I really love about the classics and I think it is a pity that it has entirely disappeared from modern writing, for some reason. As I mentioned to Steve34, I was reading The Mill on the Floss at the time I wrote this, which is why I was inclined to use 19th century techniques. Thanks again for your comments. It's nice to get people's honest opinions.

 Report Review

Review #55, by trixytonks Snape is Triumphant.

23rd March 2005:
finally got around to reading another chapter, darn hectic lifestyle! i really like the idea of the visual contact room! very creative. wasnt at all pleased to see rose here again, grr! (",)

Author's Response: The visual contact room was one of the reasons I felt I REALLY HAD to write this story. I was wondering whether to bother or not, but when I came up with that, I really had to invent it. I'm glad other people like it too. I have gotten the distinct impression you don't like Rose much!!!! Lol.

 Report Review

Review #56, by steve34 A Letter from Hogwarts

22nd March 2005:
Hmm.. I'll have to look into that writing style. I stand corrected. :-) Still an amazing story.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's just something you get a lot of in the classics. I'm not sure how well I am doing it, but I do have a bit of a habit of writing in the style of whatever I'm reading (well, if I like it). Thanks for saying it's a good story.

 Report Review

Review #57, by steve34 Ron Intervenes

22nd March 2005:
OK, that was a really sweet ending. When I read in the Chapter 11 that there would be only one more chapter, I was slightly angry at not getting the full year. However, this last chapter really drove the whole point of the story home. Great ending.

Author's Response: Thanks. I would have liked to do the whole year, in one way, but I hadn't really much more to happen. Glad you liked the ending.

 Report Review

Review #58, by steve34 Muggle Borns.

22nd March 2005:
Awesome story so far. I'm really enjoying it. I was going to just submit one review at the end, but I wanted to address this point while it was on my mind. At one point in this chapter, you refer to the reader with the line "As we have already seen". Try to avoid those. In my opinion (for whatever that's worth), it ruins the illusion of being inside the story. When I read, I sometimes feel like I am the character, or I am right next to the character, and when the author refers to me as a reader, it's kinda like being pushed out of the party. Still, this is really well written, so far! James is a treasure. I feel so bad for him having to fill such big shoes and having so many doubts about himself. Must continue reading now....

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments. I was reading The Mill on the Floss when I was writing this, so I was influence by 19th century writing style where the writer often speaks directly to the reader. It's a style of writing I personally love. It's like the writer is actually talking to you. As a writer, it also allows you to put in a few sarcastic comments towards the characters you don't like, which can be fun. Whether or not it's out of place in a 21st century story, I'm not sure. I take your point about it putting the reader outside the story. Glad you like James. So do I.

 Report Review

Review #59, by trixytonks Classes Begin

21st March 2005:
that transfiguration professor, i tell ya id giv her a wedgie for her behaviour! snape is still there? and still bitter? and still not DADA teacher? ha, man that is some deep seated hatred.

Author's Response: She's another character I really enjoyed creating. I was debating whether to make Hermione Defence Against the Dark Arts or Transfiguration teacher. But I'd read another story where she was Transfiguration teacher, and besides I liked the idea of a good, permanent Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher. Snape is vice-principal though, so maybe that will make up for not being DADA teacher. I know making him vice was really mean! And yeah, he's still as nasty as ever. That will soon become apparent. If it hasn't already.

Author's Response: I always like creating teacher characters, as they are only seen through the eyes of their students, so you can really make them stereotypes.

 Report Review

Review #60, by trixytonks The Sorting.

21st March 2005:
HUFFLEPUFF?! YOU PUT THE SON OF HARRY POTTER IN WITH THAT LOAD OF DIMWITS? im sure u had ur reasons, but damn i never saw that coming! i like the mention of all of his cousins and hope we get to read about some of them. next chapter!

Author's Response: I am kind of surprised that everybody else is surprised about James being in Hufflepuff. I'm pleased though. I was wondering if there was so much of a lead up to it that people would guess what I was going to do. Personally, I'm not sure Hufflepuff are necessarily all dimwits. After all, the champion for the Triwizard tournament was from Hufflepuff. Yeah, the fact that he's in Hufflepuff IS going to be relevant. And you will hear more about his cousins- some of them anyway. I originally had it a daughter of Percy's, I think, but then I had it a boy later on, so I had to change one or the other. Percy's son is going to be mentioned a few times. He was one of the characters I really enjoyed creating. Thanks for your reviews. I am really enjoying them. Hope you are enjoying the story. I am enjoying yours about Tonks.

 Report Review

Review #61, by trixytonks The Journey to Hogwarts

21st March 2005:
lovely chapter! richard peacock, what a name. i like it! glad to think i wont be reading anymore rose for a few chapters at least, haha! cassandra goyle will be quite cool i think, gona plough on now! (",)

Author's Response: You'll see more of Rose later!! Not for a while though. And there isn't TOO much more of her. As regards Richard Peacock, I was trying to think of something that sounded sort of magical, and somehow peacocks kind of worked-for me anyway.

 Report Review

Review #62, by trixytonks Diagon Alley

21st March 2005:
ah bless harry is awful excited. rose is a little brat tho! hopefully she will grow up by the time she goes to Hogwarts. nice chapter, jus one mistake i saw: "Ginny dragged Rose off to the nearest sweetshop, while Harry and Rose continued to deal with the reporters." Harry and James, right?

Author's Response: Right. It's corrected now. It's kind of annoying; no matter how many times you check a thing, you'll always miss some mistakes. I found that out when writing college essays!!! Yeah, Rose is a bit of a brat, but she is only 8 and she doesn't mean to be QUITE as annoying as she is. Um, Rose at Hogwarts, could be interesting. Can you imagine what Snape would make of HER? Anyway, thanks for the comments. I love getting reviews, particularly when they're (mostly) positive. Not too sure I'd be so pleased about flames!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #63, by trixytonks A Letter from Hogwarts

21st March 2005:
oh what a good idea! im not much of a harry/ginny shipper, but the story isnt about that so il breeze past that bit! short chapter, but it says alot. cant wait to see hermione the teacher! ha! brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks. I like the idea of Harry and Ginny getting together. Don't know why exactly; maybe just because she liked him ever since she was a little girl and it would be nice if he liked her back-I think. There isn't really that much about Hermione as a teacher; she's just kind of there in the background. Maybe I should stick in a chapter about one of her classes. I'll think about it.

 Report Review

Review #64, by Noah Ron Intervenes

20th March 2005:
It's regretful that the story ends shortly. It is in fact a really good story. If the story continued, it could be one of the best fanfictions on Harry Potter that I have ever read. Please reconsider to continue the story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your comments. Basically, I just ran out of things that were likely to happen to James. If I can think of more that might happen, I might add in a few extra chapters. I know that it is short, and that some of the fanfictions are 5 or 6 times the length. Thanks again for your comments.

 Report Review

Review #65, by Hallie Dove A Letter from Hogwarts

9th March 2005:
Good chapter! Onto the next!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #66, by Angell207 Ron Intervenes

23rd February 2005:
I really enjoyed your story! I loved how Ron talked with James about the Tri-Wizard Tournament! My favourite part of the story! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #67, by Lisa90Black The Question of Quidditch

21st January 2005:
Great story, I think it's lovely :D... just thought I ought to review at the point I had to go to bed and couldn't read on... are you writing on more stories besides this one? Because after this, I'd enjoy to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks. It's really nice to get reviews-particularly when they're positive!!! As regards other stories, I have entered one in the Writers' Duel. Other than that, I don't know. I'm not very good at writing fantasy, action/adventure or romance stories. I usually just write about people and what they think- like this story is about James thinking he's not good enough. There is a limit to how many of that kind of story you can write as Harry Potter fan fictions-particularly as I try to avoid characters we know too much about. If I think of any more, I will write them though.

 Report Review

Review #68, by lana A Letter from Hogwarts

7th January 2005:
i loved this story..i hope you write another one soon

Author's Response:

Author's Response: Sorry, I must have clicked "submit" by accident by accident. I don't really have any ideas for stories at the moment- not Harry Potter ones anyway. I kind of have an idea for a story about Petunia, but I can't seem to get it together. I know pretty much what I want to happen but I'm not sure how to organise it. I can't even get an opening sentence. Anyway, thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #69, by rb123456 A Letter from Hogwarts

5th January 2005:
Suberb! I have to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #70, by Double Decker Exams

3rd January 2005:
I really like this story, and I feel really sorry for James. Oh and in England we don't have honours, well I don't at my school, it's just pass or fail!

Author's Response: Thanks. I wasn't sure exactly what are considered good and bad marks in England, so I just wrote it as we would have it here. I'll see if I can change that, but I'm not in the mood right now. Thank you very much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #71, by SBhunnie Muggle Borns.

19th December 2004:
This was a wonderful chapter. Great Job.:)

 Report Review

Review #72, by SBhunnie Snape is Triumphant.

19th December 2004:
The Visual Contact room is a great Idea. Great Job.

Author's Response: That was one of the reasons I had to write this story. I don't know what put it into my head, but I just thought it should be possible for people in the wizarding world to contact each other a bit more quickly than by owl post, and when the idea came to me, I figured I had to write this story if only to describe that. I was wondering if anyone would notice that earlier in the story (I think it was in the "Classes begin" chapter) there is a reference to Harry and James talking. Nobody has made any comments about that though.

 Report Review

Review #73, by SBhunnie The Question of Quidditch

19th December 2004:
This was great. I loved how Ron and Hermione were argueing. That was funny. Great Job.

Author's Response: Thanks. They were always arguing in the books, so I figured they wouldn't stop just because they were married, and I thought Hermione probably wouldn't grow up to be the type of woman who'd be happy to do all the housework, while her husband sat around doing nothing!!

 Report Review

Review #74, by Lucy Locke Snape is Triumphant.

13th December 2004:
James reminds me a little of Neville. I read the whole story and I really liked it, especially that Ron was able to make James feel better, but I wonder what Harry really does think about his son since his response was a little unsure.

Author's Response: Yeah, I was thinking about Neville when I was writing it. I think the place where Harry's response was a little unsure was when he was talking about what the original James Potter would think, and that is because he knows that his father had a reputation for being a bit arrogant when he was at school, so Harry isn't sure what he would think of his grandson.

Author's Response: Oh, forgot to say thanks very much for reviewing. It's always nice to hear somebody likes my story.

 Report Review

Review #75, by lana A Letter from Hogwarts

8th December 2004:
amazing! write more

Author's Response: Thanks. It's really nice to get some encouragement. I am THINKING of writing a story abou Petunia and why she hates magic and all. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>